Comments regarding House Plants 4 LessClick here to return to House Plants 4 Less's listing.
You are viewing only negative comments
|On Sep 4, 2007, birdnett Hialeah, FL wrote:
At the beginning of July, 2007 I ordered a ZZ plant to be sent to a friend who just moved to Melbourne Florida. I paid HousePlants4Less $79.95 through PayPal for this plant. It was never delivered but I was billed through PayPal. I e-mailed HousePlants4Less, numerous times and called their contact number, leaving messages. No answer. PayPal opened a claim but was not able to retrieve funds from their account with HousePlants4Less, to credit my account. The case was finally closed, unsuccessfully. I'm out $79.95. Fortunately I was able to order the plant and have it delivered through a reliable on-line company. I want my money back. I am very disappointed with HousePlants4Less and I found that paying through PayPal is no guarantee. So much for trust on the internet. This is my first disappointment with internet shopping.
|On Aug 10, 2007, bjrobertson Birmingham, AL wrote:
It is a shame that a company that had such glowing comments as this one did, has made a complete turn around for the bad. Briefly, I placed an $80.00 order for two plants that I could find NOWHERE else. It didn't take long to realize that I not only wasn't going to get my order but I also wasn't go to get a response to e-mails and phone calls either. I just want my $80.00 back. By the way, I finally found one of the plants I was looking for at Lowe's. The other one, String of Beads, I'm still looking for.
|On Aug 1, 2007, hdlemp Salisbury, MA wrote:
On June 14 they charged my credit card $43.14 and I never received the plant I ordered! I e-mailed then six times, every reply was "we received your e-mail and will get back to you!!" which they never did!! I also phoned about ten times over three days and only received a busy signal. I think other people should be warned to avoid this company.
|On Jun 20, 2007, pamweigle Zionsville, IN wrote:
I placed an order on May 14, 2007. My checking account was charged $39.95. I waited two weeks for the shipment of my plant, then contacted the web site and e.mailed to ask where my plant was. I canceled the order three weeks later, no response from Houseplants 4 Less and no credit. I expect a credit issued to my checking account or a credit issued from you company by the end of this week. I have called your company long distance and left two messages. This is NOT what I expect from a reputable internet service.
|On Aug 4, 2006, ceallachg Manchester, NH (Zone 5a) wrote:
After having bought a String of Pearls plant at HD and watching it die because they'd overwatered it (I'd tried repotting it but it didn't work), I figured I'd buy one from House Plants 4 Less because if they grow them, they must know not to overwater them. However, the plant that I received was as wet as the plant from HD! And I mean wet, not damp. I tried repotting it, but the roots are superficial and the plant is fragile, so I wasn't able to get much of the wet soil around the roots off. Then I tried putting it outside in partial shade (morning sun only), hoping the heat would dry it out. I watched as this plant began to shrivel up, get moldy and die, just like the overwatered plant from HD.
On August 6th, 2006, ceallachg changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:
NOTICE THE RECENT NEGATIVE RATINGS BEFORE YOU BUY FROM THIS PLACE
So, the customer is STILL wrong? I don't know how I could "Not Do Good With That Plant" when I did nothing to it! It was all you! I had repotted the HD plant, not the one from you (although it didn't help the HD plant anyway), and I didn't water yours at all because the soil was so wet that even a couple of weeks after I received it it was still wet (wet--not damp).
At that point I put it outside for two days hoping the heat would dry it out. It was in shade all day except for about 3 hours of morning sun. When I saw that it was too much sun I brought it inside, like I told you on the phone. The main problem wasn't the sun, it was the soil that was still wet weeks later which would harm any plant, let alone a succulent. I don't think the mushy, wet, disintegrating beads and white mold were caused by the sun. The few white, shriveled beads, now those _were_ from the sun, and when those first developed I put the plant back inside immediately. This mess was a result of your having overwatered it, not something I did. Like I said, I don't return plants that I've killed.
Changed to negative because any company that continues to be defensive and blame the customer deserves a negative rating (look at all of his reponses to negative ratings), not a neutral one. I'm definitely not buying anything from this place again.
On August 6th, 2006, ceallachg added the following:
You go ahead and keep proving my point for all to see. As for me, I'm done responding to you.
On August 14th, 2006, ceallachg added the following:
Personally, I saw no reason to continue this discussion in public, but if you want to take a private email and post it for all to see without the consent of the person who sent it, I suppose there's nothing I can do about that.
What More Do I Expect? Like I said in my email: AN APOLOGY. You have repeatedly insulted me, both in private and on this website, and have never apologized for this customer's unsatisfaction with your product. But I see now that I was expecting too much. So, don't worry about it--an apology at this point would be both empty and worthless.
Good luck to you, and especially to any future customers of yours. Can we end this now?
On August 14th, 2006, ceallachg added the following:
APPARENTLY THE ANSWER TO "CAN WE END THIS NOW?" IS "NO"!
Brian Saunders, do you not read?
I said that I had it outside for 2 days in which it received 3 hours of morning sun per day, not outside in all day sun for 3 weeks. I also did not say that it was still soaking wet after 3 weeks, only that it was still wet. As anyone with this plant would know, the beads cover the soil, preventing it from drying out as quickly as, say, a pony tail palm's soil would.
As for starting this "posting business", that's what Garden Watchdog is for! I initially posted a NEUTRAL rating which I changed to NEGATIVE because of your attitudes, which are continuing to justify my decision.
When I am told that a plant that I and others see half-disintegrated and moldy with our own eyes is in "perfect condition"...
When it is repeatedly insinuated that it must be my fault somehow--either from having put it out in the sun, or that someone else went behind my back to water it, or that I must be lying about not having watered it myself...
When my intelligence is questioned by saying things like "Anyone In The World That Has A Plant Will Understand This", you're darn right I take offense. Who wouldn't?
I ask again, CAN WE END THIS NOW?
On Aug 4, 2006, House Plants 4 Less responded with:
On Aug 4, 2006 11:37 AM, House Plants 4 Less added:
We Do Not Wish For You To Feel Insulted. There Are Lots Of People That Do Not Do Good With That Plant. However let me Say This. I Took The Plant Just As It Was Returned To us And Put It In The Yard And Its Doing Fine.
On Aug 6, 2006 6:19 PM, House Plants 4 Less added:
No One Said It Was Your fault However Anyone In The World That Has A Plant Will Understand This.
On Aug 9, 2006 2:01 PM, House Plants 4 Less added:
THIS WAS THE LAST EMAIL I WAS SENT FROM ceallachg.
On Aug 14, 2006 12:08 PM, House Plants 4 Less added:
I am Brian Saunders. I work for houseplants4less. This entire Posting business was brought on by you. You have continued to say that 3 weeks and the 6 inch pot was still soaking wet. HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE WITH IT BEING 3 WEEKS IN THS SUN..A 6 INCH POT WILL NEVER STAY WET FOR 3 WEEKS IN THE SUN. All we have said is that someone had to water it more than it needed to be. We are only saying 3 weeks is impossible for a plant to be in a 6 inch pot and be in the sun and stay wet for that entire 3 weeks. Plant lovers around the world will tell you the same. We are not trying to offend anyone, but you took it offensively. "
|On Jul 6, 2006, icarus_fl Jacksonville, FL wrote:
Unique information I used to register and purchase with on the houseplants4less website were not secure in their database.
On Jul 6, 2006, House Plants 4 Less responded with:
On Jul 8, 2006 12:52 PM, House Plants 4 Less added:
We tried to explain on the telephone that this is impossible to happen. For those of you who know, and those of you who do not, we use a 3rd party billing system called PayPal. We store absolutely ZERO credit card information in our database. We use a 128bit encryption. If there was any possibility of anything being stolen, it would be address and plant order information. We have checked and it there is no sign of an intrusion. Paypal has not notified us, and no other notifications have been received. We do apologize that this happened, but we do guarantee that our site is safe, secure, and reliable."
|On Jul 6, 2006, shivers Rochester, MN wrote:
I recently ordered four plants from Houseplants 4 Less, and three of them were completely unacceptable. I was charged $30 for a cast iron plant that had a total of FOUR, count'em, FOUR leaves. Two other plants were brown, spotted, and busted up. I emailed the owner of the nursery and he did not see fit to respond to me or give me a refund. Of all the online nurserys I've ever shopped, this one was the worst. Save yourselves some money folks, and never shop here.
On August 2nd, 2006, shivers added the following:
The fact remains that 3 out of the 4 houseplants I ordered were totally unacceptable in quality. It does not matter that you sent the dead plants to me in larger containers! Everyone has computer problems at times, but that is no excuse for not contacting your customers and trying to make things right.
On Jul 6, 2006, House Plants 4 Less responded with:
On Jul 8, 2006 12:45 PM, House Plants 4 Less added:
This is said as people DO NOT PROPERLY READ ALL THE INFORMATION on the plants they order. The Cast Iron was a Variegated Cast Iron Plant and it clearly says it will only have 2 or 3 leaves:
|On Mar 4, 2006, elderberrypress Oakland, OR wrote:
I ordered an Alocasia Poly "mother" plant and called to verify it was a larger specimen. I was told it was in a two gallon pot and was large. The site specified a 30 inch tall plant. What I received was a three gallon pot with two six inch small plants freshly transplanted into it and with no root development outside the six inch pot plugs. I paid $66 for what I might have purchased locally for $20. Lesson learned: when buying sight unseen, surprises often await.
On Mar 4, 2006, House Plants 4 Less responded with:
On Mar 4, 2006 1:44 PM, House Plants 4 Less added:
First let me Say That I Am Sorry You Feel Unsatisfied However Let Me Give You The Facts So Others Are Not Misinformed.
|On Dec 6, 2005, towers (Zone 6a) wrote:
would be nice if they ever email me back but i guess they dont care
On December 9th, 2005, towers changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:
gald to here from house plants for less .shame i had to do thay
how i can say i got a hold of them they do have great plants
On July 28th, 2007, towers changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:
they says i win a plant and they dont have a web sight or email when i try to get a hold of the i got not a word .
On July 28th, 2007, towers added the following:
well i got a email from them saying i got a free plant of the mouth and to go to there web sit GOT NO email & there web sight not workng
On August 19th, 2007, towers added the following:
they say i won a plant last july so i try to email and web sight and there was no one .guess its true you never get anythng for free .and i was not to sure before about this company now im am .