Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Bluestone Perennials

Click here to return to Bluestone Perennials's listing.

  Feedback History and Summary  
1101 positives
100 neutrals
78 negatives


« Previous Page 1 ... 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | ... 32 Next »

Neutral khoy
(1 review)
On Oct 17, 2011, khoy Somerville, MA wrote:

Posted on September 13, 2011, updated October 17, 2011
This is my first time ordering from Bluestone Perennials, and I can't say that it's been a pleasurable experience. I placed an order for three Lavender Ellegance Sky in August and requested that it arrive the first week of September. I live in Massachusetts, and of course we had a hurricane the weekend before my order was due to ship.

So, I call the first week of September and my order is delayed. Understandable. I reschedule it to ship the following Tuesday the 6th (because of Labor Day), and the rep said it would arrive that Thursday the 8th. I call the following Thursday and the order has not shipped because they "weren't sure" if it could go out, even though I told them there are no mail delays in our area. So we reschedule the order AGAIN to ship the following Monday the 12th, to arrive on Wednesday the 14th.

I call today, Tuesday, because at this point I don't believe my order is ever going to ship. The rep told me the order went out today (not Monday...) and that it will take 5-7 business days. Excuse me?! Why have I been told EVERY OTHER TIME that I will receive this order in TWO days?! How are my plants supposed to survive 7 DAYS in a box without water?! She offered no apologies or explanation as to why I was told it would take two days from other reps.

At this point I am cranky and irritated by this lengthy process, all for three stupid plants. I'll send an update once/if I receive my order...

On October 17th, 2011, khoy changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

My plants finally arrived in 4 business days, and one was certainly worse for wear. There was dirt scattered around the package and one of the plants was ejected from its pot. The company is using eco-friendly coco pots, which is a nice gesture, but I think the pots dry out too quickly. One of my three plants flourished beautifully, but the other two never acclimated and died. I emailed the company, received a prompt response in two days, and received a refund soon after that. I did not have a good experience with this company but they handled the situation appropriately.
On Oct 17, 2011, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Sep 14, 2011 3:55 PM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

We can certainly appreciate your frustration, khoy. We as a company have never (in 38 years) had to deal with the level of disruption that Irene caused in the shipping stream. We chose to err on side of caution and not burden our storm-beleaguered customers or our shippers by sending a perishable product into a storm ravaged area. Unfortunately, there is no clearing house of information regarding areas that are closed to shipments so we took our best guess and held the shipments to most of the East coast. Who could possibly have predicted that the next week would bring 10" of rain and flooding to the same area? It was a nightmare. I have checked and your package was sent UPS Surepost, and is scheduled to arrive Friday per UPS. I apologize for the misrepresentation of the usual time in transit. Don't hesitate to call us if there is anything less than perfect about your plants when they arrive, since we want to make this right for you despite the numerous delays."

Negative bottlegreen
(7 reviews)
On Oct 14, 2011, bottlegreen Saint Paul, MN wrote:

Two years ago I ordered 12 Lobelia 'Ruby Slippers' from Bluestone. The very small plants arrived in the fall, and only 6 survived. But those 6 were so lovely that I didn't complain and promptly ordered 3 more. These were specimens I wouldn't even have given away to anyone (limp, yellowish, fragile); they didn't come through the winter, and this time I did complain, choosing their offer of replacement instead of refund. They're obviously having trouble with this plant. I got a check for $12.50 (less than the cost of the plants) and a coupon. I remember when Bluestone sent you tiny but healthy and very cheap plants. Now they cost what you'd pay anywhere and are measly specimens, at least in my experience (the wedding phlox didn't survive either).

Positive focusme2
(2 reviews)
On Sep 26, 2011, focusme2 Greenbrier, TN wrote:

I love this company and although the plants are small-- they are healthy and it is no deterent for me to reorder from them. I have received 4 or 5 orders from them. The plants are consistently healthy, they quickly grow and develop well, and they are nicely packaged. It's obvious that Bluestone takes pride in shipping healthy plants. (I did receive a note from Bluestone about their 'new packaging materials' and did notice the price increases in their fall catalog; however, the price increase is not a deterent to prevent me from ordering from this great company because I am aware of what great plants they ship).

Positive coolnigh
(3 reviews)
On Sep 16, 2011, coolnigh Gilmanton, NH wrote:

Posted on September 10, 2011, updated September 16, 2011
I am a new customer and placed my first order a week ago. I have absolutely no problem with the prices of the plants or the shipping, I LOVE the selection they offer, the sale items, and the pre-planned gardens which I might try next Spring.

I am eager to received the 15 plants I've ordered and when they arrive I will adjust this review to Positive or Negative depending on the condition that everything arrives in.

Compared to Jung Seeds, which I just received my first order from, I am sure that BS could only be an improvement in both size of the plants and customer service.

On September 16th, 2011, coolnigh changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

All plants arrived 2 Day FedEx in perfect condition. no spills, no dry soil, not even wilted. Absolutely beautiful.

The coir containers make it SO easy to transplant.

I have nothing but positive things to say; will order again in a heartbeat. A++
Positive Dogwood33
(4 reviews)
On Sep 14, 2011, Dogwood33 wrote:

The first time I ordered from Bluestone Perennials I was disappointed that the plants came unsecured in a box filled with white styrofoam peanuts. The plants had definitely suffered from their trip but the customer service was very good and they replaced the destroyed plants, the problem was that even some of these replacements suffered because the packing method had not changed. Now I am happy to fine that not only have they changed their packing methods but these must be the best packing methods in the industry. They now use biodegradable coco pots that you can plant directly into the ground (no waste), and each plant is packed separately and secured so the dirt isn't thrown around during transportation and the plants look hydrated and without damage.

This has to be the turn around of all time.

Well done Bluestone! You can count on me in the future and I am just glad I went with my gut and did not cancel future orders. You listened to your customers and you made the necessary changes and now you seem to be ahead of the ball.

Positive klbolt
(2 reviews)
On Sep 10, 2011, klbolt Roswell, GA wrote:

My order arrived on time, healthy and complete with the exception of one backorder. The backorder did arrive on the exact date it was scheduled for and was in one of the new coconut pots, which I love. In spite of the severe drought in my region this year, my plants did well, and even thrived, especially the Boltonia Snowbank - this thing was not deterred by dog 'attention', drought, my neglect or an iffy location, and grew from one tiny sprig to a plant that actually looks bigger and better than the picture in the catalog. The biggest problem I have had with the plants I've ordered from Bluestone is their sheer health - they tend to grow so well and enthusiastically, I've had to divide and move several of them to give them more space, or give several of the divisions away to neighbors. I'm an extremely picky consumer, and I can't think of anything negative to say about this company.

Positive echinaceamaniac
(15 reviews)
On Sep 9, 2011, echinaceamaniac (Clint) Medina, TN (Zone 7b) wrote:

Posted on August 31, 2011, updated September 9, 2011
Very negative!

This Spring I ordered Rozanne Geranium. They sent 3 of the wrong plants. They finally filled the order with just one dead plant! Their new pots are horrible! The plants didn't even take root into the pot before shipping and are all dried up and scattered in the box! My replacement Kent Beauty Oregano plants were not in the pot either. Their new mix looks like dried up saw dust. The main pots that are coco are just sitting in the bottom half empty! They didn't even wet the mix!

The only plant that's alive is my Clematis. Bless its little heart.

This company just lost a customer. I don't know what happened to their service but it has fallen drasticaloy!

On September 9th, 2011, echinaceamaniac changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

This company has such wonderful customer service. They have gone out of their way to help me with my problem order. I really believe they deserve our patience until they get their new shipping system corrected. The new pots have great potential. The Clematis that came is doing really well.

No other company stands by their plants so much. I'm impressed with their friendly staff!
On Sep 9, 2011, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Sep 9, 2011 12:42 PM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

We are so sorry to hear your order was incorrect. We are working the bugs out of an entirely new shipping procedure, and there are have been some bumps in the road. I hope you have or will contact us directly as we won't rest until you are satisfied. We have hopefully fixed the problem of plants going out too dry, so I hope you will allow us to reship. A refund is also available to you, but I hope you will give us a second chance to get it right."

Negative Mogirl
(1 review)
On Sep 3, 2011, Mogirl Atchison, KS wrote:

Just received th Heuchera I ordered and was thoroughly disappointed. Their new packing was used and my plant roots were all dried up in fact it fell out of that "pot" and I had dusty dry dirt all over my floor. Unhappy,may not order again.

On Sep 3, 2011, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Sep 8, 2011 3:37 PM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

Please be in touch with our office as your plants are guaranteed and we can reship or refund as you see fit. We have made some 'tweaks' to our packaging and what you experienced should not happen again."

Positive mrsrudy
(1 review)
On Aug 26, 2011, mrsrudy Wappingers Falls, NY wrote:

I have been ordering plants from Bluestone for a few years now. I appreciated the low prices of the 3-packs and have had much success with their plants. I was dismayed to see the price hikes this fall, like others were, but I just received a shipment of 3 Ceratostigma in the new coco pots, which was from a backorder from last spring. The plants are very nice - big and healthy looking. I was unsure if they were going to charge me the new prices since this was a backorder from spring when the prices were lower and the plants were smaller. But they sent the bigger plants in the new pots and only charged me the spring prices. They are a good, reliable, responsive company. Although I probably won't order as many plants as I have in the past due to the higher prices, I will certainly still continue to order from them.

Neutral beblue3333
(9 reviews)
On Aug 18, 2011, beblue3333 Madison, WI wrote:

Posted on May 20, 2005, updated August 18, 2011
I just received my order from them and they are all looking healthy. Some of the perennials and shrubs are a bit small but at least theyíre not dead.
And their prices are a bargain.
Will order from them again as I have for the past 3-4 years.

On July 12th, 2005, beblue3333 added the following:

This is a great company that offers a wide range of perennials and shrubs.
They are however small but for the price I can wait. Most perennials do great the 2nd year anyways. You can also get quite a bit of a deal with their specials and closeouts. I have always received live and healthy plants from them and most are doing great.
Their shrubs are small though, so if u can't wait for these, i'd get gallon ones from elsewhere.

Will definitely order from them again and again.

On August 18th, 2011, beblue3333 changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

I have been ordering from them for a number of years now. And I, like others on here, am shocked by the new prices for the Fall catalogue! This canít just be from the new eco pots. (I think itís great that they switched to this). I canít no longer afford to order from them much anymore. Some of the items cost even more than the local nurseries here! Really too bad!
Neutral bookreader451
(11 reviews)
On Aug 16, 2011, bookreader451 Troy, NY (Zone 5b) wrote:

Posted on May 7, 2009, updated August 16, 2011
I got my first order from Bluestone today. The plants were all healthy and all the soil was moist. I water them all (as instructed) and put them out under the deck. I am a gardening novice and the information that came with the order is priceless.

The only negative was the I am coveting.

On August 16th, 2011, bookreader451 changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

I have been ordering from Bluestone consistantly for the last few years and I too was shocked at the price increase. I am disappointed because I was always able to find a great selection at a reasonable price.
Neutral mudbugs56
(4 reviews)
On Aug 15, 2011, mudbugs56 Monessen, PA (Zone 6a) wrote:

Posted on May 23, 2008, updated August 15, 2011
Just received another quality order from Bluestone, consisting of several hostas, hens & chicks, and other assorted plants. All arrived in great shape, still moist and nice and green. One hosta plant is actually just a hosta "leaf" sticking out of the dirt, but 99% of the order was really nice. They do package with care and none of the plants were damaged in shipping.

On August 15th, 2011, mudbugs56 changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

After several orders with Bluestone over the years that I was mostly satisfied with, I must express my disappointment with the changes they have made. I had already planned a fall order, but now that the catalogue has arrived I am dismayed at the astronomical price increases. I can no longer afford to order from Bluestone Perennials; my money will go a lot further elsewhere.
Negative dixiedumplin
(29 reviews)
On Aug 15, 2011, dixiedumplin Riceville, TN wrote:

I have always been so pleased that I could buy healthy (but small) plants that fit into my budget. I was very content to wait for the small plants to take off and make beautiful large plants. No more! If I had the money to shop at Bluestone I might as well go to my local nursery and not have to wait for plants to be shipped. I'm sorry that Bluestone ignored those of us on small budgets and fixed income.

Neutral kmast
(1 review)
On Aug 13, 2011, kmast Castro Valley, CA wrote:

POSITIVE: I too, have been a very satisfied customer of Bluestone Perennials for many years. Plants are very healthy, and the customer service I have experienced has been very positive. I usually spend $100-200 every year, at least. I enjoyed participating in their recycle program. Was very happy to have heard that they would be going to coco pots this year.

UNFORTUNATELY, with the recent and HUGE price increase, I will no longer be able to afford to make purchases from them. Purchasing the coco pots in Bulk should NOT have perpetuate a skyrocketing price increase. The pots come in many different sizes and configurations. Using a smaller pot may be an option? The plants that are shipped are usually pretty small anyway.
Too Bad.

Neutral frk040
(1 review)
On Aug 13, 2011, frk040 East Northport, NY wrote:

Been buying from these folks for over 20 years - never a problem with plants and very affordable. Not any more : add my name to the people upset with the huge (make that HUGE) price increase for individual plants. Last fall, I purchased the Shade Garden for $119 - this year it's $295!!

Negative kofi19
(2 reviews)
On Aug 12, 2011, kofi19 Boise, ID wrote:

Posted on October 17, 2006, updated August 12, 2011
I would like to give kudos to Bluestone Perennials. I recently ordered one of their pre-planned gardens. Not only was I really impressed with the shipping speed, but I also appreciate that the plants are a perfect size for transplanting. I'm really quite pleased and will continue to purchase from Bluestone. I have no doubt that I will have lots of blooms next spring!

On August 12th, 2011, kofi19 changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

Yikes! The price increase is huge- and I will not be able to order from Bluestone this fall - and very sorry to say that since they have been so great in the past. The new rating is based entirely on price- not service or quality.
Negative mariah222w
(1 review)
On Aug 12, 2011, mariah222w Newcastle, CA wrote:

This company needs to go from the Top 5 to the -5 category for the biggest unrealistic price increases ever!!!! Check out the differences between the Spring and Fall catalogues! Price for the Drought Tolerant Garden in Spring was $159.95...and now folks, don't drop off your chairs, but it is a whopping $445.00. I thought it was printed incorrectly...but no...that's what it really is! ....they say it's because they are providing new pots....I say...leave things well enough alone and provide decent prices that the majority of people can afford!! I am very sorry to say...that's the end of it for me with this company...I will look elsewhere and will urge other customers to do the same.

Negative okmbecker
(1 review)
On Aug 9, 2011, okmbecker Warsaw, VA wrote:

I have previously and recently ordered from Bluestone and have had a very positive experience. However, I recieved by Fall Catalog yesterday and they have DRAMATICALLY increased thier prices, and eliminated the popular "3 for x$" feature. Part of the Bluestone appeal was the wonderful value, now they want you to pay half (or more) of the "3 for" price for one plant.

Neutral shine389
(1 review)
On Jul 26, 2011, shine389 Pittsburgh, PA (Zone 6a) wrote:

I have been a customer of Bluestone for many years...over 20 years. I couldn't say enough good things about them.

Something has changed though. Just today I e-mailed them about the following problems.

The Tiki Torch I purchase this year, in lieu of what I wanted because you were out of everything, well, the pathetic plant I received never got alit, in fact it was put out before it ever arrived at my house, in my honest opinion.

The coreopsis "pinwheel" plant (that was really only a plug half eaten by fungus gnats) that I babied all summer is NOT pinwheel, but Creme Brulee.

The Echinacea I got this year is NOT double decker. There isn't a double on any of the blooming stems. I realize they don't all double deck, but come on, at least one would. Definately not Double Decker. So, I purchased it locally.

And I love daylilys, but why in the heck would I have purchased this "Janice Brown" I've been's so plain. Well, I come in and look it up on google, and a few years ago, when I purchased this, obviously, "Janice Brown" wasn't sent to me either, but some plain pink daylily...

They always take care of their problems, but lately, their problems seem to be out of control. That's 3 plants received, planted, nurtured, etc., that are NOT what I wanted. I'm 50 now. I don't want to plant and replant. And I don't want plants whose roots are eaten by fungus gnats, and I don't want to have to reorder and replant. And I don't want to have to pick between

I would have given them a negative, if it wasn't for the many years of fine service. I hope they take this as a message. If I'm complaining about them, things aren't good, because they have been my friends for years. Perhaps they got too big, I don't know, but I hope this gets them moving in the right direction. Change is needed Bluestone. It really is. I still love you, but take this as a wake-up call.


On Jul 26, 2011, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Jul 27, 2011 2:37 PM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

Gloria - thank you for your heartfelt comments and concerns. It sounds as if everything that could go wrong with your order, did. We will of course make the situation right with you (via separate correspondence). We appreciate the chance to salvage our reputation with you and we thank you for your years of support. Look for our more detailed email shortly."

Positive Yelena
(3 reviews)
On Jul 26, 2011, Yelena Roscoe, NY wrote:

I ordered several plants late this spring - all arrived in good shape; although they seemed small, every single one of them is doing very well. I will continue to be their customer!!

Positive phdler
(22 reviews)
On Jul 25, 2011, phdler Homer, NY wrote:

Posted on May 18, 2007, updated July 25, 2011
I had ordered from Bluestone years ago and was sorely disappointed so they have been off my list of catalogs to drool over in February for a long time. Due to the feedback here, I decided to give them another try. I was VERY pleasantly surprised. Plants that have arrived so far are larger and healthier than I expected. Most plants are already doing very well, especially the achilleas and hostas. The alchemilla mollis arrived browned and yellowed but is picking up. The ligularia still looks iffy, but I will give it a bit more time to see if it bounces back. I just wish their print catalog design was less confusing - The organization is poor and the descriptions and photos of items are often not even on the same page. Very time consuming and annoying to use. Stick to the website for now.

On June 20th, 2009, phdler added the following:

This year's order arrived with nice sized gorgeous healthy looking plants. Better than last year's. I'll be shopping at Bluestone again.
On July 25th, 2011, phdler added the following:

I have ordered from Bluestone again the last two years and have been very happy with their pricing, quality and service. Plants from them have been thriving. I still find their website much easier to use than their printed catalog, which is still confusing to use.

Don't know about the future though, as they no longer offer their "threefers" and, although I applaud their potting and packaging changes, I just wish they had kept the same sizes and prices as their prices are no longer among the best and have gotten quite a bit pricier.
Positive Kimcoco33
(5 reviews)
On Jul 22, 2011, Kimcoco33 Milwaukee, WI (Zone 5b) wrote:

One of the first mail order companies I've used for plants. Love, love, love their catalog. Wealth of information, especially for newbie gardeners.

Plants shipped are small, but healthy. They give you a no hassle replacement policy within the time frame allotted for any plants that don't survive.

Definitely recommend them, ideal for those on a budget and who don't mind waiting a few years for a larger plant.

They offer coupons in their catalogs as well, and provide additional coupons with your purchases for future use. Nice way to keep customers returning.

Nice customer service, always a plus in my book.

Positive kypat99
(3 reviews)
On Jun 29, 2011, kypat99 Moline, IL wrote:

My first order from this company. Plants were healthy but small. I am excited that they will be shipping in the coco pots, and will order again in the fall.

Neutral SheilaMcDevitt
(1 review)
On Jun 28, 2011, SheilaMcDevitt Pittsburgh, PA wrote:

Bluestone has, for many years, been my go to mail order plant source but I am so sad to see that they are changing their inventory to larger, more highly priced plants. They will be sent in coco fiber pots which is nice but I have always liked that most plants came as a quantity of 3 very small healthy plants very reasonably priced which, once planted, quickly adapted to their new environment. Their service has always been, and I assume will continue to be wonderful but there are a handful of great nurseries carrying a large variety of healthy plants in 4 in pots within 10 miles of my home. Their prices are 1/2 the new prices being charged at Bluestone. I will, however, continue to use Bluestone for shrubs, bulbs and harder to find perennials and hope they never go to 1 gallon pots for their shrubs.

Positive Buddy44
(24 reviews)
On Jun 27, 2011, Buddy44 Eagle Rock, VA wrote:

Posted on April 22, 2005, updated June 27, 2011
My spring order has arrived. The plants are lovely and growing well.

On April 20th, 2009, Buddy44 added the following:

My order has arrived. The plants are very healthy and of good size. As always, the service is the best.
On June 27th, 2011, Buddy44 added the following:

Another good season with the plants from Bluestone.
Positive gardadore
(21 reviews)
On Jun 26, 2011, gardadore Saylorsburg, PA (Zone 6a) wrote:

Posted on May 4, 2005, updated June 26, 2011
This is the third year I have ordered from this company and as usual, I am very pleased with the prices and quality of the plants received. They sent the plants exactly when I requested them. They have superb customer service. This company is a class act and it shows by all the positive statements it receives. I hope they can maintain these high standards as they continue to gain in popularity!

On April 28th, 2006, gardadore added the following:

This is my fourth year ordering from Bluestone. Any concerns I might have had about their standards dropping as they continue to grow vanished when the order arrived yesterday. The plants arrived bigger and better than ever before. I ordered early and used the coupons so feel that they still offer a good deal even if the deals aren't as good as when they offered the third plant free. However costs are going up in all industries so it makes sense that plant growers have to increase their prices or cut back on previous great deals. As long as the quality remains the same or improves I am satisfied.
I was sorry to read that a couple of customers received poorly packaged, dried out or very small plants. I must admit that has never been my experience with this company. While it is true that there are other reliable companies which send larger plants I find that I am usually paying a good deal more. With Bluestone I expect to wait longer for the plants to catch up but the price is therefore lower. At least I can depend on getting healthy plants and that is what I have always received.
On June 6th, 2009, gardadore added the following:

I see I have not updated my comments for the last two years. I placed orders in 2007 and 2008 as well and was very satisfied. This year, for the first time, I took advantage of the 50% sale. The plants arrived today and were among the strongest and healthiest I have ever received from this company. Thank you, Bluestone, for continuing to maintain such high standards and offering your wonderful 50% deal in these demanding economic times. This old customer really appreciates it!!
On June 26th, 2011, gardadore added the following:

Again I took advantage of the 50% sale (9th year ordering from them) and was well pleased with the plants I received. All were healthy and are doing well. Plants I received last year 2010 were also excellent quality. Happy to hear they will be changing to coir pots.
Neutral Hemhostaholic
(28 reviews)
On Jun 26, 2011, Hemhostaholic Scranton, PA (Zone 5b) wrote:

Posted on May 26, 2011, updated June 26, 2011
This was my first time ordering from Bluestone, and it will be my last. As any reading this can see, I have done, and will continue to order from various online nurseries. The kick in the pants for me, was that this order was going to be a surprise from my significant others Mom. The first order was: 3 Achillea, 3 Adenophora, 3 Agastache, 3 Aster, 3 Chrysanthemum, 3 Digitalis, 3 Echinacea, 3 Alcea, 3 Monarda, 3 Perovskia, 3 Stachys, and 2 Centaurea. The total bill, with s/h, was just shy of $200. I got that order, first, when I opened the box I was greeted by packing peanuts and fungus gnats...I can deal with fungus I was unpacking I touched something slimey, I thought it was a dead leaf that happened in transit, NOPE, slug...I found 6 slugs all in all...they pretty much munched down the Monarda to the soil line! For this particular order I was happy with about 1/2...the plants looked health, the roots were nice, foliage was green and fresh. The other half of the order, one was mowed down by slugs, the others to puny to even of the Russian Sage was a mere 2" side branching!!! I mean, seriously? The Achillea looked like they were thrown in the box last minute, all were crushed, the Adenophora just looked pathetic, I wasn't happy at all with the other Russian Sage, they were maybe in the 2-3" range, the Monarda was the slug buffet, and the Agastache were extremely spindly and sad looking. I called their Customer Service, I believe her name is Dawn...she was extremely apologetic, and put in a replacement order, for the plants I was unhappy with. Well, I got the replacement order today (the first order I received last props to them for promptness!)...The reason for this negative review, is for what they had the nerve to send me as a REPLACEMENT. The Russian Sage and the Achillea...were excellent, no complaints at all...but, here goes again with the 1/2 thing...the other 3 plants in the replacement was almost rotted, and looks dead, the Mondarda...2 are black, one looks like it should make it, the Agastache...tall, spindly, one has no leaves, one has 1 leaf, and the other has 2 slugs in this order...fungus gnats, yes, AND now I see spider mites...I called Customer Service back again, and Dawn apologized, and offered to send a replacement...I politely told her that I really didn't want any more plants from Bluestone, and that this was supposed to have been the replacement. So that would have meant, I would need a replacement to the replacement...seriously? After reading all of the positive comments, and other people speaking highly of them, I for one, will gladly spend my money else where.
Plant material from them= 1/2 arsed
Packaging= The packing peanuts...come on...everything, literature, was all green this and green that...I don't know about anyone else, the closest Post Office is about 10 miles from me, and the closest UPS store is about a 20 minute drive, so to recycle them, I'd have to drive...Not happy with their choice of packaging materials...and with my two orders it didn't really protect anything.
Customer Service= for the one person I spoke with, this is, by far, the only thing excellent about this company.

If opening a box of perrenials you just spent hard earned money on, and expecting a box full of goodness, is your thing, SHOP ELSE WHERE.

On June 26th, 2011, Hemhostaholic changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

I hate to leave a negative comment, so I'm updating this review from negative to neutral. My significant other called, spoke to someone in customer service, and they immediately put him on the phone with the manager of customer service, they refunded the whole lot/cost to his CC. A complete refund! I was not even bothering to call, as it was his CC that was charged. I thought that BP would have refunded just the plants I was not happy with, not the entire order. So, again, in my dealings with this company, their customer service is second to none!
I was informed by a few members on the NE Forum that have ordered from BP, that my plants should bounce back, they there's always had. I went down to my SO's Mothers house, and checked on the plants. About 1/2 of them look like they will make it, about a 1/4 of them are down to the ground, with no visible signs of growth, and the other 1/4 of them are not just going strong, but are flowering and look about what you would expect from a trade gallon nursery pot from a local nursery! I believe the reason for 1/4 of the plants being gone was poor plant material + a rabbit population that is crazy. I'm not down there every day to see what gets mowed down by the furry things, but I have seen the outcomes.
On Jun 26, 2011, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On May 26, 2011 2:52 PM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

We're just as disappointed as you are. Please contact us directly for a full refund. We hope you'll give us a chance to salvage our reputation with you sometime in the future, and certainly understand your frustration. Gardening is supposed to be fun.

After this spring we will have all the plastic out of our boxes except for the plant tags. We've been looking for an good alternative to packing in peanuts for decades and are very pleased with our new system of growing in coconut fiber pots which ship in cardboard carriers. (no peanuts!)The pot plants directly in the ground with no transplant shock, and quickly breaks down.

Again, we apologize profusely for the condition of your two packages and hope you will be in touch."

Positive go_cats
(7 reviews)
On Jun 25, 2011, go_cats Wilmette, IL wrote:

Posted on September 22, 2007, updated June 25, 2011
My first order from Bluestone Perennials arrived exactly when I requested it. The plants were in excellent condition and larger than expected. They have been in the ground for about a month and are thriving. I don't mind the styrofoam peanuts - they're easier to deal with than a mashed plant.

On May 15th, 2008, go_cats added the following:

I placed an order for perennials in February, with delivery scheduled for early May. They arrived right on time, and a number of the plants (salvia and viola) had blooms. After planting, they've continued blooming, despite the coolish (actually, downright awful) weather we've had. Though a few of the plants I ordered last year for late summer/fall planting didn't make it through the winter, they had a better survival rate than the 1-gallon garden center plants that I set at the same time.
On June 4th, 2009, go_cats added the following:

I took advantage of Bluestone's half-off sale to fill in some bare spots. The plants were shipped promptly, and a couple of the plants were a little mashed up from shipping. Most are thriving (new foliar growth and even some flower buds three days after planting), but even the slightly damaged ones are sending up new growth. Top quality plants for a great price.
On June 25th, 2011, go_cats added the following:

We're moving some things around, and will have a bare patch. Naturally, I went to Bluestone to find plants to fill in. They revised their website and raised prices about 30%. Still, they have excellent plants. I'll have to wait for next May's sale, I guess!
Positive sdube60
(9 reviews)
On Jun 20, 2011, sdube60 Charlton, MA wrote:

Posted on May 12, 2010, updated June 20, 2011
I have ordered plants for several years from this company and am never disappointed with both quality and service. Their selection is outstanding and they have a very knowledgeable staff to answer any gardening questions. I highly recommend this company for both great service and great variety of plants offered.

On June 20th, 2011, sdube60 added the following:

I have ordered for several years from Bluestone Perennials and have always been very pleased with my order. This year's order shipped during a heat wave and one set of plants arrived in very poor condition. It seemed like they had been overlooked when the order was watered prior to shipping. I called customer service immediately and spoke with a pleasant woman who asked if I would prefer a replacement or refund. I chose a replacement and the new, beautifully healthy plants arrived within three days. I have never been disappointed in the selection, quality or service from this company and the staff is extremely pleasant and helpful.
Neutral LeeAnne151
(11 reviews)
On Jun 10, 2011, LeeAnne151 Portland, OR wrote:

Posted on June 10, 2011, updated June 10, 2011
I have purchased several times in the past usually during sales and have always received healthy plants in a timely fashion and they carry a lot of new varieties that my local nurseries don't or are more expensive.

My only complaint has been that they keep mailing me catalogs after I've requested no catalogs more than once. I buy online and don't want paper catalogs, they go straight to the recycle bin .

This time my box took over a week to arrive and the hydrangea I ordered 'Little Lamb' was totally defoliated and dead. I don't call a 3" grower pot a "large pot" either but I should have read the fine print on that one. The hardy geraniums were covered with dead blooms and foliage but I am sure they will be just fine. The hosta was fine. The packing peanuts were so full of dirt and dried leaves that I had to throw them away rather than re-use them.

I sent an email right away with photos but it wasn't answered so I sent another one without photos thinking the attachment might have been the problem. Then I called and was told they would get back to me that they were checking on stock of the hydrangeas to know if they could replace. I later got an email that day that I would get a credit. It wasn't clear if my card would be credited or I would receive store credit.

I am disappointed. Even at the tiny size the hydrangea is one I haven't found locally. I've never had a shipment of mail order plants take so long to arrive nor had them arrive looking so bad. I believe I've read that they changed shipping companies and maybe this is the problem.

On June 10th, 2011, LeeAnne151 added the following:

Oops, it was Little Honey not Little Lamb hydrangea.
Positive gdionelli
(29 reviews)
On Jun 4, 2011, gdionelli Huntington, WV (Zone 6a) wrote:

It's been several years since I ordered from Bluestone. I decided to place an order because of their ongoing sale. I was a little concerned when I received a ship notice that said the plants had been shipped on Friday - and it was predicted to be a really hot weekend. I pictured the plants sitting in hot trucks all weekend.

But not to worry! They arrived vie FedEx on Saturday. In beautiful shape. A few plants were back-ordered till August - I don't think I can complain about that, since they were sale purchases.

Yes, they were packed in styrofoam peanuts - lots of them. The plants were in great condition because of that. I always recycle peanuts anyway, so I'm not too concerned, and I know that Bluestone is working on the problem of finding better packing materials for the environment.

I was impressed by the speed of delivery, and by the quality of the plants, for sale plants. Thanks, Bluestone!

Negative fiwit
(3 reviews)
On Jun 2, 2011, fiwit Lebanon, GA wrote:

I've shopped with BP for several years, and never had a problem until now. I'm posting a negative revew here because my emails to BP are not being answered in a timely fashion, and they owe me money.

On Saturday May 14, I ordered several plants from them, and used the free shipping coupon that I had from sending back previous packing material. My credit card was not charged until May 18, and the plants were shipped the same day, arriving on Sat May 21.

My purpose in placing the order on a Saturday was so the order would process on Monday and hopefully ship the same day, arriving by Wed, before our streak of cool weather turned hot again. Their delay in shipping meant my plants traveled via USPS trucks in 90F weather to my house. Of the 7 plants I ordered, 4 arrived half-dead and another has died since arrival, despite my precautions.

I had to email them twice to get a response on my refund request. I was told by Pat at BP that she would refund the agastache and the liatris. That was May 24. It's now June 2 and no refund has appeared, and my reminder email of May 27 is still unanswered. If Pat said on May 24 she would refund the $$, why was the refund not processed the same day? That makes no sense to me.

This is not normal behavior for Bluestone Perennials, and I am deeply disappointed that they are not living up to their usual high standards. Maybe seeing this review will wake them up.

On Jun 2, 2011, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

"On Jun 2, 2011 9:34 AM, Bluestone Perennials responded with:

Our apologies for the delay in the processing of your credit. We submitted the credit on the day you requested it, but thanks to your input, we have discovered a handful of credits that were "stuck" with our new credit card processing company. These are now "un-stuck" and you should see the money for your credit in the next 2-3 days (normal processing time on their end - and it is worth noting that that is a standard time frame with any processor). You may be able to see it being processed if you view your credit card account online as early as today. Again, our apologies.

Regarding your first shipment - our shipping time online acknowledges that your plants will reach you within 2 weeks of receipt of your order. However, if you (or anyone) would like to request a specific shipping day, there is a place to enter that in our checkout sequence, and we will honor it. "

Positive linette2001
(22 reviews)
On May 31, 2011, linette2001 Gainesville, FL (Zone 8b) wrote:

Received my plants quickly. All plants are healthy with good root systems. Would definitely order from them again.

Positive Shelly221
(13 reviews)
On May 29, 2011, Shelly221 Denver, CO (Zone 5b) wrote:

I am very pleased with what I received. The plants were a great size for the right price. I will be ordering from them again.

Positive sunsign5
(21 reviews)
On May 25, 2011, sunsign5 Ipswich, MA wrote:

Received 3 beautiful healthy large plants. Quick shipping with shipping notice sent by email. Very impressed! Would buy again from them without any hesitation at all.

Positive cabarnes
(4 reviews)
On May 23, 2011, cabarnes Westfield, NJ wrote:

I've ordered from them many, many times and have never been disappointed. I do think their 3 plants really equal one plant, but the price is reasonable enough that I just plant all 3 together as one plant. Great customer service. They always replace the plants if there is an issue, unlike another garden source who will argue with you that the plant will survive and even after it dies, will not replace it. Their specials are unbeatable. Great selection and price.

Positive ebsgirl04
(2 reviews)
On May 23, 2011, ebsgirl04 Gallatin, TN (Zone 7a) wrote:

I ordered many plants from Bluestone last year. The plants were of great quality, and most survived the flooding we got in our area last May. The growers at Bluestone replaced the plants that did not survive, even though I, or mother nature, were responsible for their demise.
I highly recommend them to everyone I know.

Positive ATekk
(2 reviews)
On May 23, 2011, ATekk Morristown, NJ wrote:

This was my first time ordering from Bluestone, and for that matter any mail order nursery.

I just started gardening so buying items from the local nurseries or big box stores was convenient however variety is almost always very poor and it is difficult to sometimes tell exactly what your buying and how it will look when fully grown (at least for a newbie like myself). I LOVED how easy it was to not only find plants that met my garden environment but also how they provide you with all the needed information on the plant including best care practices. This is ideal for someone like myself to be able to print out and keep for future reference.

Their specials were great and I feel I was able to get a wide variety for a very fair price. After my order was already placed, but before shipment, I noticed that new plants were added to the specials so I called the 800 number and the rep was very helpful in adding some new plants on special to my order that was about to ship that day!

Plants arrived in overall great condition except for one poor guy who just didn't seem to handle the moisture in the box too well. After a few days of letting them sit in the shade with some water I wasn't sure if they were going to recover so a short email to customer support and they are sending me out replacements this week.

This was my first and definitely not last time shopping with Bluestone. Their quality of plants and amazing no hassle customer support are alone enough to keep me from even checking out other places.

Thank you Bluestone! More companies should follow your business model.

Positive angelfromheaven
(1 review)
On May 23, 2011, angelfromheaven Saint Paul, MN wrote:

Received plants and shrubs today, I couldn 't be happier. They were packed well and were still very healthy five days after the shipping date. Please note that I wasn't home at the time of the attempted first delivery on a Saturday and had to wait until Monday to pick the plants up from the post office. I was worried about what their condition would be sitting there over the weekend, but they were fine. They do use packing peanuts, which work much better then the air bags that I normally receive with my plant orders. If their use concerns you, they do have a recycling program for the peanuts. The box was clearly marked as containing live plants so that care would be given to them by the USPS. One of the shrubs that they sent was smaller then I had ordered, and they credited my account for $4.00 at the time of shipment. They also included fertilizer tablets for each of my shrubs at no extra cost. I am always nervous when ordering plants online, because of previous negative experiences. My experience with Bluestone Perennials was nothing but positive and I certainly will be ordering from them again.

« Previous Page 1 ... 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | ... 32 Next »

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America