Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Edmunds' Roses

Click here to return to Edmunds' Roses's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
95 positives
6 neutrals
22 negatives


« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next »

Positive lenoirfoothills
(3 reviews)
On Feb 23, 2011, lenoirfoothills Lenoir, NC wrote:

Ordered 2 rose bushes (Rouge Royal & Betty White) 12-4-2010, arrived today, 2-23-2011 - Both received in fine condition! Sturdy 8x8x24 box, roots wrapped in damp moss secured by twine and contained in a plastic bag. Both have metal identity tags and buds were swelling slightly. Very pleased with my purchase from Edmunds' Roses - Will purchase from Edmunds' Roses again.

Negative lisaaj
(16 reviews)
On Jul 18, 2010, lisaaj Columbus, OH wrote:

I initially had a positive impression of Edmunds' Roses, but after two orders have decided to order elsewhere in the future. My first order of four roses had one excellent rose (Honey Perfume), one very good (Neptune), one that is very weak in its second year and covered with blackspot (Moondance) and one that was not true to name (Scentimental). I contacted the company late last fall to get a replacement credit for Scentimental, and had no problems with them at all about it. This year I ordered two roses, Rock'n'Roll (replacement for Scentimental) and Belinda's Dream. Belinda never even came up! Roses take too long to grow to continue this cycle of getting a replacement every year for one of my roses. At this point three of the six roses I have ordered have been unsatisfactory- not a good average. Sorry, Edmunds'!

Negative emart
(3 reviews)
On Jul 8, 2010, emart Souderton, PA wrote:

Posted on June 8, 2010, updated July 8, 2010
Posted on May 12, 2010, updated June 8, 2010
Today I got my roses in the mail. As the earlier poster stated, it was a small box and I wondered how exactly they fit 4 roses. Well, it turns out only 3 were shipped. I ordered in late December, thinking all the roses were in stock. They were, in December. I waited until May to have them shipped due to frost in zone 6 and the fact it is a new garden/patio so I needed to have the bed made first. The Vavoom Floribunda was not sent because it was not in stock in May. They informed me that a refund/credit would be made. I called to find out what happened, and have a different rose shipped. (it's a large garden and really needed the extra rose). They ended up refunding the card a few days ago. I would have liked to know this information as soon as they did, so a different rose could have been ordered, and sent with the original roses.

I asked if the roses are "reserved" when the order is placed. They said no. It is a first come, first serve based on when the shipping date is. We get punished by choosing a later shipping date. Someone else can come in and take the roses you carefully selected just because they choose a shipping date before yours. That is the whole point of a reservation. Just like on that Seinfeld episode, they can take the car reservation, but they cannot hold the car. Seriously. I wish I know about this before hand. No one has ever mentioned this. I thought everyone should be aware of this shady practice. I honestly do not know if I will order from here again. It depends on how the roses do in the ground, but I doubt it.

On June 8th, 2010, emart added the following:

One of the 3 roses I did get in my order never produced. I called for a refund to my credit card and was informed they don't do that. She offered me a new rose (with out warranty) or voucher for a rose next year. I took the new rose (for the same rose) and made sure it was in stock. The "customer service" lady was very rude. She acted like it was my fault the rose didn't grow. The other roses have great leaves and some buds on them, and I followed the directions for all 3. It's not like I did something to the one that didn't grow. She refused to tell me when it will be shipping, and had a horriable attitude. Over all she was very rude. I wish I remembered her name, it might be Helen or Ruth???

From now on, I will be purchasing my roses from local growers, and not mail order, especially not from Edmunds. I expected great roses and great customer service due to all the great reviews, but I was wrong.
On July 8th, 2010, emart added the following:

Their guarantee states true-to-name roses. My Ebb Tide, clearly marked Ebb Tide, is not. It does not match the catalog description, and has clusters of roses just like the Midnight Blue. Ebb Tide has no clusters. And for a supposedly purple rose, it is more pink/magenta then purple. Whatever it really is, I am disappointed it isn't the deep purple I thought I was getting.

I am not going to attempt to deal with the company for another worthless replacement. Just wanted to update you guys. Buyers beware.
On Jul 8, 2010, Edmunds' Roses responded with:

"On May 12, 2010 3:07 PM, Edmunds' Roses responded with:

We are sorry to hear that you did not recieve one of your roses. The operator that you talked to was evidently misinformed, since we do try very hard to reserve inventory for customers that have ordered early but have a later shipping date. However, when dealing with live plants it is very difficult to assure that the plants are in sellable condition at the end of the shipping season. We try to cut off sales as soon as we know we are running out of an item so all previous orders will be covered. However, as the shiping season progresses if an item fails to store well it has to be removed from inventory. Another problem is if a second shipment of inventory is expected but does not arrive it is the orders that have not yet shipped that are affected. We wish it was as easy as having bedspreads counted on a shelf since they do not deteriorate, but unfortunately live goods are much more unpredictable.

If you still need a rose shipped, please feel free to call our customer service line at 1-888-481-7673. We will be happy to check our warehouse to make sure your new selection is available so this does not happen again for you. We do appreciate your business and are very sorry that this happened."

Positive millvalley09
(3 reviews)
On Jul 2, 2010, millvalley09 Mill Valley, CA wrote:

Posted on June 21, 2010, updated July 2, 2010
I have never planted roses before and didn't even know what a bare root rose was. I ordered from Edmunds b/c it was having a 50% off sale. I ordered the roses on June 4th and received them June 17th. The canes were brown (not green) -- as were the roots. (From what I've read online, the canes should not be brown, but, again, I've never seen bare root roses before.) The roots were packaged in peat moss and didn't look too bad. The two rose plants seemed to have enough space in the box.

I followed the planting instructions precisely, planting them on June 19th after soaking them for about 20 hours.

Now that I've read the reviews here, I'm a bit nervous that this will all be a waste of time. I will update in the next 2-4 weeks on the progress of the plants.

On July 2nd, 2010, millvalley09 added the following:

two weeks later, the Folklore rose is leafing out very well. It started to grow almost immediately. Bella-roma doesn't appear to be doing much (this rose was a bit more pathetic when it arrived: only 3 canes, one of which was dead, and all canes fairly brown), but I dug down into the peat moss and compost over the crown and canes and found that it, too, is sprouting. It's much, much slower than Folklore, but it is growing. Edmunds offered to refund my purchase for the bella-roma within the first week (when there was no sign of growth.) I declined, opting to give it a bit more time.

If I had it to do over again, I would just buy potted roses at my local nursery, which is selling 5 gallon roses for 14.99. I paid almost that much for the sad bare roots. But I have no complaints about Edmunds; even though they sent a sad Bella'Roma, they did offer a refund immediately (with no questions asked.)
Positive trudyjh
(6 reviews)
On Jun 11, 2010, trudyjh North Kingstown, RI wrote:

Posted on June 11, 2010, updated June 11, 2010
Posted on April 29, 2010, updated June 11, 2010
My bareroot roses arrived, beautiful healthy sturdy plants, shipped promptly, well packed. Already leafing out when unpacked. I couldn't ask for a better result.

I don't know why corgiboy2 had trouble with their website, the contact link which brings you to email info is right at the top of the home page.

On June 11th, 2010, trudyjh added the following:

Update: It's June and the roses are amazing. Both these and the ones I got from the Antique Rose Emporium are the healthiest roses I've ever seen.
On June 11th, 2010, trudyjh added the following:

Contrary to Russ' note below, ordering from Edmunds did not put me on any postal or email lists for other plant companies. I am a fanatic about getting off junk mail lists, so I get very little, and I would have noticed new ones showing up.

It's been my experience that when I phone a junk mailer, the phone person has no idea how my name got on the list, so I think the Jung's person may have misinformed Russ.
Positive gourdobean
(12 reviews)
On May 29, 2010, gourdobean Minden, NV (Zone 5a) wrote:

I ordered 7 roses and they arrived looking like typical healthy own root bare root roses. 6 grew well and one never leafed out and was quickly and politely replaced. However,I ordered 11 potted cutting own root roses from another company at the same time. The potted cutting roses are out growing the originally much larger barefoot roses from Edmunds. The form of the own root from cutting potted roses is much more pleasing. I do think Edmunds did a great job. I don't think I would order bare root roses again, but if I did I would order from Edmunds.

Positive bobbi_s
(21 reviews)
On May 29, 2010, bobbi_s Richland, WA (Zone 7a) wrote:

I received my order today. I ordered a candy land climbing rose and a purple splash climbing rose. They came with sprouts on them, they were covered with peat moss. They have very good instructions, and I have high hopes that they will bloom this year. Very good bare root roses.

Negative russ9673
(10 reviews)
On May 27, 2010, russ9673 Denver, CO wrote:

Posted on May 10, 2010, updated May 27, 2010
Posted on May 10, 2010, updated May 10, 2010
Posted on May 9, 2010, updated May 10, 2010
I ordered 9 roses from Edmunds. The roses arrived and I knew looking at the box that I had a problem. 9 roses were some how in a 12" square (top measurement) box. I opened the top to see that the roses had been shoved inside and there were numerous broken canes. I took the box to my work shop and carefully cut the side of the box open. When I got the box open I noticed that the bag that was supposed to be surrounding the roots had been torn and the moss surrounding the roots as well as the roots were dry. Also, many of the canes were shriveled and generally the whole mess did not look good. I (surgically) unwound the bushes from each other and cut out the broken canes (there was alot). I then placed the bushes in a large tub of water to see what would happen. I have checked the roses daily and after 10 days there is nothing going on there is no signs of life and the canes have not recooperated. I e-mailed Edmunds today and will update my post with their response.

On May 10th, 2010, russ9673 added the following:

THESE PEOPLE ARE UNBELIEVABLE! I received an e-mail this morning and was told that it would be easier to call them and describe my issues. I did so and spoke to a rude and accusatory woman named Laura. She informed me that I should not have soaked them and that there was NOTHING MORE THAT they would do for me. When I told her that I was going to take it up with my credit card she then told me that I could talk to her supervisor. After several minutes on hold I spoke to Helen - who proved to be even more rude than Laura. Helen informed me that they would refund my money and take me off their mailing list as "they are unwilling to do business with people who cannot follow directions." I told her that I had posted my concerns on this website and that I had received 4 emails overnight from people who have had similar issues with Edmunds. That set her off even more. She said that she does not understand why people don't have the "respect" to give them the opportunity to deal with issues and go off and "bad mouth them" on the internet. WOW! I can't imagine why people bad mouth their company - they send me crappy, dry, and dead plants and it's my fault - I guess I am just a stupid customer!! DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH EDMUNDS ROSES.
On May 10th, 2010, russ9673 added the following:

Now comes Edmunds with a passel of lies to attempt to cover up for their misdeeds. Amazing how it is still my fault for what ever "misunderstanding" they seem to think there was.

I mentioned SEVERAL TIMES to both Laura and Helen that there were issues from the time that the box arrived and I opened it to reveal bent and broken, bent and dried canes. Helen even said to me, "so you were unhappy with them when they arrived?" To which I replied that I was not necessarily unhappy and wanting to give them the benefit of the doubt that they being in the rose business they knew what they were doing and that they would not knowingly send out a poorly packaged product.

Either way, even if I was totally in the wrong, the way I was treated was totally uncalled for. Both representatives had an attitude. Laura barely let me tell her what the problems were before letting out a long sigh and beginning to tell me all the things I did wrong. Helen was rude and obnoxious from the start. Bottom line, I did not and do not want a refund. What I needed was roses to fill the space that is ready for them. What I got was treated poorly and badgered by people who would not know good customer service if it came up and slapped them in the face. I have already done what I should have done in the first place taken my business to a local garden center and purchased potted roses. They were slightly more expensive but well worth the lack of aggravation.

A side note here. I requested a catalog from Edmunds in October 2009. When it had not arrived by January, I called them. I was informed that they had a limited number of catalogs and decided to send catalogs to their "established" customers. New customers would be left without one. I mentioned that it would be nice if they had sent a postcard or something letting everyone who would not be getting a catalog what was going on. The representative told me, "well, I'm taking your call, isn't that enough." As I told them today, I should have just taken my business somewhere else right then and there.

On May 27th, 2010, russ9673 added the following:

So the saga continues. True to their word, they did process a refund for my order. However, despite the fact that they say that they DO NOT share information with other companies, I have begun to receive e-mail from Jung Seed, a company that they are either owned by or are associated with. I have never done business with Jung and was surprised by the e-mails. I called them and inquired how they got my information. Low and behold, Edmunds gave it to them. Just another example of the lies and poor business practices of Edmunds.
On May 27, 2010, Edmunds' Roses responded with:

"On May 10, 2010 3:10 PM, Edmunds' Roses responded with:

Our orders normally arrive in excellent shape, as verified by many postings on this website. However, if packages do arrive damaged (as we mentioned at the end of the phone conversation) we do appreciate being notified so that we can rectify the situation. Nothing was mentioned at the beginning of the phone conversation that the plants arrived in bad condition, only that they were soaking for 10 days and had died. Our operator naturally assumed this was the reason the roses died since our planting directions state to soak for a maximum of 12 - 24 hours. It was not mentioned until the end of the conversation that the package had arrived damaged.

It is always very important that we be notified immediately if an order arrives damaged. Our orders are guaranteed to arrive in good shape so we are processing a refund for this order. We do want our customers to be satisfied with our products.

Positive irishrosegirl
(2 reviews)
On May 10, 2010, irishrosegirl Bothell, WA wrote:

I just finished a 20-minute long phone conversation with customer service at Edmunds Roses. The woman I spoke with was very nice, answered each of my questions and took as much time as was needed. Edmunds was sold out of the rose I wanted, but based on how well I was treated on the phone, I will definetely check back with them next year to get the rose I want.

Positive yukons_mom
(14 reviews)
On Mar 19, 2010, yukons_mom Boise, ID wrote:

Another robust rose arrived today and we could not be more pleased. We have never had a problem navigating their system and the plants ordered have all been beautiful. We will continue to order from Edmunds as our need for a large lawn diminishes!

Positive blueeyeskms
(29 reviews)
On Mar 9, 2010, blueeyeskms Waverly, KS (Zone 5b) wrote:

Ordered two roses from Edmund's last year. Just love my Cinco De Mayo rose. It is beautiful! Arrived very timely and with good packaging as well.

Negative corgiboy2
(1 review)
On Jan 11, 2010, corgiboy2 Palos Verdes Peninsula, CA wrote:

Online ordering proved to be impossible. To place an order on their website you must create an account--no guest checkout! I tried this. They e-mailed a code (which purportedly is needed to complete registration) and a return web address. Clicking on that brought up a page with the code automatically filled in. However, when I entered my e-mail address as requested it said the code didn't mach. Huh? After a couple of attempts I figured I'd just try all over again. But when I did, it said my e-mail and password were already registered, and that I could view this on My Account. Yet when I clicked on My Account I got the page that asked me to create a new account! So I figured I'd e-mail them about the problem. Guess what? They don't have an e-mail contact. What self-respecting web retailer fails to have an e-mail contact? Over one hour of frustration.

On Jan 11, 2010, Edmunds' Roses responded with:

"On Jan 11, 2010 12:49 PM, Edmunds' Roses responded with:

We are sorry you had so much trouble with our website. If you contact us by phone or email we can help you through the trouble you are having. You can order with an account or as a guest. Whichever you prefer.
If you click on the contact information on the top right of any page you can email us or get our toll free number from there. If you would prefer to contact me directly you can call our toll free numbers 800-347-7609 or 888-481-7673. I'm at extension 4319 or just ask for Ruth. You can email me directly at [email protected] or use the email form from the website contact page, the girls in customer service that get those emails will forward it to me.
We would be happy to help."

Positive ridgebax1
(5 reviews)
On Aug 13, 2009, ridgebax1 Pittsburgh, PA (Zone 6a) wrote:

I ordered two roses from Edmund's. I was very pleased witht the condition of the bushes and how they have performed in my garden.

Positive monniemon
(10 reviews)
On Jul 26, 2009, monniemon Lansdale, PA wrote:

In april i made my first order to Edmunds Roses. I took advantage of their sale of 10 roses for $10 each. In all i ordered 15 roses from them. The roses arrived in a timed fashion, an they were outstanding. Not only did I get great roses, but it was nice to receive a free gardeners tote bag along with my order, (I use my bag daily). I had a problem with one of the roses, called and expressed my concerns, and was given the option for a replacement, but I decided to wait and see what the rose would do. I hoped it would get better once planted, but it did not. I called a couple of months later and was sent a replacement rose immediately.

GREAT SERVICE and Wonderful Roses.


Positive Twonewfs
(18 reviews)
On Apr 23, 2009, Twonewfs Belgium, WI (Zone 5a) wrote:

This is another example of a company I ordered from specifically because of the reviews I read on this site. I wasn't even sure I was going to order a rose, but after reading the reviews here and looking around the site I found one I "had to have."

The rose arrived yesterday, well packed and looking very healthy. Better yet, it came with the most specific instructions I've ever received from a company on planting and care. The pamphlet they sent is so good that I'll be filing it for future reference.

I'm very happy with this transaction.

Positive jjh422d
(7 reviews)
On Apr 14, 2009, jjh422d South Windsor, CT (Zone 6a) wrote:

I bought two roses from Edmunds in March and they just arrived as promised and in great shape. This is my first time buying from them, but probably not my last. Excellent selection and a pretty fair price.

Positive val0822
(6 reviews)
On Apr 11, 2009, val0822 Media, PA wrote:

I just received my first order from Edmunds. Ordered back in Jan on a snow day and specified the shipping date hoping it would work out. The roses arrived exactly when I wanted and are larger than other bareroot roses I've ordered. I only just planted them a week ago but so far so good.

Positive schifferle
(3 reviews)
On Apr 5, 2009, schifferle Lansing, KS wrote:

This is the first time I've ordered from Edmunds. Few places had the particular Easy Elegance roses I wanted. I received my 4 bare-root roses this week and planted them yesterday. They looked fine and hopefully they will grow for me. While the website has a large time frame for when delivery might be made for my zone, after emailing them, they confirmed that they would ship my roses for when I wanted them.

Positive paulgrow
(28 reviews)
On May 30, 2008, paulgrow Allen Park, MI (Zone 6a) wrote:

I purchased 2 mini roses, one was excellent and the other died.
I called customer service the rose that I purchased was sold out, they let me choose another one at a higher price as a replacement at no additional charge.

Excellent customer service, very courteous.

Will buy from again.

Positive chicochi3
(20 reviews)
On May 26, 2008, chicochi3 Fayetteville, AR (Zone 6b) wrote:

Good, healthy roses. Even after the company changed hands, I have never had a problem with any of their roses.

Positive girlbug2
(10 reviews)
On Mar 24, 2008, girlbug2 Westminster, CA wrote:

If I had to pick just one company to supply the world with roses, it would be Edmunds!
Eight years ago when we bought our first home I was finally able to plant my dream rose garden. That following January I ordered several roses from both Edmunds and J&P. (I order primarily those varieties that are listed as heavily scented because as far as I'm concerned, what other reason would anybody need to grow roses at home when they could get florists roses for so much less time and effort -- except that florists roses have virtually no scent.) I also paid close attention to claims of vigor and disease resistance because I was (and am still) determined to be an organic gardener. That first growing season had mixed results with the success of my roses, partly because I was a complete newbie, although I had my experienced gardener mom to advise me. Nonetheless, every rose from Edmunds not only survived but did very well. (For example -- my Mr. Lincoln rose, which has a reputation for being "fussy" and prone to black spot, actually turned out to be a star performer in my garden -- quite productive, healthy, and exactly as beautiful and fragrant as Edmunds' catalog indicated) Since then I have continued to order roses from both sources and occasionally buy them at local gardening centers, but gradually I have stopped ordering from anybody but Edmunds.

The quality of the Edmunds roses is premium, as is their customer service. Not once did anything arrive in less than perfect condition, and everything I have planted from Edmunds has thrived beyond my expectations. However, as a home gardener that is still learning new things every season, my first reason for picking up that catalog every winter is Edmunds' complete and total honesty. They will give accurate and honest ratings for things like size, vigor, scent, and disease resistance, unlike another company I could mention. Yes, that means they will indicate when a rose needs a little extra TLC, and the listing will give a good hint or two to help with that. They do not sugarcoat or gloss over potential weakness of a variety, such as needing extra winter protection or Electron being "cursed with a myriad of tiny, sharp thorns". That also means that when they say something is vigorous, or strongly fragrant, it really is! You can take it to the bank. Ironically, Edmunds is also less expensive than its lead competitors, especially J&P.

My plea to other rose mail-order beginners is not to waste your time and money with other companies, which may have slick and beautiful catalogs and Web sites, but which seem to have lost sight of their customers beyond their multi-company marketing campaigns. Roses should be obtained from rose-knowledgeable people who can help their newbie customers with advice and personable service. Mail order your roses from Edmunds and your other perennials from a good local garden center or catlog that specializes in perennials, such as High Country Gardens.

Positive tgjones
(4 reviews)
On Jul 13, 2007, tgjones Farmington, UT wrote:

I ordered two roses from Edmunds in January 2007. The order that came was timely and the roses looked very good. As with bare root roses, survivorship is always questionable. One of my roses just did not survive after planting. I called Edmunds and they were very nice and made some suggestions on what to do to maybe get the rose to survive. It did not, so I called them back and they are sending me a new one next spring. I believe that it is difficult for a business to just "replace" orders when they do not know for sure the cause of the death of the plant. In this case the plant died. They made it right by agreeing to replace it. That is good customer service.

Positive LucasCatChow
(25 reviews)
On Jun 17, 2007, LucasCatChow Tulsa, OK wrote:

I ordered a rose from them in 2006 before they changed hands (sold to Jungs) and it was a nice large bare root delivered as promised. I ordered another rose from them early this year, and since it was a rather limited distribution rose (Falling in Love) I thought if there was going to be any mix up because of the new company this would probably be the rose that would "fail to show up". I was wrong. The rose arrived when specified and was in good shape. I don't know what the future will bring, but having ordered from Jung seeds in the past with 100% satisfaction, I can't see why it wouldn't be a good place for roses too.

Positive whitehen
(7 reviews)
On Jun 10, 2007, whitehen Salem, MA (Zone 6a) wrote:

I ordered a bare root rose in late May holding my breath on what may come and to my surprise it was outstanding. Customer service was great, I had the rose overnighted and it was delivered in less than 24 hours!! Edmunds roses directions on how to plant the rose were perfect and they made a point of telling you common errors that people make when planting bare root roses. Two weeks later I have the rose (Crimson Bouquet) I could not find any where else and it's doing great. Thanks Edmunds!!

Positive cfarres
(12 reviews)
On May 11, 2007, cfarres Deering, NH (Zone 4b) wrote:

I orderd 3roses from Edmunds earlier this year. They arrived a couple of weeks ago with large canes, massive roots and still dormant.

I could not plant them right away, so I placed them in a pail of water for approximately 1 week. Last weekend I planted them. Last night I checked upon them and they had all broken dormancy.

I am very pleased with the quality of the plants.

Positive PMW64
(1 review)
On May 10, 2007, PMW64 Warner Robins, GA wrote:

I loved my experience with Edmunds! I ordered 2 roses; both arrived in a timely manner and were extremely healthly. The canes were large and I was pleased that after I planted them they both sprang to life and are doing better than any I have purchased locally. I will continue to order from them in the future.

Negative sacerdos1
(8 reviews)
On May 2, 2007, sacerdos1 McLean, VA wrote:

Edmunds has changed more than hands it hasalso changed ethics.I ordered many roses from Edmunds as I have done in previous years.This year the roses were partially dry.I ordered 4 36" tree roses.They sent 3 36" and 1 20" rose.That woulk be a strange lineup.I called Ednunds and they were not too receptive to my situation,after all I did recieve 4 roses.They offered a discount on the short one.I said no.They advertised 36"rose trees and I ordered 4 of them.They dont sell shorter (exce[t miniatures).They asked me what I would do with the short one and I said I would find a place to plant it or else they could have it back. They acted as if it were my fault they recieved only 20" trees of that certain name.But they still proceeded to sell them as 36" trees althought they knew they were not.They also did not contact me when filling the order.So they said they would send a replacement but they would not guarantee it except aht it would arrive alive.Their regular guarantee would not hold.This is lousy customer service and although I have bought from them for more than16 years I will not buy from them again.I warn anyone beware Edmunds.They have changed. I will contact the Better Business Bureau and file a complaint.

On May 5th, 2007, sacerdos1 added the following:

I received a response from Jung company which was an insult.Very nicely they stated that I would be dropped from their mailing list because I was not happy with my order because one rose tree was 8" shorter than the others.They should have said "8" shorter than whatr was stated in the catalogue.Their guarantee states "We will guarantee all plants to be true to variety".Does that cover sending a tree rose 8" shorter than the other three and which was advertised as 36"? They are blind that they are in error.They admit that all the roses which are Chihuly came in 24",but they never notified me of the fact and asked whether I still wanted it .They just sent it and when I objected that it was not what I ordered all they would do was give a reduction on the rose which I could not use anyways.They were more concerned about what I would do with the rose tree than about what they should do to remedy THEIR mistake. Why would a person order 4 36"rose trees and not be upset when one of them was 28".Edmunds does not sell that size so why would I want it.The final straw is still their refusal to place their guarantee on a new rose because they consider it a replacement rose.In short they did not deliver what I ordered.This is dishonesty and I now appreciate what people have to put up with when dealing with unethical business people.I am a pastor of a large Catholic parish in McLean Virginia,asuburb of Washington D.C. and have two rose gardens.Many peopel of all faiths visit these gardens and one qiestion they all ask "where do you obtain your roses?"I will certainly tell them as a voice of one crying in the desert"Anywhere but Edmundsfor if they deal with the church this way how worse will they treat you?"
On June 2nd, 2007, sacerdos1 added the following:

Ruth has a selective memory.They did offer me a replacemnt rose but they added that the guarantee would not cover it.My point is that they sold me a rose knowing that it was not the rose I wanted.My position is they should have told me that the rose I ordered was not available or admit their mistake and send another rose with the same guarantee.The contradicted wat was written in their catalogue and website.I am pursuing it with the company and the state only because a parishioner who is a lawyer said they are in violation of their own policy.Edmunds is dishonest.
On May 2, 2007, Edmunds' Roses responded with:


On May 7, 2007 9:33 AM, Edmunds' Roses added:

Interesting that a pastor would forget to mention that he was offered a second rose at no cost or a full refund in both contacts we have had with him. After reading my email to him, I admit I did come off as saracstic. I am sorry about that.
We have indeed removed his name from our mailing list. If anyone else would also like to, please contact me privately


Positive pcat
(2 reviews)
On Apr 24, 2007, pcat Berwick, PA (Zone 6a) wrote:

This was my first year ordering from Edmunds. I have ordered from other online places such as Jackson & Perkins and was disappointed before but wow was I surprised. The roses arrived right when they were promised and were at least twice the size of any I had previously received before. They all had at least 5 canes and all were very green and already had bud eye growth on them.
I'm Extremely happy and will order from them again!

Pat C

Positive kbedit
(16 reviews)
On Apr 10, 2007, kbedit Arvada, CO wrote:

I also received the same response e-mail as "macpams" (below). I placed my order on March 29 and received the e-mail on March 30. Since it hasn't been 15 days yet, I'll reserve any further comment. But let's just say I'm not 100% confident now because my attempt at replying back to their e-mail came back "undeliverable." Any new developments, macpam?

On April 11th, 2007, kbedit changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

As a follow-up to my comments yesterday, I just called the toll-free 888 number in the e-mail acknowledgment I received from Edmunds one day after placing my order for a shrub rose. Since I've had no further communication from them, I decided to cancel the order. I spoke with Rita, who had no trouble finding my order. Rita informed me that the rose I had ordered was on back order, and she could not give me a delivery date.She was very efficient and courteous, and Edmunds had NOT yet charged my credit card because, according to Rita, my rose order had not yet been shipped. I may try them again in a month or so.
Negative macpams
(5 reviews)
On Mar 15, 2007, macpams Bethlehem, CT wrote:

Following an on-line order, an email advised me to expect further confirmation of variety availability within 15 days. I called yesterday (on day 17) and the person to whom I spoke (Joyce) seemed unclear about this issue. She promised that customer service would email assurance that the cultivar would be available for me (a verbal was not acceptable---I want some sort of trail). No email of yet.
If this is official company policy, she should be aware of it and eager to allay my concerns.
I will call again today. If I get the same bewildered treatment, I plan to cancel my order to avoid disappointment along with at least a month's worth of anxiety, waiting for my shipment.

On March 16th, 2007, macpams changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:

This is a section of the order confimation email which I received on 2-24:

"We will be sending you an acknowledgment by email
or mail from an associate of Edmunds' Roses within the next few days where we actually reserve your products from our inventory. Please compare that acknowledgement with this one to be sure your order is correct. If anything is sold out, it will be noted on your acknowledgement. If you do not receive an acknowledgement from an associate within 15 days, please
call our toll free number."

Still have not received their follow-up acknowledgement indicating the cultivar is in stock and reserved for delivery to me.
So they charge my credit card immediately but can't (or won't) confirm inventory per their stated policy. I'm feeling a little uneasy about this.

On April 15th, 2007, macpams added the following:

Firstly, I must clarify; Edmunds did not charge my credit card. Their initial order confirmation email appeared as though they had, but on later checking my statement I found they had not. I have wanted to clear this up as it was unfair to leave this impression and I aplogize.
Edmunds contacted me via "Dave's Garden" email after my posting. We did not communicate effectively; nor were my concerns resolved. Intuition told me that the rose cultivar which I had selected was not available and they didn't know how to handle the situation. I became very concerned when Customer Service reps failed to understand that I was seeking a confirmation of variety availability and was following the Company's own instructions when I did not receive one within 15 days. Obfuscation and excuses (Jung just took over the Company) make me queasy.
Thankfully, the order was cancelled. It was not a pleasant experience. Most companies have procedures in place to effectively communicate with their customers. Frankly, I never before encountered a policy which obliged the customer to follow-up and be responsible for verifying an order, nor a more disobliging Customer Service staff.

Positive kjean
(1 review)
On Mar 8, 2007, kjean Hayward, WI wrote:

I first ordered with Edmunds Roses last year and couldn't have been happier. Everything you have read about the size, quality and customer service is true. I purchased 6 roses last year for my own garden, and recommended the company to my mother as well. She ordered a number of roses from Edmunds, as well as another well known rose company. I helped her plant her roses, and we couldn't believe the comparison. Sure, the other roses did fine too, but were not of the size & quality the roses from Edmunds were. I already have my order in for 9 more roses this year! I would highly recommend this company, in fact, I do regularly!

Positive eself66
(2 reviews)
On Jun 13, 2006, eself66 Ringgold, GA wrote:

I bought 6 new rose bushes from Edmunds. I wish I'd bought from them last year. I am so pleased with the size, health and vigor of the bushes. My wife and I entered a local rose show on a whim and roses from our Edmunds bushes won 2 novice categories.

Positive Spunkybart
(2 reviews)
On Apr 27, 2006, Spunkybart Richmond, VA wrote:

I ordered 7 bareroot roses from Edmunds. They sent them promptly, and I was pleased with the size and health of all 7 of the plants. This was about a month ago, and all are in the ground, living and healthy.

Positive alicewho
(50 reviews)
On Mar 7, 2006, alicewho North Augusta, SC (Zone 8a) wrote:

This place is the absolute best! Edmunds will not disappoint you. There prices are a little higher then most other places but the quality of roses is worth every penny of it. I have a bucket were I soak all my bare root roses before planting them, I can usually fit up to 10 roses in it at the time, but not with the Edmunds Roses, I could barely fit 3 of their roses in it.

Positive crystalnurse
(4 reviews)
On Feb 19, 2006, crystalnurse Saint Louis, MO (Zone 6a) wrote:

Bought 3 Rose bushes that arrived in great shape. Great root system. Received as a Valentines present and they came in on the day they promised. Will definately buy from again.


Positive mbachelor
(9 reviews)
On Oct 7, 2005, mbachelor Portland, OR wrote:

I cannot say enough positive things about this company! Their customer service was great. They promptly shipped my plants out to me, and even enclosed a very friendly and personal note. The roses I ordered from them are GORGEOUS! Very lush, many, many blooms- really, they have made me so happy in my little garden. I more than doubled my order with them this year. I chose to order from other companies last year, but after experiencing Edmunds premiere rose quality and customer service, I will remain their loyal customer.

Positive AGEuro
(2 reviews)
On Jun 15, 2005, AGEuro Durham, NC wrote:

Absolutely positive. I placed my first order with Edmunds' Roses this spring: one Grandiflora, Maria Shriver. It arrived promptly, very well packed, in great condition, and absolutely top notch quality with very big canes and huge roots. It is very healthy (e.g. no signs of RMV), and has been growing and blooming very well. It's an extremely beautiful and well scented rose, btw. I can only recommend Edmunds, they are a top notch company.

Positive nance_tenn
(2 reviews)
On May 30, 2005, nance_tenn Oak Ridge, TN (Zone 6a) wrote:

Received four bareroot roses earlier this spring. We've had a very weird spring - weather was up to the 80's for a couple of weeks, then back down to freezing when plants were shipped. We're about up to average temps now, I think.

My Edmund's roses are still coming out. (Planted within a bed with about 25 others - have about 100 roses in 4 beds and single places and climbers. I LOVE ROSES!!) They look like they survived the weird weather well. A couple have a couple of buds started.

I have Firefighter, Nicole, Crystalline, and Brilliant Pink Iceberg. Hope to have some blooms in a few weeks to add to vases.

Positive dottik
(10 reviews)
On May 28, 2005, dottik Oakland, OR (Zone 8a) wrote:

Bought a rose for my best friend as an early birthday gift. It arrived in wonderful shape, very well packed, with a huge root system. It is now a beautiful bush, with all sort of lovely shoots and is budding. Am really looking forward to seeing it bloom. I plan to purchase some roses for me from Edmunds soon.

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next »

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America