Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Eden Brothers Seed Company

Click here to return to Eden Brothers Seed Company's listing.

You are viewing only neutral comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
56 positives
7 neutrals
36 negatives


Neutral Spotty_dotty
(2 reviews)
On Feb 19, 2021, Spotty_dotty Bellevue, WA wrote:

I bought several seeds in Dec. 2020 from Eden Brothers. They arrived without delay and all look good. Some of them are in generic seed packets with a small sticker containing specific plant info on them, while others have packets specific to the seed they contain.

I wanted to leave reviews on their website for the lobelia seeds that have germinated well, as well as to warn others not to make the same mistake I did by buying perennial Baby's Breath without checking to see if (1) it's known for spreading uncontrollably, and (2) it's classified as a noxious weed (spoiler--it is a Class C noxious weed in WA State).

I left both a positive review about how well the lobelia "magic carpet" has germinated, as well as a cautionary one about the perennial Baby's Breath. It has been several days and neither review shows up on their website, nor have I been contacted via email about the reviews. Why have an option on your website for reviews if the reviews mean nothing and are never listed?

On Feb 19, 2021, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Feb 22, 2021 12:59 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Thank you for submitting your feedback on your received seed packets. We apologize for any frustration with our generic packets that you received. We use generic packets to fill seed packets in times when the regular printed packets have run out or are temporarily not available. Please note, all of our planting information can be found on our website, under our Planting Guide section. Regarding our posted reviews - all our reviews are processed in batches all at once, which can cause a delay in posting. It's common for scammers to take advantage of this platform, and as such, it takes additional steps for reviews to post. We truly value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

If you have further questions, please don't hesitate to contact us at [email protected]

Thank you,
Eden Brothers Team

Neutral truh
(2 reviews)
On Apr 9, 2015, truh North Kingstown, RI (Zone 6b) wrote:

When you place an order, you're given two choices: 1. email about the order status AND sales email, or 2. no email. The sales email comes out every darn day. It is possible to stop all email, but how annoying that wanting to know your order status causes all this spam. I've ranked them neutral because I haven't yet received my order yet, so I can't comment on that.

On Apr 9, 2015, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On May 7, 2015 4:29 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:


Customers are welcome to unsubscribe from promotional emails by simply clicking the "SafeUnsubscribe" link at the bottom of the email. Doing so will not prevent order confirmation or tracking emails from being sent to you."

Neutral pdorazio1
(1 review)
On Mar 9, 2015, pdorazio1 rockville,
United States wrote:

Awaiting customer service to get organic seed certification. Seeds come with no info on the certification and neither does the website. Other companies have certifier on label. Need documentation. Will follow up when company responds.

On Mar 9, 2015, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On May 7, 2015 4:26 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. The packets of organic seed that we sell do have the organic certifier on the label now. We have been in the process of transitioning from plain white packets with our logo on them to printed packets that include a picture, additional planting information and organic handling information for our organic varieties. If any additional certification information is needed, customers are welcome to contact us so we can provide that information."

Neutral desert_witch
(2 reviews)
On Apr 5, 2012, desert_witch Lucerne Valley, CA (Zone 8a) wrote:

I recently made a decent sized online seed order from EdenBros. I shopped only in their "Heirloom" section as I am primarily interested in heirloom, open pollinated seeds. When I began to catalogue my order (adding my entries to my journal here at DG) I discovered that one of the varieties of corn seed that I purchased from them, "Silver Queen" is in fact a hybrid that will not set viable seed. Having already done a bit of research regarding the definition of "heirloom" and finding that it varies a bit I called EdenBros to inquire.
The young woman I spoke to was polite and helpful and said she would look into it and get back to me either by phone or email. I received an email the next day, the text of which reads:

"Thank you for your order with Eden Brothers. I have gotten some infomration for you regarding our Silver Queen Corn and the heirloom/hybrid question. Silver Queen is a Hybrid Sweet corn, however, it is a very old hybrid. The Silver Queen was hybridized in 1955. Everyone has their own definition of heirloom - for our site we use 50 years - a seed has not been modified within the last 50 years and we consider it a heirloom. Other people use 80 years, 100 years, etc. I hope that this gives you more information
and do let us know if we can further assist you. "

Although I did find their explanation acceptable (regardless of the fact that in the main the definitions of heirloom I found elsewhere on the web stated that an heirloom should be open pollinated or listed as an "heirloom hybrid"), I am finding myself leaving them a "neutral" rating because as I further catalogued my seed purchases I discovered 2 more seed varieties that they sold me as heirloom, that did not meet their own stated minimum of being at least a 50 year old unmodified hybrid.

Neutral 4justice2
(1 review)
On Dec 29, 2011, 4justice2 Bullhead City, AZ (Zone 9b) wrote:

Posted on December 28, 2011, updated December 29, 2011
I received an email from Eden Brothers offering free shipping good for 24 hrs on any order no minimum. They also stated in the offer that it wasn't a gimmick. It was good on the 27th of Dec thru the 28th at noon. So on the 27th I went to their site and put together an order but when I went to check out it stated that the offer was expired. WHAT ? So I called customer service which was a joke. They directed me to send an email to customer service. Well, that was also a joke as 2 emails later and 2 days later I have yet to receive a reply. When a company will lie about special offers to consumers will they also lie about the quality of their products like "heirloom" ? You make the call. I for one will never order from this company and I will make sure I steer people away from them. I believe this company thinks it's a joke when they receive a customer complaint.

On December 29th, 2011, 4justice2 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

Okay, finally received a reply from Eden Brothers from Laura in Cust Serv on the 29th. She apologised and said they had a glitch in their system and offered free shipping thru the 29th. This was the first time ordering from them so I am giving them the benefit of the doubt because those things happen but I am only changing my rating to Neutral because I am taking a wait and see attitude till I receive my order.
On Dec 29, 2011, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

"On Dec 28, 2011 11:10 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:

Dear "4Justice2",
We apologize for the problem you encountered while trying to take advantage of our recent free shipping offer. Our system encountered a technical glitch which seems to have prevented our free shipping offer from working correctly on a small number of would-be customers like yourself.

This issue has been resolved and now the free shipping coupon is working properly. If you have sent an email to our customer service, you will receive an answer within 24 hours and be allowed to place an order with shipping free of charge as promised. Again, we apologize for the error.


Misty, Customer Service Specialist @ Eden Brothers

Neutral tervuren
(1 review)
On Feb 2, 2011, tervuren Jacksonville Beach, FL wrote:

Is Eden Brothers still operating?

I tried ordering online but could not complete the transaction as their d/b saw a conflict between paypal's zip code for me and the one I entered for shipping. There was no difference I could see. A phone call to customer service led to a voice mail box. My voice mail was not returned.

Neutral gardengirl827
(3 reviews)
On Nov 9, 2010, gardengirl827 Drayden, MD wrote:

I bought a new home and have been doing a lot of research for flowers and some seed to plant in my gardens. After reading the reviews on DG I chose three companies to order from based on what they offer and the reviews I found here on DG. I love Daves garden communities and all of the information! :-*
I ordered some seeds and some flower bulbs. The ordering process took a long time because I had a lot of questions but the lady I talked to in there customer service department was really helpful and friendly. I never received an email that they promised with my tracking number so I started getting nervous. I was going home after work and was planning on calling them back but when I pulled in my driveway there was a box next to my door.
Everything looked really nice but the bulbs were smaller then I thought they would be. I am sure they will grow but I am wondering if they will be as nice as some of the other bulbs I bought from other companies.
I will be buying from them again.

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top