Photo by Melody

Comments regarding TulipWorld

Click here to return to TulipWorld's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
36 positives
1 neutral
6 negatives


Negative ikenobo
(2 reviews)
On Dec 17, 2015, ikenobo Oriskany, NY wrote:

Avoid this company like the plague...or at least their coupon/discount offers. The company tricks you into believing you get a discount that the website says will appear at checkout but then the discount does not appear and it is too late to go back to see what is wrong. This happened to me and after calling customer service to complain about their scheme they would not solve the issue. I paid the price without the coupon discount, besides that many of the bulbs were rotten....perhaps because it was so late in the year. Anyway shop elsewhere!

On Dec 17, 2015, TulipWorld responded with:

"On Dec 21, 2015 9:45 AM, TulipWorld responded with:

Dear Darryl,

Thank you for posting your review of our company. While you may feel that we were "tricking" you into thinking the coupon was applied, that is simply not the case. It is important that when using a coupon code and checking out on our website or any website that the coupon was actually applied, and that you can see the discount being applied before your submit the coupon. The coupon on your order did not apply because the order total was not $50.00 in merchandise before the shipping was added onto the order. Since your order had already shipped, we could not add onto the order to get to the $50.00 in merchandise for the coupon to apply. Therefore we offered to refund your $5.95 in shipping, you did not accept this offer. Please note that us refunding $5.95 on your $53.05, makes the order total $47.01. If you would have had the order total of $50 + $5.95 shipping and the $10.00 off coupon was applied, your order total would have been $45.95, which is a difference of $1.06 in discounts, we think that is a pretty fair deal. However, even though we offered that to you several times you did not accept our solution to the problem. This offer still stands to refund you the $5.95 in shipping, if you would like.
In regard to many of the bulbs being rotten, we do have a 100% grow guarantee, and would be willing to send replacements or issue a refund for any bulbs that were bad, you just have to let us know through e-mail or telephone which were bad.
We are sorry for the confusion with the coupon code, and hoe our offer of a $5.95 refund + any replacements will help you to feel better about our company.


Tulip World

Negative skyrtr
(1 review)
On Jun 3, 2014, skyrtr Blue River, CO wrote:

I asked for an order to be cancelled. When I found out it not been and the order was shipped I called the company who saiid there was nothing they could do because they didn't have anything in their notes about the order being cancelled. I spoke to a supervisor who was obviously not interested in retaining a positive relationship with her customer.
Don't do business with this company if you value being appreciated as a customer and accurate business practices. There are many other online garden and plant businesses who treat their customers with respect.

On Jun 3, 2014, TulipWorld responded with:

"On Jun 4, 2014 9:14 AM, TulipWorld responded with:

Dear Customer,

Your honesty in this review of our company would be appreciated. We do not appreciate your false statements and find them very disrespectful. We would like to share our side of the story.
The order you are referencing was placed in April of 2012 on our website by you as a pre-order of fall planted bulbs for the amount of $12.45. It was shipped as planned to your home in Montana in fall of 2012 on time for proper planting. The first time we spoke to you in regard to this order was on June 2nd of 2014, you told us you do not visit that residence often and had not been there for 2 years, and did not want it shipped there. Since you did not contact us until 2 years after the delivery it is not feasible for us to cancel or do anything to adjust the order. If in 2012 we had known that you wanted the order shipped elsewhere or canceled, we would have gladly re-directed the package or canceled the order. We were not contacted with this information, so how could we possibly know where you wanted the package shipped?
We are sorry that you did not contact us in regard to this order during the time frame where we could have helped you, and that by the time you got the package 2 years later the bulbs were unusable. As stated on the phone, we can't justify a refund or any sort of compensation, since there was no way for us to prevent this from happening, and it was your responsibility to contact us, which you did not do. We wish you luck in your future garden endeavors. We would sincerely appreciate your integrity in updating your original review to reflect the correct information of what happened.


Tulip World staff


Negative corner
(1 review)
On Oct 11, 2012, corner Worcester, MA wrote:

I ordered mixed gladiolas which were supposed to be a rainbow of colors, when they sprouted they only came up a couple at a time and there were only 2 colors.The company gave me credit for them and when I went to place an order for something else they wanted me to pay for shipping again.Also I had ordered freesia and they never sprouted at all.I was givin a credit for those also. I placed an order for something else and was charged nothing extra. My overall experience with this company was not very good. I spent most of my time e-mailing back and forth. I cancelled my
replacement for the gladiolas and no one ever contacted me to resolve the problem.

On Oct 11, 2012, TulipWorld responded with:

"On Oct 11, 2012 11:33 AM, TulipWorld responded with:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback in regard to our company. We did issue a credit for both the Gladiolus and Freesia which were placed on the same order and you paid 1 shipping charge of $3.95. The first portion of the credit you used to order a mix of allium and we shipped this replacement for no additional shipping, therefore covering the shipping charge from your original order. When you wanted to use the remaining credit that was issued for the failed freesia to order iris, we placed the order for you but require you to pay $3.95 shipping to cover the cost since this was a new order. We emailed you asking to pay the difference and had not heard back from you until this negative review, not even giving us a chance to work out an agreement. It seems like there is a communication error between us, as every email you write us is a new email as opposed to a reply to our emails, which would make communicating much easier. We also are here Monday through Friday 8 am to 5 pm and can be reached by our 1-866-688-9547 number and we could have easily resolved this matter in a one time conversation as opposed to emailing back and forth. Since we issued you merchandise credits for the gladiolus, we are not certain which canceled order you are referring to as we have not received an email from you about this. We are sorry we were not able to resolve this matter with you and will cancel your order for the iris, however felt as though we upheld our guarantee by issuing you credits for the items that failed or turned out to bloom incorrectly. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors. "

Negative JJ1
(1 review)
On Jun 19, 2011, JJ1 New York, NY wrote:

Don't waste your money !

The bulbs I planted came up and the flowers are in bloom.
However, none of them are even close to the colors I ordered, and the colors are very washed out.

On Jun 19, 2011, TulipWorld responded with:

"On Jun 20, 2011 7:34 AM, TulipWorld responded with:

Dear Gardener,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on Dave's Garden, we certainly appreciate all feedback given by our customers, it is the only way to ensure we can serve you to our best ability. We are not sure if you are aware of our 100% grow and satisfaction policy. If you are not, we stand by all of our products with our 100% grow guarantee, and aim to achieve 100% satisfaction from our customers. We see that from your review you are not satisfied with the outcome of the items you purchased from us and this disappoints us. If you would so kindly contact us by email or telephone 1-866-688-9547 with your account or order information, we will be happy to right this situation with you, to ensure your satisfaction with our company and products.


Tulip World Customer Service Department"

Negative flora_p
(4 reviews)
On Feb 23, 2010, flora_p Champaign, IL (Zone 5b) wrote:

I've never bought from TulipWorld. That didn't keep them from spamming me, though. Which is actually a breach of the federal CAN-SPAM Act as well as being a very customer-unfriendly business practice, so I think it's a disregard for appropriate behavior that's worth warning people about.

Negative Sorry
(3 reviews)
On Sep 6, 2006, Sorry Adrian, MI wrote:

Being a first time customer of Tulip World has not been so easy. Their website claims to have 24 hr customer relations. Since they are an overseas company, I have e:mailed them several times to place an order, .or questions, etc..etc.. but have not gotten a response. Not sure if I would do business with them again since they are so difficult to get in touch with.

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America