PO Box 96 Route 7
Charlotte, 05445 (United States)


The Vermont Wildflower Farm, is a famous destination for wildflower gardeners, with 6 acres of wildflower gardens. Established in 1981, The Vermont Wildflower Farmís extensive Seed Shop offers premium proven wildflower seed mixtures for all regions of North America, several specialized mixtures, plus wildflower seeds of over 100 individual wild perennial and annual flowers. We are the largest wildflower seed center in the Northeast. Whether you wish to plant a patch of black-eyed susans or a whole acre of a wildflower mixture, we are here to help! Choose the mixture for your region, shop over 100 individual species, check our hand-gathered and rare species. Our prices are unbeatable for the quality wildflower seed we provide. We offer a full color catalog of our products! Contact us to color your world with wildflowers!

posted on July 14, 2007



Displaying the 11 most recent reviews

On Jun 18, 2018, BlueRidgeMtnGrl (4 reviews) from Penrose, NC

We have bought seed mixes from them several times and were pleasantly surprised by how many flowers we had the first year. I plan on ordering more this fall as well as trying out their perennials, which are on sale right now.

On Nov 25, 2014, Bullock903 (2 reviews) from Mission Hills/Vandenberg Village area, CA

Posted on November 25, 2014, updated November 25, 2014 Posted on November 25, 2014, updated November 25, 2014 I have ordered plants, bulbs, seeds for Many yrs. So my order from Vermont Wildflower was not my first but from them my last. When ordering online you see they're 100% Wild About It guarantee. If you click on it for more details you see a reference to their 100% guarantee. What it doesn't mention in the see more about it is you have 3 days to contact them. My order came while I was out of state due to family death. This company has the shortest contact time I've EVER seen. They don't show this in their initial guarantee info. I have been dealing with an excellent company Dutch Bulb from the Netherlands. So stupidly I felt comfortable with Vermont Wildflower. Dutch Bulbs online catalog gives shipping date right below item your ordering. They also give 14 days to contact them. I had 2 problems I encountered were resolved and received in 3 days from the Netherlands. So be aware Vermont Wildflower's happy bright 100% Wild About it guarantee has the shortest complaint time I've ever come across. Thankfully it was a fairly small order so lesson learned.

On November 25th, 2014, Bullock903 added the following: I made an error with the name of the company I recommended. It is Dutch Gardens. They have an excellent variety of unusual shade Periannuals and Excellent customer service and guarantee.
On November 25th, 2014, Bullock903 added the following: The other great site is Bulbs Direct they carry unusal Periannuals and have Free Shipping!
Company representative comment on November 25, 2014:
On Nov 25, 2014 2:24 PM, Vermont Wildflower Farm responded with:

We are sorry this customer is disappointed, however, she contacted us 25 days after receiving her Amaryllis bulb order to state that she had intended them to be Christmas gifts and that she didnít want to take the time or work for them to grow. Our product pages and two prior e-mails to her explained that these are shipped as 1 Large Premium bulb and the product pages give the time they take to grow, planting instructions and expected bloom time. We always work with our customers but her explanation for holding live bulbs for 25 days after receiving them does not qualify for a refund. She stated in her e-mail that she didnít want a credit or additional plants as a replacement, which we would have been happy to offer had she let that be an option. Concerning our guarantee we believe her statement that we have the shortest contact time in the business is misunderstood by this customer. We have a very extensive guarantee for every item we sell. Our plant guarantee is very lenient giving up to 1 year if a plant fails to grow but if your shipment arrives damaged, you change your mind or any other issue, we like to know within 3 days. It really shouldnít take you any longer than that after receiving the shipment if itís damaged, you changed your mind etc. Holding bulbs for 25 days before letting us know Ďthat you donít feel like planting themí is understandably unacceptable to receive a refund. We have enclosed that portion of our guarantee below for your reference.

Portion of Vermont Wildflower Farm's Plant Guarantee: Any order for live plants or bulbs that you have an issue with, changed your mind about or arrives damaged, you must contact us within 3 business days for a resolution! If your live plant or bulb fails to grow - just contact us within 1 year, we'll replace it or refund it! Live plants and bulbs are non-returnable but if you contact us within the allotted time frames depending on the situation we are more than happy to work something out - always!

(As a Note: Dutch Gardens guarantee isnít any different other than the fact they allow 14 days for returns)

This customer would not have even met their return time frame.

On Apr 26, 2014, dogshed (4 reviews) from Stockton, MO

4/26/14 Rec'd my order. I ordered 5 Hibiscus. I am very pleased. Came priority mail, in a box, each plant labeled, in their own bag with soil. Instructions included. Weather delayed shipping a couple of times. So without the weather involved, order came on time. They have a nice selection of Hibiscus at very competitive prices( I looked around a lot). I had to email them a couple of times. Their response was within the same day. I will order again.

On Apr 6, 2013, reeve1 (55 reviews) from Plano, TX (Zone 8b)

Just received my order and was pleasantly surprised. The Lupine and Foxglove were a little on the small side but the Astrantia and Artemesia Silver Mound were large and everything was healthy and in great condition. Items were well packaged and cared for. I will definitely order again. Thanks so much!

On May 24, 2012, jknittel (3 reviews) from Hastings-on-Hudson, NY (Zone 6b)

I've been purchasing from Vermont Wild Flower Farm for several years now. My wild flowers a blooming and I had to give them a positive review. First off I get endless compliments about my flowers from my neighbors. I have also used them for daffodils and have had great results. I shop around on the Internet before purchasing and their prices are good. Their website is also very helpfull, filled with great tutorials. the site is well run, and they have always been quick to respond in my experience. On the one occasion a mistake was made they fixed it quickly.

On May 22, 2012, stormcloud (21 reviews) from Yonkers, NY

Posted on April 24, 2012, updated May 22, 2012 Posted on April 23, 2012, updated April 24, 2012 Posted on April 23, 2012, updated April 23, 2012 First time ordering from this company. Called a week ago and left message as instructed. No return call. e-mailed the next day and still no response. e-mailed again this morning and waiting to see if I get a response. I would like to know when my order will be shipped. I do understand that this is their busy time of year but you cannot take someones money and forget about them ! They immediately charged my credit card as soon as order was placed. I will update or downgrade this comment when I see what happens next.

On April 23rd, 2012, stormcloud added the following: I am changing this comment to POSITIVE...seems we had some cyber communication lapse and I did in fact hear right back to todays e mail.
On April 24th, 2012, stormcloud changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following: Lack of response due to cyber confusion. Diana responded to new e mail immediately. Lovely place I will continue to buy from them.
On May 22nd, 2012, stormcloud added the following: I am so glad to have found this company....I love doing business with them and plan to continue ! They are so friendly , nice and eager to please ! Purchases are coming up beautifully in spite of the miserable Spring weather we have had here in NY !

On May 10, 2012, iwn48 (1 reviews) from Burke, VA

I'm impressed with you folks at Vermont Wildflower farm. My plants arrived yesterday and even though the mailman had to push, crunch and tug to get the package into my mailbox, the plants were in great shape. I love your very unique packaging around the dirt part. I'm putting you guys on my list of places to order because of the plant quality and wonderful packing.

On Feb 25, 2012, lrm678 (1 reviews) from Milton, VT

I have been ordering now from this company for 5 years. I order wildflower seeds, plants, bulbs and more. THIS IS the company to order from. I have loved everthing about my experience with them, from their outstanding customer service to the wonderful wildflowers, plants and bulbs I have been growing from them. They ship extremely quickly, everything is well packaged and I have never once had any type of problem. I love the free gift with every order too! I highly recommend them over any other company I have ever purchased from. I have been so impressed with the Vermont Wildflower Farm.

On Nov 4, 2011, CarolineFR (1 reviews) from Arlington, MA

I received a coupon offering 50% off fall bulbs in July. I ordered a few kinds and appreciated the price. One item I was particularly looking forward to were Autumn daffodils. My order arrived in two shipments - one in August and one in MidSeptember. The daffodils arrived in the second shipment. When I went to plant them I read the packaging and it said for zones 7-11 and to plant them in July or August. I checked their website and it said for zones 5-11. I called and asked and was assured that I could still plant them and they wold germinate in 3 weeks. They said they would speak to the packager about correcting the labelling. I planted them during this warm fall in late September and they never came up. It is now early November and nothing. I am now concerned that nothing will come up from the other bulbs I purchased and I have wasted money. VT Wildflower never said anything was incorrect on their end and blamed the bulb packager completely. I will probably not order from them again.

Company representative comment on November 4, 2011:
On Nov 4, 2011 1:09 PM, Vermont Wildflower Farm responded with:

This customer e-mailed her concerns this morning 11/4 at 11:00 a.m. She received an acknowledgement e-mail from us at 11:03 am that her complaint would be forwarded to the appropriate person in charge for rectification today. She signed up and left a negative review on Dave's Garden at 11:15 am.

We are very surprised that a negative feedback has been left on Dave's Garden without allowing us a chance to respond. Our company is virtually complaint free and we stand behind everything we sell. We work very hard to insure that every customer we have is a happy customer. As explained to the customer when she originally called in September with her concern, our Dutch supplier had explained to us that they made a package description error in both the planting time and zones. We stood by their explanation and asked that she go ahead and plant. In fact, these did not even arrive from our supplier until the 2nd week of September so their explanation seemed reasonable to us since the packaging stated plant in late July. We also let her know at that time that if they did not grow we would certainly replace or refund as we guarantee all of our products. We sold over 100 packages of Autumn Daffodils and we have not received any other complaints so we are not sure what happened with hers. We planted these at the farm in zone 5 and all have bloomed with the exception of one bulb. We strive to be complaint free and we work very hard in assuring that everything we sell is of superior quality and that every single one of our customers is a happy and satisfied customer. We are sorry this customer felt she needed to go ahead and leave a negative feedback before we had a chance to rectify the situation. We usually respond to any e-mail within a few hours but were not even given 15 minutes. We have e-mailed this customer offering the following resolution: - replace the Autumn Daffodils with any item of equal value of choice - credit on account for later use or a refund of the purchase price of the daffodils.

On Apr 28, 2011, PinkMagenta (1 reviews) from Rochester, NY

PREPACKAGED BULBS... I was very disappointed to receive bulbs I could have gotten at any run of the mill garden shop. Their website pictures make one think of 'fresh' tender bulbs (they do say they are from Holland and the United States)...however, the 'premium' bulbs I received were merely 'fine'. Brochure states "Vermont's Famous Wildflower Farm" -- perhaps bulbs are not their specialty... Fast Shipping though! Good sale prices! (however, this doesn't change the fact that if I had purchased at a non-sale time I would have been buying mediocre PREPACKAGED bulbs at a 'premium' price). Bright -- appealing website! As for me, I will stick with Brent and Becky's Bulbs. Sale or no sale -- they sell truly "premium" bulbs!

Company representative comment on April 28, 2011:
On Apr 28, 2011 9:37 PM, Vermont Wildflower Farm responded with:

I'm sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the bulbs that you ordered from us this spring. We strive for complete satisfaction with all our products and services. We affiliate with one of the oldest and most respected growers of bulb products in Holland. I apologize for any disappointment you have experienced. We have had only wonderful comments about our bulb products. We offer a full guarantee on all products and stand behind what we sell, so we are happy to offer you a full refund or replacement, whichever you prefer. We certainly appreciate your feedback regarding the bulbs as well as your positive comments! We strive to be complaint free so we hope there is something we can do to correct this situation and earn your continued business. Please feel free to contact us at our toll free # 1-855-846-9453 or by e-mail to [email protected] so that we can rectify this to your satisfaction. Sincerely, Diana B. (Owner)

On Oct 17, 2008, aebridges (1 reviews) from North New Portland, ME

I ordered about $50 worth of wildflower seeds from Vermont Wildflower Farm in Fall, 2007. The largest portion of the order was their partial shade mix. I spoke with a very helpful customer service representative and received good advice about Fall seeding in my area (Western Mountains of Maine). I received my order ahead of expected seeding time and watched the weather forecast, then seeded my wildflower patch in November just before a snowfall, forecast to be followed by a cold weather period. The timing turned out to be great, and the bed was covered with lots of snow until about mid-May. Seedlings began to sprout very quickly and we've seen a good variety of the annuals bloom, plus a couple of the biennials and perennials have bloomed this first season. The growth of young perennials looks great and I'm looking forward to seeing the outcome in 2009. I will order from Vermont Wildflower Farms again and recommend the company to others wanting to start a wildflower garden.

» Read the rest of the reviews