Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Seed Empire

Click here to return to Seed Empire's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
5 positives
1 neutral
3 negatives


Negative SuzanneA
(4 reviews)
On Apr 24, 2021, SuzanneA Seattle, WA wrote:

I have tried to reach this company via email several times and have not gotten any reply. If you care to receive the quantity of seeds you order, do not order from this company. I received my seeds early this month and was extremely dismayed at the quantity. No one expects anyone to count seeds, but from what was advertised versus what I was sent, there is a vast disconnect. I don't know they are weighing or measuring seed amounts, but their measurements are far off kilter. Perhaps they add the weight of the bag and label? Either way, you don't get the quantities you order.
I was so disappointed at the seed count, I pulled out my loop and DID count the seeds in each bag. I always rounded up and yet each bag came up short. Here is what I found.
Amaranthus - ordered 500, bag actually held 150 seeds
Globe Gilia -ordered 2000, 2 bags actually held 490 seeds in one and 375 in the other.
Godetia - ordered 1000, bag actually held 350
Cosmo - ordered 300, bag actually held 175 seed
Shirley poppy - ordered 5000, bag actually held closer to 1100

Yes, it was a real pain to count these. But apparently someone should be doing a quality check there too.

Negative Mnwau
(1 review)
On Apr 14, 2020, Mnwau West Hempstead, NY wrote:

Do not trust this site. Ordered from them and asked for refund and have not received a response back for 5days now.

Negative GardenQuilts
(2 reviews)
On Feb 13, 2009, GardenQuilts Easton, PA (Zone 6b) wrote:

I was impressed with their selection and prices of herb and flower seeds but their shipping was much too high for shipping seed packets. Shipping would be over $9 for a $25 order. They offer free shipping for orders over $50 (i.e. 50 seed packets at $0.99 each). People making large orders or buying in bulk may want to check this company.

On February 19th, 2009, lorilynnand added the following:

I am writing an addendum to my original message. I send this company a private email at the same time that I posted the first review. I received replies to both as follows:

Dear Lori (via private email),

Thank you for your request.

Lori, our S&H charge for US is $4.05 first item and $0.19 each additional. If your order is $50 or more, we ship for free. How many items did you have in your cart?

Lori, we have a special promotion for you - if your order is $25 or more, we will refund 50% of S&H charge. Please let us know if it works for you, and we will email a code which you will use during checkout to get 50% off from a regular S&H charge.


Seed Empire

Dear Lori (via Dave mail),

Thank you for your feedback.

Lori, your satisfaction is our goal, and we regret that you have any negative experience with ordering. If your order would be $25.00 or more, we would like to offer you a 50% off from our regular S&H charge. Please contact us if it works for you, and we will send a code that you will use during checkout to get 50% off on S&H.

We also would appreciate, if you could revise your negative feedback. Our goal is to provide a quality customer service and maintain our reputation as a reliable supplier.

Do not hesitate to contact us.


Seed Empire

I replied as follows:

Thank you for your response to my email. I have already ordered seeds from another source. I still think that shipping prices of $4.05 first item and $0.19 each additional item are too high for mailing seed packets. Your company seems to offer good values on seeds, especially on bulk amounts and large orders. Other companies seem to offer better deals for small order customers like myself.

I am choosing not to revise my rating. I still believe that their shipping costs are too high. I can't comment on the quality of their seeds because I didn't order them. If the company desires customers with small orders, it should lower its shipping rates for small orders for ALL customers, not just offer special pricing for customers who complain.

Lori Lynn

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top