Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Master Garden Products'

  Company Profile  
Master Garden Products

Mailing Address:
11035 NE 14th Street
Bellevue, Washington 98004 (United States)

Phone: 1-800-574-7248
Fax: (425) 644-1058

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 0
Other helpful information:

  Feedback History and Summary  
3 positives
7 neutrals
11 negatives


Positive michsgreen
Washington, DC
(1 review)
January 21, 2018
Ordered four lattice-top bamboo fence panels. Very bulky, but they shipped fine and are really beautiful. Had no problems with them at all, so perhaps they got their act together recently...?
Positive sfatula
Calera, OK
(1 review)
August 6, 2016
I purchased a seated cedar raised bed, 4'x12',2'H. The product arrived in good condition, and, it was very easy to assemble. I did take a year of time to do so as I wanted to coat it with many coats of Tung Oil in an attempt to make it last a very long time. All parts were there, had no issues assembling, very pleased. Quality product at an attractive price. I will likely purchase a second one, but I see they are out of stock at this time. No hurry.

I had made one out of redwood 20 years ago, and I'd have to say this one is better than the one I built, which was surprising to me as mine were pretty nice!
Neutral carols343
Onalaska, WI
(1 review)
January 18, 2015
Posted on December 20, 2014, updated January 18, 2015
Posted on December 15, 2014, updated December 20, 2014
I spent many, many hours looking for a shelving unit to use in a display at a show. I finally decided on Master Garden's shelving unit, ELS-60. It seemed perfect, it was easily portable and priced right! At least until I ordered. It was priced on the website for $112.27, but when I added it to my cart, the price miraculously changed to $162.27! I called and spoke to Gloria who pretty much ended up saying, too bad, the price has been updated. They know it was wrong on the website. Shady practices in advertising, false advertisement....are their products just as shady??? Now I'm back at square one, ready to spend another few weeks looking for a shelving unit...hopefully with a company who advertises honestly!
On December 19th, 2014, carols343 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

Thank you for responding so quickly. I am not on the internet every day, and I did not see your reply until today. All I ever wanted was the product at the price you advertised. If this is what you are offering, I do accept. How should this take place?
On January 18th, 2015, carols343 added the following:

From our messaging on, thank you for responding. As I already stated, I don't go online all of the time, and I haven't had a chance around the holidays. I seen your last message:

On Dec 20, 2014 11:55 AM, Master Garden Products added:
You can call 800-574-7248 ask for Virginia, Monday to Friday, she will take care of your order, thanks

I will call tomorrow to order. Thank you.
Company representative comment on December 20, 2014:
On Dec 15, 2014 2:36 PM, Master Garden Products responded with:

Hi Carol

The prices on the shelving were right, but the price on the website was mistakenly typed in by the website builder, when you clicked the order button, the price will go to the right prices(which is higher), that is why you called our office this morning, and we told you the price on the website is not right, we are sorry about it and in no way we try to false advertise our products. But it is our mistake put in the wrong price on the website anyway, so our office offered a 10% discount which is the limit they can offer, our product are not shady as you suspect and we like to prove that to you, and in view of our mistake we are willing to offer you the $112.27 we mistakenly put on the website this morning (we already have the website people fixed it), please call us so we can ship the product for you to check out, thanks

On Dec 18, 2014 2:03 PM, Master Garden Products added:

Hi carol

it have been few days still no reply from you, I just want to let you know it is not fair to post a negative review on a company just because there was a typing error of pricing in the web page, after all we offered a 10% discount at the time you called in on a products that was already very reasonably priced, it was not a false advertising, and your question on the quality of our entire line of products based on your assumption is not right and is not fair, once again we reached out and respond in a prompt manner to offer a fair resolution for this situation, we deserve at least a neutral review from you without being bias, thanks for your time and have a happy holidays, you are still welcomed to call us and order the shelves at the price you are asking,

On Dec 20, 2014 11:55 AM, Master Garden Products added:

You can call 800-574-7248 ask for Virginia, Monday to Friday, she will take care of your order, thanks

Negative puertorico79
Palm Bay, FL
(1 review)
March 27, 2012
I bought 3 bamboo veneer sheets from this company. at fedex arrival 3/6/2012 I had to call MGP as the packing was so bad that the outside veneer broke in 4 pieces. talking to MGP I suggest that I cut the 3 sheets in pieces (i wanted to resurface kitchen cabinets) and if I have enough veneer I
do not have to make a claim. I tried to cut the small pieces from the broken sheet, it was not enough. Calling back MGP advised me that without pictures of the damage there is no refund which is a company procedure. I talked to 3 people out of this office, nobody wanted pictures. This is again a company which takes imm the money and when it comes to service and warranty they are getting deaf. I suggest not to buy from them because when it comes to service there is none.
Negative tocoool
Galt, CA
(1 review)
June 29, 2010
Posted on June 22, 2010, updated June 29, 2010
BUYER BEWARE, the worst online/mail order experience I have ever had! This is the information on my complaint to the Washington Better Business Bureau. It's lengthy but if you really want to know what you might be in for, read it.

On 4/1/10 I called MGP to order a bamboo fountain & recommended pump which I saw on their website. I asked if both items we in stock an available to ship when I placed the order. Their representatvie said "Yes they are in stock" " 4 to 5 days to pull, package & ship add shipping time, approximately 2wks.
On 4/23/10 I received this note on an email from Jaylene..."Your order should ship on Monday (April) the 26th, if for some reason that changes I will let you know. It is shipping from Washington State which is not far from you, so you should have it at the end of next week. No word until I contacted them on 4/28/10 for a follow up. At that time I was told the pump which I needed was not in stock, this was contrary to what I was told when I placed the order. I was then told that they would send the next size larger pump as a substitute for the recommended one.
5/4/10 Received fountain and substitute pump. Setup fountain and it would not function properly with the substitute larger pump, to strong. There was no water flow control on the pump, tried to make it work by purchasing a $11.00 water control valve when I did get the water slow enough it caused the pump to be very noisy, then fountain is right next to my front door, not acceptable.
On 5/9/10 I emailed Jaylene....... "When I called to place my order n April 16th I specifically asked if the fountain and recommended pump was in stock. I was told that it was in fact in stock & to expect delivery within two weeks. Based on that information I placed my order, in good faith. You know what transpired in the three week since I placed my order. On May 5, I was informed that it would be another two weeks for the pump. So if that actually happens it will have been 5 weeks on items that I was told was in stock. I am not happy with my business transaction with your company. And, based on the reports filed with the Washington Better Business Bureau this is not an isolated incident. Under the circumstance as a gesture of good customer service and compensation I would expect your company to ship the correct/recommended on website/ pump next day delivery."
5/10/10 received this email from Jaylene... The pump that you originally ordered was shipped to you on Monday 5/10; you should receive it 05/13 or 05/14. It is being delivered by OnTrac and your tracking number is D10010284753336. We have also enclosed an envelope containing a return label in pouch, so that you can return the incorrect pump. Once you receive just give us a call and we will arrange for the package to be picked up.
The second and correct/recommended pump arrived and was defective did not pump at all!
On 6/7 I sent these emails transpired;
Jaylene's reply...We are sorry that the second pump is defective, and we will bring it to the attention of the manufacturer. I had not heard from you in regards to sending the other pump back, and hoped that you had the pump and fountain working. I will check into this and get back to you.

My reply Jaylene,
You have told me before that you would check into this, in fact that is what you told me 19 days ago when I filled you in on all of the problems, on the phone. You did not hear from me because you were going to contact your boss (according to my notes Thursday 5/20/10) and get back to me. The ball was in your they say! Today is 6/7/10, 10:00am, let's see how long it takes for your company to actually resolve this ridiculous situation by having the pumps picked up and refunding the pump money. I feel that is fair compensation for all of the trouble I have endured.
Jaylene replied...We can not issue a refund until we receive the pumps back at our facility. I will arrange for a pick up tomorrow June 8th, you will need to have the package waiting outside first thing in the morning, visible by the driver. You will need to attach the return label to the outside of the package. When the package arrives back at our facility, then my supervisor will review and let you know asap.
6/7/10 emails continued.
my reply,
I will have the package ready and in front of the door. What exactly will your supervisor need to review? If you have the pumps I should receive a refund correct? Is there any question about refunding the pump money?
Virginia Hopper
6/7 Jaylene replied... When we receive both of the pumps back to our location, we will then issue you a refund.
My email the next day
From: Ginny [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Tuesday, June 08, 2010 7:02 PM
To: 'jaylene'
Subject: RE: Invoice 159033645
Importance: High
The attached pictures pretty much say it all! After disconnecting the pump to package it for return I was alarmed to discover that all of the dripping cups are covered with mold which is not healthy to be around, especially given the fact the fountain in placed in an enclosed entry at my front door. Water had been running through the fountain continuously (approx. 3 weeks) after the big pump was adapted, at my cost, to function properly. Apparently, the bamboo was not cured or prepared correctly prior to putting the fountain together, at any rate I do not want it, plus the bamboo is already starting to split. Please schedule another pickup for the fountain so that I can get a full refund for the pump, fountain and shipping. It seems this nightmare transaction with MGP just simply won't end! Virginia Hopper

6/9/10 to jaylene... Jaylene,
Did you receive my 6/8/10 email and were you able to see the pictures of the molded fountain? Virginia Hopper
We are reviewing it and will get back with you.
Jaylene / Master Garden Products
From jaylene...6/15/10 We received the pumps back, and it takes a few days to process a return. I will keep you posted. We are also investigating the fountain. I will be in touch.
6/22 email to JAYLENE...

On June 29th, 2010, tocoool added the following:

I did finally receive a full refund and sent this email to MGP;
From: V.
Sent: Monday, June 28, 2010 9:24 AM
To: 'jaylene'
Subject: Invoice 159033645
Importance: High
I received the refund check. Are you going to schedule pickup for the fountain?

Negative fins1982
Columbia Station, OH
(1 review)
June 25, 2010
Warning - they don't stand behind their product!! We bought a split wine barrel tub in September 2009 for a water garden feature. We stored it over the winter to keep it out of the Midwest cold and filled it for the first time in May 2010. Within 1-2 weeks it started falling apart!! They refused to replace it, stating that we bought it last year and that if you don't fill the barrel up with water right away it will fall apart when do do put water in it. Of course, they made no mention of that last bit on their website (might discourage purchases I guess) and they didn't include anything in their packing material about filling it with water right away. Oh, but they did offer us 20% on another split wine barrel - how generous!! Here we were all proud to buy an American product that was recycled to help the environment, and it turns out to be a piece of junk that they won't stand behind. Sad. Really sad.
Negative lateafternoon
Ukiah, CA
(1 review)
March 11, 2010
Buyer Beware:
The products ordered, 4'x6' willow panels, were not as pictured or described on their web site. Cheap would sum it up. That was my fault, I was in a hurry for this project and did not have time to scout around at the local nurseries.

What was shady is that they charged me to ship the product FedEx, but did not actually use FedEx. They used a shipping company I had never hear of, for good reason. Master Garden pocketed the $30 difference between the shipping costs.

When I brought this fact to their attention, I was told that a "manager" would call me back in a day or two. Of course, no call was ever received. I then phoned my CC company to file a complaint. I was told they, the CC, would refund me a standard $30 but would not follow up on the misrepresentation. Obviously not worth their time to chase down every dishonest vendor out there. I would bet that Master Products know this game and is exploiting it to their benefit.

I would not recommend doing business with them, even if you are in a pinch.
Only goes to re-enforce my "shop local" leanings.
Negative litig8tr
Hattiesburg, MS
(5 reviews)
July 10, 2009
I ordered 6 of their cedar estate tree planters. When they arrived, I opened one of them, only to find that the dimensions were entirely different from those listed on the website (they include finials and legs). The planters were cheap and flimsy.

I called to return the 5 planters that were unopened. At first they wanted to assess a restocking charge, but agreed to waive it when I pointed out their misrepresentations.

I spent several hundred dollars shipping the planters back to them and I have a UPS delivery confirmation for May 27, 2009. I never heard a peep from them, much less a credit on my credit card.

After 6 weeks and numerous emails, Gloria Tan finally emailed me to tell me that one of the planters was damaged (even though it was in their original packaging) and that they were only going to credit me for 4 planters. I finally got the credit on July 7.

This company misrepresents their products and makes it as difficult as possible to return items. I will never buy from them again and strongly recommend that you avoid them like the plague.
Negative Twonewfs
Belgium, WI (Zone 5a)
(18 reviews)
May 1, 2009
I ordered some willow fencing through this company. When it arrived it was not at all as described (the description said each section could extend to 10 feet. Fully extended, it was not even half that).

I called to return the item and was told there would be a restocking fee. When I told the representative this information was no where to be found on their Web site, she agreed to waive the restocking fee. Given that the return was entirely because the item was not as described, I thought that was the least that should be done. I also feel my shipping charges (which were significant: they charged me $25 to ship to me but it cost me $15 to ship it back using the same service?) should have been refunded, but did not request this.

The return was received by them one week ago and I still have not received a credit. I have now e-mailed three times and called once. The representative on the phone, who was very nice, could not answer my question about when my return would be credited, and I've yet to receive a reply to my e-mail inquiries.

I find it interesting that they charged my credit card within a day of me placing my order but more than a week has gone by and they haven't found the time to refund my money?

Even though I'm unhappy with my experience with MGP, I will change this rating to a neutral if I receive my credit soon.
Company representative comment on July 10, 2009:
On Jul 10, 2009 12:53 AM, Master Garden Products responded with:

Hi Twonewfs

the record show the refund was sent to you, if you have further question please contact us 800-574-7248,

Positive dingoblue
Littleton, CO
(1 review)
July 22, 2008
Ordered late PM on a Thursday after checking via toll-free phone that items were available in stock. Very informed Customer Service advised items in stock and that processing and shipping would be by end of following week. Received email one week after order that items shipped FedEx ground. Items arrived after 4 days transit in perfect order.

This Company has got its act together and appears to have made a very concerted effort to work closely with it's web customers. This order was a very positive transaction and I will be recommending them for price, speed, accuracy and ease of customer service.
Negative suzq8
Chestnut Hill, MA
(1 review)
June 2, 2008
I bought three cedar hanging planters. One fell apart within 24 hours & a second is about to. I have tried emailing & it bounces. I have called & left messages twice with no response. I do a lot of internet shopping, and this is the first bad experience I have had.
Company representative comment on June 7, 2008:

On Jun 2, 2008 12:40 PM, Master Garden Products added:


We have been getting our email without any problem, and we did get a lot of calls but not your phone messages or email, please send email to [email protected] with your order ID, we would like to take care of you like thousands of other customers we have served for so many years, thanks

On Jun 7, 2008 2:34 PM, Master Garden Products added:


We have been waiting for you call us or email about your complaint, but we have not received any respond from you, please send us the your order ID and any image of our products being inferior like you said. thanks

Negative VenusQlip
(2 reviews)
October 4, 2007
If I'm not mistaken, Gloria Young was the name of the supervisor that I had spoken to on the phone regarding my order. So I'm wondering why she would make up a review for her own company on this website, it's just absurd, not to mention pathetic. First of all, their shipping charges are outrageous and I've been told that my fence was suppose to be coming in about 3 month ago and yet have still not heard or seen anything from them since.
My advice is to never deal with this company.
Company representative comment on October 4, 2007:

On Oct 4, 2007 6:40 PM, Master Garden Products added:


I am sorry you have not been contacted about your fence order yet, Jayleen or Gloria Tan( but not Gloria Young, there are many Gloria in this country) will contact you if you would send me an email to give me your order information, I would like look into it, unfortunately the shipping for fencing is always high because of the dimension of the package, the surcharge from the carrier sometimes is higher than the cost of shipping itself,

Neutral perak
Tallahassee, FL
(2 reviews)
September 15, 2007
I had a very good experience with a purchase from this company.

Not only did he have the item I was looking for (black bamboo rolled fence, which is impossible to find in home centers, garden centers, and is hard to find even in the internet etc), but it was a quality product at a very reasonable price.

In addition, the shipping charges were reasonable and based strictly upon the weight of the item and not a percentage of the purchase.

I ordered the item very late on a Tuesday night, and was absolutely delighted when it was delivered to my home early Friday morning !! Hard to beat.

I would definitely buy from this retailer again.

Note from the Garden Watchdog editors...

It is the policy of the Watchdog that companies may not pose as their own customer in order to leave feedback. The rating, written by a representative of this company was changed from positive to neutral so that it would not affect the overall rating given by customers.
Neutral bidorm
East Chicago, IL
(1 review)
September 1, 2007
I am a die hard city gardener, I spent most of my time in my little backyard here in the great neigborhood of East Chicago, I have to agree with the last couple of reviews, their prices is very good and the service is satisfactory.

I called their toll free number to ask them a couple question about their planter and privacy fence and some general questions about installing them before I placed an order, the person answering the phone is very professional and pretty helpful. I received my order on time and very satisfy with the quality, I definately will order from them again

Note from the Garden Watchdog editors...

It is the policy of the Watchdog that customers cannot publish multiple reviews under different usernames in order to manipulate a company's rating. This comment was written by the same user who posed as "perak" and the rating has been changed from positive to neutral so that it would not affect the overall rating given by customers.
Neutral davidanji
Fairfield, NJ
(3 reviews)
August 8, 2007
I like to add a few comment about my experience with MGP, I did a searching in gardenweb forum which I am a long time gardening member asking for help to find out about this company because I was not sure about internet shopping, I am kind of new to it, and I found a link that I could check them up here in garden watchdog, then again their ratting is 50%!! half half, anyhow to tell the story short, I went ahead and called them ask a few question about the planter box I was interested in, the girl answered the phone was helpful, and I ordered three planter containers with the company, and I got the container in a week, the planter come in knock down in panels, I have to assemble them, and can tell you for the price I paid, the planter is well worth the money, it is easy to assemble, and the quality is good and solid, one thing I am kind of not too happy is their package boxes, it is looked like used and repacked?

I went back today and reorder more of the same planter, I did not order all I needed the first time because I was sure about them, This time I placed my order online, and you guess what, I found out in their website that they do use recycled carton boxes to lower the packaging cost and pass the saving to the customer and they claimed also for the ecology, which I totally support,

Note from the Garden Watchdog editors...

.It is the policy of the Watchdog that customers cannot publish multiple reviews under different usernames in order to manipulate a company's rating. This comment was written by the same user who posed as "perak" and the rating has been changed from positive to neutral so that it would not affect the overall rating given by customers.
Neutral gloriayoung
Fairfield, NJ
(1 review)
August 3, 2007
I went online and ordered some bamboo fencing from the company last month, I got them in a week, it was faster than I expected because the panels I ordered are large pieces, the truck called and showed up on time and delivered these beautiful beautiful bamboo fence panels, I did had some problem getting them to my backyard because they are just large, 6' x 6' plus the footing, with the help of John and his buddy, we finally got them to the yard and have the fence installed on Saturday, it is just beautiful and now my neighbor want to order some and have them on her side of property! I am happy with the company and their product,

G Young

Note from the Garden Watchdog editors...

It is the policy of the Watchdog that customers cannot publish multiple reviews under different usernames in order to manipulate a company's rating. This comment was written by the same user who posed as "perak" and the rating has been changed from positive to neutral so that it would not affect the overall rating given by customers.
Neutral jt3223
Bellevue, WA
(2 reviews)
July 21, 2006
I was planning a special party for a friend of mine with was terminally ill, and he liked what he see on the master garden products website, I ordered six of the hexagon bamboo bar stools, and called to make sure I will get them on time for the party, it take me a couple times to get to the them, but after explaining my situation, they have my order ship on the same day, and I my friend love the stools,
On June 16th, 2008, jt3223 added the following:

I have been ordering a couple more times from this company ever since, and I have no problem with them, I am satisfy with their products and service,
On July 14th, 2009, jt3223 added the following:

Just wanted to say thank you again for the superfast delivery of my willow fence. It arrived in perfect shape and looks wonderful. I will recommend you to my gardening friends.

Note from the Garden Watchdog editors...

It is the policy of the Watchdog that companies may not pose as their own customer in order to leave feedback. The rating, written by a representative of this company was changed from positive to neutral so that it would not affect the overall rating given by customers.
Negative locust60
Locust Valley, NY
(1 review)
May 24, 2006
I have been waiting for a month for my rolled bamboo fence. In spite of several e-mails, no response has been noted from Master Garden Products. I wanted to have this fence in place for my son's graduation party. Now we are very disappointed. Hmmph.
Negative djhawley
Middletown, CA
(1 review)
May 15, 2006
3/13/2006 placed original order - shipment was very slow and missing a 2' willow fence they charged me for.

4/1/2006 spoke to someone who told me warehouse was closed for weekend, would contact me Monday

4/3/2006 called again, they told me 2' fence was on it's way - was mistakenly left out of original shipment

5/15 still no fence and now they tell me its on back order until mid June
Negative lucy_presley
Atlanta, GA
(3 reviews)
March 30, 2006
I see a pattern here. I ordered an item on March 9. I could not find an approximate shipping time on the site; so when I had heard nothing after about a week, I emailed and asked when I should expect the items to ship. The response from Jason I received was "not . . . by next week." Um, okay. Doesn't really answer my question. So I emailed twice more. I heard nothing in response.

Then last week, I received a call from them. They said that they no longer carried one of the items ordered but had a similar item and asked whether I would like to substitute the other items. I said okay and asked when my order would ship. She told me it would ship early this week.

I received an email confirmation, and the amount authorized to my cc didn't make sense, even with the changed product or a change in shipping price. So I called again. This time, I was told that one of the items had already shipped prior to me speaking with them the first time. I asked for the tracking number. She didn't know. She said she would look into it and call me back. She hasn't.

I guess about the only thing to be done at this point is cancel the order since these folks just can't seem to get a simple transaction straight.
On March 31st, 2006, lucy_presley added the following:

Update: Yesterday I finally was able to get through again to someone at the 800 number. I spoke with the same woman from before, and she told me that everything was straightened out, including the amount, and that the order was shipping that day. She would send an email with the tracking number.

Someone named Gloria, presumably the same person, did send a confirmation with the correct amount and tracking number. But when I tracked the shipment, it says that it was shipped and delivered yesterday -- both in Washington. I live in Georgia. Presumably the box was returned to the vendor for some reason.
On April 3rd, 2006, lucy_presley added the following:

Another update for you. As it turns out, FedEx actually messed up and claimed the package was delivered to Washington when it was actually en route (an I hope still is) to Georgia. However, it turns out that when Master Garden Products shipped my order to me, MGP also shipped someone else's order to me. When I spoke to MGP, Gloria asked whether I would be interested in a half-priced 6 foot cedar bridge. Gloria said she would attempt to halt the delivery of that item. Let's hope that MGP does not mess this up any further when halting the other person's order and that I actually receive my order some time this week. Will update again.
On April 5th, 2006, lucy_presley added the following:

Well, wouldn't you know it. One of the items sent was wrong. I ordered the more expensive stand. MGP charged me for the more expensive stand, but sent the cheaper stand. Staggeringly bad service.
On April 5th, 2006, lucy_presley added the following:

The other person's order that was erroneously shipped to me that was supposed to be stopped in transit -- the 6-foot cedar bridge -- arrived at my house today. MGP says that they can arrange for FedEx to pick it up, giving me an oh-so-convenient window of between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. I told MGP that I will not arrange to be home and that I will leave the item on my front porch where it has a fair chance of being stolen. I didn't order it. I'm not being responsible for MGP's repeated problems. If it gets stolen, it is MGP's loss.
On April 10th, 2006, lucy_presley added the following:

And naturally, the supposedly water-tight wine barrell for a water garden, is not water tight.
Neutral oldpepper
Westminster, CO (Zone 5a)
(1 review)
March 26, 2006
Ordered 2 12'x3'x2' raised bed units on 3/06/06. Rec'd order confirmation @ that time.

E-mailed Master Garden Pro. on either 3/20 or 3/21 to check on order.
Recieved no answer, no shipping date, and no indication that the order had been or not.

Rec'd order on 3/22/06.
Haven't begun to assemble the beds yet.
Would have been happy if I had rec'd some communication from them.

Will update.


Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top