Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Spring Garden Canada'

  Company Profile  
Spring Garden Canada

Mailing Address:
P.O.Box 123
Oakville, Ontario L6J 4Z5 (Canada)

Phone: 800-917-2852
Fax: 800-898-2851

Catalog Order Page: Hyperlink
Paper Catalog Cost: Free

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 0
This company is affiliated with Gardens Alive!

This company offers a variety of bulbs and plants.

  Feedback History and Summary  
18 positives
7 neutrals
32 negatives


Displaying the 50 most recent comments:

Positive Gallivanting1
Edmonton, AB (Zone 3a)
(8 reviews)
August 5, 2014
I have been ordering from Spring Gardens for about 5 years now and on the whole, I would say it has been a positive experience. Plants arrive healthy and all bulbs I receive I treat with a fungicide prior to planting as I find the success rate is much better. Customer service is good and they guarantee all their plants. I have ordered large numbers of plants on their end of season sale but have come to expect that many will not be available as they fill the orders on a "first come first served" basis. Even so, it is still a great deal for the plants I do receive. I've had plants fail after 2 years and still gotten a replacement/refund for them so that's another factor I like.
Negative Taradb
White city,
(1 review)
June 23, 2014
I ordered for the first time from Spring Garden at the beginning of this season. My shrubs arrived looking pretty sad. I figured that's mail order, i guess, and nursed about half of them back to health while the others died. I planned to not order from there again due to this but they emailed me a "$2 sale!" Ad and I was a sucker and fell for it. I had the same experience as the previous reviewer. I went through their whole site, planned all my new flower and shrub beds, and spent all this time placing a very large order since everything was on sale for only $2! I got my confirmation, then waited and waited. Over the next three weeks, emails trickled in saying more and more of my items were out of stock. What a scam! "We're having a huge sale,
So please come shop with us and then all of the expensive items you order will be out of stock!". I think I'll be getting about 4 of the 16 or 17 varieties I ordered. Plus! I would not have ordered and paid for shipping unless I was putting in a large order like I thought I was! I was not willing to pay for shipping only to receive a couple plants in the end. Not happy! And definitely will not be ordering through here again! Save your time, money and effort and shop anywhere else!
Negative LBurke66
(2 reviews)
June 23, 2014
I placed three large orders with this company, for all of them I received confirmation emails, and then I waited & waited. Just when I was going to email the company, I received emails that over half my order was now out of stock. Very disappointed to have to wait that long & then be told they are out of stock. Very disappointed!
Positive sskkm
Regina, SK (Zone 2b)
(6 reviews)
June 12, 2014
I placed an order of 5 plants with Spring Garden and they all arrived well packed and healthy. They did arrive very early in the season though for my area and before my requested date. The plants had to be kept indoors until it was warm enough to plant outdoors. In the end, all the plants survived and have been growing nicely in the garden.
Positive nancylip
Cupar, SK (Zone 2b)
(1 review)
June 2, 2014
I ordered a number of live plants and bulbs from Spring Garden this spring. It was my first time ordering plants online and I was very happy with everything I ordered. They were all in great shape when they arrived and came with detailed planting instructions. I ended up placing 2 more orders for approximately $300 in total and I had no complaints whatsoever. Everything is thriving so far.
Positive treesnbirds
(3 reviews)
May 25, 2014
I can't say enough about how amazing Spring garden was. My order was all live plants, bushes and trees and its a lot more challenging to deliver these in good shape than seeds. Everything arrived full leaf, healthy and big and perfectly happy- not one wilted leaf! many items were even shipped as potted plants in soil so they have well developed roots etc. It was so much fun to open the packages and discover all the plants in such great shape! Everything was so carefully packed and shipped. I'd ordered a diverse list of items but every single thing was in first class shape and very strong/healthy- not one undersized plant in the bunch. Plus everything arrived at the same time making it easy to track and then go out and plant at the same time. They were also the fastest from 3 online plant sellers I ordered material from this year! Shipping was also very fast- only a couple days across the country with email alerts on shipping dates and postal tracking numbers so I could know when everything arrived.

Way to go Spring Garden and my genuine thanks!
Positive Flankie
Cambridge Stn., NS,
(1 review)
May 23, 2014
Have recently received our $217 order and what a surprise!!
Plants were very well taken care of, nicely packaged and labeled in the box. Definitely will order again from this company. Keep up the good work....!

Negative purpledixie56
Ancaster/Hamilton, ON (Zone 5b)
(1 review)
June 4, 2013
The first time was last spring. I was told you should plant 2 varieties of strawberries that produce fruit at different times. I had lots of one kind that fruited later. I ordered an early variety. The plants that came were very healthy but had yellow flowers. I had always seen pink on strawberries but had never dealt with these kind. They grew over 2 feet high and of course blocked the sun for the real strawberries, so I got no strawberries last year.
I also ordered a chocolate vine. It intreagued me . The leaves were suppose to smell of chocolate and pods were editable with a tapioca tasting "pudding" inside. They grew well, but more like a bush then a vine. The leaves smelled of mint. I dug them out.
I did not report this because I do not want to order from them again and all they do is a voucher to buy more from them. I want my money back!
Company representative comment on June 5, 2013:
On Jun 5, 2013 9:01 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

I apologize for the problems you had and for all the inconvenience. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and take care of this for you.

Negative Vidhi
(1 review)
May 21, 2013
This was my first time ordering anything from Spring Garden and for sure will be the last.

I had ordered plants worth more than 120$ including summer flowering oriental lily bulbs, early in March this year. At first i got a notification that the golden chain tree is out of stock. Understandable, i didnt mind that. Then i was waiting for the rest of my order. I got a status update that my plants will be shipped by April 28- may 5th. I waited patiently, till May 5, when i got another email from them stating that my order will be shipped on May 19- may 26th! I called them up immedietely to find out what the heck was going on, the call was received by some call centre company by a person who had no clue about plants ir gardening. I told him to try and get atleast the lily bulbs early since they flower in summer and need to be planted in spring.

Anyways, i finally got an email on may 8th that my plants have been shipped and will reach by may 15 th. All except the one thing that i wanted to come early, the lily bulbs which were still pending and would be shipped by end if May! I emailed them again in frustation to send the bulbs ealrier or i will miss the time to plant them and for them to bloom this year.

Since then i did not got any response from them, today i logged into the spring garden account and found that the lily order has been cancelled. Who cancelled it, dont know, neither was I informed.

Not to mention the puny , wilting little plants i recieved from them in mail. I would have never ordered them if i knew this was what they would look like.

Company representative comment on May 22, 2013:
On May 22, 2013 1:21 PM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for your post. I apologize for the problem for the delay with your order. One of our customer service representatives will contact your for your account information and check this out for you.

Negative daleyb
(1 review)
May 9, 2011
Wish I had known about this web site before. I ordered from Spring Garden last year. About two weeks after the supposed ship date, I checked the order status and it said in transit and that I would receive my order two weeks ago. I called Customer Service and they said it was still in transit and to wait till mid May. They couldn't answer my question about why I hadn't rec'd it or why the order status were giving me different responses. I waited till mid May and called again and again and again and again and again, yes five times and was always told that I would receive them within 10 days. At this point, it was too late to plant in zone 3b, Winnipeg, MB and requested a refund. After several more phone calls they said that the refund would be applied to my Visa card and the balance would be mailed out in 2 - 4 weeks via cheque. They could not explain why it couldn't all be put against my Visa. It was finally credited to my Visa, but only a portion. The cheque never arrived. Lesson learned, I will never order from them again.
Company representative comment on May 11, 2011:
On May 11, 2011 8:45 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the problem you had with your order. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and check on your remaining refund and also why your order was so delayed for delivery.

Positive onyx3d
(1 review)
May 5, 2011
Ordered from these guys, mainly because they had the right 'major wheeler' honeysuckle I wanted, for a good price. And they have lots of interesting hybrids.. So anyways, after I've ordered a bunch of perennials I come accross this site and see all these negatives.. so I'm slightly concerned...however, they only shifted the ship date once, by a couple days, and I'm guessing that's because it dipped to very close to 0 degrees recently. The plants shipped very quickly, they sent them at the beginning of the week so they arrived at my house I think in 2 days..however Canada Post's system went down at the outlet where I needed to pick them up, preventing them from finding it in the back room. So I was getting nervous.

I may have been a little short with the employee (I asked for the manager... which of course, he was...) I pleaded for the poor little plants, but to no avail...
And since I couldn't describe the package to them, this being my first order, I had to just wait until they had spent a day entering all the stuff into the newly fixed system, and found it. I had them call me when they had it in hand, which they actually did, so kudos to them.

So long story short..I am expecting to receive piles of mush, and would have expected it even *without* the nagging thought of negative reviews. Instead, I got very nicely packed plants. The box made no noise and did not feel like it had loose objects inside (because they weren't) They were in tall carbord rectangular boxes with reinforcment bends, neatly packed in small pots that were wrapped in plastic, secured snugly around the base of the plant to keep the soil's moisture . Plus a couple of them came in inflated, sealed plastic bags (like a packing pillow) with soil and a just-sprouting root inside. All of the plants were green with only 1 to 2 yellow leaves max, some had no yellow. They were all a decent size and look healthy.

I've only received the first half of my shipment so far, the others being shipped in a few days, I will report on those.

So far so good.
Company representative comment on May 11, 2011:
On May 11, 2011 11:26 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank your for letting us know about your order. We want our customers to be happy and satisfied with our plants. If you ever have any problems please just let us know and we will make it right with you.

Negative fern321
(1 review)
February 2, 2011
Placed an order (first time mail ordering plants) Jan 2010. Started following up in May and through June. Was advised I would receive my order in 10 days every time I contacted the company. I did receive two of several plants I had ordered (so far the plants have not responded as advertised but I'm prepared to give it another season). Finally cancelled the unshipped portion of my order in frustration. I did get a refund for the plants which never came. I would have preferred the company be frank with me upfront. Big waste of time. Don't think I'll order from them again even though they offer some items I have not seen elsewhere.
Company representative comment on February 3, 2011:
On Feb 3, 2011 8:33 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for your input. Your comments are very appreciated and are used to provide better service to our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for more information on the problems you had with your order.

Neutral AnneCS
Vaughan, ON (Zone 5b)
(10 reviews)
October 21, 2010
I placed an order with Spring Garden in early February 2010 for plants and a non-plant item.

Mid-April they shipped the non-plant portion of my order, so everything seemed to be okay. It was packaged appropriately. Then I didn't hear anything or receive anything from them for a long time.

I started logging into their website regularly to check the status of my order in May. The estimated shipping date/range was constantly being updated and bumped back to about 10 days or so away every time I logged in.

I finally had to contact them in early June to ask for a refund on the remainder of my order since I felt it was far too late for planting in my zone this year.

I sent an email to them at 1am on a Friday. When I hadn't received a response yet by the late afternoon on Monday, I forwarded my email to them again and requested a response. I finally received a response in the evening on Wednesday and the customer service rep told me that she had cancelled my order, as requested. She said she had issued a refund for the remainder of the order (plants) to the credit card and was issuing a cheque for the difference in the shipping cost and gave me an estimate for how long it would take for the cheque to arrive.

At least a week or two later (possibly more) I received a letter by mail apologizing for the delay with my order and explaining that a supplier had gone bankrupt and they would have my plants shipped to me at the proper planting time for me in the fall. This made me concerned that I wasn't getting my refund as promised. When I checked the credit card statement though, the refund had gone through and the cheque did eventually come, just a bit later than she had estimated.

Also worth noting is that as soon as I placed my order with them I wound up on the Rockwood Gardens mailing list and was receiving shady advertising--saying we won in their sweepstakes (which we had never entered in--I had never ordered from them before either)... that sort of thing.

I hope they are able to climb out of this hole they seem to be in. Sometimes they offer a plant here or there that isn't offered from other catalogues or local nurseries and if it would come, as described, I would be delighted.
Company representative comment on October 27, 2010:
On Oct 27, 2010 8:42 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for your input. Your comments are very appreciated and are used to better service our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for more information on the problems you had with your order and your emails that were sent to us.

Neutral GeorgeandMisty
(5 reviews)
October 14, 2010
Posted on August 13, 2010, updated October 14, 2010
Posted on August 13, 2010, updated August 13, 2010
Oh I wish I had found this site before placing my order on a few different sites (Breck's, Spring garden, and Vesey's) on Monday. The flowers I ordered some were for my mother so both of us are not too thrilled.
I placed the order Monday for some plants using the Guest checkout since I didn't have much time to start filling out forms. When I checked out - at the very end it said that I would get an email confirmation. Two days later still no email confirmation from either Spring Garden nor Breck's. So I sent them emails. No one has yet to reply. When I tried going back to the website, well, it no longer exists!
I really hope that they have no yet charged my credit card because I will really not be happy. Will be calling my credit card provider to ensure any transactions no be processed.
So far, my experience has not been the best. I also noticed that Spring Garden's website is almost identical to Breck's (except for the flower selections). I kind of thought that was a little weird.
On August 13th, 2010, GeorgeandMisty changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

Thought I would send an update. For the time being I have changed the rating to neutral as I have been contacted by a Customer Service rep for Breck's who was able to confirm my orders for both Breck's and Spring Garden.
Since I had not yet called my credit card company, I figured I would keep my orders and see how this all pans out.
Hopefully for the best.
I am however, a little sad that it took a negative posting to a reply - or maybe it was just a coincidence. Either way, I was contacted and I appreciate that.
My orders will not be shipped until October, so I'll update this post then.
On October 14th, 2010, GeorgeandMisty added the following:

I had hoped to change my rating from neutral to positive, but in light of the new situation I will leave it as neutral and not put it as negative.

Yesterday the plants I ordered arrived. They were in good condition. A few dead leaves, but nothing major.

The negative aspect is that they do not seem to be too keen on replying to email enquiries. I sent them an email a couple of weeks ago and have yet to get a reply (once again).

Hopefully the plants will grow to be of good enough quality for me to try to over look their lack of response.
Company representative comment on August 13, 2010:
On Aug 13, 2010 8:44 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information. We apologize for the trouble you had with getting your email confirmation and we will have this checked out.

Negative lmichieli
(2 reviews)
July 9, 2010
I have posted about Spring Garden's affiliate Rockwood Gardens and have had a similar experience with Spring Garden.

I placed an order on May 6th and another on May 9th 2010. Just after my first order I received an email from customer service saying that one of the items was out of stock, no problem that happens. On May 7th I had to call customer service because I hadnít received a confirmation email on my order so I had no way to go online and check on its status.

They did send me a copy of the confirmation email but the list of plants and the amount of payment was the adjusted to exclude the out of stock item, therefore, is was not the amount that was charged to my credit card.

As with their affiliate, I finally cancelled my order after the delivery date kept changing and it became too late in the summer for successful transplanting. The customer rep was pleasant. As the shipping process had been started they were going to ship plants to me anyway and refund my money. They were very apologetic for the inconvenience and I was told not to send back any plants that did arrive.

I did receive some plants half in good condition and half barely alive. I checked my credit card statement today and found that they had only refunded me the adjusted amount not the original amount that they had charged me.

I called their customer service thinking this would be an easy thing to solve. I was wrong. The rep that I initially spoke with kept telling me that they didnít owe me anything, then he changed it to Rockwood Gardens owed me the additional amount that I had ordered it from them. I explained that I was looking at the email the Spring Garden customer service had sent me for the out of stock item and that I had definitely ordered it from them. Next he kept asking me how much was the out of stock item when I ordered it? I told him that it was the difference between the amount they charged me and the amount they refunded me. According to him they did not carry anything for that amount. I would repeat the amounts charged to my credit card and the amounts refunded with Spring Gardens being listed on the statements. No, no it wasnít them. I then asked to speak with a supervisor. He put me on hold for a moment and then came back on the line and asked me again to tell him, what was the exact amount of the out of stock item? Again, I asked to speak with a supervisor and he put me on hold again. A moment later he was back on the line asking me the same question again. I told him that I no longer wanted to speak with him I wanted a supervisor he then hung up on me. I usually, write down the name of the person I am speaking to but of course this time I didnít. I called back immediately and the new rep could tell that I was very upset and put a supervisor on the line right away. I gave a brief explanation and within a minute she told me that she could see a refund pending for the exact amount I was concerned about. She did apologize for the treatment I had received from the customer rep.

Company representative comment on July 12, 2010:
On Jul 12, 2010 8:57 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information. We apologize for the trouble you had with your order and our agent.

(13 reviews)
July 9, 2010
Posted on June 15, 2010, updated July 9, 2010
I wish I had read this forum first. I ordered two expensive plants in early April. I got the same run-around........they were always going to be shipped at a later date. It's mid-June now. I sent an email and a couple of days later received a reply that said the plants were on their way. The next day I received a little post card saying that one item was out of stock and the remaining order would be shipped at appropriate planting time! What a crock! the post card invited me to send it in with my next order to receive a whole $5 discount! Do they think I just fell off the turnip truck? No mention of a refund. I've just sent another email to express my displeasure and request a full refund after cancelling my order. These people are appalling, and I am furious. These people give a bad name to nurseries. My advice to everyone.........ignore the glossy catalogue that makes all the extraordinary promises..........go to least you get what you pay for there! Don Brown, Halifax, Nova Scotia
On July 9th, 2010, DONBROWN added the following:

After some back and forth on email, they finally credited my Visa account . But I still recieve mail notices about my order and that it will be shipped in the autumn. This company is rather sad....... Coincidentally, one of my neighbours was telling me recently about how much trouble he is going thorough with a mail order nursery that has failed to send him what he ordered, and it turns out to be the same company! I told him to cancel and demand a refund before they find some other way to put him off and take his cash. Best be done with them and NEVER be tempted by one of their catalogues again!
Company representative comment on June 18, 2010:
On Jun 18, 2010 11:54 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information.

Negative Sparkyrgb
Duffield, AB,
(1 review)
July 1, 2010
Contacted the company that plants did not grow from last year's order and still placed an order which to date has not completely been received. Cancelled my orders and contacted them twice that plants were dead and had taken over three weeks to be received and never once received a response from them. Then a letter written on June 15/10 was received June 29/10 telling me the shipping contrator had declared bankruptcy and orders could not be filled. July 1st receive yet another e mail telling me orders have been shipped. No response to any inquiries or complaints received. This is definitely the last time I order anything from Spring Garden and any mailing or catalogues will go directly in the recycle bin.
Company representative comment on July 6, 2010:
On Jul 6, 2010 1:36 PM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and check on your order.

Negative angrywoman
(1 review)
June 20, 2010
If you are interested in joining me with a class action legal suit against this company for fraudulent behavior, broad based contractual guarantees, promised delivery dates, immediate and seasonal delivery promises, plant life guarantees ... the list goes on.
I think it is time that we band together and take them to court.
If you're willing to put up the money, e-mail me at

I've tried numerous times to get my order by phone and e-mail. My status account has been wiped out.
They have my money. I have no plants,but I do have the canceled check. Marie
Company representative comment on June 24, 2010:
On Jun 21, 2010 1:10 PM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information.

On Jun 24, 2010 8:56 AM, Spring Garden Canada added:

On Jun 24, 2010 9:03 AM, Spring Garden Canada added:

We have contacted the customer and we were informed they did receive their order. We take pride in the quality of our plants and the professional level of our service. We can assure you that the delay in our shipments does not represent how we will serve our customers in the future. We will continue to ship top quality plants that are backed by our lifetime guarantee.

Negative icangrowit2
(1 review)
June 8, 2010
Placed an order for 100 carpet lily bulbs, delviery was for 1st date of 19 April, 2010. Didn't happen. 2nd delivery date was 26 May 2010. Didn't happen. 3rd delivery date was 6 June 2010. Still hasn't happened. Nor have they contacted me, nor have they bothered to refund me. Issueing a credit is NOT in this equation! And another thing, they charged me a $21.00 service provider charge, clerverly hidden way to make a buck fast. If you call them as I did, they can ding you the $21.00, without telling you they have. Imagine my suprise when I get my visa bill with the $21.00 charge from Spring Garden Canada, along with the bulbs for $119.54, for a total of $140.54! I found out about this from my cable provider techie at Shaw Cable. The person told me that in Spring Garden Canada online terms and policy statement, the service provider charge is a cleverly hidden cost for anyone that orders over the phone, thus providing a customer related service!!!!!!! Well it really made me wonder about the company. Well, it turns out I was right to be worred. Still no lily bulbs, still no refund, still no contact from them. I have my original bill, and statement, and promised delivery dates printed. Hopefully my letter will make them take some action!Too late to wait, to late to plant in Winnipeg, MB.
Company representative comment on June 9, 2010:
On Jun 9, 2010 8:52 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information.

Negative marina2010
(1 review)
June 3, 2010
I Ordered few plants from spring garden canada 2 years ago. all plants arrived on time. but they were all in poor condition, even tough i planted them following the instruction given by the SG. but all of them died a few weeks later. when i called them and told them that my plants died, they resent me the plants, that too died. i did not bother to call them again as it's not that easy to get through to them on the phone or by email.
I learned my lesson. it cost me under $100 not too bad.
I will never buy anything from them again. even though i still get catalog that says on the cover "special offer".
they go to the recycle bin with out even been open.

Laval, Quebec, Canada
Company representative comment on June 8, 2010:
On Jun 8, 2010 2:29 PM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information.

Negative MelissaTOGrl
(1 review)
June 2, 2010
My husband and I placed an order on April 7, 2010 for a large amount of perennials. We were informed initially that the order would arrive before the May 24 weekend. After 3 changed delivery dates, all going further into the summer, well past prime planting season, plus part of our order now not due to arrive until September, we became quite upset. My husband sent a complaint to the company but his email was ignored. He just cancelled the order today but I'm concerned we won't get our money back. This company seems to be fraudulent. If they're having difficulties keeping up with demand and growing enough, etc. all they need to do is notify their customers and offer a discount or some other gesture of great customer service. The fact that they ignore everyone sends a red flag to me. So buyer beware, do not purchase from this company!
Company representative comment on June 8, 2010:
On Jun 8, 2010 2:26 PM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback to better serve our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information.

Negative Doppler
Rosseau, ON (Zone 5a)
(1 review)
May 31, 2010
In late winter of 2010 I placed an order with this company for a few perennials; total bill a little more than $200 paid with a credit card. There were some initial problems with the website which perhaps should have been a warning. But I placed the order and expected delivery in mid-April. In Zone 5 this would have been OK.

After repeated emails with no response and frustration because my order's shipping date was being put back again and again according to Spring Gardens website, last week I reported the company to my credit card company for fraud.

During the past few days I have received four emails from different customer service reps each with a slightly different response, but ALL scripted and none addressing issues pointed out in any of my earlier messages.

In my opinion and based on my experience with the company, Spring Gardens is a SCAM. At some point, it may have been a legitimate business but my advice is to avoid ANY and ALL dealings with Spring Gardens... onLine or otherwise.

Neutral Aries56
richmond hill, Ontario,
(1 review)
October 26, 2009
I placed my internet order in the middle of August. In the middle of September I sent several emails to the company, asking to provide details of shipment since it was written in my membership area that the items have been shipped. I received no answer to any of my emails. Following the advice gived by someone at the blog, I called the company early in the morning and spoke to a nice lady, who informed me that they are working on my order. Last week I got the shipment. The plants were nicely and professionally packed and in good conditions. Thanks! Hopefully, the company will improve the website service and provide more exact information about shipment and respond to emails.
Negative karic
(1 review)
August 17, 2009
In March I placed an order for 2 Top Hat Blueberry plants & paid for my order via cheque. That cheque cleared my bank May 21st. A letter was sent to me dated June 13th stating there had been a crop failure & a refund would be sent. I am still waiting for that refund (almost 9 wks now) & have been told by Spring Garden that a cheque has been issued to me, however the cheque was sent to head office for signing 6 WEEKS AGO & hasn't been returned yet for them to mail to me. THIS IS RIDICULOUS! Most reputable mail order companies do not cash your cheque until they have the order ready to ship; however this is not the case with Spring Garden. My cheque cleared the bank May 21st & the letter indicating crop failure is dated June 13th - did they not know at that time there was a crop failure? Other mail order companies I've dealt with under similar circumstances have sent a refund WITH the letter, or within a few days, but again Spring Garden chose not to do this. I spoke directly with Aaron, their Customer Relations head person. He told me that as soon as the cheque was signed it would be sent back to them & they would send it on to me & there was no way to hurry up the process & there was nothing he or anyone else could do about it there. I'm beginning to wonder how solvent this company is. I know I won't be ordering from them again & will be telling everyone I know about it.
Negative 33libra
Winnipeg, MB (Zone 3a)
(2 reviews)
July 30, 2009
In 2008, I ordered 2 daylilies. By the time they bloomed, they were not what I had ordered. I sent an email and never received a reply. I thought I would give them the benefit of the doubt because I thought they were restructuring the business.

So I put in another order in March for 4 snail vines. I ordered from Spring Garden only because they seemed to be the only place that had them. The 4 arrived - 2 were beautiful and healthy and 2 almost dead. I emailed them on June 5th - no reply. Soon after babying the 2 vines, they died. I then emailed them on June 29th - still no reply.

That was my final order with Spring Garden Canada - I will never order from them again.
Negative clematiscottage
Quadra Island, BC (Zone 7b)
(2 reviews)
June 30, 2009
I placed an order with these people way back in December but the plants never arrived. For the last few weeks, I have attempted to reach them by e-mail but never received so much as an acknowledgement. I have also tried over a dozen times to telephone them with an equal lack of success. I had also placed orders with their "sister" companies, Brecks and Henry Fields. Brecks order arrived but plants were in poor shape and failed to grow. From Henry Fields, I received only two plants. I have tried also to contact these other companies with no luck whatsoever. I have e-mailed asking them to cancel my orders and will never, never, never order from any of them again. I have requested the promised refund from Brecks but probably shouldn't hold my breath waiting for it to arrive. I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau as, in my opinion, the whole thing is a huge scam. At least, after reading the other reviews, I now know that I am not alone - this seems to be their preferred method of doing business. Buyer beware!!!
Negative tokyokaren
Roberts Creek,
(1 review)
June 2, 2009
I placed an order early in the spring for 6 maximillian sunflowers and a bargain bag of 8 hostas. I received the sunflowers looking entirely dried up and dead in dry sawdust and they only sent ONE tiny one-eyed hosta instead of 8.

Like the others, I've tried their 1-800-917-2822 toll-free line dozens of times and it's always busy. I've sent two customer complaint emails through their web site and have yet to hear anything. I was heartened to hear that one man got through when he tried very early in the morning. Maybe I'll try that next. Until then, SCAM ALERT!
Negative jardinomane
(2 reviews)
May 29, 2009
I have been trying to get them to honnor their so-called no-risk guarantee for over a month. They have not replied to the 4 or 5 e-mails I have sent them. I can't seem to get anyone through their phone number since it is either busy or I get a message saying their voice mail is full. One of the problems I am trying to get a refund for is the Lace Hankerchief Iris wich they also identify as "iris tectorum variegata" (zone 4 to 9) wich is, in fact iris japonica variegata, ont hardy below zone 7... I though I was buying a perennial, not something that would die during its first Quebec winter. And I paid full price for 4 of these babies... I am fuming! As I am getting to know them better, I am convinced that this is intentionnaly misleading information. Grrrr...
Negative BuckskinAnnie
Williams Lake, B.C.,
(1 review)
May 15, 2009
Phoned order to Spring Garden early April. Gentlemen on other end of the line was grumpy. I thought he was having a bad day. No order arriving well into May. On the 11th I tried phoning at different times of day. Line always busy. Same on the 12th, same on the 13th, same on the 14th. Finally I phoned at 6:00 am our time on the 15th and got an answer after the 12th try. I was informed my order was held up as they were waiting for a plant. I asked from where do they get their plants. I was informed from all over the U.S.and Canada. I asked why no one contacted me to ask if it should be left out of order and the rest shipped. The lady said it is all done by computer and no one knows if an order is not shipped unless it is pulled up on the computer. Does this mean that at the end of the shipping period someone looks on the computer finally and says "Oh Dear" , I guess this order was never shipped"!! I asked her how it is supposed to be pulled up on the computer when customers cannot even access them on their 800 number. On the 14th I even tried Canada 411, other websites, etc. to find a direct line to try to reach them. All I ended up with was speaking to some person in India from one of their Spring Garden websites. My order which was being held up is now cancelled. I will never order from Spring Garden, Brecks, Henry Fields, or Bits and Pieces who are all associated. Bits and Pieces is a knick knack type catalogue that comes out prior to Christmas. I had problems with an order with them. That is how I found out they are owned by the same person that owns Brecks.
Customers, be aware of who you are ordering from. I should have checked them out before getting excited over all the plant and bulb selections in the glossy catalogue.

Negative garmonbozia
(2 reviews)
May 14, 2009
I have made an order on March 20. Around early Spring (I think mid April), I send two customer service inquiries about the shipping date for my order. None of them were answered. I finally called, and perhaps about 10 tries I was able to connect to someone. The person over the phone told me that orders we'll be shipping them after April 27th. I waited to see if anything was shipped. Nothing. I know there is an climate element that I need to consider here, and I don't expect Spring Garden to ship items when the weather is inappropriate. This is understandable. What really bothers is me the complete disregard of my communication attempts and the lack of service. Meanwhile Spring Garden (and Brecks) continued to send me catalogues and spam almost every day of the week. I am not exaggerating this, believe me. One thing is to receive monthly catalogues from businesses, the other is finding a sales pitch in your mailbox every day. What was most bothersome to me is the fact that Brecks and Spring Garden started spamming me from my office address as well. I don't know how this even happened, but this was highly inappropriate and unprofessional (and embarrasing for me).

I called the company early May again, to ask to be removed from your mailing list. I was replied "our mailing lists only get updated every six months, so you'll be receiving more catalogues until they get updated again, later this year". I am sorry to be crude, but "ARE YOU KIDDING?". While I will wait for catalogue system to be updated, I will have to endure endless and embarrassing spam to my work address. This is unacceptable, and unprofessional. Meanwhile, there is no news about my order. There is a charge in my credit card account; but my plants have nowhere to be seen, nor an e-mail updating the status of the order.
On June 1st, 2009, garmonbozia added the following:

Update: My plants have yet to arrive. I have sent two e-mails and have been trying to reach them through phone. The phone is either busy, or directly goes to voice mail. Unfortunately, the mailbox is full. Scam much?
On June 3rd, 2009, garmonbozia added the following:

I decided to take the issue to Better Business Bureau. I strongly suggests others do the same thing, since there is something wrong going on here.
Negative cloverdaleken
Abbotsford BC,
(1 review)
September 30, 2008
This is the second mail order company I have ordered wisteria plants from and both have been complete failures. The 4" plants I received were undersized and loaded with insects. I chose Spring Garden Canada because I was so pleased with the dormant climbing roses they sent me last year. In fairness they have promised me a full refund (whenever they can get around to it). My experieince has been that wisteria are best bought grafted in 3-5 gallon containers from your local supplier. I paid 30.00 each for well established plants bought locally, twice Spring Garden Canada's price for 4" rooted cuttings but well worth it. From now on I'll only buy seeds and bulbs by mail order.
Negative careoline
Port Elgin, Ontario,
(1 review)
July 23, 2007
I read Dave's Watchdog reports and called company because Added Touch is a successful reputable Oakville company store name known to be dealing in retail giftware. Anne Brookmeyer is not known to staff now. I ordered plants in May 2007. Plants were shipped when available from London warehouse. Over $250.00 plants arrived in June and all but $25.00 were promised refunded by credit note not to credit card but to offset future orders from next catalogue. Next catalogue is promised to be issued in August 2007. The store is closed till then. This summer my garden is bare waiting for fall planting and I will have to hope that planting occurs before frost. I don't want to wait to use credits till next year because this company may not be around long. I am in the north country with early frost. I will have to choose something that establishes quickly. I did ask for a statement of account to have proof of credits but have not received a statement in over a month. Charges were paid in May and I have no reconciliation in writing. It is now July 2007. Staff are very agreeable and polite and well organized. Obviously dead plants were received in large quantities and shipped to me anyway. Many plants that I received were shipped in sealed plastic bags and obviously rotted with mold. Japanese Tree Peonies were most disappointing. I am hopeful that I can rectify my decision to order next year. Ordering shipments from catalogues may not be worthwhile from out of province or from within province.
Positive ruthbrigance
(1 review)
June 28, 2007
Managing a lawn while working a full-time job is tough, so I try to get all the help I can. A friend of mine gave me the Spring Garden catalogue and I decided to give it shot, even though Iíve had some bad experiences with ordering supplies through the mail. Placing an order is simple enough and they have a large botanical product mix Ė ideal for the finicky gardener. Even though my order came in four days later than expected, I got exactly what I ordered and it was worth the wait! Thank you SG!
Negative ckclarke
(1 review)
June 26, 2007
I cannot recommend ordering from this company to anyone.

- I ordered in March, asked for early shipment as I live in an area of Canada where spring comes quite early
- I called and emailed several times to find out the status of my order when it was clear it was not coming early and might not be coming at all
- No one could give me the same answer twice. I was told it had been shipped already but the rep couldn't give me a tracking number; I was told they'd have to check with the nurseries; I was told they weren't sure
- they charged me twice for the same order
- they didn't ship until mid-JUNE
- half of my order simply wasn't included as it was supposed to be - no word of explanation
- some plants dead on arrival - and clearly should never have been shipped in the first place
- some plants small and sickly
- I have yet to receive any sort of acknowledgment of the problems
- the company seems to have been taken over by another company which also owns The Added Touch and Images of Canada. It's so badly muddled that queries sent to the Spring Garden Canada web site are being answered by random reps using Added Touch or Images of Canada email addresses
- as of today (June 26) their online store is offline
Negative nicole77
fort erie,
(1 review)
May 29, 2007
Let's see so far I ordered a $200 order from Spring Garden and everytime I call for my shipment status they can't seem to tell me anything. My order is 3 weeks late and I called today and they lost my order. I ordered a whole perenial garden and they can't find it!! Here is is going into June and I already ordered all my top soil etc.. They told me if they can't locate my order they will ship me out another one , but then we are looking at another 7-10 days. My credit card has been billed for over a month now and still no garden has showed up. I had never recieved an order confirmation through e-mail or when I e-mail them on their site I still get no response. Beware of this company.
Positive digbygarden
(1 review)
April 30, 2006
Great company. I really like their Garden Collections. Have used three of their plans over the last few years.

Gardening in Nova Scotia,
Negative Ariesca
Lillooet, BC (Zone 6b)
(2 reviews)
April 29, 2006
Spring Garden in Canada has a nice catalogue. I ordered basically because the prices seemed quite low. However, when the plants arrived they were VERY TINY and it was worrying as I didn't see how they would make it through the winter even at zone 6a. Sure enough, 90% of my order did not come up this spring. Lavandula, for example, 3 out of 6 survived. Scabioa - zilch. Other failures too. Even their free Promotion Plant has not survived!
I have requested a refund but have had no response. View this company with extreme caution.
Positive jennifernancy
(1 review)
May 3, 2004
I have just placed my first order and the company has responded to my emails promptly. I eagerly await my order and will post an update when my plants come (should be a few weeks at the latest according to customer service)

As for now, Spring Garden has been great!
On May 27th, 2004, jennifernancy added the following:

I received my order yesterday - everything was packaged nicely and looks great. Nothing was missing and everything was labeled and ready to put in the ground.

Thanks Spring Garden - I will definitely order again!
Neutral springgarden
(1 review)
February 2, 2004
I have been a customer of Spring Garden for years. Never had any problems. I would say that over half my plants in my yard are from them. The odd one dies, but they are plants, not rocks. Can't wait for this cold winter to end and to get back out into my yard. Will from Toronto.
On February 2nd, 2004, springgarden added the following:

Oh, I should add that I have retired last year, but I am going to get a part-time job with them this Spring (2004). Probably all my pay will go for new plant purchases (but at least now I will get an employee discount). Ask for me if you want to talk about your garden. Will from Toronto.
On February 2nd, 2004, springgarden added the following:

Oh, one more thing I forgot to mention for those living in the Toronto GTA area. There is a great event called - Canada Blooms (if you type Canada Blooms on the internet it will bring them up). This year (2004) it is from March 3 to 7th at the Toronto Convention Centre. I go every year with my Gardening Club. Spring Garden is not there, but there are a lot of other great growers (nice plant displays) and gardening clubs at the event. Good way to break up a cold March. Happy Planting. Will.
On February 6th, 2004, springgarden changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

Negative Ajani
(1 review)
January 28, 2004
A few years back we had the misfortune of placing an order with Spring Garden. We bought dwarf blue irises, irish moss, shasta daisies, a red hydrangea and some other plants. My mother in law bought some poker primroses and some cyclamen. Apart from the daisies, which are basically weeds that will thrive under nearly any condition, everything else was defective. There were no planting instructions with anything, either. The cyclamen and irises never did come up, the primroses were dissappointing and the hydrangea was completely without colour. Their flowers could only be described as 'beige.' Even the irish moss died! Everything was small and pitiful looking.

The money for our full order was refunded quickly, but just this week I received yet another catalogue from this company. I have asked now 3 times to be taken off of their mailing list, and they have yet to listen.

Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top