Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Gilbert H. Wild and Son

Click here to return to Gilbert H. Wild and Son's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
238 positives
26 neutrals
64 negatives


« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | ... 9 Next »

Positive robrogers
(2 reviews)
On Apr 10, 2009, robrogers Webster, FL (Zone 9a) wrote:

I ordered daylilies and hostas. All arrived quickly and in fine shape. They are growing rapidly, lots of leaves, very healthy. I found Wild's selection and pricing is excellent. I will definitely order again from this company.

Neutral plushweasels
(1 review)
On Mar 29, 2009, plushweasels Braidwood, IL wrote:

I work long hours and am sometimes a neglectful gardener. I have let their daylilies plants sit in a hot garage for up to two weeks and they always bounce back, and bloom beautifully.
Their customer service is awful though, the woman who answers the phone (I think it's always the same woman, or maybe the operators all just sound alike) is very crabby and rude. Once I called to take advantage of a promotion, and she nearly bit off my head, practically yelling that the promotion had expired. (The expiration date was posted in small print and hard to find). When I've asked questions about the plants, she has been very unhelpful. Good plants, lousy customer service. I'd like to place an order this year, but don't want to deal with her... I supposed I could place an internet order, but if there is a problem, I don't want to deal with this woman.

On Mar 29, 2009, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Mar 30, 2009 6:46 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

If you have any problems, and we hope that you don't! You may call and ask for me, Greg Jones. I have been the owner of GH Wilds since 1991 and I am a horticulturist. My direct number is 417.548.3517 or just call toll free at 1.888.449.4537 and ask for me. I'm usually easiest to get hold of before 8 am, I usually get in the office 5-5:30 AM....I am so sorry you feel this way about our customer service and we will work on that as well!"

Positive marty13
(3 reviews)
On Mar 24, 2009, marty13 San Diego, CA (Zone 10a) wrote:

I have ordered Lily bulbs from them over the past 3 or 4 years and they bulbs have been acceptable. When I received my order this Spring I was stunned. The bulbs were so puny that I am not sure that they will even bloom this year. Additionally most of the bulbs had sprouted, even though mine were among the first ones shipped. What has happened to them? Gilbert H Wild use to provide reasonable bulbs at a very nice price.

On March 25th, 2009, marty13 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

Gilbert H Wild contacted me regarding my contacts and will work with me on correcting any problems that I have experienced. I have had consistenly good experience with them for buying Iris and Daylilies.
On Mar 24, 2009, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Mar 24, 2009 7:05 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

Give us a call and we will replace them...The bulbs should be the same size as we always ship - 12-14 cm bulbs, mistakes happen and we are sorry! we would like to make this right wilth you. Not sure why you wanted to give us a negative before giving us a chance to make it right? Greg Jones - Owner GH WIlds"

Positive SonjaSkyles
(14 reviews)
On Mar 21, 2009, SonjaSkyles Elk Grove, CA (Zone 9b) wrote:

I bought 10 daylilies very cheaply, and received a bonus plant too. They were a little dry, probably because there was very little packing material in the box and they were shipped by UPS, which took four days. I soaked the plants overnight and they did not look bad. At those low prices I think you get good value for your money.

Positive gloriag
(8 reviews)
On Feb 24, 2009, gloriag Floyd, VA (Zone 6b) wrote:

I have relied on Gilbert Wild for years. The peonies may be a little smaller, but then I can buy more than I could at other sites. I love their sales, especially their last sale of the summer when peonies seem to be at their lowest price. Also, I love their mixture prices. I am going to order a hosta mixture and several other things for this spring.

From what I have read on the "comments" section, it does appear that there is recourse to higher ups if one is not satisfied with the telephone response to a complaint. I do like that they moniter the comments and try to correct them. They have my vote for reasonable prices for the general gardener who is not into expensive "collections." I moved here and received orders last fall. I cannot wait to see what happens when things start coming up.

Positive Dchand
(1 review)
On Jan 27, 2009, Dchand Sarcoxie, MO wrote:

I have ordered from Gilbert Wild and Son for years and always received good plants. Sometimes the plants do arrive dry, but I just soak them in water a few hours and they come right out of it! I will continue to order from them, as their prices are better than any other nursery around. Yes, some companies might send out a larger plant, but it will cost twice as much too! I see some negative responses on the site, but I know that you can never please everyone! But I have been very pleased.

Negative jordyclair
(1 review)
On Jan 27, 2009, jordyclair Cedarburg, WI wrote:

Sent very poor quality plants. They were so small and most of them were moldy. Will not respond to my emails or any other form of communacation. All my plants died.
I will not recommend this company nor will I buy from them again.

On Jan 27, 2009, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Feb 11, 2009 10:45 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

Please contact me, Greg Jones the owner of Gilbert H Wild and Son. I cannot find you in our customer list and I would like to work with you in correcting the situation. I can be contacted at [email protected] or 417.548.3517"

Positive Cynthia47
(9 reviews)
On Oct 3, 2008, Cynthia47 Vancouver, WA wrote:

Reading some of the negative comments worried me so asked my super gardener sister if she had ordered from Wild in the past and she had. Her experience was that the peonies from G.H.Wild would be blooming and growing wonderfully at the same time as peonies from more expensive sources planted at the same time. Based on that I bought a bunch of peonies and popped them into the ground. My soil is terrible, I'm new to the zone, never was much of a gardener and the backyard was completely bare when we moved in last Oct. If my view changes I'll post but the roots were huge and after 2 weeks the eyes are already peaking at me through the soil.

Positive RobZ71LM7
(2 reviews)
On Aug 13, 2008, RobZ71LM7 Mount Washington, KY wrote:

I ordered 25 mixed Daylilies which I received within 2 weeks of ordering. They were slightly less than half the price Oakes charges for 25 mixed daylilies. I did this as an experiment to determine where I wanted to buy a bunch of named varieties.

The plants I received were bare root packaged with shredded paper-which is fine for daylilies and just how my Oakes order came packaged. However, the plants were less than half the size of oakes and not as fresh. Some were single fan and none of them are anything I would've divided. It's been 6 days and most of the plants have sprung up with new growth. I suspect they will all make it, but I'm not sure about a few.

You do get what you pay for and Wild's is not a bad choice for someone on a budget that doesn't need large plants. I'll make my formal decision based upon how the plants do in the next couple of weeks.

On February 2nd, 2009, RobZ71LM7 changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

Changed to positive-I forgot to update my review. All of the daylilies came up strong and healthy and I consider Gilbert H. Wild to be a good source for daylilies for the price.
Neutral joannjoann
(18 reviews)
On Aug 11, 2008, joannjoann Riverside, NJ wrote:

I read feedback before ordering but wanted to give it a try simply because of the prices. Packaging is horrible; plants were dried out and lifeless. Soaked them for a day and planted them. I am watching them carefully as they seem so fragile. If all goes well, I may change my rating but, strongly suggest that this company review its' packaging methods. Shreading paper for shipping daylilies is useless. Might as well put nothing in the box. With such a name and reputation in the daylily world, this company needs to examine their integrity.

Positive Buckeyesnblooms
(18 reviews)
On Jul 24, 2008, Buckeyesnblooms Shelbyville, KY (Zone 6a) wrote:

I recently received an order of 9 daylilies (actually turned out to be 11 including the bonus offered with purchase and another surprise bonus). When they arrived, they looked a little dried out, but I put the fans in water for about 8 hours before I planted them. I am happy to say that all of them are showing new green growth. It's true that this company's plants aren't the healthiest or largest I've seen, but you just can't beat the prices!

I ordered from them in the spring and while those fans arrived in the same condition, all of the plants have bloomed, which is more than I can say for some other companies.

Negative Man99204
(3 reviews)
On Jun 25, 2008, Man99204 Spokane, WA wrote:

Last Season I placed half a dozen different orders from this company. Each and every time they sold my name and address to "A Garden Gate" Magazine -- without my permission. I wrote to both Gilbert Wild and to A Garden Gate and asked them, politely, NOT to send me further copies of their magazine. Apparently, while Wilde can sell a customer's personal information without permission, they are totally powerless (or motivationally-challenged) to DO anything to stop the customer from getting junk mail!

This season, already, I have started receiving the same annoying Garden Gate Magazine.

I stongly encourage anyone who reads this to order thier plants from a company who RESPECTS a customer's right NOT to receive junk mail.

On Jun 25, 2008, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Feb 11, 2009 10:48 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

We work to provide the best gardening product to our customer. If you do not want to receive any mail from us just call customer service at 1.888.449.4537 we will not mail or rent any names if you so instruct us. "

Negative tigerlily1955
(4 reviews)
On Jun 24, 2008, tigerlily1955 Manchester, NH wrote:

I have been a loyal customer since 1995. I placed a phone order on May 30,2008 with a sales rep for daylilies. I received a flyer in the mail that day and placed an order for 39 plants for $94.95 plus an order of individual plants from an other sales offer. I received my shipment last Friday 6/20. I checked the invoice and was shocked to see that I received the wrong plants and was billed for $144.00 plus the individual plants and shipping. I called right away and spoke to a very rude lady who would not listen to me. I explained that their was an error and I received the wrong offer. This has never happened before. She told me that I would have to pay for shipping and a growers fee of 20 percent would be charged to me!
I did not receive the order I placed. She insisted that I spoke with her that day and that I should have questioned the amount the bill right away. I didn't question anything because I ordered additional plants and did not do the math then. I trusted them!
She told me" I might as well keep and pay for the plants as they would have to throw them away and what do I expect??? to keep them for free"??
I have never had a negative experience with them before. My orders have never been messed up and the sales people have allways been great.
Makes me wonder what is going on there! My credit card company will need to sort it out. I have put the plants in the ground to keep them alive till this gets resolved. They were dried and yellow!! I re-ordered the 39 dayllies for $94.95 plus shipping again..... I am still waiting for them as I type this post. I do not like to complain...I just think loyal customers should be treated with respect and not like dirt~ BUYER BEWARE

On July 5th, 2008, tigerlily1955 added the following:

I received the correct shipment on June 30th. My order was exactly as described in the flyer and the daylilies looked alot better than the previous incorrect shipment. I soaked them in water for 2 days and placed them in the garden bed. My complaint isn't about the is about the customer service department.
I was billed again for shipping but given that these plants look like they will keep growing I am not going to dispute this order.

On Jun 24, 2008, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Feb 11, 2009 10:53 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

We are sorry...we mess up...when we do if you can't get the help you need call and ask for Greg Jones, the owner at 417.548.3517 or toll free at 1.888.449.4537 or email me at [email protected] and we will do everyting that we can to fix things...I am so sorry you felt you were treated badly...we do not want to do business that way!"

Negative jackstangle
(2 reviews)
On Jun 12, 2008, jackstangle La Conner, WA wrote:

I ordered 10 daylilies. They arrived in a LARGE box with a few shreds of newspaper. They were dried out & most of the roots had broken off from rolling around in the box. The woman who answers the phone is very unprofessional & acts like you've woke her up. They do not put their 800 # on the invoice, only on the catalog, making it harder to complain. I will not order from them again. They also arrived 19 days AFTER I ordered them, & 4 days AFTER the tracking # said they would.

On Jun 12, 2008, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Feb 11, 2009 10:55 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

We mess up and so does UPS delivery sometimes. We ship 40,000 plus orders a year and do our best on every one of them...but we do mess up! If you are not happy owth the plants please call 1.888.449.4537 and we will send out a replacement."

Neutral MorsisX
(27 reviews)
On Jun 10, 2008, MorsisX Lockport, IL (Zone 5b) wrote:

They only rate a neutral as the daylilies I ordered arrived dehydrated, but most have bounced back, 2 died and have been refunded, all were the typical anemic size variety, disappointing. The LA lilies are doing well but the trumpets were a total washout and have been refunded. Waiting on the iris but I will not hold my breath.

Negative lwillaredt
(9 reviews)
On Jun 6, 2008, lwillaredt Davenport, IA wrote:

I have been a customer of Gilbert Wild for almost 10 years. I order plants for my own garden and several others.

Their daylily cultivars have never been "fresh dug," like they advertise, they always come a bit yellow, dried and shriveled. But this was always mitigated by a large, healthy root system, good size, and a really low cost. If you potted them, they would perk up and get going fairly quickly. They were a good source for lots of plants at a low cost.

NO MORE. This year something has changed, either ownership or management or employees. The plants that came with my order this year are ridiculously small. Several are less than one fan, and would fit in a coffee cup. All were even more dried up than usual. Several had no name tags. I think the tags fell off because the plants were so small.

I called the company and was referred to a woman who did not want to discuss any problems. She stated that all plants sent out were large and healthy. She said that if I didn't like them I should ship them back at my expense.

I have MS and it would be difficult for me to do this, plus from her attitude, I have no confidence that if I shipped them back I would be credited.

It is very sad that this historic nursery has gone downhill to this extent. I would recommend avoiding Gilbert Wild.

Linda Willaredt
Davenport, Iowa

On Jun 6, 2008, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

"On Feb 11, 2009 10:58 AM, Gilbert H. Wild and Son responded with:

The last ownership change was in 1991, and the office staff has been here for over 25 years. WE Try to get every order right. If we don't let us me know and I'll make it right! Greg Jones, owner since 1991, 417.548.3517 or [email protected]"

Positive Miarka
(7 reviews)
On Apr 27, 2008, Miarka Ware Neck, VA (Zone 7b) wrote:

I just received 6 daylillies from the 'on sale' section of their website. They all looked healthy and happy and are now in the ground. No deaths so far and daylillies do well here, so I am optimistic.

Positive kiabird
(2 reviews)
On Apr 16, 2008, kiabird Clarksville, TN wrote:

I ordered the "10 Hosta Handful" and was amazed at the size and quality of the plants I received. Each could have easily been subdivided and still produced nice-sized plants. The roots were 4 to 6 inches long, moist, pliable, obviously healthy. Will report back in when I see what I have this summer!

Negative showers
(2 reviews)
On Mar 4, 2008, showers Woodstock, IL wrote:

I ordered Peonies. When they bloomed last spring , they were not as ordered. I order 3 Doreen and when they bloomed two was the same and one was different, same with two other varieties. When I E-mailed them about there mistake they were vary unhelpful in getting the problem resolved. I had a similar experince with hostas, recieving cheaper hostas then I ordered. They said they would give me $9.00 credit on my next order. Then they took me off there mailing list. I have not recieved anything from them since. Before this I was a good customer and had orderd alot of daylilies from them and had even recommended them to several members of my garden club and friends and family. No more..

Positive julieshomes
(1 review)
On Jan 26, 2008, julieshomes Spring Hill, FL wrote:

When I moved from Michigan to Florida, I really wasn't sure which plants would grow and thrive in Zone 9. I had discovered that many of the plants that worked well in MI - delphiniums, peonies, etc. - wouldn't stand a chance against the Florida summers. Some variations of certain plants could make it here, though. Being on a budget, I couldn't really afford to guess, or learn by trial and error.

I called the company, and the rep who answered the phone was very patient with me while I quizzed her about which daylilies would work best in this climate. As I suspected, some work better than others, and she was able to recommend a few that she thought would work best here. She must have spent at least a half hour on the phone with me, discussing the various plants. I placed a big (for me) order with her, based on her suggestions.

When I received the plants, they were bare-root (which she had told me), and wrapped (more like loosely tied together) and labeled according to type. I sort of expected each plant to have one or two little tubers, but they were actually pretty big clumps - some of which I was even able to divide before I planted them to s-t-r-e-t-c-h over where I had miscounted and not ordered enough!

It has been a year and a half now, and every single plant has lived. Even those I divided have grown, and most have bloomed. This is in spite of having to relocate a few of them because my dachshunds insisted that I planted them in the only possible place they could walk. They proved this to me by trampling the poor plants repeatedly until I dug them up and moved them!

I just got my pre-season sale catalogue, and am looking forward to ordering again. I would recommend them to anyone!

Negative marycar
(2 reviews)
On Jan 17, 2008, marycar Tuscumbia, AL wrote:

I've ordered several times from this company and the plants were always very nice. I had a few that took two summers to start blooming due to the severe drought we've had. I've had a number of plants that were not as labeled. I filed a complaint after the first mislabeled one bloomed, and since it wasn't ordered in the current year they refused to send the correct plant. Some of the bonus plants sent weren't as labeled. I asked them to take me off of their mailing list since they wouldn't make things right. As one trying to start my own garden, I'd like to receive what I paid for.

Positive Dollykat
(5 reviews)
On Jan 7, 2008, Dollykat Lucasville, OH wrote:

I have ordered daylilies several times from Gilbert H. Wild, and all have lived. At these prices, I don't expect huge plants. Some plants have been only tubers with no fans showing, but I followed their directions and all the plants grew. I also appreciate the bonus plant included with my ordered plants.

Positive ntntoxicated
(3 reviews)
On Jan 5, 2008, ntntoxicated Pinson, AL wrote:

I ordered 23 day lilies from GHW in mid October 2007. They were all on sale and most were less than $3.00. They were shipped promptly, well labeled, and the root systems were quite large and well developed. I'm a novice gardener, and this coming spring will tell the truth as to the healthiness of these plants, but they looked great to me. Several of them grew new shoots right after planting. I think it took at least 3 buckets to submerge all the roots prior to planting. This was their end of season sale and I thought the plants were great for the price.

Negative pegthomp
(1 review)
On Oct 13, 2007, pegthomp Lincoln University, PA wrote:

I wish I had read the reports here before I ordered. The plants that finally came were tiny...and dried out. And instead of Joan Senior daylily I was sent Jason Salter. Not even close. I hope they will surprise me and bloom like crazy next spring but I won't be ordering from here again.

Positive morgen
(8 reviews)
On Oct 6, 2007, morgen San Luis Obispo, CA wrote:

I recently ordered daylilies from Gilbert H Wild and could not be more pleased.
The prices were absudly low-what a bargain for a whole garden of lilies!

The plants arrived packed in a paper bag, unmarked, as the ad described them. They smelled earthy and good. Most of the root systems were amazing while a few were only unremarkable.

When I received the plants I immediately began soaking them in water, as the planting instructions indicated. 4-6 hours later they were in the ground having dug many, many 1 foot holes to plant them in with amended soil. The shoots that had looked anemic last week are now bright green and looking spritely. I have been watering them every other day since it has been cool.

I would say that if you would like a beautiful daylily garden for a song, order from this company. Pay close attention to their shipping schedule so that you are not disappointed by the wait. It was WELL worth it in my opinion!

Next fall I will order lots more lilies from Wild and can't wait to make an order for Iris and Hosta! They also carry Peony, which sadly will not grow in coastal CA, Asiatic lilly, which I ordered, received but have not yet planted, but they look nice and fat/clean and healthy. Don't miss out of these amazing prices if you don't mind a mixed bag of varieties. You can also order named plants that are at great prices, but not crazy cheap like the unnamed bags.

On May 29th, 2008, morgen added the following:

Everything is budding. I also planted several daylilies from Spring Hill around the same time. The difference in the plants that I received from Wilde is remarkable. The Wilde plants are more than twice if not three times bigger than the Spring Hill plants!

My Asiatic lilies that I put in last fall are all budding with between one and five buds on each plant the very first year.

I will be ordering iris for the fall and dahlias now. This company is great and the shipping is a steal too!
Positive iheartroscoe
(4 reviews)
On Sep 18, 2007, iheartroscoe Goshen, IN wrote:

I ordered from Gilbert H. Wild because the sale prices were too good to pass up. I received the plants quickly and they all had good root systems. They even sent me a bonus plant, which I didn't expect at all because I bought plants during a sale.

Negative smithrh
(1 review)
On Sep 15, 2007, smithrh Cheboygan, MI wrote:

BEWARE....this company only backs their shipments for 30 days...and after that, you are just out of luck.

I ordered 25 or so Daylilies and only about half showed much new life after 4 weeks, so I thought I would give them a little more time before asking for replacements.

I waited a couple more weeks, just to give them everychance to grow, but when they didn't, I called the company and was basically told..."TO BAD".

I am used to better service.

Positive wolfwolf
(1 review)
On Sep 5, 2007, wolfwolf Maspeth, NY wrote:

I've ordered from Wild's for over 20 years, and all my experiences have been great. Daylilies always arrive in perfect condition and they grow well and very fast. In fact, they prosper. I've recommended Wild's to others. No negative words from them -- and believe me, they'd let me know.

Positive Gahagan
(2 reviews)
On Jul 6, 2007, Gahagan Freeport, PA wrote:

I purchased 58 daylilies last year. All are growing except 4. They are all blooming this year and so far the ones that bloomed are the correct ones I ordered. This year I ordered 40 Irises but won’t receive them until August.

Negative Region11
(1 review)
On Jul 2, 2007, Region11 Topeka, KS wrote:

7-2-07 VERY NEGATIVE!!!! I have ordered many plants from Wilds in the past, and will never do so again. They dig plants and refrigerate until they can ship, resulting in very dry small plants, many of which aren't even the correct plants shown in their catalogue. Their catalogue is false advertising too. The "New Introductions" are not new at all. These plants were purchased when the company was sold to Greg Jones in the 80's. Per Mr. Jones "Mrs. Wilds registered 500-600 plants in the 70's and 80's, and we are just now introducing these plants because it's take that long for them to grow." (I have a pair of disco shoes I'd like to sell as "New Introductions" today too. ) The Wilds catalogue from this past Spring 2007 shows in the front section New! 2007 Daylily Introductions, giving the cultivar name (2007) and the description of the plant. I have found that all these plants are very old plants or have Never been registered AT ALL. I tried to enter one of their plants in our American Hemerocallis Society daylily flower show recently; the Wilds plant I was going to present was not excepted because it was not even registered with the AHS at all!!!!! How SAD!!!! I called Wilds the following Monday, asking for Greg Jones the owner, after the receptionist harrased me, I simply asked for Greg to give me a call, he never did. The judges I spoke with there said there have been many, many problems with the Wilds Company, and the next time I received one of their sell catalogs, I should just throw it away! One judge said at the National AHS show held in Missouri a couple of years ago, Wilds gave away their "New Introductions", when she got home this "New plant" was actually 20+ years old! These people that attended the show paid hundreds of dollars to attend. Wilds in return ripped them off by giving them a sickly, unnamed, unregistered plant. Our local daylily club has even advertised for Wilds in the past, never again!!!!!!!! I WILL NEVER ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY AGAIN!!! AND I URGE YOU TO NOT ORDER FROM THEM. From Region 11(The same region as Wilds)

Positive pappu
(7 reviews)
On Jun 30, 2007, pappu Charleston, IL wrote:

I happened to order daylilies both from oaks and GW at the same time last year and the difference in size of the plants that were mailed out was dramatic. Huge plants from oakes and small plants which did not look impressive at all from GW. Ofcourse the price difference was dramatic too with some jaw dropping price tags on the Oakes daylillies. A year later and there is absolutely no difference between the plants from both sources. Both are now equally healthy and you cant make out the $2 GW plant from the $16 Oakes plant. I ordered 45 more daylilies from Gilbert Wild this year. Unbeatable and unbelievable prices.

Positive dlefferts
(26 reviews)
On Jun 27, 2007, dlefferts Agawam, MA (Zone 6a) wrote:

Plants were cheap & most grew.

Positive wauslh
(1 review)
On Jun 15, 2007, wauslh Waupaca, WI wrote:

I ordered 50 un-named hosta this spring. The box arrived but I was busy at the time and I opened it a few days later. The hosta were wonderful (even after sitting in the box for a few days). Since I don't have time right now to plant them I potted them up. After I saw the size of the plants, I decided to divide them up. So, I started out with 50 but probably divided them up so I have at least 100. I even potted up the tiniest little root that had a leaf growing on it. They are all thriving!!!!! Since I'm not a hosta snob, I only need them to fill in a large area under a tree, I surprised by the variety. Not your run of the mill every day green or green and white stripped leaves that everyone has growing on the north side of their house. In short, I was very, very happy with the hosta I received. I think I need to dig up some more ground and start another bed.

Positive adina72
(14 reviews)
On Jun 12, 2007, adina72 Pennellville, NY (Zone 5a) wrote:

I am extremely pleased with my purchase from Gilbert H Wild. I never knew they existed until I got a catalog last year....I was skeptical because their prices were so cheap. I finally got around to ordering from them last month and was surprised at how huge the clumps were when they arrived. I ordered a reblooming collection of daylilies and a double blooming collection. All together there were 25 daylilies and a free extra daylily, which was also in good shape. Some clumps were so large, they could have been planted separately.

I received an e-mail when they began to dig my order, as well as a tracking number upon shipment and they arrived right on time.

They have been in the ground for about two weeks now and all are showing signs of new growth and three even have flower stalks forming on them, despite the drought we are having. I will definately order from them again....I can't wait to try their peonies.

Positive lcsera
(2 reviews)
On May 24, 2007, lcsera Rockville, MD wrote:

This was my first time ordering plants online and I am really pleased and excited about my experience. I ordered 6 daylillies and 10 unnamed hosta. When the plants shipped the company emailed me a link to the UPS tracking site so I could check the progress of my plants and was ready when they arrived last Friday. As I said, my experience is limited, but I thought the roots were healthy looking - some were huge. I think that all of the plants will survive. I received 2 bonus plants. I will most definitely be back to Gilbert H. Wild, because the prices were unbelievable and I feel they delivered on all fronts.

Positive ladypcer
(5 reviews)
On May 20, 2007, ladypcer Litchfield, IL (Zone 5b) wrote:

I ordered 25 un-named daylilies and 15 hosta by the handful, this spring. So far all have greened up and I'm pleasantly surprised at the selection of hostas. I'll have to wait and see what the daylilies end up looking like bloom-wise, but I'm pleased with the plants I received, and all are up and growing, and doing well.

On June 15th, 2007, ladypcer added the following:

Several of the daylilies already have scapes. I'm eagerly awaiting seeing what the blooms are like.
Negative beaker_ch
(23 reviews)
On May 16, 2007, beaker_ch Columbia Heights, MN (Zone 4a) wrote:

Just awful looking daylilies. Very small and dry and many didn't even have tops. Poor packaging also. Some may survive, but I don't think many will. I won't be ordering from them again

Neutral ValzWorld
(7 reviews)
On May 3, 2007, ValzWorld Wrightwood, CA wrote:

This is my first time ordering from G. Wild.

They said I would get it the last week of April and it arrived late in the day May first. EXCELLENT.

Via UPS, in a smallish box, but I was only expecting 6 daylilies, 4 hosta and the 2007 Oriental Lily Collection of 9 bags with 3 to a bag.

All were bouncing around a little, loose in the box, with a few shredded papers.

The bareroot daylilies and hostas roots were dry, dry, dry. But without any evidence of mold or damage.

The hostas have lots of roots, but I have yet to open the bags to see what I really got...

Maybe I should have waited on this, but... Naaaw.

As Elvis said: "It's now or never!"

I got nine bags of 3 to a bag oriental lilies. Put them in the fridge to look at later. If they are satisfactory I probably won't come back to say so.

Plant counts of order versus received are correct.

I was disappointed to find only one "extra"... a really small Baja daylily with puny roots. No text or pic of that plant in their catalog... Will have to see if they have it shown on-line.

The Route Sixty-Six I ordered is puny in every way, roots AND plant.

The FREE with your order Mardi Gras Parade daylily was just marginally so-so, also on the puny side.

Of the other daylily plants I ordered, Christmas Time and Rocket City are okay.

Victorian Star is pretty good and the Raspberry Tonic is a monster.

Now if only they turn out to be as they are marked!

For the dollar, if they live and grow, if they are as ordered from the catalog... I don't see how they can be beat!!!

The big ticket item was the oriental lilies... at $1.00 each I have big hopes for them!

As I said: I will only come back to comment further if I encounter something less than acceptable.

At this point and at this price I am pretty much one happy camper.

On August 8th, 2007, ValzWorld changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

Hmmmm. My first daylily from this order bloomed... and it is NOTHING I would ever have ordered. It was too buxom to be the FREE Mardi Gras Parade, which I have never found a picture of. It is a muddy orange, whatever it is. Gee, I can hardly wait to see what else I got that I didn't order. 8-(

On the UP side: The hostas took off like firecrackers and are amazing. The lilies are blooming (the ones the squirrels missed, that is) (can't blame Wilde's for the squirrels).

Will I ever order from them again...? Time will tell. Gr8 prices... but not great if they send stuff you didn't order and don't want. I am now on the wait-and-see fence.
Positive May_Z
(9 reviews)
On Apr 11, 2007, May_Z Grass Valley, CA (Zone 9a) wrote:

I love this company! I have always received extremely healthy items, whether daylilies, hostas, or, new to me this year, peonies. I've been told over and over that newly planted dalylilies and peonies won't bloom the first year, yet all I have ordered from this company over the years have bloomed in their first year. Always healthy, top notch plants at a very reasonable price. I've ordered from them for 3 years and will continue to be a devoted and grateful customer.

« Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | ... 9 Next »

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America