Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Brighter Blooms Nursery'

  Company Profile  
Brighter Blooms Nursery

Mailing Address:
4808 Campobello Dr.
Monroe, North Carolina 28110 (United States)

Phone: 1-800-399-9514

» E-Mail them
» Visit their website
» Follow them on Twitter

Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 2 2 3
This company is affiliated with Fast Growing Trees (formerly Empress Tree Nurseries, Paulownia Supply &

This company offers a variety of plants.

This company specializes in:

Other helpful information:

  Feedback History and Summary  
72 positives
9 neutrals
61 negatives


Displaying the 50 most recent comments:

Negative nozpa
Berwyn, PA
(1 review)
April 6, 2021
We bought a Korean Lilac tree last summer. The website CLEARLY said 1 year warranty if the tree does not flower. When the tree arrived (3 weeks late btw), it looked in bad shape. I called them right away as it looked to be a bit rotten. They kept pacifying me saying keep watering, the tree was ok. They kept telling me on the phone, it was covered for a year. It's been 9 months and this spring, i got absolutely NOTHING coming out. Its a dead tree. I call customer service. Lo and behold, there is no such 1 year warranty all of a sudden, when i need it finally.
Negative Chloe_E
Lafayette, CA
(1 review)
March 22, 2021
Ordered golden bamboo and eceived this plant 3 weeks ago. It with stalks that were either limply on the brink of death like mentioned in other reviews or just dead - I staked it and was focused on reviving it, so I didn't pay attention to the black-ish nodes. After about a week, the plant had perked up but the nodes had clear signs of black sooty mold. I cleaned it off and inspected it but didn't see anything too out of place, so sprayed it with isopropyl alcohol just in case but mostly let it go since there was a fair amount of signs of new healthy growth. Looked again today because the nodes were covered in black sooty mold with a sap-like substance yet again and after trimming the stalks significantly, lo and behold - mealy bugs under half of the sheathes. I wish I had paid attention to the other reviews that mentioned black mold all over their plants as well.
Negative brksmith
Ann Arbor, MI (Zone 6a)
(1 review)
May 24, 2020
They said all of the right things in their website, and none of it was true, unfortunately. I spent over $200 for a 6 foot flame thrower redbud. Wish I had checked here on the Watchdog list before ordering. The tree was in worse shape than any nursery I've ordered from. Almost all of its leaves died in the first few days after receiving the tree (was there when it arrived, it was a temperate week, and watered it immediately) it dropped most of its leaves in the next few days. I planted it that weekend, but as soon as I opened the plastic around the roots/burlap/compost I saw the reason. Yes, they didn't grow it in a pot, and yes, they grew it in burlap, which should be a positive. But they didn't do any root pruning during it's growth, and to ship it they chopped all of the main thick roots, and there was no fine root growth left. Two of the branches on this small tree were rubbing together with one of them growing back into the center of the tree. On their website, this company said that they were 'customer focused', that they had 2 horticulturists on staff and that a manager inspected each plant before it was sent. I sent pictures of the tree I received, listed these concerns, and asked about how this tree had passed inspection. I got back a typical 'canned' passive aggressive response - "we are sorry that you are not pleased with your tree and would like to offer you a 15% refund, and then next year you will have a beautiful tree." They did not respond to my issues or pictures, and did not accept responsibility for the poor quality tree that they (knowingly) sent out. It was quite clear to me that they were either knowingly lying on their website, or were so clueless that they had no idea how to take care of nursery stock. That tree would have been a bad buy at 50% of what I paid. Very unhappy with them, their product, and their "customer service", and will never order from them again.
Positive umair
Des Plaines, IL
(1 review)
April 21, 2020
I ordered peach and apple trees. Both arrived within about one week of placing the order, and were potted (and not bareroot) as advertised. Both trees were within the height range advertised (one perhaps slightly taller), and both had many leaves and multiple small fruits already growing on the trees. While I will find out more when I see how the trees fruit this year and survive the winter, so far so good. I will definitely order from Brighter Blooms again.
Negative extrano
Huntington, NY
(1 review)
April 6, 2020
horrible! phone is always with a sick busy signal, email came back undeliverable. I placed an order yesterday for a trellis, i wanted to knwo about date for shipping and today it says paid and fulfilled,I DID NOT RECEIVE ANYTHING. I found Dave's garden is affiliated with brighterblooms, but it was a long search. Dave's phone is the same as brighterblooms, so no answer. Options? BBB and paypal but this is exhausting, all these companies are only one or few with different names. Get another reputable company
Neutral ddowningw
Incline Village, NV
(1 review)
July 27, 2019
We ordered four large rhododendron bushes. They were a bit pricey, 49 to 69 each, and arrived in a timely manner but the boxes were extremely battered and the plants were in quite bad condition. Bone dry, broken branches, many dropped leaves in the bottom of the boxes. They were also considerably smaller than we expected. Three of the bushes perked up with water and sun, but the fourth did not. We've planted them all now, and the three healthier ones are doing well. The fourth has not responded at all to our care (only two weeks in the ground at this writing). The plan is to baby it until winter (it snows here) and hope it comes back in the spring.
Note: I sent this same review to Brighter Blooms and it never showed up on their website - looks like they only post the positive stuff. And they never responded or tried to make any adjustments.
Positive swdolat
Natick, MA
(2 reviews)
April 15, 2018
I ordered 3 Rose of Sharon trees on a Sunday. They arrived Tuesday evening in great shape. I planted them 2 days later though I opened them and made sure I kept the roots wet. Very happy with my experience.
Neutral jyoon
Leesburg, VA
(1 review)
March 28, 2018
I purchased 2 Frost Proof Gardenias from Brighter Blooms Nursery in July 2016. Shipping took longer than expected, about 10 days. Plants were much small than expected. The 3-gallon plant size was equivalent to a locally bought 1-gallon pot plant, and the 1-gallon was equivalent to a locally bought 6 inch pot plant. They stick much smaller plants in larger pots. The 1 gallon seemed sickly from the start (1/3 brown branches & leaves), but was acceptable. However it completely died during the first winter. I sent a photo of the dead plant, and received a coupon for a replacement without any push back in July 2017. I had purchased a 1-year full replacement warranty. (I also received a separate, free 100% satisfaction guarantee from Google due to a merchant agreement between Google and Brighter Blooms. This Google additional warranty was a temporary promotion, and is no longer available.) The 3-gallon plant has been healthy, and had about a dozen flowers in June 2017. Not a lot of blooms, but hopefully there will be more flowers as it grows.

I just used the warranty today for a replacement of the 1-gallon plant, and will see how it goes. Shipping is very expensive. I had to pay for shipping (since the warranty only covered the plant cost), and the $17 shipping cost would have paid for a locally sold 1-gallon plant. But I could not find the Frost Proof gardenia variety locally, so I am paying for it . Other varieties of gardenias cost $8 for an equivalently sized plant locally, and is much healthier. Now that I have used that warranty, I will not be buying any more from Brighter Blooms. I guess my experience was OK considering it was an online order, but I did have much better outcomes from other online nurseries, including a healthy 5 ft cherry tree from Nature Hills Nursery, which received mixed reviews on Dave's Garden, and a great experience buying 2 trees from
Negative EM007
California City, CA
(7 reviews)
October 3, 2017
Posted on September 2, 2017, updated October 3, 2017
Posted on August 17, 2017, updated September 2, 2017
The plants were good enough, smaller than expected for the price but arrived healthy. What I dislike is the condescending customer service which made me regret ordering from this company. Because I had purchased warranties for the plants, I made the mistake of asking their "experts" to help diagnose a problem with plants that got sick during extremely hot and dry weather. I specifically said the soil was neither too wet or dry, but they chose to doubt my word and gave me a patronizing lecture about the effects of overwatering which made me feel belittled and labeled as a stupid customer. I live in the desert and Brighter Blooms employees cannot seem to understand that watering needs are different in this environment. They did honor the warranty, but when my current warranty periods are done, I don't intend to buy again from a company that treats me as if I'm an idiot who lies about soil moisture levels.
On September 2nd, 2017, EM007 changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:

My last shipment from this nursery to replace plants under warranty contained lots of spider mites which are inside my house now. Very unexpected. Definitely not ordering fron there again.
On October 3rd, 2017, EM007 added the following:

I chose not to report the spider mites because my first experience convinced me that my report was not likely to be believed and the only way to fix the problem was to treat the plants myself which is what I did. I suppose spider mites can happen to anyone, but it was an additional annoyance added to my first less than positive experience with a nursery so I decline to have further contact with this company.
Company representative comment on September 5, 2017:
On Sep 5, 2017 9:20 AM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

We are so sorry to hear this! One of our representatives will be contacting you shortly to see how we can assist in making this right. This is never our intentions and we will definitely look into how this happened.

Positive cceasyrider
York, PA
(1 review)
May 24, 2017
I ordered 3 white rhododendron from FGT. They arrived in beautiful condition. While I have worked with Rhodos for years, these seemed different. They weren't Cunningham's White or Chionoides, two cultivars typically sold in the east. FGT called and said they were, in fact, Catabiense album.
Regardless, they are very vigorous and quite healthy.
I highly recommend FGT.
Positive PastorJay
Georgetown, MA
(1 review)
May 10, 2017
I ordered 3 plants for the church we could not find locally.
They arrived very quickly. The box was not damaged, and they were properly packaged,
however one of the plants was damaged.
I contact the company, and they were ready to replace it, but I went ahead and planted it.
Great service and support. I will be using them in the future
Positive gdmii
Yorktown, VA
(1 review)
March 15, 2017
Brighter Blooms Nursery has got to be one of the best mail order nurseries in the country. Lisa is a pleasure to work with and cheerfully offered to replace a shrub that wasn't quite up to standards. I have ordered many plants/shrubs from them and they always arrive very well packaged and are always a superb product with one exception which Lisa took care of very promptly and professionally. There will be many more orders from me! Thanks Lisa!!
Positive mharbison0722
Temple, TX
(1 review)
May 19, 2016
I just wanted to take a few moments to tell about my experience with Brighter Blooms Nursery. Over the years, I've ordered plants, shrubs and trees from all over the US, and I have to say that Brighter Blooms is hands down the absolute best! Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING that I've ordered has been immaculately packed and arrived in perfect condition. Not a bruise, broke limb or anything! Everything has taken off and absolutely thrived in my garden! I had the chance to speak to customer service for the first time today, and it's just as I expected- above and beyond amazing! The gentleman that I spoke with made sure that I was pleased and took the time to be personal with me, as if he was dealing with his own order for his own garden! You simply don't get that much these days. Again, if you're looking for plants, shrubs or trees- look no further than Brighter Blooms Nursery!
Negative iloveplants4
El Dorado, AR
(2 reviews)
April 4, 2016
Posted on April 3, 2016, updated April 4, 2016
Ordered a hydrangea shrub and it died! I was waiting for the hydrangea to get acclimated. I called after a year and was told that I waited to late! A plant should last longer than a year or two. A CSR could not replace the item and skirted her responsibility off to another person! I will NEVER order from Brighter Blooms Nursery again. the company should have replaced the shrub because it died and they should have been glad that I purchased from the company in the first place. I should have purchased from another company because I would have saved money on the plant and the shipping is OUTRAGEOUS! Brighter Blooms a flim-flam artists! BUYER BEWARE!!
On April 4th, 2016, iloveplants4 added the following:

After the response from the company, it is no sense in trying to offer a rebuttal. 45 days? You do not stand behind your plants and I will shop elsewhere. Dishonest nursery describes Brighter "Doom". Scam, scam and more scam! Deal with you sending out half-dead plants to people who have paid TOP DOLLAR for them!
Company representative comment on April 4, 2016:
On Apr 4, 2016 6:40 AM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

We are so very sorry to hear that your hydrangea's didn't make it. We guarantee our plants for the first 45 days to ensure they arrive healthy and happy and when one of your didn't arrive satisfactory we replaced it immediately because and we want our customers to be satisfied. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee the life of the plants after they have been in the customers care for over 1 year. We do however offer a 1 year warranty that can be purchased. Since your order was from 2014 we were unable to offer additional assistance. Again we are very sorry that your plants didn't make it.

Positive Diana1031
Orlando, FL
(1 review)
March 25, 2016
I ordered two plants on a Friday and received them in less than a week. Great deal of care in the packaging. The camellia was stunning both in size and health-wise. Dark green glossy leaves and actively growing. The cassia was good size and exactly what I had hoped for. Very pleased with the plants and this company. Sent an email thanking them and received a warm and prompt email in return.
Positive Ketzl
Kansas City, MO (Zone 6a)
(1 review)
December 22, 2015
Posted on December 22, 2015, updated December 22, 2015
I had a good experience with the company. Ordered and received a good plant.

In September 2014, I decided I wanted to try growing a tea plant, just for fun. Somehow I found this nursery. They seemed to have the largest (oldest) plant for the best price. (Tea plants are slow growers.) I bought one, grew it inside from 9/14 through about 5/15 when I decided to move it to the porch. It grew nicely. Yay!

I live in Zone 6. All was well until I moved it inside when it started to get cold, about 10/15. When I moved it inside, I blew it! Overlooked watering after a few weeks, and now I have no tea plant. : ( I think I'll try again.
On December 22nd, 2015, Ketzl added the following:

I forgot to say one thing--their prices seem high but they always seem to have some kind of special or sale so, at least, what I was looking for, was a good price.
Negative Lynda2112
Carrollton, TX
(1 review)
October 3, 2015
My first order for 2 Encore Autumn Bloom Azalea plants came completely damaged due to poor packaging. One plant looked like it was dead before sending and had no root ball, just stuck into a planter of dirt. After 2 attempts to reach Customer Service, to no avail, on the 3rd attempt I was told that 2 replacement plants had already been shipped. When I received those they were securely packaged with little breakage.

I was going to write a more positive review because they replaced the bushes, however, the size and quality was still not worth the $50 each I paid. I bought azaleas at Home Depot for $15 each that were bigger and stronger looking then these. Also there still was no developed root ball on either as advertised on their website; the pots were 1/2 filled with soil and the roots very small. I've planted them now and will hope for the best but I will not purchase from them again, not after this experience. I will probably not purchase any plants online again. Will just search for what I want at a local nursery so I can see first what I am paying for and can easily return if the plants have defects.
Positive Lee2315
Bunker Hill, IL
(1 review)
October 1, 2015
I ordered 18 Nellie Stevens Holly shrubs from Brighter Blooms. I have placed a few orders from them in the past and was very happy with their plants so that was never a concern. I did get a big surprise with just how amazing their customer service is though. I have been buying plants online for the last 4 years so i know how difficult customer service can be at many of these company's. With brighter blooms it was so easy and refreshing to deal with such wonderful people. Here is what happened, when my order was delivered to me and i went through all 18 shrubs i noticed one had a crack in a branch and it had tried to heal itself but i was worried it may not handle the ice and snow of this winter and not snap. Another shrub was a very dark color and the leaves were very dry. I was worried this one was about dead. I talk to my wife and we both agreed that we would not call because we was just gonna get a run around about how if the plant is not dead they wont replace it. After sitting on it a few days and already planted the shrubs i decided to go ahead and call anyway. I didn't have any expectations. I talked to a lovely woman from Brighter blooms and explained to her what i seen with the shrubs and my worries with them. With out any hesitation she said, No problem Sir. I will have Another 2 sent out to you today. WHAT?? I was shocked to be honest. It was so easy effortless to deal with this issue. I thanked her probably 10 times. haha. I feel it is one thing to sell items over the internet and make as much money as possible and it is another thing to sell items over the internet and make customers feel like they can have confidence in buying from you. I will never buy from any other online retailer again when i am looking for plants, tree or shrubs. My holly shrubs have been in the ground for around 3 months. They all have put on new growth and are extremely healthy. I highly recommend Bright Blooms the next time your looking for plants, trees and shrubs. They may be slightly higher in price but they are worth every penny. Remember you get what you pay for. Thanks for your time.
Positive gdlpsanznnn
Saint Louis, MO
(2 reviews)
July 27, 2015
Posted on July 20, 2015, updated July 27, 2015
On Oct 27, 2014 received and planted over $165 worth of plants.
I requested replacement of four white rhododendrons that died--actually never grew any leaves at all. Because it was late Fall, I assumed they were dormant. Now the company refused to replace them citing their 30 day warranty.

Also, they want a photo of the dead plants (but there is nothing to show).

For your reference this is Case #: 125809
On July 27th, 2015, gdlpsanznnn changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

Thank you Brighter Blooms for replacing the rhododendrons even though it was outside the warranty period. Brighter Blooms went the extra mile and gave me a merchandize credit because I had already bought azaleas replacements.
Company representative comment on July 24, 2015:
On Jul 24, 2015 9:30 AM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

We are so very sorry that your rhododendrons did not make it through the winter. Our customer service manager has reached out in hopes to resolve this concern to the satisfaction of the customer and the company.

Positive cmweigand
(1 review)
July 17, 2015
I have ordered many plants from this company over the last 7 years and have always been pleased. I have never had a problem with a damaged plant until this week. I ordered two azaleas that were damaged during shipping. I contacted Brighter Blooms about the damage by email. I had a reply within an hour that they were sending me two new plants and they were shipped within 24 hours.
All of the plants I have received from them have been healthy and disease free. Most are still thriving years later. The ones that did not survive were either my fault or severely damaged during a very harsh, New England winter.
I will continue to use this company and will continue to recommend it to my friends.
Positive Szappen67
Melrose Park, IL
(1 review)
July 17, 2015
I purchased a musa basjoo for zone 5 Chicago. Upon arrival I was amazed at the perfect , strong , healthy condition and very well packed plant. I transplanted the following day to a big enough pot to adjust to my conditions. It did go into shock but only for 6 hours. By days end it was perky as it was when received and ready began to grow so far 2 inches. And I just received it 2 weeks ago. Definitly getting a Queen Palm .
Positive marine0311
pownal, VT (Zone 5a)
(2 reviews)
June 20, 2015
Posted on May 29, 2015, updated June 20, 2015
Posted on May 29, 2015, updated May 29, 2015
I ordered 5 rose of sharon In April. Plants were in dormant stage. Dry roots looked good. I used excellent soil and mulch per directions. Here it is the end of May and only one has leaves. I wrote brighter blooms twice, and sent pictures. Almost one week later no response, no refund per their guarantee. Very poor customer service at this present time, in my judgement.
I will add to this if I get results.
On May 29th, 2015, marine0311 added the following:

May 29 2015 I spoke with Elvis , their customer service rep and he was extremely helpful and will ship out four more plants. Exceptional person to speak too. he apologized for my emails getting lost in the cracks. I may change my feedback to positive after plants arrive in excellent condition, because of Elvis help.
On June 20th, 2015, marine0311 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

Received four more plants that look to be in fine condition. Thank you Elvis
If any have a problem, forget the email. call them. I got great help
Company representative comment on June 9, 2015:
On Jun 9, 2015 2:19 PM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

We are so happy to hear that our customer service representative Elvis was able to assist you in getting your replacement trees. We hope they arrived in great condition!

Negative MNMisfit
Saint Paul, MN
(1 review)
June 5, 2015
Ordered a Sunny Knockout Rose as a memorial gift for a friend whose mother died. Received multiple emails from a "Jen at Brighter Blooms" with confirmation number; the product was delivered on the date indicated in the email, however, the box was crushed in shipping and the plant damaged. I sent an email with photos which wasn't acknowledged (despite two additional "confirmation" emails re: my order). I called the company & was told they had no record of the email & to re-enter the info on their website with the photos & they would issue a store credit for the amount of the plant only (I live in MN) & do not think I should have to pay for shipping for a plant received damaged. The agent said they "might" file a claim with FedEx after I submitted the info. I was assured that after entering the info via the website, I would be contacted. I have only received a credit for the plant & no contact. VERY DISAPPOINTING. Not only does my friend have a damaged plant but I am out an additional $15 for shipping. This was my first & last experience with this company.
Company representative comment on June 8, 2015:
On Jun 8, 2015 9:45 AM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

We so very sorry to hear this. Our Customer Service Manager has reached out to you in hopes to make this experience better. If the plant was damaged in transit you should not be responsible for the replacement or the shipping. Our policy is that if it is damaged in transit we will reissue you a new plant. Again we truly apologize for the troubles and the inconvenience this may have caused.

Positive kvbachman
Florence, KY
(1 review)
May 15, 2015
I ordered the August Beauty Gardenia Tree. (As a outdoor Deck/indoor tree... Ky gets a little chilly from them, but my Wife Loves the blooms)

It was shipped immediately and arrived promptly (2 days)
Well Packaged and the tree was in perfect condition.

Received emails from Jen (automated?) about shipping information, then tracking information etc.

I will definitely buy from them again and recommend to friends
Ken B in Florence KY.
Positive mtroebs
Duluth, GA
(1 review)
May 13, 2015
Brighter Blooms is an incredible source for topnotch plants of all kinds. They are promptly shipped, perfectly packed, the customer service is impeccable.

Every plant received is of the highest quality. The option to purchase a warranty is a wonderful option. We have had very little loss after having purchased as great amount of plant material. When we have, the plants under warranty have been quickly replaced.

The prices are reasonable. The selection is fantastic. The products are superlative.

Our experience has been so incredibly positive that we have recommended Brighter Blooms to our friends and family, and will continue to do so.

Thanks Brighter Blooms!!!!

All the best,

Michael Troebs
Negative Mcjarhead
Bronxville, NY
(1 review)
May 8, 2015
NOT GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I ordered 20 blueberry bushes, it was supposed to be free shipping but was charged $125.00 for shipping a rip off, then 7 died right away, they give you half the price of the plant and not the shipping, which was supposed to be free. I had to fight with them to get a credit 3 months later finally received email that I would in fact have a credit. Now the rest of the plants are almost dead, save your $,
Negative LC11964
Shelter Island, NY
(1 review)
May 6, 2015
I ordered one lilac bush, one snowball viburnum and one lavender plant, all on sale. The plants were packaged very poorly and as a result, the lavender was pretty much destroyed and the viburnum was heavily damaged. In addition, the plants were much smaller than expected given the price I paid - my local nurseries offers much more mature specimens for the same price. I complained to Brighter Blooms and they offered to send me another lavender plant. I've since sent them follow-up correspondence with photos showing how the viburnum appears to be dying (most of its branches were snapped during shipping because of the poor packaging). No matter the outcome, I just can't recommend this place. It's hard to tell what size plant you're going to get when you order online, so I gave them a try. Given this experience, I have to conclude that you just don't get good value through Brighter Blooms - I paid way too much for some very tiny shrubs.
Negative aaron_fredrick
Asheville, NC
(1 review)
April 22, 2015
I ordered a dwarf Cavendish banana tree with a 1 year warranty. It showed up a month after I ordered it as just a corn without a single sprout. I kept it in the pot in which it was delivered and kept the soil moist for a month even though the corn felt soft, in hopes that it would sprout. It never did, and after cutting into it I can confirm it is dead. I have had no response to my email about my warranty.
Company representative comment on April 24, 2015:
On Apr 24, 2015 3:04 PM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

We are so sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with your order. Our Customer Care Manager will be emailing you to help get your warranty activated.

Positive tgreen81
Kennesaw, GA
(1 review)
April 9, 2015
Writing from Atlanta GA. Ordered three Plants of the varieties that were suggested on All were very healthy and a good size for the price when received.

My husband surprised me and planted them without checking the order. I received two of the same color roses (pink), which I was supposed to have one yellow, one pink. I contacted the company and they shipped the correct out within three days of the original order received. They were prompt to respond and they were considerate on the email chain. I will be ordering from this company again-great customer service on online ordering is a plus and worth the cost of product.
Positive memdaletpey
Baltimore, MD
(1 review)
February 14, 2015
Superior. I bought three Italian Cypresses from this company. Then scratched my head and decided to add insurance. Boy, I was right! Winter came, and along with winter came deer who ate two of the three cypresses.
I claimed my warranty, which was immediately accepted and given a replacement coupon.

Five stars. Oh, by the way - the cypresses are superior too. Healthy, plump trees. And the customer service. When you ask them about something (better if accompanied by the photo of the problem), the Q/A turn-around is one day. This company is clearly striving to be well above average nursery in all aspects of the business.
Negative nnjguy
Berkeley Heights, NJ
(1 review)
February 5, 2015
In the fall of 2014, I ordered an expensive ornamental tree from Brighter Blooms. The ordering page as well as the rep I spoke to when I placed my order indicated that my tree would be shipped in April, 2015. I live in northern NJ and we are currently (February 5, 2015) covered in ice and snow with more expected. Today I received an e-mail from FedEx indicating that my shipment from Brighter Blooms is on the way----TODAY. I tried contacting Brighter Blooms but they are not currently reachable by phone (I don't know what that even means). They changed the shipping date of an ornamental tree to a freezing climate at my home and didn't bother telling me. This is not what was agreed upon during the order. This tree is as good as dead.
Company representative comment on February 5, 2015:
On Feb 5, 2015 2:45 PM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

We are so very sorry that this happened. We did have some items go out by mistake and should not have. We will definitely be sending this out to you in the spring as requested since this was absolutely an error on our end. I apologize that you were not able to reach us today we were having some scheduled maintenance to our phone system done.. And I will make sure that one of our customer care representatives contacts contacts you as soon as we can.

Positive anneyas
Cohutta, GA
(1 review)
September 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your quick response. Because of the great customer service, you will have me as a customer.
Anne Yasenchak
Neutral Hammer18
Libertyville, IL
(1 review)
September 16, 2014
Posted on September 16, 2014, updated September 16, 2014
BUYER BEWARE of this company and their FALSE ADVERTISING!!! I recently purchased 4 Gold Mop Cypress bushes from this company. While they were quick to ship and reasonable priced, they were VERY deceptive in their advertising and have yet to resolve the issue in any sort of acceptable matter. On their website they specifically state that this plant is a "brilliant shade of shimmering yellow gold that is maintained throughout the year", well guess what it's not true! When I received the bushes they were an ugly lime green. After exchanging emails with their customer service department, I come to find out from their "specialists" that I received the correct bush, but that the plant actually has an "attractive yellow foilage which emerges gold in the spring. The threadlike leaves are ornamentally significant and turn lime green in the fall..." Um, not at all what their website states. Then I'm told by the customer service rep that "With our website we cannot place all the information on there on every tree or plant we do put what is most important." No, you only put what you want customers to see...they have a 10 paragraph 348 word description of this plant on the website and NO WHERE in the description does it state that the plant is only yellow/gold for 6 months of the year and turns green for the remainder of it...they specifically state it is yellow/gold year round!!! Their proposed resolution was also an insult as they first tried to state that I used a filter in taking my photos of the plant, which I didn't, used my iPhone...but then they want me to pay return shipping and a 10% restocking fee for their false advertising!!! I would expect them to pay return shipping and no restocking fee with a FULL credit as I only ordered these bushes from them due to the plant's description on their website, had it been accurate and not FALSE ADVERTISED, I NEVER would have placed an order in the first place!!! Please do yourself a favor and steer clear of this company, they are awful and have false advertising, it's not worth wasting your money with them!!!
On September 16th, 2014, Hammer18 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

Let me amend this review as I did just receive an email from the customer service manager resolving this issue. The company has not only corrected their website description for these bushes (yes I checked before writing the amendment to the review), but they have also refunded our money on the bushes, which I do really appreciate. While I was very upset about this issue as you can see below, I do have a lot of respect for companies that correct issues with their customers and do the right thing and this company has done that. THANK YOU!
Positive ryanpre
Jackson, NJ
(1 review)
July 30, 2014
I have ordered from them 4 times in the past 6 months, including fruit trees and ornamental shrubs. Trees and shrubs were all very healthy and had strong root systems, unlike some other nurseries I have purchased from that ship bare root trees. Additionally, they correctly measure their trees and indicate what root stock it's on, which is important to understand maximum size, growth rate and disease resistance. Very importantly, their customer service team is fast, friendly and helpful. On two different occasions, they have resolved issues in a very ethical manner, most recently when I received a 3-in-1 Apple tree that was actually supposed to be 4-in-1. They are sending me a free replacement due to their error. Highly recommend this nursery and will continue to do business with them!
Positive graham072442
Lynn, MA
(1 review)
July 17, 2014
Posted on July 14, 2014, updated July 17, 2014
Posted on July 14, 2014, updated July 14, 2014
Posted on July 13, 2014, updated July 14, 2014
I just found this website or I would have posted much sooner. In February, 2012, I purchased 2 Windmill Palms which were listed as hardy in Zone 6. They were delivered in April. I immediately sent an email stating that several of the fronds were dead or dying and others were broken; I received a return email asking that I send photos - which I did, along with BB's requested form for replacement plants or an adjustment. The responding email rejected my request and suggested I "give the plants more time" and consult the planting instructions; the planting instructions had been followed to the letter, however. Well, not only did the plants not thrive, they did not survive even until the winter of that year ('12-'13). Given the complete refusal to make an adjustment or replacement, I didn't contact the nursery further. I left the plants in the ground in the hope that perhaps a root system would develop and they would revive the following year. Because of other priorities, I didn't get around to removing the dead stumps until last month; there NEVER developed ANY roots from the truncated roots that were on the plants when they arrived.

And I'm not sure just WHO or What to blame for the fact that the wisteria "tree" which I purchased a year or so before that has only produced ONE bloom - and that during the summer of 2012.
On July 14th, 2014, graham072442 added the following:

In response to Brighter Blooms' response. if you will search your records further, you will find that on April 23, 2012, I responded to Heather's email with a completed form requesting replacements or credit AND attaching 10 photographs. Sorry, but the ball WAS placed back in your court.
On July 14th, 2014, graham072442 added the following:

Also, the plants were DELIVERED in a damaged condition; they did not deteriorate over a period of time after delivery. I contacted you folks as soon as they arrived. YOU delayed their delivery and the deterioration occurred prior to my receipt.
On July 17th, 2014, graham072442 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

I was contacted by Brighter Blooms early this week and given a credit for my full purchase price, as well as some suggestions on how to remedy my wisteria problem. I was provided with assistance in ordering self-polinating cherry trees - no more palms for me - and provided with a store credit for the remaining difference between their cost and my original purchase. The customer service rep said she'd personally select trees for me and throw in a couple bags of root stimulater/organic potting soil and that they should arrive by Friday; in fact they arrived today, Thursday. Both trees appear to be quite healthy and are nicely shaped. My handyman and I plan to plant them this afternoon. I am very pleased and surprisingly shocked that BB has reached out to restore my loss after this length of time. I'll definitely be buying more plants from BB when my next need arises.
Company representative comment on July 15, 2014:
On Jul 14, 2014 3:40 PM, Brighter Blooms Nursery responded with:

I apologize for your frustration. Cold hardy palms rarely have problems. They do, however, produce their fans in the summer. By the time you go through the winter and get all the way to late spring, they sometimes look a little worn. This is natural.

I found an email that our Rep had sent you on April 23,2012. She suggested giving the palms a little time to produce new foliage and asked that if they do not turn around by May 15,2012, to contact us so that we can replace them.

I regret that you feel that we were unresponsive. We should have communicated better. I would like to see if our horticulturalist can help with your wisteria and I would like to learn more about your palms. Please give me a call. Ask for Jackie at 704-644-4490

On Jul 15, 2014 1:49 PM, Brighter Blooms Nursery added:

Our customer service manager reached out to the customer today to assist her with questions in regards to her Wisteria tree. She was able to provide suggestions in regards her Wisteria not blooming. We also feel like we came to an amicable solution with the customer in regards to her previous order not being satisfactory and feel like the customer is satisfied with the outcome.

Positive jennwv11
(6 reviews)
July 15, 2014
I purchased a bare rooted standard tree lilac from BB back in May. I was a little hesitant because my neighbor had a bad experience with Fast Growing Trees and had let me know BB is part of FGT. I wanted a tree lilac for while but my local nursery always seemed to have a hard time keeping them in stock so I ordered my tree and when it arrived I immediately soaked it in a clean bucket over night. I planted it, mulched, and gave it a good soaking. I watered twice a day until leaves came out which took about 3 weeks. I fertilized once a month since planting it and it is doing great. I also trimmed it to make it look tidy after it finished blooming. I didn't get many blooms but I think it will get more blooms next year. I am satisfied overall with the service I received and the quality of my tree lilac. I would buy from them again!
Positive beb123
Long Branch, NJ
(1 review)
July 2, 2014
I placed my order and then read some of the negative comments on this site. It was too late to cancel, so I prepared for the worst. I ordered hydrangeas and azaleas and I received healthy plants, packed securely. I received exactly what I ordered, the plants were as big, maybe even bigger than advertised. Everything shipped within 1 business day of my order. I would order again.
Positive dellaplante
Longmont, CO
(1 review)
June 6, 2014
I purchased a large Rose of Sharon tree 5' and a "Lo and Behold Blue chip Butterfly Bush". I noticed the bush was very dry and brittle when I put in the ground. I watered it good but I never got a single green leaf or stem. I emailed.
Kim and Jackie at nursery and told her I was disappointed, with the bush, but realized I waited, too long. They told me to email them a picture and I did. Next thing I know I get an email with their regrets and a notice that a replacement plant would soon arrive. An it did and it's beautiful like their rose of Sharon. I thanked them and they asked me to post this site. WONDERFUL, SELECTION, STAFF AND OVERBOARD SERVICE.
Positive jojogogreen
Ludlow, MA
(1 review)
June 5, 2014
I cannot express how pleased I am with BrighterBlooms. Yes, there were some issues with my orders but it was rectified so well and so promptly that I continued to order. I started by ordering 2x 2 gal pots of Peach Sorbet Blueberries. There was an issue with that order and FedEx sent it back for some reason. When I called CS, I spoke with Sara. Sara had exceptional customer service!! She promptly stated that they sent out a double order and recalled one of them but both went back. I followed the tracking to make sure everything being said was true and it was. Sara then sent out 2 new ones. the PS Blueberries came in beautiful condition. They came so beautiful that I ordered 2 more. The additional order came in beautiful as well! I then ordered a Meyer Lemon and a Clementine. Well, that order was destroyed by FEDEX. They folded the box in half breaking my clementine. Again I called and this time spoke with Jerry and he was fantastic as well as Sara. He requested that I take my photos (I took photos of the delivery and then the damage tree) and forward them over to them which I did. I then called a few hours later and spoke with Haley...she reviewed the photos and was just fantastic with her customer service!! She arranged to send me a new clementine and made sure I knew that if I had an issue with the Meyer lemon, they would take care of that as well. Yesterday I received the Clementine and it is just GORGEOUS! I would do business with them anytime. In fact, I ordered another Meyer lemon because of this. To date I have 2 Raspberry Shortcakes, 4 Peach Sorbet Blueberries, 2 Meyer Lemon (1 on the way), and a Clementine. All seem to be thriving so far Meyer Lemon is still bent over from the shipping but I am hoping she will get straighter with love.

I will say this...I don't trust FEDEX AT ALL. Could it be just the FEDEX in my area? Sure! But, they don't seem to care that it is clearly written all over the box live plants fragile handle with care. I was home each and every time FEDEX delivered and he(they) mishandled each and every box. From now on, I will only order 1 tree at a time because of this. It has a better chance of not being damaged than 2 in a box.

When ordering online (especially LIVE and delicate items) it is a risk. There are challenges and there are mistakes that can definitely be made. Once the plants are out of the company's hand and into the shippers hands, it is even more challenging. My question is how is the company going to handle it? Are they sensitive to my needs...Respecting me and my hard earned money. Kudos to for taking care of me and making me feel important.

A big thank you to Sara(h?), Jerry, and Haley!! Great Customer service and fast results!! Major assets to They increased sales because without their wonderful CS, I would have stopped ordering. A big thank you to BrighterBlooms for providing such beautiful specimens!
Neutral rivermare
Lincoln, CA
(8 reviews)
June 3, 2014
I was really apprehensive about buying from Brighter Blooms. Their ads seem to be everywhere and the mixed reviews were not really helping me decide. I finally triggered some buys on my cart because their prices were reasonable and shipping was free. I ordered 2 vines and a tree. The plastic planters were set on top of each other and the middle one, a vine, did not look to happy being sandwiched between the other two. The vines recovered but do not have a lot of leaf. I could have gotten better price somewhere I am sure but I wanted to try this out. Will not buy vines from them again.
The tree I ordered was broken a foot from the top. I wrote them an e-mail with picture and they sent me a replacement. The replacement looked far from healthy but it is recovering now. At least it wasn't broken.
I may buy another tree from Brighter Blooms again but not any time soon.
I rated neutral because even though the plants were not top quality, customer service was very responsive and that makes for a better experience.

Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top