Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Porter's Rare Heritage Turkeys

Click here to return to Porter's Rare Heritage Turkeys's listing.

You are viewing only positive comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
11 positives
No neutrals
2 negatives


Positive Perro2020
(3 reviews)
On Jan 5, 2020, Perro2020 Greycliff, MT wrote:

I ordered White Holland Turkeys through Porter's Heritage Turkeys. My order was shipped to my home in Montana. The turkeys came as expected!! The poults were healthy and happy. They sent directions on how to start the poults which was wonderful. I've raised turkeys for years but I learned something new.If I've had any questions they've been prompt at answering my questions. I have to be understanding that they're busy feeding, watering and caring for there flocks. I received an extra turkey and it didn't make it but the other 14 did. Now I have increased my flock from the 14 and have hatched over 100. We had our own farm raised Thanksgiving Turkey in 2019. This company is wonderful and I recommend it.

Positive heavyChevy
(1 review)
On Jul 3, 2016, heavyChevy Gibsonville, NC wrote:

July 2016 I am a new turkey owner. The selection of heritage breeds was excellent. I placed my order about 8 months in advance.
My poults arrived in excellent condition! I did not lose any, and they gave me 2 extra just in case. They provide a lot of helpful information in the shipment. I would certainly recommend this company to anyone interested in heritage breeds. TMC in NC

Positive charliemikeoh
(2 reviews)
On Nov 5, 2014, charliemikeoh Blairsville, GA wrote:

We are new to turkeys. I ordered 16 poults in late August, for September delivery. I received communication about a delay in fulfilling my order (offering to cancel with no penalty if desired). I was completely fine with the delay; actually gave me more time to prepare. I received 17 poults. All were healthy and alert. We lost one on day 2 and one about day 9 --- likely my fault in having the heat lamp too high and them getting smothered trying to stay warm. The instructions included in the shipment proved VERY helpful (add ACV to the water, the size and dimensions of the brooder, etc.). I revamped and found a container the same size as mentioned, and that proved perfect. We are feeding Countryside Organics and have 15 healthy turkeys, that are feathering out nicely, active, and alert. One is already about 8 inches tall and about 10 inches from tip of beak to end of tail feathers has he stands. I don't know how big they are supposed to be at a month, but he is the size of our chickens at five weeks. Kevin has been available to respond to every newbie question. I would buy from Porter's again and again; no need to even consider a competitor. Delighted customer!

Positive Willowynd
(1 review)
On May 7, 2014, Willowynd Churubusco, IN wrote:

I had a wonderful experience with Porter's in 2012! I ordered royal and blue palms and they turned out great. I just wish the minimum shipping amount was smaller for those of us that don't need/ want that many turkeys, but then again I know of none that will ship under 15.

Positive johnrclark1
(1 review)
On Aug 15, 2013, johnrclark1 Potosi, TX wrote:

Ordered 20 poults from Porter's. Received an e-mail notice when they were shipped, they were shipped when I requested to have them shipped. Twenty poults arrived alive and in good health. Exactly what I wanted, exactly when I wanted it. Three days later all 20 are alive and doing well. I would definitely order from Porter's again.

Positive CarlWWagener
(1 review)
On Jul 17, 2013, CarlWWagener Cottageville, SC wrote:

Posted on July 17, 2013, updated July 17, 2013
Posted on June 25, 2013, updated July 17, 2013
We received fifty nine but ordered fifty four. We only lost one. All are doing great and growing fast. Every time we called him he returned our call in five days or less. Also he answered all our questions.

On July 17th, 2013, CarlWWagener added the following:

We ordered turkeys earlier in the season and was well p,eased with them and how well they are doing. That we order a late season order and received them today and all are doing great. We made a wish list and received almost all that we wanted. We received three bourbon red, one chocolate palm, three chocolate slate, four jersey buff, one mottled chocolate, three penciled chocolate palms, two self buff, and would recommend Porters Rare Heritage Turkeys to anyone. Acting them from 1 to 10, 10 being the best. I would give them a 10.
On July 17th, 2013, CarlWWagener added the following:

I meant rating them from 1 to 10 and 10 being the best. I would give them a 10.
Positive bernier6
(1 review)
On Aug 2, 2012, bernier6 Pomfret Center, CT wrote:

Absolutley the best turkey poults I have ever seen. Received my order of 15 with 3 extras included. Healthy, lively bunch of birds and such a selection. Very professional business people. This is the first batch of poultry we have ordered and received a phone call from the owner stating the birds were on their way. A++++++++++ We will most definately order from Porters Again.

Positive claybird
(1 review)
On Jul 26, 2012, claybird Ravensdale, WA wrote:

All I can say is Awesome. Kevin did a wonderful job geting the new hatchlings to me. No losses They were so lively & healthy.10 days old now.The best group of birds I have seen. I would recommend Porter's Rare Heritage Turkeys to any body wanting Rare Heritage turkeys.
Thank's again Kevin.

Positive tcwiley
(1 review)
On Jun 12, 2012, tcwiley Greenville, NH wrote:

I ordered 15 assorted turkeys from Porters's Heritage Turkeys and received all turkeys (plus extras) ahead of schedule (Kevin called to make sure this was ok) and healthy. These are some great turkeys and we only lost 2 which is phenomenal for day olds. They are now 6 1/2 weeks old and the little toms are showing off. :)

Positive treebird101
(13 reviews)
On Dec 9, 2011, treebird101 Bedford, IA wrote:

Posted on November 17, 2011, updated December 10, 2011
I had ordered turkeys from Kevin Porter this past year and was not pleased. After ordering 16 turkey poults, he said they would arrive near the first of April. I called the middle of April and he said the first of May. In the middle of May, it would be the next month and then the next month, all the way up until me receiving my birds the middle of July. When I called in July to find out what was going on he said they would be on their way and that some of the varieties he had to hold on to a little longer so they would be over a week old when i got them and it shouldn't be a problem, well a poultry man should know that a chick that has already absorbed its yolk sack in its 3 day window should not go 3 days without food or water and that's how long it took to get to Iowa. And much needed to say, 7 poults over a week old were week and giving up and all died within 2 days. Go figure they all cost $12 to $13 each. I called Kevin quickly to resolve this matter and he said he would refund me for the birds and he didn't think they would have taken that long to get here so i was understanding and said that would be fine. a month later, no refund. Then i had made 4 phone calls and sent an email afterward with no response back, Still no response and still no refund. Also a few of the birds were mixed and didn't turn out true to breed. A poor business man. Not recommended.

On December 9th, 2011, treebird101 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

Well, glad to have Kevin Porter contact me. It seems we had a misunderstanding. Money was refunded to a previous pay pal account that had been closed and that's why I never saw the money. It was in my wife's name, so I never saw the transaction. This was a mistake on my part, I'm sure Kevin was busy at the time and couldn't return my phone calls. Wish I would've had maters resolved before the negative post. I jumped the gun on this post. What did survive turned out beautiful and the breeds i figured to be true to type where the result of a three way cross that had a % possibility of not resulting in true desired color pattern. Lack of research on my part. Kevin has been patient towards my bitterness and understanding. he also DID provide me with proof of the refund and my error in time frame. I do apologize and hope I haven't lost a future seller. I highly recommend Porters Rare Heritage Turkeys. Kevin knows his stuff. I would have no problem with purchasing poults from him again sorry for anyone who utilized my negativity as a deterrent. This was my foolishness on a public forum board.
On Dec 9, 2011, Porter's Rare Heritage Turkeys responded with:

"On Nov 17, 2011 8:22 PM, Porter's Rare Heritage Turkeys responded with:

You were never told that your poults would arrive the first of April.
We don't even start shipping till the end of April or first of May each season. That is stated right on our website.
So I would never have told you such a thing. I don't know how you came up with that????

You were originally scheduled for mid May as your first possible ship date with the latest date that you said you would accept shipment being the end of June.

You stated that you received the poults in mid July.
They were actually sent on June 20 and they arrived at your post office two days later, not three days like you claim, I have shipping records from the USPS to prove this.

You also said I sent you 7 that were a week old, you know very well that I only sent 4 that were a week old, the rest were day olds.

Also the cost of the poults you got were not all $12- $13 each like you posted. The regal reds were $12.99, the rest you got were from $10 - $10.99.

Also on the refund, they were insured so I sent in a claim to the usps as soon as you let me know of the 4 losses.
You were then notified by the USPS to provide proof of loss to them, which you DID NOT do, so they denied the claim. So as stated on my site if the usps fails to stand by a claim I will refund for any losses, even tho you did not do your part and provide proof of loss. So once I was notified of the denial from them I sent you the refund via paypal the same way you paid me. I also have proof from paypal that I refunded your money for the 4 losses on Aug,15.
So I am not sure why you are claiming you did not get your refund???

You also did not receive mixes, not sure why you are saying that. As this is the first I have heard anything from you saying you were not satisfied with the birds you got.

You should get your facts straight before posting false info..

Porter's Rare Heritage Turkeys"

Positive desertmarcy
(1 review)
On Dec 18, 2010, desertmarcy Tucson, AZ wrote:

I purchased fertile turkey eggs as an end of season sale in August, 2010. I ordered eggs from 3 different breeds. All eggs arrived in excellent condition, were packed extremely well, labelled as to breed, and came with a hatching guideline. After a 10-day incubation, I candled the eggs and found all the eggs from one breed to be infertile, not too unusual for end of season since the fertility will drop. After email notification to the seller of this, I was given the option of refund or ship eggs from another breed which still had good fertility. I chose refund, which was sent promptly and included refund for the shipping I had paid for those eggs. Of the remaining eggs, those that I was able to hatch developed into beautiful birds (now almost 4 months old) and were the breeds I ordered--no mix-ups. I would definitely order from this company again and recommend to others.

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top