Photo by Melody
Only a few more days to enter our 19th Annual Photo Contest. Voting starts this Friday! You can submit your best images HERE

Comments regarding Spring Garden Canada

Click here to return to Spring Garden Canada's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
18 positives
7 neutrals
32 negatives


Negative Taradb
(1 review)
On Jun 23, 2014, Taradb White city,
Canada wrote:

I ordered for the first time from Spring Garden at the beginning of this season. My shrubs arrived looking pretty sad. I figured that's mail order, i guess, and nursed about half of them back to health while the others died. I planned to not order from there again due to this but they emailed me a "$2 sale!" Ad and I was a sucker and fell for it. I had the same experience as the previous reviewer. I went through their whole site, planned all my new flower and shrub beds, and spent all this time placing a very large order since everything was on sale for only $2! I got my confirmation, then waited and waited. Over the next three weeks, emails trickled in saying more and more of my items were out of stock. What a scam! "We're having a huge sale,
So please come shop with us and then all of the expensive items you order will be out of stock!". I think I'll be getting about 4 of the 16 or 17 varieties I ordered. Plus! I would not have ordered and paid for shipping unless I was putting in a large order like I thought I was! I was not willing to pay for shipping only to receive a couple plants in the end. Not happy! And definitely will not be ordering through here again! Save your time, money and effort and shop anywhere else!

Negative LBurke66
(2 reviews)
On Jun 23, 2014, LBurke66 Orillia,
Canada wrote:

I placed three large orders with this company, for all of them I received confirmation emails, and then I waited & waited. Just when I was going to email the company, I received emails that over half my order was now out of stock. Very disappointed to have to wait that long & then be told they are out of stock. Very disappointed!

Negative purpledixie56
(1 review)
On Jun 4, 2013, purpledixie56 Ancaster/Hamilton, ON (Zone 5b) wrote:

The first time was last spring. I was told you should plant 2 varieties of strawberries that produce fruit at different times. I had lots of one kind that fruited later. I ordered an early variety. The plants that came were very healthy but had yellow flowers. I had always seen pink on strawberries but had never dealt with these kind. They grew over 2 feet high and of course blocked the sun for the real strawberries, so I got no strawberries last year.
I also ordered a chocolate vine. It intreagued me . The leaves were suppose to smell of chocolate and pods were editable with a tapioca tasting "pudding" inside. They grew well, but more like a bush then a vine. The leaves smelled of mint. I dug them out.
I did not report this because I do not want to order from them again and all they do is a voucher to buy more from them. I want my money back!

On Jun 4, 2013, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On Jun 5, 2013 9:01 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

I apologize for the problems you had and for all the inconvenience. One of our customer service representatives will contact you for your account information and take care of this for you."

Negative Vidhi
(1 review)
On May 21, 2013, Vidhi Toronto,
Canada wrote:

This was my first time ordering anything from Spring Garden and for sure will be the last.

I had ordered plants worth more than 120$ including summer flowering oriental lily bulbs, early in March this year. At first i got a notification that the golden chain tree is out of stock. Understandable, i didnt mind that. Then i was waiting for the rest of my order. I got a status update that my plants will be shipped by April 28- may 5th. I waited patiently, till May 5, when i got another email from them stating that my order will be shipped on May 19- may 26th! I called them up immedietely to find out what the heck was going on, the call was received by some call centre company by a person who had no clue about plants ir gardening. I told him to try and get atleast the lily bulbs early since they flower in summer and need to be planted in spring.

Anyways, i finally got an email on may 8th that my plants have been shipped and will reach by may 15 th. All except the one thing that i wanted to come early, the lily bulbs which were still pending and would be shipped by end if May! I emailed them again in frustation to send the bulbs ealrier or i will miss the time to plant them and for them to bloom this year.

Since then i did not got any response from them, today i logged into the spring garden account and found that the lily order has been cancelled. Who cancelled it, dont know, neither was I informed.

Not to mention the puny , wilting little plants i recieved from them in mail. I would have never ordered them if i knew this was what they would look like.


On May 21, 2013, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On May 22, 2013 1:21 PM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for your post. I apologize for the problem for the delay with your order. One of our customer service representatives will contact your for your account information and check this out for you."

Negative daleyb
(1 review)
On May 9, 2011, daleyb Winnipeg,
Canada wrote:

Wish I had known about this web site before. I ordered from Spring Garden last year. About two weeks after the supposed ship date, I checked the order status and it said in transit and that I would receive my order two weeks ago. I called Customer Service and they said it was still in transit and to wait till mid May. They couldn't answer my question about why I hadn't rec'd it or why the order status were giving me different responses. I waited till mid May and called again and again and again and again and again, yes five times and was always told that I would receive them within 10 days. At this point, it was too late to plant in zone 3b, Winnipeg, MB and requested a refund. After several more phone calls they said that the refund would be applied to my Visa card and the balance would be mailed out in 2 - 4 weeks via cheque. They could not explain why it couldn't all be put against my Visa. It was finally credited to my Visa, but only a portion. The cheque never arrived. Lesson learned, I will never order from them again.

On May 9, 2011, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On May 11, 2011 8:45 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the problem you had with your order. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and check on your remaining refund and also why your order was so delayed for delivery."

Negative fern321
(1 review)
On Feb 2, 2011, fern321 toronto,
Canada wrote:

Placed an order (first time mail ordering plants) Jan 2010. Started following up in May and through June. Was advised I would receive my order in 10 days every time I contacted the company. I did receive two of several plants I had ordered (so far the plants have not responded as advertised but I'm prepared to give it another season). Finally cancelled the unshipped portion of my order in frustration. I did get a refund for the plants which never came. I would have preferred the company be frank with me upfront. Big waste of time. Don't think I'll order from them again even though they offer some items I have not seen elsewhere.

On Feb 2, 2011, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On Feb 3, 2011 8:33 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for your input. Your comments are very appreciated and are used to provide better service to our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for more information on the problems you had with your order."

Negative lmichieli
(2 reviews)
On Jul 9, 2010, lmichieli Halifax,
Canada wrote:

I have posted about Spring Garden's affiliate Rockwood Gardens and have had a similar experience with Spring Garden.

I placed an order on May 6th and another on May 9th 2010. Just after my first order I received an email from customer service saying that one of the items was out of stock, no problem that happens. On May 7th I had to call customer service because I hadnít received a confirmation email on my order so I had no way to go online and check on its status.

They did send me a copy of the confirmation email but the list of plants and the amount of payment was the adjusted to exclude the out of stock item, therefore, is was not the amount that was charged to my credit card.

As with their affiliate, I finally cancelled my order after the delivery date kept changing and it became too late in the summer for successful transplanting. The customer rep was pleasant. As the shipping process had been started they were going to ship plants to me anyway and refund my money. They were very apologetic for the inconvenience and I was told not to send back any plants that did arrive.

I did receive some plants half in good condition and half barely alive. I checked my credit card statement today and found that they had only refunded me the adjusted amount not the original amount that they had charged me.

I called their customer service thinking this would be an easy thing to solve. I was wrong. The rep that I initially spoke with kept telling me that they didnít owe me anything, then he changed it to Rockwood Gardens owed me the additional amount that I had ordered it from them. I explained that I was looking at the email the Spring Garden customer service had sent me for the out of stock item and that I had definitely ordered it from them. Next he kept asking me how much was the out of stock item when I ordered it? I told him that it was the difference between the amount they charged me and the amount they refunded me. According to him they did not carry anything for that amount. I would repeat the amounts charged to my credit card and the amounts refunded with Spring Gardens being listed on the statements. No, no it wasnít them. I then asked to speak with a supervisor. He put me on hold for a moment and then came back on the line and asked me again to tell him, what was the exact amount of the out of stock item? Again, I asked to speak with a supervisor and he put me on hold again. A moment later he was back on the line asking me the same question again. I told him that I no longer wanted to speak with him I wanted a supervisor he then hung up on me. I usually, write down the name of the person I am speaking to but of course this time I didnít. I called back immediately and the new rep could tell that I was very upset and put a supervisor on the line right away. I gave a brief explanation and within a minute she told me that she could see a refund pending for the exact amount I was concerned about. She did apologize for the treatment I had received from the customer rep.

On Jul 9, 2010, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On Jul 12, 2010 8:57 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information. We apologize for the trouble you had with your order and our agent."

(13 reviews)
On Jul 9, 2010, DONBROWN Halifax,
Canada wrote:

Posted on June 15, 2010, updated July 9, 2010
I wish I had read this forum first. I ordered two expensive plants in early April. I got the same run-around........they were always going to be shipped at a later date. It's mid-June now. I sent an email and a couple of days later received a reply that said the plants were on their way. The next day I received a little post card saying that one item was out of stock and the remaining order would be shipped at appropriate planting time! What a crock! the post card invited me to send it in with my next order to receive a whole $5 discount! Do they think I just fell off the turnip truck? No mention of a refund. I've just sent another email to express my displeasure and request a full refund after cancelling my order. These people are appalling, and I am furious. These people give a bad name to nurseries. My advice to everyone.........ignore the glossy catalogue that makes all the extraordinary promises..........go to least you get what you pay for there! Don Brown, Halifax, Nova Scotia

On July 9th, 2010, DONBROWN added the following:

After some back and forth on email, they finally credited my Visa account . But I still recieve mail notices about my order and that it will be shipped in the autumn. This company is rather sad....... Coincidentally, one of my neighbours was telling me recently about how much trouble he is going thorough with a mail order nursery that has failed to send him what he ordered, and it turns out to be the same company! I told him to cancel and demand a refund before they find some other way to put him off and take his cash. Best be done with them and NEVER be tempted by one of their catalogues again!
On Jul 9, 2010, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On Jun 18, 2010 11:54 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information."

Negative Sparkyrgb
(1 review)
On Jul 1, 2010, Sparkyrgb Duffield, AB,
Canada wrote:

Contacted the company that plants did not grow from last year's order and still placed an order which to date has not completely been received. Cancelled my orders and contacted them twice that plants were dead and had taken over three weeks to be received and never once received a response from them. Then a letter written on June 15/10 was received June 29/10 telling me the shipping contrator had declared bankruptcy and orders could not be filled. July 1st receive yet another e mail telling me orders have been shipped. No response to any inquiries or complaints received. This is definitely the last time I order anything from Spring Garden and any mailing or catalogues will go directly in the recycle bin.

On Jul 1, 2010, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On Jul 6, 2010 1:36 PM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information and check on your order."

Negative angrywoman
(1 review)
On Jun 20, 2010, angrywoman woodstock,
Canada wrote:

If you are interested in joining me with a class action legal suit against this company for fraudulent behavior, broad based contractual guarantees, promised delivery dates, immediate and seasonal delivery promises, plant life guarantees ... the list goes on.
I think it is time that we band together and take them to court.
If you're willing to put up the money, e-mail me at

I've tried numerous times to get my order by phone and e-mail. My status account has been wiped out.
They have my money. I have no plants,but I do have the canceled check. Marie

On Jun 20, 2010, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On Jun 21, 2010 1:10 PM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information.

On Jun 24, 2010 8:56 AM, Spring Garden Canada added:

On Jun 24, 2010 9:03 AM, Spring Garden Canada added:

We have contacted the customer and we were informed they did receive their order. We take pride in the quality of our plants and the professional level of our service. We can assure you that the delay in our shipments does not represent how we will serve our customers in the future. We will continue to ship top quality plants that are backed by our lifetime guarantee."

Negative icangrowit2
(1 review)
On Jun 8, 2010, icangrowit2 Winnipeg,
Canada wrote:

Placed an order for 100 carpet lily bulbs, delviery was for 1st date of 19 April, 2010. Didn't happen. 2nd delivery date was 26 May 2010. Didn't happen. 3rd delivery date was 6 June 2010. Still hasn't happened. Nor have they contacted me, nor have they bothered to refund me. Issueing a credit is NOT in this equation! And another thing, they charged me a $21.00 service provider charge, clerverly hidden way to make a buck fast. If you call them as I did, they can ding you the $21.00, without telling you they have. Imagine my suprise when I get my visa bill with the $21.00 charge from Spring Garden Canada, along with the bulbs for $119.54, for a total of $140.54! I found out about this from my cable provider techie at Shaw Cable. The person told me that in Spring Garden Canada online terms and policy statement, the service provider charge is a cleverly hidden cost for anyone that orders over the phone, thus providing a customer related service!!!!!!! Well it really made me wonder about the company. Well, it turns out I was right to be worred. Still no lily bulbs, still no refund, still no contact from them. I have my original bill, and statement, and promised delivery dates printed. Hopefully my letter will make them take some action!Too late to wait, to late to plant in Winnipeg, MB.

On Jun 8, 2010, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On Jun 9, 2010 8:52 AM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information."

Negative marina2010
(1 review)
On Jun 3, 2010, marina2010 laval,
Canada wrote:

I Ordered few plants from spring garden canada 2 years ago. all plants arrived on time. but they were all in poor condition, even tough i planted them following the instruction given by the SG. but all of them died a few weeks later. when i called them and told them that my plants died, they resent me the plants, that too died. i did not bother to call them again as it's not that easy to get through to them on the phone or by email.
I learned my lesson. it cost me under $100 not too bad.
I will never buy anything from them again. even though i still get catalog that says on the cover "special offer".
they go to the recycle bin with out even been open.

Laval, Quebec, Canada

On Jun 3, 2010, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On Jun 8, 2010 2:29 PM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information."

Negative MelissaTOGrl
(1 review)
On Jun 2, 2010, MelissaTOGrl Toronto,
Canada wrote:

My husband and I placed an order on April 7, 2010 for a large amount of perennials. We were informed initially that the order would arrive before the May 24 weekend. After 3 changed delivery dates, all going further into the summer, well past prime planting season, plus part of our order now not due to arrive until September, we became quite upset. My husband sent a complaint to the company but his email was ignored. He just cancelled the order today but I'm concerned we won't get our money back. This company seems to be fraudulent. If they're having difficulties keeping up with demand and growing enough, etc. all they need to do is notify their customers and offer a discount or some other gesture of great customer service. The fact that they ignore everyone sends a red flag to me. So buyer beware, do not purchase from this company!

On Jun 2, 2010, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

"On Jun 8, 2010 2:26 PM, Spring Garden Canada responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate your feedback to better serve our customers. A customer service representative will be contacting you for your account information."

Negative Doppler
(1 review)
On May 31, 2010, Doppler Rosseau, ON (Zone 5a) wrote:

In late winter of 2010 I placed an order with this company for a few perennials; total bill a little more than $200 paid with a credit card. There were some initial problems with the website which perhaps should have been a warning. But I placed the order and expected delivery in mid-April. In Zone 5 this would have been OK.

After repeated emails with no response and frustration because my order's shipping date was being put back again and again according to Spring Gardens website, last week I reported the company to my credit card company for fraud.

During the past few days I have received four emails from different customer service reps each with a slightly different response, but ALL scripted and none addressing issues pointed out in any of my earlier messages.

In my opinion and based on my experience with the company, Spring Gardens is a SCAM. At some point, it may have been a legitimate business but my advice is to avoid ANY and ALL dealings with Spring Gardens... onLine or otherwise.

Negative karic
(1 review)
On Aug 17, 2009, karic Edmonton,
Canada wrote:

In March I placed an order for 2 Top Hat Blueberry plants & paid for my order via cheque. That cheque cleared my bank May 21st. A letter was sent to me dated June 13th stating there had been a crop failure & a refund would be sent. I am still waiting for that refund (almost 9 wks now) & have been told by Spring Garden that a cheque has been issued to me, however the cheque was sent to head office for signing 6 WEEKS AGO & hasn't been returned yet for them to mail to me. THIS IS RIDICULOUS! Most reputable mail order companies do not cash your cheque until they have the order ready to ship; however this is not the case with Spring Garden. My cheque cleared the bank May 21st & the letter indicating crop failure is dated June 13th - did they not know at that time there was a crop failure? Other mail order companies I've dealt with under similar circumstances have sent a refund WITH the letter, or within a few days, but again Spring Garden chose not to do this. I spoke directly with Aaron, their Customer Relations head person. He told me that as soon as the cheque was signed it would be sent back to them & they would send it on to me & there was no way to hurry up the process & there was nothing he or anyone else could do about it there. I'm beginning to wonder how solvent this company is. I know I won't be ordering from them again & will be telling everyone I know about it.

Negative 33libra
(2 reviews)
On Jul 30, 2009, 33libra Winnipeg, MB (Zone 3a) wrote:

In 2008, I ordered 2 daylilies. By the time they bloomed, they were not what I had ordered. I sent an email and never received a reply. I thought I would give them the benefit of the doubt because I thought they were restructuring the business.

So I put in another order in March for 4 snail vines. I ordered from Spring Garden only because they seemed to be the only place that had them. The 4 arrived - 2 were beautiful and healthy and 2 almost dead. I emailed them on June 5th - no reply. Soon after babying the 2 vines, they died. I then emailed them on June 29th - still no reply.

That was my final order with Spring Garden Canada - I will never order from them again.

Negative clematiscottage
(2 reviews)
On Jun 30, 2009, clematiscottage Quadra Island, BC (Zone 7b) wrote:

I placed an order with these people way back in December but the plants never arrived. For the last few weeks, I have attempted to reach them by e-mail but never received so much as an acknowledgement. I have also tried over a dozen times to telephone them with an equal lack of success. I had also placed orders with their "sister" companies, Brecks and Henry Fields. Brecks order arrived but plants were in poor shape and failed to grow. From Henry Fields, I received only two plants. I have tried also to contact these other companies with no luck whatsoever. I have e-mailed asking them to cancel my orders and will never, never, never order from any of them again. I have requested the promised refund from Brecks but probably shouldn't hold my breath waiting for it to arrive. I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau as, in my opinion, the whole thing is a huge scam. At least, after reading the other reviews, I now know that I am not alone - this seems to be their preferred method of doing business. Buyer beware!!!

Negative tokyokaren
(1 review)
On Jun 2, 2009, tokyokaren Roberts Creek,
Canada wrote:

I placed an order early in the spring for 6 maximillian sunflowers and a bargain bag of 8 hostas. I received the sunflowers looking entirely dried up and dead in dry sawdust and they only sent ONE tiny one-eyed hosta instead of 8.

Like the others, I've tried their 1-800-917-2822 toll-free line dozens of times and it's always busy. I've sent two customer complaint emails through their web site and have yet to hear anything. I was heartened to hear that one man got through when he tried very early in the morning. Maybe I'll try that next. Until then, SCAM ALERT!

Negative jardinomane
(2 reviews)
On May 29, 2009, jardinomane Gatineau,
Canada wrote:

I have been trying to get them to honnor their so-called no-risk guarantee for over a month. They have not replied to the 4 or 5 e-mails I have sent them. I can't seem to get anyone through their phone number since it is either busy or I get a message saying their voice mail is full. One of the problems I am trying to get a refund for is the Lace Hankerchief Iris wich they also identify as "iris tectorum variegata" (zone 4 to 9) wich is, in fact iris japonica variegata, ont hardy below zone 7... I though I was buying a perennial, not something that would die during its first Quebec winter. And I paid full price for 4 of these babies... I am fuming! As I am getting to know them better, I am convinced that this is intentionnaly misleading information. Grrrr...

Negative BuckskinAnnie
(1 review)
On May 15, 2009, BuckskinAnnie Williams Lake, B.C.,
Canada wrote:

Phoned order to Spring Garden early April. Gentlemen on other end of the line was grumpy. I thought he was having a bad day. No order arriving well into May. On the 11th I tried phoning at different times of day. Line always busy. Same on the 12th, same on the 13th, same on the 14th. Finally I phoned at 6:00 am our time on the 15th and got an answer after the 12th try. I was informed my order was held up as they were waiting for a plant. I asked from where do they get their plants. I was informed from all over the U.S.and Canada. I asked why no one contacted me to ask if it should be left out of order and the rest shipped. The lady said it is all done by computer and no one knows if an order is not shipped unless it is pulled up on the computer. Does this mean that at the end of the shipping period someone looks on the computer finally and says "Oh Dear" , I guess this order was never shipped"!! I asked her how it is supposed to be pulled up on the computer when customers cannot even access them on their 800 number. On the 14th I even tried Canada 411, other websites, etc. to find a direct line to try to reach them. All I ended up with was speaking to some person in India from one of their Spring Garden websites. My order which was being held up is now cancelled. I will never order from Spring Garden, Brecks, Henry Fields, or Bits and Pieces who are all associated. Bits and Pieces is a knick knack type catalogue that comes out prior to Christmas. I had problems with an order with them. That is how I found out they are owned by the same person that owns Brecks.
Customers, be aware of who you are ordering from. I should have checked them out before getting excited over all the plant and bulb selections in the glossy catalogue.

Negative garmonbozia
(2 reviews)
On May 14, 2009, garmonbozia Frenchland,
Canada wrote:

I have made an order on March 20. Around early Spring (I think mid April), I send two customer service inquiries about the shipping date for my order. None of them were answered. I finally called, and perhaps about 10 tries I was able to connect to someone. The person over the phone told me that orders we'll be shipping them after April 27th. I waited to see if anything was shipped. Nothing. I know there is an climate element that I need to consider here, and I don't expect Spring Garden to ship items when the weather is inappropriate. This is understandable. What really bothers is me the complete disregard of my communication attempts and the lack of service. Meanwhile Spring Garden (and Brecks) continued to send me catalogues and spam almost every day of the week. I am not exaggerating this, believe me. One thing is to receive monthly catalogues from businesses, the other is finding a sales pitch in your mailbox every day. What was most bothersome to me is the fact that Brecks and Spring Garden started spamming me from my office address as well. I don't know how this even happened, but this was highly inappropriate and unprofessional (and embarrasing for me).

I called the company early May again, to ask to be removed from your mailing list. I was replied "our mailing lists only get updated every six months, so you'll be receiving more catalogues until they get updated again, later this year". I am sorry to be crude, but "ARE YOU KIDDING?". While I will wait for catalogue system to be updated, I will have to endure endless and embarrassing spam to my work address. This is unacceptable, and unprofessional. Meanwhile, there is no news about my order. There is a charge in my credit card account; but my plants have nowhere to be seen, nor an e-mail updating the status of the order.

On June 1st, 2009, garmonbozia added the following:

Update: My plants have yet to arrive. I have sent two e-mails and have been trying to reach them through phone. The phone is either busy, or directly goes to voice mail. Unfortunately, the mailbox is full. Scam much?
On June 3rd, 2009, garmonbozia added the following:

I decided to take the issue to Better Business Bureau. I strongly suggests others do the same thing, since there is something wrong going on here.
Negative cloverdaleken
(1 review)
On Sep 30, 2008, cloverdaleken Abbotsford BC,
Canada wrote:

This is the second mail order company I have ordered wisteria plants from and both have been complete failures. The 4" plants I received were undersized and loaded with insects. I chose Spring Garden Canada because I was so pleased with the dormant climbing roses they sent me last year. In fairness they have promised me a full refund (whenever they can get around to it). My experieince has been that wisteria are best bought grafted in 3-5 gallon containers from your local supplier. I paid 30.00 each for well established plants bought locally, twice Spring Garden Canada's price for 4" rooted cuttings but well worth it. From now on I'll only buy seeds and bulbs by mail order.

Negative careoline
(1 review)
On Jul 23, 2007, careoline Port Elgin, Ontario,
Canada wrote:

I read Dave's Watchdog reports and called company because Added Touch is a successful reputable Oakville company store name known to be dealing in retail giftware. Anne Brookmeyer is not known to staff now. I ordered plants in May 2007. Plants were shipped when available from London warehouse. Over $250.00 plants arrived in June and all but $25.00 were promised refunded by credit note not to credit card but to offset future orders from next catalogue. Next catalogue is promised to be issued in August 2007. The store is closed till then. This summer my garden is bare waiting for fall planting and I will have to hope that planting occurs before frost. I don't want to wait to use credits till next year because this company may not be around long. I am in the north country with early frost. I will have to choose something that establishes quickly. I did ask for a statement of account to have proof of credits but have not received a statement in over a month. Charges were paid in May and I have no reconciliation in writing. It is now July 2007. Staff are very agreeable and polite and well organized. Obviously dead plants were received in large quantities and shipped to me anyway. Many plants that I received were shipped in sealed plastic bags and obviously rotted with mold. Japanese Tree Peonies were most disappointing. I am hopeful that I can rectify my decision to order next year. Ordering shipments from catalogues may not be worthwhile from out of province or from within province.

Negative ckclarke
(1 review)
On Jun 26, 2007, ckclarke Chatham,
Canada wrote:

I cannot recommend ordering from this company to anyone.

- I ordered in March, asked for early shipment as I live in an area of Canada where spring comes quite early
- I called and emailed several times to find out the status of my order when it was clear it was not coming early and might not be coming at all
- No one could give me the same answer twice. I was told it had been shipped already but the rep couldn't give me a tracking number; I was told they'd have to check with the nurseries; I was told they weren't sure
- they charged me twice for the same order
- they didn't ship until mid-JUNE
- half of my order simply wasn't included as it was supposed to be - no word of explanation
- some plants dead on arrival - and clearly should never have been shipped in the first place
- some plants small and sickly
- I have yet to receive any sort of acknowledgment of the problems
- the company seems to have been taken over by another company which also owns The Added Touch and Images of Canada. It's so badly muddled that queries sent to the Spring Garden Canada web site are being answered by random reps using Added Touch or Images of Canada email addresses
- as of today (June 26) their online store is offline

Negative nicole77
(1 review)
On May 29, 2007, nicole77 fort erie,
Canada wrote:

Let's see so far I ordered a $200 order from Spring Garden and everytime I call for my shipment status they can't seem to tell me anything. My order is 3 weeks late and I called today and they lost my order. I ordered a whole perenial garden and they can't find it!! Here is is going into June and I already ordered all my top soil etc.. They told me if they can't locate my order they will ship me out another one , but then we are looking at another 7-10 days. My credit card has been billed for over a month now and still no garden has showed up. I had never recieved an order confirmation through e-mail or when I e-mail them on their site I still get no response. Beware of this company.

Negative Ariesca
(2 reviews)
On Apr 29, 2006, Ariesca Lillooet, BC (Zone 6b) wrote:

Spring Garden in Canada has a nice catalogue. I ordered basically because the prices seemed quite low. However, when the plants arrived they were VERY TINY and it was worrying as I didn't see how they would make it through the winter even at zone 6a. Sure enough, 90% of my order did not come up this spring. Lavandula, for example, 3 out of 6 survived. Scabioa - zilch. Other failures too. Even their free Promotion Plant has not survived!
I have requested a refund but have had no response. View this company with extreme caution.

Negative Ajani
(1 review)
On Jan 28, 2004, Ajani wrote:

A few years back we had the misfortune of placing an order with Spring Garden. We bought dwarf blue irises, irish moss, shasta daisies, a red hydrangea and some other plants. My mother in law bought some poker primroses and some cyclamen. Apart from the daisies, which are basically weeds that will thrive under nearly any condition, everything else was defective. There were no planting instructions with anything, either. The cyclamen and irises never did come up, the primroses were dissappointing and the hydrangea was completely without colour. Their flowers could only be described as 'beige.' Even the irish moss died! Everything was small and pitiful looking.

The money for our full order was refunded quickly, but just this week I received yet another catalogue from this company. I have asked now 3 times to be taken off of their mailing list, and they have yet to listen.

Negative Dawn_BC
(16 reviews)
On Apr 2, 2003, Dawn_BC wrote:

This has got to be the WORST mail order company ever!
NEWBIES to gardening Watch OUT! (I still recieve their catalogues even though they filed bankruptcy)

I recieved their catalogue about 4 yrs ago...everything looked so great! So being the newbie i was, I ordered one of their $100 complete gardens.

I recieved it in June & although they have great packaging...ALL the plants were very small in 2" pots. The soil smelt like rotten poop & most plants were slimy & gross.

I called to complain...they wouldn't offer a refund.
Please DO NOT order from this company.....THE WORST!

Negative willyfp
(1 review)
On Feb 24, 2003, willyfp wrote:


Negative NancyPyndus
(5 reviews)
On May 1, 2000, NancyPyndus wrote:

The mini rose collection I ordered from them was also a disappointment. They did send replacements for the dead ones. Unfortunately, the new ones turned out to be dying as well. I have one left this year from 10 plants ordered and you can hardly call it a rose bush at all it is so weak and poorly. It is growing next to a strong vigorous mini that I bought at my local hardware store for much less. I most definitely will not order from them again

Negative joanne348
(1 review)
On Apr 1, 2000, joanne348 wrote:

I too have had a bad experience with Spring Garden. I ordered last year a mixed order of different perennials and blueberry plants to be sent at" the exact right planting time for your area" When everything else was planted in my garden and I still didn't have the order from them I called and was told it was coming soon a week later I called again and was told basically that they were busy and it would come when it came if I didn't like that I could just refuse the package when it came. Well that is what I did so I never saw the condition of the plants but the box looked real small for what I had ordered. I had to call again to get the charge removed from my credit card. Of course when I went to the local nursery in mid June to buy plants to replace those ordered there was practically nothing left.

Negative waldo138
(1 review)
On Oct 1, 1999, waldo138 wrote:

I have a small gardening business and I order from approximately 20 mail order seed and plant supply companies. In all my years of gardening, over 25, I have never dealt with a company that I was so dissatisfied with. I went for the miniature rose collection 2 years ago and I will never order from them again.First off when I received my confirmation of my order, it had been doubled. The confirmation was for 2 collections. I looked for a phone number but there was none. I wrote to them and told them I only wanted 1 collection and at that time I sent them a cheque marked paid in full for 1 collection. That spring, I received 2 collections of miniature roses instead of 1. The poor roses were so sad, most were dead already and the rest were not far from dead. I was so disappointed, I had plans for using these in hanging baskets on contracts. I took pictures of the poor things and wrote to the company about my dissatisfaction. I received nothing from them except a bill telling me that I still owed them for 1 collection plus shipping and handling. It took until late fall after many letters until finally they expunged the outstanding debt. I never received a refund from them for the dead roses and out of 18 roses I did have 4 that survived though it was August before they looked decent at all. In my final letter to them I told them that they could keep sending me pretty pictures if they wanted to but I would never order from them again. They still send me the pretty pictures. These people are too dense to even take me off their mailing list. They don't deserve to be in business.

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America