Photo by Melody
Heads-up! Our Annual Photo contest will be open for entries this Thursday the 18th!

Comments regarding Botanical Interests, Inc.

Click here to return to Botanical Interests, Inc.'s listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
40 positives
No neutrals
3 negatives


Negative shannonstoney
(1 review)
On May 12, 2017, shannonstoney Cookeville, TN wrote:

Poor germination. I bought my seeds from a garden center, but it was in early spring, so it wasn't as if the garden center had had a lot of time to mess up the storage of the seeds. Only one germinated. This has happened before. I suspect that the seeds are old.

On May 12, 2017, Botanical Interests, Inc. responded with:

"On May 19, 2017 1:38 PM, Botanical Interests, Inc. responded with:

Dear shannonstoney,
Thanks for using Botanical Interests seed packets, and for taking the time to offer this feedback. Quality is very important to us and we are very sorry that you had a poor experience with our seeds. As part of our quality control process our seed is tested in an independent laboratory to make sure it exceeds industry standard. We continually research the varieties that we carry to be sure we are providing the most current and accurate planting instructions that will lead to a successful growing experience. We guarantee the quality of our seeds, and encourage you to contact us at 877-821-4340 or [email protected] so that we can replace this seed packet for you. We are more than happy to provide the results of our most recent germination test as well, if you can provide the lot number and date from the back side of the packet. We look forward to hearing from you!

Botanical Interests

Negative Spiritsmeadow
(3 reviews)
On Mar 8, 2016, Spiritsmeadow Elizabeth, CO wrote:

I bought a packet of Botanical Interests' Coleus seeds from Tagawa's Garden Center in Colorado. Took them home to my greenhouse and started them in the same germinating mix formula from Gardener's Supply which I've used for 30 years. I've never had a failure of germination, ever. So when after 3 weeks, ONE seed had germinated, I emailed BI. The email reply was so uncaring, unfriendly, demanding to know how deep the seeds were planted, how warm, how much light, etc. NOT ONE WORD OF "WE'RE SORRY YOU WASTED YOUR MONEY". I wrote back saying I did everything according to their packet's planting instructions, as I have for many years. If I was BI, I surely would want to know about a 99% failure rate, I would have apologized, and I would have looked up my HUGE order history. Who needs to deal with a company who makes the customer, a gardener for over 50 years, feel that I did everything wrong. Their arrogance is ugly and I will think twice before I ever order or buy their products again. When a gardener has 50 years experience, is on a fixed income, and has a huge failure like this, and is treated like this...that's just terrible. Senior Citizens, ANY citizen, customer, should be treated with kindness not an accusatory email reply. They should take a few lessons in Customer Service from

On Mar 8, 2016, Botanical Interests, Inc. responded with:

"On Jan 20, 2017 9:49 AM, Botanical Interests, Inc. responded with:

Dear Spiritmeadow,
We are sorry that your experience with our product and customer service was unfavorable. Quality is very important to us and our seeds are regularly tested by an independent laboratory to ensure germination rates exceed industry standards. We also guarantee our seeds and are happy to replace seeds that for one reason or another did not give the customer a similar germination rate to what the independent laboratory reported. Part of our process for seed replacement is helping gardeners find ways to optimize germination which does involve asking some questions about sowing methods. In your initial email it appeared you were also asking for advice so we proceeded through our regular troubleshooting process. Again, we apologize that our process was offensive to you. We did not hear back from you but are still happy to replace the seed packet.

Customer 3/8/2016
I bought a packet of Coleus seeds from Tagawa's garden center as I do every year, started them as per package instructions as I do every year, and ONE!! seed germinated! I'm a Senior Citizen, been gardening for 50+ years and never have had this problem from your seeds ever, except Sugar Baby watermelon, which I think was my fault. Please when you have time, let me know what or why this happened, what I did wrong??Thank you very much!

Botanical Interest Horticulturist 3/8/2016
Hi _____,
Thanks for contacting us about the coleus.
How long has it been since the seeds were sown? How deeply were seeds sown? What temperature is the area the seeds were sown in?
Thanks in advance for your help.

Customer 3/8/2016
Good Lord, I followed the directions on the package, greenhouse is 65-70 during the day, I sowed the seeds 3 weeks ago and they were lightly pressed into the surface of the germination mix, as per your instructions. If I was BI, I'd want to know of a 99% failure rate. Forget it April, I'll take this experience as another in the "no one does service any longer, no one cares, and the customer is always wrong."

Botanical Interests Horticulturist 3/8/2016
I am sorry you took offense. We do guarantee our seeds. I took your email as an ask for troubleshooting help, and for quality control purposes it is good form to ask some questions about sowing. Please imagine the spectrum of customers who contact me, for instance those that direct sow peppers outdoors in spring. At any rate, coleus need light to germinate and warm temperatures, which is the only tricky thing about them.

We are happy to send a replacement packet. I will need to know the coleus variety, we carry 3, and if possible, the lot number and sell by date located on the bottom back packet flap (for testing purposes).

So sorry to have upset you. My aim was to provide assistance and gather information.

Negative rwoods
(1 review)
On Jun 18, 2011, rwoods Pala, CA wrote:

Planted four packages of Botanical Interests Organic Sweet Corn and only six plants came up. Planted three other rows of corn seed I had from 2009 (two planting years old) and they all came up. I am thinking these are old seeds.

On Jun 18, 2011, Botanical Interests, Inc. responded with:

"On Jun 20, 2011 1:55 PM, Botanical Interests, Inc. responded with:

Dear rwoods,
We are very sorry for the poor germination results. All Botanical Interests seed lots are tested regularly for viability, and we only sell seeds of the highest quality. We have a very high turnover and never sell old seed. We get new crops every year and test any leftover stock every six months to ensure that it exceeds required germination rates. Seed germination is dependent on many variables. You did not mention if you planted the 2011 seed the same time as you planted the 2009 seed. If you planted the 2009 seed a couple weeks later, temperatures may have been warmer, enhancing germination. Most farmers and some gardeners prefer to use treated seed to enhance germination because of the ubiquitous presence of damaging soil fungi. If the 2009 seed was treated seed, it may have had better performance. Because of our support of organic gardening techniques, Botanical Interests does not offer treated seed, so all of our varieties are pure raw seed. In the home garden setting, you may not get germination as ideal as happens in a lab under perfect conditions, but you should get satisfactory germination in warm, disease-free soil that is adequately drained and not saturated. We will contact you directly, so we can get your mailing address and send replacement seed. We know it's late to plant corn, so we will substitute another variety if you'd prefer.
Michelle DePaepe
Botanical Interests, inc."

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America