Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Amaryllis Bulb Company'

  Company Profile  
Amaryllis Bulb Company

Mailing Address:
1231 E. Magnolia St.
Lakeland, Florida 33801-2125 (United States)

Phone: 1-888-966-9866

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 0
This company specializes in:

  Feedback History and Summary  
15 positives
No neutrals
2 negatives


Positive VanGarden
Thibodaux, LA (Zone 9a)
(5 reviews)
December 29, 2015
Very Large bulbs. Delivered on time. Free plant marker for each bulb included. Bulbs were pack very well. Fast service. Very satisfied. I will order from ABC again.
Positive Zonebuster35
Deltona, FL
(1 review)
April 9, 2015
This company sells very impressive, healthy, amaryllis bulbs. They were so large that I just had to weigh them! The largest was just over 1 Lb and even had an offset growing. Anyone that has purchased a "Walmart" bulb before, will no doubt be pleasantly surprised when receiving these bulbs.
Positive Mask101
(1 review)
February 5, 2015
Hello Everyone I just want to say I would highly recommend Amaryllis bulb co. if your looking for Top Quality bulbs at a Great price. then you found the place I have nothing but good things to say about my experience with Amaryllis bulb co. in FLORIDA! I've order over 30 amaryllis bulbs from them all massive sized exceeded my expectations and had no problems, also I would like to state the fact there customer service is more then excellent, the 2 negative comments on here are a crock! the person just wanted a free bulbs. Guaranteed! so ladies in the office at amaryllis bulb co keep up the AWSOME WORK!

Your Fan here in CANADA EH! ;)
Positive AToad
Schenectady, NY (Zone 5b)
(1 review)
October 29, 2013
I am normally a cactus/succulent person, but this year I thought I'd try my hand at some amaryllis. I ordered three amaryllis bulbs from this company. They shipped the day after the company started shipping for the season, and arrived in great condition. The bulbs are:

- about the size of softballs,
- firm,
- otherwise healthy looking as far as I can tell, and
- starting to grow (two plants have pushed the cut leaves up about 1/2 inch, the third has about 1/2 inch of new leaf tips coming up)

The bulbs also ship with a sheet of detailed instructions.

Further, I was having (and still am....pffffft) big problems with a DIFFERENT company in Michigan (that I won't name here) from which I ordered some outdoor plants and bulbs, which made me anxious about my order here. I called their customer service line just to double check that things were OK. The man I talked to was super nice, helpful, and knowledgeable, and, incidentally, also confirmed that the bulbs would ship when they did, i.e, mega on time.

Based on my experience, I fully recommend Amaryllis Bulb Company :-D
Positive Twobugs
Raleigh, NC
(1 review)
October 26, 2013
I ordered 4 amaryllis bulbs from the company. They came on time and all the bulbs looked great. I ordered the "one of each" special offer, but noticed that I received two of the same instead of three different amaryllis. I contacted the company and they immediately sent out a new bulb to replace the one I was missing with a nice note. The bulbs I have planted are already starting to produce leaves. I am pleased with the product and I was very satisfied with their customer service.
Positive Patricia_CR
Grecia, Alajuela,
Costa Rica
(7 reviews)
April 22, 2012
They surely know how to make a gardener happy! Their customer service, high quality-super healthy bulbs, and packaging, were superb. They attended some specific requirements I had with a top notch positive attitude at all times. I wish there were more online nurseries like this one, where one, as a customer, really feel valued.
Positive CooDeeFoo
Central, SC
(15 reviews)
March 26, 2012
I want to applaud Amaryllis Bulb Company for offering a top quality product and having wonderful customer service. I have ordered from them two times over the past few months and have received the best amaryllis bulbs I have ever seen. I did have an issue with one bulb. I wrote an email and explained my complaint. Very quickly, they responded and corrected the problem free of charge to me. They accepted my explanations and never questioned my veracity. This is a top-notch business with a great product. The bulbs are an excellent value and worth the difference in cost to bulbs from the big box stores.
Positive Emma75
DeLand, FL (Zone 9b)
(7 reviews)
April 14, 2010
As a first time customer, I kept my order small. Specifically looking to grow my Hippeastrum cybister collection, I purchased Lima and Emerald on 4-11 for $10 each (plus $7.95 shipping) - a great price for cybisters! Product arrived via FedEx on 4-14, well-packaged and in beautiful shape! They are blooming size already, but I don't expect large or heavy flowering until next spring, when their roots have settled in. I will definitely give them another go-round next time I see something I want from them!
Negative pegjane
Camillus, NY
(2 reviews)
January 22, 2009
I ordered a "Susan large flowering" amaryllis bulb from Amaryllis Bulb Company. Very disappointed in this company and their bad products. Their website says the bulb ordered "will produce 2-3 stems" and "4-6 flowers per stem". It only produced one stem with 4 flowers. For price I paid I might as well have gone to Walmart and bought a low quality bulb for $6.00. I paid $20 for the bulb and crummy basket it came in with this company, plus shipping, which was $8, so $28 total. Like I said for about $6 I could of gotten same low quality bulb at somewhere like Walmart. It was a gift I sent to my mom, how disappointing to have it turn out lousy. When I called customer service they kept questioning me as if I was lying about it not producing. They even wanted me to take a picture of it! I told them my mom lives 4 hrs away from where I live. Bad customer service. They never answer their phones either when you call them. I finally got a partial refund and even though I told them that was not sufficient it was all they would do. Guess they figured since it had one stem that that was enough. False advertising by this company. Shouldn't advertise that your bulbs will produce 8 to 18 flowers when they only produce 4 flowers! Ripoff.
On February 10th, 2009, pegjane added the following:

The woman at this company claims she "cheerfully" refunded me whole amount. Well, she wasn't cheerfull about it at all. After telling her many times I deserved a refund, she finally did, but not cheerfully. The "Susan" bulb for my Mom only produced only one stem, 4 flowers, even though company ad said it would produce "2-3 stems" and "4-6 flowers per stem". The woman at company acted as if I was lying and told me to send a photo! I told her my Mom lived 4 hrs away and this is bad customer service. As for the other Susan bulb of theirs that I sent to my mom-in-law, it only flowered one stem, 4 flowers also, BUT the flower was not pink as Susan bulb should be. It was white flower and an ugly white at that, dull white. I called the company and they got very very irate at me and told me they already refunded me for other bulb and that was it and that I should "go away!" I told them this is the nastiest customer service I've ever dealt with. I specifically ordered a pink flowered Susan bulb and I didn't get a pink flower, but instead a white flower. My mom-in-law (who by the way is 90 yrs of age) loves pink and well, it was white....I told woman at company (elderly lady) that I could even send a picture to prove it was white and not pink, and she said no, that she wanted me to ship it back to her. I told her my mom-in-law lives 2 hrs away and why should I go get the plant, box it, ship it, pay for shipping etc. when it wasn't my mistake, but rather theirs. Finally the woman at company gets totally irate and says she'll refund me, but who knows. She yells at me to never call again! Get this, she hangs up the phone loudly in my ear! Unbelievable. "Cheerful" customer service, I think not. There was never an apology from them. Whatever happened to "the customer is always right". I am only wrting this to inform others of my bad experience all around with this company. It is good that this site allows customers to give reviews.
On February 10th, 2009, pegjane added the following:

Company representative comment on February 10, 2009:
On Jan 22, 2009 6:22 PM, Amaryllis Bulb Company responded with:

I am aware that this customer is unhappy- however, she fails to mention in her scathing commentary that she called about another order for the same product and complained that her bulb had not bloomed in a timely manner. Her recipient had only had the bulb for about 2 weeks at that point . Even though we make it very clear that it takes at least 5 weeks for Dutch amaryllis to bloom, I cheerfully gave her the full amount of the invoice back and told her I was sorry. Ok, so she decides that she is going to call right back in 5 minutes and complain about present #2. Same complaint- I feel that she needs to give it more time. In the meantime, she totally degrades my products and tells me they are drugstore quality. She is completely offensive to me , but I just tell her to give it more time. As for the "crummy" baskets. A basket is a basket. We only charge a meager $20 for a prepotted basket with a Handwritten gift card and a nice instruction card. If you want a more expensive looking gift, maybe try spending more than $20. So basically , she got two nice gifts mailed with flowers that bloomed for about $14 and now she also tries to ruin my reputation. WOW- sometimes I wonder why I even come into the office.

On Feb 10, 2009 6:57 PM, Amaryllis Bulb Company added:

I was not the person who talked to this customer, but I can without a doubt say that I heard the conversation and she did not get screamed at by anyone in our office. We don't ever scream at people- no matter how much they tempt us. Shirley told the customer that we would refund the money, but we would want her to not call us anymore because it was becoming a weekly issue with her and it seemed like it was becoming a pasttime for her to just call us and try to pick a fight with whoever answered the phone. She never wanted to back up her complaints- just harrassed us and then writes untrue stories. I think our past positives reflect that we don't abuse people and we are forever refunding and replacing bulbs. I hope whatever bulb company that inherits her as a customer has better luck than we did because no matter what we did or said, we couldn't make her happy.

Positive carrielamont
Milton, MA (Zone 6a)
(20 reviews)
January 28, 2007
I became besotted with Amaryllis upon learning (at DG) that they could bloom year after year. By the time I started looking for bulbs, though, it was late fall. Nobody had any except - THE AMARYLLIS BULB COMPANY. I am right now enjoying the results of my discovery. We have flowers all over the house! I would have given this company 5 stars except for kbaumle's report, below. I ordered online and dealt with no humans. My bulbs were all healthy and all are blooming!
Positive bsharf
Palm Coast, FL (Zone 9a)
(8 reviews)
January 7, 2007
I have ordered many bulbs from ABC. So far I have been happy with the quality. Also it is one of only a few companies that I haven't gotten mislabeled bulbs from.
Positive chicadelanorte
Anchorage, AK
(1 review)
November 4, 2006
I have ordered amaryllis from the Amaryllis Bulb Company for several years. The bulbs are always large and bloom twice before going dormant. Some flowers have been so outstanding that my clients thought they were artificial.
Positive kbaumle
Northwest, OH (Zone 5b)
(11 reviews)
March 22, 2006
I so wanted to give a positive rating to this company, but am struggling to not leave a negative. I am leaving a neutral rating for the time being, and if I don't get resolution to current problems, I will change it to a negative.

I ordered three different kinds of amaryllis and some paperwhites. The paperwhites were wonderful. The amaryllis have been a pain. First of all, when I received the order, I was disappointed in the condition of the bulbs. 'Susan' had a large chunk out of it. 'Green Goddess' was two-thirds rotted. The others had areas of red on them that had me suspicious as to their health. By the time I got the rotted area of 'Green Goddess' cut away, there was only about one-third of the bulb left. I potted it up anyway. I contacted Ann Marie at the company, and she was willing to refund my purchase price on the amaryllis. I should have taken her up on her offer, but wanting to be fair, and suggested we wait and see how the bulbs performed.

'Green Goddess' eventually had to be thrown out, due to more rot and worms. I let Ann Marie know, and she promptly refunded my money for it. So far, so good. Sort of.

'Susan' bloomed and very obviously had a problem with a virus. The bloom was crinkly and spotted. I e-mailed Ann Marie about this and included a picture. After a couple of days, I got no response, so e-mailed again, and also informed her that 'Misty' has just stalled in growth, after initial growth peaked through over a month ago. I offered to send pictures of the bulbs. I have gotten no response from Ann Marie at all, to either of those two e-mails.

I will probably not do business with this company again, for two reasons:
1. Did not received healthy bulbs.
2. Lack of response to customer service issues.
On March 24th, 2006, kbaumle changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:

It's been long enough for this company to contact me about resolving the issues I have with their bulbs and I have not heard a word. I am changing my rating to negative.
On March 28th, 2006, kbaumle added the following:

I received notification from my credit card company this morning that I had received a credit of $8.50 from Amaryllis Bulb Company on 3-26-06. I can only assume that this is for the 'Susan' bulb that has the virus (although I paid $9.50 for it), since I've still received no response from the company themselves. While I'm appreciative for this compensation for the unhealthy bulb, my negative rating still stands, due to the hassle this order has involved.
On February 27th, 2007, kbaumle changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

Well. I have to say that Ann Marie has managed to change my mind completely about my feelings toward this company. She has gone out of her way to make things right with me this year. I DID take another chance at ordering from her since she had the amaryllis that I was wanting, and I have been more than pleased. While I'm not happy with UPS leaving a box on my porch in sub-zero weather and not notifying me, even though I was home at the time, Ann Marie stepped up to the plate and I now have beautiful, healthy bulbs. She went WAY out of her way to make my previous experience up to me and I can't say enough nice things about her and this company. She felt horrible about what happened last year and I have to say that I am amazed at the effort she went to for me, just one customer. That says a lot.

Many thanks, Ann Marie. All is forgiven! ;-)
Positive beaker_ch
Columbia Heights, MN (Zone 4a)
(23 reviews)
December 29, 2005
ABC was just wonderful. I ordered about nine bulbs this fall and they were beautifully large and healthy. Roots looked great. They forgot to include one of the bulbs I ordered and after I notified them, it was delivered in just a few days. I also ordered bulbs from several other companies and none of them came close to ABC. I had to do very little trimming of roots. Some of the bulbs I obtained elsewhere, I was lucky if one or two roots remained after trimming. They will be my company of choice for amaryllis bulbs next year and, hopefully, many years to come.
Positive IndaShade
Kylertown, PA (Zone 5b)
(24 reviews)
November 11, 2005
Just got my order yesterday, and they are beautiful, huge bulbs delivered to me in a flash. Honestly, these bulbs are about the size of a grapefruit. I would not hesitate to order from Amaryllis Bulb Company again.
Negative brownieb3
North Hills, CA (Zone 9b)
(1 review)
December 1, 2004
I decided to spend a little more on my bulbs (I ended up spending over $200), thinking that I would get a better product and better service from a smaller company. So far, I've gotten neither. When I ordered my bulbs earlier this year, I knew that I would receive my order earlier than I needed to plant them in order for them to bloom at xmas. So, I asked how I should store them, and if I could leave them in the garage for a few weeks before planting. I was told that the bulbs would be fine in the garage. I even asked if they needed to be refrigerated and told that they didn't. So I proceeded and when I received my order, I put the unopened box in the garage and waited for 3 weeks. When I went to plant my bulbs, I was suprised to discover that over half of them had already grown long stems in the box and some had even had stunted flowers. It was too late to plant them and the health of the bulbs was comprimised. I called the company hoping to get replacement bulbs since I was given bad advice as to how to store the bulbs. Instead, I was "greeted" with an accusational woman who tried to place the blame on me for following her instructions. She immediately told me that the company was not responsible for *my* neglect. I explained to her that she had told me that the bulbs would be fine in the garage. And instead of trying to come up with a compromise, she was defensive and rude. She claimed that I was given the option to have the bulbs delivered at a later date. I was never given this option because I surely would have taken that opportunity. I wasted well over $200 on an order of bulbs, half of which I cannot use. This was a very bad experience and I would not recommend this company to anyone.
Positive Aotearoa
New York City, NY (Zone 6b)
(6 reviews)
October 23, 2002
I ordered $200 of bulbs from this company. They arrived precisely when told they would. Each bulb is in perfect condition, some the largest I have ever seen. Clear planting and reblooming instructions are included. This is not a discount shop; you pay for the quality. You cannot order directly from the website, but email your order and get a return phone call from the owner. This phone chat, I promise, will be one of the hi~lights of your day, as Ron is a "character" in the finest sense of the word.

Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top