Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Swan Island Dahlias'

  Company Profile  
Swan Island Dahlias

Mailing Address:
PO Box 700 Department I
Canby, Oregon 97013 (United States)

Phone: 1-800-410-6540
Fax: (503) 266-8768
Paper Catalog Cost: Free (mini catalog); $4 full c

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 1
Negative 0 1 1
This company specializes in:

  Feedback History and Summary  
58 positives
5 neutrals
8 negatives


Displaying the 50 most recent comments:

Negative khadie
Montgomery Village, MD (Zone 7a)
(7 reviews)
January 20, 2021
Ordered more than once from this company--slick operation. They leave these long boilerplate replies here as if they care and they do-- once they get your money they will never give it up.

They send the world's tiniest tubers. Dahlias were always so easy. I always got the best show from other company's dahlias...but not their nano dahlias.

Oh and when they don't come up and you want a credit, a replacement, NOT even a refund-- suddenly you are speaking to a boiler room sale toughie. They grill you. They want you to dig up. They ARE so suspicious and this makes me suspicious because cheaters think that others are trying to cheat. All this over dahlias, which grow like weeds. Big glorious beautiful weeds.

sometimes tempted by their catalog. How could a plant lover not be? But I remind myself-- you won't get the picture with their measly tubers. And if there is a problem, which there will be, because spindly tubers have no cushion to survive, this "family business" has its guarantee--a guarantee to screw the customer.
Company representative comment on January 20, 2021:
On Jan 20, 2021 8:41 AM, Swan Island Dahlias responded with:

Good Morning, I am a bit surprised by your negative post today. It sounds like you are unhappy with the size of our tubers. However, all U.S. Growers sell single divisions and tuber size is directly related to the genetics of the variety and a growing season, which can make smaller or larger tubers overall. We care deeply about our customers and the beautiful dahlias we grow and enjoy sharing the love with others. I would love to further help you, if you wish to give us your name. In regards to our guarantee, we stand behind every dahlia we sell, but do ask for customers to help with identifying the issue if there is a failure, by digging up the tuber and sending photos if needed, per our guarantee. ([[email protected]]) Every reply to an email is replied by one of our staff personally. I hope you have a beautiful growing season.

Neutral doghill6
Central Point, OR (Zone 8a)
(36 reviews)
August 2, 2020
I am making this comment neutral because I've purchased tubers in the past and have no complaints about them. I received an email about their new website and thought I'd take a look. I was dismayed to see that they offer Bayer 3-in-1 Insect, Disease and Mite Control. This product contains a neonicotinoid. These pesticides have been implicated in bee declines and new information links them to songbird die-offs. Dahlias are fairly easy to grow, and dousing a plant in a number of pesticides for a single problem is unsound no matter what the product contains. I emailed the company and received an empty response about offering their customers choices and promoting bee safety. I will not purchase tubers from them again.
Positive balsamfir
Jay, NY (Zone 4a)
(7 reviews)
March 31, 2020
I placed an order for them in late Fall 2019. Despite increasingly complicated spring of 2020, received order on time and complete on March 2. And since I was busy, I couldn't plant the tubers right that instant, but did eventually get them potted up. Much to my surprise, every single one of the tubers had shoots starting; they were all firm and good quality. Previous attempts at ordering dahlias from other suppliers, and even buying tubers that I picked myself have not been nearly as successful. If I can only manage to treat them correctly, I expect healthy plants. Very satisfied with Swan Island.
Negative dawnkrusi
Nevada City, CA
(1 review)
November 26, 2019
I spent $117 buying dahlia tubers from Swan Island, and most came up, but a few did not. The three tubers which did not come up were expensive, two for $19.95 and one $24.95 ( which I have found can be found cheaper on other sites). When received, some of the tubers were extremely small, but I hoped for the best. When I contacted Swan Island about the failure to grow at the end of California’s long growing season, they wanted me to dig up the tubers and send a picture! First, they had been in the ground and watered for five months, and most likely were rotted and gone. Second, I plant my dahlias in my vegetable garden, as there is good soil and lots of sun, but I do not label plants as I find labels ugly, so where do I dig? The company refused to replace the tubers, and treated me like I was lying,which made me very angry. If the tubers were $5.95, I would not have even complained, but I had paid $65.00 for three tubers which never grew! I am an idiot for paying so much, but I am an extremely good gardner with fifty years of experience, and the tubers did not fail to grow due to any failure on my part. And I am angry the company does not stand behind their product. I will never order from this company again.
Company representative comment on November 26, 2019:
On Nov 26, 2019 9:49 AM, Swan Island Dahlias responded with:

Good Morning dawnkrusi, Thank you for posting your review. We are a family that has been growing dahlias for over 90 years. We offer outstanding service and beautiful dahlias. I would love to help you further with your failed dahlias. We do offer a 100% guarantee, however, we do ask for help from our customers to understand what went wrong during the growing period. We do ask that all failures and concerns be reported during the growing season or by October 1st at the latest, which is our cut off date for the season, which is stated online, in our catalog, and on your invoice. However, yesterday, November 25, 2019, when you called us after the cutoff date, we tried to assist you had you been willing to help us by digging, which we needed you to do. In your circumstance, my staff member asked you to dig up the tubers and send photos so we could help you further with what went wrong, which you refused to do since you didn't even know where they were located. This helps us understand the issue and figure out what happened to the dahlias. We do request this when customer's have failures, in no way did we think you were lying, however, we do have a policy and cutoff date and needed you to help us to be able to extend our guarantee. All dahlias should emerge within 3-5 weeks after planting. I understand you don't label them, however, all of our tubers are stamped with the variety name directly on the tuber. If you had tried to dig the failed tubers up and they hadn't rotted you might have been able to see the name or letters on the tuber to determine which one failed. We do ask that our customers keep track of where they planted the tubers in the case of a failure you can help us determine the reason for failure, which can include rotting, rodent damage, weather damage, insect damage, etc. I am so sorry that you are unhappy with our policy and service. I wish you would have called us this summer during the growing season when you didn't see them, so we could have helped you further. We were open 7 days a week during August and September and would have been more than happy to help you further, but again, we would have asked you to dig and figure out why the tubers failed at that time, which helps us with quality control. I wish you a beautiful holiday season.

Negative Tangerin
Fremont, CA
(6 reviews)
May 12, 2019
They do carry a good variety of dahlias. But all 3 tubers I received are ridiculously small - literally just one finger. And finger means just the size of my finger. And unfortunately only one came up. The other two tubers simply rotted. Meanwhile all other dahlias (from other nurseries) planted in the same bed are growing like crazy.

Even the Home Depot sells bigger, healthier tubers than they do. I really feel like an idiot for paying much higher prices with them thinking they might be better because they specialize in dahlia. No they are not.

So if you really want that one variety that can not be found anywhere else, maybe give them a try. Otherwise for those common varieties, seriously, buy from the Home Depot.
Company representative comment on May 13, 2019:
On May 13, 2019 9:37 AM, Swan Island Dahlias responded with:

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that you have had failures with your dahlias you have received from us and that you are unhappy with our product. As they are perishable items, we have a 100% guarantee on all of our gorgeous dahlias. So many things can happen from when they leave our farm to growing in yard - this is why we guarantee them. I hope you have contacted us by phone toll free at 1.800.410.6540 or email at [email protected] to let us know that you had trouble with these dahlias so we could send out replacements for you immediately – as we absolutely stand behind our beautiful product.

We are family owned and operated and have been in business for over 92 years. We strive to offer only top-quality single division dahlias that are 100% guaranteed to grow and be as absolutely beautiful as shown in the catalog, on the website, and social media. All of our tubers that we sell and ship out are the top quality – largest – grade A – which each variety produces. All dahlias grow from various shapes and sizes of tubers and all will be different, just like people. Even though the tuber size and shape can vary, all will grow to full potential with beautiful plants and blooms and produce many more tubers for you for following seasons. But we do most certainly guarantee them to grow and be absolutely gorgeous for you. We want you to be satisfied with your dahlias that you receive from us. If you would rather a refund than plant them and see their beauty and very much superior quality than those imported dahlias purchased at big box stores - please do send them back to us right away. Please contact us at [email protected] if you are going to send them back so that we know to watch for them.

We dig up and replant our entire 40 plus acres of dahlias every year and the tubers that we replant are 1/4 to 1/2 of the size of the tubers that we mail out to our customers – they are the “seconds” that we cannot sell, and they grow to be absolutely beautiful. Our fields are in full bloom by the first week in August every year.

Again, I hope you contact us with the names of any dahlias you had trouble with so that we can send out replacements. Or if you choose not to keep them and see their beauty, please let us know they are being sent back right away.

The Gitts Family
Swan Island Dahlias

*Nation’s leading dahlia grower for more than 92 years*

Positive OregonRosa
Lyons, OR
(1 review)
October 1, 2018
Late 2017 I placed my first order with Swan Island. I received my order the third week in April 2018 but waited about a month to plant. I planted eight of their Half Pint and three of Cooper Blaine. I received one tuber as a free gift. They took a while to come up this summer, but they all did and I am very happy with the result. It is October 1st and I still have blooms opening. I will definitely order from them again.
Negative DeerPhobic
Gig Harbor, WA
(8 reviews)
July 25, 2018
Ordered quite a few dahlias last fall. 14 I think with 2 free. I was dismayed when i received my order this spring. The tubers were small and there were no tags. The names were stamped on the tubers and i couldnt read most of them. Planted them in several beds, most of them in my main long perennial border. Only 2 have come up. Contacted the company as they advertise a 100% guarantee. Finally spoke to someone on the phone just now. They expect me to try to dig up my perennial bed to find these tubers (and who knows whether even if i could remember exactly where they are planted, there is anything there that hasnt rotted or withered away?) so i can take photos to send them. First of all, i am disabled and it is a great effort to plant but i make it because that is what i love. Second, as they didnt come up, i dont even know where i this crowded bed they are. And, it is hot outside and i have been ill this summer, so it is overwhelming to even think of doing this. I am so disappointed with the product i received and then the poor customer service. What a waste of money and effort to plant. Will never purchase from this company again.
Positive Ladybug97031
Hood River, OR
(8 reviews)
July 13, 2018
Nice tubers, beautiful catalog and web site. Good customer service too!
Positive LarryEB
Corvallis, OR
(6 reviews)
June 14, 2018
I have ordered dahlia tubers from Swan Island Dahlias many times over the past few years and I am always pleased with both the quality of their customer service and the tubers I receive. Whenever a tuber fails to produce a plant, the company is quick to send a replacement or a credit for the following year. The tubers are clean, healthy and always well marked with the name of the variety. Their hybridization program produces new varieties each year that I always look forward to seeing.
Neutral architectmom
San Francisco, CA
(5 reviews)
July 27, 2017
Pro: Very reliable company and tubers very robust looking when they arrive. This is my second year ordering dahlias from Swan Island. I ordered about 10 tubers last year and another 10 this year.

Con: Small plant size and also fewer blossoms when they emerge. This year I also ordered from k. vanBourgondien and Longfields Gardens. The Swan Island tubers looked the healthiest of the 3 mail order companies but 2 months later, some of theirs are the smallest plants, both in diameter of plant and height. (planted in the same area, under the same sun and soil conditions). Swan Island sends one big, well marked tuber. The other companies sent tuber clumps - some of which were small and dried out. But those sad looking clumps of tubers produced much healthier looking first year plants.
Positive karenmuse
Jackson, MI
(5 reviews)
October 4, 2016
I have ordered dahlia tubers from Swan Island Dahlias for several years and have very few complaints. The tubers have always been healthy, viable, and clearly labeled. A couple of times the descriptions in the catalog (regarding plant height, bloom size, etc.) have not been totally accurate, but for the most part are. I do recommend this company.
Positive tbaas
Sheridan, WY (Zone 4a)
(1 review)
May 15, 2016
Last season, I purchased 12 or so dahlia tubers from Swan Island. They were well packaged and the tubers were stamped with the name of the variety. I was impressed by the freshness and overall quality of the tubers. They all produced.
I will be buying again.
Positive Dreinhardt
Lexington, KY
(1 review)
August 7, 2015
I ordered a dozen dahlia tubers from this company and all have produced large, healthy plants with many blooms. The packaging and tuber marking was very good. Delivery was on time. The catalog is beautiful and informative. This was a perfect online ordering experience.
Positive mikeandflee
Saginaw, MI
(4 reviews)
June 10, 2015
So far so good, all the Dahlias I ordered last year sprouted and grew nicely, I grow my Dahlias in pots and over winter the pots in my basement. All the Dahlias have sprouted again this year and are growing vigorously. Two of the new varieties I ordered were already sprouting and seem to be growing nicely. Great company.
Positive dw81
Alamo, CA
(2 reviews)
October 10, 2014
I ordered 45 dahlias this year. Several tubers didn't grow but I have to say Swan Dahlias is terrific in getting replacements out quickly and the people there are very nice to work with. I had problems with the dahlias growing initially and am still waiting for the last plant to show it's first blooms, but the dahlias are stunning and I love the numerous variety of plants they offer. I suspect next year the plants will come out of the ground quicker. Overall I'd say Swan Dahlia is worth working with.
Positive Petuniarabbit
Scottsdale, AZ
(5 reviews)
August 13, 2014
The dahlia tubers I ordered arrived quickly and were very healthy. Having never tried dahlias in the desert, I'm pleased to announce almost all have grown. My first flower buds are coming out. I am anxiously awaiting the blooms!
Positive cottelpg
Hamilton, OH (Zone 6a)
(6 reviews)
June 22, 2014
They have a very large selection. The tubers I ordered arrived in great shape, properly packed and labeled. All have sprouted and are looking good.
Positive eolivas103
Las Cruces, NM (Zone 8a)
(17 reviews)
May 17, 2014
Ordered 8 Dahlia's from them (believe one or two were bonuses). Everything was very professional and I received my order exactly as they said I would. Every last one I received this Spring is already growing and all appear very healthy. Looking forward to seeing their beautiful blooms.
Positive Sequoiadendron4
Lititz, PA (Zone 6b)
(26 reviews)
April 30, 2014
I ordered 7 different Dahlia tubers. All came as described and in good condition. They were shipped on the date requested and by the time I planted them, all were sprouting. I look forward to seeing them bloom in the summer. Some of the tubers were tiny so if they don't bloom, at least they can grow and I'll have them for next year. Also, the prices were pretty fair IMO.
Positive virginiarose
Portsmouth, VA (Zone 8a)
(64 reviews)
April 22, 2014
I ordered 7 Dahliah a few months ago and was given a bonus dahlia for a total of 8. I did an internet chat and was trying to add a couple of white ones but the order had already been sent to the wharehouse. The rep. did offer me half price shipping if I wanted to do a second order so I did. I received the dahlias a few days ago and was glad they waited for good weather and did not ship at the normal time because even zone 8 still had freezing temps. I am very happy with the service and the packing. The tubers do look freshly dug, they were shipped in dry peat moss, they look great!
Positive Sherilou
Panhandle Gulf Coast, FL (Zone 8b)
(23 reviews)
April 11, 2014
I'm very happy with Swan Island Dahlias. I looked everywhere for "Pooh Dahlia" and they have it! Shipping and handling is really inexpensive compared to other online nurseries. Great customer service and fast shipping.
Negative comgmail
Pequannock Township, NJ
(1 review)
August 10, 2013
last year I ordered a dozen tubers from swan island island. I planted in may of this year and by june only four or five very weak shoots appeared. when I contacted them they made prompt replacements, most of which were duds. never have I had poorer dahlias and next year i will be back to my trusted source, HOME DEPOT AND AT CONSIDERABLY REDUCED COST. submitted august, 2013
Company representative comment on August 12, 2013:
On Aug 12, 2013 8:49 AM, Swan Island Dahlias responded with:

Hello comgmail,

I am sorry to see that you have posted a negative review for us. Even after you reported failures and new dahlias were sent to you free of charge. We absolutely take care of our customers and have for over 87 years. We always stand behind our product and help our customers. We want your dahlias to be as beautiful for you as they are for us. We would have helped you even more had you chose to contact us and not just left us a negative. We are sorry you have chosen that path. I wish you the best of luck with your future yard and garden.

Have a beautiful day!

Jennifer Gitts-Eubanks
The Gitts Family
Swan Island Dahlias

Positive absinthe27
Albertville, MN (Zone 4b)
(7 reviews)
July 29, 2013
Ordered several dahlia tubers this spring and all sprouted. Our spring came really late, so no flowers yet since they weren't planted until the middle of June, but they should be blooming in the next several weeks. Can't wait to see the flowers! Would definitely order from Swan Island again.
Positive Dahlia_Gardener
Myrtle Creek, OR
(4 reviews)
February 4, 2013
I was first exposed to Swan Island Dahlias by my grandmother, who lived in the Salem area but has since passed away. She had gone to the dahlia festival and purchased a beautiful pink variety (which she didn't label) that grew and bloomed profusely. So I went to the dahlia festival to see the gardens for myself - what a treat! It was the beginning of an addiction (grin).

I have been ordering from them for the last three years. During that time, all but five tubers (out of about a hundred) grew and were true to type and form. Some didn't like WHERE they grew, but they did grow, and I learned where in my garden dahlias like to be planted. During this learning period, I have only lost one tuber, Canby Centennial, to rot in a really wet spring past the guarantee period in it's second season, the year before last. Last season I had dahlias blooming vigorously through the second week of November when I finally had to cut them back (and it felt like I was murdering them, they were so healthy). That's a pretty good record, in my opinion, and speaks to the quality of the stock that Swan Island raises.

I have, on several occasions, added to or adjusted my original orders, and the customer service staff has been unfailingly kind and professional.

The three times a tuber failed within the guarantee period, and the two times a tuber was not true to the catalog picture (again, out of about 100 tubers ordered), I told customer service as soon as I realized the problem, and Swan Island replaced the tubers with no questions asked in my next season's order. To me, considering the size of their operation, that represents a committment to excellent customer service.

I have been very happy with every ordering experience I have had with Swan Island Dahlias, and I can't wait to get my tubers this year!
Negative 4raftin
Portland, OR
(1 review)
August 24, 2012
Last September I bought 33 tubers (to be shipped in March 2012) to a tune of $209.45. The tubers shipped as promised and all looked healthy.

However, it is now the end of August and only 5 of those 33 tubers have poped up above the soil.

When I contacted Swan Island Dahlias about the problem (via e-mail) they asked what the tubers looked like now. So after alot of effort (I am disabled) I dug up 10 of the 33 and discovered that most had rotted away, the two that I did find appear to have rotted from the inside out.

Needless to say I am rather unhappy. That was large sum of money to invest in something I got only limited return for.

Will I buy from them again? Probably not, I might expect some tubers not to sprout...but 28 tubers is very bizarre.
Company representative comment on August 25, 2012:
On Aug 25, 2012 10:13 AM, Swan Island Dahlias responded with:


I am so sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your dahlias that you purchased from us for spring 2012. We are truly disappointed that you have a posted a negative feedback regarding this matter before contacting us and giving us the opportunity to help you with these dahlias. We absolutely guarantee them to grow and be beautiful for you. There are many growing conditions or reasons that could cause the results you are seeing. And would have loved to have helped you with your dahlias...

There is still plenty of growing time left for us to help you with them if you would like - please contact us at 1-800-410-6540.

The Gitts Family
Swan Island Dahlias

America's leading dahlia grower for more 85 years.

Positive b07ias
Eureka, CA
(14 reviews)
July 4, 2012
I ordered fourteen varieties from them this year. I had a good experience with their customer service when I wanted to change my order and all fourteen of their tubers have sprouted. I would highly recommend this company. Their stock is the best I have seen since I started this dahlia kick.
Positive pattygreengenes
Lansdale, PA
(14 reviews)
April 12, 2012
Posted on August 7, 2011, updated April 12, 2012
I placed a small order for $25 with Swan as well as one with Easy Gro..Two of the Swan tubers grew but one is not a color I ordered. The other two never sprouted and the one that did sprout is very small. (You get one tuber per variety so it is not surprising that they are not gigantic the first year) I only mention Easy Gro because the ones I ordered from that company are flourishing so I do not think it is my horticultural skills that are the problem (40 yrs gardening).

The web site is good, easy to manage and to order and shipping was prompt.
On April 12th, 2012, pattygreengenes changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

I received two tubers today to replace the ones that did not sprout last summer so I am changing my review to positive based on their customer service. Will update again at the end of the summer.
Company representative comment on August 8, 2011:
On Aug 8, 2011 8:17 AM, Swan Island Dahlias responded with:

Good Morning!
Did you take advantage of our guarantee and let us know of any trouble that you had with your order? We absolutely guarantee all of our dahlias but cannot help you unless we hear from you. We have been the leader in the dahlia world for more than 85 years and definitely take care of our customers. Thank you!

Happy Dahlias!

Jennifer Gitts-Eubanks
The Gitts Family
Swan Island Dahlias

Positive idanou
Provincetown, MA (Zone 7a)
(9 reviews)
October 5, 2011
I ordered 7 tubers from Swan Island Dahlias last winter. I had to get a hold of customer service a couple of times to make changes to my order and they were very helpful. This spring the tubers came in good shape. All varieties safe for one sprouted, I got a replacement for the one that didn't sprout in the same season. When I dug out the "failed" tuber, I found it was in good shape so I planted it in a different location and it sprouted as well. That variety and the replacement didn't do terribly well (the replacement bloomed very late and very modestly) BUT I take responsibility for that. The rest of the plants are stellar. Massive amounts of blooms and in the exact colors ordered. This year I placed an order for 8 more varieties. I am sure the service will be just as good. And one last thing... out of all dahlia mail order companies I've explored, Swan Island has the most user friendly and well executed website. One minor thing I'd like to mention is that the selection could use more show winning varieties but I'm sure they choose the varieties they carry very carefully.
Positive russ9673
Denver, CO
(10 reviews)
June 11, 2011
I LOVE THESE PEOPLE!!! I ordered 3 dahlias in late March. I asked for them to be shipped ASAP as I needed to get them started in my greenhouse quickly. Many companies offer a "quick ship" option, very few actually deliver. Swan Island I am pleased to say absolutely does! My tubers arrived 4 days after I ordered them. The tubers were large and well formed. Two of them sprouted immediately and have grown to enormous size. Sadly the third did not sprout, it did not rot, it just did nothing. I went to their website and read their guarantee and ready for a fight (sadly I have been driven to this by the poor service at other companies), I picked up the phone. The lady I spoke to was courteous and appologized quickly. To my amazement she said that they would ship me a new tuber that day. Sure enough, 3 days later it was waiting on my front porch! Thanks Swan Island for restoring some of my faith in on-line plant retailers!
Neutral Chuck1933
Springfield, MO
(4 reviews)
October 31, 2010
Posted on August 28, 2010, updated October 31, 2010
I ordered two collections during the early winter of 2009, and then I received a note that they had suffered some freeze damage and would be making some substitutions when my order shipped in the spring of 2010. The bulbs looked good and all of them sprouted.

As these 25+ dalihas began to bloom, the bloom size was 2-3 inches in diameter, occasionally 4 inches, mainly orange and purple, which were supposed to be 4-7 inch blooms. We are now at the end of the summer and this has not changed, although some of the plants have reached 4-5 feet in height.

As best I can tell, these varieties would be rejects anywhere else. I am giving them a negative based on the quality of blooms and the lack of variety in collections that were supposed to all be different.
On October 31st, 2010, Chuck1933 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

The dalihas sprang to life with the cooler weather in late September and October up until a killing frost 10/29/2010.
I just dug the bulbs and found all had multiplied profusely. Although I am going to stick to ordering bulbs closer to home from now on so that they are more acclimated to Missouri weather - and the bloom size on most was smaller than I had anticipated - since they all lived and multiplied a negative rating is probaly too harsh.
Company representative comment on August 28, 2010:
On Aug 28, 2010 5:28 PM, Swan Island Dahlias responded with:

Dear Chuck1933,

I am so sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your dahlias that you purchased from us for spring 2010. We are truly disappointed that you have a posted a negative feedback regarding this matter before contacting us and giving us the opportunity to help you with these dahlias. We absolutely guarantee them to grow and be beautiful for you. There are many growing conditions or reasons that could cause the results you are seeing. And would have loved to have helped you with your dahlias...

There is still plenty of growing time left for us to help you with them if you would like - please contact us at 1-800-410-6540.

Jennifer Gitts-Eubanks
The Gitts Family
Swan Island Dahlias

Positive leemiller38
Stockton, CA
(2 reviews)
August 30, 2010
I received some substitute Dahlias when I ordered this year because of the freeze damage they suffered. I started them in the green house to grow early and to check on viability. After planting them out in the garden I was rewarded with earlier blooms than I obtained on the Dahlias left in the ground from other years. Every tuber but one was viable. I have had great service from this company. They replace any tubers that did not grow with my next order. My only regret is that I am too far away to easily get to their Dahlia festival, which I am sure is a great event for Dahlia lovers like me.
Positive w1108j
Lawrence, KS
(2 reviews)
April 19, 2010
Just got my dahlia tubers last week - mailed exactly when they said they would be mailed. They were the largest, best packaged dahlias out of the 5 places I ordered from this year. Stamped with the name of the dahlia on each one. Only one was sprouting, but saw eyes on all of them. Came with a growing guide, coupon, and catalog. So far so good!
Positive meplant
kelso, WA (Zone 8a)
(8 reviews)
April 17, 2010
My first order with this company and it was awesome...The tubers were so clean and healthy...I planted them right up...I will order from them again.
Neutral veryzer
Sycamore, IL
(5 reviews)
March 6, 2010
Posted on March 5, 2010, updated March 6, 2010
I initially ordered three dahlias, all of which arrived in great shape. I tried, however, to add a fourth to my order, and was told it would be no problem so long as I confirmed the addition. I did so, but the shipment was sent without said addition. When I sent an email questioning the shipment, I never received a reply. So, in short, what I received was as promised but I hoped for better communication (and action) on the subsequent addition.
Positive sydb50
Lake Oswego, OR
(1 review)
November 4, 2009
In all my years of dealing with Swan Island Dahlias, I can conjure up only ONE negative......I didn't care for the t-shirts for sale at the annual Festival this year!

In all my years of planting Swan Island tubers, I've only had one bad bulb. That was 15 years ago, it rotted in the ground, (probably my fault as it was my first experience putting them in the ground). A phone call to the company, and a replacement was on the way! The replacement was perfect, blooming all summer long.

Every year I swear to myself and my husband I will NOT buy more tubers at the festival!.......I can't wait for my shipment to arrive this spring, in perfect condition, ready to gift my garden with multiple new shades of coral colors!

I dug up my tubers yesterday and am now preparing to divide and share them with others. I have run out of space in my sun garden area, and am going to have to dig up and move my roses to make room for the new tubers. I can't wait for spring!

I LOVE everything about Swan Island Dahlias.......the farm......the people....the color.....the festival. Everything but the t-shirts this year.

A faithful fan!

Sydney Anderson
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Positive tsakiri
Greece (Zone 9a)
(1 review)
July 24, 2009
This has been my second year with this company and i have been extremely satisfied. Both times the tubers arrived (from the US to Greece!) in perfect state. They were fresh, clean, with multiple eyes (some of them had already sprouted) and very carefuly packed. Their catalogue takes your breath away and is NOT misleading. So far every different dahlia has grown exactly as to the description (size of flowers and colour). All the plants have sprouted and grown pretty quickly and flowered even more quickly. Last June one of the plants was almost dead, i e-mailed them asking for advice and i got a response within hours. This year the same tuber was added to my order for free, without any further mention from my behalf! Highly recommended.
Positive LVC1028
Syracuse, NY
(2 reviews)
June 3, 2009
I am brand new to the dahlia world and this was my first time ordering from Swan's and it has been a great experience. I ordered 15 tubers and all but two sprouted when I started them indoors. I contacted Swan and they immediately sent me replacements, which sprouted very quickly. As I said, I am very new and I had a couple of questions that I couldn't find the answers to so I emailed Swan to ask for help. They quickly responded and were very helpful. I am a very pleased customer--very healthy tubers plus great customer service. I highly recommend this company. I hope to order more next year. I only wish my yard were bigger so I could fill it up with dahlias!
Positive greathorse
Gladwin, MI (Zone 5a)
(4 reviews)
April 18, 2009
Recieved my order a few days ago and the tubers were in excellent condition with eyes already visable.
This is my second year ordering from Swan Island and will definately order from them in the future. A++++++ rating in my book!
Positive Tabacum
Mantua, OH (Zone 5a)
(16 reviews)
March 30, 2009
3/29/09.....Received my shipment on time from this
company...tubers were well packaged and in healthy
condition....paid extra $3 to have them shipped early
so I can start them early and take cuttings off the plants
prior to planting them....this is my third year to order from
this company....have not been disappointed in the tubers
I ordered....Maryanne, zone 5
Positive Pinkdoor
Portland, OR
(2 reviews)
September 10, 2008
I have been buying my tubers from Swan Island for years and always have great success. I also am fortunate enough to live near enough to attend their festival so I can see what I want in the fields as well as done up in bouquets.

Every year I bring flowers to work and I convert at least one new person to dahlias just by the beauty of the display.

I find the customer service at Swan Island to be great--they are pro active and listen to what I have to say. On the rare occasion when I have asked for a replacement they take care of me with no fuss. Regarding the negative comments--I think it's unfair to rate a company negatively but not give them a chance to try to resolve the issue. I suppose the unreasonableness of that speaks for itself.

Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top