Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Rarefind Nursery (Rare Find Nursery)

Click here to return to Rarefind Nursery (Rare Find Nursery)'s listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
97 positives
2 neutrals
6 negatives


Negative smerchek
(3 reviews)
On May 31, 2015, smerchek Racine, WI wrote:

In May of 2015 I ordered a Ruby Falls Red Bud Tree. In my note to the company, I asked that they try to deliver it as soon as possible. Two weeks passed. I found the same tree at a local nursery. I called the nursery to cancel this order. The man told me it was all set and ready to send. I said I wanted to cancel it. He said it would cost me. I said how much? He said he would call back with the amount. I paid $65.00 for the tree and $38.00 for shipping. When he called back, he told me I would have to pay $31.00 for restocking. REALLY!!!! I think this was very unfair. The man said they had to get the tree ready, pack it and label it. $31.00 is a lot of money for absolutely nothing. I feel cheated.

Negative JetGal
(21 reviews)
On Apr 30, 2015, JetGal Sugar Grove, IL wrote:

This negative review, which is my first, does not have to do with the quality of the plants I received a few weeks ago. I was very pleased with the hydrangea & Fringe tree I received. Good size plants with good root systems. BUT, I was not notified that the Japanese Maple I also ordered wouldn't be shipped, so obviously I was quite surprised when I opened the box. They hand wrote a note on my receipt saying it was back ordered & they would ship ASAP. A back order situation should have definitely been communicated to me before my order shipped. I still have not heard from the company regarding the shipping status of my maple.

Negative Johnaw
(3 reviews)
On May 3, 2014, Johnaw Princeton Junction, NJ wrote:

Be aware, this company seems to want mail order customers only. I tried to buy carnivorous plants, on a beautiful Sat .here in NJ. They open at 10 to the public on Thursday , Friday, and Sat. . The person who was there apologized that he couldn't sell me anything , the people who know what plants are for sale and the prices were away . He offered to call them but said he had the same problems yesterday, that plants people selected were not really for sale. What a way to run a business!
It's a shame because this company does have some very Knowledgeable employees and some unusual plants.
Why they don't separate what they want to sell from their private plants and put prices so any of their employees can sell seems obvious.
I would not be writing this if this was the first time this has happened it's not

Negative sunshimmer
(4 reviews)
On May 23, 2013, sunshimmer Shamokin, PA (Zone 6b) wrote:

Posted on April 25, 2012, updated May 23, 2013
Posted on February 2, 2012, updated April 25, 2012
Posted on February 1, 2012, updated February 2, 2012
I bought a 'red rocket' crape myrtle 2ft tree from Rarefind Nursery a year and a half ago. The shipping was fast and the plant arrived in great shape and carefully packaged. It even had some blooms on it. I planted it immediately in full sun and watered very well. It did well. Winter came and all the leaves fell off like they should. Come spring and summer last year...nothing. Just a brown stick still sticking up. Then late last summer some sucker shoots started springing up. I sent them emails early last summer asking if something was wrong and what I should do. I even included pics. No response. I tried calling them twice and only received an answering machine which I left messages with my phone number for them to return my call. No response. I continued to send 3 more emails with pics asking them to help me follow up with this plant. To this day, still no response. While the plant was beautiful, I can't say the same for their customer service. I now have a tree in my yard that is now only brown sticks coming out of the ground and not sure if last years suckers are going to survive to this year or what to do with it. I wanted a nice big red tree, and I got 6 tiny 8" sticks coming out of the ground and a 2ft larger stick that may or may not be dead, and I still don't know what to do! Beautiful plants, terrible customer service.

On February 2nd, 2012, sunshimmer changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

Ann called me today and told me she would send me a similar size and color replacement tree the 3rd week of April this year. I am happy with our agreement and she was very pleasant, courteous, and apologetic. Therefore, I am changing my rating from negative to positive since she is rectifying the situation. I will update when I receive the replacement as well as how healthy the tree is when it comes out of its dormancy. Thank you Ann.
On April 25th, 2012, sunshimmer added the following:

Just an update. I received the replacement tree just as promised. It is much smaller than the original but seems to be doing well and is healthy with lots of healthy foliage for the size of the tree. I will be a return customer to Rarefind Nursery.
On May 23rd, 2013, sunshimmer changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

Last year Ann sent me "dynamite" crape myrtle tree as a replacement for my "Red Rocket" crape myrtle because she no longer was carrying "red rocket" which I specifically wanted because it was supposed to be hardy to zone 6. I asked her about the hardiness of "dynamite" because I have read many places on the internet that it was hardy only to zone 7. She assured me that no, it was hardy to zone 6. I asked repeatedly if she was sure about this and she said yes. I received the "dynamite" crape myrtle, which was small but in good condition, and planted it immediately. It did very well until winter came. (I even protected it over the winter with leaf mulch and burlap) This year....dead. Again. I looked it up on the internet again..and sure enough, there's only two sites that say it's hardy to zone 6 and one of them is Rarefind's site. Everywhere else says it's only hardy to zone 7. So, here I am years later still with no tree. I give up. I have planted so many trees and bushes in the past and have not ever had this problem because I am very careful to plant in the right location and zone specific species. I will not be ordering from them again. Sorry Ann.
Negative bdank
(1 review)
On May 12, 2010, bdank Fredericksburg, VA wrote:

I ordered bamboo from them (rare find nursery) on April 17th I emailed them about two weeks later (May 4th) to ask when my order would ship. Two days later I still did not have a reply, so I emailed them again. They finally answered me saying they did not have all of the bamboo that I ordered and could not ship for another week. I replied that same day asking them to cancel my order and that I would get the bamboo somewhere else. Then I bought the bamboo on eBay. Today (a week after I told them to cancel my order) I get a notice from UPS that they have shipped the bamboo. I tried calling to resolve this but canít get anyone on the phone. Iím very upset as I donít need, nor can I afford all this bamboo. This company does not check their emails and has poor communication with their customers.

On May 12, 2010, Rarefind Nursery (Rare Find Nursery) responded with:

"On May 18, 2010 4:40 PM, Rarefind Nursery (Rare Find Nursery) responded with:

Dear Bonnie,

Weíre very sorry for missing your e-mail about canceling your order. We received the plants you returned today the 18th and your credit card has been credited. Weíve looked over our trail of correspondence and this is what I have: We received your order with a requested ship date the week of Monday, April 26th. At that time, we had only 7 of the 10 ordered in stock and since we were expecting to get more in soon we decided to delay the shipment until we had all 10. On May 4th, you emailed us asking about the status of your order which we did not see right away. We try very hard to answer e-mails daily, but at this time of year it can be difficult. Two days later, on the 6th, you rightly emailed again and we tried to telephone you several times but the line was busy so we sent an e-mail the following day, the 7th. The following day, the 8th, you emailed us to cancel the order. You said you tried to phone us but got voice mail. We usually are able to answer the phone personally on our 3 lines, but occasionally not, thus we have an answering machine. You didnít leave a message. We check those every day. We didnít see that email to cancel so the order went out on the 12th. We tried to telephone you several times today the 18th to speak to you personally, but your line was busy. Again, we apologize for your inconvenience.

Negative clastadhg
(1 review)
On Mar 1, 2006, clastadhg Monroe, NH (Zone 4b) wrote:

Although I love their catalogue and still enjoy receiving it for its information and nice photos; I know look elsewhere to buy any plants I might be drawn to. In 2002, I ordered four Rhododendron-Capistrano,Bikini Island, schlippenbachi, and Jackson's Robust. The only one to survive was the Rh. schlippenbachii which to this day has not flowered. The other three did not make it to autumn. They appeared diseased, although I was not able to determine the precise cause of death.

On February 5th, 2007, clastadhg added the following:

I did in fact report the sorry state of the plants but they did not offer to replace them. And it was not four years later! , but the same year I received them.
On Mar 1, 2006, Rarefind Nursery (Rare Find Nursery) responded with:


On Mar 3, 2006 9:58 AM, Rare Find Nursery added:

This is not a fair comment! Lodging a complaint 4 YEARS LATER?? Unfortunately this customer chose plants which are not hardy in his area, although we provide hardiness and cultural information in our catalog and on our website. He did not contact us regarding his dissatisfaction, and waited 4 YEARS to express his unhappiness! If he had called us in 2002 or even 2003, we would have tried to make things right. We make every effort to ensure that our customers are satisfied, and would have gladly worked something out with him. "

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America