Comments regarding Holland Bulb FarmsClick here to return to Holland Bulb Farms's listing.
You are viewing only negative comments
|On Jun 12, 2019, w08833 Lebanon, NJ wrote:
I ordered Lily of the Valley.
On Jun 12, 2019, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
"On Aug 20, 2019 10:38 AM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the original shipment of the Lily of the Valley. Some plants are eager to grow even when stored in our coolers. We know that the roots for next year would be sent out in great condition, however also understand you not wanting to wait until next year. Our customer service team issued a refund for the entire order amount on June 6th. Again, we are sorry that these didn't work out, but we have done all we could to make the situation right. "
|On Apr 19, 2019, mariazipp Saint Petersburg, FL wrote:
Placed order for callas and cannas in March 2019. Received dead rotten bulbs/rhizomes. Contacted customer service day after delivery and they requested pictures of bulbs. Sent pictures that same day and CS said they would contact me with their findings of whether I would get replacements if their findings deemed it but would not get refund.
On Apr 19, 2019, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
"On Aug 20, 2019 11:29 AM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
We are so sorry to hear your disappointment in the canna and calla bulbs you received. We see a note in your account from 3/25 that the first shipment was bad, and it appears we as you stated made a replacement order. We did not know the replacement order was also received in poor condition. Please contact us [email protected] and we will be happy to issue a credit for the value of the original order. So sorry about these errors, we certainly would not want to send you 2 orders with bulbs you were not satisfied with. "
|On Jul 1, 2018, ikenobo Oriskany, NY wrote:
Do not order from this company. I added a message to their order form to ship my order the first week of May. They sent it much earlier. I requested this date because I would not be home until this time. The bulbs sat in the cold on the porch for weeks. When I wrote to get a free replacement as their guarantee states I was told that those messages are rarely read. The bulbs have not grown and I still cannot get a replacement from these nasty people. Bulbs are sold everywhere so choose a company that reads requests they put in the order form and from companies who really willing to back up their guarantee.
On Jul 1, 2018, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
"On Aug 1, 2018 2:22 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
|On May 14, 2018, jedwards29 Muncie, IN wrote:
I have ordered personally and have had good luck... but I ordered for this year for the company I work for ... It wasn't the biggest order ever. but I ordered poppies in the middle of April. yeah late I know but I really wanted to start establishing them and maybe get a late flower or two. well I wait a month and nothing. so I call the company 3-4 times before I got a hold of someone. well this is what I got from Jenny the operations manager who has no superior apparently cause when I asked for a number or to speak to them she refused. She told me the poppies had not made it through the winter and they over sold them due to not finding the issue until about the time I ordered. They ended up refunding my money and gave a credit.... so the biggest problem I have is the way this was handled. They took my money and did nothing else to contact me about their inventory issue. she did apologize for the problem but that came with all kinds of excuses from they are a fall planted item- to they fill thousands of orders with only 6 employees- to im not sure who didn't contact you to let you know the situation - to explaining to me about how perennials grow. but the biggest kicker was near the end of the conversation she asked if there were anything else I wanted to tell her because she had other customers waiting and I was taking up her time...
On May 14, 2018, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
"On May 14, 2018 2:03 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
James-- We did speak earlier today and I sent you an email about this. We are still sorry we weren't able to fill your order, and that we don't have record of you being contacted about us not having any more of the poppies you ordered. We were under the impression that all the orders with these poppies that weren't able to be filled were contacted by one of our customer service agents, we apologize if we some how missed contacting you. We did refund the order today and issue a $25 merchandise credit, as you were very upset with us. We were doing what we could to try to resolve the matter. We did have other customers waiting on the lines, and after we offered the refund and credit to you, we felt we had closed the order and could not provide any further assistance to you. I did not say you were taking up my time, but I did ask if there was anything else we could help you with, as I had other customers to help. We know you aren't happy with us, and we really do try to do our best to fill orders and communicate with our customers, however sometimes mistakes happen and we are sorry that this mistake happened with your order.
|On Nov 1, 2017, ImaLilyGirl Omaha, NE wrote:
I ordered about $100 worth of flowers for the 2017 growing season. Some of them either did not grow or were not the colors I ordered, so they credited my account. I will say those that grew did amazing. The largest issue came when I contacted the company regarding a new order that I had placed. It had been multiple weeks and I needed to get the order in the ground before fall. The representative who answered the chat was SO RUDE and SNIPPY. She actually claimed that I "interrupted her" ... It was a CHAT... You CAN NOT "INTERRUPT." That was just the first of many snide comments she made. I sent and email to the company and instead of doing anything about the horrible service, Jennifer San Filippo the Operations Manager did not even acknowledge the issue.
On Nov 1, 2017, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
"On Nov 6, 2017 10:52 AM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
|On Jun 2, 2017, amazindirt mid-state, TN (Zone 7a) wrote:
Posted on May 9, 2017, updated June 2, 2017
On May 9th, 2017, amazindirt added the following:
edit 5/9/17 -- I credit Holland Bulb Farms for their quick response to my complaint, and I have accepted an offer of replacement plants. I these replacement plants end up being true to label, I will update my comments here to reflect that. I\'ll also post an update if the replacements are still not true to label.
On June 2nd, 2017, amazindirt added the following:
Update on the replacement plants:
The hosta I received as a replacement is still not the variety ordered. I had ordered "Beach Boy", but both the original plant I received and its replacement are solid-green plants. Interestingly, these appear to be two different varieties: one has a nice thick substance, blue color, puckering, and slight cupping (it might turn out to be Abiqua Drinking Gourd); the other is greener, with thin leaf substance, and the slugs already love it. Both are growing well, but not what I ordered.
Only one of the replacement cannas has sprouted so far -- it does at least look like Stuttgart this time.
Again, I applaud Holland Bulb's customer service -- they responded quickly and professionally and shipped my replacements graciously. However, I'm not going to order from a company that uses such untrustworthy suppliers. When I spend money on plants, I at least expect to get what I ordered!
On Jun 2, 2017, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
"On May 8, 2017 11:33 AM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
Thank you for your recent order and for leaving a review on the items you ordered. We are sorry to hear that the Cannas and Hosta are not coming up as they should be. We certainly did not intend for this to happen, and would like to offer a refund for those items or replacements for those items at no cost to you. Please let us know which you prefer!
On Jun 2, 2017 1:19 PM, Holland Bulb Farms added:
We are very sorry that the replacement hosta also aren't growing correctly. We will be sure to let our supplier know of this error. We would be happy to issue a refund for the Beach Boy hosta if you would like. Please contact us [email protected] if you would like the refund for the original purchase price.
|On Jun 26, 2014, gordogecko Southlake, TX wrote:
I placed a fairly large order for bulbs near the end of the spring growing season. When I received the box from Holland Bulb Farms I received fewer salvias and calla lilies than I had ordered. The reason: HBF ran out of inventory. This is a big problem for me, I had placed the order for a specific quantity and color combination because I have a specific space I am trying to fill. Having fewer items is a big problem. I can no longer fill the space and the color motif no longer flows.
On Jun 26, 2014, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
"On Jun 27, 2014 2:52 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
|On Mar 30, 2013, nk123 seattle,
United States wrote:
Be aware, Holland Bulb Farms is just one of many websites that the milwaukee company has. American Meadows, Holland Bulb Company and who knows what other websites belong to the same company, charge the same fee to mail plants, and always ship tiny plants.
On Mar 30, 2013, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
"On Apr 16, 2013 3:52 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
Although this you may believe we are associated with other companies such as American Meadows, Holland Bulb Company and others, we are a stand alone company and are not affiliated with any other mail order bulb companies. We are a small family run business, who strives on honesty, integrity and customer satisfaction. We are sorry that you feel our plants are small. While some of our value bag and jumbo pack items may use smaller bulbs, they tend to be very affordable, and we do list all the bulb sizes in our items, so our customers know what they are getting at the time of purchase. If you are concerned about the size of the bulbs you order from us, we suggest ordering top size bulbs, which are available in our smaller quantity packages. If you are unsure if the bulbs you are ordering are top sized you can always call us 1-800-689-2852 or email us [email protected] and we will be happy to assist you in purchasing top sized bulbs. If you have concerns or complaints about a past order please contact us and we will be certain to resolve the matter, as we want to make sure you are satisfied. Thank you again, and we are happy we were able to clear up the confusion you had about our company."
|On Apr 2, 2012, plantgnome1 nowhere land, NY (Zone 6b) wrote:
Posted on April 2, 2012, updated April 2, 2012
On April 2nd, 2012, plantgnome1 added the following:
Regarding a second email from Krista-which I found quite sarcastic: "Do you ever get credit or refunded from any store without bringing in the faulty or dead item? Or do you just bring in a reciept and complain and get money back? No."
First of all I didn't purchase a piece of clothing from you I purchased something put underground-I usually don't bury items I purchase other than bulbs-a live plant that didn't make it is easily located by dead branches. To ask a customer to dig up a bulb is ridiculous and I notice on Garden Watchdog-you ask other customers to do the same preposterous thing. Lastly-I sincerely doubt a critter dug up a Fritilaria-as I notice any squirrels steer clear of the entire area they were planted because of the smell. I really don't have the time or inclination to dig up a dead bulb to prove my truthfulness. So good luck with your business-I will not be giving you any more of mine.
On Apr 2, 2012, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
"On Apr 2, 2012 1:18 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
Dear Valued Customer,
On Apr 2, 2012 1:50 PM, Holland Bulb Farms added:
Since posting our first rebuttal and hearing back from this customer. We have decided to issue a complete refund for the customers entire order, this is a refund to their credit card for all the products even the items that did grow. We hope this can bring a solution or resolution to this problem.
|On Nov 12, 2011, olga1990 Englewood Cliffs, NJ wrote:
I had an extremely negative experience with this company.
On Nov 12, 2011, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:
"On Nov 14, 2011 3:33 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with: