Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Nature Hills Nursery

Click here to return to Nature Hills Nursery's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
176 positives
19 neutrals
212 negatives


Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | ... 11 Next »

(1 review)
On Jun 18, 2021, BILLINMI Charlotte, MI wrote:

This is the most Pathetic Online Overpriced Nursery out there. You can speak to someone when you place an order, but once they have your money, they No Longer care about you. If you have any issues you Must submit an online form. I submitted one asking several questions, including when would my order ship? Their only reply was "Your order should ship any day now". I ended up calling the number to place an order and then asked the Rep where my order was. She informed me that they cant ship their products if its too hot or too cold.. which I understand, but I asked, what if its too hot for 4 months? Do they Ever Ship? Can I cancel and just purchase the shrubs locally? She said if I canceled there would be a 10% charge for their time, which is No where on their website. This sounds like the greatest Grift Ever... Open a Fake Nursery.. offer plants you don't even have and then Never ship them.. After a few months or maybe years (just keep blaming the weather, or Fed-Ex, or whatever), the customer Will Finally cancel their order and You get to keep 10%... I am thinking of copying their business Model and opening my "Fake Hills Nursery" tomorrow... I decided I couldn't wait any longer with my order and I completed their online form (the Only way to contact them, since they had my money) and asked them to Cancel the order. I then received an email showing that they were finally shipping... but I never received anything from one of their Family Members (representatives) about my request to cancel stating that they were shipping and that I couldn't cancel... But their Customer Service is Pathetic (they claim they are Family owned and operated, and of course you cant hold Family members accountable) so what did I expect. The shrubs did arrive in nice condition, except for the fact that they were Soo Tiny. For over $40 each, I expected them to be much larger. They were the same size as the ones at my local Walmart, but Walmart was selling them for less than $20. Nature Hills is the Worst online nursery that I have ever been tricked into ordering from... I would Not recommend them to anyone.. and they don't allow their customers to post reviews themselves, they make the customer send the review to them and they post them for the customer... So of course, 99% of the reviews on their site are 5 Stars... Can you Imagine if Amazon forced their customers to send their reviews thru the seller for editing... this is a clear indication of just how Fake Nature Hills is... and hopefully more of their customers will share their horrible experiences in dealing with them.

Negative johnnyreb
(1 review)
On May 25, 2021, johnnyreb springfield,
United States wrote:

I ordered for the first time on April 28, 2021. 2 lilac plants and a Japanese Maple. I really wanted just the Maple, but to get the free S&H I felt I could take on a couple new lilac bushes as well.

The lilac bushes, which were just an add-on, arrived in a little over a week. They were bareroot. I planted them right away. A month later they seem to be showing some life. So far so good.

Now, the problem. I'm still waiting on the real reason I ordered. The Inaba Shadare Japanese Maple. It is just a couple days shy of one month since I ordered. The fact their website indicates 10-14 days weather permitting gave me NO reason to believe that "weather permitting" could mean triple (or longer) the time to get my tree.

I called their contact number. They had an option for "where is my order". I selected this and got a recording noting I needed to handle this with an online incident. I wanted to talk to someone so I called back and selected the "new order" option. OF COURSE, I got someone instantly to take my money. I told them I wanted to know my order status. She said she couldn't tell me and didn't have access to that, but she could take my order. I didn't believe that at all of course.

So, I jumped through their hoop and filed an incident. I will say the incident reply was much quicker than I thought.

But, after analyzing the reply "Your Inaba Shidare Japanese Maple is from one of our Pacific NW nursery locations that is a bit backed up on cross-country shipments as these must pass through the Rockies - and overnights just became able to be shipped through recently (prior extreme cold would have damaged the foliage on outgoing shipments). I apologize for the delay, and they have been feverishly shipping orders out recently. Once shipped, you'll get an email with tracking right away. Thank you in advance for your kindness and patience during this weather-related delay."

I realized this was a canned response. All they do is change the item name in the first sentence and throw in all the rhetoric about weather in the Rockies and what not. Wasn't happy and replied to that. This time I got a little more personal reply of apology but reminder that their plants deliveries are subject to weather conditions.

So I replied to this response asking about a refund. They never replied. I can't file another incident. I don't have my $75 tree. May never get it. So, my advice would be to stay away unless you can afford to wait an indefinite time for your order.

Negative azolo
(1 review)
On May 18, 2021, azolo Anacortes, WA wrote:

Nature Hills is apparently some kind of scam business pretending to be a nursery. I obviously hadn't seen these reviews when placing an order with them, and the two plants arrived yesterday. A small hydrangea was badly infested with some kind of pest and/or disease, and when I went to bag it, some kind of small beetle jumped (!) off the plant. That alone is a complete disaster, but on top of this, the plant was advertised as quart-sized on sale of $24 plus $10 shipping... it arrived in a container the size of SOLO cup, so pot-bound there was a full mat of roots below the container. No one in their right mind would have touched this plant had they seen it in person, never mind paid some $34 dollars for it.

Want to know what their "customer service" said about this? That the above is totally normal "field damage" and I should go ahead and just plant what they shipped; instead, I've bagged it and will be taking it to our local extension office.

One guess on whether they published my review on their site, so they also only post the reviews that make them look good.

The Nature Hills Nursery of Omaha Nebraska is an online scam company selling wildly over-priced, tiny Trojan Horse plants -- avoid this nursery if you're lucky enough to read this before ordering.

I've filed a complaint with the Omaha BBB and Attorney General and will be pursuing the legality of shipping infested plants across states.

Negative ellebouton
(2 reviews)
On May 16, 2021, ellebouton Havensville, KS wrote:

I've ordered twice from Nature Hills. The first time, a few years ago, I ordered 5 dwarf oak leaf hydrangeas. They didn't look great, but I planted them, and over the years, three have survived. I needed to fill in the spots where two had died, and they were the only place I could find them. So last year, I ordered two. They were tiny, sad, and overpriced, but I planted them and took care of them. They both died. They have no record of my purchase. Under my account it says "No Orders." I wouldn't pay half price to replace them anyway. Good money after bad. Wish Sooner Plant Farm carried them.

Negative sadlemon
(1 review)
On May 16, 2021, sadlemon Brooklyn, NY wrote:

I ordered an improved dwarf meyer lemon tree in the winter and patiently waited for its arrival. The initial tree arrived completely infested with what seemed to be spider mites. I sent along photos and videos and asked for advice. By the time they responded I had already purchased predatory mites to try and keep the infestation under control. They advised that I should destroy the tree and that they would send a new tree not affected by mites. The second tree arrived just as infested so I bought more mites (since the shipping took so long I couldn't use the first batch). At this point leaves are dropping and every leaf is very damaged from bugs. At this point, over a week after reaching out about the second tree, I haven't received any response. I've spent almost $150 trying to save these trees (in addition to the cost of the tree itself) and am disappointed in the level of care. Unfortunately I no longer trust the suppliers that Nature Hills uses.

Negative Pepperberry
(4 reviews)
On May 7, 2021, Pepperberry Wellington, KS wrote:

If you have money to throw away this is the place to shop. I am still trying to get the Goldflame Honeysuckle I ordered August 4, 2020, it is now May 7, 2021. Like many of the other reviewers my experience with Natures Hill has not be good. Far from it. I have since learned they are not a real nursery at all but a processing house for nursery stock. I will never shop with Natures Hill and will tell anyone and everyone to look elsewhere and not shop there either.

Negative RSB6707
(1 review)
On Apr 14, 2021, RSB6707 Franklin, TN wrote:

I ordered a serviceberry tree and fertilizer pack on January 29. The email said it would ship "Spring 2021." When I hadn't heard anything by March 22, I sent two messages via their chat platform and received no response. I submitted an email to their sales address, and received a general reply that it would ship "Spring 2021" and to check their shipping information page which offered nothing specific. March 25, I called and spoke to a representative who said it was shipping from the Pacific Northwest and should be going out soon.

As of April 7, I'd heard nothing else so I called and after selecting help with an existing order, was re-routed to a recorded message telling me to open a ticket at their website. Then it disconnected the call. I opened the ticket, then called back. Same message. Finally, I called again and selected the option for a design consultant. He told me he couldn't track my order, couldn't cancel or refund it, but wondered how long had I waited? I explained it was ordered in January and I'd been trying to track it down since March 22. He took my information and said he'd have customer service contact me that day. I told him and said it in the ticket I opened that if they weren't shipping it within the week to cancel and refund my order.

That night they responded to my ticket, did not address my request to cancel and did not provide a shipment date. They claimed they started shipping my zone that week and they were catching up, so it might be another week.

It's been another week and nothing has shipped, so yesterday I opened a dispute/claim through PayPal. This morning, I get a reply from Nature Hills that begins with, "It appears you've opened a dispute now..." Well...yes. I can't get ahold of someone who can address the problem via phone. No one responds on your chat platform. You have no specific shipment date, and I'm currently out $131 and change.

Nature Hills told me twice in that email to cancel the dispute and then they'd refund me. But after speaking with PayPal, they've confirmed if I do that, I can't re-open the dispute and then I'll be out of luck. I told Nature Hills that refunding my money via PayPal would automatically cancel the dispute. They claimed they'd refund me there, but as of this afternoon nothing is processing and they haven't responded to PayPal.

Further, Nature Hills claimed in a subsequent reply that my opening a dispute had "only further interrupted our ability to fulfill your order." They also said if I hadn't done this, it "MAY have shipped this week." Meaning it still isn't marked for shipment!

They've had more than three months to fulfill this order or provide an actual shipment date and they haven't done it. It's ridiculous to try and pin responsibility on the customer for delaying an order by opening a dispute because Nature Hills didn't fulfill the order within a reasonable timeframe.

In searching the Better Business Bureau, I found their business page had been flagged due to a pattern of complaints. Among those reasons listed was that customers claimed they hadn't received their products in a timely manner and requested a refund.

Negative mnhtnbb
(1 review)
On Apr 10, 2021, mnhtnbb Durham, NC wrote:

I placed a first order with Nature Hills on 2/28/2021. I heard nothing from them about any of the two trees and hydrangeas that were in the order. I placed a second order with them on 3/12 for a pair of lilacs. Still nothing. On 3/21 I went down to my local nursery and found just about everything I had ordered with them for good prices and excellent quality. Came home and attempted to cancel the order with Nature Hills, only they weren't open on Sunday. So I opened a "ticket". Called them on Monday and was advised the only way to cancel was to talk to them in person. Then they told me they couldn't cancel the hydrangeas because they were already "packed", but they could cancel everything else. They tried to get me to take a card with the refund amount, but I insisted they refund my credit card. They did issue the refunds within the 10-12 days promised, but only sent me notice of one of them. The other one I found by checking my credit card. When the hydrangeas arrived, I couldn't believe they'd charged me over $140. (with tax) for three puny little plants with hardly any root systems. The hydrangeas have been in the ground now for several weeks and there is no new growth on them. I'm sure it's all going to root development.

This is the kicker, though, that caused me to write this review. Yesterday I received an e-mail indicating that one of the trees I ordered was about to ship! What? I have an e-mail from Barry confirming the cancellation of this tree, dated almost 3 weeks ago. The money was refunded. When I discovered the e-mail on Friday, they were already closed. Opened a ticket. Called them this morning to discover 1) no phone calls are accepted; 2) Fill out a ticket; 3) I have been locked out of my account. When I attempt to check the status of the ticket that I opened last night, my e-mail and password are returned as "incorrect". When I attempt to change my password, I am told the e-mail is already taken. So, they have effectively created barriers making it impossible to contact them. Last resort, I called my credit card company and verified they have not tried to charge my card again and had the cc company issue me a new card. If Nature Hills Nursery tries to charge my card again for this previously canceled tree that is apparently about to ship, they will discover the charge won't go through.

Stay away from Nature Hills Nursery. I rarely write reviews, but I wish I had checked their reviews before I ordered from them and saved myself some time and money (left on the table for "cancelling"). It remains to be seen whether the $140. I put into the dwarf hydrangeas will produce anything.

Negative ASKMD
(1 review)
On Mar 25, 2021, ASKMD NEW YORK,
United States wrote:

merchant with such a misleading advertisements.
1- $34.95 worth hydrangea they sent me was size of a half the size of a man's palm. all dried up...such a fraud.
2-$63.95 worth dogwood died on following year.
3- they were going to give me the credit, 50% of the original cost, in the form of their store credit , BUT THE CREDIT CAN ONLY be USE while purchasing the item which is TWICE the price of the original item. AND if the credit was from plant then, I can only buy the plant, if the credit was from tree, then I can only use the credit while buying the tree, this is such a complex rule. fraud!!!
such a nasty rule...this is not a credit that you can use at all!
in my case, by their policy, I got $31.95 worth of their store credit which I can only use on something worth around $60,
If the item is only worth $40, my credit of $31.95 shrinks to $20,and I still have to pay $20. and I can only use to buy plant since the credit came from the plant.
if the item is $31.95, I still have to pay $16 since my store credit of 31.95 can only purchase 1/2 of the item which is about $32.
their credit is almost worth nothing.

Bottom line is Ö
what they selling is of very poor quality, worth almost nothing.
when you finally do call to ask for money back, they will give you 50% of the item as a store credit, but when you try to use the credit
they make you spend more money, at least equal the amount of the credit at minimum.

I would never use this store,
they should be investigate for their almost illegal merchant policy.
they are unethical. they are not nice people.
they don't have honest business.

It is really TOO BAD for the people who came before me and really TOO BAD for the people who will come in the future not knowing what they will have to experience.

This is a TRAP.

Neutral holly_grower
(11 reviews)
On Sep 9, 2020, holly_grower Bear, DE wrote:

Not having read all the negative reviews posted here, I ordered a 3-gallon size Ilex glabra 'Chamzin' Nordic (TM). The plant arrived in May, in good condition, and was carefully packaged. It has grown slowly but has done well since planting. The label showed it had been grown by Lake County Nursery in Perry, Ohio, where the variety originated in the 1980s. However, there is some confusion over whether the plant is male or female, as evidenced by Q&A on the Nature Hills website, and Nature Hills has not returned my email on the subject. The plant they shipped is definitely female, with pistillate (female) flowers and small black fruits, and Lake County Nursery confirms this is typical for 'Chamzin'.

Negative crisseh
(1 review)
On Sep 6, 2020, crisseh Concord, MA wrote:

I ordered a coral bark japanese maple tree on 5/21/20. I emailed about 2 weeks later to inquire as to when it would be shipped (the order confirmation said it was in stock & would be sent out in 10-14 days). I was told that because of weather, they had put a hold on it. I asked that it be sent out ASAP. A month later, still no tree. I emailed again & was told again that it was on hold because of weather. So I called & spoke to someone named Barry who was quite rude & interrupted me constantly. If I cancelled the order they would refund me less a 10% restocking fee. So here it is 9/6/20 and still no tree. I have emailed again but have received no reply so I guess I'll have to call and deal with Barry again. If this order isn't fulfilled soon, I'll have to take legal action.

Negative Sherrymorrison
(1 review)
On Aug 8, 2020, Sherrymorrison Spokane, WA wrote:

I ordered four plants on 5/17/20 to avoid shopping during Covid. It took a week between shipment and arrival about 5/30/20. One of the plants arrived and looked like it had been trying to grow in the dark with long spindly yellow branches and brown dying leaves. I planted all the plants adding miracle grow soil and compost. The sick plant tried to grow some leaves but the spindly stems wilted and the plant just started dying. I contacted the company asking for a replacement on 7/15/20 and Barry said he thought the plant would make it and give it some more time. I contacted him again 8/5/20 once it was completely dead and Barry only offered a 50% credit on that plant and would not offer free shipping to replace it. My 3 other plants are doing fine, although they are smaller than i expected for the price, but this plant was clearly not healthy. This is substandard service. Don't buy plants from this company. It's not worth it.

Negative lbambrick
(1 review)
On Jul 29, 2020, lbambrick Naperville, IL wrote:

Don't order from them! 2 of the 4 plants I ordered started turning brown a week after planting. Due to the nature of evergreens by the time they started turning brown my 4 days were up to put in a shipping claim so they refused to replace or reimburse. Their customer service is awful! I submitted a BBB complaint and they still say they stand behind their plants and guarantee the ship healthy ones. I asked for photos of how healthy they were before shipping! Ha! There is no way to know how healthy a plant is until you transplant it. They are scammers taking advantage of people online ordering because of COVID! Warn your family and friends and stay far away!

Negative GrannyRad
(1 review)
On Jul 1, 2020, GrannyRad El Paso, TX wrote:

BUYERS BEWARE! I purchased 2 sets of plants from this company in April and May. The first were 3 rosa rugosa that arrived the end of May to my zone 8b location. While the whips were about 3 ft long and had some bare root to them, many of the canes were broken and damaged in transit. They had not been trimmed for shipping, just dug and thrown in a box. They were so dry that the bark was actually peeling off when you touched them. After soaking the roots, as you would any bare root rose, they were planted in their own 24x24 cardboard amazon box (yes, I didnt have enough pots left so recycled) in good planting soil mixed with deodorized cow manure and added natural dried leaves to keep the soil moist. It is now the first of July and they have still to break bud or give any sign of life, they have even been dosed with SuperThrive but show no signs of life. That was $100 that I will never see again.
The second order with them has never shown up. I ordered 2 wisteria from them the beginning of May. Because we historically start with our high heat in June, I was concerned with timing, especially in light of delayed shipping because of the pandemic. When I ordered, however, the website said 7-10 days so felt I was safe and went about and prepared the planting sites. When they didnt arrive by Memorial Day, I emailed the company who reported that they were behind with shipping but were "working around the clock to process orders" and I would receive an email when they were sent (I never received one for the rugosas btw, this huge box that fought the mailman all the way up just showed up one day) I just emailed the company again (last week of June) to cancel my order.Their reply was that they were no longer shipping to my area because of the weather (they did not say WHEN they would resume like August or September) so I reiterated that I wanted to cancel my order because of the lack of communication on their part. They have replied that there will be a 10% fee for cancelling and it could take 10-12 days for my credit card to reflect. While I certainly understand the issues facing the growers right now, the lack of communication on their part is what made me cancel my order. I don't think they should be charging the 10% either since they led me to believe that shipping was eminent in May and its now July, but thats a business decision they have to deal with. That's another $100 gone and either dead or non existant product. This company appears to be a sham, taking your money and never delivering stock. Should I mention that in 3 emails, I have had 3 different people answer me? That's a lot of customer service people for no service when the time and effort it took they could have pushed my order through at the appropriate time. My guess is they are using a 3rd party cs to answer emails that have no link to the company other than access to their emails and are no where in relationship to the growers.

Negative SugarTLH
(1 review)
On Jul 1, 2020, SugarTLH Tallahassee, FL wrote:

Purchased over $400 worth of fruit trees. They were delivered diseased, scraggly and underwhelming for the what was advertised. I specifically didnt shop local because they touted their mature healthy plants, so I thought it was worth the extra money.
The trees were very delayed and customer service was slow to respond as to the status of my order- in fact, never answering the phones or ability to leave a message. Only contact was via email.

When the trees came, they all had something wrong with them. I immediately reached out to customer service with photos and they promptly responded "we dont guarantee". I asked for a supervisor/owner - no response. I filed with the BBB in Omaha and the FTC and which point they responded asking for how i planted, cared for these trees. I immediately responded saying they were delivered this way - it wasnt care "after the fact". I left them a poor review on Facebook that they promptly removed and blocked.
BUYER BEWARE - the ONLY reviews that will every get posted by them are positive and they are far from a great experience or value for the money. Lesson learned for me but hopefully a note of caution for other consumers

Positive SML2
(1 review)
On Jun 20, 2020, SML2 Nottingham, MD wrote:

I've ordered Sweetspire, Coral Bells, and Butterfly Bush from Nature Hills. All have arrived in 1-3 gallon containers and very healthy. All are now thriving in my garden. They are a go-to site for me if they have the species I'm looking for.

Negative infinity308
(1 review)
On Jun 4, 2020, infinity308 Lincoln, NE wrote:

Ordered two bare root trees, one of their Wisteria trees, a forsythia, raspberry, and rhododendron for over $300. First they took way longer than other nurseries to ship and were fairly pricey.

Once they arrived, and two months later, their trees have still not budded out. I didn't read up on their warranty until too late, but it turns out it's terrible. Go with someone else who has a free (and better) warranty, and ships quality products.

Their wisteria tree is still alive, though it's a wisp of a plant. Looks like a regular wisteria that was simply trimmed to one stem and tied to a bamboo stake. I could've done that myself for much lower cost. Assumed (my mistake) that it would be sent a little more established.

To be fair, the forsythia and rhododendron have done fine, and remain alive.

The raspberry was shipped over a month and a half after ordering, and I was away when it arrived, so it died in the box by the time I got back.

Overall, extremely disappointed. To the point where I'm writing a review which I rarely bother to do. Won't be shopping here again.

Negative twitser
(15 reviews)
On May 22, 2020, twitser Dawsonville, GA wrote:

Well my 18 year old son accidentally ran over my Korean Spice Viburnum. I bought this as a starter plant two years ago for 11 bucks. My son, who wanted to correct the situation, looked for a viburnum online and found one on Nature Hill's for 75 dollars plus 25 shipping. I don't know why he did this but he bought it with his hard earned money. When he told me I begged him to cancel the order as that was an insane amount of money to pay for a viburnum. It had only been 15 minutes since he made the order, we thought he could call and cancel. Well you can guess the rest. They took his call and said "Well you have to email this other department." He emailed, his father emailed and of course they ignored us. I looked them up online and realized that considering their reputation, not only are they going to take his money without acknowledging him, I probably am going to end up with a dead and damaged bush to add insult to injury. My son didn't understand the mine field that online gardening is and for the life of me I don't know why he spent a hundred dollars to replace a plant. He's a good boy with good intentions. Nature Hills is a sleezebag company. I know they didn't have to cancel an order placed within fifteen minutes but they should have. What a bunch of dirtbags. Heed the negative reviews and stay away.

Negative jetpilot
(1 review)
On May 14, 2020, jetpilot Newnan, GA wrote:

NEVER use Nature Hills Nursery!
I purchased a pecan tree from them in April 2020. The Tree arrived in the shipping container inverted (upside-down) which resulted in major damage to the tree. Four of the tree's eight branches were broken off, and the remaining four branches were damaged. I contacted their customer service department via telephone and emailed them pictures of the damaged tree. I requested either a replacement tree, or a refund, both of which were denied.
I will NEVER do business with Nature Hills Nursery again. They do not sell quality products, nor do they stand behind their product.

Negative LRobinson
(3 reviews)
On Apr 20, 2020, LRobinson Littleton, CO wrote:

Ordered 4 lilac bushes last summer, 2 common white and 2 common purple. Shame on me I didnít realize the different varieties would be so different in height. All 4 were 2 year plants in 3 gallon containers at $115 each. But the white lilacs were twice as tall, very leggy, handful of leaves. One of the containers was crushed on one side. The purple lilacs had better shape but lots of dead leaves. Contacted Nature Hills to advise and return. Sent photos. After multiple back and forth emails I was informed I had no options for return, refund, partial credit, nothing. Quite unsatisfactory and stressful experience.

I also ordered and received 2 Endless Summer hydrangeas. They obviously came from a different supplier. Well packed, grew well, prolific blooms into October last year. Iím happy with them and they are already growing new stems with tiny buds.

However, after the very negative interactions on the Lilacs, I will never order from this company again. I donít need the stress.

Positive tylerla555
(1 review)
On Sep 18, 2019, tylerla555 Dubuque, IA wrote:

My experience with Spring Hill was far different than many of the others I have read here. In the past year, I have ordered two separate trees from the Iseli Jack Frost Series of Hybrid Japanese Maples (Ice Dragon and North Wind). The Ice Dragon was Planted in April, and the North Wind last week (September). The Ice Dragon was little more than a whip, though it was the better part of 3.5 feet tall. The North Wind was also slightly taller than expected, though it had not filled out the gallon container it was. In fact, the soil was quite loose.

However, the Ice Dragon has grown far beyond my expectations. Note that I did not fertilize or treat the tree in any special way whatsoever. It has easily put on 18-24 inches of growth in a single season, and trunk has reached close to a 3/4 inch caliper at 6 inches.

The North Wind is still up in the air, but it transplanted very well. I see no reason to be concerned for the tree, considering it will experience a fantastic season of root growth and establishment prior to winter.

If you are ordering these trees, I would never hesitate to recommend Spring Hill. They are typically very hard to find, and the prices, when combined with their flat rate shipping and discounts, cannot be beat.

Negative katheeh
(1 review)
On Aug 7, 2019, katheeh Spreckels, CA wrote:




Negative deh242
(1 review)
On Aug 7, 2019, deh242 Livingston, NJ wrote:

They do not stand behind their product!!! I was sent a tree with a broken leader and they would not give me a full refund; instead they came up with some excuse why it is better for the leader to be broken. They want me to pay for return shipping and then charge me a 40% restocking fee! But nowhere on their pages do they say they do this to the tree. I have never had an issue with online plant nurseries standing behind their product before Nature Hills. Never again!

Negative kateyez0405
(1 review)
On Jun 20, 2019, kateyez0405 Morton, PA wrote:

Would NEVER use this company again. I ordered 2 items as a housewarming gift for my son. They arrived in April but by June both were dead. No signs of life at all. Waiting to do a "scratch test" is a joke. They were dead!! Items ordered were Korean Spice Viburnum and Jane Magnolia. Originally I was told over the phone I would just have to pay the FEDEX charge. When I send over pictures to prove the second item was dead as well as the first, I am now told that I would be charged half the price of items plus the fedex charge. I finally sucked it up and was going to get the replacements, but now am told they are not in stock, but by the way the one item that cost $50 they did have a larger size in stock for double that price!!! NEVER NEVER ORDER FROM THEM. I am out $135 from my original order, and just put an order in with another company. They could NEVER be the #1 on line nursery. They are the #1 rip off.

Negative moca138
(1 review)
On Jun 12, 2019, moca138 Columbia, MO wrote:

I wish I'd looked up reviews for this company or read their guarantee policy before I ordered trees. To their credit, 6 of the trees we ordered and planted are doing great. But, the two ginko trees which came in fall dormant did not show any signs of life this spring, unlike all the others. I emailed the company and they had me do the scratch test and send photos, which I did. Then Barry sent me an email informing me of their ridiculous policy in which I will be buying another two trees at only half the cost of the originals! Yay! So I get to invest even more hard earned cash on the hopes that these trees are viable. I guess when they aren't any good, I get half off another set of bad trees? This company gives you no real recourse when the trees are duds. I will never purchase from them again nor would I ever recommend anyone do business with them. It's too bad for them, because I'm a local Real Estate broker and refer my clients to the companies that I use that work out well. So, they've lost my business and all my clients future business.

Negative jvzima
(1 review)
On May 24, 2019, jvzima Mc Lean, VA wrote:

I have previously been pleased with products from Nature Hills, but found myself feeling cheated this spring, over a dead plant that was sent in March. Having preordered a "Professor Kippenburg Aster" in January of this year, I wrongly assumed it would be sent at a suitable time for planting in the spring. Instead, it was sent in 30 degree weather in March. I dutifully planted it in a pot despite the fact that it appeared shriveled and dead, and proceeded to watch it. One month later, as the weather warmed slightly, I saw no sign of life. I wrote to the company, sending pictures, and requested a replacement, as this small 2 inch plant was $35 (I was equally surprised at how small the plant was when it arrived-expecting something much larger). The customer service person I spoke to asked me to give the plant a few more weeks to perk up, and to send more pictures. 2 weeks later, I dutifully sent more pictures of the shriveled stem, and was told to wait another week. I again sent more pictures, at which time I was told there are no refunds, and the best they could offer was a 1/2 price plant if I also paid again for shipping.
I do not feel it is my responsibility to pay for a dead plant. I now feel terribly wronged, and while I have enjoyed the selection that this nursery has had in the past, I feel slighted and taken advantage of, and will not use them again. It is only fair that if they send shotty product, that it be replaced. This dead plant was never alive, and they should stand by their products.

Negative gweigel
(4 reviews)
On May 11, 2019, gweigel Pittsburgh, PA (Zone 6a) wrote:

I also ordered a Scarlet Fire dogwood, and mine was dead on arrival. It never budded out at all. I'm a certified horticulturist and garden author who's successfully planted thousands of trees and shrubs, so the failure to thrive is not a case of user error. The weather also has been cooperative. I took a chance on this company despite the many negative reviews. That was a mistake. The company's guarantee of a half refund is a poor one as well... and telling of their confidence in their products. The only reason I went this route in the first place is that none of our local nurseries had Scarlet Fire dogwood available yet.

Positive calebstroh
(6 reviews)
On May 5, 2019, calebstroh Kaysville, UT wrote:

I ordered two (2) Scarlet Fire Dogwood from Nature Hills in February, online. I would have preferred that the plants get to my location in late March, even though its a bit early, as I like to get them in ground while fully dormant. I guess I'm just impatient. Regardless, they shipped them at what they felt the appropriate time (Mid April) and they were still mostly dormant, so no problems here.

These were potted 4-5 foot tall plants, packaged well. During shipment the soil had become lose; I washed it away, soaked the roots, and planted them immediately. They are doing well so far and starting to break bud.

Overall a positive experience. Healthy plants arrived in fair condition (you can't expect a POTTED plant to arrive without SOME soil realistic folks!) From here on out the plants life is up to ME...quit complaining if it dies AFTER YOU PLANT IT...that's your fault...not the nursery's. -CJ

Negative Mamma_Fortunata
(1 review)
On Apr 24, 2019, Mamma_Fortunata Wilton, CT wrote:

I ordered 4 of the Daphne Marianni in January. They shipped in April.

I was supposed to receive #1 containers ranging from 2.26 to 3.73 dry quarts / 2.49 to 4.11 dry liters in volume. The containers were that big, but ALL 4 of the Daphne Marianni had shaken loose, in transit, revealing the fact that their root balls were tiny and not anywhere close to the size they should be. They were all obviously very recently transplanted from trays and still had the square shape from the smaller containers.

I emailed the company same day of receiving plants and sent photos. I requested a refund and return instructions. Charlotte emailed me that horticultural team to have a look and would be back in touch here very soon.

They never did, so I disputed charge with credit card company.

Besides having very little roots. I think these poor shrubs were left too long in the trays and now had a leggy "tree" appearance.

They were not dead, but that was about all I could say for them.

Negative ErinMcK32
(1 review)
On Apr 15, 2019, ErinMcK32 Dayton, OH wrote:

This company sent me four dead redbud trees. I am a plant person, not a newbie who doesn't know when a dormant tree is dead or alive.

I followed the "protocol" with the first set of trees, then got screwed out of more money despite having purchased a warranty to replace the first set of trees. The second set came, and I was home to receive them off the shipping truck. They were dead upon arrival. They had no roots except for a few thicker, dead ones. I followed the "protocol" anyway, and planted them as instructed.

Two weeks later, I could snap dry, brown, hard wood off the top multiple inches of each "tree." There was no green, living wood anywhere.

First the company's story was that they don't cover "replacement plants," but then they said they wouldn't refund me or replace the plants because I didn't send a picture where I "scratched" the (second set) of dead plants?! I had spoken to Julie, a representative of the company, and she did not inform me I would need to do so.

I am not surprised the company has given me no satisfaction, as an online search reveals that the company operates by scam.

Bottom line: They have 189 of my dollars. I have the 4 dead trees from them.

Negative Dano1960
(1 review)
On Mar 25, 2019, Dano1960 New Albany, IN wrote:

BUYER BEWARE---Ordered 2 "Autumn Blooming Cherry" trees in mid-September of 2018, was told at that time and then with subsequent calls into NHN (prior to end of 2018) that tress should be shipped when they went dormant (late October/November period) and would still be ok to plant when shipped/received. Well, fast forward 6+ months and still no trees!

Called NHN Customer Service, and while apologetic, I was told that it would be several more weeks before ANY trees would be begin shipping out and gave me no definitive time period other than that as to when I would possibly receive MINE. So, I asked for and got a refund but MINUS a "10% Cancellation Fee" for something I NEVER got!!! No trees and out nearly $20 and had to wait 7 months for NOTHING!!!

So, I could have gone to a local nursery back in September of 2018, planted the trees then and had 7+ months of root establishment by this time (late March 2019). Despite all the promises, and "alleged" positive reviews on their website, my experience makes me question the sincerity of those reviews and their ongoing promises of delivery. I will never use this company again, and will by local from here on out! Lesson learned!

Negative kenbrumfield
(1 review)
On Mar 5, 2019, kenbrumfield Houston, TX wrote:

I ordered a cherry tree. A month later when it had not arrived I called to cancel. They informed me there was a ten dollar fee. The did absolutely nothing and stole ten dollars!

Do not buy from these crooks!

Negative tom_pixel
(6 reviews)
On Oct 16, 2018, tom_pixel Asheville, NC wrote:

Posted on June 11, 2018, updated October 16, 2018
Company owned ? but yet ship out of Florida ?
I ordered a sourwood back in May , dern thing came dry root , wrapped in pine needles !! Any one cud have looked at the tree and realized it was DEAD , All branches were brown , I scrapped off bark on trunk, brown , roots were even dead .........
I sent 2 e mails to Nature Hills , wanted me to send pict of dead bark which I did , never heard back from them , requesting money back .

Not hearing from them , I called today , requesting money back and would not ever order from them again .
I was told " as a courtesy they would ship another one in the fall due to hot weather and WOULD NOT GIVE ME A REFUND . I told em done ordering from this place and would never again order from them . For 57 dollars , All I got was ONE DEAD TREE , poorly wrapped which came out of Florida , NOT NE.

Their Sales are FINAL poor PR. I am Final with them as well

On October 16th, 2018, tom_pixel added the following:

Well today , Barry from nature hills left me message to call back to verify my address , which I did . They will be sending me a refund check via mail. Tis only been since May when I placed an order and received a DEAD tree .
I asked if they wanted me to mail back the dead tree , as I have it on the deck still .

Nope , do what ever you want with the dead tree .
Negative TomB123
(1 review)
On Jul 16, 2018, TomB123 San Jose, CA wrote:

Blue Chinese Wisteria Tree

First of all after having bought this tree from Nature Hills Nursery on 2/5/17 for $69.95 including shipping. On April 24, 2018 the plant finally bloomed a pink color -- not BLUE. Not to mention that the plant is a vine and NOT A TREE.

I sent an email to voice my displeasure of the color and Nature Hill's excuse was that they propagated this 'Tree' from a seed so therefore could not guarantee the color. DURR, that is why fruit trees have to be grafted to guarantee that the fruit is the way you want it. So I wrote back to ask why was this plant not vegetatively propagated that way bloom color is guaranteed?
I'm not waiting for a response since their MO is deny deny deny.

In short there is no such thing as a wisteria tree and no such thing as a Blue Wisteria. Sham company, eventually someone will launch a class action lawsuit to sue them.

Negative Mintybud
(1 review)
On Jul 10, 2018, Mintybud Old Lyme, CT wrote:

I would give Nature Hills 120% for total aggravation. I ordered a redbud tree along with two other trees that arrived small and bareroot. The redbud arrived dead. I had to send proof that it was dead by photos of a scratch test that had to be approved by the nursery manager. I was then told a replacement would be shipped. Two weeks later a viburnum seedling showed up as a replacement not another redbud. I called and was told they have redbuds in stock but everyone was off for the July 4th week and that the nursery manager needs to give the ok to approve sending another redbud out. I followed up the beginning of the following week and was told that now there were no more redbuds. That I would get an in store credit. I WANT A REFUND. It has been almost a month since the first dead tree arrived. I will dispute the charge with my credit card company and we won't be ordering from them again EVER.

Negative bearsweet
(1 review)
On Jun 13, 2018, bearsweet Sanford, ME wrote:

I guess it was my fault for not reading reviews first. My experience has been the same as others. My bare root bushes arrived, one was a stick and already dead. The other died within hours of being planted. When I called, I was told that she had spoken with me on 1 May! Only I had not called on this before! So I'd like to know how she spoke with me. I realize I will not get my money back on this, and I really don't want "replacement" bushes. These people are terrible. I doubt they will attempt to contact me and work out a satisfactory solution! It would be nice to get a refund so I can purchase the same plants from someone who cares.

Negative BirdmanOKC
(1 review)
On Jun 5, 2018, BirdmanOKC Oklahoma City, OK wrote:

I initially ordered a Pink Beauty Potentila and when I received it the plant was dead. I contacted Nature Hills Nursery and paid again for them to ship me a replacement. I received the replacement Pink Beauty Potentila on 05 Jun 2018 and when I opened the box I was shocked to see another dead plant. There where no leaves on the plant and the stems where brown and brittle. Now I am out the original cost for the Pink Beauty Potentila and the replacement cost. Be aware that this company will take your money and ship you dead plants.

Positive Karina55
(1 review)
On May 8, 2018, Karina55 West Chester, PA wrote:

I have purchased from Nature's Hill in the distant past and recently moved. I decided to read the reviews here because I wanted to purchase a couple of shrubs. I noticed many negative reviews which did not seem to describe the experience I remembered from before. So I decided to go with my personal memory of Nature's Hill and am very glad I did.

I have purchased three potted winterberry shrubs, 2 female and a male for pollination. They arrived when they supposed to , excellently packed and undamaged. I planted them in large pots according to the directions to the tee. I cut off an inch at the bottom of the root ball to stimulate new growth, I soaked the potted roots as per instructions. I did not pile soil over the base of the shrub.

They are beautiful, growing vigorously, and I am as pleased as punch about them. I will a picture if possible. Nope. Won't let me paste or attachť a pic. 😟

Positive swdolat
(2 reviews)
On Apr 15, 2018, swdolat Natick, MA wrote:

I ordered 5 hydrangeas and 4 weigela's on a Sunday. They arrived on Wednesday in beautiful condition. Even had a bloom on one or two weigelas. Very happy with my experience thus far.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | ... 11 Next »

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top