Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Victoriana Nursery Gardens'

  Company Profile  
Victoriana Nursery Gardens

Nr. Ashford, Kent, TN25 4DG
(United Kingdom)

Phone: 01233 740529

Catalog Order Page: Hyperlink

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 1
This company offers a variety of gardening supplies and plants.

  Feedback History and Summary  
12 positives
1 neutral
10 negatives


Negative KSun
United Kingdom
(1 review)
September 9, 2020
I bought 4 herb plants and I received them in unsuitable packaging - in a big cardboard box with shredded cardboard inside to supposedly keep them in place. The plants were bruised and one came out of its pot during delivery and there was soil everywhere in the box.
Three of the plants had brown or bruised leaves - one of these lost its leaves quickly and another turned out to have Septoria. The 4th one - the one which had come out of the pot, dried off and died.
I notified the company immediately about the condition of the delivery and the brown spots. I subsequently contacted them repeatedly related to the Septoria plant. They refused to refund or or replace any plants and they insisted that they would put things right if they thought I had a problem but they thought everything was ok, even as I had been sharing pictures of the dead and diseased plants. I had also requested second opinions about the Septoria plant from other sources.
This is in line with all other reviews commenting on bad quality plants, zero ownership and negative, borderline rude, attitude form the seller.
When I sent them the last set of pictures and asked them if they were proud and happy with what they delivered, they stopped responding.
I would not recommend this company.
Negative reh1
United Kingdom
(1 review)
March 7, 2020
I ordered some Chillis seeds in January 20. I set about germinating them in my usual, very successful way (enclosed within a slightly damp and folded tissue, placed within a plastic bag on a warming pad at 20-30C). Sadly only 2 out of 10 (in one pack) germinated but then did not thrive, and 6 out of 14 of another pack germinated with 5 thriving. I contacted Victoriana Nursery (in the UK) to inform them but received a most unhelpful and defensive response from a Serena Shirley. In terms of time (not money) I should have just stopped at that point, but regrettably responded back under the belief that "Feedback is a gift". I subsequently received an even more sarcastic response from a Serena Shirley. This person seems to figure in most if not all negative responses about this Nursery. My advice to anyone is "not to shop" with Victoriana. If things are not perfect, do not expect an apology or replacement. Save the bother and choose a more customer friendly company. You have been warned.
Negative Mahzi
Yelverton ,
United Kingdom
(1 review)
May 3, 2018
First time ordering from this company. Unfortunately the plants arrived very poorly packaged causing some damage to the plants with stems broken. Contacted the company to explain how the plants had arrived and was asked to send photos to show the condition of the plants, which I did.
I received a rather sarcastic email from Selena Shirley. Would happily have returned the plants and bought them from elsewhere, but that would mean paying for return postage and I was not prepared to waste more money. Customer service leaves a lot to be desired and I will not be using or recommending this company in the future. I noticed, reading other reviews, that this same person has difficulties with their customer service manner, perhaps other management members need to look into this as it is not good advertisement for their business. Other nurseries make an effort to be helpful and rectify difficulties, very strange!
Negative marknheln
United Kingdom
(1 review)
June 28, 2017
So bad, plants sent on time, 100 periwinkle , planted cared for as per website and RHS instructions, we were very hopeful.
Given the time to settle care of Victoriana website advice,
7 plants thriving 93 plants failed.
these were bare root plants.
Contacted Selina Shirley.
Oh my goodness , we did everything she asked, photos, dug the soil down 2 foot to check what was underneath, answered all her question including how long our other plants ( not periwinkle) have been in situ.
Offered to send soil sample.
Serena Shirley so far has been unable to take any responsibility and shows no good will , in fact has sent a clear message that the customer is at fault.
She enters into protracted debate in which she has no intention of stepping up to the plate for her products failing.
We have contacted RHS about this nursery and its customer service including Serena hanging up the phone on us.
Serena is unhelpful and has told us its our fault not hers that the plants have failed.
We have researched our rights on WHICH and sent this

to Serena

Thanks for completing our faulty goods complaint tool

Your complaint letter

We've used the information you provided to create a faulty goods complaint letter for you to send to Victoriana Nursery E: [email protected].


Dear Sir or Madam,

REFERENCE: Victoriana Nursery E: [email protected]-Order Number 481537 100 periwinkle plants

I purchased the Order Number 481537 100 periwinkle plants from Victoriana Nursery E: [email protected]. At the point of purchase I paid £123.45.

The Order Number 481537 100 periwinkle plants is not of satisfactory quality. We bought 100 plants in April, followed the instruction to the letter, 7 have survived, the other have not survived , these were bare root plants and having given them over 2 months to settled they still have not flourished or in some cases appeared above the soil. We believe the batch was faulty and therefor contacted Serena Shirley who is proving very difficult..

The Consumer Rights Act 2015 makes it an implied term of the contract I have with Victoriana Nursery E: [email protected] that goods be as described, fit for purpose and of satisfactory quality.

As you are in breach of contract and and I've owned the product for less than 6 months and a previous attempt at repair or replacement has also failed, I am within my statutory rights to ask for a full refund of the original cost paid.

I await confirmation that you will provide the remedy set out above within 14 days of the date of this letter.

Yours faithfully,


What do I do now?

This letter has been created using the information you entered when using our faulty goods tool. Please make sure it accurately describes the issues you wish to refer to the retailer before taking things forward.
1.Send the letter to Victoriana Nursery E: [email protected] via email or post.
2.Give Victoriana Nursery E: [email protected] 14 days to respond.
3.Don't be fobbed off! Under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 it is the responsibility of Victoriana Nursery E: [email protected] to put the situation right. Don't let them tell you they can't help as you're out of warranty or blame the manufacturer.
4.If you've asked for a repair or replacement but it will take either unreasonably long or put you at a significant inconvenience, you're entitled to request a refund.
5.Similarly the retailer can refuse your requested remedy in preference for another if they can prove your request is disproportionately expensive or not possible.
6.If you've owned the Order Number 481537 100 periwinkle plants for longer than 6 months it's your responsibility to prove that the fault was there at the time of purchase.
7.If Victoriana Nursery E: [email protected] fails to respond or reach a satisfactory settlement with you, you can either go to the manufacturer (if the Order Number 481537 100 periwinkle plants is under warranty) or take your complaint to an appropriate ombudsman.

Go back to the Faulty Goods Tool

still she is trying to wriggle out of it, so we have sent a request for a deadlock( see which website) , then we will go on to the Ombusman,
watch this space , I hope this helps someone.
Negative frogisland
United States
(1 review)
December 7, 2015
Purchased a number of plants at beginning of year, some substitution without notifying me. Seeds to be dispatched later in year but not received. Overall, very poor communication, quality of plants not particularly good and generally dissatisfied with the whole experience. Not good enough this day and age, plenty of choice elsewhere. Cannot recommend.
Company representative comment on December 8, 2015:
On Dec 8, 2015 2:39 PM, Victoriana Nursery Gardens responded with:

The reviewer would appear to be from the US, which is strange as we do not supply to outside the UK.
We are not aware of any similar situation as described and so it is impossible for us to comment further other than to say we believe this reviewer has us confused with another firm.

Positive Jacqui09
United Kingdom
(1 review)
April 19, 2015
Ordered some seeds and tomato plants a couple of weeks ago which were delivered promptly. Good value and some more unusual varieties available. Victoriana sells plug plants as singles, good if you want a variety of different types but don't want to buy in bulk. This is the problem with some of the larger online nurseries- you can only buy half a dozen or so of each. So great for the small garden or if you want to try out something new without it costing the earth. They do discounts for bulk buy as well.

The plug plants arrived in excellent condition and potted on they're doing very well. 100% germination success rate with Spanish Flag seeds. Very pleased :)

Good communications from Victoriana. Will definitely buy again and recommend to friends and family.
Company representative comment on December 8, 2015:
On Dec 8, 2015 2:41 PM, Victoriana Nursery Gardens responded with:

That's what we like to hear!
We try hard to provide the best quality and service possible - comments such as your indicate we are achieving that.
Thank You!

United Kingdom
(1 review)
April 6, 2015
Ordered 3 x nut trees, arrived on day stated in excellent condition, trees are of very good quality and are already showing buds, excellent value for money. Will definately use Victoriana Gardens again.
Company representative comment on December 8, 2015:
On Dec 8, 2015 2:41 PM, Victoriana Nursery Gardens responded with:

That's what we like to hear!
We try hard to provide the best quality and service possible - comments such as your indicate we are achieving that.
Thank You!

Positive katydurrant
Bury St Edmunds,
United Kingdom
(1 review)
March 19, 2015
Chanced upon Victoriana Nursery Gardens website when I was searching for borage plants. Love the look of their website and their great range of products at very reasonable prices. Ordering was easy and the plants arrived safe very quickly. I was most impressed by their efforts to minimise waste: when I ordered online, I was asked to choose whether to receive instructions with my plants - the website has all the information needed, so extra printed instructions weren't necessary; the plants arrived in a cardboard box, cushioned by straw instead of bubble wrap. Great to be able to support a smaller company in this day and age. Will definitely use them again.
Company representative comment on December 8, 2015:
On Dec 8, 2015 2:42 PM, Victoriana Nursery Gardens responded with:

That's what we like to hear!
We try hard to provide the best quality and service possible - comments such as your indicate we are achieving that.
Thank You!

Positive Mozee
United Kingdom
(1 review)
February 26, 2015
Searched everywhere for a wild bilberry bush. Found one other company who sold them,but unfortunately, only sold them in threes. Not only did victoriana nursery gardens sell them singularly they were extremely efficient and I ordered online on the 24/2/15 and the shrub arrived,well packed and healthy on the 26/2/15. Well done to the team,will certainly use you again.
Company representative comment on December 8, 2015:
On Dec 8, 2015 2:42 PM, Victoriana Nursery Gardens responded with:

That's what we like to hear!
We try hard to provide the best quality and service possible - comments such as your indicate we are achieving that.
Thank You!

Negative Wowards
United Kingdom
(1 review)
August 24, 2014
In a few words: liked the look of the website and ordered plants, but they never arrived. I was charged about £10 at this point. When I followed up three months later, Serena was not that helpful to be honest, said one item had grown slowly and order would be with me in two or three weeks. So I waited. Followed up again, now it was some other items that were not available, this meant they would not arrive until next spring. I would have waited at this point, especially as they said they'd send the rest of the plants before my holiday (which didn't arrive either due to debit card changing in the long time between order and now). I got no feeling of them going the extra mile to make sure I got some plants during the growing season... And the apologies were thin on the ground. Now just waiting for card to be refunded as decided to cancel and go elsewhere. What has been good is that Serena responds quickly to emails, but Serena, if you read this, please know that a sincere (sounding) apology goes a long way! I understand plants grow at different rates, but keep your customers informed and I am sure they'll be patient rather than frustrated and annoyed...
Negative FlimFlam
United Kingdom
(1 review)
July 8, 2014
We ordered a number of different plants from Victoriana Nurseries and were very disappointed in their quality.

Two crabapples arrived in a terrible state - limp, dry, blackened leaves - packed only in shredded paper surrounded by black plastic. Lavenders and wild plants were miniscule, some already dry and half-dead. Some were very late and this was without any previous warning.

Selina was very defensive when this state of affairs was reported to her and just did not want to know. Indeed, she seemed to think it very unreasonable of us not to think it was acceptable that three lots of delivery costs should be applied to an order requested as a single delivery according to her own delivery predictions.

We are setting up a wildlife-friendly sensory garden (a charity) and have bought lots of plants from multiple sources. All - literary all - have arrived beautifully packed and are thriving, except those from Victoriana. One of the poor, sad crabapples will definitely survive after some intensive care, the other is touch-and-go. The tiny plants are almost all they almost were when they arrived.

Be warned.
Positive hedge142
United Kingdom
(1 review)
June 27, 2014
I ordered some ilex crenata plants many months ago and was very pleased with the quality on arrival. Initially they all thrived but sadly, due to ill health on my part a few of the plants located in quite a dry area have withered due to insufficient watering. I will be in the Ashford area in the near future and intend visiting the nursery to obtain some replacements. I will of course be browsing at other plants while there!
Negative oxfordcleaver
United Kingdom
(1 review)
June 5, 2014
Money taken for herbs purchased but nothing delivered. Queried months later and then had to query a month later asking for a refund. Plants dispatched on the day I asked for a refund. They went against their own T&Cs and provided a service bordering on contempt. I am upset to say that I would not trust this company at all.
Negative Beauclere
United Kingdom
(1 review)
February 1, 2014
I ordered 6 fruit trees from Victoriananursery and they were delivered within 5 days with minimal damage, so no problem there. However one of the pear trees has a truly awful graft, it is gnarled, scabby, blackened and with holes and gaps in it. Not the clean join that I would expect. Serena Shirley tells me it is perfectly healthy and the tree will thrive but if it does not come into leaf in the Spring she will replace it. My concern is that the tree will struggle and never be a healthy throughout its life. I don't want to wait and replace it at some time in the future, I'm 69 and may not have the time! However because she says it's healthy and I've sent her pictures of it ( a candidate for Specsavers methinks!) she refuses to exchange it or refund me. So that's the way to avoid your responsibility - tell your customer a bad product is good and there's nothing they can do about it.
Positive Zany1
Isle of Arran,
United Kingdom
(1 review)
August 27, 2013
First class company. Very down to earth and sensible. I've had a couple of orders with them, and despite the logistics of getting live plants all the way out to us, they've managed to do it. Of course some of the plants looked exhausted after their journey, but once planted out, they soon thrived. Personally, I prefer this. There's nothing more disappointing than buying a pristine looking plant, that just withers before your eyes because you can't provide the absolutely perfect conditions it was raised in. There's just something about the Victoriana plant range that just reeks of hardiness. And that's saying something when planted out in Scotland! There was an issue of a missing plant which was addressed without hesitation. As we were both understanding of unavoidable delivery costs, we went with mutual patience and waited to address the issue on our next order, which worked out just fine. Victoriana Nursery's communications were great. It always amazed me that after a full day of running the nursery, they still managed to get e-Mails out after 9:00pm. I look forward to further dealings with them.
Positive whp
United Kingdom
(1 review)
January 13, 2010
I have used Victoriana a few times and have always found them polite and helpful, and that they supply good quality plants. I also like the way the plants tend to be packed in compostable materials and not loads of plastics. Would be happy to recommend them.
Positive vstock
United Kingdom
(1 review)
September 14, 2009
I just wanted to let everyone know about the fantastic service that I received from Victoriana Nursery when I purchased a Ruby Anniversary rose bush. I ordered by telephone and spoke to a lady who was very helpful and polite. I received the rose bush in time for my Mum & Dad's anniversary, beautifully looked after and very carefully packaged. Even though it is going into Autumn, the rose bush is very healthy and even had some buds on it. My parents love it and can't wait to see the first flower which they plan to press so that they can keep it. I truely had wonderful service from them and I will not hesitiate to recommend Victoriana Nursery to friends and family.
Negative Sgreener
United Kingdom
(1 review)
June 23, 2009
My experience with this company is best demonstrated by our email communication. The derisory way in which I have been treated as a customer since has left me upset, angered and £20 out of pocket. I feel it is extremely important that other potential customers should be for-warned, especially since the website promotes a friendly, family run company.

...From: Serena Shirley, Victoriana
Sent: 18 June 2009 11:23
To: Greener, Stephen
Subject: Order 71940

Further to our telephone conversation about your rose, I have investigated the matter further and unfortunately I am not able to offer any further refund, we did as we were requested and dispatched a healthy rose. We are sorry that you were not happy with the plant that we sent but we cannot have flowering bushes all year round and at the moment most of our rose bushes do not have flowers on them.

The returned rose has been put back with our stock and will be used to fulfil a future order as we know that it will continue to grow into a beautiful rose.

----- Original Message -----

From: Greener, Stephen
To: Serena Shirley, Victoriana
Sent: Thursday, June 18, 2009 12:47 PM
Subject: RE: Order 71940

Iíve noticed that the reference in the email is for Order 71940. Our invoice no. was 26117. Are we even talking about the same plant?

Assuming that we are, I have every intention of pursuing this further in whatever way necessary. I believe it is important that other potential customers of yours are aware of the appalling customer service to which they will be treated should they fail to share your Ďprofessional opinioní.

Please note that your own trading terms and conditions do not stipulate in any way that the issue of a full refund is dependant upon your own opinion on the health of a plant.

ĎAll our stock is covered under a seven day guarantee meaning if you are unhappy with your purchase from us simply return it to us within seven days for either a replacement or full refundí

Secondly, as I have stated, when I spoke to one of your colleagues she confirmed that on receipt of the returned plant, you would either send a replacement, or would issue a full refund. I specifically know that this agreement included all carriage costs, because I had questioned whether we had to send it back ourselves and would the cost of this be covered. If this is not your policy, then you need to make all of your staff aware, since I would never have agreed to pay for its return.

There are several personal reasons why my mum would not wish to cause any aggravation through this unfortunate incident. I know she was upset enough that she had to tell me that she wasnít confident of the plants survival. However, I do not feel it necessary to dwell on this or provide some kind of sob story when what we are dealing with is an issue of basic customer service.

I am hopeful that this matter can be resolved to our satisfaction without me having to take any further action. Should you require, I am happy to send you a copy of the post office receipt for 9.58 from the plantís return. This provides a total of £19.58 which I do hope can be refunded to my account without further delay.

Yours sincerely
Stephen Greener

From: Serena Shirley, Victoriana
Sent: 18 June 2009 20:20
To: Greener, Stephen
Subject: Re:

From your description and the plant we had returned, I do wonder whether it is the same plant!

We have issued a full refund on the products that you ordered, if you purchase something from the high street and returned it you would not expect to be re-reimbursed for your petrol and car parking. In the light of your opinion of the rose you returned we assumed you would prefer a refund over a replacement.

In the circumstances I am prepared to offer a further refund of £2.05, being the difference between the enhanced specific day delivery charge your Mother requested and our standard charge, but unfortunately there if nothing further we can offer.

From: Greener, Stephen
To: Serena Shirley, Victoriana
Sent: Friday, June 19, 2009 5:13 PM
Subject: RE: Order 71940

I have attached the original fax sent by my mother on May 28th to ensure complete clarity, since in your response below you have been unable to confirm that we are discussing the same plant.

Your comparison to high street purchases is irrelevant to the point of being legally redundant. I must repeat my previous statement that your own member of staff
confirmed on the phone that, on returning the plant, the full refund offered would include all carriage costs, including those costs incurred by us for its return.

If this is not your company policy then your staff member should not have led me to believe otherwise. Additionally, your full trading terms and conditions do not include any such caveats to your returns policy. I note that responsibility for covering carriage costs only sits with the customer in respect to cancelled orders.

It transpires that my mother took a photograph of the plant on arrival. She did not envisage that we might actually be required to use it. Please let me know if you would like me send this onto you via email. I would also ask you to please double check the details of the order with your staff, notably Maggie and Karen, who my mother spoke to and who were both able to provide a decent level of customer service - although one of them admitted that she could not verify the quality of the plant that was sent, since Ďthe boys pick them outí. I reiterate that your quote of order 71940 does not tally with out invoice no. 26117 , so it would be in both our interests if you would invstigate this discrepancy.

Although I remain staggered by the way that you have so far dealt with this matter, I remain hopeful that this may give rise to a satisfactory settlement of our £19.58.

Should we continue to disagree, please advise so that I may instruct my solicitor, whose colleague routinely deals with such petty small claims.

Yours Sincerely
Stephen Greener

From: Serena Shirley, Victoriana
Sent: 23 June 2009 09:39
To: Greener, Stephen
Subject: Re: Order 71940

Having now spoken to both Karen and Maggie as requested they both confirm that did not and cannot authorise refunds. My offer for the difference between the enhanced delivery service and the actual cost of £2.05 still stands but nothing further as the plant was in a perfectly good saleable state.

Order 71940 does relate to Invoice 26117 so is all the same order.

Should you wish to send the photo then you are welcome too, but we do have the plant here and have seen that but we will happily look at the photograph as well should you wish.

I would deal with any claim that you may wish to pursue.

Stephen Greener sent Tue 23/06/2009 12:50

Is there anyone else at your company to whom I can speak since you are clearly now too embarrassed or stubborn to back down?

For the record, the simple fact is that a member of your staff told me we would have our carriage costs reimbursed. Whether or not they had authority to do so is irrelevant and something for you to deal with internally. If you refuse to believe this, then you are calling me a liar. A fact which you admitted in our last phonecall shortly before hanging up on me. I have never been more upset or treated so badly.

Stephen Greener


Positive thebairns
United Kingdom
(1 review)
February 10, 2009
found victoriana nursery garden on google as was looking for plants, ordered whispering willows which arrived quickly and packed really well, as they had to come up to edinburgh. they were just what i wanted and cant wait to plant and enjoy them. there website is really good and colourful, will definatly use them from now on, and will be telling one and all about victorianas nursery garden. 10 out of 10 for a lovely choice of plants. x
Positive Carl_Meachem
United Kingdom
(1 review)
December 20, 2007
Dear Victoriana Nursery,

Thank you for being better than your word!

My order came quicker than expected. Thank you. Iíll aim to order from you again.

May you all have a meaningful CHRISTmas and a great New Year.

Carl Meachem

Positive ATTILLA
United Kingdom
(1 review)
October 11, 2007
This is my second year of trading with this company. The seeds I have bought have been reliable and productive. I have now added plants to my order and they have been delivered promptly, well packed and of excellent quality.
I recommend this company for both quality and variety of products.
Positive boonannie
United Kingdom
(1 review)
July 25, 2007
I found this nursery via Google, looking for some vegetable plants that another nursery had let me down on.
Some of the things that they sell I have not seen for sale elsewhere and I got rather carried away with choosing.
I ordered a couple of things which were available and some which are to be sent in November. This information was clearly stated unlike some other sites where this is contained in the small print.
I received my order within two days by courier, well wrapped and in good condition. The instructions were excellent and the written information included will be invaluable over the years. I wish I had the money to buy all of the interesting things this company sells, allowing for my cold, exposed situation, I am confident the information they provide on the web site will help me make the best choices. This may be my first experience of Victoriana but it won't be the last.
Neutral xxxNatashaxxx
United Kingdom
(1 review)
December 17, 2006
My daughter bought an Almond tree for my birthday, Even though it was ordered early November it didn't arrive until after my birthday which is 26th Nov. OK not a big deal as they did say that the trees would be available at some point in November, but.... when it arrived it was wrapped so tightly that 6 of the branches had broken. (only has about 12 branches)

I've left the branches in place in the hope that they will somehow magically *stick* :)

Anyway, in conclusion, not terribly happy with the service so have left a neutral.
Company representative comment on February 28, 2007:

On Feb 28, 2007 6:56 AM, Victoriana Nursery Gardens added:

Leef fall in Autumn 2006 was late; we do not lift and dispatch plants until the leaves have naturally fallen (which we consider best for the long-term health of the plants and ultimately the customer) and consequently our Autumn dispatches started late which we consider 'beyond our control'.

Had the customer requested a specific delivery date, every effort would have been made to adhere to this.

Similalry had we been notified at the time about the damage we would have been happy to refund or replace - no notification was made directly to ourselves.

Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top