Photo by Melody
Time to vote! Choose your favorite images in our annual Photo Contest HERE

Comments regarding Holland Bulb Farms

Click here to return to Holland Bulb Farms's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
56 positives
4 neutrals
10 negatives


Negative w08833
(7 reviews)
On Jun 12, 2019, w08833 Lebanon, NJ wrote:

I ordered Lily of the Valley.

When they arrived they had already sprouted and had six inches of new growth. I notified them the day the plants arrived but they ignored my email. I contacted them again after three weeks when most of the plants had died They insist that the plants were stored appropriately, and want to reship them next year.

There's no reason to believe that the plants will be in better condition next year, and I want a refund.

On Jun 12, 2019, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

"On Aug 20, 2019 10:38 AM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the original shipment of the Lily of the Valley. Some plants are eager to grow even when stored in our coolers. We know that the roots for next year would be sent out in great condition, however also understand you not wanting to wait until next year. Our customer service team issued a refund for the entire order amount on June 6th. Again, we are sorry that these didn't work out, but we have done all we could to make the situation right. "

Negative mariazipp
(1 review)
On Apr 19, 2019, mariazipp Saint Petersburg, FL wrote:

Placed order for callas and cannas in March 2019. Received dead rotten bulbs/rhizomes. Contacted customer service day after delivery and they requested pictures of bulbs. Sent pictures that same day and CS said they would contact me with their findings of whether I would get replacements if their findings deemed it but would not get refund.
Never received any further contact from Holland Bulb Farms. Two weeks later got a package of bulbs. Thought WOW! I got new bulbs/rhizomes. I did get a new shipment, but again, the exact same condition as before dead rotten bulbs/rhizomes. Cannot believe they even ship these out as there is no chance since they are all moldy and stringy. How do you do this not once but twice? Never again, spent close to $100 for absolute garbage. Even on ebay I have gotten bulbs/rhizomes but never rotten.
They sent me an email today 4/19/19 for a review but I'm sure it will never get on the website since after you actually fill out the review it tells you a moderator will determine if it is posted...WOW so don't look for 1 star reviews on their site, they don't get posted.

On Apr 19, 2019, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

"On Aug 20, 2019 11:29 AM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

We are so sorry to hear your disappointment in the canna and calla bulbs you received. We see a note in your account from 3/25 that the first shipment was bad, and it appears we as you stated made a replacement order. We did not know the replacement order was also received in poor condition. Please contact us [email protected] and we will be happy to issue a credit for the value of the original order. So sorry about these errors, we certainly would not want to send you 2 orders with bulbs you were not satisfied with. "

Negative ikenobo
(3 reviews)
On Jul 1, 2018, ikenobo Oriskany, NY wrote:

Do not order from this company. I added a message to their order form to ship my order the first week of May. They sent it much earlier. I requested this date because I would not be home until this time. The bulbs sat in the cold on the porch for weeks. When I wrote to get a free replacement as their guarantee states I was told that those messages are rarely read. The bulbs have not grown and I still cannot get a replacement from these nasty people. Bulbs are sold everywhere so choose a company that reads requests they put in the order form and from companies who really willing to back up their guarantee.

On Jul 1, 2018, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

"On Aug 1, 2018 2:22 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

Dear ikenobo:
I want to follow up with the same information we provided you regarding the similar BBB Complaint you initiated. You placed your order on our website on February 11, 2018 we shipped your order April 26th and have confirmed delivery via USPS to your door on April 28, 2018
We have provided you all the tracking information and confirmed delivery of April 28th. I apologize that it arrived 2 days before May.
To state, "The bulbs sat in the cold on the porch for weeks" this seems a bit odd, since your request for delivery (as you stated in the above message) for May delivery and we confirmed delivery April 28.
I am very sorry you are so upset with our company, we are a family business and have been shipping flower bulbs and perennials for over 30 years. We do everything for our customers.
Kind Regards,
Jon "

Negative jedwards29
(1 review)
On May 14, 2018, jedwards29 Muncie, IN wrote:

I have ordered personally and have had good luck... but I ordered for this year for the company I work for ... It wasn't the biggest order ever. but I ordered poppies in the middle of April. yeah late I know but I really wanted to start establishing them and maybe get a late flower or two. well I wait a month and nothing. so I call the company 3-4 times before I got a hold of someone. well this is what I got from Jenny the operations manager who has no superior apparently cause when I asked for a number or to speak to them she refused. She told me the poppies had not made it through the winter and they over sold them due to not finding the issue until about the time I ordered. They ended up refunding my money and gave a credit.... so the biggest problem I have is the way this was handled. They took my money and did nothing else to contact me about their inventory issue. she did apologize for the problem but that came with all kinds of excuses from they are a fall planted item- to they fill thousands of orders with only 6 employees- to im not sure who didn't contact you to let you know the situation - to explaining to me about how perennials grow. but the biggest kicker was near the end of the conversation she asked if there were anything else I wanted to tell her because she had other customers waiting and I was taking up her time...

long story short if it is something time sensitive or a must have for the growing season. or if you order from a bunch of vendors skip this one.... if takes to much work to ensure your order from this company.

On May 14, 2018, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

"On May 14, 2018 2:03 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

James-- We did speak earlier today and I sent you an email about this. We are still sorry we weren't able to fill your order, and that we don't have record of you being contacted about us not having any more of the poppies you ordered. We were under the impression that all the orders with these poppies that weren't able to be filled were contacted by one of our customer service agents, we apologize if we some how missed contacting you. We did refund the order today and issue a $25 merchandise credit, as you were very upset with us. We were doing what we could to try to resolve the matter. We did have other customers waiting on the lines, and after we offered the refund and credit to you, we felt we had closed the order and could not provide any further assistance to you. I did not say you were taking up my time, but I did ask if there was anything else we could help you with, as I had other customers to help. We know you aren't happy with us, and we really do try to do our best to fill orders and communicate with our customers, however sometimes mistakes happen and we are sorry that this mistake happened with your order.

Best Wishes,

Jenny San Filippo"

Negative ImaLilyGirl
(4 reviews)
On Nov 1, 2017, ImaLilyGirl Omaha, NE wrote:

I ordered about $100 worth of flowers for the 2017 growing season. Some of them either did not grow or were not the colors I ordered, so they credited my account. I will say those that grew did amazing. The largest issue came when I contacted the company regarding a new order that I had placed. It had been multiple weeks and I needed to get the order in the ground before fall. The representative who answered the chat was SO RUDE and SNIPPY. She actually claimed that I "interrupted her" ... It was a CHAT... You CAN NOT "INTERRUPT." That was just the first of many snide comments she made. I sent and email to the company and instead of doing anything about the horrible service, Jennifer San Filippo the Operations Manager did not even acknowledge the issue.

This is the complaint I sent: She made snide comments to me prior to her sending me the long detail of fall shipping of bulbs. I did not order bulbs, I ordered roots of plants so how why would I correlate that as something else (a bulb, which is a bit different). She accused me of interrupting her ... HOW DO YOU INTERRUPT CHAT? Do you commonly approve of a customer service rep accusing your customers?

I am quite angry. Her attitude was rude, unprofessional and after that, I did not care what she said because her entire attitude was rude. I told her I was frustrated and I even put a sad face to show that I was sad about the process. She later asked if I was reading her responses, to which I said, how could I respond if I did not read it? I told her how she was acting. She was being bitchy and I called her out on it. I also apologized and she said she would not forgive me. LOL that just PROVED her ATTITUDE FROM THE BEGINNING!

I deal with customers too and it does not matter if they are happy, sad, confused on terms, mad, frustrated... I DO NOT CARE.... I HELP THEM with 100% pleasure in doing so. If someone is mad, I find out why and reassure them, help them and even if I can not changed things, I let them know I care. By the end, the customer is happy irregardless of the situation. Your REP, did NOT!

If this is the behavior you condone, then I think you should credit my bank card for the full amount. I will not be making another purchase. I ordered from 6 other companies too. I can do business elsewhere. Justifying her attitude is not ok. Your explanation below would have sufficed, but that is not what she gave me. The snippy accusations set the tone!

Her snide reply was this: Thank you for your reply. We have refunded and canceled your order, and attached a copy of the canceled order for your records and review. Based on your correspondence with our company we think it will be best if you continue to enjoy ordering from the other flower companies that will satisfy your customer services needs better than can. We wish you the best of luck in your future garden endeavors.

The Operations Manager did not care about how horribly I was treated and told me to order elsewhere. They also deleted my account information. So they seem to not only tolerate but support the customer service rep in treating customers like trash. You won't get my business or the local growing groups and communities.

On Nov 1, 2017, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

"On Nov 6, 2017 10:52 AM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

Hi Iamlilygirl,

We are sorry that your customer experience was less than satisfactory, and that the customer service rep was not fully understanding your questions and needs. We did as you asked and issued a refund to your account. We closed your account as you seemed utterly disappointed in our company and that you would not be ordering from us in the future. We certainly don't condone any of our employees speaking in a way that would upset our customers, we also do not condone any customer who may verbally abuse our customer service representatives.
Again, we wish you the best of luck in your future garden projects, and hope you are able to find a company that can live up to your customer service needs and expectations.

Best Wishes,


Negative amazindirt
(7 reviews)
On Jun 2, 2017, amazindirt mid-state, TN (Zone 7a) wrote:

Posted on May 9, 2017, updated June 2, 2017
Posted on May 8, 2017, updated May 9, 2017
I ordered four plants on 2/15/17.

The quality of the plants was acceptable. However, at least two of the plants ordered are not as labeled.

1. \\\"Stuttgart\\\" canna has sprouted with RED leaves. The true Stuttgart is green/white variegated.

2. \\\"Beach Boy\\\" hosta is growing well, with SOLID BLUE leaves. The true Beach Boy is variegated.

The other two plants are clematis, so I\\\'ll have to wait until at least next year to see the blooms. At this point I\\\'ll be surprised if they are as labeled either.

Buyer beware!

On May 9th, 2017, amazindirt added the following:

edit 5/9/17 -- I credit Holland Bulb Farms for their quick response to my complaint, and I have accepted an offer of replacement plants. I these replacement plants end up being true to label, I will update my comments here to reflect that. I\'ll also post an update if the replacements are still not true to label.
On June 2nd, 2017, amazindirt added the following:

Update on the replacement plants:

The hosta I received as a replacement is still not the variety ordered. I had ordered "Beach Boy", but both the original plant I received and its replacement are solid-green plants. Interestingly, these appear to be two different varieties: one has a nice thick substance, blue color, puckering, and slight cupping (it might turn out to be Abiqua Drinking Gourd); the other is greener, with thin leaf substance, and the slugs already love it. Both are growing well, but not what I ordered.

Only one of the replacement cannas has sprouted so far -- it does at least look like Stuttgart this time.

Again, I applaud Holland Bulb's customer service -- they responded quickly and professionally and shipped my replacements graciously. However, I'm not going to order from a company that uses such untrustworthy suppliers. When I spend money on plants, I at least expect to get what I ordered!
On Jun 2, 2017, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

"On May 8, 2017 11:33 AM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

Thank you for your recent order and for leaving a review on the items you ordered. We are sorry to hear that the Cannas and Hosta are not coming up as they should be. We certainly did not intend for this to happen, and would like to offer a refund for those items or replacements for those items at no cost to you. Please let us know which you prefer!


Holland Bulb Farms Staff

On Jun 2, 2017 1:19 PM, Holland Bulb Farms added:

We are very sorry that the replacement hosta also aren't growing correctly. We will be sure to let our supplier know of this error. We would be happy to issue a refund for the Beach Boy hosta if you would like. Please contact us [email protected] if you would like the refund for the original purchase price.


HBF staff"

Negative gordogecko
(1 review)
On Jun 26, 2014, gordogecko Southlake, TX wrote:

I placed a fairly large order for bulbs near the end of the spring growing season. When I received the box from Holland Bulb Farms I received fewer salvias and calla lilies than I had ordered. The reason: HBF ran out of inventory. This is a big problem for me, I had placed the order for a specific quantity and color combination because I have a specific space I am trying to fill. Having fewer items is a big problem. I can no longer fill the space and the color motif no longer flows.

No one from HBF ever attempted to contact me to let me know that they had run out of a number of items!
It should be noted that the items I ordered showed specific and sufficient availability when I ordered them (e.g. "11 bare roots left").

Obviously this is frustrating because now I have plants I cannot use and I could/should have just ordered from another company two weeks ago. Now my window for planting is closing/closed.

I wrote to HBF to request a postage-paid mailing label so that I could send back the bubs I could no longer use. They said they would not do that because they have a written policy on the website to fulfill all orders regardless of how much of the order they can fulfill. This seems like a TERRIBLE policy for a company like this. Who wants half a garden?? Plus, who reads every policy a company has on its website. I should be able to expect HBF to: 1) simply be reasonable and 2) have an accurate handle on its inventory, which is the impression the website provides.

A two-minute phone call from them two weeks ago would have verified that I did not want half an order.


On Jun 26, 2014, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

"On Jun 27, 2014 2:52 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

Hi there,

We are sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with our policies in regard to items missing from orders. In an ideal world our inventory of perishable items would be 100% accurate all of the time, we would have a team dedicated to contacting our customers when and and if an item becomes unavailable, and all of our customers who have items that are unavailable would be ready to reply to our phone call or email right away at first contact. Unfortunately those three factors do not happen often, and therefore we have adapted the policy when an item is missing, to simply offer a refund of the items price and include a free shipping coupon. We include this free shipping coupon with no minimum in case the customer wanted to order something else in place of the missing items, we won't charge them for the shipping on the next order, since we did make mistake by having inaccurate inventory.

By refunding the order, we can ship the order quickly within the 3-5 business days after the order was placed. If we call or email a customer and they do not get back to us for whatever reason that could delay their order further while we are waiting to get a hold of them.

In regard to our accurate inventory due to the nature of our products (being that they are perishable goods) sometimes bulbs or perennials go bad and we are no longer comfortable shipping these items to our customers, when this happens it can be sudden or at the bottom of a crate which we are not able to recognize immediately as we are busy shipping orders and tending to other duties. If we do notice a bulb or perennial is no longer in acceptable condition we will certainly adjust our inventory quantities, however as much as we would like to we simply cannot catch every package of every item as it becomes unable to meet our quality standards. At the end of a shipping season, which is when your order was placed this happens much more frequently, as these items are eager to be planted, and have been in our warehouse for a few months. We completely understand your complaints about this policy and hope you can understand the reasoning behind our policy.
In regard to your request of expecting us to simply be reasonable- we feel as though by refunding your credit card for the products we could not supply as opposed to shipping you substituted items of our choosing is a reasonable procedure. When we replied to your first email and informed you that we would refund you for the products you returned, but we could not refund the postage paid for the products. We feel as though offering to refund you for the products is very reasonable considering our Spring planting and shipping season is over, and by accepting the return once we got them back they would not be usable in any way. Also, since we have stated on our website our policy about unavailable items and how we proceed with them, we were making an exception for you, and were trying to compromise.
We would also like to note that we did offer to send you a return shipping label after our first correspondence and hearing your disappointment, but have not heard back from you.
We would like to thank you for bringing this matter about our missing items to our attention, we are looking into adding an option at checkout that allows our customers to check a box, to let us know how to proceed if an item is missing from there order. We hope to be able to implement this feature within the next week to avoid further disappointment from customers who like you would prefer to be contacted, as opposed to having a partial order that was shipped in a timely fashion.

We are very sorry that this situation could not have been resolved sooner or in a better way, we certainly did not intend on making this such an unpleasant experience for you.

Enjoy your future gardening endeavors, best wishes to you!"

Negative nk123
(1 review)
On Mar 30, 2013, nk123 seattle,
United States wrote:

Be aware, Holland Bulb Farms is just one of many websites that the milwaukee company has. American Meadows, Holland Bulb Company and who knows what other websites belong to the same company, charge the same fee to mail plants, and always ship tiny plants.

On Mar 30, 2013, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

"On Apr 16, 2013 3:52 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

Although this you may believe we are associated with other companies such as American Meadows, Holland Bulb Company and others, we are a stand alone company and are not affiliated with any other mail order bulb companies. We are a small family run business, who strives on honesty, integrity and customer satisfaction. We are sorry that you feel our plants are small. While some of our value bag and jumbo pack items may use smaller bulbs, they tend to be very affordable, and we do list all the bulb sizes in our items, so our customers know what they are getting at the time of purchase. If you are concerned about the size of the bulbs you order from us, we suggest ordering top size bulbs, which are available in our smaller quantity packages. If you are unsure if the bulbs you are ordering are top sized you can always call us 1-800-689-2852 or email us [email protected] and we will be happy to assist you in purchasing top sized bulbs. If you have concerns or complaints about a past order please contact us and we will be certain to resolve the matter, as we want to make sure you are satisfied. Thank you again, and we are happy we were able to clear up the confusion you had about our company."

Negative plantgnome1
(31 reviews)
On Apr 2, 2012, plantgnome1 nowhere land, NY (Zone 6b) wrote:

Posted on April 2, 2012, updated April 2, 2012
I ordered three Fritilaria bulbs from this company-aside from paying almost $30 for three bulbs and shipping-I planted them according to their directions-at an angle so as not to rot and waited for the temps to be cool enough. This spring two broke ground, one is now a foot tall-the other is about 4 inches tall the third a no show. I was told to wait for the plants to "catch up" what the heck does that mean. they are in the same area getting the same sun, planted at the same time. Catch up to what? is one going to have a growth spurt? Then I also got this as a response to my complaint:
"If you continue to have an issue with your fritilaria: please take photos of the plants, and if no plant -please unearth bulb to tell us of your findings. This information helps us for future issues and/or to what went wrong with yours"
ARE they kidding me? dig up a dead bulb & photo it and tell them its condition before I can get either a credit or new bulbs. They can keep their bulbs as well as their ridiculous policy regarding failures of their material. Will not spend another cent with them. I advise you all to not bother unless you like digging up dead bulbs.

On April 2nd, 2012, plantgnome1 added the following:

Regarding a second email from Krista-which I found quite sarcastic: "Do you ever get credit or refunded from any store without bringing in the faulty or dead item? Or do you just bring in a reciept and complain and get money back? No."
First of all I didn't purchase a piece of clothing from you I purchased something put underground-I usually don't bury items I purchase other than bulbs-a live plant that didn't make it is easily located by dead branches. To ask a customer to dig up a bulb is ridiculous and I notice on Garden Watchdog-you ask other customers to do the same preposterous thing. Lastly-I sincerely doubt a critter dug up a Fritilaria-as I notice any squirrels steer clear of the entire area they were planted because of the smell. I really don't have the time or inclination to dig up a dead bulb to prove my truthfulness. So good luck with your business-I will not be giving you any more of mine.
On Apr 2, 2012, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

"On Apr 2, 2012 1:18 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

Dear Valued Customer,

We are very sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with our policies and the fritillaria bulbs you ordered and planted from us last year. We hope we can offer a solution and explanation to the problems you are experiencing.
In regard to the growth rate of the 2 that are growing, this is a factor that we really don't have any control over. Since bulbs are living things they all grow at different rates, even if they are planted in the same growing conditions. I believe the representative you spoke with was trying to explain this, by saying that one of the bulbs will catch up to the others. Please understand that the growth rate is a factor that is beyond our or your control, is a factor of nature.
In regard to the bulb that has failed to sprout completely, we are sorry to hear this and know it really can have an affect on your garden. We often ask our customers to unearth bulbs to see what possibly happened to them. If they are mushy and soft they most likely received too much moisture. If they are disintegrated and crumbly they may have not received enough moisture, or experienced other issues prior to planting. If you dig in the area and nothing is there they could have been taken by some critters or completely rotted away. By knowing what happened to them we can help to prevent future problems on our end as well as the customers end.
In regard to our policies, the representative you were emailing with earlier today will be emailing you to offer a merchandise credit or refund. As your satisfaction is top priority to us and we really do not like to see someone like your self so frustrated and angry with our company and the results you experienced. We hope by offering a credit or refund we can change your opinion of us, and hope to do business with you again soon!


Jennifer San Filippo
Operations Manager
Holland Bulb Farms

On Apr 2, 2012 1:50 PM, Holland Bulb Farms added:

Since posting our first rebuttal and hearing back from this customer. We have decided to issue a complete refund for the customers entire order, this is a refund to their credit card for all the products even the items that did grow. We hope this can bring a solution or resolution to this problem.


Jennifer San Filippo
Operations Manager
Holland Bulb Farms"

Negative olga1990
(2 reviews)
On Nov 12, 2011, olga1990 Englewood Cliffs, NJ wrote:

I had an extremely negative experience with this company.
I bought a new house and spent more than $600 on flowers with this complany which promised 100% grow guarantee.
Only few plants grew and only some of them survived the first season. I asked for replacements. They made me to dig dead bulbs and describe what happened to each one of them . I did, however replacement plants were never sent to me. I requested a refund and they refused to refund my money. Very rude customer survice. So as a result I have less than 10 flowers which cost me more than $600. Do not order from them.

On Nov 12, 2011, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

"On Nov 14, 2011 3:33 PM, Holland Bulb Farms responded with:

Dear Olga,

Thank you for providing us your feedback and sharing your experience on Dave's Garden. Please remember we did refund $194 dollars to your credit card for the items we had on record that failed to grow plus we issued a $30.92 merchandise credit for items you stated failed to grow. We did require that you dig into the planting areas to see the condition of the bulbs, which we often require on warranty claims. The reason we require this information is so we find out more information about the planting location and find any clues as to why the items would have failed to grow. This information is very beneficial to us especially if you plan to order similar items and plant them in the same area, that way we can hopefully avoid the same problems in the future, we hope you do understand our reasoning behind this. We are sorry that you are still dissatisfied with our company, we did follow our 100% Grow guarantee when dealing with your account and various orders. We do respect all opinions and feedback from our past, present and future customers and wish you the best success with your gardening endeavor in the future!


Holland Bulb Farms Customer Service"

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America