Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Holland Bulb Farms'

bookmark
  Company Profile  
Holland Bulb Farms

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 220
Tatamy, Pennsylvania 18085-0220 (United States)

Phone: 1-800-283-5082

We do not have a web address listed for this company.

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 1 1
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 1 1 1
This company specializes in:

  Feedback History and Summary  
8 positives
1 neutral
3 negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Negative ImaLilyGirl
Omaha, NE
(4 reviews)
November 1, 2017
I ordered about $100 worth of flowers for the 2017 growing season. Some of them either did not grow or were the colors ordered so they credited my account. I will say those that grew did amazing. The largest issue came when I contacted the company regarding a new order that I had placed. It had been multiple weeks and I needed to get the order in the ground before fall. The representative who answered the chat was SO RUDE and SNIPPY. She actually claimed that I "interrupted her" ... It was a CHAT... You CAN NOT "INTERRUPT." That was just the first of many snide comments she made. I sent and email to the company and instead of doing anything about the horrible service, Jennifer San Filippo the Operations Manager did not even acknowledge the issue.

This is the complaint I sent: She made snide comments to me prior to her sending me the long detail of fall shipping of bulbs. I did not order bulbs, I ordered roots of plants so how why would I correlate that as something else (a bulb, which is a bit different). She accused me of interrupting her ... HOW DO YOU INTERRUPT CHAT? Do you commonly approve of a customer service rep accusing your customers?

I am quite angry. Her attitude was rude, unprofessional and after that, I did not care what she said because her entire attitude was rude. I told her I was frustrated and I even put a sad face to show that I was sad about the process. She later asked if I was reading her responses, to which I said, how could I respond if I did not read it? I told her how she was acting. She was being bitchy and I called her out on it. I also apologized and she said she would not forgive me. LOL that just PROVED her ATTITUDE FROM THE BEGINNING!

I deal with customers too and it does not matter if they are happy, sad, confused on terms, mad, frustrated... I DO NOT CARE.... I HELP THEM with 100% pleasure in doing so. If someone is mad, I find out why and reassure them, help them and even if I can not changed things, I let them know I care. By the end, the customer is happy irregardless of the situation. Your REP, did NOT!

If this is the behavior you condone, then I think you should credit my bank card for the full amount. I will not be making another purchase. I ordered from 6 other companies too. I can do business elsewhere. Justifying her attitude is not ok. Your explanation below would have sufficed, but that is not what she gave me. The snippy accusations set the tone!

Her snide reply was this: Thank you for your reply. We have refunded and canceled your order, and attached a copy of the canceled order for your records and review. Based on your correspondence with our company we think it will be best if you continue to enjoy ordering from the other flower companies that will satisfy your customer services needs better than can. We wish you the best of luck in your future garden endeavors.

The Operations Manager did not care about how horribly I was treated and told me to order elsewhere. They also deleted my account information. So they seem to not only tolerate but support the customer service rep in treating customers like trash. You won't get my business or the local growing groups and communities.
Positive snowdog
Alanson, MI
(2 reviews)
September 25, 2017
Love Holland Bulb Farms! Have ordered Hyacinth bulbs from them and Lily bulbs. Just received another fall delivery today of Orienpet bulbs and they were perfect! Easily 18cm's+ and healthy! Highly recommended! If you are reading this and you are a lily lover like me and have never grown "Satisfaction", good Lord, order it right now! I love all my lilies but this variety was amazing this summer!
Positive ronaldmall
Coos Bay, OR
(2 reviews)
February 26, 2011
we planted our bulbs early last fall and here on the west coast they are up blooming nice and healthy. We have spent the last 7 days working in the garden each morning despite the weather and they have been wonderful to enjoy. -Ron
Neutral pgayle
Mannford, OK
(1 review)
January 10, 2011
I ordered some daffodils, crocus and grape hyacinth. I can't yet say much about these till spring.

I also ordered an amaryllis kit. The bulb came up, with plenty of leaves but no flowers. I emailed them but no reply. I have not tried to call.
Positive kentstar
Ravenna, OH (Zone 5b)
(39 reviews)
April 15, 2009
Ordered some Calla Lily bulbs through them. I received them quickly. Not the cheapest place, but not bad either. Now I'll just have to see how they do. But, a positive experience so far.
Negative elkunze
Tuscaloosa, AL
(1 review)
April 17, 2008
I placed an order over the phone early in March 2008 for water lilies from the midwest office of Holland Bulb Farms, which is located in Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin. Upon placing this order I was told to expect shipment in 2 to 3 weeks. Weeks passed but no order arrived. On April 8, 2008, I called their Customer Service phone number and was told that my order was to ship that day or the next. Yesterday, April 16, 2008, I called Customer Service again only to be told that there was no record of my having placed any order over the telephone or internet.
Having provided credit card information when I thought I was placing my order, I do not understand how my order ended up never being made. Although Holland Bulb Farms offers really good prices on their plants, I will never again order anything from them and I will discourage anyone I know who might express any interest in ordering from them.



Positive kobrien46
(1 review)
December 1, 2001
There seems to be mixed messages regarding Holland Bulb Farm, I agree with one comment that shipping the bulbs I ordered in August '99 took longer to arrive so I couldn't plant the daffodils, tulips and hyacinths, the snow was already on the ground and it was frozen. The lilies planted in '98 have been very productive in blooming year after year, very hearty and vigorous blooms from spring to fall; I have received many compliments from my neighbors.The tulips, daffodils and grape hyacinths failed to show any success despite my rigorous care to develop at least 25 of the 50 bulbs ordered and planted, only a few showed but failed to survive or show any color or good health. More disappointments from the amount of $$ spent for such a small yield but still willing to try another bulb farm for luck. Living up in the farthest north has its challenges and I am beginning to learn more as I go along trying to grow. To summarize my experience with Holland Bulb Farm, I would order lilies from them again but doubt it for tulips and hyacinths despite the 100% guarantee given.
Negative schwing
South Milwaukee, WI
(1 review)
July 1, 2001
When I saw the comments about Holland Bulb Farms, especially related to the no-hassle guarantee, I had to write about my own experience. I would NOT order from this company. In 1997 I purchased over $200 worth of small corms that I planned to naturalize under a large tree in my front yard. I planted them according to directions. The next spring I was extremely disappointed - only about 10% of the over 750 bulbs I'd planted came up. I phoned the company, but their response was even more disappointing. They would not honor their guarantee. I asked to speak to a supervisor, and was questioned at length about how I'd planted the bulbs, and then they even wanted me to dig up several of the remaining corms of each variety and send them back in to them! I thought this was ludicrous, especially since they'd said no problem getting a replacement if something didn't grow! Well, I didn't feel like trying dig up little corms of every variety I'd planted, so I asked what they would be willing to do. I was offered a $50 credit, at which I balked; that was 25% of what I'd spent, and I only got about 10% of myflowers! Finally they upped the credit to $100 - a little under half of what I'd spent, and you know what? I've been so turned off I haven't even used the credit...I still have it and actually I was looking for a website to think about finally using the when I found the postings to which I am now responding. I am a rather spring bulb experienced gardener, and don't believe I planted the corms incorrectly. I have many more of the same type of spring bulbs from other sources and they grow great, as well as over 1000 tulip and daff bulbs in my yard. I also didn't see anything wrong with the corms when they arrived, but for whatever reason they didn't grow. The company, though, should live up to the guarantee that they prominently advertise. After this experience, I have gone back to purchasing only through local sources - no more mail order catalogs!
Positive romcg
(1 review)
July 1, 2000
Holland Bulb Farm's name is too close to New Holland Bulb Farm's name. Do not confuse them because the quality and service do not compare. Check the New Holland Bulb comments to see quite a shocker compared to this list of comments.
Positive colleenwhite
(1 review)
April 1, 1999
I loved the Pink Supreme Tulips from their 1997 catalog. The blooms were HUGE and such a reasonable price! I wish I could find the same tulips but they are not in their current catalog. I left them in the ground for another season since they were so spectacular, they came back a little smaller but still beautiful. Every bulb was in great condition. I will order from them again.
Positive lindagranger
(6 reviews)
April 1, 1998
I ordered perennials from Holland Bulbs in summer/fall/97. I was impressed with the size, condition and the packing of the plants. However, they arrived so late in the fall, the weather had already started to get cold, so I don't know yet whether they will come back this year. Customer service seems extremely helpful over the phone (800 number) and they say they will replace anything that doesn't grow. Based on that, I ordered more for this spring. Haven't received them yet.
Positive lauraraymond
(1 review)
April 1, 1997
I have been ordering bulbs and perennials from Holland Bulb Farms for the past 5 years. You can place your order over the telephone with their 800 number and it does not cost you any money. The bulbs are of the best quality that I've ever received from a mail-order company. The order is always packed perfectly so nothing is damaged during shipping. The girls on the telephone are always helpful and willing to find the answers to all my questions. They say if you have a problem they will replace the item with no questions asked-can't ask for anything better than that!

Read the rest of the comments


Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Click here if you are a representative of this company


Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


 

Hope for America