Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Heronswood Nursery'

  Company Profile  
Heronswood Nursery

Mailing Address:
300 Park Avenue
Warminster, Pennsylvania 18974 (United States)

Phone: 1-877-674-4714
Fax: 1-866-578-7948
Paper Catalog Cost: $5

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 0
This company offers a variety of plants.

  Feedback History and Summary  
58 positives
22 neutrals
23 negatives


Displaying the 50 most recent comments:

Neutral cyrusdust
Raleigh, NC
(2 reviews)
June 13, 2012
Posted on June 12, 2012, updated June 13, 2012
I ordered two hydrangeas and a ornamental grass in March 2012 from Heronswood. When they arrived the grass looked okay, but was smaller than the one that I had ordered from another company. The one hydrangea looked great, but the one that was the main reason that I was ordering from Heronswood was in sad shape. The Hydrangea Involucrata 'Wim Rutten' Blue Bunny TM PPAF looked dead (e.g. like a stick that was rotten with no bud) even though there was a note saying it was just dormant. When I removed it from the pot there were living roots. I was upset that I had paid $18 for a dead stick, but I was still hopeful that it was just dormant. I planted both hydrangeas a few days after they arrived following the directions on their web site about using peat moss to amend the soil. The blue bunny hydrangea still has no signs of growth while the other oakleaf one is thriving and already about a foot tall.

I emailed Heronswood about a refund on May 4th 2012 and received no reply. I emailed again today on June 12th 2012 and then decided to call. I talked to a nice lady who refunded my money. They have a 1 year guarantee. I'm rating this neutral instead of negative only because I did get a refund, but I will not be ordering from Heronswood/Burpee again.

On June 13th, 2012, cyrusdust added the following:

I received an email response today saying that they did respond back in May. I'm pretty good about saving all my emails and I don't have record of this. They were sorry for the inconvenience and refunded the shipping costs for my whole order. I'm still leaving this a neutral, but I'm happy with a company that goes the extra mile to make a customer happy.
Negative wetdogfarm
Eveleth, MN (Zone 3a)
(8 reviews)
May 24, 2012
Received my order from Heronswood today. Not what I expected from Heronswood. Two plants ordered, both were dead. $16 and $17 each. Tiny little dried up root piece of anemone in a bag of dry sawdust chips and rotted oriental poppy root in wet moss with no live buds. They gave me a refund to my visa immediately, which was nice. I will not order again.
Saint Louis, MO (Zone 6b)
(2 reviews)
May 22, 2012
Negative Shamner
Bennington, VT
(2 reviews)
April 26, 2012
Buyer beware!!! Heronswood is no longer Heronswood! Sad, sad, sad... I looked forward all winter to receiving my Heronswood order, and regularly turned to them for premium specimen plants, so I'm not pleased to report bad news about a company I respected and depended upon. The first indication that something was wrong is that the order arrived in a Burpee box. When I opened it, everything inside was totally desiccated. There were six "Lychjen' Jenny" that were dry as sand, but still alive -- I watered them, and they should make it, but they are stressed and not what I expected of Heronswood. I had ordered 6 "Lysimachia clethroides 'Heronswood Gold'" but rather than plants, I received a "Cannot supply" notice. However, the worst disappointment was two entirely dried out TINY, TINY bare root Thalictrums -- they literally crumbled in my fingers, and the roots broke off. They were packed in some dry cedar shavings -- and, although it looked as if there might have been signs of new growth at some time in the past, they were yellowed and disintegrated when I tried to pot the (dead) plant. These Thalictrums were $14.95 a piece!!!!! This is not the Heronswood I have loved over the years. This is tragic ghost of a company that was once top of the line. I called the company and was offered a replacement or a refund. The woman who answered the call was polite, sympathetic and helpful, but she was not from Heronswood, she was answering from a call center. I choose the refund, and will not order from Heronswood again.
Negative reeve1
Plano, TX (Zone 8b)
(55 reviews)
March 26, 2012
Posted on March 8, 2012, updated March 26, 2012
What has happened to Heronswood? I just received my order and cannot believe what they sent to me. I ordered 2 Astrantia Moulin Rouge and received tiny pieces of dried up plant material in a bag of sawdust and wood shavings. One is possibly just dormant but is the smallest piece of root I have ever seen. The other is black, crumbly organic plant material resembling compost. These were $16.00 each!! I know the Astrantia were bare root, but I expected healthier, live (not dormant and certainly not dead) bare-root plants like on their website! I also ordered an Echincea Pomegranate potted plant for $19.00, and while it was in a pot, it is not more than 1/2 in high. No kidding!! What it was is a 1 inch plug that was put into a 4" pot and sold as a 4 inch plant. Worse than this, I tried to contact customer service at 5:15pm by email and the email immediately kicks back with an error from their server. I try to call them and they closed at 5:00pm (Bankers hours). What a joke! They used to have plush, healthy plants and provided excellent support, which made it worth the extra few dollars they charged. Now, they are much more than a few dollars extra, they provide substandard or inferior junk, and offer limited support. I won't be back.
On March 26th, 2012, reeve1 added the following:

They did refund my money on the order, as they should have. In the past, I would have moved my rating to a neutral or positive because of this. But, I refuse to give lighter ratings because they didn't succeed in cheating me out of my hard earned money. What I received is what they normally send (minus the dead rhizome), and that in itself is unacceptable for the price they charge.
Negative mconnor77
Seattle, WA
(1 review)
May 2, 2011
I will not be ordering from them again. I'm very frustrated with their lack of customer service. I ordered Cosmos atrosanguineus as part of an order back in June 2010. It did not arrive with the other plant I ordered, and I was not told it was out-of-stock. I have contacted them multiple times since, asking for an estimate of when it would ship. Twice I was told they would look in to it, but then I never receive a follow-up response. I finally just told them today, May 2, 2011!, to cancel it. I'll be ordering them from Chocolate Flower Farm instead.
Positive omasuziq
Greensboro, NC (Zone 7a)
(8 reviews)
September 26, 2010
I had never ordered from Heronswood, either before or after its acquisition by Burpee. But this August I wanted to try Astrantia 'Moulin Rouge' and they were the only ones who had it in stock. I also ordered Primula vialii (it was irresistable on the Website) and both arrived this week, well-packaged and healthy looking. I will definitely order from them again when their stock matches my needs. Right now I'm looking at the Hellebores in their catalog and I am sorely tempted....
Neutral Get_growing
Dallas, TX
(8 reviews)
September 8, 2010
Posted on September 5, 2010, updated September 8, 2010
In Feb, 2010, ordered Pennisetum 'Karley Rose' and Wisteria 'Blue Moon.' To say, as others have, that the plants were small, would be an understatement. What arrived was dormant (understandable), TINY pieces of plant matter. To their credit, I was given a refund on everything but the shipping. The customer service person said they would not refund the shipping because the plants might grow. To my surprise, they finally did begin to grow. I now (Sept) have grass that is smaller than I could purchase from any big box store. Worst of all, there is no Rose in the 'Karley Rose', i.e., it is another kind of Pennisetum, probably just plain old dwarf fountain grass/aka Hameln. So not only were the plants tiny, they were not the advertised species. Do not order from Heronswood unless you're a gambler and want to overpay for a surprise. These people need to get out of the business.
On September 8th, 2010, Get_growing changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

Quick email reply from company offering refund for shipping. I'll change my rating to neutral since all I lost was time. Kuddos to them for N/C, but I'd rather have had the plants I ordered.
Positive AllNative
Edison, NJ
(1 review)
June 18, 2010
Viburnum Nudum Brandywine is quite difficult to find. I ordered it from Heronswood on SUNDAY and received it, in good shape, on WEDBESDAY! As I was waiting those few short days, I emailed Heronswood about the order. They emailed back promptly and courteously. The plant is now in the ground, being watered, giving me much satisfaction.
Positive bluepeach
Wichita, KS
(2 reviews)
April 17, 2010
I ordered over $300 in plants from Heronswood and was very pleased with the order. All plants are thriving in the garden. Had I read the reviews before I ordered I may not have ordered, but I am very happy that I did. I will definitely buy more plants from them in the future. The Helleborus are fantastic (I purchased 6) they arrived larger than I expected and very healthy. The one tree peony was a little small and starting to dry out, but when I emailed them they responded that they would be happy to refund my money if I wasn't satisfied. It has been in the ground for 2 weeks now and it is looking very healthy. Very happy with the customer service.
Positive VA_GARDEN
Hood, VA (Zone 7a)
(31 reviews)
November 8, 2009
Had I read the reviews before I ordered I probably would not have done so, but I was very pleased with my order. The two hydrangeas I ordered were healthy and a nice size, and are thriving in my garden. The Beni Kaze Hakonechloa were very nice plants as well, good top growth and well developed roots.
Neutral RobertaJ
Coos Bay, OR
(3 reviews)
July 8, 2009
I ordered two live perennial sweetpea plants from Heronswood this past June. They arrived completely dried out, with most of the soil having fallen out of the pots into the loosely arranged newsprint that was the only protection provided for the plants inside the cardboard box in which they were shipped. Both seemed dead, but I placed them in water as instructed for a couple of days to attempt to revive them. This was without success. When I called Heronswood and told them about this, they promptly refunded my money for the plants, and suggested that I wait until Fall to reorder to ensure new stock.
In the same week, I received African violet plants from another vendor. These were very carefully and thoughtfully packed (insulated box, individually made paper cones to hold each plant and pot, plastic covering over the soil and pot to retain maoisture and soil, protective air-filled plastic cushioning), came via the same shipping company to the same address, and for the same s/h cost. They arrived in perfect condition.
I believe the problem with the sweetpea plants lay with the packaging. I emailed Heronswood's Customer Service over a week ago, recounting my experience with the other vendor and requesting a refund of the $12 shipping/handling charge. However, I continue to wait for a response from Heronswood to my email. Most unsatisfactory.
On July 9th, 2009, RobertaJ changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

Well - what do you know? This morning I received a response from Heronswood's customer service, apologizing for the inconvenience and promising to refund my shipping/handling costs. This was followed by a statement showing the refund to my credit card.
Better still, the following comment was in the response: "I am going to forward this email to our quality control service so they can look into it." Definitely a satisfactory solution, especially if the shipping/handling improves and plants arrive in an acceptable condition - which is what a customer expects in the first place. I guess that I will be able to check on that only if I order from Heronswood again!
Negative bmattingly38
Charlotte, NC
(1 review)
May 27, 2009
My sister ordered 3 plants from them and received 3 tiny broken and scrawny specimens. She immediately contacted them and did get a quick reply and a total refund for the plants. The issue we have is she received the refund for the plants and was left with a 12 dollar shipping charge for nothing useable.
Neutral Sharkey
Marianna, FL (Zone 8b)
(6 reviews)
May 17, 2009
Last month I ordered 4 clematis vines. One that arrived was a small liner, which is what I expected. Two were so tiny I would call them embryo's or almost bareroot. When I called them, they sent a replacement for one of the smaller ones, but when it arrived, it was the same size plant and definitely overpriced for what I received. I didn't receive the 4th one at all and no mention was made that they were on back order, out of stock, or anything, but my credit card was charged for it.

The reason I'm giving a neutral rating is that when I called customer service, they didn't hesitate to give me credit for the one that did not arrive. And they didn't hesitate to try to send a replacement. I will give them credit for that.

But I probably won't order clematis from them again because I want more mature plants. I could have gotten a liner from Lowe's for $6, instead of paying $15 at Heronswood.
Positive StellysPapa
Dothan, AL (Zone 8a)
(26 reviews)
May 14, 2009
I placed an order with Heronswood for 3 Indigofera Heterantha, back in February, got the 3 plants at the time said in the confirmation. All 3 plants are growing and have bloomed. I have since placed another order just this week. I have not had any problems with them thus far and will keep them on my positive list.
On May 14th, 2009, StellysPapa added the following:

I just now received notification from UPS, that my order has shipped. I only placed the order 2 days ago, and it has already shipped. Now, I call that very good service.
Neutral Cody_mi
Hart, MI
(4 reviews)
April 29, 2009
plants were healthy and of an exceptable size. however customer service is very much lacking. after attempting to order online several times, i ended up calling and was told it never went through. i tried to order over the phone and was told that they couldn't get them to go through and to call back later in the week. i called back and was told my order went through, after having it repeated back to me, apparently my original order went through four times. we finally got everything straighten out. i'll order from this company again but strictly on a probationary basis
Neutral plantshopper
Portland, OR
(7 reviews)
April 14, 2009
I just joined this site because for one thing I wanted others to know how HORRIBLE my order from Heronswood was. Moved from NY, always drooled over the old catalogue. Now I'm in Portland, new home, this Spring I have been planting like mad, been to some 25 nurseries in Oregon plus ordered online from 15 national sources. Heronswood was a disaster - tiny sizes, high prices. I asked that things be sent early as I have growlights, coldframe, the works, and wanted to get going with things, they arrived in March. The Ornamental Chinese Rhubarb was the size of a little mini 4" carrot at best, and never sprouted on a heat mat under lights. I emailed a complaint to them - nicely worded, about my efforts and concerns and the sorry state of the plant when it arrived - three weeks later no one has responded whatsoever. Now that it's mid April, though a little chilly this year, I was just out in the garden and realized that with everything planted and sprouted, not one of the Heronswood plants has shown any sign of life while every other companies plants are up. The items shipped ranged from tiny 'annual' size plants (priced as premium perennials) to tiny tiny tubers and small roots. I don't know if the order froze somewhere in a post office or storage, or they had a lot of winter damage and shipped anyway, but while every other companies plants in a zillion species have shown life and popped up in various levels of growth, the Heronswood plants are probably all dead. When you break a stem and there's no sign of green, and it's the ONLY stem, unlikely it's just a late sprouter (what every species I ordered is going to sprout in July or something?). I'm going to mail them a long letter and see if I get a refund but seeing as no one has responded in any way to my email inquiry, I have a feeling they're a hit and run money machine until word gets out what a joke they are - the catalogue is shiny and enticing but the service and merchandise is sub-par in a recession when they're lucky ANYone is shopping. Really a disgrace - and at those prices??? never again
On April 29th, 2009, plantshopper changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

After posting a complaint here they did get in touch with me. I've taken a full credit refund and I opted to pay for a replacement on the rheum which is supposed to arrive in a few days.

so for now I'm changing my review to neutral, we'll see how the plant does. Maybe they need to ship things later in the season? was still frustrating but I respect that someone did respond to me once I posted here. See this site helps!!

Negative mattysmom
Chicago, IL
(2 reviews)
April 11, 2009
I am just totally disgusted with this company! I have to cancel my order, after several attempts contacting them regarding a ship date, to try to cancel BEFORE order processed, I again requested to cancel my order in an email on 4/5 as it had not been shipped and my credit card had not been billed, no problem right? WRONG! I finally had someone contact me on 4/7/2009,stating that my order could no longer be cancelled as it had already been shipped. I asked if I could return it and in a short email was given the return address the next day. Still contacted company by phone to cancel as no charges on credit card- "can't, order shipped" Where is my order? Oh! It was sent out via UPS and billed on 4/10/2009-a full two weeks after my initial attempts by phone and email to cancel.This shipment was preventable- now I am going to get stuck with return processing fees as well. Nice! Their customer service is atrocious!
Positive JiminRingoes
Ringoes, NJ
(19 reviews)
April 8, 2009
I ordered one plant (Sorbaria sorbifolia 'Sem') and am very pleased with the plant I received. It was shipped bare root and arrived just when I requested. It's 16" tall, well-branched and leafing out beautifully. At $18.95 + S/H, I feel Heronswood gave me good value for my money. I'll order again.
Negative salviaddict
Rough And Ready, CA
(5 reviews)
March 28, 2009
This is a prime example of greed! I paid $52.00 for 3 plants (Charged for 3 day UPS, came UPS ground- 7 days). Received 2 pots (2") one was a Lobelia that was no bigger than a dime and the other was a string of very invasive OXALYIS! I immediatly called Customer Service and was told I would get a credit to my Visa. I was only credited $22.00. When I called back, suddenly my original order had disappeared and they had no way to tell what I had been charged (okay???) Surprisingly I receive an email that the third plant is now being shipped....I thought you lost my order?? AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS....IT IS NOT THE HERONSWOOD OF OLD, THEY ARE OWNED NOW BY BURPEE. ANY ONE CAN MAKE A CATALOG WITH PRETTY PICTURES, BUT YOU MAY GET A POT FULL OF WEEDS! SHAMEFUL!!
Positive Lazydaisy153
Lilburn, GA
(12 reviews)
March 26, 2009
I received my order of three extremely small plants on Monday. The shipping was high and plants almost miniscule. In previous years, Heronswood plants were top notch. What has happened???? I am very disappointed.
On April 9th, 2009, Lazydaisy153 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

I was contacted by Paul . Within a few days I was sent and new plant . This week I was sent three entirely new ones. Thanks for correcting this mistake and restoring my faith in Heronswood. Also thanks to Natalie in customer service for her wonderful followup.
Negative Bubba33
Gig Harbor, WA
(9 reviews)
December 29, 2008
Had a lousy experience with a customer service rep. Had ordered several years back a Corydalis "Blue Heron". It finally decided to grow and bloom this past year. (maybe it liked being moved to another location) However, it turned out to be a Trachystemon orientalis. When I called the company about it, I explained what happened and that I still had the name tag right next to the plant. The "grouch" I talked with said that there was no "Blue Heron" Corydalis-only a Golden Panda. I told her over and over that I still had the original order and name tag(stuck right next to the plant) that said Corydalis Blue Heron. She still insisted that I was wrong. Got no where with here and was very frustrated. Would love to order some more from them but after being told how wrong I was about the Corydalis '' Blue Heron'' , I am uneasy about doing so.

Great catalog for this coming year ('09). Makes me want almost everything. However---
On March 28th, 2009, Bubba33 added the following:

Fast forward to 2009 when I decided to again try to get the Corydalis, "Blue Heron" and also the "Berry Exciting" this time. I also ordered a Bergenia "Pink Dragonfly" -each plant costing 14.95. Received my Bergenia first. It is a tiny plant-about the size you would find in a 6 pack in local nurseries. The following week, I received two boxes-one the "Berry Exciting" which was very anemic looking and had many yellow leaves. The other box was three Eragrostis spectablis for a person in Alexandria, VA. When I called Heronswood, I asked what has happened to the "Blue Herons' that I ordered. She said that she would get them out to me right away. Later that day, (early part of the last full week in March) I received an e-mail from them stating that the "Blue Herons" were not going to be sent as they were not doing well. I needless to say was very disappointed but won't try again. They did say I could keep the Eragrostis spectablis (three of them) which I have no use for nor want. I will find homes for them. There would be no charge for them. So once again, I am very disappointed with this company. Tried three years ago to get the Corydalis, Blue Heron-as mentioned in the earlier write ups. Bad experience then as well. Get three plants, the best looking of thel five, that I did NOT order. Was offered to receive another "Berry Exciting" but have hopes that this one will perk up. They have an e-mail from me stating the condition in which it arrived I have done about 95% mail order from many companies. I will not try this one again. I am sorry that it left Kingston, WA where they did have great service and plants. Sold out to a "big name company and it shows. I have nothing against Burpee as I do get some seeds from them and had no problems. Heronswood--goodbye. You will only hear from me if the Berry Exciting and Bergernia do not grow.
Neutral toomanypotatoes
Perry, MI
(17 reviews)
December 28, 2008
I placed an order for a hakonia. It arrived looking rather spindly and sad and did not ever recover. It's possible I over watered it or planted it in the wrong sort of conditions (organic loam, kept fairly moist but not water logged, partial sun). It was kind of pricey though so I am waiting to see if I can find a local source before I try it again.
Company representative comment on December 29, 2008:

On Dec 29, 2008 9:05 AM, Heronswood Nursery added:

We are sorry to hear that one of our plants did not meet our high standards. If you can contact me with your name and zip code, we will offer you a prompt refund.

Negative jaimesummer
Fallon, NV
(1 review)
June 18, 2008
Very disappointed, customer service was terrible. Plants I ordered arrived a week late, (had to contact them for a tracking number) and had to inquire on a refund for my 2 day air shipping cost. No apology, just a refund for the shipping cost 2 weeks later, no follow up on the plants, while $150.00 dollars isn't a huge order, I was hoping for more from the company!
Positive luvblueridgemtn
(Zone 7b)
(13 reviews)
June 14, 2008
This is my first order from Heronswood Nursery and I am very pleased with the plants I received. I order 5/29 and received them on 6/12. They sent me an email to tell an exact date of delivery .They did not charge me until they sent out my order. The web site is wonderful. I will be ordering from them again.
Positive rince1wind
Evanston, IL (Zone 5a)
(2 reviews)
May 8, 2008
The catalog was beautiful; the packing was extensive but rather heavy and the shipping costs were high, as were the plant prices; the plants came in fine shape, although the two roses were very small. Heronswood called me to tell me I didn't need to ship airmail, and sconscientiously sent me a refund right away. I would buy from them again, something I was having trouble finding. I'd expect, however, that the plant(s) might well be quite small.
Positive fairygirl
Louisville, KY
(1 review)
April 28, 2008
I had originally placed a rather large order with Heronswood in early April but decided to go with a local nursery. So I e-mailed on April 9th to cancel my entire order. They did get back to me quickly and assured me that they had canceled my order. Fortunately, I kept that e-mail because just today (4/28), I get a notice from UPS Quantum View that my order from Heronswood has shipped. I immediately e-mailed Heronswood to ask if this was a mistake because my order had already been canceled. Again, service got back to me quickly apologizing for the mix-up and told me to refuse the order and I would be refunded. I double checked my e-statement and found that Heronswood had charged my card on 4/15 - still well after the order had been canceled. I may change my experience to neutral depending on how this turns out.

I've never refused an order from UPS so I'm not sure how that's going to go either.
On May 1st, 2008, fairygirl changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

I am changing my rating from negative to positive because of the customer service provided by Shannon. After I posted, she called me to tell me that she had called UPS directly to cancel the order and would be refunding my card. That's terrific customer service.
Negative daydream7
Hagerstown, MD
(2 reviews)
April 28, 2008
Ordered an evergreen tree and was sent something looking like a clematis. After emailing back and forth with customer svc who didn't know an abies from a cactus, I was told tree no longer available. Refund did not include any allowance for shipping. Therefore, I paid $9 for shipping 1 tiny perennial I also ordered.
Positive straight8s
Boise, ID
(3 reviews)
April 28, 2008
I found many great plants in the 2008 Heronswood catalog this year so I didn't hold back when ordering. The new website was easy to use as I selected my goodies and actually told you when an item was no longer available. When my order arrived everything was there (not usually the case in the past) very neatly packaged and looking very healthy. Three weeks later all the plants I ordered have put on substantial growth and look fantastic. As a keen gardener I am very happy.
Negative wesley4
Schertz, TX
(3 reviews)
April 15, 2008
Over $100 for around six scrawny terrible plants. Will not order again...
Neutral cutflowermama
Oakland, CA
(4 reviews)
March 29, 2008
Ordered a Styrax obassia, a hard to find tree that I love. I was very disappointed in the size of the tree--less than pencil caliper and only a few short roots. I'm giving this company a neutral instead of a negative because I didn't check to see what the description of the plant was before ordering. They should give an accurate description of tree/container size. Tree is alive, so maybe I can coddle it to grow into a visible plant this season.
Positive fleur_guy
Parma, OH (Zone 5b)
(4 reviews)
May 27, 2007
I recently purchased some Iris Variegata from Heronswood.
The plants arrived in a timely fashion, were well packaged
and fully hydrated. The only caveat was that one of the
plants arrived with "ratty" foliage and upon further inspect-
ion was found to have a stowaway slug. I did not contact
Heronswood as overall the plant looked healthy and I
assume it will overcome it's holiness.
Neutral phragper
Lilburn, GA
(2 reviews)
May 19, 2007
Ordered 6 hydrangeas-some of them 25.95 each. when they arrived, boy was I disappointed. Had to realy look to even see what little green there was. I immediately called them and they sent 2 to replace 2 of the 6 that were all but dead when they arrived. They were still extremely small(less than 1in in height). After a few days, I decided to contact them again, letting them know how disappointed I was with the size of these plants( the ones I got last year were 6-8 inches tall) They refunded my money.
Positive ladyisle
Bohemia, NY (Zone 7a)
(34 reviews)
March 22, 2007
I placed an order last week with Heronswood. I received confirmation via E-mail. The prices were reasonable and the shipping cost low.

I have placed many orders with the old Heronswood, with different degrees of success-which is understandable when one is trying exotic varieties.

My order is very small, but I'm taking a chance that I will be pleasantly surprised and then can order more plants that are on my wish list. I will give my official rating when I receive my order.
On June 17th, 2007, ladyisle changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

I received my plants 2 months ago and waited to give my rating to see how they would do since they hadn't put out a lot of growth yet. They are growing and seem to be doing fine. The pots were deep, so the plants had well developed root systems- more important to me early in the season than lots of top growth with puny roots.

Let's see how they make it through the winter- I lost almost an entire order of plants save one over last winter from another, (over-rated, expensive, and opinionated, if I may add), watchdog 30 nursery.
On June 17th, 2007, ladyisle added the following:

I received my plants 2 months ago and waited to give my rating to see how they would do since they hadn't put out a lot of growth yet. They are growing and seem to be doing fine. The pots were deep, so the plants had well developed root systems- more important to me early in the season than lots of top growth with puny roots.

Let's see how they make it through the winter- I lost almost an entire order of plants save one over last winter from another, (over-rated, expensive, and opinionated, if I may add), watchdog 30 nursery.
Neutral Strever
Hiouchi, CA (Zone 8b)
(10 reviews)
December 22, 2006
this company use to be one of the better nursery's around
now they take forever to ship expensive junk

On January 31st, 2007, Strever changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

only time will tell if the new company becomes what Heronswood use to be.
in their defense they have offered to refund my last purchase that turned out so bad
Positive Frank222
Washington, PA
(1 review)
November 17, 2006
I have bought from Heronswood many times and have made the journey out to Kingston to see the wonderful gardens. It was disappointing to see that Burpee closed down the gardens and moved the operations to Pennsylvania. But I decided to try them again, as they have many exotic species I canít seem to find elsewhere. I tried and ordered a couple varieties as a test and they were sent quickly and the quality was excellent, in fact, surprisingly this was the best quality of plants Iíve received from Heronswood. I will be checking out their spring open in April at their new location to see how their new gardens are.
Negative anamandy
Crown Point, NY (Zone 5a)
(2 reviews)
October 15, 2006
I ordered from this company twice and both times had negative experiences. The majority of the plants I've ordered quickly fizzled and died. And the customer service was very negative, accusatory and not helpful. If I did something that caused the problem I would own up to it and chalk it up to experience. But when you receive inferior plant material that's on it's way out when you receive it then it's not the customer's fault if it doesn't survive. I think this company should worry less about self promotion and more about customer service by offering it's customers good plant material in the first place.
Negative scross1
Trenton, NJ
(6 reviews)
October 12, 2006
I placed an order with Heronswood at the beginning of September for two trees. I waited until the end of the month to find out where my order was, I was told it was in the nursery getting ready to be shipped. Today I called and found out that my order had been cancelled because both trees were now unavailable. They told me that I should have received an email at the beginning of the week telling me this. Unfortunately, I never received this email and now will never trust Heronswood again. Since the ownership change, it is clear that this company has gone downhill in customer service, plant quality, and selection. I would recommend to anyone thinking about ordering from Heronswood to find alternate sources for your plants. Forestfarm, wayside, Greer gardens, mendocino maples, are all good options.

Negative Hudsongarden
Plainfield, NJ (Zone 6a)
(3 reviews)
September 26, 2006
I ordered 11 plants from them in early to mid September. The last week of September I receive a small box with two poorly packed plants, one of which I am not even sure is a living plant. In box is a list of the plants I ordered with nine of them marked CNS (Cannot supply). Meanwhile I missed weeks of planting time and not even an apology included. They also included no information about how to plant the plants etc like the reputable dealers like Bluestone do. Nine out of eleven not in stock...why anybody else would bother with this company is beyond me.
Negative Pixydish
Lakewood, WA (Zone 8a)
(13 reviews)
August 9, 2006
I live about an hour's drive from Heronswood and have visited it several times. I have bought many, many plants from Heronswood, both at the nursery and through mail order. In the past, I found their plants well tended and healthy, although small, and the selection was excellent during the days of the larger catalog. The last time I visited Heronswood was about 3 weeks before Burpee closed it down. I arrived with a list of about 17 plants that I was interested in purchasing, not including the hydrangeas. I had about 10 of those on a separate list. Alas, it was not to be. With dismay I went from greenhouse to greenhouse, looking for each plant, only to find that they either had sold out of it, or the plants they did have looked entirely unhealthy or small and undeveloped. There was not one single plant on my list available. I walked through the gardens I took note of special plants I loved, then checked for those, and, again, was disappointed. I did buy several cultivars of special hydrangeas. They were sold out of many of the more choice varieties, especially the ones I could not get anywhere else, but they did have some good stuff. I was very happy, however, that I was there personally to choose which pot to take, as there was wide variation in quality even among the same cultivar. I also bought a couple of plants that were not on the website or in the catalog. Again, glad I was there in person, because I would never have known these were available by looking at the website. I left there very disappointed. My plan was to go back to Heronswood this month when my MIL visits from Tennessee. We always go there together during her visits. If I had known they would be closing I would have bought more, even taken a chance on some plants that didn't look too good in the pots. But if their selection of plants and the condition of the plants they had is any indication of what they are now carrying, I will certainly pass them up.

Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top