Photo by Melody
Announcements
Journal download links are now available for users who requested their journal data. To find the link, click on "My Info" at the top.

This data will be removed from our database March, 1 2021. Please download your data immediately.

The scoop on 'Select Seeds Antique Flowers'

  Company Profile  
Select Seeds Antique Flowers

Green Star: Good Select Seeds Antique Flowers is a Watchdog 30 company. Green Star: Good

Mailing Address:
180 Stickney Hill Road
Union, Connecticut 06076-4617 (United States)

Phone: 1-800-684-0395
Fax: 1-800-653-3304

Catalog Order Page: Hyperlink
Paper Catalog Cost: Free

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website
» Like them on Facebook

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 2 6
Neutral 0 0 1
Negative 0 0 0
This company offers a variety of plants and seeds.

This company specializes in:

Other helpful information:

  Feedback History and Summary  
275 positives
11 neutrals
3 negatives

Comments:

Displaying the 50 most recent comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Positive kat1959
Saint Johnsbury, VT
(5 reviews)
January 19, 2021
They are great all the way around. I especially appreciate their rare heirloom seed (and plant) offerings and descriptive information. Some of their heirloom(s) are not offered anywhere else. I'm also glad to see organic seeds.
Positive brahmabantam
Rimrock, WA (Zone 5b)
(8 reviews)
December 11, 2020
I ordered about 30 seed packets and a few live plants from Select Seeds this spring and summer. I was very impressed with the quality of the plants on arrival and had great germination of my seeds. Select Seeds is across the country from me and I am often hesitant to order from distant places because I have had issues with plants being DOA (dead on arrival) from other eastern companies. We are rural and arid which can be problematic in shipping plants. Anyway, my plants from Select Seeds showed no sign of stress whatsoever. It looked like they could have been packaged that morning. I will add this to one of my trusted sources for great live plants - and seeds (my other trusted source for live plants is Annieís). The plastic containers are a bummer but they can be recycled and I donít see another way to ensure plants will remain viable being shipped to dry places like this.
Positive bryana
Albany, NY
(72 reviews)
June 2, 2020
Posted on May 19, 2012, updated June 2, 2020
I ordered 4 packages of seeds , 3 creeping gloxinia vines and a black eyed susan vine. The plants arrived healthy, good sized and seeds planted so far have germinated and look good.
On June 2nd, 2020, bryana added the following:

I ordered seeds and 16 various plants.
All the seeds germinated and the plants were good sized and growing nicely.
Positive flowermaiden2
Saint Maries, ID
(19 reviews)
May 16, 2020
Posted on May 20, 2019, updated May 16, 2020
Posted on May 25, 2017, updated May 20, 2019
Posted on July 2, 2016, updated May 25, 2017
Posted on May 6, 2016, updated July 2, 2016
I have just received my Blue Shift ornamental sweet peas, and they sent well developed, healthy plants with good root systems.

I am impressed with how carefully these were packed. The little plastic pots were encased inside of clear plastic with front panels that snap-lock for optimum security. They were easy to open and retrieve the pots.

I also ordered seeds from them -- Clary Sage Salvia and a variety of snapdragons. It took awhile, but the Clary Sage has begun to germinate in its protected area. I still need to sow the snaps, and will do so, today.

So far, so good.

On July 2nd, 2016, flowermaiden2 added the following:

I've just received the refund Select Seeds promised for my order of snapdragon seeds that never germinated, despite my following the packet instructions carefully.

They were very gracious about offering the refund, and I didn't even have to ask for it. Once I told the rep. that none of those seeds sprouted, she immediately offered to refund my money.

It came today, and I must say, this is excellent customer service. No hassles, no questions asked.

On May 25th, 2017, flowermaiden2 added the following:

Once again, Select Seeds and Plants has come through with nice, healthy plants, so well packed that even when one of the fell over inside the box, no soil escaped and nothing was broken. It's nice that they offer some potted plants as well as seeds, since our growing season is too short up here to start plants from seeds outdoors, and I haven't the facilities to start them earlier indoors. I do wish they offered a wider selection in potted plants, but am pleased with what I've received from the choices available.

On May 20th, 2019, flowermaiden2 added the following:

Three healthy and fairly sizeable Delphiniums arrived very securely packed, a few days ago. I don't mind the plastic container, as it can be recycled along with our plastic water bottles. These folks do a good job.


On May 16th, 2020, flowermaiden2 added the following:

Once again, Select Seeds has come through.

I have received all of my seeds, and my three delphinium plants arrived yesterday. They are nice and green and were so well packed, not a single leaf was damaged.

They should do very well.

I am hoping more of the seeds will germinate this year. Because it has been unseasonable warm much earlier, there is more time for them to sprout and mature.

Good work, Select Seeds!
Positive pattygreengenes
Lansdale, PA
(14 reviews)
May 15, 2020
I've ordered seeds and live plants from them for many years. The communication re shipping is timely and accurate and the live plants are always in good shape. I wish there was an alternative to plastic packaging, though.
Positive Karen4Roses
Traverse City, MI
(6 reviews)
May 11, 2020
I have ordered seeds before from Select Seeds and loved the fact that I could get plant seeds that were difficult to find. For the first time this spring I ordered plants - 3 Cobalt Dreams Delphiniums. They arrived securely packaged in plastic 'cases' (which I was able to recycle) and I was very impressed with their size and health. Because we have experienced a cold snap, I have them growing by a dining room window for now and they are taking off by leaps and bounds. I will harden them off later this week and then get them in the garden. I will certainly order more plants from Select Seeds next year!
Neutral bibbykitty
San Antonio, TX (Zone 8b)
(41 reviews)
April 14, 2020
I ordered plants from Select Seeds this spring. I received my plants finally. They were delayed on the front part of the journey and arrived in fairly sad shape. While I realize shipping problems are not directly the nurseries fault Itís Disappointing spending a hundred dollars on the plants plus the additional shipping charges to get plants that are already very tiny and then not in good shape for being in a dark box for a week. In my experience there are many better places to purchase from. I took a chance on here because they had more varieties I wanted and I was trying to save multiple shipping charges.The plants are much smaller than other places I buy from and this added to the trauma They suffered in the long delay. I will stick with other options in the future.
Rose
Positive henten
Boonville, NY
(1 review)
June 3, 2019
I ordered plants from Select Seeds.com. The plants were very well protected during shipping. Very healthy very vigorous. I even found a plant that I had been searching for, for quite some time. They will be my new go to place for my garden!
Neutral pterostyrax
Seattle, WA
(9 reviews)
April 4, 2019
The plants look fine, but I was shocked by the packaging: rigid PET containers surrounding each plant. Other nurseries manage to use more environmentally responsible packaging while still shipping the plants in good shape. I will not be ordering from them again.

Company representative comment on April 4, 2019:
On Apr 4, 2019 6:21 PM, Select Seeds Antique Flowers responded with:

We welcome your feedback and wish to impress upon you that we conduct business with sustainability very much in mind. We realize that any material has an environmental impact and we direct you to this article in the Guardian (UK) that compares the impact of paper products such as boxes and PET plastics, which have no phthalates, no BPA, no endocrine disruptors and can be recycled infinitely. Please recycle! [[email protected]]

Neutral Basil989
Pueblo, CO (Zone 5b)
(12 reviews)
January 10, 2019
Posted on January 10, 2019, updated January 10, 2019
I have thought about and considered this very carefully before I made my final decision as to this rating. I know full well there mays be excuses made in a company response, but I stand firm in this decision and the reasons behind it.

I was not impressed with the packets I purchased. It may well have been because they arrived the same day that I received truly some of the most well planned, designed, and beautiful packets I have ever seen that these just fell totally flat in comparison. So that's one issue.

That would make this a neutral review though, at WORST. What pushed me over the edge though is, out of the dozen or so companies I have bought seeds from (many of which are much bigger companies than Select Seeds) they are the only company that has made good on the ever-present threat to actually share my information with their third-party affiliates.

Now, that may not seem like a big deal- hey, more seed catalogs for me, right? The problem is, the company that prints their catalogs (and I acknowledge that it seems like that may be the ONLY way they are affiliated- not through ownership, but b/c they print their catalog) owns many other seed companies. I have received catalogs this week for many of them. There is no possible other way these people got my address other than through Select Seeds.

ALL of these other catalogs, including the main publishing/seed company, are rated very poorly to just horribly here on the Garden Watchdog. That plus the fact that many are simply not for products I would ever buy (like bulbs or live plants) means that essentially a pile of trash has been delivered to my house that I now have to deal with. Great, more recycling to haul- our town is not recycling friendly and my worms can't eat glossy paper.

So, OK, you CAN do this. Technically, any company I patronize can if it's in the fine print. But you are the ONLY one who HAS. I have done what your site has asked and requested my address be removed from sharing (and included it in the message I sent to be sure it can be)- I will see tomorrow if I get a response.

Maybe it would be different if your associates had sent only one instead of FIVE. Or if they were trustworthy businesses to begin with. But neither of those things are true and now I won't be buying from you again. And since nothing could have prevented this from happening since no one else has mentioned it here and these warnings on other sites have never come to fruition . . . well, I guess I'll just have to start paying closer attention to whose company the places I visit keep.


On January 10th, 2019, Basil989 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

Select Seeds responded to my email today, and in doing so I have decided to change my rating. I do this because they didn't just remove my address from their rolls, they contacted the larger company and had them remove my address as well. That is very above and beyond in the customer service imo.

I do acknowledge what they mention about having no control over what happens to my info once it is shared- my only wish for them as a small family owned business is that in the future they can find better partners to work with, hopefully out of freedom of choice and not financial necessity (just me assuming there).

They also mentioned that they have added 240 new full color packets to their offerings, which is indeed impressive and fully addresses my other complaint. (And btw, I never had a problem with their catalog, which I found quite lovely.)

I personally remain neutral for now because my concern is that if I order again in the future my privacy would again be a concern, but I will remain watchful to see if the situation changes. I really do want nothing but the best successes for small, family run businesses.
Positive BostonDavid
Boston, MA
(8 reviews)
June 29, 2018
All young plants are doing well: Lantanas Miss Huff and Chapel Hill Yellow, Fuschsia, Datura and Ornamental Oregano . Very nice. Thank you.
Positive BeckyLiz
Pepperell, MA
(3 reviews)
June 10, 2018
This is my second year ordering from them. I am usually hesitant to use mail order but Select Seeds gave me renewed faith. The plants that have come from them are gorgeous and healthy. I like their unique selection and the customer service is top notch.
Positive cwalke
Longview, WA (Zone 8b)
(15 reviews)
June 9, 2018
Posted on April 12, 2017, updated June 9, 2018
I think this might have been my first plant order from SS and it was a smooth transmission. The plants arrived in a severely crushed on one end box; I photographed it before I opened it because I was sure the plants would be damaged and I wanted a record of it as it arrived. Anyway...
The plants came out of the box with a flurry of loose dirt but I think it was better that way. They were well-protected with individual cardboard collars.
The plants are pleasantly stocky and green and have all been planted; they are enjoying the endless rain much more than I certainly! I'm very ready for spring!
I would not hesitate to order from SS again, especially since they have some unusual plants that aren't that common, and the prices are reasonable.
On June 9th, 2018, cwalke added the following:

Ordered from the 5 dollar plant sale recently, not sure what kind of plants I'd be getting for the price, but I've had a good experience with them in the past, so decided to go for it. Plants arrived well-packaged (they probably do one of the best packing jobs among online nurseries), healthy and definitely worth the 5 bucks each.
Very pleased with their selection and service
Positive Laurie777
Renton, WA
(7 reviews)
May 10, 2018
I purchased some Lewisia plants from them and the plants arrived extremely fast and very healthy. The lewisia plant comes in many different colors, and I asked for a specific color, and they kindly fulfilled my request. Very wonderful customer service.
Positive LNassal
Millington, TN
(4 reviews)
March 2, 2018
Ordered several packs of seeds, followed the instructions and every seed came up, unbelievably, except for 1 package. Determined that the seed hulls were empty and emailed the company to ask for another package. They responded within an hour and immediately sent out another package, with no charge of course. I am very impressed with the quality of their seeds and their responsiveness! Will be ordering from them again!
Positive donbobh
Mondamin, IA
(1 review)
June 11, 2017
I was amazed at how well my plants were packaged and how good they looked when opened. I'm getting them used to the terrific heat we now have but they still look great! I seldom order mail order plants but know were to go now.
Positive raspberrypicket
Circleville, OH
(5 reviews)
May 29, 2017
What a great company with excellent customer service! I ordered plants during the winter and had problems with my card (someone had tried to hack it from another company.) Select Seeds was kind and understanding. After resolving the problem with my bank, I ended up ordering several plants, Brugmansia, 6 Ivy Geraniums, 3 different Salvia, and 3 hardy Mums. The plants arrived fresh, green, well branched and packed well. I planted them just three days ago and they are all ready growing!

I had wanted a type of flower seed and was notified it could not be sold in Ohio. I was thrilled when they sent me a free packet of seeds of a flower that is very similar to the one I wanted! When I was having issues with my card I mentioned I was a little disappointed with the germination of one of the packets of seeds I had purchased last year. I did not ask for a replacement, but they kindly offered to replace the seeds.

This is my second year buying plants/seeds from Select Seeds. I have been extremely happy with their service and quality of plants!

I already have plans for purchasing some plants from them for next spring! They seem to be a great company who truly care about their customers!
Positive gardengrove
Scarborough, ME
(1 review)
May 15, 2017
I have been ordering annual plants "Indigo Spires" Salvia and
"Van Houttei for 6 gardening seasons here in Zone 5 Maine.
I have always received excellent quality plants and at the correct time
for planting that I requested for my zone. Select Seeds detail to packaging these plants ensures that they arrive intact with no broken or damaged stems.
When I place my order for my seeds at the first of each year, they arrive shortly after, unless they are out at the time, then I will get them when they are back in stock.
I like doing business with a company that stands by all the products they sell and will do whatever it takes to fix any problems should they occur.
Positive Nipmucfarm
Hope, RI
(1 review)
May 14, 2017
I first started purchasing Ms. Barlow's antique flower seeds shortly after she established her business. Seeds were most appropriate for our 225 year old New England farmhouse. Now she has added a wonderful line of fine plants and I especially knowing whether they attract hummingbirds and butterflies and are deer resistant.

The plants I have received this spring show that she and her company have developed plant packaging to a fine art. They are terrific, good sized plants, well watered for the trip, and very healthy.
Positive art33
Florissant, MO
(10 reviews)
May 13, 2017
I have ordered seeds from this company several times and have always had good luck with the germination. This time I ordered several plants (Salvia Shell Dancer & Hummingbird Snow Nymph). I could not have been more pleased. All of the plants were very healthy and much larger than expected. Their protective plant container is simply ingenious; the best Iíve every seen. Iíll be ordering plants again from Select Seeds.
Positive mossbound
tooele, UT (Zone 7a)
(4 reviews)
May 9, 2017
Last year I ordered MANY seeds & a couple plants. Plants did very well, seeds that got planted did also. The Roguchi clematis was gorgeous. That was my first spring in newly-bought home & I didn't accomplish nearly as much as hoped so many of last year's seeds are getting planted this yr & doing well despite their "age." Received 5 new perennials this year & all came nicely packed & hearty, are thriving in my very-slightly-improved clay & rock soil. I am so pleased with Select Seeds for their quality & selection.
Positive allitim
Sherwood Park,
Canada
(1 review)
February 9, 2017
Was thrilled to discover Select Seeds, especially after Thompson and Morgan discontinued their Canadian distribution. The selection is great, quality of seed very good (I'm really happy with my germination rates) and speed of delivery more than satisfactory. Haven't tried ordering plants yet, as I have not investigated their policies regarding shipping live material to Canada.
Positive rrho
Batavia, NY
(5 reviews)
January 21, 2017
Seed packets have all the information you need on them. After you place your order they send an email with tracking number so you know its on its way, which is very nice.
Positive katococo
Mandan, ND
(4 reviews)
June 17, 2016
I've ordered seeds, and they've arrived very quickly. Recently, I ordered plants, and they came quickly, were well packaged, and appear healthy.
Positive vireyda54
(2 reviews)
June 8, 2016
Posted on February 18, 2016, updated June 8, 2016
I ordered 3 different types of seeds. They arrived neatly packaged and I planted them in seed starter indoors 6 days ago. By 5 days I had my first sprout, by today nearly all of them had begun. Excellent germination rate and very reasonable prices and shipping.

I was pleased to find so many things I hadn't seen elsewhere. I've since placed another order that includes a live plant and am hoping their excellent service continues.
On June 8th, 2016, vireyda54 added the following:

I've since placed more orders for more seeds and for more live plants. Their plants come beautifully packaged and are the advertised size. I ordered a parma violet and a begonia and both have been strong and healthy.

Their seeds continue to impress with good germination rates and I love all the heirloom varieties available.
Positive Pinetucky
Swainsboro, GA (Zone 8b)
(48 reviews)
June 8, 2016
It has been a while since I had ordered plants from Select Seeds and had forgotten how nice their plants are. My order arrived very quickly. The plants were packed well, with no damage and no soil loss. They were all healthy, well-rooted, and still moist. Very good company!
Positive BvrCtyGardener
Monaca, PA
(14 reviews)
May 20, 2016
Every year I order Redhead Coleus plants from Select Seed because their plants have always been the hardiest, reddest, most gorgeous Redhead Coleus I've ever had. Not only is the price competitive with any local seller, but I'm consistently pleased with the healthy, quality starters that arrive right on time for spring planting. This year was no exception!

Thank you, Select Seeds! I'll be back soon.
Positive 48teresa
Clarksville, VA
(1 review)
April 6, 2016
Ordered 12 "red spread" lantana. All arrived during requested week, well packaged and protected. Plants were in excellent condition. We are having a late cold spell here in zone 7a Virginia so will have to wait a while before I can plant. Looking forward to getting these beauties in the ground! Great company....will order from them again in future.
Positive SAMgreenthumb
Lake Linden, MI
(1 review)
March 30, 2016
I have changed my customer loyalty over to Select Seeds. Customer service is a large part of what I look for in a nursery, particularly when seeds fail, as they sometimes do. I had poor germination rate of their Asclepias incarnata seed. I emailed them, and because I had wild-grown A. incarnata seed, I asked to swap replacement of A. incarnata with A. tuberosa. They immediately agreed and advised on stratification and germination. Within days, I had the new seed AND a free packet of Rudbeckia triloba! I'm hooked. Thank you Select Seeds for your immediate and positive response! I will have plenty of time to complete stratification and planting this spring.
Positive afvn72
Bowling Green, KY
(1 review)
March 15, 2016
Posted on March 15, 2016, updated March 15, 2016
I ordered two Salvia Guaranitica. A few months after planting it became obvious they were the wrong plants, possibly Costa Rican Salvia, very large and too late blooming for hummingbirds. My e-mails to the company asking them to resolve the situation were ignored.
On March 15th, 2016, afvn72 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

Shortly after posting my review I was contacted by Allison Barlow of Select Seeds. Her note included a copy of a response to my initial e-mail which must have gone astray. We solved my problem. I'm impressed with the quick reply and with Select Seeds' interest in making me a happy customer. I am and I'm removing the negative rating.
Positive jebpie1
Cincinnati, OH
(1 review)
December 16, 2015
One of the few companies that I loyally order from each year. Great plants, great seeds, great service and preserving history. What more can you ask for?
Negative babawawa
Holly Springs, MS
(6 reviews)
November 28, 2015
Posted on May 25, 2015, updated November 28, 2015
I ordered 5 packs of seeds from Select Seeds, on April 21st. I have not received them as of yet.

On May 18th, they did call and say that there was a problem with my credit card. What took them so long to call me?!

My order was mailed out on May 19th. My credit card has been charged, but as of this date, May 24th, I have not received my order.

I've never had this kind of problem from them before, but I will not order from them again.
On November 28th, 2015, babawawa added the following:

after they sent the 'gift certificate' i ordered more seeds, thinking the problem was cleared up. I was wrong! The very same thing happened! Nobody else has a negative thing to say about this company and I'm just wondering...WHY ME? Is it because I live in Mississippi?!
Company representative comment on November 30, 2015:
On May 25, 2015 11:11 AM, Select Seeds Antique Flowers responded with:

Thanks for your comments, which bring to my attention your disappointment with our service. I understand your frustration, for our responsibility to you is to deliver your orders promptly. I will find out what went wrong this Tuesday when we get back in the office after the holiday, and will respond soon.
Marilyn Barlow
President
Select Seeds


On May 26, 2015 4:04 PM, Select Seeds Antique Flowers added:

Hi Barbara,
I found out we did not contact you about your payment problem in a timely manner, and for that we apologize. We have processed a gift certificate that will cover your total cost and will send along. Your seeds did mail, and you should receive them soon. Please email us at [email protected] so we can be sure the gift certificate goes to the right address. I hope you will give us a second chance! Thanks for your orders.
Marilyn Barlow


On Nov 30, 2015 9:51 AM, Select Seeds Antique Flowers added:

Hi Barbara,
We noticed you ordered online Saturday 9/18 and Allison called and left a message concerning the processing of your card 3 business days later. The following week you called and cancelled the order. Perhaps you intended to use the $25.00 gift certificate towards this order? If so, please call us 9 am-12 pm Mon-Fri ( our off-season hours) and we will help you, or just keep the certificate to use when our new selection comes out in January. Again, thanks for your orders and Happy Holidays!
Marilyn Barlow

Positive Donna71
Pittstown, NJ
(3 reviews)
October 18, 2015
My Red Swallow Wort plants came very healthy, quickly and
well protected by their packaging. They have been growing
beautifully all summer long.
Thank you
Positive MollyBlooms
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
(12 reviews)
August 13, 2015
Posted on April 19, 2015, updated August 13, 2015
Posted on January 19, 2015, updated April 19, 2015
I have ordered from Select Seeds for years, both plants and seeds, and have always been pleased with their selections and quality. The vining petunias still self-seed and grace my mother's cottage garden after several years. Their coleus selections are second to none. Just placed this year's order and looking forward to receiving it.
On April 19th, 2015, MollyBlooms added the following:

Received my order last week and all the plants arrived carefully packaged and in fine shape. I also ordered seeds of Petunia exserta and several other annuals from this company, and the germination rate has been great. The petunia exserta I started last month are now over 3" high and seem very healthy. Also, just noticed that an asarina that I ordered from Select Seeds two years ago is starting to make new growth again, defying the cold snap (the heat failed in my home greenhouse in mid-February) that carried off a number of my other plants. Lovely vine and well worth trying if you haven't done so before.
On August 13th, 2015, MollyBlooms added the following:

Very happy with the plants and seeds I ordered this year. The catalog descriptions are very precise, so you know what you're getting. As the catalog description says, the petunia exserta is a great favorite with the hummingbirds, as is the Cuphea "David Verity." I also like that Select Seeds' catalog suggests plant combinations that will look well together.
Positive DonnaMack
Elgin, IL (Zone 5a)
(64 reviews)
June 12, 2015
Posted on May 15, 2013, updated June 12, 2015
Posted on February 1, 1999, updated May 15, 2013
I am now in my third year utilizing seeds from this superb companyÖSelect Seeds is the best!! I was fortunate in that Select Seeds was the first catalogue I ordered from. They taught me a tremendous amount about germinating and growing seeds, and my germination rate, even when I didn't know what I was doing, was in excess of 95%. Now, with experience, it approaches 100%. I find their heirloom flower seeds to be of excellent quality. Their information is concise and accurate. I have ordered on at least ten occasions and there has never been an error. Better yet, unlike many companies, their staff obviously takes the time to evaluate your order when they send you free seeds, and I have discovered many flowers I would not have grown thanks to their astute selections. They have helped to make me a gardener. I cannot praise them enough.
On June 18th, 2007, DonnaMack added the following:

After many years (at least ten) of ordering from this company I finally ordered plants - in my case, three difeerent geraniums. They were beautifully packaged and are thriving in pots on my front steps. Since they are unusual, I have received many comments on their uniqueness. I will not hesitate to order plants in the future.
On May 15th, 2013, DonnaMack added the following:

This year I ordered all plants from Select Seeds - several geraniums, as well as heliotropes (including a rather rare white variety) and the plants are healthy and strong. How nice to open a box of scented plants and find that the intensity of fragrance is there. And that the plants are in perfect condition.
On June 12th, 2015, DonnaMack added the following:

This year I ordered two hybrid strawberries, one a climber. The idea was to try to grow them on my southfacing patio. I already grow fragaria vesca reugen outside. Fragaria 'Gasana" and Fragaria 'Toscana', both F1 hybrids.

All I can say is "wow". I thought to myself, "self, they've been in the pots they came in for a month. Time to transplant them so they can get going" Well, they didn't wait for me. While I was busy, both produced strawberries!

I wouldn't originally have thought to order strawberry plants from an heirloom company. It is now going to be an annual event to check Select Seeds for fruit plants. Very well done!
Positive Beth785
Reisterstown, MD
(1 review)
June 11, 2015
I have ordered twice this year. All plants were healthy and very carefully packaged. The great selection of plants and seeds has introduced me to new colors to work with and they have an extensive list of butterfly/hummer attractors. Really up to date with new selections like the bright Coleus, Cantaloupe Coneflowers and Amistad salvia. Excellent!
Positive mikeandflee
Saginaw, MI
(4 reviews)
June 10, 2015
Posted on June 10, 2015, updated June 10, 2015
Posted on May 24, 2012, updated June 10, 2015
Placed the order on a saturday, order arrived thursday, beautiful plants, packed well, I love this company!!
On June 10th, 2015, mikeandflee added the following:

Order twice this year, plants arrived happy and healthy, great company! Highly recommend!!
On June 10th, 2015, mikeandflee added the following:

Seeds all sprouted too! Even the Datura, 7 little seedlings growing strong.
Positive peony47
Goshen, NY
(1 review)
June 6, 2015
I have placed two orders this year, ordering a variety of herbs and flowers. I have been gardening for decades and have ordered from other companies, but I have never been so impressed by the care with which each plant was packed.as I was by the orders I received from Select Seeds. Not only were they carefully packed, but each plant was healthy and beautiful!
I also appreciate that one can specify when the plants will be shipped. And my request was fulfilled!
Many thanks to a great company. I will definitely order in the future.
Positive cassilouwho
New Boston, NH
(1 review)
May 28, 2015
This is the second year that I have ordered from Select Seeds. Last year I ordered an Appleblossom geranium, when I opened the package I was surprised (and a little disappointed) at how tiny the plant was. But it did not take long for it to almost quadruple in size! I have not been able to find another geranium in this color or with rose-like buds in my area. So when I inadvertently killed the plant (freezing rain around Thanksgiving - I didn't bring it inside in time) I was bummed. I knew I was going to order another one come spring.
This year I ordered the same geranium in the quantity of 3, and will make sure to bring it inside before the cold can kill it (it is considered an annual in Zone 5b - unless you bring indoors for the winter). I was very surprised at how the plants seemed bigger this year and the very last plant I pulled out of the box already had blooms! The other 2 have buds that have not opened yet. I am so excited to have these gorgeous flowers again! I wish I was able to post a picture of them...
I also ordered some Poppy Peony seeds and am looking forward to seeing those begin to sprout within the next few days.
Very happy with everything I have ordered from Select Seeds and they have gained a lifelong customer!!
Positive spikemom
Philadelphia, PA
(8 reviews)
May 26, 2015
This was my first year ordering live plants from Select Seeds. Out of the box, they looked small and fragile, but one month later, all are thriving. The red Petunia exserta really does attract hummingbirds. Spanish flag started blooming almost as soon as it went into the ground. Bleeding heart vine is vigorous and seems to grow several inches a day. I'm very pleased with these hard-to-find varieties.

Read the rest of the comments


Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page


Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top