Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Holly Hill Nurseries

Click here to return to Holly Hill Nurseries's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
8 positives
1 neutral
17 negatives


Negative ncp
(1 review)
On Sep 21, 2017, ncp Ipswich, MA wrote:

I wish I had read these reviews before placing an order.
Now I know why I haven't received my plants or any communication about them--in spite of the emails and texts I sent to inquire about my order status.
I will never order from Holly Hill again.

Negative TammyW66
(2 reviews)
On Apr 20, 2017, TammyW66 Safety Harbor, FL wrote:

I tried several times with Holly Hill Nurseries LLC, to correct the no product and no reply. I put a complaint in with paypay to get my money back. They all of a sudden deiced to answer they where waiting on the shipment from Florida to Pennsylvania. I was left with wondering why they would ship it from Florida to Pennsylvania then back to me in Florida. Still nothing 2 days before the time was up on the paypal complaint 2 plants show up with very similar leaves to the plant I wanted only to find out 5 days after that, that they where not the correct plants. I could not get money back and had 2 plants I did not want. Save your money DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

Negative CarolMcKenzie
(7 reviews)
On Jun 16, 2015, CarolMcKenzie Irvine, KY wrote:

Holly Hill is a mystery to me. I placed two small orders, received the plants (nice plants) and then placed a larger order in April...over $100.

Fast forward: no plants, and no response (save one from Bill Glose that he was "trying to provision" these plants for me.)

I asked for substitutions. No reply. I asked again. No reply. I asked for a refund. No reply.

Two months later I opened a dispute through PayPal. No reply from Mr. Glose. Finally, after stating I'd open a claim if I didn't get a refund, I received a reply that he'd refund my money by a specific date.

That didn't happen. He then stated that the "claim" was open (which it was not) and he now could not refund my money, and it was up to PayPal to take care of it. He would "help them along a little if possible."

I'm not sure what helping them along a little means, except that once again he's not giving me a refund. I suspect there is no money to refund at this point.

Thing is, his website still offers for sale the exact same plants I ordered. I call BS on his need to "provision" my plants, and think he's a just a scammer.

So I'm now awaiting PayPal's decision on this whole thing. Hopefully it turns into a refund, so I can order from a company who actually cares about their customers.

Negative PerleyX
(1 review)
On May 20, 2015, PerleyX Franklin, TN wrote:

Like other customers who have reviewed Holly Hill Nurseries, they will charge your credit card, then never send your order. After several attempts, I have had no response to my emails. When I called them, the man who answered said he would contact me. He lied.

All I want them to do is either send my order or refund my money. I don't expect them to do either. WARNING: DO NOT ORDER ANYTHING FROM HOLLY HILL. THEY WILL CHARGE YOUR CREDIT CARD AND THEY WILL FAIL TO SEND YOUR ORDER.

Negative ROSES_R_RED
(5 reviews)
On May 27, 2014, ROSES_R_RED Mount Bethel, PA (Zone 6a) wrote:

Bought 2 Wine and Roses Weigela. After a while when I didn't receive anything or get an e mail with shipping info, I called the company and left a message. Never got a reply. Tried e mail and that didn't do any good. Went to Paypal and opened a "complaint". My money was then refunded. These people are a joke. They offer more plants than I have ever seen in one place. They send nothing.

Negative tailzzz24
(4 reviews)
On May 25, 2014, tailzzz24 Kutztown, PA wrote:

I ordered several plants and when I hadn't yet received them attempts to contact the seller were in vain. When attempts to reach the seller via phone led to 'mailbox full' messages, I filed a claim. I received a refund, but never again.

Negative hvacguynva
(1 review)
On Dec 8, 2013, hvacguynva Chester, VA wrote:

I ordered 10 box woods ... all came with in two weeks no problems!
So, I ordered 2 Japanese maples dwarf and 10 Japanese forest grass and I have not recived these.. It has been about a month now .... I have sent several emails to holly hills and phone calls, but I just kept getting the run around. I have contacted my credit who gave me a refund ... I will also contact the B.B.B. on monday ... I would not.rrecommended holly hills to any one.
[email protected]

Negative bellagvs
(1 review)
On Jun 8, 2013, bellagvs Lawrence, KS wrote:

After ordering plants in January it seems my order was forgotten. I finally received plants after contacting the vendor several times and they were the wrong species. I packed and returned them, and was promised a refund on the shipping and the plants themselves. The vendor HAD A SPECIAL SALE ON THE PLANTS I SENT BACK THE DAY AFTER HE RECEIVED THEM but I have not received any money back and he has stopped all communications with me. Horrible customer service!

Negative lilithwantsu
(1 review)
On Jun 8, 2013, lilithwantsu Fairlawn, VA wrote:

On January 20 I ordered a flat of jasmine nudiflorum for my wife's birthday. What I received was jasmine floridum. After arguing with Bill Glose that he did, indeed, send the wrong product he asked us to return the jasmine floridum and he would reimburse us for both the return shipping and the original order (provided he could not send us the jasmine nudiflorum). Now I have no jasmine and no refund and Bill Glose has stopped communicating with us.

Negative claraa1
(1 review)
On May 8, 2013, claraa1 BAILEYVILLE, KS wrote:

I'm at the end of my rope. I have done business with Bill for many years and in the earlier years it was great. The last couple years I have continued to order and I'm not sure why. I guess because he offers quality plants at good prices, but not anymore! I pre-ordered (never, never, never do this) over $500 in plants in January with the understanding I would have a mid April delivery. Still no plants. I have people waiting on some of them and it is making me look like a complete idiot. Bill keeps promising plants - still, no plants. I told him as of Friday I file a Paypal complaint for the return of my money as well as a call to the Pennsylvania BBB. Enough is enough.

Negative Ken Morgen
(1 review)
On Jan 10, 2013, Ken Morgen Cockeysville, MD wrote:

I purchased the "last 4 leucothoe axillaris" in inventory at a discount on 12/15. I paid after receiving an invoice from Bill Glose via Paypal. Week after week passed with no plants, but frequent email exchanges in which Mr. Glose said they were being shipped "next week." Finally, I wrote yet again...probably the 10th time, asking for tracking information and was told that his "suppliers misrepresented their inventory" and that he was refunding my money, which he did. However, his web site is still showing leucothoe for sale! Beware this unscrupulous businessman. Obviously, a contract means nothing to him. Even though he refunded my money, I am not satisfied as I want the plants at the price we agreed upon, not the money.

Negative Alley5859
(1 review)
On Oct 30, 2012, Alley5859 Ojo Amarillo, NM wrote:

We purchsed a few flats of shrubs, but part of our order was not delivered. a 10 pack of bare root trees..
I have emailed them with no response. I have tried calling, but their voicemail is full.
I have sked for the plants or for my credit card to be credited. It is that simple. I was hoping to have found a company that I could purchase from in the future. No such luck. Don't think I will do this again.

Negative tompedz
(2 reviews)
On Sep 2, 2012, tompedz Salem, AR wrote:

only got four of nine plants and what I got were sick, still waiting for a refund

Negative dennyboy34
(14 reviews)
On Apr 5, 2012, dennyboy34 Yonkers, NY wrote:

Placed an order. No order confirmation. Had to send an email to get the order sent. My order was for a specimen cherry tree for my front yard - they sent a twisted stick - a very poor excuse for a tree - I am embarrased to plant it even in my backyard. Do yourself a favor, read the other reviews and find yourself another on-line nursery....there are plenty. Don't use Holly Hill.

Negative annbrick
(1 review)
On Jan 9, 2012, annbrick Findlay, OH wrote:

Posted on May 23, 2011, updated January 9, 2012
We ordered plants in Jan, 2011 from Holly Hill Nurseries. Bill Glose asked for Paypal payment at that time, and I did that. On March 21 I received a message that they scheduled our shipment by early April. Nothing. I wrote again on April 28 and heard 2 days later they were still waiting on plants and would process the following week. Nothing. I wrote on May 3 and received this on May 7, "I will get what I have here out to you on Monday morning. Best regards, Bill Glose".

Two weeks have come and gone. Since then we have not received plants, refund, or any communication whatsoever. When I call, the phone goes dead. It tears me up to write this, but I am at my wits end. We really just want the plants we paid for over four months ago. Is that too much to ask? What else can we do? We have never had any problem with any online or mail order company, and we order from a lot of places. I really do not understand what happened here. BEWARE.

On January 9th, 2012, annbrick added the following:

After many attempts toward getting our refund, I finally contacted the Bethlehem Better Business Bureau in November. On 12/31/2011, the refund arrived, I'm sure thanks to the BBB. At least we did get our money back.
Negative pipe
(1 review)
On Sep 9, 2011, pipe wrote:

I've done purchases from Holly hill before. Communication is non-existent. Shipments can be short. This last time I paid and am still waiting, and waiting. I've given up. No responses received. Filed a credit card dispute. Lost confidence. Won't do business with Bill Glose again.

Negative audreymarmot
(6 reviews)
On May 18, 2010, audreymarmot Annapolis,
United States (Zone 7a) wrote:

At first I was very happy with their low prices (plus free shipping on orders over $100), and when my first plants arrived in March they were healthy and well-rooted, even if they were small. But my order was incomplete, and there wasn't even an invoice to let me know I was missing from my order, let alone when they might arrive. I went several rounds with the owner, Bill, to track down what was missing. A few things trickled in here and there, but now, in May, TWO MONTHS LATER, still 5 of the plants were missing, with no word from Bill about when they might arrive.
Finally, after a dozen email exchanges, he told me they'd had a crop failure and would return the money for those plants. Fair enough. But would he ever have emailed me to return the money had I not pursued it repeatedly? I'm not sure.
I love the prices and the daily specials, which do ship very quickly, since it seems they are purging extras from the warehouse. But I was very disappointed in the communication. A nursery should let you know when back-ordered items will become available and ship, and they should not leave you hanging for months without word if they cannot fulfill your order.
I am sorry to say I cannot recommend this company, and I've had to send fellow gardeners who admired my Palibin lilac, for example, to Forest Farm or some other company that I trust will treat them right.

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America