Photo by Melody

Comments regarding

Click here to return to's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
69 positives
6 neutrals
15 negatives


Negative kerby116
(1 review)
On Jun 20, 2017, kerby116 Middleville, MI wrote:

I ordered 30 “green giants” and they were shipped 05/15/2017. I read all the reviews and thought I would go with anything green. I told myself the negative reviews were from people who did something wronged to cause the issue, as they had any good review. Out if the 30 tress I received, about half looked weathered and in poor condition. The other 15 looked absolutely great, and still do. However as I thought may happen, the 15 sickly looking tress did end up dying. I have email and called with np reply. This company does not care about the customer or stand behind their product. Don’t believe the “Guarantee Fresh” you see on the site. They don’t guarantee anything and will not invest the time to reply to emails or answer the phone. Waste of $300!

Negative micpro
(1 review)
On Apr 3, 2017, micpro Buckley, WA wrote:

Coming up on three weeks now trying to get an item missing from my order either shipped or refunded. Company's responses have included saying they will forward the problem to the nursery and let me know when the nursery decides to do something about it, ignoring requests for customer service updates, and stating over a week ago that the nursery said, "this will be processed this week." To date, nothing has been actually done to resolve the problem though. In total I have sent four email requests for customer service, filed two customer service requests directly with the website and have left a message on the customer service phone line which goes straight through to voicemail. The company appears to be either incredibly understaffed, incredibly unorganized in processing problems with orders, incredibly unconcerned about creating negative experiences for their customers, or some combination of the three. A shame, because the plants they did ship were healthy, well packaged and promptly processed. I am still hoping they will turn this around somehow.

Negative BMoney1
(1 review)
On Jun 2, 2016, BMoney1 Owensville, IN wrote:

Buyers beware:

I ordered 80 Green Thuja 1 gallon plants and an irrigation system for these new trees. It took three weeks to receive these plants. The 80 plants arrived and I was impressed with the quality of plants and the packaging. I put them in the ground and they are doing well. I have been watering them with a garden hose for 7 weeks now because my irrigation system (which I paid for in full) has still not shown up. They will not respond to my emails. Needless to say, it takes me about 2 hours to water all of these trees. I'm struggling getting my money back on the irrigations system because they won't respond to the Paypal complaint that I filed. So now I have to wait for the time to expire on them not responding before I can get my money back. All in all, this company sucks and there is no way I will ever purchase anything or recommend anyone to buy from them. It is absolutely ridiculous that they simply won't respond to a customer. I put some of the blame on myself because I read a few of these negative reviews before I purchased. I guess I was hoping that it wouldn't happen to me. Well it did.

Negative sonofabish1
(1 review)
On Apr 5, 2016, sonofabish1 Radnor, OH wrote:

Posted on March 29, 2016, updated April 5, 2016
Devious practices....

I ordered 16-1gal Thuja Green Giant trees in May of 2015. The day I ordered online I realize I should have ordered 17. I called customer service and they said \"John\" would get back to me. I continued to call with the same response. I told them that I would like to get this amended prior to shipment so that I can keep the free shipping and not pay $20 shipping for a $13 tree. Well what do you know, the trees shipped without hearing from John. I posted a poor \"review\" on their website and within an hour John called. He made it right, sent out another tree and gave me free shipping. That additional tree came from Alabama and looks different than the other 16 I received out of ?? (can\'t remember but wasn\'t Alabama and my UPS tracking info doesn\'t say anything). I’m hoping once they get bigger them will look the same but this one is greener and stockier than the other 16.

The trees showed up in 1gal pots but 75% of them had very small root balls and a lot of potting soil. They looked as if they were picked from smaller stock, up-potted, and sent out. They were the height they advertised (about 20-24”) but they give a height range that overlaps with the smaller 3\" pot size too so this could have been a tree from a 3” pot and still met the height requirements. I questioned this height overlap before buying and was told: \"You\'ll receive a higher caliber plant the more you pay...that being said there\'s more to the plants than height. The root system is very important. This is why we only do height estimates and sell by the container size.\"). The root system is \"very important\" yet the 1gal pots have very little root system?!

I was so fed up from dealing with customer service before that I decided to plant them and move on. For a while the plants didn\'t look healthy but I was able to water them regularly and mulch them well and nurse them along. Well, except for 2...they died pretty soon after planting. I figured I would let them go through the winter in case any others died then contact support for a warranty.

Everything looks good coming out of winter so this week I contacted customer service and was told through email that \"We guarantee that you will receive your plants and they will be healthy...All claims must be made within 48 hours of receipt of plants.\" I have bought a lot of trees, bushes, plants, etc from many different places and have never heard of such a crap guarantee! First, 48hrs is way too soon to tell if a tree is dead or not. Second, I feel their website hides this \"guarantee\" and locates it in a section that is not easily found.

Back to the \"review\" I posted on their website. I think they deviously hide the poor reviews and only select the positive ones to post on their main page. That \"review\" that I posted has never showed up on their page and in fact, no \"review\" since May 2014 has been posted. They do link to the Dave\'s Garden page but just like their guarantee page I feel this link is hidden and should be on their main \"Customer Reviews\" section.

I wish that they would stop their devious practices of selling smaller trees in larger pots, replace my dead trees, and post my \"review\" and all other \"reviews\" on their website.

On April 5th, 2016, sonofabish1 added the following:

Updated: 4/5/2016

John offered to send replacement trees but I respectfully declined. I would rather purchase my replacements (and one additional new tree) from a competitor.

In both his reply to my email and the reply to my comments above he did not once address my main concern (and others concern) with their trees not being true to the purchased size.
On Apr 5, 2016, responded with:

"On Mar 31, 2016 1:03 PM, responded with:

It does sound like you received plants from 2 of our separate locations. We always try to ship the biggest plants first but it sounds like you got a mix on that.

We're sorry that you did not enjoy working with us and we're working to improve our customer service process. A lot of this is going to involve switching to a mainly email based customer support as we cannot keep a knowledgable phone staff ready for support issues that can be helpful during the busy seasons. We've since fired the support company from last year as they just forwarded every request and were not very helpful.

Please post your review again, our website gets a lot of bot spam reviews!


Negative dallasag
(1 review)
On Mar 16, 2016, dallasag Dallas, TX wrote:

I ordered 15 bushes from this website and the order was instantly confirmed by email. After 10 days of no further email, tracking info, or other update, I tried calling several times. The phone number goes straight to voicemail. I left at least one voicemail and never got a call back.

Then I tried emailing to ask about the status and a request an update. On day 14, I received an email back that the order was ready for shipping and was given UPS tracking info. I checked the UPS tracking info, and UPS said that a shipping ticket had been created but that the package had not yet been given to UPS. On day 16, it is the same status - UPS ticket has been created but item has not been delivered to UPS. It appears that the company is merely creating a UPS ticket to get tracking info to show artificial progress.

I have emailed again asking for further explanation and ETA. All I received back was a vague suggestion that many plants were destroyed this winter and the company is evaluating its plant inventory.

This is unacceptable to me. I have a major project underway with many other plants, new beds, mulch, etc. and I can't hold up on this project. I estimated 7-10 days for this item to arrive and timed the delivery of other products accordingly. Besides the hassle, this has cost me time and money in coordinating the other aspects of the project. Buyer beware.

On Mar 16, 2016, responded with:

"On Mar 31, 2016 12:56 PM, responded with:

Dear customer,

We try our best to deliver top notch service but it sounds like your emails got lost or backed up in the mix. Please contact [email protected] again if you have not received a reply. Please check spam as well.

Thank you,

Negative simsck
(1 review)
On Oct 23, 2015, simsck Cincinnati, OH wrote:

I purchased 30 trees from this Spring. They were much smaller than they were supposed to be, but I got over that. What I haven't gotten over is that starting in July, several of them started to turn brown and die off. I had been following all of the instructions that were sent with the trees. I contacted anythinggreen immediately to get some advice on how to save these trees. After calling every other day for weeks (and leaving multiple messages that were not returned), I finally got a brief response that said it was due to spraying fertilizer on the trees, which I never had. I have continued to call and email weekly since July and have not gotten a response. I will not do business with this company again and still feel I am entitled to a replacement of the trees that continue to die off. Terrible customer service!

On Oct 23, 2015, responded with:

"On Nov 2, 2015 2:33 PM, responded with:

Dear customer,

Can you please contact [email protected] again we will fix this problem for you. Unfortunately mistakes can happen but we will do our best to fix this one. Please get in touch and reference this review and your order number.

Thank you,

Negative SouthernKudzu
(1 review)
On May 7, 2015, SouthernKudzu Winston, GA wrote:

Horrible costumer service and deceptive practices.

I ordered (9) 3 gal leyland cypress' and received (9) freshly re-potted 1 gal leyland cypress' in 3 gal pots. Which seemed to be trying to deceive me of what I was actually getting.

It took 2 voice messages and 3 emails before finally getting a response 2 weeks after leaving the first voice message asking for a picture. After sending the picture they responded by saying that the plants were bent over and that "they are clearly 3 gal plants".

Their website "clearly" states that 1 gal plants are 18"-30" tall and 3 gal plants are 30"-36" tall. Not one of the plants I received is over 26" even when pulling up the tallest part of the tree. Clearly putting them in the one gal size.

The root ball was even a dead give-a-way when removed from the pots. There was a clear root bound ball the shape of a 1 gal pot.

As mad as this made me, all I asked for was a partial refund of the 1 gal and 3 gal difference in price which is a mere $117. They have been non-responsive to this request.

Horrible, horrible company and I will never do business with again. $177 is not worth taking it to a legal level, but I will do my best to hopefully direct thousands of dollars in sales away from their company.

On May 7, 2015, responded with:

"On May 8, 2015 11:06 AM, responded with:

We do try to get to all Customer Support request as soon as possible but each year we have a heap of requests all at the same time (end of April). Thanks for your patience!

This issue should be settled with this customer."

Negative Luna85
(1 review)
On May 14, 2014, Luna85 Woodstock, GA wrote:

I ordered 4 Murray Leylands in March. They were promised to be between 3-5 feet in height. Last week i received them and to my disappointment they are all 18 inches in height. My first call was to Anything Green and I left voicemails for John. No return calls. I then called American Express and advised them of how this vendor sent me product other than what I ordered. I am also contesting the entire charge--enjoy the merchant chargeback!!!! Now over a week and still no call from Anything Green. I am going to put this out on Facebook and also Twitter. I do not want others to get treated the same way.

On May 14, 2014, responded with:

"On May 14, 2014 8:57 PM, responded with:


Did you leave a voicemail on the general AnythingGreen line or my direct line? We had a few bad picks on our Murray Cypress (3 Gallons) as has already been shown on here. We are working with our customers to rectify this problem. I don't have a good way of figuring out which customer is which on Garden Watchdog. Can you please e-mail to [email protected] and we will contact you to fix this situation."

Negative dk101
(1 review)
On Oct 7, 2012, dk101 Bloomington, IL wrote:

I would be very wary about using this company. We ordered 55 thujas that were supposed to be between 2’-3’ and only 5 were 2’, the rest were all between 10”-14”. A couple weeks later we noticed they updated their website and the sizes were 15”-3’, so they obviously knew their thujas were small and I bet others complained, but they didn’t do anything about it. I wrote to them twice and never heard a word. Their packing was awful. Much of the dirt had fallen out and was all over the boxes leaving some of the roots exposed and we had to repack most of them. Six of ours died a month later, but they provide no warranty, so we bought from another place online. I can tell you the experience was completely different. All 6 of them were as advertised at 3’ tall and they were shipped upright, each one had the pot wrapped in plastic held in place by two rubber bands and each had two tall sticks alongside the thuja to help keep them upright. These were slightly more expensive, but they are also fully warranted. They were more lush, deeper green, and fuller root systems. Buyer beware of

On Oct 7, 2012, responded with:

"On Oct 7, 2012 11:25 AM, responded with:

Dear Customer,

We did have a small amount of smaller than normal Thujas go out by accident (new worker picked from a young batch) and we did our best to track down who received them and to make sure they were happy. I am unable to track down your communications with us from just your username. Can you e-mail me at [email protected] and reference this comment? I'm sure we can get this resolved!

Thanks for your patience and business,
John Pounders
Owner and Founder of"

Negative bulilit
(1 review)
On Mar 23, 2011, bulilit Tyler, TX wrote:

We ordered 12 1.5-3 feet Thuja Giant Green. We actually needed more but we just tried a dozen to see how the plants will look like. It arrived before weekend and planted it right away. We were excited as this was our first online plant purchase but we kinda hesitated a little bit as the trees looked really small. The only good stuff is the trees looked healthy when they arrived.

We checked the website and the trees looked like the seedlings in 1 gallon pots. All 12 were 1.5 feet tall exactly but we expected to get at least 1 or 2 that are a little bigger and with more leaves. The plants we received looked more closer to the 1-2 feet Thuja GG in 2.5" almost similar to the photo on the website with few "leaves". We were expecting them to be a little fuller than what we received because if this was the case, we should have just bought the 1-2 feet in 2.5" Thuja GG for lesser price.

We ordered from a different store with same description and the plants were 1.5 feet tall but with more leaves or look fuller than the ones we got from

We are greatly disappointed. We hoped we would get a great experience with this company due to the great reviews we saw on this site but I guess this is a case where our experience is different from the rest of you.

On Mar 23, 2011, responded with:

"On Mar 23, 2011 4:09 PM, responded with:


I'm sorry you weren't happy with what you received and you may have received a bad pick. Our latest stock is looking very nice. Can you please send me an e-mail at [email protected] so that we can get this straightened out?

John Brooks Pounders
Owner/ Founder"

Negative DonaldCrane
(1 review)
On Jun 2, 2008, DonaldCrane Dayton, MD wrote:

135 LCT Leyland Cypress Trees ordered - 4/28/08. Purchasers need to know that: 1) Trees arrived in good condition. 2) Trees arrived by date promised. 3) Although price was great - and trees arrived in good condition:- Purchasers WILL NOT HAVE THEIR QUESTIONS ANSWERED BY E-MAIL OR TELELPHONE! I followed instructions given by Anything I tried to reach them by telephone and E-Mail. NO SUCCESS! I told them their recommended fertilizer was not available. I aked for another fertilizer recommendation. I asked them for watering instructions for the first 12 months. NO RESPONSE! So, BUYERS BEWARE! YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN! Don't count on any communication!

On Jun 2, 2008, responded with:


On Jun 2, 2008 12:27 PM, added:

Hey Don,
I just did a search through my email box and didn't find anything, but our spam filters have been known to weed out things. As for the telephone calls I have no excuse other than being out of town a lot this past month.
As far as the fertilizer goes look for something marked "azalea food" you can also get an evergreen fertilizer just make sure it is a slow release fertilizer.
I am glad to see that you were happy with your trees and would really appreciate it if you changed your review of us to Neutral or Positive since we have resolved your question :)
Thank you for your patience and business,
John Brooks Pounders"

Negative pgrady
(1 review)
On Apr 29, 2008, pgrady Baldwinsville, NY wrote:

I ordered 59 Green Giants from Anything Green on 4/15. I selected ASAP as I believe this should mean I need these ASAP. I have not seen these or recieved a response from an email requesting an idea where they are (email sent on 4/25). I left a message today asking for an update. We will see.......

On May 8th, 2008, pgrady added the following:

I did receive a response on 4/29 from John Apologizing for the mis-communication. I'll summarize - ASAP to them means get all orders out that they can, then work on the ASAP orders. So I guess I would have been better off on 4/15 selecting 4/21 ship date instead of saying ASAP. Regardless I was told they would ship on Monday May 5th and I would have them on Thursday 5/8.

Well, I dont.

I received tracking info on Tuesday May 6th but that billing info was cancelled. It appears the trees were shipped on Wednesday 5/7 at 5:51 (or atleast that is when they made it to the 1st UPS warehouse). They are not scheduled for delivery until Monday May 12th. I will update the site with the good, bad, and ugly. I sincerely hope these trees hold up over the weekend. Meanwhile I just tell my neighbors I have a large groundhog problem as I have had my yard dug up for the better part of a month.

Negative topstenoman
(1 review)
On Sep 9, 2006, topstenoman Hope Hull, AL wrote:

I ordered 200 Thujas, having 120 spaces (holes for planting). Out of those 200 trees, 60 died. We followed all planting instructions supplied by AnythingGreen's John Pounder; even so, the high death rate. Originally plants were delivered packed on their sides, so that when you opened the box, most of the soil fell out of each plant leaving "naked" root balls. We quickly rushed into town for Sta-Green tree potting soil and resoiled and watered each container. Yes, they offer a good price, but by the time I got finished, it was far more expensive than anyone else. We are trying to "resolve" the matter with John Pounder, owner of the company, but beware, as they offer no refunds nor guarantees. We will report on the final outcome soon.

On September 20th, 2006, topstenoman added the following:

On September 9th I wrote Dave's Garden with my experience of Anything Green. I e-mailed John Pounder of Anything Green to see if I could either get some money back or replacements for the 60 dead Thuja trees out of the 200 we ordered. He, nor anyone on his behalf, would even give me the courtesy of a reply e-mail or phone call. BUYER BEWARE !!
Negative frostanest
(1 review)
On May 16, 2006, frostanest Papillion, NE wrote:

Ordered 30 shrubs. Plants arrived damaged with many broken branches and stems. Packing cosisted of placing containers on their sides in a box.Half the plants were devoid of soil-the other half buried.Anything green offers no warranty and judging from the plants I received I can see why.

Negative zendra
(1 review)
On Aug 1, 2005, zendra wauseon,
United States wrote:

I have signed up at AnythingGreen and sent e-mail about ordering thuja green giants.

The only response I get is when I have signed the waiting list (around 5 times) then my e-mailed response is that I'm such and such number on the list. I have been anywhere from 3 on the list to 65 (?) at different times.

I don't think a person is reading the e-mails and an automatic response is sent.

I would really like to know if the ThujaGreens are available for fall plantings of if spring planting is only recommended and if I will be able to order these.

Phyllis Stamm

On Aug 1, 2005, responded with:


On Aug 2, 2005 1:09 AM, added:

The system you are using is fully automated. Once we have more plants ready the inventory is updated and the emails are sent to those on the waiting list. The number you are on the waiting list doesn't really matter. Buying plants is still first come first served. Responding to the confirmation emails won't help and signing up multiple times only creates more places for you. Anyway, sorry for the misunderstanding and a different rating would be much appreciated. These plants should be available in late August!
John Brooks

---Response time 35 minutes after original comment."

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America