Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Growjoy (formerly Garden Harvest Supply)

Click here to return to Growjoy (formerly Garden Harvest Supply)'s listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
358 positives
18 neutrals
20 negatives


« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | ... 10 Next »

Positive jassierose
(1 review)
On Aug 28, 2010, jassierose Cumberland, IA wrote:

I got my plants within a week of ordering. I am very pleased with this company and will order from them again.

Positive Butiaman
(1 review)
On Aug 26, 2010, Butiaman Douglasville, GA (Zone 7b) wrote:

I ordered a quart size bottle of Neptune's Harvest Fish & Seaweed Fertilizer from Garden Harvest Supply.I got it at a very good price and they shipped it quickly.It is a great product,I will definitely order more of it from them.My whole experience with Garden Harvest Supply was a very positive one.Perfect description of product and very fast delivery,you cant go wrong ordering from them.

Positive myreddog
(1 review)
On Aug 22, 2010, myreddog Calico Rock, AR wrote:

my order for diatomaceous earth was competivley priced and arriver in a few days

On Aug 22, 2010, Growjoy (formerly Garden Harvest Supply) responded with:

"On Aug 23, 2010 6:46 AM, Garden Harvest Supply responded with:

We appreciate your order of Diatomaceous Earth!"

Positive Shelah
(1 review)
On Aug 5, 2010, Shelah Lancaster, OH wrote:

I am really impressed! Everything arrived fast and in wonderful condition. The plants were in great shape. Thank you so very much.

Positive jolv
(1 review)
On Jul 27, 2010, jolv Long Valley, NJ wrote:

great product at a reasonable price. Fast Shipping!!

Positive islandview
(6 reviews)
On Jul 24, 2010, islandview Middletown, DE (Zone 7a) wrote:

Bought 8 hibiscus plants, 2 salvias, 2 achillea and 1 enchinacea...alll arrived within days and healthy. From the buds, looks like I'll even get a good number of flowers opening up later this month. Thanks.

Positive mojoman73
(1 review)
On Jul 23, 2010, mojoman73 Lexington, SC (Zone 7b) wrote:

I ordered the Dustin Mizer from them on Wednesday and received it today, Friday! Great service. I will be buying some plants form them this fall and next spring. Great company!

Positive mindyzak
(1 review)
On Jul 22, 2010, mindyzak Framingham, MA wrote:

I ordered a load of chrysanthemums late in the season for a fall wedding. The condition of the plants was unbelievable - they filled the packing and were in perfect health!! I never expected such excellent plants sent by mail.

Positive cramsey1
(24 reviews)
On Jul 21, 2010, cramsey1 Salt Lake City, UT (Zone 6b) wrote:

I placed my first order for coral bells from this company a month ago. The plants were reasonably priced with very low shipping cost and arrived quickly. They were well packages and nice size healthy well rooted. I was so impressed with them, that a week later I placed another larger order with them. These guy are fantastic they sell quality plants at reasonable prices, have fast shipping with good customer service. I highly recommend them.

Positive fquincy1
(1 review)
On Jul 15, 2010, fquincy1 Pittsburgh, PA wrote:

I was impressed with the packaging of the products I purchased and also the speed in which my order was delivered to me.

Positive victorialyn
(2 reviews)
On Jun 27, 2010, victorialyn Lakeside Marblehead, OH wrote:

Posted on June 13, 2010, updated June 27, 2010
the best looking plants i have received by mail ever! i'm thrilled to find gardenharvest. the prices were reasonable and the stock great. i know where i'm going to order from in the future. sincerely

On June 27th, 2010, victorialyn added the following:

as expected my new order of annuals were great! i cant wait till spring to order new plants again! thank you garden harvest
Positive suerichter
(1 review)
On Jun 25, 2010, suerichter Florissant, MO wrote:

I ordered orange cone flowers. I received them in a very short period of time and they were very healthy and ready to be planted. I was very pleased with every aspect of my purchase and will use this website again to order plants.

Neutral Dianepres
(1 review)
On Jun 24, 2010, Dianepres Appleton, WI wrote:

Posted on May 4, 2010, updated June 24, 2010
Posted on May 30, 2009, updated May 4, 2010
I have ordered from many nurseries online. I have never received any plants in better condition than from here! Very pleased....excellent packaging.

On May 4th, 2010, Dianepres changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

I ordered some Belgian mums last year, looked healthy, planted them in May, they didn't die, they just refused to grow. Emailed them 7/16, they answered with questions 7/22 and I replied with answers and pics on 8/3. Never heard another word.(The plants never grew or bloomed)
On June 24th, 2010, Dianepres changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

After my negative posting here the owner sent me 3 replacement plants for last year and 3 additional plants. It shouldn't have taken a year but I am satisfied with the apology.
On Jun 24, 2010, Growjoy (formerly Garden Harvest Supply) responded with:

"On May 5, 2010 11:15 AM, Garden Harvest Supply responded with:

Please accept our apology for apparenly dropping the ball on this problem. Kindly email us again with the subject line of: ATT JOE and we will revisit this issue and get back with you. Please be aware it may take a few days to get this sorted out. Sincerely, Joe"

Positive joweber
(2 reviews)
On Jun 22, 2010, joweber Reading, PA wrote:

Ordered 9 ecchinacea , 6 mums and a bunch of seeds. I was very pleased with everything I received. The shipment was speedy. The plants had blooms on them (ecchinacea ). I was happy to get the quill large football mums in pretty colors. Around home in our nurseries we don't see a chrysanthemum till end of Aug or Sept. If planted at that time they usually do not make it through the winter. I'm glad I found these on this site so I can plant early and the roots have a chance to develop before it gets cold. I'm thrilled with the price and size of the plants. I will order fromGarden Harvest Supply often.

Positive cgoodloe
(1 review)
On Jun 18, 2010, cgoodloe Clovis, CA (Zone 9a) wrote:

Excellent service. Fast shipment. Plants are alive and well upon arrival. They already are blooming after being here a week.

Positive gyrene1
(1 review)
On Jun 16, 2010, gyrene1 Jenkintown, PA wrote:

Pleasantly surprised by prompt receipt--ordered on Sunday, received on Wednesday.Ordered Mums in 3" pots. They were shipped in a plastic container, 3 to a container. Pots were held securely with no loss of soil. Container( a one piece plastic fold item) protected flower growth from possible damage also. Loved it. Mums fresh and ready for planting. Will do business with them again.

A. Dunleavy

Positive BobbyJ
(1 review)
On Jun 11, 2010, BobbyJ Somers Point, NJ (Zone 7a) wrote:

I'm kind of new to veggie gardening. I've grown some in the past (there are NO better tomatoes than the ones grown in south jersey soil!) but this year I'm branching out a bit more. I want to be able to give stuff to friends but from a square foot garden.

I got a late start so I wanted to order as many live plants as I could to catch back up a bit and came across //

I had already been to a couple of other sites including burpees site and not only do the plants look healthy and well cared for in the photos but the pics look original and honest. I know what you're thinking, but you probably know what I mean when I say some plant catalog pics look 'too good' and yet others look like a clump of plants that sprouted in the corner over there from some errant wind blown seed...

Anyway, the other things I liked about the site was for one thing it has an 'in-stock' search feature that many others lack and it seemed very accurate. I did come across a couple of plants that were showing up in-stock on the search but were clearly marked OUT OF STOCK on the plant order page but it was only a few. One of the major catalog sites also has this feature but it might as well not be there. I had to open each plant page to check and after checking about half of what I was interested in ordering they had no selection at all. Garden Harvest Supply still had 15 of the 16 varieties I ordered in-stock and there was plenty more in-stock that I didn't order!

Another thing I liked was the product offering. Great selection of not only plants and seeds but tools, books, organic products, unique garden items and gift ideas too.

My order was broken into live plants and seeds for shipping. I got the plants first and I have to say I'm very happy with what I've received. Half of the plants are 12 inches tall counting the root ball right out of the box, Many with blooms already opening. The smaller leafy plants are almost all nice and bushy. Only two plants showed any signs of being wilted at all and one of those was a water loving celery that didn't look bad at all.

The plants were all packaged very well although the 'packs of 3-4 plants' that were in the larger shipping box did seem a bit haphazard. Not that I really think it would matter much, one of mine was upside down and the plants were still safe and secure in the pack itself.

As I mentioned one of the 16 live plants I ordered was on back order which was no problem. It was a carrot and being it's so late to order I didn't expect any to be available anyway, I imagine this one just slipped through the out of stock notice.

My only complaint about my transaction with GHS is the way I found out the carrots were out of stock. It was notated on the packing invoice that was in the box with my order. I can understand realizing at the last minute when you're ready to ship and it's no big deal really it just would have been nice to have had a chance to possible pick something to replace it or be given the option to either cancel that one plant and take a credit or leave the order open with an expected ship date.

When I realized one plant was out of stock I emailed GHS and Stefni was happy to cancel the order and credit my account so that was never an issue it just would have been nice to have had customer service contact me about it. With the great plants at reasonable prices and the friendly service I've received since I got in touch with support I can easily forget about a minor issue like this!

Not only will I be ordering again from Garden Harvest Supply but I'll be doing so in the next few days!

Positive pcooksey
(1 review)
On Jun 11, 2010, pcooksey Young Harris, GA wrote:

I had a lovely experience with Tina was most helpful and I received my Dustin-Mizer duster just in the nick of time. Watch out worms!

On Jun 11, 2010, Growjoy (formerly Garden Harvest Supply) responded with:

"On Jun 11, 2010 8:58 AM, Garden Harvest Supply responded with:

pcooksey we appreciate your kind comments about Garden Harvest Supply. Thanks for being a customer!

Positive SarainTn
(1 review)
On Jun 9, 2010, SarainTn Knoxville, TN (Zone 6b) wrote:

I had good communication with them, price was good, shipping was efficient, and I would be happy do business with them again.

Positive jimmyhaws
(1 review)
On Jun 9, 2010, jimmyhaws Sauk Rapids, MN wrote:

I ordered a couple watering cans from Garden Harvest Supply (GHS) and upon arrival one of the cans was leaky. I emailed GHS about the leaky can and they immediately had a replacement sent to me, no questions asked. It is clear to me that they stand behind their products and they take pride in their customer satisfaction.

Positive Rupeee
(1 review)
On Jun 5, 2010, Rupeee Riverside, CA (Zone 9b) wrote:

Received my order today and I am IMPRESSED. Plants are BIG & heathy - even blooming, and their prices are good. Shipping was timely. I will be using them as my main source as much as possible.

Positive montysmum
(1 review)
On Jun 5, 2010, montysmum Oneida, WI wrote:

positive so far. shipping was on time of my mums, now
i'll see if they grow as advertised

Positive MollyMcR
(2 reviews)
On Jun 4, 2010, MollyMcR Gettysburg, SD wrote:

I foolishly ordered from another mail order company and was coming down from a terrible experience, especially for the start of the summer. I worked up the nerve to try another web search and found Garden Harvest Supply. I decided to take the risk and I am delighted that I did! My ordered arrived quickly, the plants are beautiful, healthy, and strong, and my garden -- and spirits -- realized a happy and uplifting transition! Thank you, thank you!

Positive suziegrows
(1 review)
On Jun 4, 2010, suziegrows Deepwater, MO wrote:

Posted on June 3, 2010, updated June 4, 2010
I have been growing Salmon double impatiens for some years now. I normally purchase them from a local supplier, but usually I can only find a few of the Salmon color.

This year during the first part of April, I found the website for Garden Harvest Supply and saw that it had a beautiful Salmon Double Impatien called Musica Pastel Salmon. I ordered 10 and the order was shipped by UPS Priority mail on April 13 and arrived days later. The plants appeared healthy and were well packed. I could not tell the color of the buds as they were yet quite well closed. I gave my neighbor a couple as we both like the Salmon color. I also planned to raise the balance and as they grew and spread, I planned to re-pot some, let them grow larger and take some to our local farmer's market. I would keep enough for myself to enjoy.

I planted the balance of my impatiens in a huge pot and after the weather showed signs of being suitable to hardy these plants up, I put them on my deck. My neighbor kept hers inside on a window sill. She called one day and said that the impatiens I gave her were starting to blossom and that they were pink, not salmon. She asked if mine were as well. I could not say at the time as mine were still not opened. A week or so later, mine started opening and indeed, were pink.

I emailed on Thursday, May 27th, at 11:43 a.m. and explained that what I received was not what I ordered. I enclosed a picture of the ones I now had planted, showing that these were not Salmon, but Pink. Hearing nothing by noon the next day, May 28th, I sent a second inquiry at 2:43 in the afternoon. At 5:30 p.m. the same day, I received an email from a GHS employee, telling me that "she would show the picture to the Greenhouse and get this fixed." Also she said "she would not know until Tuesday, June 1st, when they would be shipping the correct variety....but would let me know."

Today, June 3rd, 2010, I received an email from the employee telling me the following: "The greenhouse said that those look like the right variety. The color should fill out nicely as they continue to get bigger. If they do not look right when they get bigger please let us know.

What kind of fertilizer are you using?"

I emailed her back, sent another picture, along with a picture of what they advertised on their website as a double Musica Pastel Salmon Impatien (what I bought and paid for) and among other things, asked "if HARVEST GARDEN SUPPLY did not stand behind its products....that the only way the flowers I received could be considered to be of a Salmon color is if I spray painted them." I advised them that I would post this comment to let others know of my experience. I do not expect that this company will honor my original order. Pink is pretty, but I did not have to order online to get it. There are plenty of Pink Impatiens available right in my own area. I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone.

On June 4th, 2010, suziegrows changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

Today, June 4, 2010, I received an email from the GHS employee advising me "We do stand behind our plants however there would be no point in sending you more because they will look exactly like what you have now. Since we cannot get you the plants that you wanted we have refunded you for the entire order, below is the receipt of that refund." I am impressed and I thank them for advising me of this resolution. As she said, "your problem is with our company and not me personally" when she requested that I remove her name from the prior posting. I realized when I came back to do so, that I could only "add" to the posting, so, as I stated above, I would personally like to thank her for doing whatever she had to do to resolve the problem.
She was the only person, associated with the company, with whom I had communication, therefore her name was the only one mentioned. Due to her actions, I am now satisfied with changing my rating to a positive. She has been extremely nice and professional in my communications with her. A nice ending to what at first appeared to be "never ending."
On Jun 4, 2010, Growjoy (formerly Garden Harvest Supply) responded with:

"On Jun 4, 2010 12:10 PM, Garden Harvest Supply responded with:

We are happy to see you were satisfied with the action taken. Sorry you were not happy with the bloom color, we have not had any other issue like this on this plant so we are a bit of a loss as to waht happened. Thanks for the positive feedback, it is appreciated."

Positive elaine5
(1 review)
On May 28, 2010, elaine5 Concord, NH wrote:

I ordered three angel wing begonias way back in March, and I was nervous when they still had not arrived by mid-May. Finally, I contacted the company, and they told me they had just shipped them out and I should receive them on May 27th. Well, I was watering my plants on my sun porch on May 27th, and the UPS truck pulled up in front and handed me my box. The plants look great, are a good size, and I recommend this company.

Negative tmaciol
(1 review)
On May 26, 2010, tmaciol Sterling, VA wrote:

Order of pepper-plants arived today. Box was ok on the outside, but inside it was a mess . Pottingsoil everywhere. Several plants were uprooted. Only 2 out of nine plants had their label in the pot. with the rest its happy guessing. 8 plants where bent. Im not sure if any will survive. Filed a complaint with photos.
Will see how they will react.

Positive asl5
(5 reviews)
On May 25, 2010, asl5 Ardmore, PA (Zone 6b) wrote:

After reading the positive reviews here, I decided to place an order in early 2010. I've been trying to find a good source for annuals and herbs, as I've been really disappointed with the condition of the annuals I've ordered from other companies in the past. I didn't know what to expect from Garden Harvest Supply, but I was so pleasantly pleased by the condition of the plants when they arrived that I promptly placed another order. After the second shippment arrived, I contacted the customer service dept. about a question I had regarding a substitution that was made and have been so impressed with their service that really exceeded my expectations. Not only did they applogize for not contacting me about the need for a substitution, they are sending me another plant of my choice for free. I've ordered from many nurseries and know that not contacting a customer about a substitution is often standard procedure and I also know that when placing an order in late spring, supplies are limited and substitutions are expected. So I am really pleased that they took my minor problem seriously when they could have easily been like some companies I've dealt with and ignore it. I highly recommend this company and will definitely order from them again.

Positive lizmc33
(1 review)
On May 24, 2010, lizmc33 Madison, WI wrote:

Ordered plantskydd rabbit repellent last great! Fast delivery & fair price. I'm ordering again today from Garden Harvest Supply!

Negative EGGPLANT66
(1 review)
On May 23, 2010, EGGPLANT66 wrote:

Posted on May 18, 2010, updated May 23, 2010
Billed 4/6 for mums....have yet to receive them and the most frustrating part is that I have e-mailed them and called them and have yet to hear a word from them as to what the status of my order is. Mid day phone resulted in "unable to come to phone.....etc" .I will dispute my credit card charges today and never order again from them. They are unprofessional. I order lots on line and receive prompt replies via e-mail if I have any small problem. Not from this company.

On May 23rd, 2010, EGGPLANT66 added the following: is where the action is, truly. After waiting to hear from GardenSupplyHarvest for over a week, I reported my problem on Daves Garden and within minutes had a reply from the company. Good for GARDEN WATCHDOG!
I am still unhappy with the company and will not deal with them again. But at least I heard from them. I did not receive my order however and have filed a dispute with my credit card company.
On May 23, 2010, Growjoy (formerly Garden Harvest Supply) responded with:

"On May 18, 2010 8:08 AM, Garden Harvest Supply responded with:

Dear Eggplant 66: Please accept my apology for our tardiness in replying to your email, we are running a bit behind these last two weeks. However just as our mum pages state "Chrysanthemum Plants do not begin shipping until May 17, 2010.". So this week is the earliest that they would ship regardless. We do collect funds when the order is placed, otherwise we cannot guarantee delivery and we would have to call you back and get your credit card number again because of the time delay between processing and shipping. I totally understand if you cancel your order, however we would be happy to keep them in line for shipping if this is an acceptable reply.

Sincerely, Joe Stutzman
Garden Harvest Supply

On May 24, 2010 8:46 AM, Garden Harvest Supply added:

It looks like you have ordered mum plants from us since 2006. Our policy about shipping mums in late May has not changed, so why the confusion this year?"

Positive albertas45
(1 review)
On May 22, 2010, albertas45 wrote:

I just received my plants and I am very pleased. They are healthy and beautiful. They look real good, they were packed so well, that they are all together and in the pots.
I am very satisfied and will definitely order from you again.

Positive bustopherjones
(1 review)
On May 21, 2010, bustopherjones Coopersburg, PA wrote:

Prices were great, shipping cost low, speedy delivery! I was especially amazed at how well packed my plants were. I've never seen anything like your packing system. The lantana were beautiful, bigger than I expected & blooming! I couldn't be happier. I will definitely buy from you again!!!!

Positive ewb0712
(1 review)
On May 20, 2010, ewb0712 Philadelphia, PA wrote:

Posted on May 14, 2010, updated May 20, 2010
I just received my order(Phila.,Pa.) and am very excited. Plants are healthy and alive. Price was cheaper than Homedepot and bigger. I getting ready to order more..... My brown thumb is turning "GREEN".

On May 20th, 2010, ewb0712 added the following:

Just received my second order and I am so satisfied... Quick service and very healthy plants!!
Positive l_m_stephenson
(9 reviews)
On May 20, 2010, l_m_stephenson Saint Louis, MO wrote:

I found this company on the watchdog list and I put in a good sized order for annuals and perennials. The prices were the big draw (2.50 for fuchsia!) and they had Rex Begonias which I really really wanted to try this year. I got the plants and the all looked good except for the begonias which looked pretty rough. The rest of the plants were small (which I expected for the price) but healthy looking. Everyone got a nice week to harden off on my porch (which is the perfect spot for hardening). While the other plants continued to look great the Begonias kept heading downhill :( I emailed the company and asked for a replacement of the Begonias. The response was very prompt (within hours) and they sent out two beautiful replacement plants the next week.
I am very pleased with the excellent customer service, the good prices, and I would definitely recommend this company.

Positive valb
(1 review)
On May 20, 2010, valb Dallas, TX wrote:

1st time mail order plant purchase - was skeptical how the plants would survive shipping from Indiana to Texas. Ordered 8 Gaillardia Goblin perennials. UPS shipment was made within a few days & they arrived 3 days after shipment, as promised. Plants were very well established & in good condition. Only suggestion to Garden Harvest: it appears the plastic containers were NOT recycleable. I like to recycle everything possible. :)

On May 20, 2010, Growjoy (formerly Garden Harvest Supply) responded with:

"On May 20, 2010 2:47 PM, Garden Harvest Supply responded with:

Thanks for your order and kind words! We also like to recycle; however certain size items are only available in regular plastic. We continue to look for alternative methods and appreciate your suggestion. Happy gardening, Joe"

Positive 100strawberries
(1 review)
On May 19, 2010, 100strawberries Battle Mountain, NV wrote:

Recently I ordered 100 Jewel strawberry plants from The shipment arrived at just the right planting time for my late-spring climate. All of the plants were vigorous and just beginning to show new growth--not even one was scrawny or moldy. GHS plants are far superior to those I've ordered from other sources. I highly recommend GHS. Thanks! NV gardener

On May 19, 2010, Growjoy (formerly Garden Harvest Supply) responded with:

"On May 19, 2010 12:42 PM, Garden Harvest Supply responded with:

Glad you liked your strawberry plants! Thanks for being our customer."

Positive jashtonk
(1 review)
On May 17, 2010, jashtonk Indianapolis, IN wrote:

Ordered some trellis netting. The price was good & I received it within the week. I'm very happy with my order. From reading the posts, it looks like Garden Harvest has customer satisfaction in mind. Glad to find a company who has it right. Thank you!

Positive bapederson
(1 review)
On May 16, 2010, bapederson New Castle, IN wrote:

First time using the company. I bought trellis netting...price was the best I found, shipping was very fast.

Positive helenabirdie
(1 review)
On May 11, 2010, helenabirdie Mundelein, IL wrote:

I received my order in just a few days and the plants were healthy and beautiful. I order lots of plants online but this is the BEST condition and size of any nursery!

Price is terrific for most selections, and the new plants look great in my garden. I can't wait for the coneflower to bloom so I can send a photo. Thanks for such great quality. I will definitely order more during the season.

Positive AZJim
(1 review)
On May 9, 2010, AZJim Prescott, AZ wrote:

This was my first time ordering online for vegetable plants. I was very pleased. The plants were packaged very well for the USPS delivery. All plants were healthy looking plants. They have been planted for about a week and all are doing well. Will definitely order again.

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | ... 10 Next »

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America