Photo by Melody

Comments regarding Pepper Joe's Inc.

Click here to return to Pepper Joe's Inc.'s listing.

You are viewing only negative comments

  Feedback History and Summary  
153 positives
8 neutrals
6 negatives


Negative DTownDannyB
(1 review)
On May 11, 2018, DTownDannyB Mesquite, TX wrote:

Ordered and was looking forward to planting the Carolina Reapers seeds I ordered. Although I was sent 14 not one of them germinated (I have started many plants from seed so I know what I'm doing). I had read the many positive reviews on hear and trusted them over the negative ones I read and ordered. I sent customer service an email regarding this and they never responded back. I just wanted some seeds that would germinate. I would've rather just had seeds that actually germinated over all the extra misc stuff they sent. Money wasted. Will never do business with them again.

On May 11, 2018, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

"On May 11, 2018 2:50 PM, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

Very sorry to hear you are having these issues. We reply to every single email that comes through our system. It is possible that one may have fallen into the cracks. Please give us a call at (888-660-2276) or email us at [email protected] and we would love to take care of you and the issues that are presented. Hours of business are Monday through Friday 8am to 5pm. Looking forward to hearing from you.

-Quinton from Pepper Joe's"

Negative Startoker
(1 review)
On Aug 8, 2015, Startoker Dayton, OH wrote:

Beware pepper Joe's and any seed companies selling Carolina Reapers! They assume that everyone is stupid and will accept anything that is hot. They will slap the name of the most popular pepper on the seed that they have on hand so they can sell it at top dollar. Seeds Direct sent me habaneros, Pepper Joe's sent 7 pot bubblegums. Don't even think of asking for a refund. They will send more seed that in all likelihood is not really what you want.

On Aug 8, 2015, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

"On Aug 9, 2015 9:32 AM, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

Hi Startoker and thanks for being a customer. I will gladly refund your money. Send me your order number to [email protected] I am deeply sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with your Reaper Pods. However, the Reaper has been out for 3+ years and there are Tens of thousands of satisfied customer. You can see many here at Dave's garden. Check out our FB page and scroll over the months and you'll actually see many, many pictures of awesome pods. [[email protected]] And we receive a ton more of perfect Carolina Reaper Pods by email. But the most important customer to well... you. I'll toss in a FREE pack of Carolina Reaper seeds too as well as some freebie pods.
Thanks again and Great Gardening,
Pepper Joe "

Negative FOSFrank
(1 review)
On Aug 11, 2013, FOSFrank Moncton,
Canada wrote:

Posted on August 11, 2013, updated August 11, 2013
Posted on August 10, 2013, updated August 11, 2013
Mostly my experience with pepper joe was flawless (customer service, seeds spouted fairly well, haven't seen any peppers on my plants yet so can comment on pepper shapes, colors, sizes). But when they began acting like children in the matter with tomatoeville, it just bothered me a little. I'm thinking, why does a good company, that's been in buisness for 20 some years, and gets flamed from a small a$$ website, would react the way they did with their videos and bad comments all over the internet.

When I confronted them on facebook I came back later on to see if they answerd, to my suprise, they REMOVED my comment and completly ignored it. This is not only disrespectful, but its childish. I was pointing out the fact that they should just let it go, its just a small website.

I didn't know tomatoeville before pepper joe mentionned it and started to flip out on facebook. This is stupid and I will never buy from pepper joe again and will tell this story to whoever wants to buy from them just so they dont.

talking about a good ship, bad captain. its a shame you acted like kids on this one. It was funny in the begining but it quickly became moronic.

On August 11th, 2013, FOSFrank added the following:

It is not a formal complaint. I told you my experience with you was perfect from the time I bought the seeds to the time I planted them. If you dont find my message clear, I dont know how it could be clearer.

lets start fresh shall we. in short here's how it went

- You acted like kids on facebook (making stupid comments in your photos, videos about the stupid website that is tomatoeville)
- You removed my comment and ignored it and then you have the gut to tell me your "legal council recommends you make no comment to that." so you can make stupid comments but when I confront you to stop this madness I get shut down? I did not ask about any details on the litigation or anything. It was merely a "calm down brother" kind of message.

It should be clearer now that I've made it in 2 seperate points. My problem doesn't need fixing, your attitude towards buisness and customers does.

here's your reference. Your order number is: 28553


On August 11th, 2013, FOSFrank added the following:

This is what free speech is about in your eyes ? This is a website to tell poeple what we experienced with a company, not to match a cookie cutter review. I think your pride is just hurt in this and you just prove my point every single time you post back.
On Aug 11, 2013, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

"On Aug 10, 2013 5:55 PM, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

We look up orders two ways. One is by order #...two is by email address. What is your order #?? We referenced your email address and found no record of you ever have being a customer?? As far as Tomatoville goes...we have ongoing litigation against them and our legal council recommends we make no comment to that.
EXACTLY WHAT IS YOUR COMPLAINT as a customer of Pepper Joe's? We vow to fix it whatever it is. 100% guaranteed! But we can't fix a complaint that is not clear.
We fix every issue and will fix yours as well.
Pepper Joe

On Aug 11, 2013 5:42 AM, Pepper Joe's Inc. added:

Let me be equally clear. Your comments are only your opinion about how I reacted to an issue at another website. Again, that issue is currently in the litigation process. You say your experience with Pepper Joe's was "Flawless". Your comments are in no way related to our products or service. Frankly, I don't think they belong here at Garden Watchdog. This is a place to review Gardening business's, not vent about a subjective matter.
This is your first and only obviously you came to Dave's Garden to bash us....and for no other reason. People will see through this....and I've reported you to the Moderators."

Negative Chrisk1986
(5 reviews)
On Jul 9, 2012, Chrisk1986 Omaha, NE wrote:

This was the second year I ordered seed from him, the first was Bhuts and they were great even over wintered a plant.

This year how ever is a different story, I have 3 Bhut Jolokia plants all with different types of peppers, 1 is smooth skinned and look like a habanero, 1 has a tail like a trinidad scorpion, and the other looks like a normal bhut but the pepper is very small.

My yellow Bhuts are a little different and don't really look like Bhuts but there's only one plant with large enough peppers to make a claim so I'll wait and see.

My 2 Butch T's don't look anything like any peppers I've seen them, no tails at all and there not as "fat" but well see

We have a small farm so the seeds were all started a few weeks a part and labeled multiple times(to prevent mix ups) The germination rates were good on everything but the butch t( 2 of 10 seeds) everything else was about 95%

I do have black jalapeños and paprika peppers from them also and they are doing well, but the fact my super hots aren't what there spouse to be leaves a really bad taste with this company, there sending me a new seed pack for the red bhut but it doesn't matter as I can't trust the seed in the first place which is really dissappointing

On Jul 9, 2012, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

"On Jul 13, 2012 4:45 PM, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

Hi ChrisK,
Thanks for your input.
I'm glad to hear that most of our seeds had a 95% germination rate....that is awesome. The Butch T didn't do so well for you so I'll gladly replace the pack. Just email me direct at [email protected]
I'm also glad to hear your Black Jalapenos and Paprika are doing well.
There can be a variation of Pod shapes with the SuperHots. Also, try as hard as we do, we get occasional crosses. It's not uncommon when you offer as many different varieties as we do, even though we grow many in isolation. So I'll gladly replace those seeds as well.
We're determined to make every customer happy, and manage to achieve that in the overwhelming majority of cases. Again Chris just email me with the mailing address you'd like your 2 replacement pack of seeds sent to and mention the Bhuts and Butch T.
Great Gardening and Fiery Regards,
Pepper Joe

Negative MickeyG
(1 review)
On Jul 30, 2010, MickeyG Wilmington, NC wrote:

Posted on July 29, 2010, updated July 30, 2010
Posted on June 1, 2010, updated July 29, 2010
Horrible germination rate, abyssmal customer service. Not a firm to do business with.

On July 29th, 2010, MickeyG added the following:

I stand by my rating. They were contacted multiple times and I have the record. Crappy service, crappy product, rip off!

And they lie as you can see by their response to my original posting.
On July 30th, 2010, MickeyG added the following:

When I get home tonight I will post the emails sent to and from and then we will let the readers determine the quality of your company...HINT: poor.
On Jul 30, 2010, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

"On Jun 1, 2010 8:30 PM, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

We haven't heard from you until this posting.
Our germination rate from Customers reports is 90%+.
Even though it is typicaly our customer mistake in planting, we ALWAYS replace seeds when the complaint is valid.
Many customers would disagree with you on "Abyssmal" service. We typically ship within 2 or 3 days at no extra costs for rush delivery. But let me cut to the chase...let me know what your issue is and I'll replace all seeds and send an additinal 3 packs of seeds for FREE....or give you your money back. We always satisfy our Customers.
Pepper Joe

On Jul 29, 2010 7:11 PM, Pepper Joe's Inc. added:

Plain and simple contact me directly and I'll fix your issues immediately.
Contact me at [email protected]
I publicly stated here that I'll replace all of your seeds and give you an additional 3 packs for free. If this doesn't satisfy you I'll refund your full purchase price.
You say you have the "Records" but fail to show them here on your complaint.
I don't like that word you use that we "Lie". We wouldn't be in business 20 years with Thousands of satisfied customers if that were so.
We get top Customer ratings on all other Gardening sites.
If I don't hear back from you, I'll have to believe you are either a competitor....or hear voices. I have NOT heard from you directly...and unless it is the unlikely case that your issues got lost in Customer Service...I'm here ready to fix your problem.
Pepper Joe

On Jul 30, 2010 8:57 AM, Pepper Joe's Inc. added:

Again, for the 3rd time...I'm here an 100% ready to fix ANY issues that you have in ANY way necessary.
I just hope you aren't one of those rare people that are impossible to make happy.
Fiery Regards,
Pepper Joe

On Aug 10, 2010 5:14 PM, Pepper Joe's Inc. added:

On July 30th you said "I'll post the emails when I get home tonight" which you never did....and it's been 10 days.
It is real eaasy to post an opinion and try to smear a good Company's reputation. But then you refuse to answer back or let us correct you perceived issue.Pepper Joe's has been in business for 20 years now and our large Customer base has been built on Impeccible service.
Sorry that you just can't please some people.
I notice you didn't take issue with my feeling that you were either a Competitor or that you may possibly 'Hear Voices".
Which one is it?
Pepper Joe"

Negative gb66pack66
(1 review)
On Nov 5, 2005, gb66pack66 Santa Clara, CA wrote:

Delivery time was great, prices are reasonable and germination rate was 60-100%.

However, I ordered 6 varieties and only 2 actually came out as expected. Four varieties were completely different from description. The chickenheart came out probably twice as large as a poblano and turned from green to red and had little to no heat. Yellow jellybean was purple and looked like a small poblano also - no heat whatsoever. Charleston cayenne looked nothing like a cayenne of any type and had zero heat.

Basically nearly everything was cross-pollinated and a waste of garden space.

On Nov 5, 2005, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

"On Jul 6, 2011 6:09 AM, Pepper Joe's Inc. responded with:

Hi GB...I hope this is still your email address...I haven't checked out these comments in years.
Send me your mailing address to my websites address....and let me send you 6 packs of Free Seeds to satisfy you as a previous customer. I'll send new and exciting varieties that should positively be true to form.
Thanks for giving us a chance.
Great Gardening, Pepper Joe"