Photo by Melody
Our Annual Photo Contest is now open. We're extending the entry time until October 29th. Here's where you can enter

Comments regarding St. Clare Heirloom Seeds

Click here to return to St. Clare Heirloom Seeds's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
176 positives
2 neutrals
1 negative


Negative olga1990
(2 reviews)
On Mar 5, 2013, olga1990 Englewood Cliffs, NJ wrote:

Did not have much success with their seeds ( placed $55 order last year).
Asked for some replacements.
They sent $ 10 refund instead.
Not the best experience.

On Mar 5, 2013, St. Clare Heirloom Seeds responded with:

"On Mar 5, 2013 10:34 PM, St. Clare Heirloom Seeds responded with:

Dear Olga,

We do thank you for your input, and we are sorry for your disappointment. We appreciate the opportunity to share those reading here how we have dealt with a customer's complaints. We do feel that we offered a fair resolution, in light of our return policy ( , scroll down to view policy). You state that you asked for replacements, and while you did, you actually said in your original email, "Please sent a replacement for next season or a refund." As we do not explicitly promise either replacements or refunds, due to the varying nature of gardening(climate, weather that particular season, customer ability variances, etc.), we felt that the compensation was fair.

As we stated to the customer, most of the varieties she ordered are very popular varieties, we sell many, many packets for these particular varieties, and had no other complaints last year on these varieties, rather, we had numerous compliments on their high germination rates. We also have grown a number of them in our own garden, and had great germination rates. The few more obscure varieties that she ordered are well known for being more difficult to germinate, so we feel the results are typical to seeds of those varieties from any company. Nevertheless, we still sent a partial refund. When we have a customer writing tell us even 3-5 seed packets didnít grow well, we have no problem replacing or refunding, but in this case the customer was asking for refund or replacement on nearly the whole order, which we felt was not truly just, considering all the above mentioned factors.

Of note in this interaction is the fact that this customer just wrote to us this last week and stated that we never gave her the refund, but admits here that we did. We are glad to hear that she found that we did indeed send her the refund back in November when she wrote to us with her original request.

Olga never wrote us with a reply when we replied to her complaint back in November, never giving us any fair chance to make it further right, not telling us she was still dissatisfied. Then last week, months later she writes and tells us she checked her account, and she never got her refund, and that she wanted replacement seeds. If she had written saying she felt it was an unfair or unsatisfactory compensation, we would have willingly worked with her, but we had the sense from her emails, what she said, and her timing of writing to us(as she was getting ready to order more seeds) that this customer was not dealing fairly or in an upright way with us.

Again we are sorry, Olga, that you are not satisfied, as we truly do strive to give a positive experience to our customers when dealing with our company.

To our other valued customers and readers here at Dave's Garden, we ask that you look upon the much more numerous positive ratings as the true reflection of how we do business!

May God Bless You,

John and Sarah"

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top