Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Gilbert H. Wild and Son

Click here to return to Gilbert H. Wild and Son's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
238 positives
26 neutrals
64 negatives


« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | ... 9 Next »

Positive Sharon_C
(2 reviews)
On Mar 18, 2011, Sharon_C Norman, OK wrote:

I love Gilbert H. Wild and Son! I've ordered many daylilies, as well as a few hostas, from them over the past 3 years. The prices are fantastic, they always send me something free, and the plants are always healthy. I've never lost a single one. I've only contacted customer service once, but they were polite when I did. I will continue to buy from this company. I have always been very happy with them.

Positive plantlady_98
(1 review)
On Mar 17, 2011, plantlady_98 Pittsburg, KS wrote:

I have ordered from Gilbert H. Wilde Nursery many times over several years and have always been more than satisfied with the plants I receive. I did find that one of the hostas that I ordered was not the correct one, and one of the limited supply daylilies was pretty small. I contacted customer and they sent out the correct hosta to me right away. The daylily (the only one that was ever too small) was sold out and couldn't be replaced, so they gave me a credit for my next order. Customer service has always been top notch in my opinion. This is the only company that I buy daylilies and hostas from because they have such a great product and service.
I have my own nursery and can appreciate great quality...GHW has it!

Negative housecalls
(2 reviews)
On Mar 17, 2011, housecalls Newark, DE wrote:

Posted on March 16, 2011, updated March 17, 2011
Although I have previously been pleased with the quality of plants ordered from this company, I just found out the hard way that their customer service people are argumentative and rude. I found out after getting a $10 off coupon in my e-mail with no starting or ending dates. I e-mailed the president:
I tried placing an online order today, using your $FREE$ coupon for $10 off which arrived in my e-mail. There was no place to enter that code, AND the order went through at the full amount without any place to enter that code. The order even went through without my pressing the confirmation button.
I called and spoke to a "Debbie" who said she would cancel the order, when it "appeared". She said that the coupon was only good for the three day weekend just past, but implying like it was my stupidity and fault for not knowing that. I called later to confirm her cancellation and after telling her about the 45 or so negative complaints on Dave's Garden's website, she said all those complaints were years ago, that I should have known that the sale coupon was only for three days, and constantly interrupted and spoke over me. I advised her that it was deceptive advertising not to have a beginning and ending date for such a sale coupon. I asked her to confirm by e-mail that my order was cancelled and to have Mr. Jones the president call me back as well. She also said that they are a small company and can't do anything about complaints; they "happen all the time". I reminded her that I have been a customer for a
long time and don't appreciate the rudeness. I got a cancellation confirmation by e-mail, but for the wrong order #.

On March 17th, 2011, housecalls added the following:

March 17, 2011: Mr Greg Jones, owner/president called me twice while I was out for a doctor's appointment and left two irritated messages stating he wanted to work things out, and that if I didn't call him back soon he wouldn't be able to work things out. I called him back around 1P.M. EDT. He agreed to take $10 off my order if I re-submitted it. He characterized my previous remarks as unpleasant. Nothing was offered in the way of a promise that customer service would improve. Hope the plants arrive in satisfactory condition; otherwise he will hear from me again. I will not tolerate this kind of treatment when it's MY MONEY! He and his company get the benefit of the doubt this time, but we shall see!
On Mar 17, 2011, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Mar 17, 2011 7:21 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

Complaints don't "happen all the time" as Mr Lorenz has suggested. I have called him and he has not returned my calls. I would like to work out this issue with him as we will do with any of our customers. We did mess up in not putting an expiration date on a promotion. We did mess up and have corrected that. We work hard to please all of our customer and prefer to work with each one. I am normally available 5 AM to 4 PM daily at 417.548.3517 which is my direct number, but I was in St Louis this weekend as my first grandson was born and I thought that was a priority. Please notice that we shipped 26,000 order last year and had 6 customer complain..which I called and tried to work out with each customer. Greg Jones Owner of GH Wilds since 1991. "

Positive dbpbkc
(3 reviews)
On Mar 9, 2011, dbpbkc pleasant Hill, MO wrote:

Posted on January 10, 2010, updated March 9, 2011
I am planning on ordering from Gilbert H. Wild again this spring.
Last year was the first time I had ordered from them . Being cautious, I ordered some daylilies from their sale list. I figured a good sampling of their plants without a large investment was a good way to start. I was very pleased when my order arrived. They shipped my order quickly and the plants were carefully and well packed. I opened my package immediately after receiving it and followed the instructions for unpacking and planting my order. (This is an important step if you are purchasing plants through the mail.)
My plants were all doing very well as of the end of this growing season. They were nice and healthy and growing well. I have since talked to several other people that told me they have ordered from this company and they have had nothing but positive comments about Gilbert H. Wild. I must say that from my experience as well as the other people I have talked to, the nasty feedback left by a few people is quite puzzling to me. I have since recommended to others that they give this company a try.

On March 9th, 2011, dbpbkc added the following:

After receiving my new spring catalog in the mail last month, I have already placed an order and look forward to receiving my new daylilies when the weather warms up . Gilbert H Wild has many beautiful daylilies to choose from and their prices are very reasonable (which is important to those of us on tight budgets). While the prices are low, the quality of the plants is high. I have always received healthy stock which was shipped in a sturdy box so they arrived in good condition as well. Unlike some other companies, Gilbert H Wild does not try to gouge you on shipping charges but still packs and ships your order with care.
Because of the lousy weather we had in our area last year I resorted to planting my new daylilies in large pots instead of trying to plant them in the ground. They started to bloom by mid to late summer and all were exactly what I had ordered. By the time fall arrived I planted them in the garden and all had grown very strong healthy root systems while they were in their pots.
I recommend giving Gilbert H Wild a try!
Positive bungalow1056
(7 reviews)
On Oct 26, 2010, bungalow1056 Winston-Salem, NC (Zone 7b) wrote:

I ordered two peony roots for fall planting (2010). They were deeply discounted. The roots arrived quickly and well-packaged. They were of very good size, each with several eyes. In addition, the nursery shipped a free bonus day lily root bunch which was the size of a softball, plump and healthy. I will definitely order for this company again.

Positive JanaJP
(8 reviews)
On Sep 4, 2010, JanaJP Rome, GA wrote:

I placed four different daylily orders with this company since mid June. Of course nothing has bloomed because of the time in the season when I began ordering, but all the plants are healthy and doing well. Yes, some of the plants were a little yellow upon arrival, but considering they came through 100 plus degree temperatures they recovered nicely after being planted. The prices are very good and there are many
varieties to choose from. Next season I will jump in early and hopefully order some of those I missed out on. I'm pleased with the plants and hope my patience holds out to see some blooms in the spring. Glad to see the owner has a sense of humor with "tactless" customers.

Positive LostMeadow
(12 reviews)
On Aug 20, 2010, LostMeadow (Zone 4b) wrote:

A couple weeks ago I received a large order of sale daylilies. They looked a little rough from the trip to NH in summer heat- yellowy and dry. After soaking them for a few hours, they were planted. Now they all are beautifully green and showing a lot of new growth. I have been ordering from this company for many years (at least 25) and have never had a problem with their daylilies. Never!!

Negative tink3472
(2 reviews)
On Aug 16, 2010, tink3472 (Michele) Cantonment, FL (Zone 8b) wrote:

When I ordered from this company I expected "#1 Grade, Blooming Size Plants" as stated in their catalog. I know I ordered the season ending clearance daylilies, but would expect that they would be as stated. Out of the 10 I ordered only 1 was a descent size plant. The rest were very small. One had two fans that when put together they didn't even make one good sized fan. I seriously doubt any will bloom next year. I am extremely disappointed in this company. I did not call to complain as I have read the negative complaints on here and see that the customer service is terrible and it's hard to get anywhere with them. I WILL NOT order from them again.

Negative nanajane007
(3 reviews)
On Aug 14, 2010, nanajane007 Conesville, OH wrote:

I have ordered from GW&son several times. The daylilies have been on the small side, but healthy enough.
This year I ordered iris. What I got was pieces of iris with mold on them. Some were actually mushy with rot and stinking to high heaven. Bad sign. Included with the iris was a note that said " no complaints after 30 days." Very bad sign!
After a major clean up and culling job, I found that less than half the order was salvagable. I called the Company and was told the iris were sold out for the year, sorry.
I have since lost most of the iris from that order. NO MORE GW& sons for me!!


Negative missaniss
(6 reviews)
On Jul 12, 2010, missaniss Candler, NC wrote:

Posted on April 29, 2010, updated July 12, 2010
I ordered the Handful of Hosta's 25 plants for $35 in Fall of '09. To my suprise I counted 39 Hosta plants instead of 25 so I counted again and still came up with 39 plants. I planted all of them immediately and so far all have come up this spring and are doing well. I am very very happy with my purchase and will definately buy from them again. The hosta's are on the small side but definately worth the purchase considering they cost me less than a dollar for each one. Retail home improvement stores right now are selling the same size hosta's for $4 each so I feel like I've gotten an incredible value. Thank you Gilbert H. Wild!!

On July 12th, 2010, missaniss changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

Along with the hosta's I ordered I also ordered several oriental lilies(Fall of '09). In total 29 lilies only 5 sprouted puny stems this summer. Emailed the company about the problems I was having and got a reply asking me to dig them up and to tell them what they looked like. I've never been told to dig up plants before to get a replacement from any other company I've bought from in the past and I've been gardening and ordering online for several years now. So I already knew they were going to be difficult to deal with.

I dug the bulbs up and found the basal plate rotting and scales falling off in my hands. I emailed them what I had found and they automatically assumed I overwatered them and that the area was too moist. They were planted in a raised bed therefore drainage is not a problem. I would also like to add that other bulbs I purchased online and planted 2 feet away in the same bed grew just fine.

Several problems can cause lilies to rot and not grow. Some are the gardener's fault and sometimes they aren't. They decided to issue me a $10 credit on an additional order for my $35 in lilies. I won't use the credit cause I feel that in some way the bulbs I recieved were diseased since others I planted thrived.

Despite my success with the Handful of Hosta's I ordered from them I will NEVER order from them again. I was also reminded of their guarantee in the reply email says that they only have a 30 day guarantee. My fault for not noticing that before I ordered. These lilies were planted in the fall for a following summer bloom. The guarantee is completely expired before you can even tell how they will grow the following year. 30 day guarantee???? How stupid!! Buyer Beware when ordering fall plantings!!

So I changed my rating from Positive to Negative because of them automatically assuming the problem was my fault and for their 30 day guarantee policy. Most other companies offer a year warranty or lifetime warranty. I mean come on even Lowe's has a 1 year guarantee. So my bad for not seeing that before I ordered cause I wouldn't have ordered.
Negative curlyjoe1967
(8 reviews)
On Jun 19, 2010, curlyjoe1967 Marshfield, WI wrote:

I placed a large order (myself and two of my coworkers) around the second week of May. I was told that the order would ship out the next week. I waited two weeks and nothing came, so I called the company and they said that the order was sent to Ohio. I live in Wisconsin. My address is Cty. Tr. ***. They said when they use that address, the computer shows Ohio. So, we tried Cty Hwy. ***. That one was OK. I don't know what difference it made anyways. I repeated to them several times that I live in Wisconsin. It can't be that hard to type WISCONSIN into their computer. Anyways, they said that the order was being sent back to them and that I would get another shipment. So, I waited another two weeks and nothing. So I called again. I was told that they got us a whole new order and that everthing was still in stock and it was scheduled to be delivered on Friday. Nothing came. So, I called them on Monday and was told that the shipment was sent to Ohio again. The girl said it was my fault. I gave them the wrong address. How could I give them the wrong address? I've lived in Wisconsin my whole life. Then it was Fed Ex fault. They had the wrong zip code. BLAH BLAH BLAH. So finally she said that she would send out a third order and this would be the last one because, Did I have any idea how much money this was costing them. I was really mad by this time. That woman was the rudest B*@##@ that I have ever spoken to on the phone. The next day I called Fed Ex to see what they had to say. They were given the wrong zip code from GHW. I asked if I could straighten this out with them. They said no, that I had to go through GHW. So, I called GHW back and asked them to repeat my zip code back to me and they had the wrong one. By this time I was BEYOND MAD, so I cancelled. Not that I would have gotten the third order any ways. God only knows where that one would have ended up. Screwing up once is acceptable. But, twice! And to be so rude about it, to blame it on everyone else but themselves. They have lost a lot of customers with this incident.

Positive redviolet_0
(4 reviews)
On Jun 11, 2010, redviolet_0 Texarkana, TX wrote:

Posted on June 10, 2008, updated June 11, 2010
I just rec'd my first of 2 orders I placed with Gilbert H Wild. I ordered 9 daylily plants and they threw in one bonus daylily plant. I couldn't be more pleased! They appear to be freshly dug and the stems are nice and green, as if I just purchased them right at the nursery. The root systems are beefy and very healty. They sent 2 fans for each & some are so large I am going to plant them separately. They were clearly labeled with the name of each & the label even included what color they are. They were shipped UPS, so I knew exactly when they would be here & I my flower bed was prepared for the shipment. They are having a huge clearance sale and some of these beefy plants were as little as $1.20 for 2 fans. Their customer service was very friendly. As I said, I have 2 orders. I tried to combine the 2. Only 2 days after placing my first order, I decided to order more. When I called customer service to see if I could add more to the first order, they said they would be more than happy to, but my first order was already dug & ready to be shipped. I was so impressed on the quick turn around of my 1st order, I wasn't even disappointed! I would highly recommend this mail order company and I am getting together a 3rd order tonight!!! I highly recommend this grower!!!

On June 11th, 2010, redviolet_0 added the following:

I have placed 3 orders with Gilbert H Wild this year..2 for myself and 1 for my mom on Mother's Day. Once again, I am very pleased with my daylilies and they are all thriving except for a few my dog dug up and mangled beyond repair! I have about 75 daylilies from them growing in my yard at this time. I have also purchased 2 hosta grab bags and the plants are large and doing great as well. I am greatful for their VERY affordable pricing and shipping costs. I will no doubt place additional orders with them. I am sorry to see the negative comments. In my experience they are unfounded. God bless the owners and staff at Gilbert H Wild, keep up the great work and don't lose your sense of humor (you need it when you deal with the public!!)!
Positive madyoko
(1 review)
On Jun 11, 2010, madyoko Lake Forest, IL wrote:

I ordered a couple of peony grab bags last year ($12 for three roots). The roots they sent me were huge. Three to four times bigger than ones that I bought from home centers, and the price is so much less. The glab bag even included krinckle white and Leto which bear Japanese peony like single white flowers that I like. They thrive in the garden (all of them I planted in full-sun had flowers this year). I will buy from the company again.

Positive birgitj
(1 review)
On Jun 10, 2010, birgitj Owensboro, KY (Zone 6a) wrote:

WONDERFUL! Is how I would rate my experience with this company. I really feel that I must come to the defense of Mr. Jones. My mother and I started our daylily collection some 20 years ago after I got my first starts from an aunt. When she gave me the address of her supplier I sent for and received a Gilbert Wild catalog...and the rest, as they say, is history. In the past 20 years I have purchased close to 300 varieties of Daylilies from this company and I have been consistently amazed! Wonderful, sturdy rootstock, generous numbers, and amazing beauty. I was so pleased that one year my husband and kids took me to their farm for my birthday (we live in Kentucky). I've also built a website in honor of my Daylily gardens! Go here to see how we display the pride of our gardens. //

A couple of years ago we ordered all of their Lillium collections as well as a Mouse Ear hosta. They are blooming now and my garden is the envy of everyone who sees it. Be kind, people! Everyone makes mistakes but these folks really know what they are doing, are generous to a fault, and more than make up for any very rare error they might make. Family owned businesses are close to extinction these days. God bless this family for having the work ethic to survive!

Negative pgrh2010
(2 reviews)
On Jun 9, 2010, pgrh2010 Souris,
Canada wrote:

Posted on May 27, 2010, updated June 9, 2010
I ordered a "lily special," and received undersized, sprouted bulbs. When I contacted customer service to complain, I was told I'd have to return them at my own expense for credit.
It cost $10, 33% of the original order value, and valuable time to return the bulbs. I did get credit promptly, but my request for reimbursement of postage was refused.
I wrote directly to the owner, who has replied to other complaints in this forum, but have received no reply. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, and the company has not responded to date. Go to // if you want to check this.
I used to order regularly from Wild but I will not deal with them again.

On June 9th, 2010, pgrh2010 added the following:

Follow up.

The company response to the Better Business Bureau complaint was from a Debby Chandler, who said:

"The customer asked to return bulbs that they had received from us. They did not like the size or condition of them. They were told to return them for a refund. We told them up front that we do not reimburse for the cost to ship them back to us. That is their expense. The bulbs were returned and the credit was applied to their credit card for the returned bulbs. We did not credit them for the $10.05, as that is not our policy and they were not told that we would do that. I am sorry that they are unhappy with this decision, but we have to be fair to all of our customers."

I rejected this response, and emailed the managing partner for the 2nd time. I received in return a blast identifying me as a blackmailer and top of the list of unreasonable customers, as well as a promise of reimbursement of shipping costs. He has asked me to post his email reply in its entirety, and here it is. Please note that on Dave's Garden, the negatives for G. H. Wilde number over 40, and the neutrals almost 20, out of a total of about 200, and compare it with the record claimed in the email.

"Dear Patricia….

I am really confused how to run my business today! I work 60-70 hours a week, and get nailed because I referred your letter to a manager who has been here 35 years….and you didn’t like her answer so you had to write the Company Owner and go on and bad mouth us to everyone. You see we work very hard trying to stay open. Customer remember the price and guarantee when ordering but seem to forget when complaining. Remember Wayside, J&P, Park Seed, Gurney Seed, Henry Fields, Michigan Bulb, Springhill, Brecks…all have gone through bankruptcy…all on the verge of closing or have closed….all over $10 customer. We have less than .0203% complaints. So for every 1000 order we ship we only receive 20 complaints, most of these fall into missing products or errors in picking orders, which are promptly shipped. Our product quality complaints are less that .0052%, 5 in 1000….this is only the second time in 20 years we have had a BBB complaint. Seems like we never see it posted what a great job a Company is doing…we just post or threaten about the Company when we don’t get what we want.

Your letter was rude and arrogant. This is only the 2nd time in 20 years of owing this Company I have had A BBB Complaint. Both by unreasonable customers. I am so tired of customers thinking that if they complain long enough…or bad mouth us enough that they will get what they want. I am tired of being blackmailed! Seems very interesting that you are willing to try to ruin 125 years of hard word because you didn’t read our guarantee. Our guarantee clearly states. …anyone not entirely satisfied should return stock immediately and proper adjustment will be made. That’s what we did! ….so you win! I refunded your $10.00 today. Please take the time to post the entire story on line and I will not accept anymore orders from you. Is this worth $10 to you? I hope that you sleep well at night, I couldn’t if I was you.

I truly believe that the industry should start a list of unreasonable customer who we should never serve, and we should get the opportunity to tell how bad of a customer these people are, and publish it on the internet….you name would be on the top of the list! Please be sure to publish this entire letter…not just the parts you want!

Good Gardening and God Bless!

Greg Jones

Managing Partner

Gilbert H Wild and Son, LLC
Positive bobbi_s
(21 reviews)
On May 29, 2010, bobbi_s Richland, WA (Zone 7a) wrote:

I ordered quite a few asiatic and oriental lily bulbs. They were very nice, with sprouts already to go into ground. They were packaged nicely, easy to open, and easy to plant. The selection was extremally nice. I also received a day lily for free, orange in color, was very large in size for being a bare root plant. I just now placed a new order for their sale. I was extremally pleased with my first order. I would highly recommend them to anyone. I will be ordering from them again in the future.

Positive acebrd
(3 reviews)
On May 24, 2010, acebrd Watchung, NJ wrote:

i ordered about 20 varieties of day lillies and one hosta (to see what the condition was before I ordered more from them).

The day lilly sizes were all very large - especially for the prices. They gave me 3 or 4 root divisions one some of the plants even though I only ordered 1 plant. The hosta was large too with 4 eyes (about what I get from my local garden center for $10 I got from them for $5).

I am very satisfied and will be ordering more hostas from them (i've already got too many day lillies but would definately order more from them)

Positive dansb
(5 reviews)
On May 15, 2010, dansb Mishawaka, IN wrote:

Posted on April 19, 2010, updated May 15, 2010
I recently received my first order and I was pleased to find the day lilies cleaned, banded and packaged appropriately. For the price I paid I am completely satisfied with the order. I have purchased from many online vendors through the years and frankly, I think they are one of the best so far. I will order again!

On May 15th, 2010, dansb added the following:

I just placed another order via the web. It was from their Early Summer Sale catalog. I have researched the web and the prices as far as I can tell, are the best around! Shop around and see for yourself. So far this place exceeds my expectations!
Positive JenniferRuth
(28 reviews)
On May 3, 2010, JenniferRuth San Diego, CA (Zone 10b) wrote:

I placed a large order with them this year, which included daylilies, irises, lily bulbs, dahlias, and perennials. All the daylilies were fine except one which was very small, but I think it's going to make it. The lily bulbs are small compared to some companies', but they were all healthy. Same for the dahlias. The perennials are all doing fine. I was worried about the irises, because they didn't send whole rhizomes; rather, they chopped a piece off each rhizome and some were very small. But each piece did have leaves coming up out of it, and to my surprise they are all growing well. They did omit one iris that was on the packing list, and when I called they promised to send it, and they did, along with another bonus daylily. One thing you should know is that it says on the packing list that if you are dissatisfied with any of your plants, you must return them to the company. This is a hassle, of course. But the way I look at it is this: their prices are low enough that even if a couple of things didn't make it, I still got good value for my money. I've ordered off and on over the years. The peonies on their sale flyers have been a good value in the past. They are certainly nowhere near the incredibly plump peonies you'd get from somewhere like Klehm's Song Sparrow Nursery, but they do grow and bloom, and if your money is limited, that's what you need to know.

Neutral MollyJane
(2 reviews)
On Apr 14, 2010, MollyJane Ravenna, OH wrote:

Over the past 10 years, I have ordered more than 50 daylilies from Wild. Most have arrived quickly, in good shape, and have flourished. In recent years, the size of the plants went down and the cost of shipping went up to the point where I stopped buying from Wild's.
My only real complaint is that I have bought 2 daylilies that did not look like the catalog picture or description. I did not ask for a replacement because it had been 4 years since I had bought them. Yes, they were so small that it took 4 years to reach blooming size. My fault for ordering from the year-end clearance sale.
I am now buying plants from a local source. I can see the daylilies in bloom before I purchase them, they are already big enough to divide in some cases, and the price is more reasonable.

Positive Silverdare
(3 reviews)
On Feb 26, 2010, Silverdare Cincinnati, OH wrote:

I ordered a group of bare-root hostas last summer. They arrived very promptly. I planted them and kept them well watered. They all produced leaves surprisingly quickly, and most bloomed. They were all correctly labeled.The plants were smallish, but that is to be expected with mail ordered plants. Thank you, Gilbert Wild for an excellent service and product.

Positive bobnet5
(1 review)
On Aug 5, 2009, bobnet5 Amityville, NY wrote:

I had made a purchase of a dozen iris and planted them in the fall and noticed that for whatever reason, nothing came up in the spring. I notified the management at GH Wild, and after a few phone calls and emails everything was resolved to my satisfaction. In this tough economic environment, the last thing you want is to pay for something and be disappointed. GH Wild did the right thing by me and I will continue to buy from them in the future.

Positive willowwind
(3 reviews)
On Aug 4, 2009, willowwind Moundridge, KS (Zone 6a) wrote:

My sister and I put in a joint order this spring for daylilies,hostas and iris.Our order came promtly and everything was in good shape and looking quite healthy. All plants have done exceptionally well. 7out of 8 daylilies bloomed nicely this summer and the 8th plant is quite healthy and should bloom next year. The hostas have all done very well and 2 of them have bloomed. I have just recently received the iris and they look very good. I have, in the past, had an occasional mix-up on variety, but the prices, service and nice plants will keep me coming back for sure.

Negative sillybug5
(33 reviews)
On Jul 28, 2009, sillybug5 Winston Salem, NC (Zone 7a) wrote:

BEWARE!!!!! The absolute worst experience. I placed a sizeable Daylily order with them. Now one is blooming an entirely different color than it should be. I called them and was told they would give me a credit of the value of the plant ONLY and THEY WOULD NOT SEND A REPLACEMENT!!!!! If I wanted to order another plant I would Have to pay ****$7.50***** for the SHIPPING!!! That is NOT an honorable policy and is not a company which stands behind its merchandise. NEVER AGAIN!!!! Dishonorable at best. There are plenty of GOOD companies out there to purchase from. I should have known better.

On July 28th, 2009, sandnsea2 added the following:

You know what, you at Gilbert Wild should know that there is nothing, NOTHING more important than your reputation. You can sell a plant to a person once, but what makes a successful business is selling AGAIN to that person and others. In this economy especially you should nurture your relationships with EVERY customer you are lucky enough to have. Otherwise, you are just plain dumb.
On July 31st, 2009, sandnsea2 added the following:

You did not send out a replacement order to me on July 2. I have never received or asked for one before this one time I have described here.That is simply not true. I do not know what he is referring to.
On July 31st, 2009, sandnsea2 added the following:

Please note that now the word CUSTOMER has quotes around it in the owners rebuttal and take good notice of the sarcasm with which he has replied to this problem. It is the same disdain with which the customer service rep answered my phone call.
On Jul 28, 2009, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Jul 31, 2009 10:35 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

Sorry - we do screw up from time to time....Call me directly with any problems - Greg Jones, Owner 1.417.548.3517...I am usually in from 5 AM to 4 PM. I am pretty dumb, so speak slowly and I'll try to help you out.

PS - We shipped 27,000 orders so far this spring, we had how many complaints? Funny that this "customer" didn't mention that we resolved the problem and sent out a replacement for 1 plant order on July 2 and was already blooming....we do respect our customer and ask they do the same....sorry I'm just not very bright!

On Aug 3, 2009 10:01 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son added:

The 1st order for was received on 6/23/09. Th plants were shipped UPS and received by the customer on 7/2/2009. A reship request of Angel Rogers Daylily was made on 7/28, it was fresh dug from the fields on 7/30 and was shipped by UPS on 8/3/2009. There is no disdain for our customers...only appreciation. call and we can talk anytime...I'm in the office from 5 am to 4 pm at 417.548.3517 and my home number is 417.548.6524. Thanks Greg Jones, Owner of GH WILDS since 1991, growers since 1973...."

Positive cicada
(23 reviews)
On Jul 22, 2009, cicada Brownsville, KY (Zone 6a) wrote:

I ordered a collection of daylilies. They arrived in good shape with several extra plants. Fans were good size and included many doubles. I am very pleased with the plants and will order again.

Positive ohyoukid
(1 review)
On Jul 15, 2009, ohyoukid Dahlgren, IL wrote:

I read the reviews on the company before ordering daylilies. I was concerned with the comments on this forum. I was very pleased that when I called to ask a question about ordering the owner of the company answered the call and fully answered my questions in a very business-like manner. I will be ordering daylilies with confidence from this company and plan to report on my order after it arrives.

Negative HeatherK62
(1 review)
On Jul 11, 2009, HeatherK62 Frankfort, KY wrote:

I had previously purchased from Gilbert Wild and received big, healthy fans. My last shipment were spindely, single fans or even just root clumps. I called to complain and was told just to plant them, they'd grow. The least of them are only now producing thin tips of green shoots above the ground. At least one had been something I didn't order, but tagged with what I did order. It was apparent as it flowered with under 3" blooms, which I didn't order. After seeing how Greg Gilbert seems to monitor this site, I've sent him an email and vm, and now waiting to see if I get resolution. If so, I'll buy again. Like I said, previous orders were exceptional. Last order makes me wonder if they're contracting convict labor to work the garden and the phones. No offense to convicts.

On Jul 11, 2009, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Jul 13, 2009 9:33 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

We have attempted to grow daylilies in greenhouse pots so that we could please our customers with quicker shipping, we planted the newer more expensive varieties in pots in January. The plants grew slower than expected and we ended up sending out smaller plants than we would like we have learned our lesson and are now potting for next year (6 months longer growing). If your not happy let us know and I'll send a replacement or give full credit. No we don't use convict labor...just good ol' Missouri hillbillies who take great pride in their work! Greg Jones - Owner"

Negative pittipat
(4 reviews)
On Jun 28, 2009, pittipat Atlanta, GA wrote:

I've traded with this company several times and have never been disappointed with their irises or peonies. Daylilies are another matter. The plants are all healthy, ship promptly, and the prices are quite good. However, it's a crap shoot whether you will get what you ordered. The plants are always labeled as ordered, but about 20% of daylilies turned out, when they bloomed, to be something completely different from what I ordered. Not a problem if you're just looking for generic plants at low price. A BIG problem if you are looking for specific varieties!!

On June 29th, 2009, pittipat added the following:

Well, good news and bad news. I wrote requesting replacements. What I got was an $8.50 credit (nothing for shipping charges) and the comment, " We have sold hundreds of those varieties and have had no one else report any problems. Hopefully the tags did not get messed up when planting. G H Wild."
What an unnecessary comment, clearly driven by a rotten attitude. My "maybe if they make it right" stance just became "never, ever again!"

On Jun 28, 2009, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Jun 30, 2009 2:13 PM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

We are so sorry that we messed up...please contact me Greg Jones the Owner and I will make it right. You may contact me at 1.888.449.4537 or [email protected] we do not want to do business this way. "

Positive janasgoad
(1 review)
On Jun 23, 2009, janasgoad Redmond, WA wrote:

I have ordered from many times now and I haven't yet been disappointed! I started out skeptical due to their really low prices and I have been hooked ever since. I adore hostas and so far I have ordered more than 600 hostas from them (many for my yard and some for the church plant sale) over the past four years. My favorite hosta is 'Dancing in the rain' (appropriate for our area). :-)

Last year and this year I ordered 300 daylilies and they were wonderful (especially the stella d oros that were huge). Now I have ordered some peonies, irises, oriental lilies and asiatic lilies and I am so eager to see them. I have only had a couple issues with plants from them and they immediately replaced them. I recommend them to friends with no hesitation.

Jana Goad in Redmond, WA

Positive napleshude
(1 review)
On Jun 14, 2009, napleshude Ocala, FL wrote:

I received my daylily order and was very impressed with the
generous size of plants. I could not plant immediately so I followed the company's suggestions and kept the roots moist until I could plant and all seems to be fine. You cannot beat the selection and price of the plants that Gilbert H. Wild and Son offer. Maybe some of the other garden companies
provide fancy packaging with their tiny plants they send but often the plants are fragile and a waste of money in the long run. I have recommended Gilbert H. Wild and Son to others and will definitely order again myself.

Positive docknee
(10 reviews)
On Jun 8, 2009, docknee Murphy, NC (Zone 7a) wrote:

I have now ordered their Hosta - 100 Mixed Hosta for $100.00 TWICE - that should say it all! I know I have had at least 125 divisions in each order when all is said and done. Quality is excellent! I am covering 600 feet of creekside and my 2.5 acre homesite so I will be back many times. I have also ordered daylilies from them, and again - Excellent. Takes them a little time to ship but it is well worth the wait for quality and value for the dollar.

Dr. Richard H Knee

Positive Bulldog76
(2 reviews)
On May 30, 2009, Bulldog76 Stillwater, OK wrote:

Received my hosta and daylilies a month ago and was pleased with the size and great condition. Ordered 10 daylilies and 10 hostas in collections. Received 18 daylilies including the free bonus plant, and 19 hostas! Planted them the next day and decided to wait a while before commenting, to see how they did. At this point, every plant is alive and doing well, so I am extremely happy with the results. I will be buying more from Wild as I have the need for more plants. Great experience!

Positive traydog26
(2 reviews)
On May 23, 2009, traydog26 Clarksboro, NJ wrote:

Positive is an understatement!!! I don't know about those negative comments, but I am going to gush over my order I received yesterday. I would have posted this sooner, but couldn't wait to get my ENORMOUS daylilies in the ground as soon as I opened the box. I ordered these about two weeks or less ago. Every step of the way, (I had called a few times because I am anal about being home when the plants arrived, and wanted to order more items). I was given great customer service. But I was skeptical about ordering with the EXTREMELY LOW prices. I thought I might get some dead crap in a box. However, I received these giant sections of daylilies that were still green on the tops, and a lively salmonish tan color on the roots. I was expecting some pitiful size that I would have to wait three years to notice in the garden. I am waiting on Iris to ship in the end of season, and I can't wait to see what they ship. I am going to add on more items to that order too. I think I found a goldmine, but don't mind sharing my good fortune with all of you too! Happy Planting!

Positive VickieB57
(2 reviews)
On May 22, 2009, VickieB57 Ardmore, OK wrote:

2 years ago I placed an order for the 100 unlabeled hostas for $100. I had just bought about 10 hosta bulbs from Wal Mart, and when I saw the price from Wild and Son's I thought I would give it a try. I thought I would have some time after I ordered them, but they showed up early. I was in the midst of my daughter's wedding and couldn't plant them for 2 to 3 weeks. I kept them cool in my garage during that time but was afraid that I would lose a lot of them because of the delay in planting them.

That was 2 years ago. Out of the 20 bulbs I got from wally world, 2 came up, and they quickly died. Out of the 100 I got from Wild's I have over a hundred beautiful healthy hostas. Not only would I buy from them again, I would recommend them to all my family and friends.

Positive sages1
(2 reviews)
On May 19, 2009, sages1 Harmony, PA wrote:

Holy Daylilies! I just recd my Surplus Daylilies. I expect may be a small piece - goodness! What a wonderful surprise! I am so pleasantly surprised! I can't wait to get my irises and order peonies!!

Positive nygardener2
(12 reviews)
On May 16, 2009, nygardener2 New Hyde Park, NY wrote:

Daylilies were huge and in great shape! The lilly bulbs were huge with no rot and firm. The prices and quality cant be beat! Thanks for the great plants : ) + a bonus plant need I say more.

Positive Cynthia59P
(14 reviews)
On May 15, 2009, Cynthia59P Horse Cave, KY wrote:

My order arrived today and I am very pleased. The daylilies were freshly dug; in fact, the roots had not even dried out. After reading some of the previous feedback, I was a bit skeptical, but I thought at these super low prices, I just can't go too wrong. I was right, and I even received a bonus plant too!

Positive SilkyDogLover
(2 reviews)
On Apr 16, 2009, SilkyDogLover Dawsonville, GA wrote:

I have been buying from Gilbert Wild & Sons since 1969 and have never been disappointed, in fact I am always overwhelmed by the quality of the plants. I have moved 12 times since then and the fist thing I do at a new home is place an order for daylillies and irises. I just received my order for 100 daylilies and the plants were so large and freshly dug that I am sure I will have a beautiflul garden here this summer. The iris will be shipped in the fall and I am know I will,as always, be pleased with them also.

Positive maura
(4 reviews)
On Apr 12, 2009, maura Sparta, TN (Zone 6a) wrote:

I ordered about 150 daylilies from Gilbert Wild last year as I have for the last 8 years. I also ordered many other daylilies from several high priced sources throughout the last summer. I am now assessing my garden after a very cold and long winter. Once again each of the Wild daylilies have multiplied from two fans to 4-5, have great foliage, and are extremely healthy. The fancy daylilies look weak and have barely multiplied. I've seen this same result year after year. The roots arrive and look dried and sometimes smaller than those from the top hybridizers, but after an overnight soaking and some basic care I have found the Gilbert Wild daylilies outperform every year. When you consider the price- I can't imagine a better opportunity to add so much beauty to a garden for so little cost. I'm ordering more again this year.

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | ... 9 Next »

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America