Photo by Melody

Comments regarding White Flower Farm

Click here to return to White Flower Farm's listing.

You are viewing only positive comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
185 positives
81 neutrals
134 negatives


Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next »

Positive mkh1313
(1 review)
On Feb 19, 2021, mkh1313 Marietta, GA wrote:

Ordered 3 Cherry Nymph Amaryllis for Christmas gifts. The bulbs arrived in a timely manner. The blooms have been outstanding-extremely large with a gorgeous color. Will order again.
Customer service told me how to keep the bulbs so they will bloom again.

Positive holly_grower
(11 reviews)
On Sep 9, 2020, holly_grower Bear, DE wrote:

I ordered tomato plants from White Flower Farm this spring, when most online nurseries were overwhelmed by demand and staffing difficulties. I was told to expect shipping delays. However, I received the plants, carefully packaged and in good condition, perhaps only a week or two later than I otherwise might have expected. They have thrived this year and I have since placed orders for peonies and narcissus bulbs for fall planting.

Positive LRobinson
(3 reviews)
On Jul 7, 2020, LRobinson Littleton, CO wrote:

I ordered over $550 in plants and merchandise from WFF in late winter and early spring 2020. Who could have guessed that COVID would have such an impact on Nurseries? I was impressed by the communication from the company, keeping us informed all along the way.

My favorite items are a Cretan snake jar and the plumbago and lemon star thunbergia ordered for my deck. The pairing was suggested by WFF and exceeded my expectations. Just beautiful. I also LOVE the Chateau Tuteur Large. I have a David Austin English Rose and 2 clematis starting to grow on it.

Of the many other plants ordered I did have trouble with alyssum. Box arrived torn and twisted and the plants mostly dead. WFF issued a refund immediately. A couple of other plants looked a bit sad, but have revived and are now ready to bloom, they were the big duck gold marigold and the Angelonia angustifolia Angelface.

I am very happy with WFF and found items for my garden that I couldn’t find locally.

Positive Bourret
(15 reviews)
On May 31, 2020, Bourret West Newfield, ME wrote:

I ordered 7 tomato plants from WFF this spring. They were packed perfectly and were very healthy. We planted them about one week ago and are growing beautifully!

Positive PaeonNymph
(1 review)
On Apr 25, 2020, PaeonNymph Russell, KY wrote:

Ordered $700 worth of plants from perennials, such as foxgloves and phlox to annual combination planters. Overall, I received 8 boxes of plants, and each plant was packaged extremely well with the safety in mind. Through no fault of the company, One box of plants was rather beat up, but none of the plants were damaged. All plants were received in good health except one which is exceptional considering the 40-some plants ordered. Nothing a little TLC can't fix.

Positive DonnaMack
(64 reviews)
On Apr 15, 2020, DonnaMack Elgin, IL (Zone 5a) wrote:

Posted on April 15, 2020, updated April 15, 2020
Posted on August 1, 2003, updated April 15, 2020
I have been ordering from WFF yearly since 1998. My experience is different from a lot of others' because I order primarily bulbs, including tulips, narcissus, alliums,lilies, fall and spring crocuses, anemones, and so on. The quality has consistently been excellent. One of the reasons that I order hundreds of bulbs from them is that I do a "per bulb" cost analysis, and in quantities from 3 to under 50 they are usually cheaper than others, even if the others have an early bird discount (particularly in the 10-12 range - I can't use 50 of a single tulip). I have also ordered sensational peonies (3 Festiva Maxima, 2 years ago, for $19.95) and ferns. These, I suspect, are the areas in which the company excells, which perhaps explains the conflicting responses. I have ordered only a handful of perennials, but the campanula persificolia (12) I ordered years ago were great, and when I reported that one of them died, they sent three as a replacement. (I stopped ordering these types of perennials when I realized how easy they were to grow from seed). I did order a baptisia australis from them that established itself and bloomed in a single season; some I ordered from another company took three years to do the same.

I recently sent them an e-mail because a particularly trio of lilies did not appear. They left a message with a toll free number, and when I called informed me that they had already put in an order for replacement. When one particularly finicky allium failed to appear in sufficient numbers, they apologized that they no longer carry it and asked what other allium I would like. I named a more expensive one, was congratulated on my great taste, and done!

For bulbs, ferns, and peonies, then, they are my first stop each year.

On June 4th, 2004, DonnaMack added the following:

Just an additional note. For certain specialty items, WFF is phenomenal. As a substitute for a less than great performing set of allium atropurpureums (an allium I have ordered from several different companies, and its performance has always been mediocre), I requested allium karavatiense, and it was spectacular. I put in 12, and 12 perfect specimens came up large and robustly. My Vie en Rose daffodils (pink division 1 daffodils are few and far between) have been great performers. The Festiva Maxima peonies I referred to in my earlier e-mail are in bloom, and put all the others I see in neighbor’s yards to shame. Lastly, I was seeking a red rose with certain qualities, decided on Tess of the D’Urbervilles, and found that WFF was the only supplier. I ordered six roses from three different suppliers, and all are very good, but this bare rooted specimen is the largest and most vigorous. It was also, at $19.95, the most expensive, but because of its quality I felt I received my money’s worth. Their lilies are great too. But if I were seeking a shrub, on the other hand, I would go with Forest Farm – I have eight great shrubs from them – so far. Perennials – Munchkin or Bluestem, especially since WFF is so expensive and the quality, from the feedback I am reading, is not there.
On April 15th, 2020, DonnaMack added the following:

I thought I was taking a bit of a chance ordering 2 President Lincoln lilacs from White Flower Farm but WOW am I impressed. I received, yesterday, 34 inch tall completedly budded out plants. I ordered them at my last home from a fabulous company that sent me tubes that grew into wonderful plants, but these were as big as those were after three years.

The packaging was superb. They could not be more perfect if I had gotten them from a garden center and driven them home.

The price and the shipping costs were, I thought, quite reasonable until I saw them. Now I think I got a steal!

Thank you White Flower Farm.
On April 15th, 2020, DonnaMack added the following:

I must add something else that I just realized. As I noted above, I received containerized 34-inch plants. The plants described on the website were 12-18 inch bare-root plants for $32 each plus shipping.

So I received plants that were twice as big as promised, and White Flower Farm honored the original price of $32 each plus shipping.

I am blown away!!

Thank you for being more than honorable WFF!

Positive PlantTillPlantd
(10 reviews)
On May 13, 2019, PlantTillPlantd Mount Pleasant, PA wrote:

I ordered a few select annuals that arrived today, everything looked quite happy and healthy upon unpacking. White Flower Farm is always a great source for gardening inspiration, I love their selection, but they are definitely pricey. I find that paying more for plants helps to ensure that you get what you want, without unwanted outcomes such as new diseases for your garden. Plus a guarantee on the plants you purchased. It's worth the extra money, especially for gardeners with small gardens. I will definitely order more hard to find goodies from them in the future! Thanks!

Positive dacoitdan
(11 reviews)
On May 1, 2018, dacoitdan Lanexa, VA wrote:

Received my first order. I ordered dahlias. They shipped at the proper time and were healthy. Good experience.

Positive dawnhouston
(1 review)
On Jan 16, 2018, dawnhouston Houston, TX wrote:

As a gardener from the northeast transplanted to Texas, I would like to share my compliments for WFF. I miss my visits to their beautiful garden in Litchfield, which is worth the trip for anyone venturing through the area. My garden in CT was bountiful with many WFF plants. Their plants were of the highest quality. I can't wait to receive my next spring shipment in Texas!

Positive Ves
(13 reviews)
On Dec 14, 2017, Ves Buffalo, NY (Zone 5b) wrote:

White Flower Farm has fabulous delphiniums. They might be comparatively more expensive than elsewhere, but are absolutely worth it. It was my first order from them, delph. bloomed fairly quickly and rebloomed during the summer. Stunning color and form. I've already ordered more for next year. Great shipping and packaging too.

Positive collectorpalms
(15 reviews)
On Dec 8, 2017, collectorpalms College Station, TX wrote:

Expensive bulbs and shipping for tulip Bulbs! Only ordered bulbs that I couldn't find elsewhere. The bulbs were plump though. Second time ordering.

Positive Mylena1
(13 reviews)
On Jul 6, 2017, Mylena1 Cliff Island, ME wrote:

For the first time I ordered two hydrangeas from this company and I was amazed at what I got. The plants were big and healthy, and I even divided one bush into two. After planting the hydrangeas immediately started to bloom - all three of them. I was also amazed at the choice of hydrangeas this company has. I will order here again. THANK YOU!

Positive NJFlowers
(2 reviews)
On May 20, 2017, NJFlowers Randolph, NJ wrote:

I wish you could leave a review somewhere between neutral and positive. I want to LOVE White Flower Farm (oh that catalog!), but I only like them. The positives: good selection, especially of perennials that can be hard to find elsewhere; stuff ships when they say it will and at appropriate time for planting; good performance of some plants. The negatives: high prices; small plant sizes; and occasional poor plant performance. So I have kind of figured out over the years what I can and can't buy from them. I won't do shrubs anymore after I was sent a lilac twig that died and I won't do daylilies as places that specialize in these flowers are superior for that. I do turn to WFF for perennials I can't find elsewhere, just knowing the cost will be high, the plants will be small, and my husband will say, "You spent $200 for THAT!" But they are plants and will grow. The iris I planted from WFF last year are gorgeous--the stars of my garden right now. The perennials I planted earlier this spring were small but are doing well. My bare root roses are thriving. So I'd say order from WFF but just adjust your expectations, especially for cost, accordingly.

Positive BethAtlBeach
(1 review)
On May 18, 2017, BethAtlBeach Atlantic Beach, NY wrote:

I have been a White Flower Farm customer for many years and not only buy plants for my garden, but also regularly give White Flower Farm gift certificates to friends and family who garden.
I order my plants in February to make sure I get the heirloom tomatoes and hard to get plants that often sell out.
The plants usually come around Mother's Day. This year they came early, and for some reason, several of the plants did not make it. In the past I have had one or two that did not survive, but this year I had 8 (of 36) that didn't make it..
True to their word, when I called, they promised to replace the plants that didn't make it, no questions asked. While some of the more popular, heirloom plants were, unfortunately, sold out, White Flower gave me the option of replacing them with different varieties, or getting a credit.
I like that they stand by the plants that they sell, and that their customer service is nice, and helpful.
I would definitely recommend White Flower Farm.

Positive CCplantlover
(2 reviews)
On May 3, 2017, CCplantlover Falmouth, MA wrote:

I ordered two orders of "The Works" Daffodil collection last summer (200 bulbs); the bulbs arrived in time for planting last fall. The bulbs were good sized and in excellent condition. I planted them within a week. This spring they are simply gorgeous. Many are large flowered, fragrant, quite a few double flowers and a great variety of color. I will be ordering more bulbs this year as I want to increase the area devoted to spring bulbs. I've ordered from this company for a number of years and have always been pleased with the plants and have always had good service.

I have daffodils that are blooming now that were put in a number of years ago. I have found that bulbs planted in shady locations will often "peter out" over time; that's mostly due to location (light) and neglect (the bulbs do need to be fertilized after flowering). But bulbs that are planted in sunny locations and fertilized continue to expand and product beautiful flowers year after year. I've been very happy with my experience with White Flower Farm.

Positive southampton
(1 review)
On Apr 18, 2017, southampton Palmetto, GA wrote:

Through no fault of this company, I never received the White Wisteria or Day Lily that I ordered. The problem was clearly on my end, but Diana and Donna gave me a credit for the honor anyway! Now, this is customer service that goes way beyond expectancy.

I give them five stars for listening to my problem and assisting me in a most professional and caring way!

Because of this alone, I will look first for my plants at this fine company!

On Apr 18, 2017, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Apr 21, 2017 7:11 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for the feedback about your experience with White Flower Farm. Our customers deserve the very best and we are always looking for positive resolutions to all circumstances. I will certainly let Diane & Donna know you were thrilled with their service.

We look forward to assisting you with your gardening needs in the future.

Michelle, Manager of Customer Service"

Positive raspberrypicket
(5 reviews)
On Apr 11, 2017, raspberrypicket Circleville, OH wrote:

I ordered two lily collections (36 bulbs) and received them last week. The lily bulbs were big and plump and looked freshly dug! They exceeded all my expectations! I compared the White Flower Farm lily bulbs to those I bought at a big box store, and the store lily bulbs were tiny and dried out. I am looking forward to seeing and smelling the lilies later this summer! The size and quality of White Flower Farm lily bulbs were outstanding! (Circleville, Ohio)

On Apr 11, 2017, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Apr 21, 2017 6:44 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive comment about your experience with White Flower Farm. We would love to see pictures of your lily flowers in bloom. Feel free to post a review of them and include a picture on our Website or visit our Facebook page and post a picture once they are in bloom. We appreciate your business & look forward to assisting you again in the future.

Michelle, Customer Service Manager"

Positive KDboodo
(3 reviews)
On Jan 13, 2017, KDboodo Irving, TX (Zone 8a) wrote:

This review is written about a RECENT experience, not something from years ago like some of the reviews which I find so useless.

They are very serious about making sure you are happy with your purchase; five stars!

I chose to order 2 Daphne amaryllis bulbs from White Flower Farm this fall (2016) I had one bulb bloom not true to color. I was offered a replacement bulb from whatever varieties were still in stock (this variety being sold out) or a replacement of the same bulb sent next year. They even offered to let me wait and ensure the second bulb bloomed true before submitting the request. When they heard the second bulb was blooming the right color, but only 2 blooms per stalk (which I had figured might just be a quirk to this variety) they decided to send a replacement for it too! I will get my replacements next year, as I like this variety and did not want the others. This was my first order from WFF, and I will be keeping them on my list of places to order from :)

On Jan 13, 2017, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Feb 3, 2017 12:42 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your review and speaking about your recent experience with White Flower Farm. We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our resolution. We pride ourselves in providing top quality products and a generous guarantee. We want all of our customers to be successful and satisfied with our products and service. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you!

Michelle - Manager of Customer Service"

Positive willworkfordirt
(4 reviews)
On Aug 3, 2016, willworkfordirt wrote:

I purchased a Waterfall Japanese maple from White Flower Farm this past spring and it is doing well so far.

I was very impressed with how carefully packaged the maple was when it arrived and the delivery was timely.

On Aug 3, 2016, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Aug 9, 2016 7:04 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so glad you liked the Waterfall Japanese Maple – it's actually one of my personal favorites! We look forward to assisting you again with your future gardening needs.

Michelle Tranquillo
Customer Service Manager"

Positive smilingred
(4 reviews)
On Jul 7, 2016, smilingred Madison, WI (Zone 5a) wrote:

Every time I've moved over the past 20 years, I've ordered 100 mixed daffodils and 25-50 mixed daylilies to jump start my garden my garden.
Even though I've done this many times, I'm always impressed with the results each spring.
Thank you White Flower Farm

On Jul 7, 2016, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Aug 9, 2016 7:17 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you so much for your feedback. We would love to see pictures of your gardens in the spring! Feel free to post them on our Facebook page or email them directly to [email protected].

We also have several new daffodil offerings this fall. If you haven't seen them yet, take a look on our Website - We look forward to assisting you again this fall season.

Michelle Tranquillo
Customer Service Manager"

Positive Elspeth65
(6 reviews)
On Jun 13, 2016, Elspeth65 Stow, OH wrote:

My father has always sent me flower arrangements from WFF for my birthday, so last summer when we started "remodeling" our garden I decided to give them a try. I ordered some Snow-in-Summer and ajuga, plus 2 Brazelberry bushes, one blueberry and one raspberry. Everything arrived promptly and packaged well, and the potting medium was still moist. A couple weeks later I ordered some foxglove and the lavender goodwin basket - both arrived when promised and were large and healthy. (I did manage to kill the lavender over the winter, but I don't fault WFF for that, just my own black thumb.) In July my dad sent me a gift card instead of a bouquet, and I bought some Iris New Moon and several peonies. Again, shipped at the right time and packed with care.

I had berries on my bushes within a few weeks of receiving them last summer. They overwintered well and are bushy and healthy now, the blueberry bush is already covered in berries. The digitalis did not flower last year, but I did not expect it to. The ajuga and snow-in-summer are happily spreading and flowering, and the peonies and iris are huge and have given me multiple blooms already.

I ordered a white azalea this spring, and it is the cutest little thing. So far it is doing well.

I have been very happy with my experiences with WFF and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

On Jun 13, 2016, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Aug 9, 2016 7:21 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

We are so thrilled to hear how happy you are with all your White Flower Farm plants and ordering experiences. Thank you for taking the time to post such kind comments. Please don't hesitate to contact us for gardening advice or to help you with a future purchase. Thank you for your continued patronage.

MIchelle Tranquillo
Customer Service Manager


Positive MollyBlooms
(12 reviews)
On May 4, 2016, MollyBlooms Grosse Pointe Farms, MI wrote:

Ordered three coleus plants and they arrived in decent shape, although the planting medium for each was bone-dry -- no wonder, since they were shipped late in the previous week and so had a weekend to dry out before arriving the following Monday. The next day the coleus looked better after a good watering. I'd give this experience a "B."

Positive themagoos
(1 review)
On Oct 6, 2015, themagoos Owasso, OK wrote:

“White Flower Farm has the BEST customer service and I truly appreciate that, especially when customer service is declining in so many businesses today!”

On Oct 6, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Oct 7, 2015 9:29 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive comment. We appreciate your business & look forward to assisting you again in the future.

Michelle, Customer Service Manager"

Positive ellenfoster
(10 reviews)
On Sep 20, 2015, ellenfoster Hinesburg, VT wrote:

This is a lukewarm +. I've ordered bulbs and plants from them in the past. The bulbs were large and healthy. The plants were only OK. They have a good cross the board selection. I've also used them for Christmas presents- "buy 3 for different addresses" as well as some miniature live Christmas trees. These are great for my dad, since they arrive pre-lit and with decorations, but they have been disappointing to me. None of my Christmas trees have made it to being replanted outdoors, but my local nursery told me that I could not expect them to be inside for a month and survive for re-planting. WFF sight does not give adequate detail for me to know this. Nothing wrong, just not great. They are expensive and the shipping charges are appalling.

Positive nitzi1944
(12 reviews)
On Jul 16, 2015, nitzi1944 Kings Park, NY (Zone 7a) wrote:

Posted on November 15, 2014, updated July 16, 2015
Posted on October 8, 2014, updated November 15, 2014
Posted on October 7, 2014, updated October 8, 2014
I had a gift cert. I ordered some Carnegie hyacinths and specifically told the phone person I wanted them delivered the VERY END of Oct. This is b/c I am having knee surgery the beginning of next week. Guess what? They just arrived and it will be 75 degrees today. Too warm to plant bulbs. I am going to refrigerate them. The shipping charges are TWICE the price of any other reliable catalog bulb seller like Brent and Becky or Colorblends.WFF is VERY overpriced and if it weren't for the gift cert., I wouldn't have ordered. MY first experience with WFF. I don't think I'll order again.

On October 8th, 2014, nitzi1944 changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

I am impressed by the offer of WFF to refund shipping charges on my original and also to resend the bulbs at the end of the month when I will be home from the rehab facility after knee surgery. Gives me hope that companies want to keep a customer. I am taking advantage of this offer b/c I don't know if the refrigerated bulbs will survive. I am changing my rating to positive b/c of this offer. Thank you WFF!
On November 15th, 2014, nitzi1944 added the following:

I received the replacement Carnegie hyacinths. Thank you for your kind consideration and offer. I got someone to plant them for me and look forward to Spring. WFF came through for me.
On July 16th, 2015, nitzi1944 added the following:

I must say, the white Carnegie hyacinth bulbs were gorgeous. They were very large. They bloomed for a long time and I received sooooo many compliments.
On Jul 16, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Oct 7, 2014 10:53 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

I am sorry to hear that we shipped your order earlier than you requested. Please contact us at 800-411-6159 or [email protected] so we can refund your shipping and handling charge and or replace the order to ship at the very end of October as you requested. If you wish to store them in your refrigerator, please make sure the temperature does not go below 40 degrees. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We look forward to correcting this error for you.
Customer Service Manager

On Jul 16, 2015 8:09 AM, White Flower Farm added:

We are delighted to hear that you were pleased and complimented on the Carnegie hyacinth bulbs. Feel free to write a product review and upload any pictures you might have of them on our website at:

Thank you for taking the time to update your review.

Customer Service Manager

Positive BeaGardener
(2 reviews)
On Jul 9, 2015, BeaGardener Lexington, MA wrote:

In 2014 I ordered 5 ajuga plants, 3 lithodora plants, and 3 "Tutti Frutti" agastache plants from White Flower Farm. In May 2015 I was very concerned that these plants had not made it through the winter. After contacting White Flower Farm, their Customer Service promptly emailed good advice about the ajuga plants: do the scratch test at the plant crowns, and if one sees green, the plants are alive, just slowly waking up. What a relief to find this to be true of the 5 plants! As for the 6 other dead plants, WFF CS requested that I send photos of the dead ones. My husband photographed the dead plants with his phone, and I uploaded and sent the photos to WFF. They had already refunded all 6 to my credit card, and acknowledged and thanked me for the photos. I am satisfied by the entire experience, as everyone who contacted me was helpful, polite, and responded as I had hoped they would. As a result, I will continue to be interested in their business!

On Jul 9, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Jul 16, 2015 8:11 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your White Flower Farm order experience. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Customer Service Manager"

Positive gardenkarma
(9 reviews)
On Jul 3, 2015, gardenkarma Allston, MA wrote:

I'm not usually daft at ordering from mail-order garden companies online. I do it enough to have experience with what to expect, so my experience ordering with this company may simply be an isolated incident. I ordered a flower assortment for hanging baskets only to realise the (read: high) price didn't even include a basket. Just 4 flowers - annuals. OK fine, that's on me for assuming.

Only 2/4 of the flowers arrived. OK fine, they let me know on the packslip that the rest would ship when available. Communication was key! Unfortunately, the 2 that did arrive were thrown about the packaging so that the soil was everywhere but in the pots (no damage visible to the box from the outside) and the plants were small and yellowed on arrival. Those 2 flowers shrivelled and died before their partners arrived. Requested replacements, was met with no resistance whatsoever, ultimately received 4 healthy flowers - packaged beautifully this time! The difference was like night and day. Plastic around damp soil - that stayed in the pots - little bits of cardboard to keep things spaced and in place. They must have hired an engineer between my shipments. Joking and trouble aside, the flowers were given a home in a shoddy hanging basket I made myself (cringe, it's all right) and they even came back from the "dead" this year. Can't really complain about any of it in the long run.

On Jul 3, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Jul 16, 2015 8:23 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

We appreciate your feedback on your order experience with White Flower Farm. I informed our public relations and product development teams about the confusion with the hanging basket. We will strive for a solution that will ensure future customers do not experience the same confusion as you experienced.

I am pleased to hear that your additional two items and the replacements arrived in great condition. We look forward to assisting you in the future.

Customer Service Manager"

Positive MattW1969
(5 reviews)
On May 10, 2015, MattW1969 Fremont, OH wrote:

Ordered a clematis and a Miss Molly butterfly bush. Was very pleased with both plants. Miss Molly was larger and more robust than I had expected. Would recommend.

On May 10, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On May 19, 2015 10:46 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your feedback. Feel free to post a review with pictures on our website ( of the clematis and or Miss Molly butterfly bush. We look forward to serving you again!

Customer Service Manager


Positive titaniumhipster
(1 review)
On Dec 16, 2014, titaniumhipster Glen Oaks, NY wrote:

BoldChat Support

Thanks for contacting us. An operator will be with you shortly …

(Val) Hello, my name is Val. How may I help you?
(Paul) I’ve got some questions about your terrariums.
(Val) Certainly.
(Paul)Well Val. You seem pretty confident. Let’s see if you can give me some accurate answers to my questions. Last year I bought a “Stained Glass” terrarium. This year I want a “Victorian Conservatory.” How do I avoid any overlap in the plants they contain?
(Val) I’m not sure I understand your question…do you mean how do you space them accordingly so that the plants don’t end up on top of each other?
(Paul) Nooooooooooooooo. What I meant was if terrarium #1 contains an African Kaboodle plant, how can I avoid the plant present in terrarium #2?
(Val) Well, the kits are set up as collections. So in terms of switching plants out for different ones, I’m afraid we can’t do that.
(Val) In the Victorian Conservatory, there is Ruby Red Club Moss, Button Fern, Peacock Moss, Pin Cushion Spikemoss and a Bird’s Nest Fern.
(Paul) O.K. Could you list the plants present in the “Stained Glass” kit and the ones present in the “Victorian Conservatory” kit? This would help get started in choosing which kit I want.
(Val) Absolutely. Listed above your last text is the Victorian Conservatory, let me get the elements for the Stained Glass. Just one moment please.
(Paul) I await your answer.
(Val) In the Stained Glass, there is: Pin Cushion Spike moss (Selaginella kraussiana “Brownii’) Pin Cushion Spike moss (Selaginella kraussiana ‘Aurea’) London Pride, Button Fern, Tricolor Fern and Ruby Red Club Moss.
(Paul) It would be great if you could show me color photos of each of the plants you have listed. If you can do so I will be your friend forever (well for at least twenty minutes.)
(Val) I will try to find some for you. Can I try to attach them in an email to you?
(Paul) That would be great! Thanks for your efforts on my behalf.
(Val) Not a problem. Could you please provide me with your email address?
(Paul) [email protected]
(Val) Okay. Give me just a few and I will send the email over.
(Paul) That would be a great help.
(Val) Not a problem at all. I am happy to help.
(Paul) I’m standing by.
(Val) Paul, I have just sent the email over.
(Paul) O.K. I need a few minutes to find it.
(Val) Sure.
(Paul) Got it! If it was within my power to grant you a holiday bonus I would do so but for now a hardy slap on the back for a job well done will have to do.
(Val) Why thank you! If it’s not too much to ask, in place of a bonus perhaps you could give up a nice review on Dave’s Garden?
(Val) J
(Paul) Dave’s Garden? Who? What? Where?
(Val) It’s a website, where customers post review about every single nursery out there.
(Val) [[email protected]]
(Val) Called Dave’s Garden Watchdog
(Paul) Well, how about that! I’ll get on it right away OR as soon as I get the wording to my liking OR as soon as I prioritize it. But I will get it done. You guys certainly deserve it. Especially you Val.
(Val) Paul, thank you so much. I will tell my manager, and she will be happy to hear this as well as see the review. Thank you so much again.
(Paul) Well you not only talked the talk but you really did walk the walk. Over and out.
(Val) Take care Paul!

The operator has ended the chat. Thanks for contacting us.

As a result of this chat I DID buy the Victorian Conservatory terrarium. Paul Tobin Floral Park, NY

Positive joevai1
(4 reviews)
On Nov 26, 2014, joevai1 Montrose, CO wrote:

Posted on November 18, 2014, updated November 26, 2014
I'm not happy to be writing this review because I've dealt with this company for many years. Their prices are high but everything I have received from them has been stellar quality and perfectly packaged for shipping. However, I feel I should give a warning about ordering their amaryllis bulbs. I received the rest of my bulb orders in a timely fashion but no amaryllis. Each order showed they would be shipped "separately". I placed this order in September so I would have the bulbs in plenty of time to flower out for Christmas. Since it is after the middle of November I called for a status of my order and was told the bulbs were just now beginning to be shipped and that somewhere in "the book" (I assume the catalog) it states that they won't be in bloom for Christmas. I still haven't been able to find that caveat anywhere. My order was checked and the bulbs shipped yesterday - still not enough time for a Christmas bloom. When I stated that I should have bought the bulbs locally I was told they are much smaller which, of course, I know and that's why I was willing to pay a premium price for these bulbs. I'm just very unhappy that I didn't know about the shipping date in advance. As a parting sentiment, the rep noticed that I live in Colorado where it's been very cold and said she hoped they didn't freeze. When I questioned her she said that they ship UPS and sometimes the plants sit in the truck for a long time and that White Flower Farms had no control over that. That made me feel warm and fuzzy about my order. Not only are they later than expected but they may be frozen mush when I get them. There are many other reputable companies out there to order from. Guess in the future, I'll be ordering from them.

On November 26th, 2014, joevai1 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

I have happily changed my rating from negative to positive. A rep from the company contacted me and assured me this was a one-time incident. She then immediately took care of my problem to my sincere satisfaction. I'm pleased to be able to say I'll be buying from them again. It's said that you really only know a company by how they treat you when things go wrong. I couldn't have asked for a better response. In addition, the rep has also contacted their publication department to make sure that in the future customers are aware of the bloom time for the amaryllis. As a footnote, the bulbs finally arrived and they were not frozen!
On Nov 26, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Nov 18, 2014 3:24 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with our amaryllis bulbs. I apologize that you were not aware when you placed your order that our Dutch and cybister amaryllis do not ship until mid November and take 8-10 weeks to bloom. Dutch and cybister amaryllis need a cold treatment and therefore ship later than our South African amaryllis (which ship in mid October). We ship all our products UPS or US Priority Mail and we carefully watch the weather to prevent any freezing or cold damage. In addition, we guarantee our products 100%.

We value you as a customer & I would be happy to compensate you for your dissatisfaction. I am unable to locate your order with the information provided above, so please contact me at your earliest convenience at at [email protected].

Michelle Tranquillo
Customer Service Manager "

Positive preashannah
(1 review)
On Nov 21, 2014, preashannah nj,
United States wrote:

I am AMAZED at the customer service of this company.

I has no idea about their guarantee when I bought my plants and when they arrived I was not satisfied so I called them up and within seconds they had refunded my full order and said I could keep the plants.


I will definitely order again!

Positive Jadwin59
(14 reviews)
On Sep 29, 2014, Jadwin59 Rochester, NY (Zone 6a) wrote:

I ordered 7 "blue billow" gallon-sized lacecap hydrangeas in early September and received the order about two weeks later. The plants were carefully packed, in excellent condition with minimum breakage and sizeable, moist rootballs. They have thrived since being planted in a prepared bed.

WFF is not cheap, but it's a good source for a cultivar that I couldn't find locally at this time of year, and the plants appear to be very high quality.

On Sep 29, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Sep 29, 2014 11:57 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your positive feedback. Feel free to take pictures of your Blue Billow next spring when they are in bloom & post them with a review on our website at We appreciate your business.

Customer Service Manager


Positive artistgardennyc
(1 review)
On Sep 22, 2014, artistgardennyc New York City, NY wrote:

I realize people have varying experiences with ANY retailer these days so I don't mean to refute the negative comments. I can only say that I have always rec'd excellent plants that have thrived beautifully in my NYC garden. Recently, one of my new three digitalis plants did not thrive well. I called for advice and the White Flower Rep immediately offered to replace all three of them, no charge, because they are sent in sets of three. I thought this was quite generous.

On Sep 22, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Sep 29, 2014 12:27 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope the replacement digitalis are thriving well!

Customer Service Manager

Positive judypal
(1 review)
On Aug 19, 2014, judypal Waterbury, CT wrote:

In the last 3 months, I needed to identify 2 plants. I emailed White Flower Farm with each picture and I received the identifications immediately. The emails were courteous and precise. I live in CT and have dealt with them in the past and have always received excellent service.

On Aug 19, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Aug 20, 2014 7:50 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We were very happy to help you identify the plants. Please contact us anytime in the future. Happy Gardening!

Michelle Tranquillo
Customer Service Manager"

Positive lovetogarden32
(2 reviews)
On May 22, 2014, lovetogarden32 hartford,
United States wrote:

Read all the reviews and decided to order anyway.. I usually buy locally but this time I tried mail order. I usually don't leave feedback but wanted to give this company a high five!

I ordered tomatoes and vegetable plants from White Flower and was impressed at the quality. I had a question about planting and called the customer service department which was able to answer all my questions quickly. Very polite & great quality. More expensive then I'd prefer but I will happily pay more for great service & product.

On May 22, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On May 22, 2014 12:04 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your feedback. Feel free to take pictures of your tomatoes & vegetables at harvest time & post them with a review on our website at We appreciate your business.

Customer Service Manager "

Positive Lazydaisy153
(12 reviews)
On May 19, 2014, Lazydaisy153 Lilburn, GA wrote:

I place an order with White Flower Farm on 5/9/2014. It was for the Dawn to Dusk Collection. When it arrived, I immediately noticed that I was sent the wrong rose. I called Customer Service and spoke with Carol Ann. She was apologetic about the wrong product. She informed me that I should have been called by Shipping and told that they did not have this particular rose in stock. She went out of her way to track down an acceptable substitute for me. Carol Ann shows exceptional customer service .

On May 19, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On May 21, 2014 9:54 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your positive feedback. I will share this kind post with Carol Ann.

Customer Service Manager"

Positive myrelle22
(3 reviews)
On Apr 1, 2014, myrelle22 Belton, TX wrote:

This is the second time I have ordered from White Flower Farm. Both times my order was received in great condition. I was leery of ordering potted plants to be shipped, but they did an outstanding job. The plants arrived in perfect condition. I gave them a little water and they perked right up. I highly recommend this company.

Positive ScienceChick
(2 reviews)
On Mar 14, 2014, ScienceChick The Colony, TX (Zone 8a) wrote:

Ordered amaryllis bulbs - both potted and unpotted - for Christmas. They arrived on the third day of a five day ice storm (unusual for Texas). Sadly, they must have been frozen or nearly frozen at some point because all the bulbs rotted.

I called WFF (note - called, not emailed) and, although it really wasn't their fault that the bulbs froze, they replaced them. The customer service rep was very nice and very helpful. They were out of the varieties I had originally ordered but the rep took the time to find others that were close.

It did take a bit for the replacements to arrive due to bad weather in New England. The bulbs are HUGe and healthy. All are growing well and have multiple buds.

It's really nice to do business with a company that does what it says it will. When they say 100% guaranteed they mean it.

Positive DanSpitz_Guitar
(5 reviews)
On Oct 26, 2013, DanSpitz_Guitar Bellport, NY wrote:

I'm surprised at the negative reviews here....I've ordered from them multiple times in the past few weeks, and each item has shipped out in a timely fashion...the Globemaster Allium bulbs I ordered from them were really big and healthy looking; same for the Hydrangea Color Fantasy plants I ordered from them...nice size, very healthy looking...and same for the Grape Hyacinth bulbs I ordered from them---very healthy too....YES, this company is a little pricey, but everything I ordered was shipped fairly fast and looked quite healthy...I give them a thumb's up....

On Oct 26, 2013, White Flower Farm responded with:

"On Dec 17, 2013 12:12 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:

Thank you for your kind words! We pride ourselves in shipping top quality, hardy and healthy plants to our customers.

Customer Service"

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next »

Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Contact Us | Do Not Sell My Personal Information]

Back to the top