Ordered 3 Cherry Nymph Amaryllis for Christmas gifts. The bulbs arrived in a timely manner. The blooms have been outstanding-extremely large with a gorgeous color. Will order again.
Customer service told me how to keep the bulbs so they will bloom again.
Frances60 Santa Cruz, CA (4 reviews) September 29, 2020
I had a similar (unhappy) experience to that of another reviewer here. I contacted WFF about issues with the quality of plants they sent (two roses out of five arrived in horrible condition, showing signs that they had been in their carton for far too long, and UPS screwed up the delivery of a box of perennials). I found that the WWF customer service phone line is never answered, so I contacted the company through email. I got an automated email response saying they would address the issue soon. But they never did. I assume they never will. Terrible customer service equals terrible company, in my opinion. It’s a shame, because WWF was once a reliable, friendly company. It is always a red flag if you cannot talk to a company representative over the phone!
I ordered tomato plants from White Flower Farm this spring, when most online nurseries were overwhelmed by demand and staffing difficulties. I was told to expect shipping delays. However, I received the plants, carefully packaged and in good condition, perhaps only a week or two later than I otherwise might have expected. They have thrived this year and I have since placed orders for peonies and narcissus bulbs for fall planting.
After receiving six plants--two nearly dead and four dead--on June 9, I took photos of all the plants in their packaging and sent an email with the photos to White Flower Farms on June 10 asking for my money back. Plant replacement would have been fine as well but I have received no response of any kind. The email I used is the customer service email as indicated on the WFF website. I have also tried to call, but the voice mail refers customers, again, to the same customer service email. I have now sent five emails to White Flower Farm and have received no reply whatsoever--not even an automatic receipt of email. I am so disappointed in White Flower Farm. Their customer service used to be very good. I'll never order from them again--they sent me dead plants!
I ordered over $550 in plants and merchandise from WFF in late winter and early spring 2020. Who could have guessed that COVID would have such an impact on Nurseries? I was impressed by the communication from the company, keeping us informed all along the way.
My favorite items are a Cretan snake jar and the plumbago and lemon star thunbergia ordered for my deck. The pairing was suggested by WFF and exceeded my expectations. Just beautiful. I also LOVE the Chateau Tuteur Large. I have a David Austin English Rose and 2 clematis starting to grow on it.
Of the many other plants ordered I did have trouble with alyssum. Box arrived torn and twisted and the plants mostly dead. WFF issued a refund immediately. A couple of other plants looked a bit sad, but have revived and are now ready to bloom, they were the big duck gold marigold and the Angelonia angustifolia Angelface.
I am very happy with WFF and found items for my garden that I couldn’t find locally.
Bourret West Newfield, ME (15 reviews) May 31, 2020
I ordered 7 tomato plants from WFF this spring. They were packed perfectly and were very healthy. We planted them about one week ago and are growing beautifully!
I’ve been a loyal White Flower Farm customer back to 2005 when I bought my first house in Bristol, Connecticut. I had a work-related relocation that brought me to Springfield, Illinois, but I continued to use White Flower Farms for superior tomato plants. I purchased for a few years with no issues and wonderful, healthy plants. NOT THIS YEAR.
WFF shipped plants during a record cold snap and when they arrived, I immediately opened the box and found plants tipped around, 4 out of the 12 plants were missing tags (and i bought various varieties) and 5 were dead on arrival with obvious signs of frost damage. I contacted customer service for replacements (I plan ahead and had my order in to WFF back in February) and was told THEY DIDN’T HAVE ANY MORE STOCK. I am appalled that they SOLD EVERY SINGLE TOMATO PLANT and made no provisions for damage in transit.
And to add insult to injury, now all other San Marzano plants are OUT OF STOCK at every other mail order nursery and it is far too late to start from seed.
Since my original outreach, 4 more plants died. So over $85 for 3 plants. Thanks a lot WFF for ruining my garden this year.
To their credit, they offered me a paltry refund for the 5 frost damaged plants (didn’t refund any shipping). They never responded to my follow up email.
Shame on WFF for prioritizing profits during the COVID-19 pandemic over good old fashioned customer service. I will never purchase from them again. Great way to lose a loyal, long-term customer.
Ordered $700 worth of plants from perennials, such as foxgloves and phlox to annual combination planters. Overall, I received 8 boxes of plants, and each plant was packaged extremely well with the safety in mind. Through no fault of the company, One box of plants was rather beat up, but none of the plants were damaged. All plants were received in good health except one which is exceptional considering the 40-some plants ordered. Nothing a little TLC can't fix.
DonnaMack Elgin, IL (Zone 5a) (64 reviews) April 15, 2020
Posted on April 15, 2020, updated April 15, 2020
Posted on August 1, 2003, updated April 15, 2020
I have been ordering from WFF yearly since 1998. My experience is different from a lot of others' because I order primarily bulbs, including tulips, narcissus, alliums,lilies, fall and spring crocuses, anemones, and so on. The quality has consistently been excellent. One of the reasons that I order hundreds of bulbs from them is that I do a "per bulb" cost analysis, and in quantities from 3 to under 50 they are usually cheaper than others, even if the others have an early bird discount (particularly in the 10-12 range - I can't use 50 of a single tulip). I have also ordered sensational peonies (3 Festiva Maxima, 2 years ago, for $19.95) and ferns. These, I suspect, are the areas in which the company excells, which perhaps explains the conflicting responses. I have ordered only a handful of perennials, but the campanula persificolia (12) I ordered years ago were great, and when I reported that one of them died, they sent three as a replacement. (I stopped ordering these types of perennials when I realized how easy they were to grow from seed). I did order a baptisia australis from them that established itself and bloomed in a single season; some I ordered from another company took three years to do the same.
I recently sent them an e-mail because a particularly trio of lilies did not appear. They left a message with a toll free number, and when I called informed me that they had already put in an order for replacement. When one particularly finicky allium failed to appear in sufficient numbers, they apologized that they no longer carry it and asked what other allium I would like. I named a more expensive one, was congratulated on my great taste, and done!
For bulbs, ferns, and peonies, then, they are my first stop each year.
On June 4th, 2004, DonnaMack added the following:
Just an additional note. For certain specialty items, WFF is phenomenal. As a substitute for a less than great performing set of allium atropurpureums (an allium I have ordered from several different companies, and its performance has always been mediocre), I requested allium karavatiense, and it was spectacular. I put in 12, and 12 perfect specimens came up large and robustly. My Vie en Rose daffodils (pink division 1 daffodils are few and far between) have been great performers. The Festiva Maxima peonies I referred to in my earlier e-mail are in bloom, and put all the others I see in neighbor’s yards to shame. Lastly, I was seeking a red rose with certain qualities, decided on Tess of the D’Urbervilles, and found that WFF was the only supplier. I ordered six roses from three different suppliers, and all are very good, but this bare rooted specimen is the largest and most vigorous. It was also, at $19.95, the most expensive, but because of its quality I felt I received my money’s worth. Their lilies are great too. But if I were seeking a shrub, on the other hand, I would go with Forest Farm – I have eight great shrubs from them – so far. Perennials – Munchkin or Bluestem, especially since WFF is so expensive and the quality, from the feedback I am reading, is not there.On April 15th, 2020, DonnaMack added the following:
I thought I was taking a bit of a chance ordering 2 President Lincoln lilacs from White Flower Farm but WOW am I impressed. I received, yesterday, 34 inch tall completedly budded out plants. I ordered them at my last home from a fabulous company that sent me tubes that grew into wonderful plants, but these were as big as those were after three years.
The packaging was superb. They could not be more perfect if I had gotten them from a garden center and driven them home.
The price and the shipping costs were, I thought, quite reasonable until I saw them. Now I think I got a steal!
Thank you White Flower Farm.On April 15th, 2020, DonnaMack added the following:
I must add something else that I just realized. As I noted above, I received containerized 34-inch plants. The plants described on the website were 12-18 inch bare-root plants for $32 each plus shipping.
So I received plants that were twice as big as promised, and White Flower Farm honored the original price of $32 each plus shipping.
I am blown away!!
Thank you for being more than honorable WFF!
2017ginger Shaftsbury, VT (2 reviews) May 19, 2019
Posted on May 8, 2019, updated May 19, 2019
On May 19th, 2019, 2017ginger added the following:
(This is my email to customer service) Good morning- A package was delivered (left on my porch) on Saturday. I'm not even sure if this is the 'complete order', as the status of the order is still saying 'open'. I have not opened the package, I am refusing this order /package (I had cancelled, as I stated over the phone with XXXX on 2 May, yet it miraculously shipped that day, all of the sudden). I have been checking my order status daily and there has never been a 'shipping' status. Nor was there ever an email sent out to me regarding when my order shipped (as your website stated it would do)
Well...This order is still in 'not yet complete' status as of today at 4:30am. This order has been nothing but a complete run around for me, giving me anxiety and stress. Needless to say, I am very disappointed and will be refusing and sending your package back to you today and expect to be 'cheerfully refunded'
Have a nice day, Thank you, Mrs. Griffin
I am sorry this ordering process has been stressful for you. I see your complete order was shipped on May 1. Should you wish to return your order, the item cost will be refunded to your credit card upon return to the Customer Service Office. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.
Thank you for contacting White Flower Farm.
(My thoughts) How could my order be shipped out on 1 May, when I was informed on 2 May by XXXX via phone conversation that my order was still incomplete. I was told that my order could not canceled and that I could refuse it. So I refused it, without opening it. I received my $200 plus dollars back but not the $44.00 charged for their shipping and the money charged for taxes (for such a small package) what a ripoff... Company representative comment on May 20, 2019: On May 20, 2019 12:54 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Dear Mrs. Griffin,
I sincerely apologize for the error in only refunding you for the product. I have issued a full refund on the tax & shipping/handling to your credit card. You should have received a separate email earlier today regarding this refund. Your order was on "ship status" being prepped for shipment on 5/1. Once an order is in ship status, unfortunately, we are unable to make any modifications to it. Your order status online should now reflect a "completed" transaction.
I ordered a few select annuals that arrived today, everything looked quite happy and healthy upon unpacking. White Flower Farm is always a great source for gardening inspiration, I love their selection, but they are definitely pricey. I find that paying more for plants helps to ensure that you get what you want, without unwanted outcomes such as new diseases for your garden. Plus a guarantee on the plants you purchased. It's worth the extra money, especially for gardeners with small gardens. I will definitely order more hard to find goodies from them in the future! Thanks!
As a gardener from the northeast transplanted to Texas, I would like to share my compliments for WFF. I miss my visits to their beautiful garden in Litchfield, which is worth the trip for anyone venturing through the area. My garden in CT was bountiful with many WFF plants. Their plants were of the highest quality. I can't wait to receive my next spring shipment in Texas!
Ves Buffalo, NY (Zone 5b) (13 reviews) December 14, 2017
White Flower Farm has fabulous delphiniums. They might be comparatively more expensive than elsewhere, but are absolutely worth it. It was my first order from them, delph. bloomed fairly quickly and rebloomed during the summer. Stunning color and form. I've already ordered more for next year. Great shipping and packaging too.
Expensive bulbs and shipping for tulip Bulbs! Only ordered bulbs that I couldn't find elsewhere. The bulbs were plump though. Second time ordering.
Mylena1 Cliff Island, ME (12 reviews) July 6, 2017
For the first time I ordered two hydrangeas from this company and I was amazed at what I got. The plants were big and healthy, and I even divided one bush into two. After planting the hydrangeas immediately started to bloom - all three of them. I was also amazed at the choice of hydrangeas this company has. I will order here again. THANK YOU!
I placed an order with this company on May 4, they charged my credit card on May 5 for almost $70.00 and I still have not received a shipping notice, as of today it still says "processing". I have called them twice and they will not give me a shipping date. I have long ago received all of my other shipments from other companies except White Flower Farm, I hope the plants arrive before it gets too hot here in my zone 6b location but I am very worried and hate the stress this causing me!Company representative comment on May 24, 2017: On May 24, 2017 12:06 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am so sorry that your order hasn't shipped yet. I am unable to locate your account with the information provided in this review. However, I am here to help you. Please call me directly at 860-496-9624, extension 6506.
I wish you could leave a review somewhere between neutral and positive. I want to LOVE White Flower Farm (oh that catalog!), but I only like them. The positives: good selection, especially of perennials that can be hard to find elsewhere; stuff ships when they say it will and at appropriate time for planting; good performance of some plants. The negatives: high prices; small plant sizes; and occasional poor plant performance. So I have kind of figured out over the years what I can and can't buy from them. I won't do shrubs anymore after I was sent a lilac twig that died and I won't do daylilies as places that specialize in these flowers are superior for that. I do turn to WFF for perennials I can't find elsewhere, just knowing the cost will be high, the plants will be small, and my husband will say, "You spent $200 for THAT!" But they are plants and will grow. The iris I planted from WFF last year are gorgeous--the stars of my garden right now. The perennials I planted earlier this spring were small but are doing well. My bare root roses are thriving. So I'd say order from WFF but just adjust your expectations, especially for cost, accordingly.
I have been a White Flower Farm customer for many years and not only buy plants for my garden, but also regularly give White Flower Farm gift certificates to friends and family who garden.
I order my plants in February to make sure I get the heirloom tomatoes and hard to get plants that often sell out.
The plants usually come around Mother's Day. This year they came early, and for some reason, several of the plants did not make it. In the past I have had one or two that did not survive, but this year I had 8 (of 36) that didn't make it..
True to their word, when I called, they promised to replace the plants that didn't make it, no questions asked. While some of the more popular, heirloom plants were, unfortunately, sold out, White Flower gave me the option of replacing them with different varieties, or getting a credit.
I like that they stand by the plants that they sell, and that their customer service is nice, and helpful.
I would definitely recommend White Flower Farm.
I ordered two orders of "The Works" Daffodil collection last summer (200 bulbs); the bulbs arrived in time for planting last fall. The bulbs were good sized and in excellent condition. I planted them within a week. This spring they are simply gorgeous. Many are large flowered, fragrant, quite a few double flowers and a great variety of color. I will be ordering more bulbs this year as I want to increase the area devoted to spring bulbs. I've ordered from this company for a number of years and have always been pleased with the plants and have always had good service.
I have daffodils that are blooming now that were put in a number of years ago. I have found that bulbs planted in shady locations will often "peter out" over time; that's mostly due to location (light) and neglect (the bulbs do need to be fertilized after flowering). But bulbs that are planted in sunny locations and fertilized continue to expand and product beautiful flowers year after year. I've been very happy with my experience with White Flower Farm.
Ordered a trillium grandiflora flora pleno and it arrived rotted. Called multiple times and could never get a live rep . When I left an email that I'd leave negative feedback, Valerie contacted me and said they send me a new bulb. Two weeks later, no corm, no contact from them and I can't reach them. If it were a few dollar item I'd forget it, but this costs over $30. At this point a credit would be great.... but I hate to see them loose a customer.Company representative comment on May 4, 2017: On May 4, 2017 11:00 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the quality of the trillium and service you received. I see that Valerie and Diane both assisted you with getting your replacement trillium shipped out as quickly as possible. In addition, we refunded your credit card $37.95 (product & applicable s&h charges) to compensate you for your frustration.
Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional questions or concerns - I'd be happy to assist you.
Once again, I am sorry for the negative experience with our company. I hope if there any unresolved issues, you are willing to give me a chance to rectify them.
Rsundquist West Hollywood, CA (1 review) April 26, 2017
First I must say I'm a new customer to White Flower Farm, although I do a lot of online shopping and this review is about the processing time, not the actual products.
I placed my order with them on 4/17, today is 4/26 and I still have no tracking number and my order has not been processed yet although my card was charged immediately. The website clearly states "orders are shipped at the right time for planting in your area" My zone is 10b so late Feb. I called today and was told orders can take 7-10 business days to process and that many many customers were in front of me. and I should call back on Friday (4/28 after the tenth business day). Seriously?! This will be my last order from WFF. I get that this must be busy season for them in April in Connecticut but there are many other options out there for my gardening needsCompany representative comment on May 4, 2017: On May 4, 2017 10:36 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to hear that your first experience with White Flower Farm was negative. I apologize that you were not given more specific shipping estimates at the time you placed your order. It is not our intent to make you feel as though your order is not important or a priority. There can be several contributing factors as to why your order hadn't shipped. I would be happy to discuss the matter further with you and offer you compensation for your frustration. Please contact me at your earliest convenience via email, [email protected] or telephone, 860-496-9624 extension 6506.
Once again, I am sorry for this experience. I hope that I can rectify this situation to your satisfaction.
Michelle - Manager of Customer Service
Through no fault of this company, I never received the White Wisteria or Day Lily that I ordered. The problem was clearly on my end, but Diana and Donna gave me a credit for the honor anyway! Now, this is customer service that goes way beyond expectancy.
I give them five stars for listening to my problem and assisting me in a most professional and caring way!
Because of this alone, I will look first for my plants at this fine company!Company representative comment on April 21, 2017: On Apr 21, 2017 7:11 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Thank you for the feedback about your experience with White Flower Farm. Our customers deserve the very best and we are always looking for positive resolutions to all circumstances. I will certainly let Diane & Donna know you were thrilled with their service.
We look forward to assisting you with your gardening needs in the future.
Michelle, Manager of Customer Service
Mia_Lousie Evanston, IL (6 reviews) April 12, 2017
Ordered bulbs this spring from several companies. Always compare bulb size where that info is available. White Flower Farm didn't provide bulb size but I figured that for the money, they must be selling premium goods.
The bulbs received are fine but not huge or outstanding. Prices seem high for what was sent, compared with other suppliers. One Dahlia Fleurel bulb for $10.50 and from another supplier 3/$11.95. Same quality. Hmmm.Company representative comment on April 21, 2017: On Apr 21, 2017 6:59 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Thank you for your comments, I have forwarded your feedback to our Director of Horticulture. All of our Dahila tubers are guaranteed throughout the growing season. If you are not pleased with the performance of the plants, please contact us in the fall via email or telephone at [email protected] or 800-411-6159 and you will be fully compensated with either replacement tubers in the spring or a credit/refund, whichever you prefer.
I ordered two lily collections (36 bulbs) and received them last week. The lily bulbs were big and plump and looked freshly dug! They exceeded all my expectations! I compared the White Flower Farm lily bulbs to those I bought at a big box store, and the store lily bulbs were tiny and dried out. I am looking forward to seeing and smelling the lilies later this summer! The size and quality of White Flower Farm lily bulbs were outstanding! (Circleville, Ohio)Company representative comment on April 21, 2017: On Apr 21, 2017 6:44 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive comment about your experience with White Flower Farm. We would love to see pictures of your lily flowers in bloom. Feel free to post a review of them and include a picture on our Website or visit our Facebook page and post a picture once they are in bloom. We appreciate your business & look forward to assisting you again in the future.
Michelle, Customer Service Manager
KDboodo Irving, TX (Zone 8a) (3 reviews) January 13, 2017
This review is written about a RECENT experience, not something from years ago like some of the reviews which I find so useless.
They are very serious about making sure you are happy with your purchase; five stars!
I chose to order 2 Daphne amaryllis bulbs from White Flower Farm this fall (2016) I had one bulb bloom not true to color. I was offered a replacement bulb from whatever varieties were still in stock (this variety being sold out) or a replacement of the same bulb sent next year. They even offered to let me wait and ensure the second bulb bloomed true before submitting the request. When they heard the second bulb was blooming the right color, but only 2 blooms per stalk (which I had figured might just be a quirk to this variety) they decided to send a replacement for it too! I will get my replacements next year, as I like this variety and did not want the others. This was my first order from WFF, and I will be keeping them on my list of places to order from :)Company representative comment on February 3, 2017: On Feb 3, 2017 12:42 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Thank you for your review and speaking about your recent experience with White Flower Farm. We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our resolution. We pride ourselves in providing top quality products and a generous guarantee. We want all of our customers to be successful and satisfied with our products and service. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you!
I purchased a Waterfall Japanese maple from White Flower Farm this past spring and it is doing well so far.
I was very impressed with how carefully packaged the maple was when it arrived and the delivery was timely.Company representative comment on August 9, 2016: On Aug 9, 2016 7:04 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so glad you liked the Waterfall Japanese Maple – it's actually one of my personal favorites! We look forward to assisting you again with your future gardening needs.
Customer Service Manager
smilingred Madison, WI (Zone 5a) (4 reviews) July 7, 2016
Every time I've moved over the past 20 years, I've ordered 100 mixed daffodils and 25-50 mixed daylilies to jump start my garden my garden.
Even though I've done this many times, I'm always impressed with the results each spring.
Thank you White Flower FarmCompany representative comment on August 9, 2016: On Aug 9, 2016 7:17 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Thank you so much for your feedback. We would love to see pictures of your gardens in the spring! Feel free to post them on our Facebook page or email them directly to [email protected].
We also have several new daffodil offerings this fall. If you haven't seen them yet, take a look on our Website - whiteflowerfarm.com. We look forward to assisting you again this fall season.
Customer Service Manager
My father has always sent me flower arrangements from WFF for my birthday, so last summer when we started "remodeling" our garden I decided to give them a try. I ordered some Snow-in-Summer and ajuga, plus 2 Brazelberry bushes, one blueberry and one raspberry. Everything arrived promptly and packaged well, and the potting medium was still moist. A couple weeks later I ordered some foxglove and the lavender goodwin basket - both arrived when promised and were large and healthy. (I did manage to kill the lavender over the winter, but I don't fault WFF for that, just my own black thumb.) In July my dad sent me a gift card instead of a bouquet, and I bought some Iris New Moon and several peonies. Again, shipped at the right time and packed with care.
I had berries on my bushes within a few weeks of receiving them last summer. They overwintered well and are bushy and healthy now, the blueberry bush is already covered in berries. The digitalis did not flower last year, but I did not expect it to. The ajuga and snow-in-summer are happily spreading and flowering, and the peonies and iris are huge and have given me multiple blooms already.
I ordered a white azalea this spring, and it is the cutest little thing. So far it is doing well.
I have been very happy with my experiences with WFF and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.Company representative comment on August 9, 2016: On Aug 9, 2016 7:21 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
We are so thrilled to hear how happy you are with all your White Flower Farm plants and ordering experiences. Thank you for taking the time to post such kind comments. Please don't hesitate to contact us for gardening advice or to help you with a future purchase. Thank you for your continued patronage.
Customer Service Manager
I planted my first garden in about 1981 with about $600 worth of plants from WFF, a fair amount in those days. I was enchanted to visit in order to make my purchases. They had an extensive demonstration garden, which helped me refine some of my choices. Their catalogue was intelligent and exhaustive, and almost all of their listed plants were available to be seen on site. They propagated all of their plants, and potted them up in square pressed cardboard pots, which were easy to compost. And their plants were large, vigorous, and had obviously been well tended while awaiting purchase. I have wonderful memories of several returns, pulling my little green wagon, with my daughter and several plants in tow.
I have not visited WFF for many years, because I found that there was a sharp decline, once the family who originally owned the business had sold out to a corporate entity. I recently was in the vicinity visiting the Bellamy-Ferriday House, and on a whim stopped by. If you have a local garden center which sells Proven Winners and Monroe plants, don't bother to come to WFF. They are selling the same stuff, at elevated prices. They don't propagate any plants, as far as I could tell. Plus, there was only one person operating the cash register, so there was a huge line. Patronize your local garden center. From what I have heard from friends, the mail order service is about what you would expect from how sadly declined the retail outlet has become. Sic transit gloria mundi. It was once a really special place.Company representative comment on June 21, 2016: On Jun 21, 2016 6:39 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Dear Gardening Friend,
2016 is White Flower Farm’s 66th year in business as a privately owned company. The company has been owned by my father since the mid-‘70s, and my family plans to operate the business for the long term. I’m very sorry to hear that your recent visit to our store in Morris was disappointing, but please know that no “corporate entity” controls White Flower Farm. We grow many (but not all) of the plants we sell, and our commitment to product quality and customer experience is as strong as ever. Thank you for your feedback, which helps us a great deal as we strive to make each customer experience a positive one.
I placed an order for several plants this spring.Against my better judgement.I have had bad experiences before…However their offer of larger size Perovskia tempted me.The russian sage arrived,well packed,large plants in big containers.The plants appeared to be dormant.I coddled them.Sun,food water etc…..a month later I had to admit that 2 springs of green on twenty-some plants were all I was going to get.The entire shipment was dead.Company representative comment on June 8, 2016: On Jun 8, 2016 9:17 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to hear you had a poor experience with our company. We guarantee your complete satisfaction and success with our plants. Please contact our customer service department at 800-411-6159 or [email protected] so we can issue replacements or a refund for this order.
Customer Service Manager
I have NEVER had a more horrendous customer experience in my many years of mail ordered plants (or anything else). It is STILL unresolved after trying to contact the company SIX times. I honestly wonder if they're about to go out of business; they are so unresponsive that it is clear they don't care?! Here's my blow by blow experience: my advice to you -- stay far far away! They cost in you money and time!
(1) Received a White Flower Farm gift certificate as a gift from my mom for our new house. Yay! I treasure their catalogs, and have dreamed of affording their plants!
(2) I ordered two butterfly garden mixes ($200 total) on April 24 that was showing "ready to ship" online. I had a planting deadline of May 15 for HOA reasons, so I double checked availability. So excited!
(3) Didn't receive a shipping confirmation, so I called the following week. I waited on hold until they wouldn't let me wait anymore, and then I left a message as instructed. No return call. Hmm... worried.
(4) I call back again. No apology for the unreturned call or wait. Was told they would ship early May... no explanation, just a curt "not ready". I explained my deadline, and they said OK, not to worry it will ship early May, we'll put a "rush" on it. Awesome!
(5) Around May 12-ish, I am genuinely worried about the deadline. I call again. Get a nice agent... Donna, maybe?... who empathizes but says the plants aren't ready. I say I need to cancel my order -- and I want the gift certificate refunded because I have lost patience with them promising and not delivering. She says OK, so sorry, you'll get an email in the next day or two with both cancellations. OK -- phew, that's too bad, but that's an outcome I can live with.
(6) NO CANCELLATION(order or gift certificate) WAS EVER MADE! Credit cards charged. WTH? At this point, it feels like a bait and switch. I'm starting to get angry.
(6) I call again -- leave a message again. (And I'm not an idiot - I leave order number, call back number, reason for my call.) No return call. Seriously? Companies do this in 2016?
(7) I send an email with all the above to customer service. No return email.
(8) The *&^! plants -- that I needed and were told would arrive weeks ago -- shipped today apparently! (Or at least, I got a UPS notice from them.) I bought other plants to meet my deadline, so this is beyond total belief.
Like I said -- this company has cost me $200 -- and hours of headache and hassle. It remains unresolved. The worst of it is that this was a gift certificate (that was supposed to be cancelled) so I don't even know if I can use my credit card company to dispute the charges.
You can bet that I am darn well going to try, however... ! Will keep you posted!
Company representative comment on May 30, 2016: On May 30, 2016 1:17 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I do completely understand your frustration with your overall experience. I want to assure you that this is not what we strive for here and take every situation very seriously. I want to make sure that this issue is rectified. I do see that we had responded to your email on the 24th letting you know that you had been refunded in full. We also advised you to keep the shipment free of charge as it was our error in attempting to cancel it after it had been moved to shipping.
MollyBlooms Grosse Pointe Farms, MI (12 reviews) May 4, 2016
Ordered three coleus plants and they arrived in decent shape, although the planting medium for each was bone-dry -- no wonder, since they were shipped late in the previous week and so had a weekend to dry out before arriving the following Monday. The next day the coleus looked better after a good watering. I'd give this experience a "B."
“White Flower Farm has the BEST customer service and I truly appreciate that, especially when customer service is declining in so many businesses today!”Company representative comment on October 7, 2015: On Oct 7, 2015 9:29 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive comment. We appreciate your business & look forward to assisting you again in the future.
Michelle, Customer Service Manager
ellenfoster Hinesburg, VT (10 reviews) September 20, 2015
This is a lukewarm +. I've ordered bulbs and plants from them in the past. The bulbs were large and healthy. The plants were only OK. They have a good cross the board selection. I've also used them for Christmas presents- "buy 3 for different addresses" as well as some miniature live Christmas trees. These are great for my dad, since they arrive pre-lit and with decorations, but they have been disappointing to me. None of my Christmas trees have made it to being replanted outdoors, but my local nursery told me that I could not expect them to be inside for a month and survive for re-planting. WFF sight does not give adequate detail for me to know this. Nothing wrong, just not great. They are expensive and the shipping charges are appalling.
nitzi1944 Kings Park, NY (Zone 7a) (12 reviews) July 16, 2015
Posted on November 15, 2014, updated July 16, 2015
Posted on October 8, 2014, updated November 15, 2014
Posted on October 7, 2014, updated October 8, 2014
I had a gift cert. I ordered some Carnegie hyacinths and specifically told the phone person I wanted them delivered the VERY END of Oct. This is b/c I am having knee surgery the beginning of next week. Guess what? They just arrived and it will be 75 degrees today. Too warm to plant bulbs. I am going to refrigerate them. The shipping charges are TWICE the price of any other reliable catalog bulb seller like Brent and Becky or Colorblends.WFF is VERY overpriced and if it weren't for the gift cert., I wouldn't have ordered. MY first experience with WFF. I don't think I'll order again.On October 8th, 2014, nitzi1944 changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:
I am impressed by the offer of WFF to refund shipping charges on my original and also to resend the bulbs at the end of the month when I will be home from the rehab facility after knee surgery. Gives me hope that companies want to keep a customer. I am taking advantage of this offer b/c I don't know if the refrigerated bulbs will survive. I am changing my rating to positive b/c of this offer. Thank you WFF!On November 15th, 2014, nitzi1944 added the following:
I received the replacement Carnegie hyacinths. Thank you for your kind consideration and offer. I got someone to plant them for me and look forward to Spring. WFF came through for me. On July 16th, 2015, nitzi1944 added the following:
I must say, the white Carnegie hyacinth bulbs were gorgeous. They were very large. They bloomed for a long time and I received sooooo many compliments. Company representative comment on July 16, 2015: On Oct 7, 2014 10:53 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to hear that we shipped your order earlier than you requested. Please contact us at 800-411-6159 or [email protected] so we can refund your shipping and handling charge and or replace the order to ship at the very end of October as you requested. If you wish to store them in your refrigerator, please make sure the temperature does not go below 40 degrees. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We look forward to correcting this error for you.
Customer Service Manager
On Jul 16, 2015 8:09 AM, White Flower Farm added:
We are delighted to hear that you were pleased and complimented on the Carnegie hyacinth bulbs. Feel free to write a product review and upload any pictures you might have of them on our website at: whiteflowerfarm.com
Thank you for taking the time to update your review.
In 2014 I ordered 5 ajuga plants, 3 lithodora plants, and 3 "Tutti Frutti" agastache plants from White Flower Farm. In May 2015 I was very concerned that these plants had not made it through the winter. After contacting White Flower Farm, their Customer Service promptly emailed good advice about the ajuga plants: do the scratch test at the plant crowns, and if one sees green, the plants are alive, just slowly waking up. What a relief to find this to be true of the 5 plants! As for the 6 other dead plants, WFF CS requested that I send photos of the dead ones. My husband photographed the dead plants with his phone, and I uploaded and sent the photos to WFF. They had already refunded all 6 to my credit card, and acknowledged and thanked me for the photos. I am satisfied by the entire experience, as everyone who contacted me was helpful, polite, and responded as I had hoped they would. As a result, I will continue to be interested in their business!Company representative comment on July 16, 2015: On Jul 16, 2015 8:11 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your White Flower Farm order experience. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
I'm not usually daft at ordering from mail-order garden companies online. I do it enough to have experience with what to expect, so my experience ordering with this company may simply be an isolated incident. I ordered a flower assortment for hanging baskets only to realise the (read: high) price didn't even include a basket. Just 4 flowers - annuals. OK fine, that's on me for assuming.
Only 2/4 of the flowers arrived. OK fine, they let me know on the packslip that the rest would ship when available. Communication was key! Unfortunately, the 2 that did arrive were thrown about the packaging so that the soil was everywhere but in the pots (no damage visible to the box from the outside) and the plants were small and yellowed on arrival. Those 2 flowers shrivelled and died before their partners arrived. Requested replacements, was met with no resistance whatsoever, ultimately received 4 healthy flowers - packaged beautifully this time! The difference was like night and day. Plastic around damp soil - that stayed in the pots - little bits of cardboard to keep things spaced and in place. They must have hired an engineer between my shipments. Joking and trouble aside, the flowers were given a home in a shoddy hanging basket I made myself (cringe, it's all right) and they even came back from the "dead" this year. Can't really complain about any of it in the long run.Company representative comment on July 16, 2015: On Jul 16, 2015 8:23 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
We appreciate your feedback on your order experience with White Flower Farm. I informed our public relations and product development teams about the confusion with the hanging basket. We will strive for a solution that will ensure future customers do not experience the same confusion as you experienced.
I am pleased to hear that your additional two items and the replacements arrived in great condition. We look forward to assisting you in the future.
It's hard not to say I am disappointed... I was attracted to the company website for its large selection and proximity to where I am (Westchester county in New York). In the past 18 months or so, I spent a little over $300 on their website, and have been let down by the quality a few times...
I received bare root peonies that were falling apart, dahlias that 2 out of 3 didn't come up had sick looking tubers when I got them (the website no longer carries the same dahlia so my comment didn't even show up on the website). The Echinaceas I got, while quite healthy and thriving, were way smaller than what you would get for the same price at local nursery (of course I didn't know this in early spring when I pre-ordered my plants).
Some plants are of nice quality (I enjoyed my dutchman's pipe, bergonia etc.), but I am very sad that I lost so many plants due to poor qualities... disappointed...Company representative comment on June 28, 2015: On Jun 28, 2015 12:41 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to learn you have not been pleased with the overall quality of the plants purchased over the course of the last 18 months. All of our plant material is guaranteed for your full satisfaction. In addition, our perennial plant material is guaranteed for one year from the time it was received. Please contact the Customer Service Department regarding compensation:
1-800-411-6159 [email protected]
Posted on May 29, 2015, updated May 29, 2015
Spent hundreds of dollars with this company over a few months' time, and was repeatedly disappointed. Their ordering system is a mess, and while customer service is pleasant, they are not very competent. The plants often arrived with stems cut off by cardboard inserts, dry roots snapping off in their paper(!) packaging, and the ones that did arrive somewhat alive either didn't thrive or were the wrong plant.
For example, I ordered tree form wisteria. For $238, I was expecting two trees. What I got were one (sort of) living and one dead vine. Because I used a gift card for a portion of this order, I was given "merchandise credit" for $100. When I attempted to place an order for $98, they charged my card $45. The only reason I was willing to place another order for overpriced, crappy plants was because of that credit. Requests that this credit be honored were ignored.
I posted honest reviews of the items I ordered on their website which have all mysteriously disappeared. So I made a post on Reddit to warn other gardeners away from this company, and was directed here to write this review.
STAY AWAY from White Flower Farms. On May 29th, 2015, NCgardener42 added the following:
Edit to add: Another "mystery" I have experienced with this company relates to the other negative review that has been recently posted here. When you try to cancel an order that has been sitting at "Processing" for a while, it seems to magically make its way out the door that day. I had to refuse delivery of some potatoes, tomatoes and peppers that I had asked to be cancelled & refunded after this happened on two separate occasions. Company representative comment on May 29, 2015: On May 29, 2015 8:38 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with our plants. We guarantee your complete satisfaction and will gladly send you replacements or credit your purchase amount.
A third party software handles the reviews to our products and those posts can take up to 2 weeks to be visible on our Website. If it has been over 2 weeks and the review still hasn't posted, please contact me so I can look into it. We value all positive and negative posts regarding our products.
If we did not resolve your situation to your satisfaction, please contact me directly at [email protected] and I would be happy to assist you. I sincerely apologize for the condition of the plants upon arrival.
Customer Service Manger