Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Forestfarm'

  Company Profile  

Green Star: Good Forestfarm is a Watchdog 30 company. Green Star: Good

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 1
Williams, Oregon 97544 (United States)

Phone: (541) 846-7269
Fax: (541) 846-6963

Catalog Order Page: Hyperlink
Paper Catalog Cost: $5

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 1 5
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 1
This company offers a variety of plants.

This company specializes in:

  Company Comment, posted on May 1, 2013:  
Our street address is:
14643 Watergap Road
Williams, OR 97544

  Feedback History and Summary  
451 positives
32 neutrals
21 negatives


Displaying the 50 most recent comments:

Positive mdtomo
Liberty, MO
(1 review)
November 11, 2020
I just ordered a magnolia from Forestfarm yesterday and today I was contacted by Michael in an email with accompanying photos to ask which form (more tree-like or shrubbier) of the magnolia I preferred.

Especially during these trying times I really appreciate the fact that Forestfarm goes the extra mile to make sure customers are happy with their purchases.

Forestfarm is a ray of sunshine and I will continue to patronize them!
Positive DawnForsythe
Chelsea, MI
(2 reviews)
July 10, 2020
I moved into my new home in December, and I am spending my first year in establishing the landscape's "bones." Thank goodness for Forestfarm! They had several of my must-have shrubs and trees, and they all arrived healthy and strong. There was one case where I ordered the largest size of yellowwood, which evidently sold out, and the company rep called me to ask if I wanted the smaller tree instead. I sure appreciate the personal attention!
Positive esteve59
Annapolis, MD
(39 reviews)
June 13, 2020
I purchased 3 Japanese maples in Tube size. Tubes are 2" x 2" wide and 6" deep for $29 ea.
They are all very healthy, and surprisingly big. they appear to be 2-3 year trees with very healthy root systems.
It has been a while since I have ordered from Forest Farm and I am delightfully impressed.
Shipping is very reasonable also.
Positive Cyanne
Ellicott City, MD
(5 reviews)
May 31, 2020
After a bad experience elsewhere, I ordered a small (2-3') red mulberry. That's a plus, as they're rather more difficult to find than the (invasive) white mulberry. The plant was carefully packaged and came with detailed instructions.

It's been in the ground for about a month now and has leafed out beautifully. None of the lower limb buds had been stripped, which is what I needed - it's intended as a climbing tree, plus I need to be able to reach at least some of the fruit. If it survives a couple of winters it should grow into a nice fruit tree.
Negative mylittletrees
Corning, OH
(20 reviews)
May 26, 2020
Posted on May 2, 2015, updated May 27, 2020
I think they are slipping. Last spring I ordered 5 trees from them. This was only my second order with the organization. The plants were shipped perfectly but looked somewhat spindly; this was especially true for the ilex that I had received. All the trees were babied, but they barely grew. Four of the five trees ended up dying through the winter. So I contact them, and they are very helpful and willing to replace my trees. So on 4-30-15 I received the replacement order. Once again everything arrived perfectly, but upon inspection of the ilex, I find that they are infested with scale. They have yellowing leaves and stems. The only dark green leaves are at the very top of the plants. Everybody knows scales suck the life out of plants. I don't know call me picky, but I think it looks bad to send out weakened plants with bugs. Are they just tired of working with me, or do they even care anymore? And to think these weak and spindly ilex trees cost $24.95 a piece. I'll be lucky if they live.

Someone else on here with negative experience mentioned that FF grows their merchandise in a lot of shade. Considering how spindly and leggy their plants are, I tend to agree.
On May 26th, 2020, mylittletrees added the following:

I've placed many orders with Forestfarm over the years for their tube size trees. To this day when I survey the yard there is only 2 items somewhat thriving that came from Forestfarm. Everything else has died. Considering the fact that I babied those plants almost daily, I don't think that is a very good outcome. Nobody at Forestfarm ever sent me photos of my plants prior to shipping them out. If they had, I probably would have stopped the order. Always seemed like I got weak and pot bound plants. Still disappointed in 2020.
Company representative comment on May 4, 2015:
On May 4, 2015 10:31 AM, Forestfarm responded with:

We are so sorry to hear that your replacement Ilex had scale on them. We should have caught that in our checking process and we really apologize. We never get tired of dealing with our customers. You are why we are here. We do care very much both about our customers and our plants. Please do let us know if the plants fail to thrive for you, as you know you we will happily work with you. We are excited to share that the farm has moved to a new location which receives lots of sun.

All my best,


Positive nlhannamd
(4 reviews)
May 18, 2020
I've been ordering from ForestFarm for many years and sadly I'm just getting around to adding my review. I've been very happy with the quality, packaging and communication.
Positive Rise22
Roseburg, OR
(7 reviews)
September 23, 2019
We stopped by on our way home from the south, after pre-ordering my plants. This is such a beautiful place to visit - gorgeous!! The plants were ready (as usual) and well-packed. They got planted a few days later, after getting used to their new home. The fall-blooming anemones are just lovely; and so are the echinacea. They seem very happy in their new surroundings. I try to go every year, just for the lovely drive.
Positive fredmcain
Topeka, IN
(2 reviews)
July 24, 2019
I wanted to find some Jeffrey Pines to plant in Indiana. I looked everywhere but could not find any. But Forestfarm had them so I bought 4.

Before they were shipped I was sent a picture of the trees in plastic pots. Based on the picture they looked good and appeared to be small seedlings. But when they arrived, I was surprised to see that they were actually more like 3-4 FEET tall!

I put them in the ground in the early spring of 2019 and over the summer they look like they're doing pretty well. Since virtually no one around here has attempted to raise Jeffrey Pine, I don't know what this winter will bring. However, I have read that they can survive harsh conditions so they might prove to be O.K.

Forestfarm provided me with good service. FIVE STARS!

Fred M. Cain,
Topeka, IN
Negative nickinny
Fulton, NY
(1 review)
July 11, 2019
Ordered a Trachycarpus wagnerianus a couple of years ago on the website because I could not find the plant anywhere else. I was sent a small strapling in the mail and because of its age there was no way to really confirm whether it was the dwarfed stiff-leaved Trachycarpus wagnerianus or the more droopy larger leaved Trachycarpus fortunei. The difference is rather distinct. Now that the plant is starting to trunk and the leaves are in their mature form I can see that it is definitely a fortunei, which is a bummer because the only reason I purchased from a retailer all the way in Oregon is because it was the only retailer I could find of the species. Unfortunately, this really was not an issue I could contact them with upon the arrival of the order because there was really no way to tell what the mature palm looked like. Maybe I'm splitting hairs but I expect to receive the correct plant when I order from a company.
Positive Toronado3800
Saint Louis, MO
(3 reviews)
May 27, 2019
For a decade I've been ordering plants from Forestfarm. They aren't the cheapest but have always shipped me live plants ridiculously well packaged. My Metasequoia Ogon from them is one of my favorites.
Positive SanJoseFool
Canton, GA (Zone 7b)
(20 reviews)
March 8, 2019
I'll give them an overall positive but was disappointed in the size of the plants I received. I ordered 6 perennial shrubs "tube size". The plants were packed well and shipped with tracking at the date I requested. I was surprised to see six plants in a tiny box. The "tube" is more like a tiny tomato start at a box store. I was under the impression it would be a narrow deeper rooted tube. This is a definition of tube: a long, hollow cylinder of metal, plastic, glass, etc. for holding or transporting something.

With the pot aka "tube" being only 4 inch deep it will be more susceptible to drying out than a deeper tube or sleeve. Some of these plants will be on drip irrigation but some are native plants which will just have mulch and spring rains to get them going. I hope it's enough. I clicked around a found a place on the website describing the exact size wish I would have searched before I ordered. Although I don't regret ordering they had a few plants I could not find elsewhere. I think this nursery is a good choice for exactly that, a plant you can't find anywhere else. Otherwise there is better value for your money from other reputable nurseries.
Positive treeguy_NY
Clarence, NY (Zone 6a)
(19 reviews)
May 23, 2018
Posted on April 25, 2008, updated May 23, 2018
I've ordered from this company in the past as well as this spring. I purchased 4, 1 gallon and 8 tube size plants this spring. All but one arrived in excellent condition, ready to bud out. One plant had already budded out before or during shipping and was quite frazzled looking. It had some green leaves left at its base and has since re-foliated itself.

On a couple occasions I have called to ask questions about plant information (grafted vs. seed grown, availability, provenance, etc) Every time I called, a very polite individual answered the phone and provided answers to all my questions.

Overall, I am quite pleased with the selection and size of the plants they offer. I would highly recommend this company.

On May 23rd, 2018, treeguy_NY added the following:

Another great order from Forestfarm! I ordered a dove tree, a purple leaf beech, a dogwood, and a spruce. The spruce came loose during shipping and snapped the scion off the rootstock of the grafted purple leaf beech. I contacted the company via their website, but received no reply. I called a week later and spoke with someone at the nursery. They replaced the purple leaf beech free of charge and had it shipped to me the next week. It has now doubled in height with new growth so far this spring! Great customer service and good quality plants.
Neutral SantaCruzGarden
Santa Cruz, CA
(1 review)
May 8, 2018
Posted on May 3, 2018, updated May 8, 2018
On Jan 23, 2018, I ordered a prunus serrula from Forestfarm. The tree arrived on Jan 29th.I was home to receive the package, so I opened it immediately, watered it and repotted it in a gallon container. It never broke dormancy. I could attribute it to something I did, but I had ordered a second prunus serrula from Dancing Oaks Nursery & Gardens that arrived on Feb 7th, 2018, and it leafed out just fine.
The worst part about this is I contacted Forestfarm twice on their website's contact form about this problem: first on April 21, 2018, and then after not hearing from them (although I received an email from them on April 21st acknowledging my "ticket") & again on May 1st (I also received an email about my "ticket"). Granted, it is only 2 days since my last "ticket", but I am pretty annoyed.
Customer service is important-I will never order from Forestfarms again.
On May 8th, 2018, SantaCruzGarden changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

The day after I posted my negative review on the Garden Watchdog site, Forestfarm emailed to let me know that they would give me a refund. I had a feeling that they keep an eye out for negative Garden Watchdog reviews. I have ordered plants from Forestfarm in the past and have not had problems with the plants--they are a good online nursery & have some unusual plants. Would I order from them again? If there is something I can't find anywhere else, I probably will.
Positive donnamack
Elgin, IL (Zone 5a)
(64 reviews)
May 6, 2018
Posted on May 11, 2015, updated May 6, 2018
Posted on June 9, 2012, updated May 11, 2015
Posted on April 23, 2012, updated June 9, 2012
Posted on April 1, 2000, updated April 23, 2012
I received my first order from Forest Farm last month and am very impressed. I ordered from them because they were the only source I could find, after searching the web, catalogs and local nurseries, of several plants. The packaging was unbelievable. I almost had to WRESTLE the plants out of their boxes! It took half an hour, because the plants are containerized, the tops covered with shredded newspaper, the container placed in a plastic bag and tied, and the whole thing essentially doubleboxed. My three viburnums, in five gallon containers, were all over 3 feet tall (one 4!) and they were in bloom in the box. Despite the surface trip (a good five days) they were not dry. Nor were they rootbound. They are gorgeous specimens. They were $26 each, for a total of $78, and shipping was high ($87 for the three, or more than the plants), but I would do it again.The Cotinus 'Grace' came in a box that had been crushed. The UPS representative suggested I open it immediately so I could assess the damage and refuse delivery. When I opened the box her jaw dropped at the sight of a perfect, fresh shrub. Again, the awesome packaging. I paid $12 for a one gallon container and $8 for shipping, and it is three times the size of the 'Grace' I got two days earlier from another supplier. It had three branches, rather than one, it was twice as tall, and now, in June, it is growing a fourth, while the other plant, for which I paid more, has not changed at all since its planting.I plan to order from them again.
On April 23rd, 2012, DonnaMack added the following:

I am writing to record the excellent experience I had with Forest Farm (again). I have ordered mostly superb shrubs from them over the years, anything from a five gallon cotinus Grace to tube President Lincoln lilacs, and I have been uniformly happy. This year, because I was moving, I wanted a lot of perennials. The company from which I had previously ordered experienced a significant down grade in product with a sharp increase in price. Since their inferior plants were much more expensive, I decided to turn to Forest Farm.

I am very happy that I did. I ordered two ferns, a tube of Athyrium Branford Beauty and a gallon Athyrium Branford Rambler, 2 of the gallon sized miscanthus sinensis Adagio, 2 tubes of digitalis grandiflora, 2 tubes of Campanula trachelium Bernice, and 2 tubes each of anemone x hybrida Honorine Jobert and Anemone Wirbelwind.

Firstly, I should add that I ordered more than I planned because every time I went to my cart it was pointed out to be that they shipped certain sized boxes, and I could add plants to my order without increasing the shipping. This is an incredibly useful and user friendly tool, because you can add plants and see what the cost is over and over again. So I did add more.

Better yet, the gallon size of Branford Rambler was not available, so they sent a tube of that and gave me two one gallon containers of digitalis foxglove when I had ordered two tubes of the foxglove! I was delighted.

Every plant is perfect – the tubes look like little jewels. And they have found a method of packaging that is easier to get into, while not jeopardizing the safety of the plants. The delivery company delivered one box upside down and not a dot of soil escaped.

The increases in everyone else’s prices (and Forest Farm’s prices have always been at the low end, considering the extraordinary quality of their plants), have made me change my practices this year. I used to go to garden centers and order plants from others. With the sharp increase in gas prices, as well as plant prices, they will now be my go-to for perennials.

On June 9th, 2012, DonnaMack added the following:

Seeking to address a privacy problem (a neighbor chopped down three large shrubs on their side of their fence so they could "see me better", I decided to order three deutzia Codsall Pink and to get them from Forest Farm. I ordered three that were supposed to be 2-3 feet tall. One for that location, and two more for another location. I also took the opportunity to order gallica rose Charles deMille, since shipping 4 gallons costs the same as three.

The largest deutzia was over five feet tall! And covered with buds. The other two were approximately four feet tall - all in perfect condition, potted perfectly, and $10 each. I have seen these plants advertised for $32.95 each. The Charles de Milles rose was in bloom, at about two feet tall. It was priced at $15.

The order was to be shipped to arrive Monday, June 11, but instead came Friday, June 8. Perfect!

The shipping was $42, the plant order $45. But I defy anyone to get a one five foot deutzia, three four foot ones, and a containerized rose for $87.00.

This is my second order this season, and between the mind blowing quality, size of the plants, and lighter, but expert shipping, they are now my go to for shrubs, which I had ordered in the pat, as well as perennial. As the prices of plants from other sources goes up, but the quality goes down, Forest Farm is now the first place I look for anything.
On May 11th, 2015, DonnaMack added the following:

I just received another exceptional order from Forest Farm. Three panicum 'Cloud Nine' gallons, 2 thalictrum 'Black Stockings' tubes and, a last minute order of 2 tubes of Athyrium nipponicum 'Ursulas Red' after another company from which I ordered it ran out of supply. Not only did they add to an order placed by phone, but I requested that a particular shipping window be avoided, and my request was honored.

Best of all, they pointed out to me that by adding "Ursula', I filled my box, and would have no additional shipping costs on my order.

Forest Farm plants were an important part of my landscaping at my former home and are an integral part of my new one.
On May 6th, 2018, DonnaMack added the following:

In the last five years I have begun gardening for other people, and they often ask me to acquire plants from them. Many are routine but I have learned that if something is a little unusual, or you want a larger size, Forest Farm is there for you. I ordered a large hardy fig for a client, and when it arrived it was expertly packed. It was tall, so it was staked. Wonderful plant.

But I also could not help getting a little something for myself. I had been seeking a particular hydrangea serrata which i had originally received as a donor gift from Rauklston Arboretum. I lost it after many years and could not find it. It is so uncommon that a particular website was seeking a photo of it, which I happily provided. Then, lo and behold, Forest Farm has it, so I added it to my order.

Best of all, I added the extra plant to my order at the last minute, and Michael was extremely pleasant about doing so, and gave me a breakdown of the separate costs.

They are truly in the top tier.
Positive Cetraria
Washougal, WA
(2 reviews)
November 1, 2017
Ordered 3 plants - A trailing blackberry, and two native berry bushes.
Prices are reasonable and shipping was blisteringly fast. The plants all look gorgeous and were packaged quite securely. Plus, they put in an extra of one of the things I ordered.

I'm quite pleased and will definitely order from them again!
Positive chancremechanic
Wartrace, TN (Zone 7a)
(13 reviews)
June 1, 2017
Posted on March 3, 2016, updated June 1, 2017
I have purchased trees and such from Forestfarm for the last ten years or so. This time, I purchased 3 Japanese Black Pines, 2 Mock Orange shrubs, and 1 Flying Dragon contorted orange tree. All trees were packaged superbly. All trees arrived healthy. I would recommend to all gardeners Forestfarm. Reasonable prices for healthy plants.
On June 1st, 2017, chancremechanic added the following:

I just received my one gallon English Oak tree from Forestfarm. It was received as expected: Tree was very healthy; tree was packaged tightly; I have always received healthy plants from Forestfarm.
Positive glendower
West Park, NY
(3 reviews)
May 10, 2017
I have had an excellent experience with ForestFarm, both online and on the phone. Their customer service is friendly and efficient. The trees I ordered were well-packed and had large root balls. More roots, healthier plant. They were also beautiful small trees, not the long sticks you get from some places. I've already placed a second order with them, and I'm sure more will be on the way.
Negative LIRose
Peconic, NY
(6 reviews)
April 28, 2017
I placed an order for 3 plants from ForestFarm this spring based on the positive reviews here and the "Top 30" rating. However, this order has turned out to be one of the most frustrating mail-order experiences of my long gardening life. First, I received no email confirmation of my order. Then, I received no shipping notification. I had to place calls and fill out their website contact form to inquire multiple times as to whether they received my order and again whether and when they would be shipping my order (the response was: it shipped a week ago!). Emails to their [email protected] address bounced! When the plants finally arrived, I was disheartened to see the tiny band pots they use (much smaller than your typical band pot both in width and length). The tree seedling I ordered was so rootbound that I had to cut the pot to get it out. One small lilac plant is healthy and looks good, but the rose plant is a joke on me and an embarrassment to them. It arrived dry as a rock with its foliage shriveled, and my communication to the company on this got me a no-response. I give up...working with this vendor is too much hard work and an exercise in disappointment. ForestFarm has earned its well-deserved spot on my "never again" list.
Company representative comment on April 28, 2017:
On Apr 28, 2017 10:03 AM, Forestfarm responded with:

We are so sorry to hear your experience with our nursery so was so frustrating. Unfortunately, you caught us in the middle of a server switch that created some havoc with our email system. Those issues have all been resolved.

We strive to send the very best plant material. It sounds like your rose suffered in transit. We feel badly that you are unhappy with your plants and we will be crediting your credit card. Thank you for your feedback. We wish you a wonderful planting season.


Positive officerbill
(3 reviews)
April 8, 2017
Back in late June of 2016 I ordered 4 Branford Rambler and 2 Ostrich ferns from Forest Farm. A few days later I was they called and said they did not want to ship the ferns from Oregon to NY because of an extended heat wave and concern over whether or not the ferns would survive the journey. I agreed, told them not to ship and promptly forgot all about the order.

On March 23, 2017 I got an email from UPS with the delivery date of my Forest Farm order.

The plants arrived well packed and in good condition. Three of the four Ramblers have small fronds and the roots of the Ostrich ferns are large and healthy. I've potted them until the weather turns warm enough to plant and I'll update after they've had a chance to settle in.
Positive Gravypants
East Rochester, NY
(2 reviews)
October 25, 2016
Impressive! I Have never seen so much care put into packaging plants. I ordered 5 holly bushes in the spring and they are all doing very well after 6 months. A+
Positive againes_5
(Zone 8a)
(4 reviews)
October 11, 2016
Posted on April 19, 2013, updated October 11, 2016
Ordered one himalayan spruce (Picae Smithiana) and one monkey puzzle tree (Auracaria Auracana). I was pleasantly suprised to see that both were much larger than I expected. Both trees are doing well in their respective environments. The himalayan spruce was planted too deeply in its pot and, thus, I had to remove some soil and advantageous roots to get down to the root flare. I don't criticize the company for this, though, as this is a common practice throughout the industry and it is up to the consumer to correct the issue prior to planting in the ground. Would definitely order from this company again. Thanks!
On October 11th, 2016, againes_5 added the following:

Just ordered a new tube size pond cypress from Forestfarm. The tree arrived dying and eventually died. I emailed twice, received a support ticket after the first email but after waiting 10 days I'd heard nothing. I picked up the phone and called them directly. Long story short, I am being sent a nrw pond cypress. In my view they are still a quality nursery and I will continue to purchase from them. I should also add that the China fir tree I ordered as a gift for my Dad is doing wonderful and had no issues with that order.

Forestfarm does, however, need to remove their email address from the website as apparently no one checks or responds to it which is frustrating. If you have an issue with an order, just call them and they are quick to help you out. I also think their website user login is broken as the system does not recognize my user/pw and when I try to reset, I never get a confirmation email. One can still check out as a guest and the login section should be removed from the website.
Negative ybpearson
Washington, DC
(2 reviews)
August 18, 2016
Upon delivery of the plants (March), I contacted Forest Farms to submit a claim that the flowers did not meet the description as ordered, and thus I requested full reimbursement. After several attempts to contact them, I received an automated message that my ticket was closed. I immediately responded that my ticket should remain open because it had not been serviced. I made several more attempts to contact the company without a response. Eventually, I realized that my email account had been block. My only recourse was to dispute the charge with my credit card company, because the merchant did not fulfill their terms of refunds for defective plants, and it deliberately conspired to block correspondence. I was issued a full refund by my CC company. I will never order from them again.
Company representative comment on September 2, 2016:
On Sep 2, 2016 4:23 PM, Forestfarm responded with:

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with the plants that you received, we strive to send only the highest quality stock. When your order went out in March we posted a discount of $12.00 to your credit card. You then contacted us letting us know that some of your plants had failed and we issued you another credit in June for $28.85. We were surprised to get a letter from your credit card company stating that we had not delivered your order and that you were requesting a full credit. At that point we worked with your credit card company, we would never block your email. We wish we had been able to resolve this in a more positive manner and we wish you all the best.

Neutral woof12
Philadelphia, PA
(17 reviews)
July 19, 2016
Posted on May 3, 2006, updated July 19, 2016
I've gotten plants from them a few times before because I couldn't find it anywhere else but it would've been easier if only they had a toll free number to call. Also, trying to figure out how much things cost with shipping & handling is way more involved than with other mail order companies. Nice plants and prices but I wish it was easier to order from them.
On July 19th, 2016, woof12 added the following:

I miss their catalog that they used to send out. The new little whatever thing they mail out now just isn't the same.
Positive aechacko
Montville, NJ
(3 reviews)
May 22, 2016
I ordered four plants from Forest Farm. Kwanzan cherry tree, Cornelian cherry, Crimson cloud hawthorn and Oregon grape. I couldn't find Cornelian cherry and Crimson cloud hawthorn at my local nurseries. I called a few places within 50 miles and they had them, but were too expensive ($288.00 after a 15% discount). So I decided to try online nurseries and decided on Forest Farm after seeing good reviews on Dave's Garden.
I called and spoke to Michelle who was very helpful and knowledgeable. I ordered through their website which was really good and easy to navigate. My plants arrived through UPS ground in excellent condition. I was really nervous about the state of the plants shipped from West coast to East, but they had been very well packed and arrived looking healthy. No broken branches or wilting. I spent $172.00 on four plants including shipping. Very impressed and would highly recommend this nursery.
Negative Rpeazalea
Potomac, MD
(5 reviews)
May 16, 2016
I ordered four frees in February for Spring delivery. In early May I notified forest farm I would be out of town, so not to send plants. After a week I told them I was back. Then I realized no one was responding to customer service emails, and auto reply to one of them was to forum that didn't work.

It boils down to trees being absent and no communications from forest farm.
Company representative comment on May 24, 2016:
On May 24, 2016 3:43 PM, Forestfarm responded with:

We apologize for any confusion on our end. Your package had shown as delivered before we got your email communication. It appears now that UPS must have delivered your plants to the wrong address. We are very happy to replace these plants for you. We hope that you have a wonderful spring. If you have any other concerns not covered in our contact with you please give us a call at 541-846-7269.

Positive GoatLockerGuns
San Antonio, TX
(2 reviews)
February 17, 2016
I am a big fan of Forestfarm. They provide quality products at reasonable rates and their customer service is top notch. I have ordered many trees from them since 2013, and I am always impressed with the quality and vibrancy of the trees I receive. Their packaging and shipping procedures have always exceeded my expectations as well.
Positive rdtjr05
Franklin, TN
(30 reviews)
December 15, 2015
Posted on May 27, 2015, updated December 15, 2015
I'm very happy with the order I received this spring. The Stewartia rostrata is thriving, having bloomed already and putting on more than a foot of growth. The Japanese Umbrella pine is also doing well. While not inexpensive, it was good value for the size and for a plant that is difficult to find online beyond a small cutting. I am also happy with the quality of the Cornus 'Compressa' and the Neviusia, a native SE plant not easily located. I would definitely order from them again.
On December 15th, 2015, rdtjr05 added the following:

Followed up with a fall order of a pink flowered Halesia and a gold leaved wafer ash. I had a concern with the Halesia and contacted them. Within a day the actual person who picked the tree for me called me and we had an informative conversation which laid my concern to rest. Excellent customer service.
Positive Canarykeeper
Menlo, IA
(12 reviews)
May 29, 2015
Posted on May 15, 2015, updated May 29, 2015
I contacted this company concerning the lemon lace vine. They list it as zone 5. However, my vine died, even though I am zone 5. Their response? They only guarantee the plant to be alive when it gets to you. They are not responsible for posting false information, didn't you know. They also blamed a harsh winter for the fatality, and my poor gardening skills. I buried my little vine in 12" of mulch, and used burlap. My winter only got down to -13 F. I am convinced that this vine is a zone 6. After doing a Google search, I found other nurseries stating that it was only reliable in zone 6. Anyway, tough luck for me. I would try a more trustworthy seller in the future.
On May 29th, 2015, Canarykeeper changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

The company sent me a new lemon lace vine, free of charge. Because they went above and beyond to make me happy, they deserve a positive rating.
Positive lucuba
(1 review)
May 18, 2015
I have ordered 12 Thujas Green Giant from them to be shipped to Canada. I have build a new house and urgently need fast-growing evergreens for a privacy. There are no Green Giant thujas in Canada for sale, for some reason. They prepared the international Phyto certificate for me.
My plants arrived in an excellent conditions, wrapped with care.
I hope the plants will adapt and will grow well.

Just want to tell them thanks for being able to handle long international shipment with custom clearance and still keep my small trees fresh during the way home :))
Thank you Michele and thank others who participated!

Neutral StaticCling
Meadville, PA
(15 reviews)
May 13, 2015
Merely okay. Everything lived, but some were single-leaf wonders, very tiny. The shipping was quite leisurely, as well, taking seven days' time.
Company representative comment on May 14, 2015:
On May 14, 2015 5:06 PM, Forestfarm responded with:

We apologize that the plants you received were not up to your expectations. Although we are happy to hear that everything has survived, our goal is that our plants thrive for you. Please let us know if any of the plants fail. We really do want you to be happy! The seven days in shipping is the standard UPS east coast ground which is five business days from Oregon. We also wish we could get it there quicker.

All my best,


Positive Fishman1
Selden, NY
(16 reviews)
May 11, 2015
Posted on May 2, 2015, updated May 11, 2015
Bought a Cedrus Deodara Snow Sprite from FF several years ago. The plant barely stays alive from year to year and has shown no growth in about 4 years. I do not have the heart to pull it and throw it out, but the plant is apparently stunted due to poor grafting procedures. I could not recommend FF to anyone looking for high quality conifers, as with the same order I received the above plant, I also was sent a Abies Koriensis that died within 1 week.
On May 11th, 2015, Fishman1 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

Forest Farm researched my purchase, and found it to be over 9 years old. They fully refunded my money after that long. That is unheard of in todays world. I am changing my rating to reflect the truly honorable way in witch this company conducts business. No person should have reservations about placing an order.
Company representative comment on May 4, 2015:
On May 4, 2015 10:04 AM, Forestfarm responded with:

We are so sorry to hear that your experience with our plants has not been a good one. We do strive to ship the very best plant material. If we had known that your Abies perished within a week of arrival we would have happily replaced it. (We still will!) If you would like a replacement Abies and to further discuss your Cedrus please give us a call at 541-846-7269 or email us at [email protected]. Happy spring.

All my best,


Positive bherder
Forest Grove, OR
(3 reviews)
May 8, 2015
I ordered a eucalyptus, honeyberry, goji, and kiwi. The plants were huge and packed well! I couldn't be happier!
Positive saradus
Maple Park, IL
(20 reviews)
April 30, 2015
I ordered from Forest Farm for the first time this spring, was looking for narrow Alaska cedar. My two trees arrived and were healthy and well packaged. I will definitely purchase plants from Forest Farm again, there is such a large selection and variety of plants.
Positive MaxWest
Terrebonne, OR
(3 reviews)
April 27, 2015
A+ I only wish I had learned about this company sooner. I was a little skeptical when I first found them because I had never heard of them, but since they were in Oregon here not far from me I thought I would take a chance. I've never seen such great specimens, packed so well. They always send such great stuff and totally stand behind their product. This is absolutely the best company across the board. I've ordered a half dozen or so things from them so far and all were shipped with such amazing care and all were perfect specimens. This company is very impressive.
Positive bobbi_s
Richland, WA (Zone 7a)
(21 reviews)
April 20, 2015
I placed an order almost two weeks ago, and received the order Friday evening. I am really amazed at the plants as this is a mail order! :) I am extremally happy with the plants, and the packaging. They went above and beyond, and part of the packaging was newspaper. They took extreme care, and the plants are doing well. I ordered: Brunnera macrophylla Silver Heart Siberian Bugloss, Symphoricarpos chenaultii Blade of Sun Dwarf Yellow-lf. Snowb, Bolax glabra Nana (Azorella), Trillium albidum Westrn Sweet Trillium,
Lamium maculatum Purple Dragon Lamium, Dryopteris tokyoensis Tokyo Wood Fern, and Athyrium Ghost Ghost Fern. I am very pleased with my order, and would recommend them to anyone. Thanks!
Positive PatYates
Ogden, UT
(3 reviews)
April 19, 2015
I've probably ordered 20 times or more from these guys and I highly recommend them of the dozens of trees and plants I've ordered and every plant except one has been in fantastic condition.

The one slight exception was a larch that was rootbound and should have been potted up. No biggie. It's doing well now.

They do an expert job in packing the trees too. There is no way they could get damaged in shipping.

10 out of 10
Positive GreeneLady
Oak Island, NC (Zone 8a)
(9 reviews)
March 29, 2015
I've ordered from Forestfarm for many years now, and I've never had a bad experience with them. I placed another order earlier this year for 3 blue blossom Ceanothus. The plants arrived quickly, were very well packed, and looked great. They've only been in the ground for 2 weeks, but there is already new growth budding out on the tips. Thank you, Forestfarm!
Positive Leslieandkeith
Charlotte, NC
(8 reviews)
March 9, 2015
No other way to say it-FORESTFARM ROCKS!!! We visited there in person when we went to Oregon last year and we stuffed two carry-on suitcases with plants to take back home with us! Super amazing selection, super courteous and knowledgeable staff, great shipping quality, and very efficient in rectifying any issues that come up. We have ordered from them many times and we had just one plant-a Serviceberry--that didn't make it. Contacted them and received a credit with no problem! Love them sooo much :)
Positive kpercy
Oakland, CA
(2 reviews)
February 26, 2015
First order from this company; they called me immediately for a plant that wasn't ready to ship yet; I asked them to send it when it became available but send the rest of the order now, and they agreed to do this without an extra shipping charge. The plants when they arrived were packaged with EXTREME care; the dichondra, just barely out of dormancy, picked its head up and looked around within hours. Their prices might be a little on the "quality" side, but that's ok with me, especially because they support local community organizations. Their catalog seems very strong in trees and shrubs, and the plants they had that I'm familiar with came in many varieties I've not heard of.
Positive LanfrancoLeo
Harrisburg, PA
(9 reviews)
February 9, 2015
Vewry very happy about this company:
last year (april 2014) I ordered the following plants:
1)Clematis terniflora
2)Vitex agnus-castus
3)Ostrich Fern
4)Ceanothus delilianus Gloire de Versailes
5)Sambucus nigra Black Lace
6)Crape Myrtle Pink Velour
All of them grew very, very well I had zero loss , not only but with exception of Clematis ternifolia (that grew very well as well) and of course ostrich fern, all the plant bloom the same year that I receive...that is really nice considering that I ordered tube size plant (except for the black elderberry).
The Black elderberry really astonish me : it passed from be a 1-2 foot plant to 7 foot plant in a growing season!!! I will definitively order some more plants this year!!

Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top