Comments regarding White Flower FarmClick here to return to White Flower Farm's listing.
You are viewing only negative comments
|On Sep 29, 2020, Frances60 Santa Cruz, CA wrote:
I had a similar (unhappy) experience to that of another reviewer here. I contacted WFF about issues with the quality of plants they sent (two roses out of five arrived in horrible condition, showing signs that they had been in their carton for far too long, and UPS screwed up the delivery of a box of perennials). I found that the WWF customer service phone line is never answered, so I contacted the company through email. I got an automated email response saying they would address the issue soon. But they never did. I assume they never will. Terrible customer service equals terrible company, in my opinion. It’s a shame, because WWF was once a reliable, friendly company. It is always a red flag if you cannot talk to a company representative over the phone!
|On Jul 18, 2020, hillhl2 Detroit, MI wrote:
After receiving six plants--two nearly dead and four dead--on June 9, I took photos of all the plants in their packaging and sent an email with the photos to White Flower Farms on June 10 asking for my money back. Plant replacement would have been fine as well but I have received no response of any kind. The email I used is the customer service email as indicated on the WFF website. I have also tried to call, but the voice mail refers customers, again, to the same customer service email. I have now sent five emails to White Flower Farm and have received no reply whatsoever--not even an automatic receipt of email. I am so disappointed in White Flower Farm. Their customer service used to be very good. I'll never order from them again--they sent me dead plants!
|On May 23, 2020, CT_Transplant Springfield, IL wrote:
I’ve been a loyal White Flower Farm customer back to 2005 when I bought my first house in Bristol, Connecticut. I had a work-related relocation that brought me to Springfield, Illinois, but I continued to use White Flower Farms for superior tomato plants. I purchased for a few years with no issues and wonderful, healthy plants. NOT THIS YEAR.
|On May 19, 2019, 2017ginger Shaftsbury, VT wrote:
Posted on May 8, 2019, updated May 19, 2019
On May 19th, 2019, 2017ginger added the following:
(This is my email to customer service) Good morning- A package was delivered (left on my porch) on Saturday. I'm not even sure if this is the 'complete order', as the status of the order is still saying 'open'. I have not opened the package, I am refusing this order /package (I had cancelled, as I stated over the phone with XXXX on 2 May, yet it miraculously shipped that day, all of the sudden). I have been checking my order status daily and there has never been a 'shipping' status. Nor was there ever an email sent out to me regarding when my order shipped (as your website stated it would do)
Well...This order is still in 'not yet complete' status as of today at 4:30am. This order has been nothing but a complete run around for me, giving me anxiety and stress. Needless to say, I am very disappointed and will be refusing and sending your package back to you today and expect to be 'cheerfully refunded'
Have a nice day, Thank you, Mrs. Griffin
(Response) Customer replied
Cc: [email protected]
May 6, 3:05pm
Dear Mrs. Griffin,
I am sorry this ordering process has been stressful for you. I see your complete order was shipped on May 1. Should you wish to return your order, the item cost will be refunded to your credit card upon return to the Customer Service Office. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.
Thank you for contacting White Flower Farm.
(My thoughts) How could my order be shipped out on 1 May, when I was informed on 2 May by XXXX via phone conversation that my order was still incomplete. I was told that my order could not canceled and that I could refuse it. So I refused it, without opening it. I received my $200 plus dollars back but not the $44.00 charged for their shipping and the money charged for taxes (for such a small package) what a ripoff...
On May 19, 2019, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 20, 2019 12:54 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Dear Mrs. Griffin,
|On May 24, 2017, Alansanne Needmore, PA wrote:
I placed an order with this company on May 4, they charged my credit card on May 5 for almost $70.00 and I still have not received a shipping notice, as of today it still says "processing". I have called them twice and they will not give me a shipping date. I have long ago received all of my other shipments from other companies except White Flower Farm, I hope the plants arrive before it gets too hot here in my zone 6b location but I am very worried and hate the stress this causing me!
On May 24, 2017, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 24, 2017 12:06 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
|On May 1, 2017, bonsaiguydw Mendenhall, PA wrote:
Ordered a trillium grandiflora flora pleno and it arrived rotted. Called multiple times and could never get a live rep . When I left an email that I'd leave negative feedback, Valerie contacted me and said they send me a new bulb. Two weeks later, no corm, no contact from them and I can't reach them. If it were a few dollar item I'd forget it, but this costs over $30. At this point a credit would be great.... but I hate to see them loose a customer.
On May 1, 2017, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 4, 2017 11:00 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the quality of the trillium and service you received. I see that Valerie and Diane both assisted you with getting your replacement trillium shipped out as quickly as possible. In addition, we refunded your credit card $37.95 (product & applicable s&h charges) to compensate you for your frustration.
|On Apr 26, 2017, Rsundquist West Hollywood, CA wrote:
First I must say I'm a new customer to White Flower Farm, although I do a lot of online shopping and this review is about the processing time, not the actual products.
On Apr 26, 2017, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 4, 2017 10:36 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to hear that your first experience with White Flower Farm was negative. I apologize that you were not given more specific shipping estimates at the time you placed your order. It is not our intent to make you feel as though your order is not important or a priority. There can be several contributing factors as to why your order hadn't shipped. I would be happy to discuss the matter further with you and offer you compensation for your frustration. Please contact me at your earliest convenience via email, [email protected] or telephone, 860-496-9624 extension 6506.
|On Jun 9, 2016, seashore New Haven, CT wrote:
I planted my first garden in about 1981 with about $600 worth of plants from WFF, a fair amount in those days. I was enchanted to visit in order to make my purchases. They had an extensive demonstration garden, which helped me refine some of my choices. Their catalogue was intelligent and exhaustive, and almost all of their listed plants were available to be seen on site. They propagated all of their plants, and potted them up in square pressed cardboard pots, which were easy to compost. And their plants were large, vigorous, and had obviously been well tended while awaiting purchase. I have wonderful memories of several returns, pulling my little green wagon, with my daughter and several plants in tow.
On Jun 9, 2016, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Jun 21, 2016 6:39 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Dear Gardening Friend,
|On Jun 7, 2016, dlevy Siasconset, MA wrote:
I placed an order for several plants this spring.Against my better judgement.I have had bad experiences before…However their offer of larger size Perovskia tempted me.The russian sage arrived,well packed,large plants in big containers.The plants appeared to be dormant.I coddled them.Sun,food water etc…..a month later I had to admit that 2 springs of green on twenty-some plants were all I was going to get.The entire shipment was dead.
On Jun 7, 2016, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Jun 8, 2016 9:17 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to hear you had a poor experience with our company. We guarantee your complete satisfaction and success with our plants. Please contact our customer service department at 800-411-6159 or [email protected] so we can issue replacements or a refund for this order.
|On May 23, 2016, MNASC Excelsior, MN wrote:
I have NEVER had a more horrendous customer experience in my many years of mail ordered plants (or anything else). It is STILL unresolved after trying to contact the company SIX times. I honestly wonder if they're about to go out of business; they are so unresponsive that it is clear they don't care?! Here's my blow by blow experience: my advice to you -- stay far far away! They cost in you money and time!
On May 23, 2016, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 30, 2016 1:17 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I do completely understand your frustration with your overall experience. I want to assure you that this is not what we strive for here and take every situation very seriously. I want to make sure that this issue is rectified. I do see that we had responded to your email on the 24th letting you know that you had been refunded in full. We also advised you to keep the shipment free of charge as it was our error in attempting to cancel it after it had been moved to shipping.
|On Jun 26, 2015, songjingjing915 Pelham, NY wrote:
It's hard not to say I am disappointed... I was attracted to the company website for its large selection and proximity to where I am (Westchester county in New York). In the past 18 months or so, I spent a little over $300 on their website, and have been let down by the quality a few times...
On Jun 26, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Jun 28, 2015 12:41 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to learn you have not been pleased with the overall quality of the plants purchased over the course of the last 18 months. All of our plant material is guaranteed for your full satisfaction. In addition, our perennial plant material is guaranteed for one year from the time it was received. Please contact the Customer Service Department regarding compensation:
|On May 29, 2015, NCgardener42 Willow Spring, NC wrote:
Posted on May 29, 2015, updated May 29, 2015
On May 29th, 2015, NCgardener42 added the following:
Edit to add: Another "mystery" I have experienced with this company relates to the other negative review that has been recently posted here. When you try to cancel an order that has been sitting at "Processing" for a while, it seems to magically make its way out the door that day. I had to refuse delivery of some potatoes, tomatoes and peppers that I had asked to be cancelled & refunded after this happened on two separate occasions.
On May 29, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 29, 2015 8:38 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with our plants. We guarantee your complete satisfaction and will gladly send you replacements or credit your purchase amount.
|On May 14, 2015, barbarasa Potomac, MD wrote:
Posted on May 14, 2015, updated May 14, 2015
On May 14th, 2015, barbarasa added the following:
After I posted this review, I got the following email from Cathy Hughes at White Flower Farm:
I am contacting you today regarding the negative review posted to The Garden Watchdog earlier today. Let me begin by saying I apologize order 04198892 was not shipped at the time promised and I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused.
I was the supervisor that spoke to you on 5/7/15, as the manager of the department was out of the office at the time of the call. I neglected to make certain the ‘Snow Queen’ hydrangea was available to ship before promising it could be and I regret this error.
Would you consider accepting a gift certificate in the amount of $50.00 as compensation for the error? Please advise at your earliest convenience.
I replied with the following email:
Dear Ms. Hughes,
Thank you very much for your offer of a $50 gift certificate. However, I will not take you up on it. My comments about your company are not based on money – they are based on the kind of customer service which I received.
I find it very interesting that you promptly replied to a negative review, while you never bothered to follow up on whether or not the plants, which you had promised would be sent on Monday, in fact were. And, even though, when we spoke on the 7th, I asked you whether the plants were actually available, you never looked to see if the plants were in stock! You were obviously more interested in getting an unhappy customer off of the phone than in really trying to solve the issue. I think that this is an excellent example of why I will never do business again with White Flower Farm and why I will continue to recommend to others that they not buy from your company.
Obviously, White Flower Farm thought that I would revise my comments in exchange for a $50 gift certificate. I will not.
On May 14, 2015, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 14, 2015 3:20 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to learn your request for delivery could not be honored and apologize for the inconvenience this caused. I will be contacting you directly via email regarding this concern.
|On Jul 7, 2014, darct Gales Ferry, CT wrote:
I ordered two Sweet Fragrance roses (my absolute favorite rose) earlier this year. When I did not receive any shipping notification, I contacted White Flower Farm and was told the shipment would be late due to the "the plant not quite ready to come out of the greenhouse." Then several weeks later I'm notified that due to customer demand and lack of product, they are shipping me a different rose. I immediately e-mailed back to two different e-mail addresses that I did not want a substitute rose. They needed to hold my order or refund my money. Within minutes I received a shipment notification . . . Basically too late. Neither of my e-mails were ever answered. I have no idea what roses I received. They were both labeled "Kiss Me" but one rose is coral and one is cotton candy pink. I will never order from White Flower Farm again!!
On Jul 7, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Jul 8, 2014 8:39 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
While White Flower Farm does reserve the right to substitute with another plant of similar attributes, we always honor a refund if the customer is not pleased with said replacement, even if the plant has been received. Please contact me directly at the following email address regarding this concern:
|On Jun 5, 2014, robeezee3 Millstone Township, NJ (Zone 6a) wrote:
Posted on May 27, 2014, updated June 5, 2014
On May 27th, 2014, robeezee3 added the following:
I ordered some lily bulbs this spring (2014). When they didn't arrive as instructed (ASAP, since these bulbs should be planted in cool weather), I emailed them to ask when they were planning on shipping them. No reply.
I then phoned them and a representative indicated that the shipment was delayed due to the unusually cold weather on the east coast. I reminder her that orders containing only bulbs should not be held up, waiting for warmer weather, but she seemed more like a recording than a person.
When the bulbs arrived, they were in various states of hydration. In the case of one type of bulb, which is not supposed to be allowed to EVER dry out, the two bulbs that were shipped were bone dry. Other bulbs were shipped in a reasonably moist medium of shredded newspaper.
I will avoid White Flower Farms in the future - they have obviously become a victim of their own success and are no longer competent plantsmen.
On June 5th, 2014, robeezee3 added the following:
Does WFF's comment (the same one over and over again in response to negative reviews) sound as lame to you as it does to me?
While I appreciate the offer of credit for the materials that did not work out, any gardener will tell you that once the season for a planting a particular thing passes, all of the credit in the world does not compensate for the negative experience. Care taken at WFF would be more appropriate than a Customer Service Manager that is seemingly unable to keep up with the complaints that originate from an operation that has poor quality control.
On Jun 5, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 28, 2014 12:23 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to learn you were not pleased with the delivery time of your shipment or the quality of the bulbs received. We guarantee all of our products for your complete satisfaction. Please contact Customer Service regarding compensation:
On Jun 6, 2014 10:11 AM, White Flower Farm added:
|On May 22, 2014, stanlesmith Plover, WI wrote:
Posted on August 22, 2010, updated May 22, 2014
On May 22nd, 2014, stanlesmith changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:
I never did see anything of the astilboides, never heard anything back from the company either. This year I forgot I had orderd the Astilboides so I ordered another. It looks okay, but I will wait and see. I also ordered a Kalmia Mountain laurel. The plant looked fine, but when I took it out of the pot it was horribly rootbound! I had to soak it for 45 minutes before I could even begin to scratch up the sides and loosen the roots. I don't hold out much hope for the plant. On top of that, it was a week from the "shipped" e-mail to when the package arrived at my home. A week bouncing around in a box and not getting watered. WFF USED to be quality company, I don't know what happened but from now on I'm recycling their catalog without even looking at it.
On May 22, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 24, 2014 9:28 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to learn the you were not pleased with the overall condition of the Kalmia. All of our perennial plant material is guaranteed for one year from the time of arrival.
|On May 22, 2014, Tulip32 Chevy Chase, MD wrote:
Should have listened to other reviewers, lesson learned! Dealing with White Flower Farm has been a nightmare from beginning to end. My order was "in process" for much longer than I thought it should have been, my three e-mails and two phone calls were never responded to (its been 22 days!), and when my order did arrive three of the plants look like they won't make it.
On May 22, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 22, 2014 10:51 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
|On May 7, 2014, migmoore Bloomington, IN wrote:
From looking at their web pages, one would assume that customer service is a priority. Apparently that is not the case, at least not with respect to their online ordering and communication. I placed an order for items scheduled to arrive for my zone. I've sent three email messages inquiring about the status of my order and when I might expect it to ship. I've received no response from this business...not even an automated message indicating my message had been received.The online chat function? It sends you right to email. So here's my issue, yes I could call them but if I wanted to interact with someone on the phone, I would have placed my order that way in the first place. Being mindful that there are/could be a handful of reasons why a person would not call (schedule, hearing impairment, ease of shopping, etc). If a business is going to offer online shopping, they need to provide the additional follow up support if in fact they truly value customer service. So my advice, order elsewhere if you are online shopper. Communication is nonexistent , anything but good customer service.
On May 7, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 7, 2014 3:36 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to learn you have not received a response to the emails you have sent. We work diligently to respond to customer emails in a timely fashion and customers can respond to the following email addresses:
|On Feb 17, 2014, caltgarden Burlingame, CA wrote:
I sent a message (with a picture) 2 weeks ago about Order#03966072. I ordered 3 amaryllis tres chic bulbs - I bloomed, 1 had 1 bud and grew to 5" tall, 1 never sprouted. All 3 were in the same white bowl.
On Feb 17, 2014, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Feb 20, 2014 11:34 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I apologize that you did not receive a response to your email. I have checked your order history and it appears we didn't receive your original email. I do show that a customer service representative corresponded with you on Monday 2//17/14 and refunded your order in full as we do not have Tres Chic bulbs to replace. Generally, the only condition that prevents amaryllis from forcing successfully, is cold damage during transit. Our guarantee applies to all of our products. Please feel free to contact me directly at [email protected] if you have any further questions or concerns.
|On Dec 21, 2013, CharlesRiver New York, NY wrote:
I'm very disappointed with my experience ordering from White Flower Farm online. I ordered two items: one pot with bulbs and a houseplant. I received the pot with the bulbs, but I still haven't received the houseplant.
On Dec 21, 2013, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Dec 23, 2013 8:41 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
I am sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with White Flower Farm. All of our shipping of tender plants is weather permitting as stated throughout our catalog & website. I am sorry this was not communicated to you when you placed your web order. During the past couple weeks weather here in New England has not permitted us to ship tender plants because they would arrive frozen. Should the plants arrive while you are away, you will be fully compensated with a replacement plant or a full refund.
|On Dec 17, 2013, Barbstree El Cerrito, CA wrote:
I bought the tabletop tree Nutcracker Whimsy. It cost $89 plus $28 shipping from Connecticut.(way overpriced).
On Dec 17, 2013, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Dec 17, 2013 12:09 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
|On Oct 4, 2013, JoeyInOregon Eugene, OR wrote:
With as many negative ratings as this company has received, I wish I had made the decision to purchase from a more reputable nursery. I purchased three Phlox Paniculata 'David', and what I received was laughable. For the size and development of these plants, they were very overpriced. All three were undersized, contained in dried-out soil, and quite poorly packed. One was acceptable, one raggedy and struggling to survive, and the third was separated from its roots, dead as could be. The dead plant appeared to have become dislodged from the soil and pot during shipping. I have placed orders in the past from White Flower Farm, although it had been several years between those orders and this recent one. I had never been very impressed with the quality of what I received, but this, by far was my worst experience with White Flower Farm. I had always found their prices to be far above what one would expect for the size and quality of the plants. Never again will I place another order with this sub-standard nursery.
|On May 27, 2013, hasshoes Hingham, MA wrote:
I ordered over $200 worth of White Flower Farm tomatoes (they are about $7 each).
|On Oct 30, 2012, cbrundage Raleigh, NC wrote:
My niece ordered a lavender plant to be sent to me as a gift. When it arrived, the box was damaged, the pot inside was broken into several pieces and the plant damaged. The apartment office it was delivered to took a photo of it which I sent to the company along with an email. I received a terse reply saying a replacement would be sent. It has been a week and I haven't heard anything. I will wait a little longer and then call them and ask them to refund my niece's money.
On Oct 30, 2012, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Oct 30, 2012 10:18 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
|On Sep 6, 2012, BlueJaguar Fall City, WA wrote:
We are very disappointed with our order and service from WFF. We received a gift certificate, and this was our first order. We ordered the 'casa blanca' lilies and the 'border of red' daylily mix (and a few other plants). When we received the bulbs, we dug a new bed and planted all of them along our walkway. When the flowers started opening, there were no casa blanca lilies at all. We had some solid orange and some combination orange and white lilies. The red daylilies appear to be okay.
On Sep 6, 2012, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Sep 7, 2012 10:44 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
We are sorry to learn you were not shipped the correct variety of lilies. We have reviewed the history of our customer service emails and power reviews received over the last two months and have not found a record of an email concerning this issue. As we very much wish to rectify this situation, please contact us at your earliest convenience at [email protected] or by calling 800-503-9624. The Call Center is staffed Monday-Saturday, 9:00-5:00 EST.
|On Jul 6, 2012, Carolfizer Weston, MA wrote:
I ordered bulbs on July 1 and within a day I received email the bulbs were being mailed. I inadvertently ordered spring bulbs. After 4 emails and one conversation I was told that I could plant bulbs now, in the spring or in the fall. I repeatedly was told that I had ordered the bulbs and no, no one realized that it was an error. I am returning the bulbs and cancelling my fall order. Wff rep could care less about my business.
On Jul 6, 2012, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Jul 9, 2012 9:08 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Dear Ms. Fizer,
|On Jun 29, 2012, Inforapenny Ypsilanti, MI wrote:
I'm a new gardener, and this was my first purchase from White Flower Farm. It will also be my last. I bought four plants in "3-inch pots"--one of them a very showy Eryngium planum Jade Frost. They arrived, on a day when the temperature here was 102, in a plain UPS box (no notations of "live plants" or anything on the box) in terrible condition. The Jade Frost had three dead leaves on it (the soil was completely dry and hard) and the plant itself was one inch high, with two tiny leaves on it. The other plants all had long, tangled roots extending out of the bottoms of the pots--roots that will have to be cut, causing stress to the plant. Those plants are about two inches high. There is not a flower or flower bud to be seen on any of the plants.
On Jun 29, 2012, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Jun 29, 2012 9:26 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Dear Gardening Friend,
|On Feb 25, 2012, acddemilner South Bend, IN wrote:
I recently subscribed to Country Gardens magazine and was offered a $ 25 merchandise credit with White Flower Farm. I tried to order merchandise from them over the Internet but was denied the credit. I asked two friends to try and they were not successful either.
On Feb 25, 2012, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Feb 27, 2012 8:18 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Dear Gardening Friend,
|On Feb 11, 2012, srvadt Smyrna, GA wrote:
Posted on April 23, 2011, updated February 12, 2012
On February 11th, 2012, srvadt added the following:
Update Spring 2012: The tiny plants never grew larger. They did stay alive and green through the fall, but over winter the leaves turned brown on the edges and are now dead. My other hellebores are doing well.
On Feb 11, 2012, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Apr 26, 2011 8:57 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
We regret that there were pillbugs in the soil of the Hellebores that you received from White Flower Farm. While we do try to avoid the use of pesticides as much as possible, these pests should have been noticed and eliminated before the plants were packed for shipment.
|On Jan 16, 2012, tealheath Colorado Springs, CO wrote:
Placed order Dec 19 for Amaryllis to be delivered to my Mom as a Christmas gift. White Flower [WF] guaranteed by Christmas delivery. Christmas came and went, no flowers were delivered. I wasn't too upset by that, called WF after the New Year [Jan 3rd], they told me to wait a few more days. Called WF back when the flowers still did not arrive at Mom's. They said they'd ship a whole new order and that the flowers would be there in a week. Well, 10 days later-still no flowers at Mom's. It's been a month. Nothing. So called WF today and just canceled. Result: Missed Christmas present [anywhere in Christmas day vicinity] Wasted time- 4-6 calls to WF. Nearly daily converations with Mom highlighting christmas present mess up. And even now-have to watch Visa to ensure refund comes through. WF Customer Service was never rude, but what a MESS. They could have had a life time customer in me...
On Jan 16, 2012, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Jan 17, 2012 11:28 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
|On Dec 24, 2011, willmetge Spokane, WA (Zone 5b) wrote:
I ordered a couple of Dictamnus plants from this company this past summer. They were about $15 each and were advertised as bare root. In the past, when I have ordered from other companies, I have received a plant that has a crown anywhere from golf-ball size to soft-ball size. White Flower Farm, however, sent me a root-cutting, not a bare root plant. I was shocked at the size! It was a single root about half the diameter of a pencil and about 3 inches long with no visible crown. I planted them as instructed and they leaved out, but I'm very doubtful that they will make it through the winter.
On Dec 24, 2011, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Dec 28, 2011 11:57 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
|On Sep 29, 2011, marving POCONO MANOR, PA wrote:
Rude customer service!!
On Sep 29, 2011, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Sep 30, 2011 2:04 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
Dear Gardening Friend,
|On May 14, 2011, Gabrielle512 Florence, MS wrote:
I have, or should I say had, been a customer of White Flower farm for years. Their products were usually acceptable; however, never stellar. Usually I would lose about 50% of whatever I bought. Being an incredibly busy Psychologist in a very demanding career, I admit it was convenience that had me returning; however, each year I would buy less and less. This year I ordered around $300.00 of plants from them. I noticed immediately that shipping was very slow, and communication was zero. To make a long story short, after numerous unanswered emails I finally called. What I got was a completely unprofessional "Customer Service Representative" named "Debbie Cashman" (it was important to her that I knew her name. She even spelled it! Go figure). At any rate, she blatantly refused to let me speak with a supervisor, engaged in harassing and aggressive verbal attacks, and ultimately stated, repeatedly in fact, that she would not transfer me to a supervisor nor would she give them my name and number to call back. She told me "go ahead and call the owner. I don't care." Well, that pretty much says it all. It's doubtful that I will ever get the remaining 5 items from the order I placed in February. That's ok. I won't be back, and hopefully you won't either.
On May 14, 2011, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 16, 2011 8:44 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
|On May 13, 2011, sturf Kinston, NC wrote:
I ordered three vegetable plants to put in containers on my deck. When they arrived; two were dead and the third had a virus and was not planted. $35.00 for nothing. No more White Flower for me.
On May 13, 2011, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 16, 2011 7:59 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
We are sorry that the plants you received did not survive shipment. Please contact our customer service department at [email protected] or call us at 800-411-6159 to receive a replacement order or full refund.
|On May 9, 2011, LayzeeGardener Smyrna, GA wrote:
I've been a WFF customer since the early 90s, and have much success in many locations with their perennials, bulbs, and vegetable plants. Their naturalizing bulbs have been a great success for me. I had been such a fan that I even traveled to CT to see their grounds and fields.
On May 9, 2011, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 16, 2011 8:17 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
|On Apr 29, 2011, pterostyrax Seattle, WA wrote:
Until fairly recently I had good experiences with WWF. Then a couple of years ago their prices soared. I still bought from them if I couldn't get something elsewhere. This year I ordered a Purple Pillow Geranium because everywhere else was out. It cost a whopping $21.95. When it arrived it was *tiny*--the smallest shipped plant I have ever received--and so badly packed that the loose, dry dirt (and plant) had fallen out in the box. They said they would replace it. I said I wanted a refund unless they could guarantee a bigger, better plant. They did not respond to that message. Just sent me a second plant as small and badly packed as the first. I'm disappointed that I can no longer use this nursery.
On Apr 29, 2011, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On May 2, 2011 1:47 PM, White Flower Farm responded with:
We apologize that you received two plants that did not measure up to your standards. Although the plants received might be smaller than you expected, we guarantee they will respond by growing rapidly into a full sized plant once in the ground.
|On Apr 23, 2011, marialvsflowers Irwin, PA wrote:
Please understand that I have been ordering from mail order gardening companies for over 20 years when you read this comment, and also know that I have never felt the need to negatively comment on a gardening company before.
On Apr 23, 2011, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Apr 26, 2011 10:40 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
We are very sorry for your disappointment. There are always variables with live crops. Some we can plan in advance for and some we can't. We understand your frustration and we are doing everything we can to ensure that we send top quality plants to our customers, at an appropriate time for planting. The shippable quantity of Vanilla Strawberry was smaller than we anticipated for April delivery. Therefore, were selected orders for April shipment taking into consideration the original order date & climate zone. We assure you that your plant is reserved and will ship in June as the postcard stated.
|On Mar 15, 2011, Dempsey Big Lake, MN wrote:
They are in violation of the Federal Seed Act which states that any hybrid seeds or plants must be labeled as hybrid or F1. They sell a mix of open pollinated and hybrid varieties and the way the catalog is set up it makes a consumer assume that all of the varieties are heirloom or open pollinated. They are not only omitting the word hybrid but are insinuating they are heirloom cultivars in their marketting.
On Mar 15, 2011, White Flower Farm responded with:
"On Mar 17, 2011 10:23 AM, White Flower Farm responded with:
In regards to the information we provide regarding the hybrid or open-pollinated status of our vegetable plants. We have checked with the Connecticut Nursery & Landscaping Association, and they have informed us that they know of no specific law that requires to identify each vegetable plant as to whether it is a hybrid or an open-pollinated variety.
|On Mar 8, 2011, laurahteague Madisonville, KY wrote:
I haven't ordered from this company, so maybe I haven't any right to comment. However, one of the main type of complaints I read was the high prices, so I thought I would check the prices of something I REALLY know, which is daylilies. The comments were right. The daylily prices were outrageous! The cultivars they have for sale are older varieties that most growers would be offering for $4-6 at most, but WFF is charging $12-26! They claim theirs will outperform "lesser grades" offered elsewhere! Give me a break! The large daylily growers know what they're doing, and the well-known ones offer large healthy plants that perform very well. Unless you want to be robbed, don't buy daylilies from White Flower Farm!