No address on file.

(760) 741-8070


This company is family owned and operated, by a husband, wife and daughter. David Curtright, Jeanne Curtright and Genevieve Keller. We do our best to respond to customers as quickly as we can, and email is always best.

Unfortunately, in the past 5 years, Jeanne Curtright, my mother, was battling cancer, and in 2009 passed away. Because of this, we have not always been able to keep up with the customer service aspect, but we have always shipped out orders with quality plants.

We have been in business for over 30 years, mailing orders nationwide for over 16 years. We will still continue to bring you the best quality plants possible.On June 10th, 2011, gensd99 added the following:

I can assure you that we have no need to "pad our profits" by not sending plants in orders. We're extremely busy in the months of April through July, and try to get back to people as quickly as possible.

I personally handle the email responses, and can assure you that I do not ignore emails from people inquiring about their orders. If we don't respond to an email, it's likely that it was spam-filtered.On July 28th, 2011, gensd99 added the following:

Apparently Dave's Garden emails me when someone posts on this page, but not when I have mails in my inbox. I apologize to Arridgarden, as I never received a notice that you had responded to my note.

We are a very small company, there's just me handling the customer service emails and calls, and I'm looking into having an answering service for the calls, as we have been so overwhelmed this year.

Tom, I'm surprised you didn't note that I am sending you a free lotus next year as a thank you for your patience.
On May 3rd, 2012, gensd99 added the following:

I am not aware of any calls or emails for a $250 order jags_biofuel. I handle all incoming calls and emails.

I can assure you and anyone else that orders from us that we ship as soon as the plants are ready (some people don't realize that tropical plants come up later in the year than hardies)... we hold orders when the temperatures are too cool for the plants ordered (otherwise the plants would die or go dormant right away) ... if people aren't patient, and request a refund, we give the refund right away.

I'm surprised that people only come here to complain. We have hundreds of glowing reviews from satisfied customers.

posted on July 23, 2012



Displaying the 8 most recent reviews

On Mar 21, 2013, gensd99 (1 reviews) from El Cajon, CA

Posted on March 21, 2013, updated March 21, 2013 I've just talked to love2garden, and handled her questions regarding her order. Just a note, right now we are having issues with Qwest regarding our 800 number, and an alternate number for us is 619-578-5459

On March 21st, 2013, gensd99 added the following: Sorry! 619-631-5459 is the correct local number, thanks!

On Mar 21, 2013, Ilove2garden2 (1 reviews) from Loma Linda, CA

Unfortunately the negative comments concerning failure to respond to calls and emails is true. If the owners cannot manage to respond to inquiries, they could at least have an online system for that or send an email with anticipated delivery date(s). The owner's response almost a year ago misses the point of the complaints: you have to communicate with customers, not make excuses or complain about the customers.

On Mar 28, 2012, jags_biofuel (1 reviews) from Moreno Valley, CA

I have a $250 dollar order that I have not received coming up on four weeks now. For over a week ive called and left messages and sent at least four emails to both of their accounts with no response. It definitely looks like they have not even tried to address their failing customer service issues. I fortunately live in Southern California and as soon as I find an address ill make it very difficult to ignore me when im standing at their door.

On Jul 28, 2011, tomlwaters (9 reviews) from Santa Fe, NM

Posted on July 15, 2011, updated July 28, 2011 Posted on June 10, 2011, updated July 15, 2011 Placed an order in April, and paid by PayPal. Absolutely no communication. Two emails in May went unanswered. Phone call in June went unanswered. I have no idea if I will ever receive my plants, and it is now too late to initiate a dispute through PayPal. I will update my rating if I receive the plants or any kind of communication from them.

On July 15th, 2011, tomlwaters added the following: Like arridgarden, I was contacted on June 10 through Dave's Garden messaging, requesting my order information. Encouraged that I had at last gotten their attention and had a working communication channel, I was hopeful that they would soon let me know when they intended to ship my order. Alas, they ignored my reply to them and two follow-ups. I've been ordering plants by mail for over 35, and this is the worst experience I've ever had. I'm tyring to give them the benefit of the doubt, but frankly they are acting like thieves - they have $107 of mine and I have nothing, not even information, from them.
On July 28th, 2011, tomlwaters added the following: Shortly after my last update, I got an apologetic email from Dave Curtwright, offering to ship my plants immediately and give me a refund for the lotus, which was no longer available. The plants arrived promptly in good condition, and the refund was put through 10 days later. Although I believe that their intentions are good, I will not order from them again, nor can I recommend them to others with a clear conscience - there is no indication that they intend to do anything to fix their customer service process, which is obviously completely broken. Returning phone calls and emails is just a part of running a business, and they don't seem willing to come to terms with that.

On Jul 13, 2011, arridgarden (2 reviews) from Caballo, NM

Posted on June 10, 2011, updated July 13, 2011 Posted on June 10, 2011, updated June 10, 2011 Originally ordered Mar.5, 2011. When we inquired about order and to possibly add to it on Mar. 25, we received a same day response. On April 10, 2011 our credit card was billed for full order. We received full order of good quality with exception of a $35.99 lotus. We have repeatedly inquired via e-mail and phone expressing that we are willing to do substitutes if the nelumbo is unavailable. There has been no response. We are looking into legal recourses on this one since our experiences lead us to believe that this is the new way unscruplous companies boost their profits. We have a credit card receipt with a name and address of "Freshwater and Fauna" 2137-Via-Corte Escondida-Ca-92029

On June 10th, 2011, arridgarden added the following: Having read and noted the significantly prompt e-mail response to the rating I gave this company, I am extremely disappointed. The quality of their plants is good. The quality of their customer service is extremely poor. Before my credit card was charged, my e-mails were never "spamed" and, indeed, I got instant replies. Nowhere do I see the lack of response to repeated PHONE CALLS addressed. Nowhere do I see an apology nor do I see how these grievances (mine and others) are addressed. These are the elements of good customer service which, if instituted, would do away with the negative reviews. The response to this customer's review speaks for itself and my rating stands.
On July 13th, 2011, arridgarden added the following: On June 10, I recieved an e-mail via Dave's Garden in which they reiterated that they did not pad profits and requested my order number. I replied on June 12, thanking them for responding, giving them our order number and stating that we would take fertilizer or a refund of the $35.99 for the lotus. Now, over a month later, true to form, they have never contacted us again or sent us a refund or fertilizer of comparable value. So far, they HAVE padded profits with our $35.99. If we should ever recieve our refund, we will let you know, but we certainly would never deal with such unscrupulous and rude people again. Our recommendation is that should anyone order from this company, do not be surprised by the worst customer service you can imagine.

On Apr 17, 2010, JMR24 (2 reviews) from Hillsborough, NC

I ordered several weeks ago, and they will not advise when they will ship anything. They NEVER EVER answer their phone and they have not responded to a any phone messages for weeks. At this point I have started calling and emailing to attempt to cancel my order, since it's later in the season now and I can get everything locally, but they will not respond to email or phone. I am concerned that like the other reviewer, they will send my plants after I have obtained elsewhere. I will never do business with this company again.

On Apr 16, 2007, bellehobbs (2 reviews) from Tempe, AZ

I placed an order with this company and did not hear back from them as to when they would ship the plants. I made several attempts to contact them to find out the shipping date (both phone and email) and they did not respond. I then sent an email to them to cancel the order and I ordered from another company from which I received timely responses. This company shipped my order, after I had cancelled it, and charged my credit card. I am disputing the charge. Very disorganized, unresponsive company. I wouldn't recommend buying from a company that does not respond to their customers.

On Jan 4, 2003, nevadagdn (118 reviews) from Sparks, NV (Zone 7a)

I've ordered from this company for two years running now, and always been pleased with the quality and the price. I don't know whether the plants would survive travelling greater distances, though. I live in Northern Nevada, and this company is in Southern California. I think they send things overnight or priority mail, and there isn't much transit time. They wrap things in damp newspaper and plastic, and I suppose if there was a lot of transit time, the plants might not fare so well. No matter, as far as I'm concerned, because everything I've received has been in superb condition.

» Read the rest of the reviews