Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Florida Colors Nursery

Click here to return to Florida Colors Nursery's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
44 positives
No neutrals
4 negatives


Negative reeve1
(48 reviews)
On Jun 28, 2010, reeve1 Plano, TX (Zone 8b) wrote:

Posted on June 17, 2010, updated June 28, 2010
Posted on June 17, 2010, updated June 17, 2010
I had my worst experience in over 30 years of gardening with these people recently. Everything started ok, I placed an order and paid. Then, a week later, I'm wondering where my order is. It finally arrived the next day and I start to go through it. The packing list shows (4) Plumeria, which is what I purchased, but only (3) are in the box. No note or mention is made of the missing cutting. Upon further inspection, it reveals one cutting has a tag with 2 different registered names on the same cutting. It says Leela AKA. Rainbow Starburst. I knew these two names referred to two different cuttings, but I even checked it with the National Plumeria Society Registry to be sure. Sure enough! So, I'm wondering what happened that cuttings are missing, one is mislabeled and no mention is given? Wouldn't they think someone would question this? So, I contact them in email and get no response for 48 hours so I call them. Carol answers and says she read the email and she offers to let me keep the cutting and she will refund it to my card. She will also immediately send the missing Duke cutting. Great! 7 days, 8 days, 9 days go by, no cutting and no refund. I contact them again by email to ask about this. I received a short and informative response. Then, the cutting arrives and it is grafted. I question this and asked why it was not rooted. I then realize it is a different Florida Plumeria company that I was dealing with that offers rooted cuttings and I immediately reply with an apology and ask them to forgive the mistake. Following this, I received the following response from Luc...


Please do me the favor to refuse the parcel coming your way. We cannot satisfy your total ignorance of horticultural principles. A full refund will be done upon receiving the returned parcel.

We rather loose as a customer and not receive any more of your ignoramus statements. Carol is pretty upset and she will not answer any of your phone calls in the future.

Luc Vannoorbeeck. Owner.
Florida Colors Nursery.

Needless to say, I am a bit flabbergasted at this bold and uncaring statement. So, I am sending the cuttings back and scratching my head as to what I did to initiate this type of childish response from someone? I think to myself, the entire world is like this now, maybe Luc is a young kid with a poor upbringing? But what's Carol's story? I upset her by asking about getting what I ordered? They are the ones that screwed this up since the beginning, not me.

Either way, I don't recommend doing business with these people. They seem to operate in a world of their own and are not organized enough to know what is going out. They don't keep things clearly labeled, as you can see from my experience and other negative complaints here about cuttings not blooming true to their label, things are missing from orders that they don't even have a clue about and they certainly don't know what the term "customer service" means. Then, they will blame YOU for their problems and verbally and personally attack you. Imagine that? Out of all this, I was the only one to apologize and I receive the above response? Go "F" yourself, Luc!

On June 17th, 2010, reeve1 added the following:

Aside from this, I agree with previous statements about staying away from grafted cuttings. If you ever hear the term "unpure", it refers to a plant that has been grafted. Pure means it has it's own root system. Most experienced Plumeria plantsman will tell you, and you can read this from several experts writings, it is not only unnecessary, it is detrimental to the plants longevity. In addition, problems can occur with Cambium layers not lining up properly effecting the plants health long term and interferring with the highway that is the transport system back to the roots. You don't see this until years down the road. You should just let the plumeria grow under it's own root system. Grafts are also unsightly, in my opinion. Read Jim Little's book on more about this. He is a legend in the hobby and a real nice guy.
On June 28th, 2010, reeve1 added the following:

Still no refund from these guys. One consistent experience is that they will say that they will do something and then you never hear from them again until weeks later when you remind them what they are supposed to do for you. This occurred several times with my orders. They are very, very slow, totally lost and incompetent. Save your hard earned money.
Negative petit_potager
(29 reviews)
On Mar 27, 2006, petit_potager wrote:

In 2004 I emailed and requested availability for over 30 cultivars of plumeria graftings that I wished to purchase for a garden design. They ignored this and two subsequent email requests for information and stock availability. I simply moseyed on down the road.

Cautiously take note that as of this writing, their order form requesting personal credit card information is not a secure site.

Negative cwells
(1 review)
On Nov 17, 2005, cwells Panama City, FL wrote:

After reviewing the other comments about this nursery, (are you folks in some sort of club or something). I can only say that I had a very similar experience to Glenda. I do not know how the term "professionals" can be thrown around so easily. It is in all facets of life so I guess it would be here too.

My experience with grafted plumerias from this nursery has not been all that hot. A couple of of the grafts have broken, and a couple that bloomed were the incorrect flower. I was told the flower was to be a Moragne #23 and when it finally bloomed it was a White Shell. It had a metal tag saying Moragne 23 so that is what I thought I was getting. My supposed Duke turned out to be something I cannot even recognize. I was in South Florida summer before last and went in and I did not see anything I would use the word professsional to describe. I tried them once but I will not again. Sorry to disagree but I can only share my own experience. I do not mean to be impolite, but that was my experience which is what I think this site is for.


Negative glenda1960
(1 review)
On Nov 7, 2005, glenda1960 Clearwater, FL wrote:

It just goes to show that you can't always believe what you read on these sites. This past summer and early fall some plants that I had ordered from this company finally bloomed after more than two years. Out of the six I ordered four bloomed, but they were not the flower they were supposed to be. I now have lost two years of time to find out they did not know the difference. They were not even close. I was very disappointed when I opened the package upon receiving the order. They all had puny looking tips which I guess were grafted on tips of other plumeria or possibly seedlings. I paid for what I thought were particular varieties only to get shrivelled up plants with ugly scars. If I pay for something I want the whole thing I paid for, not simply six inch slivers.I guess you get what you pay for. Needless to say I will never order from this company again.

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America