Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Cottage Farms'

  Company Profile  
Cottage Farms

Mailing Address:
9960 Padgett Switch Road
Irvington, Alabama 36544 (United States)

Phone: 1-888-593-3644

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website
» Like them on Facebook
» Follow them on Twitter

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 0
This company offers a variety of plants.

This company specializes in:

  Feedback History and Summary  
68 positives
13 neutrals
58 negatives


Displaying the 50 most recent comments:

Negative veganman
Peoria, AZ (Zone 9b)
(17 reviews)
March 9, 2019
I ordered bee balm and was sent lavender.
Not what I ordered. Sat on hold with qvc 10 minutes to have their phone system hang up on me.....twice.

I wish my local big box store sold bee balm, then I wouldn’t have to waste time or money with these fools.

The lavender that did show was sopping wet, yellow, and and 2 inches tall. Looks like compost to me.
Negative lerone
Austin, TX
(1 review)
February 18, 2019
Mini rose was damaged/died. Their replacement policy is terrible, and customer service very unhelpful. I'd recommend going elsewhere (even if you have to pay more) for far better quality products and better experience all around.
Company representative comment on February 19, 2019:
On Feb 19, 2019 9:25 AM, Cottage Farms responded with:

Ms. Wilson - Our replacement policy states that If for any reason you are dissatisfied or your plant does not perform as expected, we will replace it at no charge. Perennials are warranted for one-year and annuals, are warranted for ninety days from time of shipment. Since your request for replacement came in after our shipping season ended, we advised that your replacement would ship the following season. We are so sorry to hear that you are not satisfied and have canceled your replacement, however, we are still happy to replace the rose when your shipping zone opens this season. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Negative Txtea
Fabens, TX (Zone 8a)
(4 reviews)
August 6, 2018
I did not get my order through QVC I went to their direct order. I ordered two Mini Roses the 5 inch pots. Arrived DOA both times, I called and was asked to send pictures of the plants which I did and twice with not a call or E Mail response eather time. Over 50.00 tossed into the fire place. Oh I must admit the replacement plants were not in 5 inch pots, they were in 2 inch pots. If you could include pictures here I can prove the shape of what was sent. If you see them On QVC or through their web site Turn your equipment off and run as fast a you can. I have order so many plants through the net I have lost count. So I can not stress enough this is the worst customer service and worst plants in the whole United States. RUN FOLKS RUN.
Negative plantpeace
Woodstock, GA
(1 review)
April 19, 2018
I placed an order for 3 things. The Fiddleleaf Fig was diseased with a brown spot like disease on the underside of the leaves spreading to the upper side. I threw it in the trash so it wouldn't infect my other house plants.
The 3 Munstead lavenders were supposed to be a live plants.
A more accurate description is deader than doornails bare root plants.

I won't order from them again. I should have known better.
Negative OverWhatHill
San Jose, CA
(1 review)
April 16, 2018
I found this wonderful site by searching for Cottage Farms... curious to know if there was anyone else out there who's been very disappointed. Eureka! My family has purchased many things from QVC... Cottage Farm plants and products included. First of all, unless one lives where buying plants from a garden center "in person" isn't an option, I just can't see purchasing live plants via mail order. HOWEVER... those gorgeous plants on QVC and the lively presentations can be irresistible. We've been unable to resist many times. Now that Spring is here, we're out sprucing up the yard during the day... and sometimes looking in on QVC at night. Just this weekend we were outside gardening and commenting on how (specifically) a lilac we bought 10 years ago...TEN YEARS... hasn't bloomed yet. We also have a gorgeous planter filled with iris's that have never bloomed. And, yes, they've all been cared for and fed with Cottage Farms fertilizer. We now watch the QVC presentations... listen closely to their claims. They're pretty forthcoming about how large the plant will be with you receive it... and how long it will take for your plant to look like the plants on the set. I honestly don't recall that the lilac might take over a decade to bloom. We bought one from Home Depot two seasons ago that is currently in bloom... and it's stunning. It's planted next to the Cottage Farms lilac. We were hoping to inspire it... but I fear it's shaming it.
Positive juliebeth
Maywood, IL
(1 review)
June 2, 2017
I order from them every year through QVC. Sometimes the plants get hurt during transport. If you call them right away they replace it without a problem. The plants are guaranteed for a year - so if perennials don't winter over and don't come back the next year, I call and they send new ones to replace them without an issue. Today I called to say that 1) my butterfly bushes wintered over in the garage perfectly and are growing beautifully this year; 2) the hibiscus did not - they are sending a new one; 3) the carpet sedum didn't do well last year and did not return this year - they have no more now, but will replace it next spring and gave me tips to grow it better; and 4) four of the six re-blooming day-lilies I got last year aren't regrowing this year as well as I would like - they are sending 4 replacements.
How could anyone say this isn't the best customer service around? I am thrilled to purchase from them with this kind of service.
Just call them at 888 593 3644. They are such a decent company to follow through on their guarantees and very nice on the phone.
Positive Sleepy3123
Grand Junction, CO
(1 review)
April 24, 2017
Over the past 10 years we have purchased countless plants from Cottage Farms. We have NO complaints. First let me tell you Cottage Farms became a part of our lives when I had no clue about gardening. Each plant we have received has done very well. We have a beautiful yard with plants that our neighbors compliment and ask “where did you find that?” Thanks to Cottage Farms we have one of the best looking yards in our neighborhood. Of the 10 years purchasing plants from Cottage Farms, I can tell you we ONLY received one (1) order where the plants we in poor shape. This was NOT due to Cottage Farms, as they package their plants well and the soil is always moist when we receive the order. This was due to UPS, where it appears something was dropped on the box or stepped on. We contacted Cottage Farms and we received our replacement order with no questions asked. Quality is the word I use to describe Cottage Farms. From their amazing plants, customer service and great prices. Strongly Recommend!
Negative cherjune
Nacogdoches, TX
(1 review)
August 16, 2016
I will be the first to admit that I am no gardener. If a plant requires more than watering and occasional fertilization I don't spend money on it because I know it will never make it in my yard. Over the years I have spent hundreds of dollars on items purchased from Cottage Farms via QVC because they are beautiful and because the presentation of said items claimed my purchases would practically grow themselves. Most of the items I received arrived in pretty poor shape but what do I know? I'm no gardener. I do not have ONE single thing from Cottage Farms in my yard that has survived. I have three small flower beds in my yard and I tend them frequently. Most of the plants I have purchased from a local nursery thrive. For the longest time I thought the problems from the CF purchases were my fault but now I'm not so sure. I did order some beautiful dinner plate hibiscus from QVC/Roberta's and they arrived looking healthy and they are gorgeous. I'm not sure they will survive the winter. If not, I will order more next spring. I will never again order anything from Cottage Farms.
Company representative comment on August 17, 2016:
On Aug 17, 2016 9:10 AM, Cottage Farms responded with:

Hi Cherjune: We hate to hear that you received a shipment that was not up to our quality standards. We hand pack each order, and can assure you that they were not shipped in the condition you described. However, because we want to exceed your expectations, we do offer a one year perennial/90 day annual warranty on our products and our customer service team is available year-round to help with any planting or gardening questions you may have. When you have a few moments, please contact Anita at 1-888-593-3644 so that we can better understand your concerns. We look forward to hearing from you.

Negative DLMenzel
Riverton, NJ
(2 reviews)
May 2, 2016
Posted on May 1, 2016, updated May 2, 2016
I wish I could post the photos here to show you how the two tomato plants from Cottage Farms arrived. I had ordered them through QVC, according their website they were shipped on April 25th, they arrived on the 27th dead. Their instructions say the plant might be wilted, these were not wilted both plants were crushed. They were not packaged in order to protect the plant inside the box. I wrote a review on QVC almost immediately with photos QVC has yet to allow it to be posted to their site. I also called QVC because I wanted replacement plants but as I was explaining how the plants arrived they were busy refunding my purchase. I had a feeling I wasn't the only person calling and complaining about Cottage Farms. There was another set of tomato plants that I ordered from Cottage Farms through QVC. According to the tracking they were shipped on the 26th I've yet to receive them I have a feeling when they arrive they too will be dead. I advise anyone reading this to never order anything from Cottage Farms. I had forgotten that a few years ago I ordered six hydrangeas all which arrive dead or dying.
On May 2nd, 2016, DLMenzel added the following:

The second set of tomato plants arrived today they were package the same way but happy to say these survived. The two plants that arrived today are large well-developed, one of them even has flowers already. The two tomato plants that arrived last week were no more than 3 inches high with only a few leaves. Why wasn't I offered replacement plants, healthy replacement plants for the two that arrived dead? When I ordered them I purchased a large pots with the idea of keeping them in the container not planting them in the ground with my other tomato plants.
Company representative comment on May 2, 2016:
On May 2, 2016 11:01 AM, Cottage Farms responded with:

Dear DLMenzel:
We were sorry to hear that your tomatoes didn’t arrive well and appreciate the feedback as it allows us to address these issues with our carriers. According to the tracking info, the second set of tomatoes you ordered were shipped on 4/26 and were delivered to your front door on 4/28. Be sure and call us at 888-593-3644 if you experienced any issues with the second set. We want you to have a successful and positive experience with your plant purchases from QVC and Cottage Farms Direct, and appreciate the opportunity to resolve any issues quickly.

Positive dojoson
New Lisbon, NJ
(1 review)
February 3, 2016
I have ordered many plants from Cottage Farms, Roberta's and other online/tv sites as well as local and big box garden centers and sadly the dumpsters at said stores. I have had mostly positive reviews. I also met a certain ( host) who is just that, a host, but in real life he is very nice and knowledgeable about gardens. All gardens centers online or physical have both good and bad plants. The common problem I see in forums/blogs is people not arming themselves with information, requirements, zones, etc about plants before the public buys. For example the only butterfly bush that survives on my farm in NJ is the good old common bush, the recent new ones will not survive. Lavender/Tea roses/Peonies also are plants people buy not knowing they require a little more special treatment, but people buy them and plop then into the ground anyway. Normally a zone 7 plant isn't going to survive here in NJ but a house in the area has about an 1/2 + acre of Cannas and Elephant ear plants that they do not dig up in the winter or the gentleman with his 15+ fig tree, both require special mulching/wrapping. Knowledge/trial and error is the key. I am trying the new phenomenal and grosso Lavenders this 2016 year here in NJ (hot, humid, cold) and will let you know how it goes. PS as someone who did work at a (general shipping company) you would faint at the treatment of your packages, so take pictures of your destroyed package/plant, send it to both supplier/shipper and lets see how we can resolve this better in the future.
Negative onegoodman1955
Normal, IL
(20 reviews)
June 10, 2015
I knew better. In February, 10 degrees above zero, watching QVC and anxious for spring, I ordered a 6 poppy collection. The poppies arrived last week (first week of June). Communication was good. Packaging was appropriate. Plants not so good, well 1 of the 6 is recovering. 2 were more fungus than plant, other 4 were a mix of fungus, wilted leaves, and leaves falling off. Last night I threw 5 in the trash. I'm guessing that the period of transit in a hot vehicle baked the plants.
Company representative comment on June 11, 2015:
On Jun 11, 2015 9:46 AM, Cottage Farms responded with:


We are sorry to hear your poppies didn't arrive well, however Cottage Farms did not offer a 6pc poppy collection this year on QVC. We advise you to reach out to QVC to help for a quick resolution.

Negative jt1983
Frostburg, MD
(1 review)
June 10, 2015
I purchased a dogwood tree from Cottage Farms. When I received it the box was beat up. When I pulled out the tree there was one limb broke and the leaves were brown. I called and they said tape the limb and plant the tree. So I did. I ended up pulling it 2 days later because the leaves were falling off. They said they would send another. I received another tree well once again the box was beat up. I got the tree out of the box and it was in worse shape than the first one. I was told they will not be able to send another till 2016. I asked for a refund and said how disappointed I was. Still have yet to get a refund and both trees are at the landfill. If anyone is considering purchasing g they should look somewhere else
Company representative comment on June 10, 2015:
On Jun 10, 2015 12:47 PM, Cottage Farms responded with:

We apologize that you received two dogwood trees that were not up to our quality standards. We can assure you that they were not shipped in this condition. Unfortunately, it looks like the tree delivered to you today was in transit for longer than we would have expected. Also, be assured you that the request you submitted to us today is in the review process and will be resolved quickly. We understand your disappointment, as we are consumers as well and want your experience with us to be a positive one and appreciate the opportunity to resolve any issues you may have experienced.

Negative Dissapointment
Stillwater, MN
(1 review)
June 1, 2015
QVC should drop Cottage Farms. The deplorable condition of the boxes was one thing, but the plants were even worse. Leaves dropping all over, and the tomato plant so bone dry and wilted I have no idea if it will recover if I plant it. I will NEVER do this again and stick to my local nursery! Minnesota growing season is short enough so reordering, I won't even try. Not going through this again. Shame on all of you!

Company representative comment on June 2, 2015:
On Jun 2, 2015 7:31 AM, Cottage Farms responded with:

We apologize that you received a shipment that was not up to our quality standards. I can assure you that they were not shipped in this condition, and if you had shipping damage, as indicated by your description, we would really like to know. We want all of our customers to enjoy their experience with Cottage Farms and would like the opportunity to resolve the issue you experienced. Please
contact us at 1-888-593-3644 so that we can find a resolution that works best for you.

Negative Chuchowie
Houma, LA
(1 review)
March 13, 2015
March 13, 2015 - Ordered three piece re-blooming hydrangeas from QVC they arrived a complete mess, small, and absolutely terrible looking. Several of the leaves had been eaten on by bugs or something. These plants looked like they would belong on a 75 % off sale rack at Lowe's because no one would have purchased these half eaten plants. Fool me once shame on you........Now I know

Company representative comment on April 10, 2015:
On Apr 10, 2015 12:45 PM, Cottage Farms responded with:

Dear Chuchowie:
At Cottage Farms Direct we pride ourselves on our plants, trees and bulbs. Being consumers ourselves, we understand the value of every dollar you spend on our plants. When you place orders with us through our website or through QVC, you are showing us that you have confidence in us and our products. Every plant shipped is double-checked at two different locations by two different people prior to boxing to insure top quality, so something must have happened to your plants in shipment. However, it saddens us that you had anything less than a great experience.
We would really appreciate the opportunity to exceed your expectations. If you would contact our customer service department (888-593-3644) and ask for Anita, we’ll do our very best to make sure you receive a replacement set of hydrangeas to plant right away!

Positive lovemegarden
Woodcrest, CA
(1 review)
February 10, 2015
I ABSOLUTELY love the quality of the plants I get from Cottage Farms. I have ordered from them for years and they have always been plants that thrive for me. I always follow their information care guide and have had tremendous success(including fertilizing OFTEN !!! My yard is filled with Cottage Farm plants and each year their plants get more beautiful AND I cannot wait to receive the new ones I ordered. Also,what an enjoyment it is to watch a Professional like Phillip Watson who is so knowledgeable, enjoyable and full of personality... he livens up the screen!!! Bottom line-buy from Cottage Farms and follow their information guide for planting and care and you'll enjoy the success in your garden that I have.
Negative Rama31
Santa Rosa, CA
(1 review)
February 8, 2015
The QVC ads for Cottage Farms plants are a bunch of overinflated hype, and host Phillip is a liar. I have been a gardener, landscaper and nurseryman for over 25 years, and when I see their tv commercials, I just shake my head in disbelief. They use artificial flowers on their commercials that are a false representation of what the actual plant really is, not only that, they also use artificial flowers that aren't even the plant they are trying to sell! (Penstemon for example) In addition, the culture and care information they give about their plants is wildly exaggerated and most of it is inaccurate, and of course, everything they sell is super fragrant, incredibly beautiful, one of a kind, nothing but blooms, and your neighbors won't have it. Come on, why don't you just sell the artificial plants you use on your commercials so the people you dupe aren't disappointed when their plants arrive.
Don't fall for their lies, buy your plants in person at your local nursery and get to know your local nurserymen, and if you must buy plants by mail, there are more reliable sources.
Positive VanGarden
Thibodaux, LA (Zone 9a)
(5 reviews)
May 14, 2014
I ordered 3 re blooming German irises from QVC /Cottage Farms less than two weeks ago.
I received them Monday. Very large and healthy plants.
Fast service and very satisfied with my shipment of plants.
Negative FirstTimePA
Milford, PA
(4 reviews)
May 4, 2014
Posted on June 8, 2012, updated May 4, 2014
Posted on June 4, 2012, updated June 8, 2012
I ordered minature roses. The presentation made me believe I was going to get six beautiful plants. They sent the roses out too early and they were dead. They replaced them with dried out sticks. You might be wondering why I gave them a neutral rating because customer service has improved greatly and I really believe they tried.

They were not happy to hear people where joking about the sticks I planted and they wanted to know where I bought them.
On June 8th, 2012, FirstTimePA changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

I am changing my rating to Positive. This company did everything they could to send me a product that was alive. Customer service was great. The plants are tiny but ALIVE!

This company proved to me it stands behind the product!
On May 4th, 2014, FirstTimePA changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

I tried this company one more time. I bought everblooming daylilies and three out of six bloomed, once not the whole summer as stated on QVC. I asked them to replace them with Dianthus. The Dianthus arrived dead. The company said that they sat in a UPS hub. Plants that are healthy should not die in a week! This is not the only problem last year I order sunpatiens, they were not only dead but soaking wet. I feel very cheated by this company and what you see on TV is not what I received!
Negative squirley
Southeast, NC
(2 reviews)
March 11, 2014
Sister ordered Tropical Hibiscus tree March 29th,213. She put it in our sunroom over the winter in sunlight. The tree is completely dead. Brown under bark. No green anywhere. Ordered thru QVC. She had me to contact Cottage Farms. Customer service said that the tree was only guaranteed for 90 days and they would not replace it. Said it was past the 90 day period. The cost total was $47.73. Phillip did not say it was only guaranteed for 90 days. That's ridiculous for such an expensive tree. Phillip said if we are not happy then they are not happy. I want trust them in the future.
Negative pinkelephants
Mission Bend, TX
(1 review)
September 1, 2013
Posted on June 21, 2013, updated September 1, 2013
Sorry for the length of this story, but the sequence of events demands it. Never order the Blue Bird Rose of Sharon tree that you see Phillip raving about on QVC. I have ordered this plant over the past five years and have yet to receive even one blue tree. They send pinks and lavenders galore, but no blues. Cottage Farms convinced me in 2012 that four blue replacement trees would be forthcoming if I waited until the next season. In the following year (now) and after waiting months for the four blue trees to bloom, GUESS WHAT? They had sent FOUR LAVENDER ALTHEAS (I left the Blue Bird labels on the trees just for kicks!). When I reported this to Cottage Farms, they implored me to wait another year for the real blue replacements. I declined this offer and requested them to send the trees now so that I would not have to wait another year just to discover that the order was still wrong. YOU WON'T BELIEVE THIS! They sent me just one tree instead of four. I won't know for a month if it's blue or not. I thought I was being "punked." This had to be a joke! So silly me, I called them back just to be told to wait YET ANOTHER YEAR for the remaining three blue replacements. Really?! I was sitting on my couch laughing hysterically about the total disregard of this customer and still believing that I was being "punked", when I received a call from customer service at CF with the rep. saying that she had spoken with her supervisor. And because of all of the mishaps (which I call incompetence and disregard), Cottage Farms had reconsidered and would send the three blue replacements THIS YEAR! Imagine that! I was overjoyed, to say the least, and relieved that I would not have to write a scathing review of CF based on my horrible but true experiences. They were sending the 3 trees that day! After waiting for more than a week, I called CF back to get a tracking number since the trees had not arrived as promised. YOU WON'T BELIEVE THIS--the CF rep. that had spoken with her supervisor had "checked the wrong box" and had actually scheduled the replacement trees for 2014 instead of now, according to the present CF rep. This person apologized and said that I would be receiving the blue trees in about a week. SO LET'S TAKE BETS! Will Cottage Farms finally send the 3 Blue Bird Rose of Sharons next week? Will the one tree that's already planted TURN OUT TO BE BLUE? Tune in for the latest update on this Cottage Farms Blue Bird fiasco. I'll be posting.

On September 1st, 2013, pinkelephants added the following:

Mystery solved. Finally I received all four trees. After three months of waiting for the alleged Bluebird Rose of Sharon hibiscus trees to bloom, three of them produced puny lavender blooms and one didn't bloom at all! Absolutely true. It's painfully obvious to me that Cottage Farms is advertising that beautiful blue tree without actually growing it. Since I have ordered it repeatedly all of these years and listened to their endless excuses about why it's never arrived, that's the logical conclusion. Adios, Cottage Farms.
Neutral curlyjoe1967
Marshfield, WI
(8 reviews)
June 21, 2013
The same thing happened to a friend of mine. She ordered the blue rose of Sharon, but got the pink one. When she got her replacement the next season, after waiting for it to bloom , it turned out to be pink again. She said screw it and never ordered from them again.
Negative watchdogal
East Hartford, CT
(7 reviews)
May 18, 2013
Most of the time if you purchase an item and it arrived DOA they will replace it with some other item (they claim is similar) . You never get a replacement for what you ordered. Last year I bought a 2-pack of Crape Myrtles Trees(Velma's Royal) off QVC and they sent 2 completely different plants...when I notified them after they started growing it was obvious one was a bush and another a possible tree. I sent them pictures of the two and they didn't even know what they were but promised to replace them the following year as it was too late (summer just started) to send the replacements now. So here it is 2013 and they send out 2 bushes of another type Crape Myrle.....not even close to the trees I ordered......this happens most of the time with replacements....I've had it with them and don't believe what PHIL tells you on QVC about wanting to make you happy with your never know what you paid for! This also happened with the Pink Grasses and a day-lily collection 2 years before......always getting what you didn't ask for...or pay for..
Negative rosepetal2
Danvers, MA
(11 reviews)
May 15, 2013
Posted on May 14, 2013, updated May 15, 2013
I've been an avid QVC customer for years and do enjoy the convenience and quality of products I've ordered from them. After watching Cottage Farms for several years, I finally decided to order a number of items $400 worth this 2013 spring. Quality from Cottage Farms is a crap shoot. It depends when your order is processed and shipped. I live Z6 so my shipments are in the middle of their entire orders. For items received promptly, the quality was great and I was pleased. However, the later into the season they get, the quality wanes substantially to the point that starters, plugs and liners seem to replace the plant ordered. IMHO I believe Cottage Farms is greedy and does not turn down a sale. Even if that means sending a 1-1/2" plug and calling it 4" pot. Bare root trees and roses are also iffy...they actually sent me a bare root rose with a 3" dia stem, 6" bud union and two 1-1-1/2" canes. The rose was likely 5-6 years old. Problem was the roots some as large as 3/4" dia were all cut within 6" from the crown. Who do they actually think they are fooling? I've had good luck with their daylilies, but again a search of the internet and you'll find more mature roots at either same or lower price. As far as their hydrangeas are concerned...liners I bought from a grower were more mature than the cuttings I received. Imaging a big leaf with near normal size bloom on a 6" cutting with frail immature roots. Hardly could I expect them to survive. Replacements? Yes, courteous replacements. Problem here is they ship replacements AT THE END of their sales season and you end up with immature or leftover plants. It got to the point that the cost of outrageously small plants was unacceptable and QVC refunded $180 on my complaints. Bottom line...never again.
On May 15th, 2013, rosepetal2 added the following:

Mobile, AL

Tue, May 14, 2013
12:12 PM
Hi rosepetal2,

I'm sorry to see you had problems with your purchases from Cottage Farms. Please contact our customer service department (888-593-3644) and we'll do our best to make sure you receive plants that are up to your standards.


Danvers, MA

Wed, May 15, 2013
02:24 PM
Hi Jonathan I appreciate your attempt to resolve any of my issues. But several of the problems continued even with replacements. I have wasted time, energy and the use of my money to purchase your plants, especially near the end of the ship season. It is inexcusable that you send 1-1/2" plugs, liners or starters for plants advertised as more mature. I purchased my entire landscape over the past couple of years online from growers and not one tried to pass of such skimpy sprigs as living plants. In fact I just received replacements for fire and ice hydrangea for 2012 purchase that did not make the winter. Those replacements had NO BRANCHING, the main stem was 1/4" diameter with a near full size leaf. Are you telling me that's not a cutting that had been rooted for several weeks? this year I also purchased Russian sage and lavender from you via QVC. The lavender had been drenched prior to shipment and the poor little sprigs arrived DOA. the Russian sage were barely 1-1/2" high and when transplanting it was obvious they were 1-1/2 plugs placed in a 4" sq pot. I cannot afford to continue to do business with you - even for replacements. I do not have a greenhouse nor do I care to cultivate immature plants. Like I said in my review, its a crap shoot to do business with you folks. Some of my plants were fantastic some were embarrassing. I really don't want to waste any further growing season with such inconsistent quality. In spring 2012 I purchased two fire and ice hydrangeas and four twist and shout hydrangeas. All six were frail plants that I nursed in containers for the summer and transplanted in September. I composted and mulched them like all other hydrangeas, roses and clematis. Only your plants were the worst to pull through. My observation is that they were very immature plants when received in May 2012. The size of the surviving four twist and shout hydrangeas this year are what I would have expected LAST YEAR. I run a Garden Services business and am a knowledgeable gardener. My observations of your stock are accurate. This late in the season any replacements from you would likely be fresh starts. Sorry, no thank you.
Positive hmbell3
Huntingdon, PA
(2 reviews)
April 29, 2013
I've ordered several items from Cottage Farms, both directly and through QVC, over the past few years. All my plant are beautiful!

Many of the negative and comments I've read, on this site and other sites, tend to suggest buying local "because you know what you're getting". I feel you should buy local if that works for you, but in my area, retailers make it tough to do. (Not just the nurseries. We remodeled our kitchen and had to buy online, too.) And it's really unfortunate, but the nurseries are expensive and don't stand behind what they sell here and there is very little variety.

We had a bad experience buying a Weeping Charry Tree a few years back. It died within a couple months. The nursery would only give us a percentage off a new tree if we brought the dead one back. I'm not sure how the problem had been resolved (if it even did get resolved), but there is no cherry tree on our property.

2 years ago I purchased a Reblooming Weeping Lilac Tree from Cottage Farms that was to have lavendar blooms. When it bloomed, the flowers were white. I called Cottage Farms to ask if this white tree was a rebloomer because that's what I was the reason I bought the tree. I wasn't so concerned about the color. The customer service person just automatically sent me a new one. I didn't have to return the tree, I didn't have to accept only a percentage off another of the same, etc. I believe I was offered a full refund had I wanted one.

I will continue to order from Cottage Farms and other mail-order companies because of the guarantees and the selections. Most of the yards in town (although very pretty) have the same ol' flowers, but my yard is unique. I love that!

The only thing I have to complain about, is that shipping costs have gone up over the past 2-3 years, but I think they all have. What hasn't gone up???
Negative BenjaminBunny
Allentown, PA
(2 reviews)
January 22, 2013
I bought several items from Cottage Farms through QVC - petunias, flower garden combinations, Red Hydrangeas, and double minipetunias. Most of the flowers came squashed and brown. I worked at a greenhouse for a couple years when younger. There is no way they are telling me those plants were sent healthy. I called QVC to complain, and they fully refunded me. The petunias were never denim and coral as stated. They were just regular purple and red and could have been bought at the local greenhouse. The red hydrangeas hardly grew and never bloomed. The flower garden combinations were the worst with just one flower growing out of the garden. The minipetunias came around the best. I will never buy from Cottage Farms again. I will watch them on QVC to see what is new for the season and then look for it from someone else who is reliable.
Neutral lemonjn
South Charleston, OH
(1 review)
April 26, 2012
This is the first time I have ordered from Cottage Farms. I ordered the 6 piece butterfly pincushion collection. One of the plants is in good shape but the other five had yellow and brown leaves and looked like one had a bud but was broken off before it was put in the box. I went ahead and planted them because I have a family emergency and had to leave to go out of state for a week. I hope they survive they were so pretty on the QVC presentation.
Positive djara
Greenville, NC
(1 review)
April 4, 2012
Over the yrs I have ordered many plants from Cottage Farms via QVC. I have never had a problem with anything I ordered.

My favorite plants are my Angel Trumpets. If there is anything below a novice gardener, that's what I was when I got it. I just knew I kill them. They were grew like crazy the first yr and when the weather started to get cold, I was scared. I had lost the growing guide & couldn't remember how to "winter" my darlings. I called Cottage Farm directly & they told me how to do it & even told me how to make cuttings! Now 5 yrs later, not only do I have several Angel Trumpets, so do some of my neighbors & my family! All from the first 2 plants I received!!!

Keep up the good work, Cottage Farms!!!!
Negative hardyinokc
Oklahoma City, OK
(27 reviews)
April 2, 2012
Posted on July 20, 2011, updated April 2, 2012
Spring 2011 I ordered a re-blooming daylily collection via QVC (paid between $40 & $50 including shipping). The plants are alive, but the ones that have bloomed thus far are NOT the same colors that were shown on QVC. If you are wanting daylilies, do NOT order them from Cottage Farms; from now on I'll order all my daylilies from Oakes Daylilies (they send the CORRECT plants that are about 3 times the size of the ones from Cottage Farms for comparable prices).
On April 2nd, 2012, hardyinokc added the following:

After posting my previous posting, Cottage Farms did send replacement daylilies, which arrived last week. They were OK size-wise & seemed healthy (for the most part), but some of the daylilies in the box did not match up with the plants listed on the invoice. I appreciate them sending replacement plants, but it would sure be nice to receive the plants that were actually ordered.
Negative catsumrs
Meriden, CT
(2 reviews)
August 20, 2011
When I first ordered from this company I started with 4 trees, weeping cherries and they weren't cheap.
2 were dried upsticks and the other 2, the tops were broken off, which is the important part of this tree.
I didn't bother to phone and ask for replacements, I figured it would just be more of the same. When you have live plants roaming the USA in a box for 7 days or more, I'm not surprised they are dead.
This year I ordered the bulbs called 4'Oclocks,,,, I got 2 sets and I think it was something like 10 bulbs in a set. I put them all above my stonewall in front of the house and I must say, BEAUTIFUL! I have so many I transplanted some to the window boxes as well...
I think bulbs are a safer way to go with this company..
Positive kmo727
Shawnee Mission, KS
(1 review)
May 31, 2011
I have been purchasing plants from Cottage Farms for more than 10 years; first through QVC, then directly through Cottage Farms' online site. The company has always provided me with excellent customer service and reasonable prices for quality trees, shrubs, flowers and vegetables. When, upon occasion, a plant arrives that is either in poor shape or already dead, I can conveniently e-mail them and request a new one or equal replacement at no cost to me. I did just that this spring, when a small blue Wisteria tree I purchased last year did not bud out this year. Within 7 business days from my e-mail, I have received a replacement questions asked. I just provided my order # from last year (save your receipt!) and they gladly replaced it. They have always provided quality products and great service. People need to accept the fact that shipping plants can sometimes kill them, and they will need to realize they may need to request replacement plants. If the replacements are poor as well, don't give up! Cottage Farms WILL make it right!
Negative jojopal
Branford, CT
(1 review)
May 15, 2011
Hydrangea Sub-Zero Garden Party is what I ordered from QVC. I was to receive 3 healthy plants. What I got was 2 small plants that were nothing like the ones they showed on QVC and 1 dead plant. QVC/Cottage Farms did send me 1 replacement plant but that too was dead upon arrival. What a disappointment. Luckily for me, QVC gave me a full refund.

Pink Grass is what my aunt ordered from QVC. She gave one plant to me and it looks brown and dead. I planted it, but it still looks brown and dead. Again a big disappointment.
Next time I will purchase items like this from my local nursery.
Negative Gotrobbed
Houston, TX
(1 review)
April 20, 2011
I implore you not to deal with this company! I bought the climbing rose trio through QVC. They show you during their dynamic presentation, 3 robust, fully rooted small plants that you can expect to receive from them. I was horrified to find 3 dead, wilted twigs beyond return. A stick in dirt. I called Cottage Farms and they replaced them with 3 limp sticks in dirt, again dead as doornails. I called QVC for a refund. By the way, I did call to see when then the replacements were to arrive, and the employee at Cottage Farms was extremely rude. The presentation on QVC is totally bogus as far as merchandise and professional attitude!
Company representative comment on April 21, 2011:
On Apr 21, 2011 7:48 AM, Cottage Farms responded with:

We apologize that you received two shipments that were not up to our quality standards. I can assure you that they were not shipped in this condition. Also, I want to let you know that we want all of our customers to enjoy their experience with Cottage Farms and our Customer Service team and will follow up with the CSR with whom you spoke. A manager will be glad to speak with you in hopes of improving your experience so please contact us at 1-888-593-3644 or email us directly. Again, accept our apology for your unpleasant experience.

Positive homesteadgirl
middle TN, TN
(5 reviews)
March 15, 2011
I have bought hundreds of plants from Cottage Farms over the years. Even though I have had some problems with some plants, they are the best at responding to my e-mails and replacing the plants during the warranty period. I will continue to order from them and I hope they bring in some new plants that I haven't purchased already.
Neutral srajhart
Moroni, UT
(1 review)
July 19, 2010
From QVC I bought the chefs choice tomato package and the pink cotton candy grass. On the air they looked very hardy and healthy. On their arrival the pink grass was brown with and dry. The instructions stated that this is normal and that they would green up shortly after planting. Of the six plants three made it. They are not thriving by any means but they did " GREEN UP ".
The chefs tomato group arrived wilted but green. They were planted in a topsey turvry planter and four of the plants are doing very well.
Two of the plants just didn't stand a chance they died a quick death.
I did not notify Cottage Farms. Because of QVCs guarantee I notified them and a partial refund was credited to my account.
Neutral ksm25143
Hurricane, WV
(2 reviews)
July 13, 2010
Ordered from this company for 2 years in a row from QVC - last year I was totally thrilled and this year - I was not - this year plants arrived way too fragile and I babied them and they still died - bulbs did not come up and I called them and they replaced them but they still did not come up - will not order from them again.
Positive capozziello
East Hampton, CT
(1 review)
June 16, 2010
I ordered hedge roses, tree roses, strawberries, hibiscus,lilies,and clematis. Alot of what I bought was not in great condition but I called the company and they replaced what needed to be replaced and everything is growing great, except for the hibiscus. It still has not come up but overall I am happy with everything else. I would definitely buy roses from them again. The tree roses have bloomed and have the most fragrant blooms and they are gorgeous.
Negative Diane6191950
Bristol, PA
(1 review)
May 14, 2010
Posted on May 3, 2010, updated May 14, 2010
I placed an order last night on their website for the mint julep rose which was still working the other night.Today when I went to check the order status I could not reach their website as they appear to be no longer in business.I also tried calling their phone number but it has been disconnected.It appears to me that theyhave gone out of business with no way to reach them.
On May 14th, 2010, Diane6191950 added the following:

I finally recieved my order but of couse they messed it up.I ordered 2 mint julep roses but instead recieved 1 mint julep and 1 curly pink rose.I did not want a substitution on my order.I want specifically what I ordered.They still owe me my other mint julep rose.
Company representative comment on May 3, 2010:
On May 3, 2010 1:46 PM, Cottage Farms responded with:

As a representative of Cottage Farms, I can assure you that we are open for business as usual. Our toll-free number is 1-888-593-3644 and our website is To my knowledge, our website did not experience downtime yesterday; however, there may be short periods of time the site may be down when routine maintenance is being performed. Please be sure and contact us at our toll-free number or at our website with any questions or concerns you may have.

Positive joycerogers0713
Wiggins, MS (Zone 8b)
(3 reviews)
April 30, 2010
I just received my order of 6 Pink Muhly Grass from Cottage Farms. They arrived only 4 days after ordering them on QVC. I must say I was surprised at how well they were packaged, and how beautiful and healthy all 6 plants were. The plants averaged $4.87 each and I was expecting tiny plugs. NOT SO!! The foliage had been cut back to about 10" and the root systems were awsome. I am very pleased! They will definately get my repeat business.
Negative crash69
Buffalo, NY (Zone 5a)
(1 review)
April 23, 2010
Three years ago I purchased what was supposed to be a magnolia tree. I paid about 35 plus shipping for a stick that was supposed to grow into a tree in 3 to 5 years. Well it looks like a 3+ foot bush & every spring it flowers. But all the flowers get brown spots before they fully open.I wanted a tree but got a disappointing bush. I won't order from there again
Negative acddemilner
South Bend, IN
(3 reviews)
April 21, 2010
I ordered Hardy Hibiscus in April 2009 but they did not bloom. They were replaced in late Summer and I was told to "be patient", they would return in 2010. They are as dead now as they were last year and now because it is beyond one year from the original order, they write: We do offer a one-time, one-year (from date of original shipment) plant warranty. Unfortunately, your order has already been replaced and we will not be able to send you another replacement.

I think I was sent tropical Hibiscus and of course they will not grow here in Zone 5.

Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top