Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Extremely Green Gardening Company'

  Company Profile  
Extremely Green Gardening Company

Mailing Address:
953 Islington Street
Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801 (United States)

Phone: (603) 427-0299
Fax: (603) 427-1955

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 0
This company offers a variety of gardening supplies and seeds.

Other helpful information:

  Feedback History and Summary  
10 positives
2 neutrals
1 negative


Negative NVAGardener
Falls Church, VA
(1 review)
November 13, 2012
I would not recommend doing business with this company unless you want a lot of headaches. I bought 'Weed Burnout' from them that was advertised to cover 5000 sq. ft. When I received it, the product says it only covers 500 sq. ft. BIG difference!

I called and did not get a response for several days. Apparently no one minding the shop! Finally I got a call back with a message that they had been gone to a trade show. In the meantime I had already found a better alternative that was greener and more cost effective.

Another product was not sealed properly. They said not to worry about shipping it back and to just give it to someone else. The product reaked of chemicals and was not something I would feel good about giving to someone else.

They said to return the items and send them a copy of the shipping receipt so that they could refund the shipping cost. Then after I returned the items, they only sent me a refund for the items and not the shipping! Then they said that they would not refund the shipping, despite their written email correspondence earlier that they would (and this despite the fact that I shipped the shipped the one item back to them that they said I did not have to return in order to get a refund)!

So there are multiple instances of false advertising and promises! And they are almost never in the office so it's usually several days before they get back to you each time.

Also, their products are not all that 'green' as they advertise. They are loaded with toxins. Their 'Burnout' weed killer is not friendly to the environment and Vinegar works well as a weed killer, is about as friendly to the environment as you can get and is much more cost-effective. Likewise, their 'Hasta La Vista' is loaded with chemicals and not something that I wanted to put on my lawn. There are much better alternatives, that are much greener (and more cost effective) for most of their products. Thankfully, you can find much better alternatives just by doing searches on the web!

Company representative comment on November 15, 2012:
On Nov 15, 2012 10:05 AM, Extremely Green Gardening Company responded with:

Thank you Lynn for your feedback. Good or bad we like to hear it all and do what we can to do things better. We are not perfect and some times make mistakes and like to work with our customers to correct things.

I will start with the beginning of your post. I do not see where we advertise that the Burnout II Concentrate you ordered covers 5000 sq.ft. If you can point that out to me I need to change that because we do not want to mislead anyone. The product you ordered and received covers 1200 sq.ft. and no where on the bottle does it state 500 sq.ft.

Regarding not getting back to you quickly, that is correct and I apologized for that several times. We are a small family business and we were away for a trade show for the industry. When I offered you to keep the Hasta La Vista product you seemed happy about that but I apologize that you now feel it isn't a good product. On refunding the shipping we did a few days ago even though what we shipped you was exactly what you ordered and decided you did not want to use it. We are more then happy to refund any product a customer is not comfortable using. Our policy is if you receive your order damaged or the wrong item is shipped to you we will give you a refund including shipping costs. If an order is returned because the customer changes their mind we do refund the product amount only as the order was shipped per request. Your order was shipped complete and accurate but we still refunded the shipping.

As stated on our website (under contact us) I am here Monday-Thursday 9:30am-1pm EST. If you call outside of that I will call back the next day I am in the office, again I apologize for not getting back to you for a few days. We don't agree with with your statement that our products are not 'green'. Everyone has their own opinion and I respect yours. We try and carry the most organic, high quality products. Even though items are organic there are still safety precautions with using them.

Again, thank you for your feedback. I hope this answers all your concerns you mentioned above. If you could let me know where we do make false advertising please let me know as I would like to correct that right away. We are a small family business and always want to do right by our customers.

Extremely Green

Positive kentstar
Ravenna, OH (Zone 5b)
(39 reviews)
May 29, 2010
Posted on April 7, 2010, updated May 29, 2010
First order with this company and I am impressed! I ordered a 50 lb bag of alfalfa meal on Friday and had it sitting home by Wednesday! Fast shipping! I can't wait to try it on my roses and other plants! I'll be back for more wonderful organic gardening supplies!
On May 29th, 2010, kentstar added the following:

Ordered a soil test packet on Monday and had it in hand on Saturday! Can't wait to test my soil in my rose bed. Great company to order from and very fast shipping! The way to go for anything organic for the garden.
Neutral Downeaster
(Zone 5b)
(4 reviews)
July 28, 2009
Left / sent a half dozen, combination answering machine / e-mail messages over the last month (June / July 2009) but none were returned. I was trying to find out how to place an online order for local pickup - something their online order process wouldn't easily accommodate. I would certainly advise speaking with someone before placing an online order with this firm.
Positive brushwoodnursery
Athens, GA (Zone 7b)
(14 reviews)
March 18, 2009
I purchased a large quantity of Sluggo Plus. The site was easy to use and the business responded promptly to my communication. They resolved an issue with excellent customer service. I will buy from them again!
Positive AYankeeCat
Fairfield County, CT (Zone 6b)
(3 reviews)
August 26, 2008
I bought a mildew spray and asked for 2 day UPS shipping for which I paid extra. I got a check in the mail today for a refund of the expedited shipping fee because shipping from MA to CT only takes one day anyway. I was very surprised and pleased. And, the mildew spray seems to be working!.
Positive tybrut
Plaistow, NH
(8 reviews)
May 1, 2007
I heard about Extremely Green through the Paul Parent Gardening Show on a Sunday....went to the web site...ordered what I needed, and it is Tuesday and my box was sitting on my porch. My mouth literally dropped as I chose standard shipping. It does help being in the same state as the company but I've dealt with other places that was a very easy drive and it always took much longer. I was so impressed , I had to write a comment about it here.
Positive meadowgarden
Rockford, IL (Zone 4b)
(7 reviews)
May 23, 2006
I was very pleased with the products, pricing and service.
Positive lbwankenobi
Hooksett, NH (Zone 5a)
(2 reviews)
January 4, 2006
I found this company after searching on this website for organic sellers in my area. The prices are the best I've found on a number of items, including pruning shears and nematodes. The web site is a wealth of information and the sections where you can determine what type of nematodes you need and what the best control for certain pests are was very helpful. Both of my orders arrived promptly and as expected. I will definitely shop here again and I've recommended a number of friends and family here.
Neutral candyr
Milton, MA
(1 review)
May 11, 2005
Summary: Didn't ship until several emails and phone calls - received product after weeks. Product not as listed on web site. Response to calls/emails delayed several days or unanswered. No live answers to phone calls. Unable to pickup item as promised (but they paid shipping instead). Good: Didn't charge credit card until shipment. They paid shipping.

Ordered grass seed and chose local pickup in MA. They were supposed to email pickup instructions in 72 hours. Did not receive email, so I emailed them a request. They were unable to provide local pickup (though they offered it on their web site and took the order with that option) and did not inform me till I inquired.

It took 2 weeks of back and forth email and voice mail (phone was never answered by a live person) trying to figure out when I could get the product. Turned out they only blended on Thursdays and could not ship via USPS so I would receive by Sat.

Finally received the product (seeding delayed 3 weekends) but found it was not of the cultivars advertised on their web site. Web site did not say that cultivars could be substituted or any such.
Positive janea
South Orange, NJ
(14 reviews)
March 30, 2005
I tried this company for the first time yesterday, as they carry an organic weedkiller that I couldn't find anywhere else. I paid for standard shipping, and the package arrived on my doorstep (MA to NJ) in less than 24 hours. They must have packed and shipped it in record time! I couldn't ask for better service.
Positive sindis
Stafford Springs, CT
(4 reviews)
May 7, 2004
I ordered nematodes from this company - which I found by searching the net. They had the best price for the nematodes and didn't charge shipping, so I decided to take a chance and place my order with them. My nematodes arrived two days later, perfectly packaged with plenty of instructions on how to distribute them. Great service - I would order from them again.
Positive RunnerBean
Chicago, IL
(11 reviews)
August 20, 2003
Excellent web site, excellent supplies for making your own fertilizers or any soil amendments. Good service, response and good shipping. Also, they sell North Country Organics product, which I really like!
Positive sara1124
Oklahoma City, OK (Zone 7a)
(2 reviews)
July 20, 2002
When shopping for beneficial nematodes, I found the best prices at Extremely Green.
The web site is easy to navigate, informative and offers a full range of organic lawn and garden products.
I received a prompt reply to an e-mail inquiry regarding the use of the product I ordered in my particular area and circumstances.

Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top