Photo by Melody
Time to vote on your favorite photos. The Voting page is Here

The scoop on 'Eden Brothers Seed Company'

  Company Profile  
Eden Brothers Seed Company

Mailing Address:
34 Old Brevard Road
Asheville, North Carolina 28806 (United States)

Phone: 1-877-333-6276

» E-Mail them

Add to Bookmarks
» Visit their website
Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 1 1 5
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 1 2
This company offers a variety of seeds.

Other helpful information:

  Feedback History and Summary  
52 positives
6 neutrals
30 negatives


Displaying the 50 most recent comments:

Positive toddamartin
Lexington, KY
(1 review)
October 28, 2018
I ordered two peony tubers. There was an issue with one of them (hard to tell before opening), so I emailed them. That was on a Monday evening. They replied on a Tuesday, and they shipped a great replacement priority mail the next day.
Negative marieliamfiona
Brooklyn, NY
(1 review)
August 26, 2018
I ordered tuberous begonias to try a new company
Eden (since can't really find the REAL Anatonelli bulbs-- though Cal Begonias was OK) but 4 did not bloom at all and 2 were very wimpy --all the bulbs were very small--any suggestions where to buy next year are welcome.
Also tried a new company for Calla Lillies--Holland Bulbs
only 2 of the 5 types bloomed --one only 1 flower
All above are in pots with fresh soil in the same place on my deck.
But I have a question re Callas----now I try to save them in winter--but before that--a few years ago I would dump the soil bulbs and all in my garden and one survived winter and came up here in Brooklyn NY. How could that happen? This year I have non-blooming Callas all over my garden. Should I pull them up and try to save them for next year?
Company representative comment on September 12, 2018:
On Sep 12, 2018 11:08 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:


Thank you for submitting your feedback regarding your begonia tubers. We are terribly sorry to hear that they didn't come up as expected, and we apologize that you were disappointed by your order! Sadly, we're unable to find an order for you with the information in your review, but we are more than happy to assist you with this issue. We encourage customers to reach out to us right away via phone (828-633-6338, Monday through Friday, 9 A.M. - 5 P.M. Eastern) or email ([email protected]) so we can review the purchase and the details of your situation and work on a resolution. Feel free to contact us with additional questions.


Eden Brothers

Positive AaronWa
Centreville, VA
(1 review)
February 23, 2018
I own my own landscaping business and I always get my seeds from Eden Brothers. Before I started using Eden Brothers seeds I would have times when the seed quality was poor and would result in poor germination which would cost me money. I don't have to worry about that anymore because my seeds always do really well with Eden Brothers. They have a life long customer in me!
Company representative comment on September 12, 2018:
On Sep 12, 2018 11:02 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Hello AaronWa,

Thank you for posting such a thoughtful review. We do our best to ensure that we're sending out 100% pure seed, with a high germination rate so that our customers can be confident that even their biggest planting projects will come up as expected. It's delightful to know that we've become your go-to retailer for your flower seed needs. We look forward to getting the chance to serve you in the future!

Kind Regards,

Eden Brothers

Positive MaddyLaw82
(1 review)
January 4, 2018
Eden Brothers always seems to have the best deals I can find if you sign up for their e-mail list. I have been buying from them the past few years and always have had a high germination rate on their seeds. They also are non GMO which is a huge plus in my book. You can't go wrong with Eden.
Company representative comment on September 12, 2018:
On Sep 12, 2018 11:00 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Hello MaddyLaw82,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We truly appreciate your review. We're delighted to know that we're able to provide you such a worthwhile value so consistently. We're always happy to receive such warm compliments. Thank you so much for being a returning customer, and we can't wait to have the opportunity to supply for seeds for many growing seasons to come!

Eden Brothers

Positive GregWilliams
Atlanta, GA
(1 review)
December 11, 2017
Great website with a large variety of bulbs and seeds. Some of the best deals I have seen when you join their e-mail list. Have always had great results with my purchases.
Company representative comment on December 12, 2017:
On Dec 12, 2017 11:14 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Hi Greg,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review! This was wonderful to receive! We are so thrilled that we could bring beauty and enjoyment to your garden, and your satisfaction is the greatest recognition we could have. We thank you for being a loyal customer, and the opportunity to serve you throughout this time. We truly hope to still see you many years from now.

Thank you again!

Kindest regards,
Eden Brothers

Positive DaisyLaura64
Asheville, NC
(1 review)
December 7, 2017
I bought bulbs for my daughter-in-law and some seeds for my own garden. They came quickly which was nice. I had to change my address so I called customer service and was disappointed that they didn't pick up. They called me back in the morning and kindly let me know that they weren't open when I called, but they returned my call as soon as they got into the office. Silly me for not checking their hours! ;) They were happy to change my address and the package came as normal. My seeds bloomed beautifully and my DIL is excited to see her blooms in the spring. Thank you, Eden Brothers!
Company representative comment on December 12, 2017:
On Dec 12, 2017 12:16 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Hi DaisyLaura64,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review! These are always wonderful to receive! We are so happy to hear that you have been pleased with your purchases and that we could be part of bringing such beauty and enjoyment to your garden, and your satisfaction is the greatest recognition we could have. We also hope that your daughter-in-law also enjoys her blooms next year! We thank you for being a loyal customer, and the opportunity to serve you throughout this time. We truly hope to still see you many years from now.

Thank you again!

Kindest regards,
Eden Brothers

Negative LaurenShiner
United States
(1 review)
December 6, 2017
I purchased the 60 days of Lilies, 10 bulbs, Item# LLFH 114-9999 -qb10 for just under $30 (plus $9 postage) as an early Christmas gift for a friend who lives in another state. They described the bulbs as 14cm to 16 cm. 14cm = 5.5inches. I'm a landscape designer, so I know zones and usual bulb sizes, so this sounded like a good value.

My friend says they're the size of a small garlic bulb. That does not sound like minimum 5.5 inches. PLUS, it's a variety pack, meaning the bulbs will grow to a variety of heights. How do you place them in your garden if you don't know how big they'll get? Well, we'll never know because they did not label them. Add to the fact that they recommend they be planted at 6" deep. That's fine for a 5.5" bulb, but not for a 2.5" bulb. I told her not to plant them that deep.

Obviously, since it's a gift, I can't ask her to return them. Eden should know that plants vary in size and price accordingly. See, this is why I don't usually buy online.
Company representative comment on December 7, 2017:
On Dec 7, 2017 3:58 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Hi Lauren,

Thank you for taking the time to email us directly and post a review on Dave’s garden. We are truly sorry to hear that you, and your friend, were disappointed by your order! We do apologize for any confusion with the bulb size, as the measurements refer to the circumference of the bulb, not the diameter. We can assure you, however, that we work hard to provide quality products as advertised on our website. In this case, our Lily Mix contains bulbs that range between 14cm- 16cm in circumference, which correlates with our posted information. The size received is a characteristic sized-bulb for these Lilies, in the 14cm – 16cm range, so please don’t be deterred by their size. We are terribly sorry that they were not as expected, but we can guarantee they will still result in big, beautiful blooms! We also recommend planting these bulbs 5 -6 inches deep to these plants stability at their mature height.

For all of our mixes, these arrive to us pre-packaged by our grower; multiple varieties (as shown on the website), mixed into one package. This is a general industry standard for mixed bulbs to be packaged into one bag, as many times these mixes are used for larger scale projects with a budget. This is why we incorporate price breaks on mixes, compared to buying the varieties individually. Again, we’re are sincerely sorry that what you were expecting, differed from what you received.

We are having troubles locating an order for you with the information provided; if you’d like to provide us more information, please just let us know and we’d be happy to notate this correspondence on your order.

Please feel free to contact us with additional questions.

Customer Service

Positive AnnaWild
Kansas City, MO
(2 reviews)
October 14, 2017
Ordered seeds as well as some spring planted peonies and dahlias this past spring (2017). The peonies were a two pack of Myrtle Gentry and three pack 'Bridal bouquet'. One of the tubers in the bridal bouquet was rotted, which was sad. I called their very friendly customer service and before I could even offer them photos of the tuber in question they sent out a replacement. I probably shouldn't have attempted spring planting so late (end of April) but they all came up and grew to about ten inches tall with 3 stems and a couple with 4 stems. Much more lush than the tiny single stick sent up by the one from the box store. No flowers, but none were expected this year. Hopefully they'll do better this coming spring. Dahlias were also of the Bridal Bouquet variety. Of the five only two have bloomed at all this year, which is too bad, but I am hoping they're putting all of that energy into tubers. So far I have been very happy with their seeds when sprouted in pots, though the willy nilly tossing them about method did not work for me- most likely user error ;) Will order from them again.
Negative Mia_Lousie
Evanston, IL
(6 reviews)
September 21, 2017
Eden Brothers have branched out from selling seeds into offering bulbs and perennials. Not a good thing. Their stock is unreliable (not what was ordered) and small. Disappointing.
Company representative comment on September 25, 2017:
On Sep 25, 2017 9:52 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:


Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about the bulbs. We are terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your order! Unfortunately, we can't locate an order for you with the minimal information provided on this website, but we sure hope that you contacted us for a resolution. If there is ever any question in the size of the bulbs received being different than the size advertised on our site or if the blooms are inconsistent with what is expected, we encourage customers to reach out to us right away via phone (828-633-6338) or email ([email protected]) so we can review the purchase and the situation and offer a resolution. Feel free to contact us with additional questions.

Customer Service

Positive Shour1977
Irving, TX
(1 review)
June 7, 2017
I ordered peonies bulbs and the order came on time and in good condition . Bulbs were very healthy to see. I was in touch with them via email and there Response was fast. Over all happy with my bulbs . Best service, Most trust worthy and reliable. Will recommend to my family and friends. Very happy with the service. Thank you Eden Brothers. You guys are awesome.
Positive RyderSmith
East Bend, NC
(1 review)
December 1, 2016
Drove several hours to purchase from the seed company in person as I was planting several 100 yard rows of flowers for my daughters wedding in August and had a ton of questions as this was my first attempt to plant such a huge area of flowers that needed to bloom at an exact time. A very knowledgeable gentleman helped me for close to 6 hours as I needed specific colors,heights, density and flowering times. After buying several pounds of seeds I planted everything exactly as the directions said and some helpful tips from the gentleman for my specific situation. Germination happened within a couple weeks and by July everything was doing great. As my daughters wedding date became nearer flowers started blooming and by her actual wedding day everything I planted was in full bloom and literally was a show stopper. I couldn't have felt more proud of what I accomplished and to see everyone's faces in awestruck especially my daughters. I seriously could not have accomplished this without Eden Brothers vast selection of seeds and their help, the gentleman gave me his personal number for me to call if I had any questions and I did several times and without fail he always picked up and had answers to my questions.

Thank you Eden Brothers!
Negative lraff1
Colorado Springs, CO
(4 reviews)
October 3, 2016
Posted on September 13, 2016, updated October 3, 2016
I have spent several days trying to obtain a REFUND from Eden Brothers due to incorrect tubers shipped 2 years in a row, as well as a 75% failure rate of this year\'s tubers. They adamantly refuse to grant a refund, even with photos that show their plants vs the other 150 dahlias we have that are thriving. They stand by a policy of only offering a credit to the account or replacing the tubers next season. The question I asked them is why, after 2 years of problems with their products would I want to either have them replaced, or buy more? My mother and I plant an extensive dahlia garden. We are active members of the National Capital Dahlia Association as well as the ADS. Mom will be 79 years old when we plant in the spring. We don\'t know how many more years we can do a huge garden. Why would we want to waste space on what has proven to be an incorrect plant, or substandard plants?

Last year, Eden asked us for photos of the ones that were incorrect, however, I filed a complaint after they had finished flowering. This year they shipped us poor quality tubers as well as incorrect tubers again. So I have diligently photographed every plant, or stake and empty space where a plant should have grown, including the tags with the variety, size, form,color, origin and origin year of the tuber. Now that isn\'t even satisfactory. They claim we should have notified the of the poor tuber conditions before planting. However, we have planted tubers of dubious condition in the past and they have grown into successful plants. Shame on us for not complaining our heads off during spring planting, I guess.

We will never do business with Eden again and I would strongly suggest that anyone else think twice before ordering their products.

On October 3rd, 2016, lraff1 added the following:

Eden Brothers has been very difficult and contentious to deal with. In any case, a "guarantee" should include the option for a refund, not just a credit or replacement. In my case I had extremely valid reasons for requesting a REFUND vs a CREDIT which were nastily refuted by Eden customer service.

Two years in a row, they have shipped the wrong plant based on descriptions in their catalog. 75% of their plants this year were failures. The response I got blamed their grower for packaging the wrong tubers for the items that got ordered. EXCUSE ME, but where is that standing behind their product? If they stand behind their products, they should be exerting some quality control over their growers and monitoring the plants that grow from their stock.

The solution we arrived at was not acceptable to us. We agreed to take 2 gift certificates that we can give away as presents to friends who also garden, but who hopefully aren't going to buy dahlias with them. We are basically done with Eden Brothers.
Company representative comment on September 29, 2016:
On Sep 29, 2016 3:13 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:


Thank you for taking the time to leave this review about your Dahlias. We have expressed our sincere apologies to you via email that some of them did not grow as well as expected and that some did not bloom as expected. We appreciate that you took the time to send us photos, as we do require all customers with a similar complaint to send photos for us to review. We did agree that your results were either likely due to a faulty tuber or something that had been accidentally mislabeled and we offered the choice of a replacement or a store credit. These are the two options that we offer in a situation like this. There is not an option for a refund. Here is the link to our posted Guarantee:

We are always happy to review any complaint for any order for a possible store credit or replacement.

After this review was posted, we did receive your request to receive a store credit, which has already been issued to you via email and can be used on any future purchase with us. We appreciate you allowing us to resolve this situation for you!

Negative Ebdolan
Cottage Grove, WI
(1 review)
August 28, 2016
I did not receive the purple asiatic lilies I ordered; instead,I received ugly yellow tiger lilies. The first year the rabbits devoured the lilies so I never saw them bloom. This year I spent so much energy protecting the 2 dozen lilies from rabbits only to be extremely disappointed that they were not what I ordered. Wow what a waste of time and money. Eden Brothers refused to correct their error. I even offered to send back the ugly lilies. I will never order from them again. Looks like they are careless with their orders and Who wants to spend all that time planting only to discover it's not what you wanted. Even if they correct the order it doesn't compensate your time.
Company representative comment on September 1, 2016:
On Sep 1, 2016 2:38 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your purchase. The order to which you are referring was shipped to you in March of 2015. Unfortunately, because it was placed longer than a year ago and because you contacted us after that had finished blooming and could not provide a photo of them, we are not able to conduct a thorough review. We are always happy to review any order where there is suspicion of a possible mix-up. Please feel free to reference our Guarantee, which can be viewed here:

Negative ictoasnrn
Corning, NY
(1 review)
July 28, 2016
Ordered Papaver Somniferum seeds, received Charlock seeds. Thanks for introducing an invasive weed to my area. I haven't seen it anywhere else around here except in my flower bed now.
Company representative comment on September 1, 2016:
On Sep 1, 2016 2:29 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:


We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your purchase. We can assure you, however, that the Charlock that is growing in your area did not come from the seeds that we provided. All of our seeds are tested for germination and purity, which far exceed industry standards. Our poppy seeds generally have a purity of 99.5% or higher. Meaning that there is less than half of a percent chance that your package would contain anything other than poppy seeds (i.e. inert non-seed matter, another variety of seed, etc.). Additionally, we do not sell Charlock and would not have a way to send them to you. From what I have seen from researching this plant is that it is in the brassica family and the seeds look much different than poppy seeds.

The most common reason one would see a species other than the one that they planted is by inadvertently pulling dormant seeds to the surface when preparing the planting area. Tilling or turning over the soil can very often bring dormant seeds to the surface and give them life again.

Positive marinaradad
Livermore, CA
(3 reviews)
July 18, 2016
I ordered seeds for my vegetable garden and daylilies for my flower border that flanks the walkway up to our front door. The daylily tubers were healthy and almost immediately began sending out growth. My vegetable garden, which I grew all from seed this year, is doing fantastic. I started almost all my seeds in containers and I would say that there was over 90% germination. Squash, tomatoes, peppers, corn, tomatillos, cucumbers all sprouted quickly and true to form. Very happy with my purchase, I have had no need to call in to customer service. Product arrived quickly and well packaged. More than satisfied, will order again from this company.
Company representative comment on September 1, 2016:
On Sep 1, 2016 2:39 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Excellent!! Thank you for sharing!

Negative Fetustician
Fairview, TN
(1 review)
June 29, 2016
I tried this company after many successful planting from American Meadows. I wanted summer flowers for my bee hives. I cleared about an acre of grass (roundup, plus where possible burning the grass, or light tilling, or simply raking elsewhere). I spread 15 lbs of the southeast mix and the perennial mix and growth has been VERY weak. Yet we had good rainfall (NOAA: 10" in 60 days). Not sure what would have caused such poor germination but the lower price they had surely was not a bargain. They did not offer to do a partial reshipment either.
Company representative comment on September 1, 2016:
On Sep 1, 2016 2:15 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:


You had reached out to us previously about this issue and provided photos of your planting area. The conditions of your growing areas look far from ideal. The areas appear to be very dry and there is a lot of dead and dry grass thatch covering the area. It does not look like this area was tilled prior to planting and it looks to have received very little water recently. Additionally, using round up to clear an area can be tricky, as it can be equally as harmful to wildflowers as to weeds and grasses.

To experience the best results from our seeds, we recommend the planting process described on our website, here:

It appears from the photos that these guidelines were not followed, so, per our posted guarantee (which you can review here: I am afraid there is no compensation that we can offer.

Negative garden2016
San Jose, CA
(1 review)
March 18, 2016
I just sent a complaint to Better Business Bureau for this website. They cancelled my order stating that the item is unavailable. However, I found out that they still list the item but for a higher price than the price that I paid. I even sent them an email to confirm and they admitted that they can not sell it for the price.
If they can not sell it for the price then why did they even listed that sale price. They should have been responsible for their misleading advertising.
I called the customer service rep and she was so rude to me on the phone. She was talking loud and tried to argue with me about their mistake. She even said that I can go ahead to file a complaint.
What a dishonest and unprofessional company. Will not ever purchase anything from here again.
Consumers please be aware.
Company representative comment on March 30, 2016:
On Mar 30, 2016 10:32 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

There was a pricing error on our website at the time you placed the order and unfortunately we could not fulfill the quantity ordered for the price originally paid. This was an error and we are extremely sorry for any inconvenience this might have caused, however, as soon as the error was discovered we contacted you and offered a full refund for the selection that we could not provide. It is difficult for us to understand your reaction to this situation. We contacted you more than 6 months before the expected shipping date of your Fall bulbs and worked proactively to ensure minimal inconvenience and to provide a fair resolution to this issue. After your escalation through email and over the phone, we offered a substitute at a discounted price if that would be preferable to the refund for you. When you did not respond to this offer, we decided to go ahead with the initially proposed refund. However, before we could refund the item, you opened a case in PayPal, freezing the funds paid for your entire order—including the amount paid for items you have already received. This means that at this time you have now received more than $50 of products on this order for free. We are happy to work with you to reach a resolution that is mutually agreeable to all parties involved, however we cannot do this without speaking with you directly. We invite you to please contact us at your convenience so that we can resolve this situation. We understand that it might have been disappointing to have the Fall portion of your order adjusted, but we truly feel we handled this situation in the most responsible way we could.

Positive Spades429
(1 review)
January 10, 2016
Okay so I don't normally write reviews for stuff but for this company I'll go the extra mile. So not to long ago I got smashed(I think it was New Years), had a fun time, ya know beer pong, kings cup, hurling in the john. Anyways I walked home at some point and went to bed. I got super early because room mate came back and woke me up. I was still slightly tanked but I was thinking clearly, and I said to myself, "Self, ya know US currency isn't backed by gold, dollar could crash any minute now, might be a good idea get some shtf seeds in case ya gotta go off the grid, gnome sayin?" So I went online and found Eden Brothers, they hooked me up with what I needed even got a discount and free shipping. Now I can sleep easy knowing that I have their product. But that's not even the best part! I also requested in their comment section a drawing of a T Rex, and they actually delivered! It was well drawn and nicely proportioned. I will keep and cherish this masterpiece for years. I don't think I can upload pics on here but I can assure that these guys are pros at drawing! 10/10 would buy again. Highly recommend. Also the seeds are good quality too btw.
Company representative comment on January 14, 2016:
On Jan 14, 2016 4:20 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your business and the laughs!

Positive SoCalGal2
Murrieta, CA
(2 reviews)
August 17, 2015
Eden Brothers is simply wonderful! I have ordered several times from them and I receive great packaging and fresh prolific seeds. The Poppy and Wildflower seeds are breathtaking when they flower. I researched and planted at the correct time for zone 9b and I still have abundant beautiful poppies blooming. I just bought more! I prefer the 1/4lb and 1lb packages so I can overseed. Best is when you sign up and get emailed they have free shipping on everything with no minimum, or sometimes they offer 20% off AND free shipping. Honestly, I will never buy my seeds anywhere else if Eden Brothers has them. I can trust them and you can too! Highly recommended!
Positive Tuckersmom
(Patti) Wichita, KS (Zone 6b)
(1 review)
July 30, 2015
I placed a small order (eight packages of seed) on July 25. I received my order on July 29. The seed pricing was good and shipping was very reasonably priced.

Also, in the comment section of the online order form, I had asked that they "please do not substitute any seeds. If seed is not available please credit my card." On the receipt enclosed in my order, this was not only typed out, it was highlighted in orange. I knew they took my request seriously. They were able to fill my order in its entirety.

I was quite happy with this company and will definitely order seeds from them again.
Positive Justicek
Carlsbad, CA
(1 review)
May 30, 2015
I ordered Dahlias for my garden bed this year, and received them in March - just in time for planting in my area. It was strangely hot here during April and I couldnt find the time to plant, kicking myself for purchasing something that I was letting die. Life got away from me and they sat in the box for WEEKS before I could plant them on Mother's Day weekend. Well, when I brought the dahlia tubers out of the bags, each one had signs of life with growth and greenery! I was giddy when I planted them, excited that all hope was NOT lost, and now weeks later they are all growing wonderfully. Great, healthy product from a great company, thanks Eden Brothers.
Positive LVerrico
Collins, NY
(8 reviews)
May 4, 2015
This was my very first order with this company
I had been wanting to try them but wasn't sure do to some things i had read.
Well i will have to say it was a very good experience.
Ordered some lily bulbs they were pulled and packed the day after i ordered the shipping USPS statues was sent and i had my order in two business days.
The account rep who i was dealing with Crystal was just great to work with made it so easy and returned my emails asap such a great way to make a new customer feel.
I will be ordering again.
Thank you
Eden Brothers
Positive leroyarcher14
Crowley, LA
(1 review)
April 17, 2015
Just received my orde 1 ounce giant poppy seeds took four days to arrive excellent seller
Positive suzziesw
Portland, OR
(1 review)
April 9, 2015
For the third year in a row, I have ordered my dahlias from Eden Brothers. They come well-packaged in dirt and are big and healthy. Many of them have sprouts and are ready to be planted. I was able to find Cafe au lait Dahlias, which are my favorite. I'm excited to get these in the ground! I have had success with my orders through Eden Brothers and my emails are answered in a timely fashion. Will order from Eden Brothers again!
Neutral truh
North Kingstown, RI (Zone 6b)
(2 reviews)
April 9, 2015
When you place an order, you're given two choices: 1. email about the order status AND sales email, or 2. no email. The sales email comes out every darn day. It is possible to stop all email, but how annoying that wanting to know your order status causes all this spam. I've ranked them neutral because I haven't yet received my order yet, so I can't comment on that.

Company representative comment on May 7, 2015:
On May 7, 2015 4:29 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:


Customers are welcome to unsubscribe from promotional emails by simply clicking the "SafeUnsubscribe" link at the bottom of the email. Doing so will not prevent order confirmation or tracking emails from being sent to you.

Positive Bricktop
Pensacola, FL
(1 review)
March 23, 2015
WOW! Big Daffodils from Big Bulbs! I discovered this company last fall and found their site nice and prices amazing. They also claimed to have the largest bulbs available. So I ordered a big bag of their daffodils. They shipped quickly and the bulbs were big. Best of all, they're blooming right now. All I can say is that I've planted bulbs for years, and never seen daffodils this large....they're taller, stronger stems, and with larger flowers than any I've planted in past years! I'm off to get some dahlias from them for this summer. Thanks, Eden Brothers!!
Neutral pdorazio1
United States
(1 review)
March 9, 2015
Awaiting customer service to get organic seed certification. Seeds come with no info on the certification and neither does the website. Other companies have certifier on label. Need documentation. Will follow up when company responds.
Company representative comment on May 7, 2015:
On May 7, 2015 4:26 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. The packets of organic seed that we sell do have the organic certifier on the label now. We have been in the process of transitioning from plain white packets with our logo on them to printed packets that include a picture, additional planting information and organic handling information for our organic varieties. If any additional certification information is needed, customers are welcome to contact us so we can provide that information.

Positive Inthegarden14
Camden, NJ
(2 reviews)
November 20, 2014
I was looking for heirloom tomato seeds and I found a great selection at Eden Brothers. Ive been growing Cherokee Purple and Green Zebra tomatos from plants Ive gotten at local nurseries but have always wanted to try these and others from seed. Im a long way off from getting them started, but happy to have found them. They have a nice, large selection.
Positive winterstorm1
Kimballton, IA
(1 review)
November 17, 2014
I have made 2 separate seed orders and both were received extremely quickly and accurately. I have ordered 1 lb packages of cosmos "sensation mix" and also of the "California Giant Zinnias" and the "Come and Cut Again" zinnias. Before I ordered I noted a few negative reviews on this site. However I also noted good company follow up. That is why I decided to give Eden Brothers a try and I am delighted that I did. I am delighted so far with their company and would buy from them again and again.
Positive cyborg
Lansing, MI
(2 reviews)
October 24, 2014
I ordered the "Burst of Bloom" mix from Eden Brothers last spring, and was very happy with the results. My meadow never looked so good, we could see the blooms from our living room window and were pleased with the results. My wife and I are retired, and we enjoyed the time spent looking out at the flowers, we had never tried planting wildflower seeds before. We may try something new again next year, may be some poppy seeds as they are my wife's favorite, a little closer to the house this time.
Positive alejandra86
Austin, TX
(2 reviews)
October 6, 2014
My mom told me about, as she had ordered from them and the seeds came quickly. I have ordered several times now, and each time the seeds arrive 3-4 days later, which is really nice. I usually order for my spring garden, but I just placed an order last week for lettuce seeds to grow this fall. It is now Monday, and the seeds arrived today, true to form for Eden Brothers. Ive always been happy with their service and will return again in the spring.
Negative Wolfdtim
Belle Mead, NJ
(1 review)
September 24, 2014
Ordered creeping daisy got creeping thyme. No customer service. Called and called no response. Still trying
Company representative comment on September 30, 2014:
On Sep 30, 2014 1:30 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

We responded to your phone message and called you back to apologize about the mix-up in the seeds. Unfortunately, this was just a simple human error where the wrong “creeping” seeds were grabbed and packed up for you. We advised that you could keep the Creeping Thyme seeds with our apologies and promptly shipped the correct Creeping Daisy seeds to you the same day that you reported the problem. We feel that we did everything we could to correct the error that was made as fast as possible.

Positive l_m_baker
Tempe, AZ
(1 review)
September 10, 2014
Living in AZ, I ordered zinnia seeds from Eden Brothers. I have actually planted zinnia seeds every year, but this is the first time I have ordered from Eden Brothers. The zinnia seeds came very quickly, I received them within a week of ordering, and the varieties I ordered have been such a wonderful addition to my garden. For the first time, I planted them within my vegetable garden and now I have beautiful blooms where my tomatoes once were. In the past my garden was empty at this time of the year, but now I have beautiful "Meteor" zinnias the size of my palm dressing up my garden. Each stalk has multiple blooms and the shade of shocking red in this variety of zinnia is incredible. Couldnt be happier with my purchase, thank you Eden Brothers.
Positive tburgos
San Diego, CA
(2 reviews)
August 27, 2014
I purchased Elephant Ears this spring from Eden Brothers. I had never grown them before, but have always wanted to try them. I felt compelled to share my experience with these bulbs because I truly believe I received some outstanding product. They came as large bulbs with brown papery leaves around them; the only life I saw in them was the fact that they were solid and showed some green in their lower half. I purchased much more than I should have, so I experimented with a few of them - planting some in the ground in full sun while others I have put in pots in full sun, full shade, and in filtered shade. It took a few weeks to see any life, but sure enough some green sprouts began to poke through! In all locations these bulbs have proven to do well! I purchased the upright variety and leaves are big, shiny and sturdy. Each day when I walk around my garden I check in on my several plantings and Im encouraged as they grow and unfold their leaves. I feel like I have a bit of the tropics in my own yard! I watched a video on how to transplant them, so as I prepare other sections of my yard, I will move them out of the pots and into a more permanent home. I will definitely look to Eden Brothers for my future gardening needs!
Positive DixieK1081
Alexander, NC
(1 review)
August 26, 2014
I just discovered Eden Brothers this year--their website is so pretty! I love all of the flowers I've ordered so far. Even though I planted the majority of my stuff a little too late in the season for our climate area (whoops! What can I say, life gets away from us sometimes!), everything is doing super-well. Sunflowers, Dahlias, Glads, Zinnias, etc! I feel like I've got to make room for a new bouquet everyday!
Negative Kylaluaz
Richmond, VA (Zone 7a)
(3 reviews)
August 20, 2014
I ordered a packet of Tarragon seeds from Eden Brothers. My fault, I did not check the variety when I bought them, thinking I'd do that later. They arrived along with a few other seed packets. I planted them and they germinated just fine in the seed starting pots.

Then I went to check the variety before locating them in my garden. The Eden website identified them as Artemisia dracunculus (Sativa). So I googled that to see what I could learn. Distressingly, I learned that that variety, the true French tarragon, does not produce viable seed. I further learned (not from Eden brothers) that the variety propagated from seed is actually Tagetes lucida, a marigold sometimes called Texas Tarragon. That is a nice plant and I hope that's what I have!

All this is fine except for the misidentification on the website, and the lack of data on the seed packet itself. I know enough that I should check these things in advance of buying! but honestly, as a customer, I don't have all the information, ever, but I do expect my suppliers to be honest and accurate in THEIR information and able to answer my questions.

Eden when I phoned at first gave me a "we are helping other gardeners" message, did not have a "hold" option, invited me to email or leave a message. I composed and sent an email and then called back.

This time the phone was answered, by a customer service representative who said she only knew "what is on the website" but that she had my email and would get back to me with an answer. I want to be sure I know what I have! and I also want the company to know they have an error on their website. And, as well, that they should be better prepared to answer a gardener's questions about a purchased product with accurate information.

Company representative comment on September 25, 2014:
On Sep 25, 2014 2:18 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Hi Kylaluaz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Eden Brothers and bringing this to our attention. We received your email and phone call regarding your concerns about the origin of our Tarragon seeds and immediately checked our information. Within 2 hours of your initial inquiry, we responded and let you know that unfortunately, the Tarragon on our website was accidentally labeled as "Artemisia Dracunculoides Sativa" rather than "Artemisia Dracunculoides" and that the website had already been corrected to reflect the change. We also issued a full refund for the price that you paid for the Tarragon seeds. We believe that we did everything we possibly could to respond to you in a timely fashion, correct the information on our website and resolve your issue.

Negative klitten44
Algonac, MI
(1 review)
August 19, 2014
In May of this year, I ordered 5 Scarlet Delight lily bulbs from Eden Brothers. Michigan summers are short, so when I received the bulbs, I planted them immediately, looking forward to how beautiful they would look on my deck in the Summer, or so I thought.
Well, one bulb did not grow or bloom at all. I was disappointed about that, of course. So, the other bulbs seemed to be growing nicely in pots on my deck in full sun. They were very tall and when I finally saw the buds, I couldn't wait for them to bloom.
As it turns out, Eden Brothers sent the wrong lily bulbs and I ended up with a lavender/mauve color lily! I could have found this type and color of lily anywhere, including any "big box" store! I was and still am angry and disappointed. If anyone has ever seen a picture of a Scarlet Delight lily, you would say " I have to have those, they're so beautiful. If you haven't seen one, you can go on their website and see what they are supposed to look like.
I contacted Eden Brothers (even sent photos of what I ended up with) and all they could do was give me a store credit. They would not refund my money. I told them I didn't trust their store and didn't want to purchase anything else from them. They still would not give me a refund.
I will never buy from them again and I encourage you to do the same.

Company representative comment on September 25, 2014:
On Sep 25, 2014 9:35 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Dear klitten44:
We are sincerely sorry that you received bulbs that did not bloom the color/type that was expected. Though few and far between, every once in a blue moon mix-ups like these can happen, as lily bulbs all look the same when they are in their dormant state.

We do stand by our posted Guarantee on our website: Our policy for this situation is that we will either provide a replacement or a store credit for the amount paid for the items. Since we do not have Lily bulbs in stock, the only other option is a store credit. We provided a store credit for the entire amount of your order--$18.60 right away, as well as many apologies over the phone when you called.

Positive greenygal65
Greenville, SC
(2 reviews)
July 17, 2014
I have been gardening for 35+ years now and love to work from seeds. They are cheap, usually easy to grow and make me feel like I created something from (almost) nothing.

Eden Brothers has been my supplier for about 5 years. I never reviewed them as I usually like to spend as much time as possible in my garden and not on a computer but doing some research on Dave’s Garden for some planting advices, I thought I would take the time to let my fellow gardeners know about this company.

I was surprised to see some negative reviews but I can only speak for myself. My experience has been nothing but positive. The germination of each variety I have bought and planted from these folks has been excellent. I think at this point I have tried more than 100 varieties of flowers, herbs and vegetable seeds from them and none disappointed me in any way. Almost as important, the prices have been generally competitive and I managed to get free shipping almost every time. Shipping has been fast too – usually within 24H. My biggest pleasure dealing with this company though is the choice. I find new varieties all the time. Stuff I have never seen elsewhere. Recently I tried a variety called Turkish Tulip Poppy which gave absolutely stunning and unique flowers, quite different from the usual red corn poppy.

Ordering so many times from this company, I know that my positive experience was not just luck. I have had consistently good experiences for the last 5+ years ordering from them. So, yes, I would definitely recommend this company to anyone who loves gardening!
Negative Gfred1
Tucker, GA
(1 review)
July 15, 2014
If I had read the reviews posted here about Eden Brothers I would not have ordered their overpriced peony tubers. Besides arriving in late Spring, of the 10 tubers received, 3 were broken into pieces. 2 of the plants have sprouted and are growing normally (10-12" high now), 3 other plants might survive, 2 plants are 2 inches high after 3 months of growth and 3 plants never sprouted. Many hours of preparation of the planting bed, soil additives and sweat. Their response was to give me a credit on a future purchase of $11.
Negative Bowmore38
Glendale, AZ
(4 reviews)
July 9, 2014
I was seduced by the constant barrage of "SUPER AWESOME SALE!!!" emails that Eden Brothers sends to its customers. I concede that there were some really great deals.

My first order was for seeds and 10 dahlias. I don't really care what shipping method is used for seeds as long as the packaging protects them. The dahlias are another story.

Sure, the box was labeled PERISHABLE. But it also took the slow boat to China UPS route. The poor dahlia "clumps" were actually hot to the touch when I unpacked them. Nothing like heat and organic matter combined to turn a box into a little portable composting furnace.

Nine dahlias looked great. The tenth one was a single "finger" with the rest of them broken off. The broken off ones were really skinny and tiny. I don't know much about dahlias, so I didn't really know what to do. There was nothing in the instructions about how to plant a "clump" that had undergone a radical amputation of its lilliputian appendages. I planted it anyway, arranged similarly to the other ones. We shall see if it lives or dies.

I was confused about something during a free shipping promotion, and I got a quick email response. Score one for Eden Brothers. I decided to order a bag of Autumn Mix sunflower seeds. No problem. Seeds are sort of hard to screw up.

The next super-duper sale was buy one, get two free. To their credit, they quickly answered my questions about the sale. Thus, even though I had not yet received my first or second order, I ordered ten daylilies (plus twenty free), and fifty gladiolas (plus 100 free). Once again, they took the Pony Express route, but most of the daylilies looked all right, with 10+ of the little roots. However, three of them had four or less root thingys. I really wish we could post pictures here, because they really were shockingly tiny. Once again, I planted them, not really coming up with any better plan.

The glads, of course, were fine. They're pretty indestructible.

Next, I had a question about some zinnias that were listed as SOLD OUT, and the quick response was that they honestly didn't have any more. No problem. I ordered my Cactus Zinnias from New England Seed. Score two for Eden Brothers.

Then I got notification of the sale to end all sales. 82% off all remaining spring bulbs! I love a bargain, so, despite the issues with dahlias and daylilies, I placed two big orders. That's when the fun really started.

The first order, placed June 30th, included 25 Asiatic lilies. I got those on Monday the 7th. Oddly, there were only 23 in the bag. The rest of the order is still in transit, probably using a caravan of camels or something.

My other order included 20 daylilies, since I thought maybe the second batch wouldn't include any "runts." I know, I know. Fool me once, fool me twice, and all that, but at heart I am a perennial optimist. I will never know how that would have turned out, because on Monday the 7th, the day of the missing Asiatic lilies, I received an email telling me that all the daylilies were sold out, and they were sorry for any "inconvenience," but I would get my money back in 7 to 10 days.

Fabulous. I wonder a) why they sell what they don't have, and b) who was worthy enough to get my daylilies. Someone who had been a customer longer, perhaps? Someone who spent more money? Enquiring minds want to know.

Anyway, I'm curious to see what the stagecoach brings when they deliver the rest of my orders. Kind of done with those "irresistible" prices that give me a pain in the dupa, though.

Read the rest of the comments

Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America