Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Ferry-Morse Seed Company

Click here to return to Ferry-Morse Seed Company's listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
19 positives
5 neutrals
21 negatives


Negative violet54
(1 review)
On Jul 30, 2017, violet54 Foristell, MO wrote:

Bought a packet of Butterfly Weed, sowed in 3 1/2" pots with seed starter mix. Had about 50 % germination, but the problem was about half of the germinated plants were not Butterfly weed. As they matured I recognized them to be garden phlox. Only about 10" tall at the moment, but don't know what color they we be. Poor quality control at Ferry-Morse Seed Co. More like Very-Remorse Seed Co.

Negative ElkieH
(1 review)
On Jun 23, 2017, ElkieH Ooltewah, TN wrote:

I bought a pack of Ferry Morse spaghetti squash seeds and planted four hills of three seeds (12 plants) 7 weeks ago. Today I removed 8 of the 12 plants because they were obviously cross pollinated. Three of the 12 look like they were cross pollinated with a zucchini, two look like they were cross pollinated with a butternut squash and the others produced round fruit--like a melon. I wrote the company and they said they would send more seeds... Why would I trust their seeds and wait seven weeks to see whatever monstrosity they produce? I even sent them photos of the strange fruit. This company obviously doesn't germination test the product they get from their suppliers. The company: sells seeds under various labels so beware you might not be reaping what you sow.

Negative abeasley99
(1 review)
On Mar 11, 2017, abeasley99 Lake Charles, LA wrote:

Purchased a pack of cucumber seeds, the Sow Easy. Planted them 3 times, in the garden directly and in peat pots. Kept the soil moist the first two times and kept the soil sopping wet the third time.

Not one single seed germinated. Dug them up, except for a slightly faded color, the seeds were essentially just like they were when I planted them.

I have been gardening myself for over 40 years and with my parents for another 10 at least. NEVER had this kind of problem.

Emailed Ferry Morse for assistance, totally ignored.

Will never buy Ferry Morse seeds again, total waste of time and money.

Negative alindrose
(1 review)
On Feb 11, 2017, alindrose Boulder, CO wrote:

Not too long ago i bought a Ferry-Morse pH meter sold by FM at a price of $18.99. It was obviously made in China in association with Luster Leaf Products of Woodstock, IL. This was a biggest piece-of-shit I've ever bought in my gardening life! I'll never again buy anything from FM!

Negative gralmy
(1 review)
On Jul 4, 2016, gralmy Indianapolis, IN wrote:

I bought a package of Thumbelina Zinnias for myself and one for my neighbor. I usually buy Burpee but they were out. I've been growing zinnias my whole life. The variety of colors is one of the things I love about them.

I got all shades of PINK. No yellows, oranges, violet, etc. PINK. same with my neighbor

I also bought Giant Cactus Zinnias for both of us. They are not Cactus, they are normal zinnias.

Won't buy this brand again.

Negative Amara1111
(1 review)
On Oct 2, 2015, Amara1111 Niceville, FL wrote:

I feel a duty to inform/warn others my daughter and I both purchased alleged "organic non-gmo ferry morse seeds" from wal-mart this spring-planted garden-discovered we'd been had by gmo plants. Nothing produced although plants grew tall and even budded as if they would. After exam of both gardens we saw the same genetic deformities in both our plants. Specifically, bell peppers and tomatoes. As soon as budded the ends fell off! We are not unfamiliar with gardening just accuse of buying on the cheap. NEVER again! Its allot of work for NOTHING!!

Negative suzyk1
(1 review)
On Jun 4, 2015, suzyk1 Yarmouth Port, MA wrote:

I bought 3 packets of Ferry Morse Thunbergia (Black Eyed Susan Vine) seeds at Home Depot for $1.35 each. I got only 2 seeds each in two packets and 3 seeds in one packet. What a rip off! I'll never buy Ferry Morse again.

Negative applejelly
(1 review)
On May 28, 2015, applejelly Montgomery, AL wrote:

I purchased about 10 dollars worth of various Ferry-Morse seeds. The only seeds to germinate were the butterfly weed and only four have survived. Purchased coneflowers, zinnias, butterfly weed, climbing black eyed susan and several more.

All the Burpee seeds I planted germinated and are well established. Never purchase another Ferry-Morse packet of seeds again. They had me doubting my own green thumb! Never had such a terrible experience with seeds before.

Negative p1mkw
(11 reviews)
On Jan 22, 2015, p1mkw Danville, IN (Zone 5b) wrote:

I should have looked at the comments here before buying their seed at Lowe's ... shame on you, Lowe's for even selling their worthless seeds. I bought 3 packets of seeds ... jalapeno and California wonder peppers and spinach. not one jalapeno seed has germinated and so far nothing from the spinach either. I planted lettuce (from another source) at the same time as the spinach and it's already up. After reading some of the comments here, I wonder if the California Wonder seeds that did germinate are in fact California Wonder. Never again.

Negative Raywill
(1 review)
On Jul 6, 2014, Raywill Morton Grove, IL wrote:

I purchased Canterbury Bells Seeds from Lowes about month ago and i found that the flowers are not Canterbury Bells it is just a wiled flowers, I have the pictures after it grows up to prove it. It is a scam.

Negative mrdoitall
(3 reviews)
On Jan 18, 2014, mrdoitall Moores Mill, AL wrote:


Negative tablerocktina
(4 reviews)
On Aug 6, 2012, tablerocktina Fountain Inn, SC (Zone 8a) wrote:

This year I planted sunflowers from Ferry Morse and had zero germination rate. Also planted spinach seeds and got great germination except what came up was certainly not spinach,but an aggressive weed. I am an experienced gardener. I emailed the company just asking for them to make some kind of response, but they never responded. They've lost my business, but I don't think they care.

Negative bicyclehead
(1 review)
On Aug 24, 2011, bicyclehead Warren, MI wrote:

I have been gardening for years. I had never planted spinach or lettuce before so I had no idea what the seeds looked like. This was also the first time I planted seeds from this company. The plants that grew from the seeds from the Ferry Morse spinach and lettuce packets turned out to be nothing more than weeds. I don't like to eat weeds, complete waste of my time and money.

Negative FerryMorseRipMe
(1 review)
On Jul 12, 2011, FerryMorseRipMe Gorman, NC wrote:

Ferry Morse is Pirate Company / resaling seeds that buy from anybody. I got 20 packs of "Texas Bluebonnet", but instead y got a WEED= Commelina diffusa [a very aggressive weed] invading my garden. I talked to them in the phone, about it. they said that they buy seeds from different people.. Blah.. blah. They will send me, the seeds I want. They never send me the seeds, that I paid for.
Ferry Morse are riping off people. And even if you talk to them, they do not fix the problem, because they are THIEFS
I plan to talk to LOWE's, to advise them about it.

Negative sunnieday
(1 review)
On Sep 11, 2010, sunnieday Burbank, CA wrote:

I couldn't find any other ones where I was I bought some - and they were sprouting fine until today - so I was going replant I am trying to go organic and hopefullly will eventually be self-sustaining with solar panels and growing my own food.

Negative FlowerFriends
(1 review)
On Jul 16, 2010, FlowerFriends Fair Lawn, NJ wrote:

We bought Giant, Violet Queen Zinna Seeds from Ferry-Morse Seed Co., then planted them, and carefully watered and nursed them!
What we got were poor, single, pinkish Zinna flowers! Real trash that should not be sold--talk about enforcing Truth-in-Advertising!
We were going to complain to the company, but after doing a google-search of the company, Everyone but us knew they sold junk seeds, which were not as pictured on their seed packs!
Do NOT buy seeds from Ferry-Morse! To see what we were sold, and what actually grew, please see the posted picture at:

Negative dianne99
(5 reviews)
On May 11, 2010, dianne99 Brookville, KS (Zone 5b) wrote:

Posted on May 11, 2010, updated May 11, 2010
I will never buy this brand of seed again, and do not recommend it to anyone. It is everywhere in stores, and I've planted dozens of packets over the years. The packets have pretty (but inaccurate) pictures, and Ferry-Morse probably stays in biz selling to inexperienced gardeners and ones who do not keep brand info. After reviewing my seed info, I finally figured out that they are the worst quality seed of any I have ever grown. Not just once, consistently, over the years, different species, ... Not just germination, but plant species quality--nearly weeds. If germination is good, the plants are of such poor quality that I end up destroying them. Or seeds are of a different variety than the pack said. I formerly thought this was my fault, but no, not when it happens every time (I plant at least 30 new-to-me species per year--and examined 3 years of records). I would not buy from them if I was a beginner, you'll only get discouraged. I would not buy their brand if I was experienced, resulting plants are very poor quality--some were so bad that I am now fighting them as weeds--got almost 100% germination on that lot...go figure. Buy any other brand, esp. in a store, they are all records have proved this to me. Ferry-Morse needs to improve their quality, only their marketing and trusting buyers keep them afloat.

Negative chuckearthdog
(1 review)
On Aug 22, 2009, chuckearthdog West Lafayette, IN wrote:

Bought squash and pumpkin seeds for our garden in the spring. Plants were healthy and growth rate very good. A good amount of flowers early on and continued throughout the year. But no veggies!! The only plant that is producing a single veggie is a gourd!!! -it was supposed to be a yellow squash!! The lot number for the squash is 2009 lot01 for season USA 12/09.

Thinking that it was my garden or some other issue, I started a second batch in July with different soil conditions. Still same problem. Loads of growth, vegetable production. Something's wrong with this batch.

A neighbor friend of mine had the same probs with Ferry Morse products ( good growth, flowers and no veggies at all) At least I got a single gourd for my trouble.

We're both pretty disappointed and won't be using Ferry Morse again.

I still have seeds left over if anyone else wants to try. But I'm thinking something got botched. Next spring I'll be using anything but Ferry Morse.

Negative loiseb
(1 review)
On Jun 17, 2009, loiseb Wallkill, NY wrote:

With the rising cost of food, we decided to plant a garden. Great idea, but our mistake was using ferry morse seeds. We planted beans, peas, carrots, beets, cucumbers, and watermelon. We have hardly any plants. Very few seeds germinated. Waste of time for this year. You can bet next year we won't be using ferry morse products.

Negative bill247
(1 review)
On Apr 1, 2009, bill247 Maricopa, AZ wrote:

We purchased Ferry-Morse several kinds of vegetable seeds. Also, we purchased Burpee seeds. When we planted them in our garden, Burpee seeds did great while Ferry-Morse took 3 times the time to rejuvenate and did not grow. I mean all Ferry-Morse seeds. When I called and I was told to buy a chemical which costs $12.00 and use it. What a stupid advice. I hope Ferry-Morse go out of business.

Negative denisedelong
(1 review)
On Jul 18, 2006, denisedelong Naples, FL wrote:

I purchased a packet of seeds (Zinnia, Giant, Canary Bird) at Home Depot and for $1.79 plus tax got 8 seeds. No kidding. Is this a quality control issue or some extremely rare zinnia? The outside said 700 MG but what does that mean to me the average gardener.
No I can't take it back to the store for a refund, I've put them in starter pots already.
Not the end of the world but annoying.
I have emailed the company thru the Dave's Garden link. By the way when you go their company site their own email link isn't working.

On Jul 18, 2006, Ferry-Morse Seed Company responded with:


On Jul 19, 2006 9:56 AM, Ferry-Morse Seed Company added:

Dear denisedelong,
At FERRY-MORSE SEED COMPANY, we strive to make all our products, people, and operations perfect for you - the home gardener. We only use seeds with germination rates higher than required by the USDA, and our quality-trained personnel fill packets with these seeds on high-speed machines built especially for our industry.
I do apologize that you received a packet that was obviously underfilled. Sometimes we do make mistakes among the tens of millions of seed packets we fill each spring; however, we've not been able to continue business now for 150-years by avoiding problems an error on our part creates for you or any other home gardener.
We always listen to any unpleasant experience that may occur (sorry, we're still not perfect even though we try); and, in any rare cases of underfilled packets, we always promptly send a replacement packet of the same variety directly to the customer's home.
Please email me with the exact variety you purchased, and with your mailing address so that I can have a fresh packet sent to you immediately. If it is too late for you to plant the seed this season, simply keep the packet in your home in a cool, dry place until next spring...the seed will still be just as viable 10-months from now.
Again, denisedelong, I apologize for this inconvenience for you; and, I sincerely hope the replacement packet will at least in some small way help to rectify this error on our part.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please note that you can always reach us at 1-800-283-3400 and at should you ever need us again.
Mike Tate.
Mktg Mgr.
601 Stephen Beale Drive.
Fulton KY 42041."

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Tour | Contact Us ]

Back to the top


Hope for America